Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of O'Donoghue's 3 stars

15 Merrion Row, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#48 of 93 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly helpful staff and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from the bar, loading/unloading metal barrels. (Brought ear plugs which were helpful). The smoke from the smokers outside drifting up to the window. This wouldn't be a problem in the winter but the window needed to be open for fresh air in the Summer.

    Friendly helpful staff and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    A lovely Irish experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was extra comfy! The pub underneath the rooms is absolutely perfect. The location is very good, near the park, walking distance from most tourist spots in Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was a bit confusing, had to flag down a bar tender. Room was far too hot - it was a warm day in Dublin, my room had windows on 2 sides and was on the top floor, so it definitely didn't need heating, however the heating came on automatically and couldn't be controlled from the room. I had to go down to the bar, which was very busy, and wait for someone to serve me before I could ask for the heating to be turned off. Eventually someone came up to my room and turned it off, saying it wouldn't be on the next day as the forecast was for a warm day. Sure enough, it came back on around 10am the next day. The place was very noisy, with the beer garden directly under my window.

    Great location and an easy walk to Temple Bar and shops. Bed was very comfortable and wifi was good. Late checkout was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    Good Location with many points to think about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, people shouting very late at night. Basic room supplies like towels and toilet paper was not available till requested. Bathroom, even a thin person can't take a shower comfortably. Steep ladders, there is not elevator making difficult to take the bags. No hotel reception, it was difficult to locate the main entrance since it gets confused with the pub.

    Location was good overall and the experience of being in one of oldest and recognized pub in Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Beds were comfy, position of property excellent, could walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfy, position of property excellent, could walk to St Stephen’s Green easily and to all other tourist sites. Hop on/ hop off bus just near by and shop across the road. Also right near airport bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    The pub has music most nights and is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub has music most nights and is in a good location. Just bare in mind that it is a busy pub on a busy road, so don’t think you’re gonna get away with going to bed early. Request a room on the upper floors if possible. That said, the entire experience with brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.0
    I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was grubby. The carpet and drapes were dirty. The shower had mold around the grouting at the base. The housekeeper didn't provide bath towels, even when asked- she just left 4 medium size hand towels. The duvet cover (which acted as the top sheet) was not changed during my 3 day stay. The Wi-Fi connection was so weak that my Kindle and computer only worked periodically despite the staff trying to remedy the problem.

    The people were nice and tried to be helpful. The location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Good weather and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for soap and toilet paper, very little toilet paper and no soap even the next day after room had been made up, carpet in the room looked like it had not been vacuumed in a long time

    Bed was really comfy, location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    All in all a nice stay. But not sure if l would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeepers were very rude and unfriendy. The internet was non-existent. We couldn't get into our room one night.we had to go down to the bar and get them to let us in with the master key. the owner came and fixed the lock the next day and give use a new key. didn't even apologize. Had to leave my door on the latch, as we wanted to go out to dinner that night. Spoiled our evening to be honest.

    The bar staff were very friendly and helpful. Comfy beds. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Had a very good stay in general. Wasn’t bothered at all by noise from the pub below
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used some shelf space in bathroom and shower , cleaning adequate but not thorough

    Great beds, perfectly situated within walking distance of mostly everything, nice staff, water pressure in shower was great, fresh towels almost daily

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.6
    Average minus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi! Did not function in the room. To far from the router the staff said. If I had known I would have chosen an other accommodation.

