Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Donnybrook Lodge B&B

131 Stillorgan Road, Donnybrook, D4 Dublin, Ireland

#29 of 93 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 609 B&B reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good rate per night was the main driver , good location (about 10min in the bus to city center), good choice of breakfast and snacks. Overall no complaints at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly guy at the reception and very helpful host who owns several adapters and lends them if forgotten ;). Very good breakfast and snacks/water/juices available all the time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Belongs to AirBnB category ˋsharedˋ and not in booking.com, where clients expect a hotel type accommodation with personnel available to address their needs. Bathroom upstairs: just sufficient water pressure for shower. Bath drainage inadequate to allow next person to use shower within 30 minutes. As toilet is together with bathroom, no-one can use toilet in morning when bathroom is occupied. Room 1: inadequate heating. Dusty, and cold. No ventilation possible as windows can not be opened.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hostess was very friendly & welcoming. I'm having health issues at the moment & am on a restrictive diet. The food options at breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit noisy because it is beside the main road and the walls dividing the rooms were not so thick, so you could here the slightest noise from the next room. Not really ideal for light sleepers.

    The location was great, there were several choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly guest house... they had a fridge with bottles of water that you could take and the offering at breakfast was excellent... they really went above what I expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a busy dual carriageway so, traffic was constant. Nevertheless, I slept very well in the very comfortable bed .

    Very homely, clean and comfortable. Viola and her husband were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower door kept slipping off the track therefore separating the bifold enclosure.

    The staff was friendly and delightful to talk with. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and accommodated our gluten free, dairy free requirements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance from city centre and restaurants. Apart from that - all good.

    The rooms and bed were clean and comfortable if a little dated. Breakfast was fine with continental and some cooked options available. Staff were really pleasant and helpful. Location is ok although a little far from city centre and walk to nearest eateries although if on a budget it was possible to get food delivered and eat in the breakfast area. Buses to city centre were nearby and reasonably frequent with good instructions provided. Some parking available so would be ok if travelling by car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was clean and comfortable, Wi-Fi reliable and the TV had Netflix which was a pleasant surprise! Breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, toast etc. plus pancakes and eggs from the kitchen. The location, although a little out of the city was perfect, you can catch the 46a bus from just down the road which takes you to the city, Phoenix Park or Dun Laoghaire harbour in the other direction. You can also walk (25 mins) to Sandymount beach from the B&B. It's a nice area, we felt safe walking around in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we can "complain" about was the too soft mattress because we are used to sleep on a hard mattress.

    - Very friendly host and staff - Information sheets given by the host - Excellent breakfast (great variety of fruit, drinks, bread etc.), freshly prepared coffee, tea, pancakes, eggs, gluten-free food offered as well - the breakfast exceeded our expactations! - Good connection to city centre and airport as well as to Howth and Dun Laoghaire/Dalkey - Room with garden view was very quiet - We could print out order boarding passes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was fantastic, a really wide range - fresh fruit, toast, eggs, bacon, pancakes, yoghurt etc. The bed was really comfortable and the lady owner so helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and lovely facilities. Being able to pop down to the communal sitting room and dining area at any time was very useful. Excellent breakfast selection!! The “local information” sheet in the room was very helpful and answered all the questions I had for the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable bed and room with tea making facilities and other amenities in room (TV, trouser press). Very helpful and friendly staff with freedom to use kitchen and dining room facilities at anytime. Good selection for breakfast. Overall would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture old in room which was fine but in top drawer not clean at all.

    We had a garden view and the room was warm. It is situated on a very busy road and if you were coming from the North you would have to pass and come back on the right side of the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There weren't enough hooks or places to set things down in the bathroom and the shower was tricky to operate and the water power not great. There was some lapses in communication via email and phone. The only restaurant was a bit of a walk, though excellent.

    The bed was very comfortable, the welcome warm, the hosts had plenty of extras for communal use in the hallway, like shampoos, toothpaste, books, and there was chilled water free for the taking and the breakfast kitchen was open all hours for a piece of toast or cup of tea, plus there was a kettle and tea and coffee in the room. Excellent fresh fruit at breakfast. Couldn't be more convenient to UCD.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were slightly on the old side, with limited facilities, however the owner was lovely and extremely helpful. Good value for money and not far from Dublin city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and en-suite bathroom old and in need of refurbishment. Floor of en-suite old and dirty looking. Breakfast a disaster. The person on duty at the B&B totally unfriendly and unwelcoming. Just asked if we wanted tea or coffee. Brought the tea and left the room. The breakfast consisted of orange, fruit and cereal as well as tea and toast and stale brown bread. There was no fry/scrambled egg/ boiled egg. We were not told this. When I asked she offered boiled or scrambled egg. This was when we had almost finished as she had disappeared in the meantime and wasnt answering when I called her. The quality of the food wasn't great either. Alot of Tesco own brand including natural youghurt (Tesco Value Brand). Enough said I think. We certainly will not be returning and won't be recommending it to our friends.

    NOTHING.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We took a wrong turn coming out of the tunnel in Dublin and had trouble locating the site because we were dependent on maps/printed directions and did not have wifi/Google maps, etc. I wish we had realized it's actual proximity to UCD and had simply asked for directions to the campus. "Stillorgan" (which is N11 for this road) is used in several areas nearby, and street names/house numbers aren't always easily found. Viola has a wonderful handout with useful information about location, transportation, dining, etc. that I wish we'd had beforehand. Helpful landmarks were the RTE radio/television tower across the road and the brown "Donnybrook Lodge B&B" sign out front. We did meet many very kind and helpful people as we stopped repeatedly for directions.

    Viola and the staff were outstanding in their efforts to make us comfortable and help us at every turn. Breakfast was delicious, with snacks/tea/coffee available throughout the day. The facility is fastidiously clean and beautifully decorated. The shower was hot and powerful. We were visiting our daughter at University College Dublin (UCD), and the entrance at the main gate was on the same street as the B&B. It is a short 5-10 minute walk--faster and easier than driving!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main lighting could be brighter in the bedroom.

    Very hospitable people. Access to printer/computer. Free access to tea/coffee/breakfast materials all day/night. Good size bedroom. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house was old, dated, dirty and smelly. The lady who met us didn't have much spoken English and wasn't very friendly. There was a musty smell from the house and the next morning I noticed the same smell from the towels. The breakfast the next morning was very very disappointing. A Bed and Breakfast, as far as I am concerned means a full Irish breakfast, but this was continental. There was a selection of cereals to chose from and then a guy took our order for tea/coffee and eggs, choices were scrambled, boiled or fried. We chose scrambled which were dry. The bread was a sliced pan of cheap white bread and sliced brown bread with only heels left in the pack. My husband put two slices of white bread in the toaster (yes you made it yourself)!! and when he looked it was mouldy !!!. And the most annoying thing was this cost us €120. I would rather sleep in the car than stay there again, or recommend it and I cannot believe Booking.com have a place like this on their site. I trusted Booking.com and always used them, but now I'm not so sure.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything that was provided, tea, coffee, snacks etc was available all the time, good location by bus to city, or by foot to shops and pubs, plus our young host really went out of his way to help us

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very nice breakfast selection. Fresh berries and melons , personal pot of coffee, selection of cereals and fresh breads, we also had a choice of eggs cooked to our request. They also had a selection of toiletries to borrow if needed, We will definetly recommend this B&B to our friends and family,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower switch was quite stiff and there was no towel rail in en suite.