    Walkingdistance to the center of Dublin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.0
    Just about adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guesthouse separate to pub but you have to ‘check in’ through the pub meaning there has to be someone behind the bar if you want to check in or out. Leaving very early or arriving very late and you’ve no chance. The main entrance door to the guesthouse is very difficult to open with the keys provided had to fiddle about for ages each time we entered, similarly the lock on our room (right at the very top of the building) was old and keys fiddly. The room was very high up at the top of lots of flights of narrow stairs but the man from behind the bar who ‘checked us in’ carried one small suitcase. The room was fine and little noise from the pub because we were so high up but I can guess that the lower rooms would hear a lot more noise. Shower was small but good, beds comfortable. All a bit tired and out of date but didn’t mind that. Please be aware that there is no breakfast available at this property and I didn’t think this would matter but when staying there I did miss having the obligatory ‘hotel breakfast’ which always gets the day off to a good start. The one member of staff I did see did not offer any alternative venues for breakfast which I think they should do on arrival as they do not provide this service. The pub itself is really dark and dingy and really old fashioned ‘spit and sawdust type’. It’s not a family pub at all but if you’re looking for the whole traditional Irish pub experience from years ago then you’ve probably found the right place for you but just remember to take a torch!! There were also problems with payment by credit card where my card was declined by my credit card company due to security reasons meaning I had to go back to the pub, explain the situation to quite a rude, older man behind the bar who then proceeded to scowl at me and talk to another man behind the bar in Irish so that I wouldn’t understand.

    The location was excellent only 75 metres on the left and it’s St Stephen’s Green and a Hop on Hop off Bus stop. Airlink Shuttle bus stop just across the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    great place to stay, the rooms are above an Irish bar, but...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people may find the rooms equipment a little outdated (but still very well maintained), shower is small, but who cares...:)

    great place to stay, the rooms are above an Irish bar, but still quite enough, the location is great and the rooms are absolutely ok, great value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great location authentic pub w traditional music
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not bad but Small showers, many stairs, street noise could bother some ppl if you open the windows

    Authentic Irish pub &hotel, great location within walking distance to everything,about 15 min walk to Temple and 20 to O'Connell St.they have live traditional music right downstairs at the pub, clean beds with duvets. Hot showers with good pressure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    2.9
    it was handy for work, would never stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was dirty. Not cleaned after previous guests. Shower filthy and very old. Bord failte wouldn't pass this place.

    Nothing. Way too expensive for what u get.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Dublin is a great place to visit, just research your accommodation fully before you book. It wasn’t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold yet the heating only came on for a short time in the morning and evening. After a bad first night due to noise and tiny bed I asked to be moved, staff were great and our second room on 3rd floor was great but still very cold. Great bar with a great atmosphere! Beds are too small.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Short and practical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - we got what we were expecting, but probably wouldn’t have wanted to stay more than one night. No lift, so be mindful if you have a problem with narrow flights of stairs!

    The location was good - right opposite the airport bus stop, which is what we needed. The bar itself is great if you like live music and a busy atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and nice for us - we would definitely consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was so extraordinarily small - it was a bit difficult to navigate. The rooms were very well noice proofed - though we were in the attic room and there was a continuous noise of a heater or water boiler every few minutes. It wasn't enough to keep us awake but might disrupt someone who is a light sleeper.

    Location was excellent and was very easy to check in and out. The room itself was basic but comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Cold and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    States live music every night, there wasn’t. The room was cold and difficult to get to as up lots of narrow stairs. Couldn’t get the WiFi. No food on site. Overpriced.

    It was clean and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Just an accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not breakfast in the Pub. The room's cost is big (194€ for 2 people for 2 nights). The shower cabinet is tiny.

    There are not many things that you can say for this place. It is a Pub, a very big, traditional, nice Pub and has some rooms for visitors. Do not expect many things. It is near to the center, around 15' of walking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a short stay in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not really a dislike no breakfast available but there are plenty of places in Dublin to get a full breakfast or similar.

    Even though the rooms are on top of a busy pub it is pretty quiet .Room was very large and the shower was the best I’ve encountered (great flow and temperature).Great price for a Saturday night too as you can’t get much in Dublin for less than €100 nowadays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    A very comfortable and pleasant stay. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think having bedside Lamps would have made a difference and a small shelf in the Shower cubicle for toiletries.

    The Room was very nice and comfortable and the Staff were very helpful. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    Great location, but cold and noisy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the room was unbearably cold (we spent there three nights in December) and quite dated. The minimalist interior meant that there were no bedside lamps. The sheets and towels were clean, but otherwise the room was dusty.