    The bedroom was at the front of the house therefore a bit noisy as there is a main road in front of the property. Breakfast was very adequate. Plenty of choices of cereals, loads of fresh cut fruit- strawberries, raspberries, melon, pineapple, blueberries. Yogurts, breads, cheese, ham, jams and marmalades. And eggs could be cooked any way you wanted. There was a fridge in dining area where one could help oneself all day to milk etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful with finding our way around. Very nice breakfast every morning. Near bus stop for an easy trip into Dublin. Viola helped us out with last day sightseeing by using the Dart train! We had a fantastic time in Dublin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no full Irish breakfast on offer ,and at a price of 120 Euro per night ,I felt a little short changed . The bathroom was quiet small .There was no shelf for toiletries etc ,plus there was no towel rail for either hand or bath towel .There was also hair in the shower . There was no remote control for the TV either , which wasn't a problem for us as we were going out early ,but should be a basic commodity .

    The bed was very comfy.The location was perfect for our attendance at a UCD function ,ie within walking distance. The staff were very friendly ,and offered good local information .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road outside is quite crazy, three lanes and a little of a hike to go to places to eat

    It was a nice clean room, with a lovely landlady who had drinks available for you to have on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny, but everything worked fine. I felt the glasses and cups could have been cleaned better, but I just washed them myself before using.

    The included breakfast was fantastic each morning. Lots of fresh fruit, eggs upon request, yogurt, granola, oats, tea, coffee, toast. The owner was very nice and helpful as well. The garden view was perfect, and I loved that I could open my window for fresh air. I even saw the sheets drying on the lines outside...beautiful setting!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Viola the owner was really lovely she went above and beyond helping us to sort out our washing. It was a great place to stay and I liked that it was a little bit outside of the main city of Dublin. Bottle water was provided, and also there was a small supply of toiletries in case you had forgotten anything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower was a bit weak.

    The bed was nice and comfortable. The are very welcoming and let you use the breakfast area for snacking anytime.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Netflix didn't work. Wifi inconsistent. Lock on door dodgy - needed to be replaced. No refrigerator. Old TV still mounted on wall bracket - needed to be removed.

    The owners were very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proprietor was very kind and welcoming, for example, being very accommodating of my arrival late at night. There was a very nice array for breakfast, including fresh raspberries and strawberries, Nespresso-style coffee, Tropicana orange juice, Alpro milk drinks, and eggs cooked to order.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt like the coffee/tea and cups provided in the room could have been a little better. I wasn't sure if the cups had been cleaned thoroughly, so I just washed them myself before using them.

    There was a wonderful breakfast included every morning. Eggs upon request, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, breads, coffee, tea. The owner was very helpful and friendly as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to move to nearby place for the rest of my stay in Dublin bcos they are fully booked. This is not a complain anyway. I knew it when I book with them.

    Staffs are really nice and helpful. It's defenately a home away from home kind of place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shelf or space around the sink to place toiletries in the bathroom.

    The owner was very accommodating and allowed me to check in earlier on the first day and keep the room longer the next day at no extra charge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything :D

    Viola is really exceptional, friendly and generous.. She even allowed us to cook porridge in the kitchen and phoned the tourist information for us..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Owner Viola was superb, generous, helpful, supportive, "went the extra mile." Made us feel like we were welcomed back home by a loving family member! Provided two adaptors for "Irish electrical connections" to allow us to charge our digital devices.....suggestion: bring one with you because these strange electrical arrangements won't let you plug in USA plugs, and they are ALL over Ireland!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could use a renovation.

    The staff were very friendly. A young man gave us some good advice on how to get directions etc. and we could use a guest notebook. The breakfast was good and a varierty of foods was offered in a comfortable room. The rooms were quite OK and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought it was a nice facility, altho our room was on the 2nd floor, with the same type room being available on the ground floor. (one of us has locomotion issues.........). We were invited into the kitchen on our arrival and to help ourselves, which was good, as we missed breakfast as we has an early flight. So we had tea and cheese and crackers in a lovely kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi within the lodge stalled constantly throughout my stay and several times I was asked to insert the password.

    The breakfast I had was nice however I feel that when you are travelling certain distances you would be required a Traditional full Irish breakfast considering the overnight fee

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little outdated I suppose

    Place was nice - staff were lovely - it's not five star but it suited us fine given we were there when U2 were also playing and the prices were mental in Dublin

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a good 20 minute walk to get to the closest restaurants so I was glad it never poured rain any of the evenings that I ate at these.