    The location was excellent: The guesthouse is a walking distance away from all the main attractions. There are restaurants, grocery store and café on the same street. O'Donoghue's is a great pub for a late night drink.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent place for short stay in Dublin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarette smoke taint in the room. Very small desk for work.

    Location! Nice light room. Tea/coffee + milk and kettler! Calm though proximity to the pub.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.9
    Too dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too dated. Shower far too small for any adult. Room on the front of the building very noisy main road as well as load music and voices from bar downstairs. We never slept and therefore hoilday ruined

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice trendy pub with ok rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy as our room was on the first floor, but not too bad. Room was not perfectly cleaned. (Vacuum cleaner?) Bathroom was clean.

    Good location and rooms above a very popular trendy pub!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Rooms are in the upper floors of a pub (great pub, btw).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no staff for the hotel; if you need anything, need to find staff of the pub to help you. Wi-fi at the room was awful, would do better with smoke signs (there was good wi-fi only at the pub). Room very small, you could hardly move around. They changed us to a bigger room (without charge, very nice of them), but in an upper floor, with more stairs to climb.

    Rooms are in the upper floors of a pub (great pub, btw). Soundproofing of the rooms is excellent. Excellent location, you can walk to most city's attractions. Staff of the pub friendly and helpful. Fair prices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Very nice pub hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problems I had were that the shower was very small (though still nicely powerful), and the WiFi didn't extend into the room. I only managed to get a slight signal near the room door.

    The room was very nice, with a comfortable bed. Considering it's above a pub (a very nice pub at that) the soundproofing was good. The staff were also very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.0
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was very little interaction with staff. I had to check in in the bar and a barman gave me the keys of the room and showed me where to go. At 8am the folowing morning I was lucky enough to meet a man who was unlocking the entrance and handed him the keys. If I needed to leave earlier I don't know how that would have been possible.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Beds were comfortable, which was important as I was out & about all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast would have been nice considering the price & parking was not available.

    The location was fantastic, which is why I booked. It was within walking distance from a lot of touristy things including St Stephens Green, Grafton St., Museums, Dublin Castle, Cathedrals etc. Also liked the historical architecture & pub music which is what Ireland is all about.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    If you like to stay a couple of days close to a lively pub, then it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have the feeling that the trad music sessions have become fewer this year, maybe because of the sound level that undoubtedly has increased in the pub.

    Nice pub with traditional music sessions in the house. I play and love irish trad music. In that respect the place has a interesting past. Pictures of my heroes at the walls in the pub. Very quiet room even though the windows on the second floor faced the lively Merrion Street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location above an iconic bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. The shower had mold on the inside and was generally pretty dirty. It can be loud at night because the rooms are above a busy bar. You’re basically paying for the location and not much else.

    Great location above an iconic bar. Room was spacious and beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Had a marvellous stay. Would thoroughly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Great atmosphere in the pub you get a true sense of Irish hospitality. Musicians on every evening. Lots of laughter in the pub. The bar staff are very friendly and pull a great pint of Guinness 👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    Budget room costing €140/night midwk in Oct in excellent location just off St Stephen's Green
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    €140/night midweek in October - typically expensive Dublin prices. No breakfast included. Wifi didn't work.

    Double bed, en suite, fridge (in wardrobe), tea/coffee making facilities, sound proof windows were essential as above a pub & on a busy street, great location just off Stephen's Green.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Fun Property! Quintessential Irish Bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be painted and carpets replaced,

    Great Shower pressure! Great location - a SPAR grocery across the streeet - room was sound proof so quiet despite being above a well trafficked bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    You should stay here for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two lights in the room were burned out when I checked in. Only one was ever fixed. Not much in the way of housekeeping service. They emptied the waste basket in the bathroom. No refresh of the coffee/tea service at all. And the staff did not knock on the door before entering my room! Also, very steep stairs— I was on the second floor. But there was someone to help with luggage both up and down, thank goodness!