    Great breakfast cooked to order; easy access to public transport to take me right downtown Dublin and also easy access to drive to without having to go through downtown Dublin (this was a real plus point to me being a traveller from overseas); friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable hostess (as this was my first stay in Ireland, I totally appreciated it)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    if i had more info regarding transport i would have known to get the 46a from town to the front door of this property instead i travelled all over dublin and ended up paying 30 for a taxi!

    the breakfast was amazing and garden was beautiful and the staff were very fiendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very comfortable and the bed and carpet were new and fresh. The remaining decor was a little tired but everything worked well and the breakfast was super.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection was poor! There is no hot breakfast and you had an option of one egg! The cereal selection was also poor and for a continental breakfast there was no pastries etc. There was a second tv in our room which looked like it was replaced and not removed!

    Very clean and free parking! Free bottles of water for all as often as you needed which was great as it was a particularly hot weekend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small cups in bedroom not mugs. Little information on bus route into Dublin - staff didn't know. Lack of information for eating places nearby for people on foot. Website stated 5 mins from port by taxi but turned out to be at least 25 mins from Dublin ferry port.

    Fresh milk available for tea making in bedroom. Toiletries available if needed. Good view from back bedroom and quiet overnight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was on a very busy main road and could hear all the traffic all night long. Breakfast wasnt explained. No shampoo or toiletries in the room or a note telling us where these where to be found. No maps of the area or helpful advice from staff, if i could find any.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very run down, the bathroom tiny and the shower had no hot water and very little water pressure. There was also a lot of noise and light from the street - when we tried to close the curtains everything fell down. But for one night it was a good and affordable place to stay.

    There were a lot of nice little details - there is free bottled water available all day. Also in the breakfast room is a nespresso machine free to use as well as bread, butter, jam, milk and orange juice. The breakfast was good - a lot of fresh fruits like pineapple, strawberries, raspberries etc. only the offered bread was just very cheap toast. The bus station from/to the center of Dublin is directly in front of the B&B and it takes only about 10 min. to get there (the only disadvantage is, that the last bus back to the B&B leaves in Dublin before midnight).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Viola and her staff were wonderful and accommodating. She made sure that we were not blocked in and were able to get out at 5am. We had a wonderful time. The garden view was beautiful and the neighborhood was pleasant even though the B&B was on a main road; and by being on a main road - it was very easy to catch a bus into Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard B&B. Staff ok, not very knowledgeable of the area and were not very friendly, breakfast was just ok (no fried breakfast was offered), decor was very dated. Pricey for what was offered.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been to this place quite a few times the past 3 months. The lady running the place is very friendly. The B&B is perfectly located next to the bus stop from the airport shuttle. The breakfast is awesome! Not expected at this quality for a B&B, great breakfast and nice service! The mattress is also unexpectedly good! Very nice place, good quality-for-money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not expect a full (or even mini) Irish breakfast. Breakfast was totally self serve and with exception of scrambled eggs, a cold breakfast. The electric connection in our bathroom was shorting out. We would not choose to stay again unfortunately.

    The owner is a very nice woman. She recommended a wonderful restaurant for our meal, within walking distance. She is quick to respond to emails.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little inconvenient but bus stops nearby. Bathroom needed a bit of TLC.

    Rory was very friendly and extremely helpful to us when we asked for information about buses and getting about the city. Breakfast was very good, with a great choice of food and drink. Availability of snacks was a really nice gesture, as was all the toiletries available to be used.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast. Was not offered any hot food, not even an egg. Very disappointed. Instant coffee is not good enough at this price point.

    Nice B&B. Comfortable bed, nice en suite. Good additional facilities - TV room. Free Wifi. Water, juice, coffee & tea always available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Viola was friendly, welcoming and very accommodating. It made our stay a very pleasant one. I would stay there again and I will definitely recommend it to everybody.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Must say that despite ranking this property as excellent the television selection was a little lacking.

    This property was conveniently located and provided quality services.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is excellent located near to UCD, best for family coming for graduation ceremony. Bread, fruits and juice are free to use in the kitchen. Washing and drying service are free of charge as well. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was at the front of the house, and we had a lot of traffic noise throughout the night, as the property was on a main road. Our room was very warm and we like to sleep with a window slightly open.

    The property was very handy to the central city, which was just a short bus-ride away. We were also able to easily walk to local shops, restaurants, pubs, during our stay. Breakfast was great, with lots of choice and plenty of healthy options.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was small and not very comfortable, I kept feeling like I was sliding off it. The rooms are old fashioned, and the TV offered was very old and very small!

    Good breakfast, friendly staff and lots of nice extras like chocolates left around the house, toiletries etc. Location is good for UCD and for south Dublin.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is next to a very busy road, but this does mean it has good transport links.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean. The staff very polite. I have to take a taxi in the morning to go to the university's exam hall. The lady who owns or works (not sure) has helped me to get it very soon and even stoped with me outside until the taxi stoped and wished me good luck. I felt like I was with a family member realy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in shower, and was next door to someone who spent all night turning on/off taps and running water in bathroom - so very little sleep,

    I left before 8am so just had toast,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Walking distance to St Vincent's Hospital. Breakfast is buffet style and self service, lots of choice & boiled or scrambled eggs no problem. TV not working but owner's son lent me his laptop & Netflix access, very kind & welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good bus connections to and out of Dublin. Very welcoming and friendly owner. Good Wifi connection. Very tasty breakfast with the possibility to eat throughout the day. Quite clean. You can find a cupboard filled with shampoo, wash gel, etc. if you accidentally forget something.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This doesn't have to do with the b&b, but there is no supermarket or convenience store close. But the b&b itself is perfect.

    Cozy room, very comfortable bed and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bit of extra cleaning needed

    This B&B is not luxurious but felt like a home away from home. Very comfortable bed and linens. On a busy road but very quiet. Excellent healthy breakfast. Hostess Viola has a wealth of knowledge of the area and is happy to share. Close to bus into Dublin and walking distance to good restaurant and supermarket. Loved Donnybrook

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only thing i would do is put an extra chair in bedroom.

    every thing was really good, great choice for breakfast, you could make tea/coffee any time and help you self to cookies.and there is a lovely lounge downstairs and a very friendly, lovely owner Viola makes you very welcome and you feel at home.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom tile needed replaced. I would have liked more hot breakfast items. Overall very good. I would like the option to reuse the towels with no bed services.

    The eggs were good. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The towels were changed daily.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to stay viola was a great host beds really comfy and rooms had everything you needed continental breakfast was lovely and fresh will definitely be booking here again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More shelving required in bathroom also a PowerPoint and towel hocks would have been handy. These are small points.

    Quiet room overlooking the garden also quite a big room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Close to bus stop & walking distance to eating venues. Viola our host was a fabulous lady & couldn't do enough for us. The continental breakfast was one of the best we've had. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our host was very accommodating and we got everything we needed for our stay and there was parking space so we didnt have to pay for parking

    Location was great everything was close and very central.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coming from the country I found it difficult to sleep with all the traffic. I like eggs from breakfast but there didn't seem to be any on offer

    Closeness to UCD, comfortable and very clean. Pleasant and helpful welcome from a young man (big boy)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took long time for shower to get hot.

    Great Pillows, fab selection of fruits etc.for continental breakfast. Viola was a lovely friendly lady and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisier neighbours can be a problem (very thin walls). sometimes a bit slower internet connection for video calls.

    Viola (as well as other staff) is really a very hospitable person. There was no problem with anything I asked for. Breakfast was fine, lots of fresh fruit (they also offer gluten free products). Location is near airport bus and city buses stops. Nice garden. I had a view at the garden so the room was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75