    You should stay here for the location. It’s walking distance to most of the major attractions in Dublin. There’s a market right across the street as well as many pubs and restaurants to choose from. But keep in mind, the folks are much more interested in runnng the pub than the hotel. So not at all the level of service one might expect from a ‘real’ hotel. That said, it was very quiet, as long as you keep the windows closed. No pub or street noise to speak of. And the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Overall it was a good stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little small. Would be nice to be told how to leave the property before the staff started to work in the morning.

    Better than I expected. Room is very spacious and comfortable. Close to all amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good stay, excellent value for the money and a nice pub!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit loud during the night, stairs are steep (not a problem for me) but owners help you with your luggage when you arrive.

    Perfect location in Dublin and very nice pub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    The people were friendly location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had some mold in it & the people cleaning the room didn't knock before they started to enter to clean.

    The people were friendly location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location, near bus stops, easy to get around Dublin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't the music hub as promoted in Dublin Tourist info.

    Great location, near bus stops, easy to get around Dublin from there whether by foot or bus, Spar across road so access to quick food, supplies.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Do you want party? come here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though they have double glazing windows, you can hear the noise from outside. It's a very busy street at night, especially at summer.

    The room is good, big enough, bathroom too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    safe, clean, private, and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs! But because I had read about them in the lodging description, I knew I had to cope with them ahead of time. Therefore, for me, I decided to cope and did, even at 4:45 am with my suitcase as I went to meet the bus. If you must have a lift, and if you must have hovering staff, you probably won't have as good an experience as I did.

    The room was safe, clean, private, and comfortable. The wonderfully big windows looked out on Merrion Row. There was a nice food store across the street. St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street were within easy walking distance even for a person with a cane. The 757 airport express was almost just across the street and the area seemed safe enough for me to catch it at 5 in the morning on the day of my return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom was very small and the shower was very narrow. There was no air conditioning and the area had a lot of noise so we couldn't leave the window open.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Great location to explore Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were caught off guard by nothing. The room was cozy, the stairs were steep, and there is noise from the street (with the window open). All things to be expected given the location.

    The location was perfect. It was close enough to walk everywhere we wanted to go. And far enough outside the Temple Bar area to not feel too touristy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Not fancy, but fun
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pub ~ @ big, noisy, popular pub..lots of bucks/hens parties there on Fri/sat ....and you will also get some street noise in your room...We didn't mind...loved the vibe...But may not be everyone's taste

    Pubs everywhere, supermarket/eateries/ bus stop across the road, St Stephen's Green Park on the corner, 5 min walk to museums/galleries.10 mins to Temple bar...big, bustling, noisy area~ never a dull moment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    3.8
    Go to odonoghues for a pint, they're lovely, but not a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning or even a fan. Which in normal cool Irish weather probably isn't much of an issue. It was hot when we were there so it was very uncomfortable. The room is located directly over a pub, which sounded fun, but it wasn't. We didn't sleep for 3 days. People were yelling and fighting and slamming doors at all hours of the night. We had no choice but to either boil in the heat and muffle the noise or deal with there noise and be somewhat comfortable with the temp. We started out with a sheet and a comforter after the first cleaning the sheet disappeared and never came back. Go to odonoghues for a pint, they're lovely, but not a stay.

    It was very close to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    A taste of Dublin history with all the conveniences!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We were pleased and happy to have found this hotel.

    Fabulous historic hotel with great Pub at street level. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful! We arrived before check-in time. The staff offered to store our luggage and when we returned, the room was ready and our luggage was in our room!!! The location is perfect: close to city sites but away from hordes of tourists. Also very good restaurants close to hotel. The guest rooms have double pane Windows to block pub and street noise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Good for non-demanding guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service mostly only provided clean towels daily. The glasses brought up from the bar were not automatically picked up the next day so we wrote a note asking them to take them the following day.

    The place is exactly where you'd want to be in Dublin! And right above the busiest pub we've come across. Billy is the best bar tender I've ever met!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    excellent base for exploring the city above a put
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No reception, check-in at the bar. Noise not only from outside but also from the corridor, from running water, .. Extremelly small shower in the bathroom (max 50x50 cm).

    Large room. Perfect location in the city center, bus stop to the airport 20 m away. Guinness beer right below :-) Supermarket opposite the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    ideal location for the conference i attended at Trinity.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ideal location for the conference i attended at Trinity. i had a room on the top floor and it was pretty quiet considering the pub has music on all day. certainly quiet enough for me to get on with work.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Bar staff were great and sorted me out with a room even though there was confusion about being booked up or not (I booked it late through the app) got me a pint.. let me sit in the bar until I was finished after closing..had a chat. Room was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    HOW OFTEN CAN YOU SLEEP ABOVE A FAMOUS PUB?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was great to stay in rooms above one of the best pubs in Dublin. To have a great pint downstairs, listen to live Irish Traditional Music, and rub elbows with the friendly natives. The location is close to museums, Stephen's Green Park. Close to shopping (if you want that) There were no elevators, but plenty of help with the suit cases.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a bit more shelving in bathroom to put toiletries etc and somewhere to put shower gel and shampoo in shower cubicle

    We were out sightseeing most days but the Guinness was excellent And the toasted sandwich fine

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hot water 1st day, mould in bathroom, dirty windows and needs painting. uncomfortable bed. no bin in room. 6 flights of stairs to room. dark and gloomy. stairs not good.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Great location, wonderful pub, and fantastic staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the first floor and therefore got particularly noisy on Saturday night (as might be expected). Little warning: the hairdryer is like the type that used to be found in public swimming pools, if you're addicted to a decent blow-dry, bring your own.

    Everything else

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.9
    VFM en-suite bedrooms, not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well you need to get used to the fact that this is not a hotel, just some rooms attached to a pub. That and the narrow staircase you have to haul up the luggage

    VFM no-non sense comfortable rooms over one of the most popular pubs

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location and cheaper than most other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was a hatch in the beer garden!?

    Excellent location and cheaper than most other accommodations on this date... with 3 beds - 2 single and 1 double

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.1
    No frills but comfortable, well-located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are a bit tired, not sure how clean either. Breakfast is also an entirely DIY affair, but luckily Spar is just across the road.

    Got a sizeable room with 3 beds to choose from. Very comfortable. Great value for money in that sense. Staff ensured I got this since original room wad not ready.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.3
    Nothing too fancy, but really comfortable place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I myself had no complains, but was a little concerned that the room at the second floor might be noisy for being just above the bar. I was staying at the 3rd floor and there was no problem at all.

    Nothing too fancy, but really comfortable place to stay. Great location, quick check-in, nice bed, warm room, hot water in shower, and very cost effective. Greatly recommended for those who just need a comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Nearly spot on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold February in Dublin with a cold room 😣

    Lack of heat in the room would prevent me from staying here again,everything else was spot on, especially the super helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic Crac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food offering may not cater for everyone, hot & cold sandwiches. soup and Irish Stew. Wouldn't recommend for families but was spot on for what we wanted. It is what it is - definitely going back

    2 Mins from St Stephens Green, Grafton Street and 10 mins from Temple Bar. Staff and locals excellent. Atmosphere in the bar area's brilliant - all round fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in a great location for almost any type of traveller. Be aware, no elevator.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small detail that i think was done by mistake was that a pack of oatmeal and a nailclipper that were in an open shopping bag went missing, i believe it was confused with trash. Overall nothing important.

    Great bed, shower, room space, storage and overall quality. Very clean, bed sheets and towels were renewed every day.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Well located for everything especially for the live music on the premises and fall into bed after.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nothing I didn't like, would recommend it to all able bodied people.

    The staff carried my case up and down from my room. The room was lovely and spacious and it was very quiet. Location was very convenient for me to walk around city and to take a taxi to bus station. Also the fast bus to and from airport stop is a 5 min walk along Merrion Row

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Fab time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful place to stay, close to the centre and plenty of place for food and drink, loved the live music sessions look forward to coming back soon 😀

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.3
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can hear all the street noises and getting woken up by a car alarm at 5 am wasn't great, despite using ear plugs. Also the staff gave a key to my room to a different guest - they tried barging in at 11 pm, which was very unpleasant.

    Location is very convenient

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    Good location, great quality beds and fun place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small, but clean. Some people may find the narrow stairs a bit scary (there is no elevator), but I found it added to the charm and character of the place.

    Such an excellent location to discover Dublin's best. In your room you couldn't tell you were above a bar. No sound issues whatsoever. Double glazed windows keep street noises down as well. Perfect beds, clean sheets, soft to the touch. The staff was ever so polite and it's great to come down to the 'lobby' and enjoy live music and a pint of Guinness.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    3.8
    Good location - poor accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very poor. A huge pile of dust behind the door making it look as if it hadn't been hoovered for a very long time. Couldn't control the temperature of the room. Bedside table was slanted and everything slid off of it. We booked accommodation because of historical links to Dubliners and claim that there was live music every night. In my opinion the current management are trading on their historical links. Current management do not pay any respect to Irish music.

    The location was good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    Paying for Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricy, but everything in the neighborhood is.

    INCREDIBLE location!!! Central to everything worth seeing in Dublin, and easy parking at St Stephen's Shopping Centre only a few blocks away!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    One of Dublin's best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Around 50 stairs to our room on the top floor and no lift so our 55+yr old legs got a work out!

    Brilliant location handy to shops, buses etc. Staff are fabulous and beds super comfy. Highly recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.9
    Very charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The t v didn't work and the shower uncomfortably small.

    Perfect location for this part of Dublin. Very charming/ above one of the best pubs EVER.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Excellent, Central Location and Friendly Staff!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only issue is the noise from the street outside late at night BUT it is to be expected in a central location and a popular place.

    The staff were exemplary. For being such a popular place you don't get the "attitude" that one normally gets from popular places. They couldn't be nice. The location is absolutely central.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.7
    Mixed review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Stairs to room are steep & narrow. No breakfast offered. Minimal staff contact & had to seek out at the pub. Staff member mistakenly went to show my room to a couple when I was exiting the shower (not dressed). Room maintenance poor.

    Trad music downstairs. Location was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.1
    Dublin landmark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy due to busy location. Pack some earplugs.

    Location is excellent. Very central. Great atmosphere at bar at night. All Dubliners know O'Ds and have good things to say. A true landmark.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    4.6
    Good beds, everything else down the drain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We looked everywhere for a hotel with that name. In the end I went into a shabby crowded pub and asked if they knew this hotel, and the answer was yes, this is it! And the reception? It´s here! We waited for 20 min. or so for the "receptionist" to check out the room (we were a bit early). He came and asked us to follow him. When we came to the "entrance" he opend the door and there was a very steep stairs in a windowless and dark corridor, absolutly awful to walk up and down and heavy to open the door at the very end of the stairs. The room it self was ok, but the loudness from the bar during the night and from the trucks bringing applies very early in the morning was very noisy and unpleasnt. The cleaning was at its lowest rate; beds were made up and new towels brougt to the room. The carpets were not vacuumed and the toilet not whased until I quarrelled about it. We did not see any special staff for the hotel, only the bartenders. I think Booking.com should check their hotels rates better than they do.

    The beds were quite ok.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    6.7
    Great location but update a few things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical outlets and switches by bed were not working properly, have to wiggle them, possible safety concern. Shower needs to be recaulked desperately. Install a shelf in shower for shampoo and soap.....no where to set them. Sign on shower says keep water off floor, but with shower door closed water leaks out around shower door frame, so water on floor is not fault of visitors, except that they have to open shower door slightly to set soap or shampoo on toilet tank because there is no shelf in the shower itself. Put in a simple shelf in shower and consider an updated shower on handle and hose so a female can shower without wetting her hair. Servicing staff needs to learn difference between bath mats and towels. Last day received large bath towel, prior days was combination of hand towels and bath mats, bath mats to dry with.....come on guys.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: