Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club 3 stars

Downhill Road, . Ballina, Ireland

#14 of 17 hotels in Ballina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 389 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a lovely dinner upon arrival, however my gf was disappointed with hers. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. Very limited "continental breakfast" basically fruit and yoghurt and / or cereal like corn flakes, weetabix. I don't eat pork so my Irish breakfast consisted of eggs and toast. Which is ok. Except there were egg shells in my scrambled eggs. Coffee was more water than coffee.

    Nice setting, receptionists lovely and friendly. Bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it!! By a whole series of coincidences I was given "the best room in the house". It was fantastic and comfortable. I had seafood chowder in the bar and it was gluten free and absolutely delicious. I'll be back again!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing negative about the hotel or its staff

    Very homely spotlessly clean and location beautiful. Was sorry we couldn’t stay another few nights

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Feels generally run-down and shabby. They cut costs on silly stuff - we only had one teabag and one coffee sachet in our double room. At breakfast, the milk jug had congealed yellow 'stuff' inside it because it hadn't been washed properly in a long time and the fruit juices were clearly watered down. The windows hadn't been cleaned, the curtains were filthy and there were lots of areas of damp and mildew in the common areas and bathrooms.

    Nice leafy location. Only about 20 minutes to walk to town. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had asked for our rooms to be together and it didn't happen - My 83 yr old mam was with us mentioned it to staff and was told 'sure they were only around the corner from each other ' which wasn't true - also gentleman in Restaurant was handling the cutlery with his bare hands while cleaning and setting tables at breakfast in morn

    Room was Comfortable - Breakfast was ok-

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a great place. Only two minutes out of Ballina town and yet felt as though it was in the heart of the countryside. Both check in and check out were quick and easy. Staff/Hosts were very friendly and all had very useful local knowledge. The room was larger than most with a very good level of equipment. A separate bath and shower was a nice touch and the bed was one of the most comfortable that I have slept in in a long time. I arrived fairly late and used the bar for food which was of a quality much higher than I was expecting, and, for a bar menu it was much more extensive than I had expected. Only downside was that I couldn't stay longer. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Positive

    "Exceptionally lovely Receptionist and all staff" which, is somewhat lacking in most establishments today. It's a Credit to the owner/s for their business ethics, clearly they deserve top star's in all achievements covering all their Hotel offers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Very comfortable room. Good quality bar food with plenty of thought for vegetarian and coeliac customers. Great location - quiet but only 10 mins walk from the town centre. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    how old the furniture and decor was in the hotel.

    needs majour renovations the rooms and hotel very dated.. the food was AMAZING nicest food iv had in a hotel in a while.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The

    The rooms were lovely and cosy and staff were very pleasant. Gym classes were available to guests which is a bonus on a dreary evening. I would definitely come back to stay at the Twin Trees Hotel again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice quality hotel at a budget price. Amazing and attentive staff that went out of their way to provide great customer service that just couldn't be faulted.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thee absence of pastries croissants etc at breakfast was a disappointment although the fry itself was perfectly cooked. There was also no entertainment provided in the bar during the weekend we stayed .

    Staff were very friendly and attentive. Perfect place to go for a family getaway at a reasonable price. I was very impressed with the heated swimming pool. I do not think I've ever stepped into a pool so warm. The area itself were the hotel is situated is perfect for country walks or shopping in the local town. Plenty of places to go like bowling horse-riding cinema etc!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not find fault with anything.

    Every member of staff I encountered during my stay was lovely and very helpful. On my first morning, which was very frosty, the receptionist came out to see if I required help defrosting my windscreen and returned with a jug of warm water. I didn't have breakfast but had dinner in the bar one evening and it was absolutely delicious - far exceeding my expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of renovations. No pre warning about this. Hallways were absolutely freezing. Jacuzzi out of order. Snack machines out of order.

    Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Nice bar food. Kids movie club great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor - no passteries, croissants, yogurts, full fruit. Kids were very disappointed Walk internally to leisure Centre was dark and spooky and cold

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym was dreadful...a strong smell of mustiness and damp on the journey from the bedroom,no heat on in the corridors. Very few cars in car park as I ar ,clear signs of damp on the floors on the corridor. The machines and weights are old and tired, the carpet is filthy, ceiling filthy with exposed wires, One part has a slab floor which was dirty.Grim and depressing space- should be shut down.No staff to be seen- the girl at leisure reception was too busy chatting to attend, came out eventually ,no uniform, huddled in a big sweatshirt to keep warm. The reception was drab, dull lighting everywhere, its a most depressing place, huge potential because of location , but sad and tired. Very few cars in car park as I arrived- should have guessed from that. Price cheap- if you need a bed for the night and go out of the hotel for the day as the rooms are fine, clean . You get what you pay for I suppose

    Staff were lovely, very friendly. The bar man was so nice, great service and was very attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's unfortunate that one of the nights I stayed there, there was a large group of young gymnasts staying in the hotel who ran riot around the bedrooms from late afternoon until late evening. That Saturday evening I had to phone reception twice regarding the noise - children running from room to room, constant banging on doors, ringing of telephones, and jumping around the bedrooms. The adults who were meant to be looking after these youngsters were too busy drinking in the bar to be concerned with the noise they were making. While the behaviour of this group was not the hotel's fault, the hotel should really have made it known to guests that such a large group of young people would be staying at the hotel, as it was obvious at the time of booking that they would be staying, unsupervised in the bedrooms. I had a four hour drive ahead of me the next morning and got very little sleep as the children staying in the rooms either side of me, not only stayed up during the night, but also started ringing phones at 7am the next morning. That was the final straw for me and I packed my bag and left without availing of the breakfast option that I'd paid for.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, and dinner and breakfast was piping hot. The vegetarian breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dissapointing that the restaurant was closed in the evening.Also that there was no evening music although advertised.The very small number of clients made the hotel less homely.

    Room was excellent and good value the staff were very pleasant and breakfast was good.There were good leisure facilities at hand.It is very handy to ballina for shopping.It was sad that the hotel appeared to have a small number of clients.Bar food was acceptable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the gym/leisure centre could do with a good upgrade-it was cold going down to it and dressing rooms were not the best

    I liked that the food was very nice and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An area that could have been improved is the breakfast The selection was limited Some pastries and some fresh fruit should be available The sausages were tasteless and the bacon poor

    The staff were very friendly, the room was perfect, the swimming pool was perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found our room very cold and the hotel in general was cold. eg halls, bar, restaurant. Too expensive for one night with breakfast not included

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived after travelling 4hours arrived at 4 and had to wait for food at the bar till 8 o clock due to a wedding being on found the food ok but overpriced and not much on the menu also the second night fire alarm rang twice kids were petrified and no one around when we went to see what the problem was

    The staff on recepection were very nice and the leisure center pool was nice but locker rooms changing rooms could do with updating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bedroom. I thought it was short of lamps in the bedroom,.

    Hotel beautifully situated in its own grounds. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a tasty breakfast and dinner menu, the restaurant was situated at the overlooking mature trees and a beautiful waterfall. Unfortunately I was unable to use pool and spa but that was my own fault.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it

    Staff were so friendly the rooms was very comfortable didn't have breakfast as was in a rush. Would recommend to anyone in a quiet location but not far from the town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at hotel at 8.30pm to find the pool/leisure centre (not in the same building) in shut down mode at 9pm. Food in the bar also ended at 9pm with no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The 'satellite' TV comprised of 3 or 4 mostly Irish stations with very poor quality 'snowy' reception. The shower water was warm but had no decent pressure.Compared to simillar priced/marketed Hotels I use on my route this offered nothing near comfort and being that I went out of my way for this deal I wasn't impressed. On a positive note I discovered the Junction cafe in Ballina serving proper dinner food till 11pm, should be more like it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just an all excellent hotel experience. Clean well presented rooms, very warm friendly staff and the best cooked breakfast with “real” toast all cooked to perfection

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very disappointing. We booked a family room and also requested a cot. When we arrived we weren't put into a family room and we had no cot. We spoke to staff the next and the lady told us she would get management to call us and we received nothing from them. would not recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the above good points about the hotel were totally negated by the location of the room. We were on the first floor, with our door onto the staircase landing from the foyer, and almost directly over the function room. Result; we did not fall asleep until after 2.00am due to incessant noise from foyer, function room and staircase.

    The excellent and friendly staff; the location and ambience; the bar food very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit overcooked They had a tour in so service was a little all over the place.

    Friendly staff on reception Nice room Very clean and comfortable TV picture quality was poor Very grey picture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure centre needs updating and a lick of paint. Bits in bottom of pool. Seal around steam room door and sauna broken. Crack in bath panel.

    Size of the room was great. Had tea coffee facilities and iron in room was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub is cracked inside and out was scared to take one as didn't want a leak luckily enough ye have showers also

    My son is autistic we booked to stay as his birthday treat staff went above and beyond to help

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable, stained and had hairs on them. Shower looked disgusting. No toiletries and breakfast was poor

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful when asked how to get to places in the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came to breakfast a bit late after a tour bus group attacked the spread like a pack of locust.

    Bar woman made the best Irish coffees. Moira was quick and had boatload of personality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was ideal for our trip. Centrally located, and close to the town of Ballina, loads of parking and surrounded by fabulous garden. Staff were really friendly and helpful, especially the receptionist when we arrived.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a face lift .. dated decorating pink stripes on walls... very dusty room and surrounding furniture around the reception area.. no sky tv in rooms or bar.

    Restaurant food excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are basic and need modernising. Our shower tray in bathroom was a bit grubby looking and the front bath panel had a massive deep crack across the top. Room was very hot and I could not turn the radiator off. I booked a family room but got a 3 bed room and a fold-up bed which my daughters could not sleep in, so they doubled-up in a single bed. Disappointed. The pool area was ok but the shower cubicles old and need refreshing.

    Lovely front entrance to hotel and front lobby was bright and modern, unlike hotel rooms. Food and staff were good though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv only had 2 channels working. The rooms and pool are fairly dated and could do with updating. I went for a bath on arrival and the bathroom flooded with the water seeping out into the carpet in the room. Staff were nice and did offer us a change of room. A small discount or free breakfast would have been appreciated as compensation.

    Bed was very comfy and the room spacious. Lots of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park had limited number of spaces and was full early in afternoon. One person on reception trying to deal with queue and didn't seem to be her normal job. Didn't have time to wait for room, had to change in toilet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was small and very outdated, the bathroom was grubby and no hot water for a shower in the morning. We complained and were told , " Oh you must be the last people in the hotel" what a lame excuse for a 4 star hotel . The cost of the accommodation was way above any of the other hotels which were much newer and just as convenient. NEVER AGAIN

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needs a good clean and revamp. there was a spring protruding in the single bed, a hole on the armrest of the couch, grubby carpets, no ironing board, we didn't complain as we were leaving the following morning and not coming back. the spa.....no way would our teenagers get into the pool, not very inviting

    the rooms were a good size and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not a lot i did not like except there was a funeral one evening and i had to park out on the road could not be helped i suppose.

    rooms were warm and comfortable and the staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating in room seemed to come on no matter WHAT SETTING IT WAS ON

    Beautiful room, with garden views, quiet.Sunny aspect. Large room with comfy beds and seating. I liked the breakfast and the leisure centre. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is nothing to do with what I didn't like but I would make one observation. The beds are very comfortable. However, all the divans had different bases therefore a valance or pelmet would just finish the room off.

    Excellent breakfast in a very lovely room. Breakfast room looks over little waterfalls so pretty. All staff said "hello". Lovely reception area. The view from the bedrooms although look over the front of the hotel and the car park there was so much green that you really didn't notice. Lovely warm bedrooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Not quite up to the standards of the bar food in the evening.

    Great location on the edge of Ballina. Quiet as it's away from busy roads. Good comfortable room. Friendly staff. Good food in the bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, swimming pool area needing lots of decorating, broken tiles,showers not working well. Hot tub out of action. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's abit dated in the rooms which adds to the character but things like the TV and kettle need updating

    It was in a laneway making it lovely an quite for a restful stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and worn carpets and bathrooms. Clean but tired. Room was listed as having waterfall view - it overlooked the roof. Room listed as double for single occupancy - it was a twin. Shower curtain, not screen. Loo roll holder location meant sitting on toilet was awkward. Jacuzzi out of action. Lockers in sports centre do not lock.

    Staff and cleanliness could not be faulted. Location is good, a short walk into town past the park. Well signposted from the main road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and gym in separate building, not a prob on this occasion as weather warm and dry, other hotels also put a biscuit with tea/coffee facilities! But would definitely stay there again!

    Friendly welcome, great shower and leisure centre, very comfortable bed and lovely spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at breakfast was terrible. Young staff who have not been properly trained and not a clue about proper table service etiquette. Food was mediocre and some items were missing when my breakfast arrived on the table. I asked for toast twice but never received it. Must frustrating!

    Good parking, quiet, walking distance of the town, nice receptionists, lovely room, very good value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The meeting next to the river. The welcoming atmosphere that pervades the whole complex. The very friendly and non-intrusive staff at reception and in the restaurant. The very attentive way in which our breakfast and evening meals were accommodated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a bit outdated, especially the pool & sauna facilities , felt it could do with some basic decor, cleaning, lick of bright paint, replacing mats, showers were not exactly sparkling & ladies changing area, the sauna was lacking heat.

    Lovely receptionist

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely at the front of house and bar. But there was a few things in the room that coukd do with attention. Loose taps, broken bath front, dust in bedside cabinets, only 4 channels on TV, cobwebs under curtains. The leisure centre could do with a good deep cleaning. The dressing rooms, doors of the lockers, the jacuzzi water was brown, and there was work mans wellies sitting in area. I dont like to complain but think the hotel is great abd some littke updates would really help them with repeat business

    The staff were excellent and really friendly and helpful. The bar food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was damp, dusty, smelly, holes in beds ,paint flaking off walls, I wouldn't advise anyone to stay there. The pool was cold, the jacuzzi wasn't working.

    I liked the outdoor space. The staff wore really friendly and tried there best to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just thought the breakfast area a bit confusing looking for the food. Would probably like it to be served to me. Reception on TV not very good and only a few stations. I understand that could be to do maybe with high trees.

    Enjoyed the visit very much. Thought the breakfast room was lovely and had lots of space, people not on top of one another, nice scenery out the window and very relaxing to look out at first thing in the morning . Did like that you had the option of having breakfast or not .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very tired and dated and in need of a decor upgrade to take it out of the 1980s. The dining room smelled of damp and the swirly carpet everywhere has seen better days. The TV had only 4 channels. There were no shower caps provided - the shower head was fixed to the wall so this was a bit inconvenient.

    Good location; nice grounds; ok breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We benefited from a free upgrade to a massive room. Very friendly (and helpful) staff from reception to the bar, to the breakfast room and anyone we met in the hallways. Although this is a good-sized hotel, the owner David is omnipresent. We would see him in the lobby, the breakfast room and the bar (which had a good selection of nicely prepared meals); he always found time to check on everyone and in our case took extra time to give us sightseeing tips on our drive back from Carne Golf Course. Located on the edge of Ballina, it has the advantages of a quiet, park-like setting while being a short walk from town itself. Plenty of available parking at the hotel (unlike the town itself).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be better to have internal access to leisure club from the hotel.

    Staff were very pleasant. Girl at reception couldn't be more helpful. Rooms were generous and very clean. Leisure club was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is my second time staying there. In the intervening 5 years the decor appears worn and the lobby needs a complete refurbishing of the furniture. Leather pieces are worn and upholstery is on the edge of shabby. I hope they are successful in this venture, and am told by locals that they need to reach out for community support. Perhaps they could invite some local groups to hold meetings there without charge to build community support.

    The entire staff are superb and go beyond the expected to make you feel welcome. I was traveling solo they went out of their way to inquire about me and my family. They seemed to know or at least recognize my relatives who were locals. The food is very good; breakfast was served in dining room overlooking grounds and a small waterfall (ample) and dinner served in the bar was excellent (gourmet level).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Comfortable room. Very obliging and helpful staff. I was in town for the half marathon and the receptionist and night porter between them made sure I was able to not only get my breakfast a little earlier than usual but cooked up my "secret recipe" porridge for me. The sort of touches that make me want to come back again! (Btw maybe you'd consider doing some sort of runners'package for next year's event? Plenty of partipants from other parts of the country)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stale smell and the pool area

    The first thing you get when u want in the hotel is a stale/old smell when is worse in the bedrooms had to go and buy an air fresher. Bathroom in the room gruppy. Shower not clean. Toilet brush filthy.The pool area is awful really outdated not clean showers and toilets are in a terrible state. Mosaic tiles inside the pool itself are coming off with several already missing. The food in the bar was not great and overpriced for what we got ate out the second night. On the upside the staff were lovely and friendly espically the little older man on at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No entertainment at night in the bar especially for a bankholiday weekend

    Nice hotel room was very nice but beds were not very comfortable as they were 2 single beds pushed together

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if we weren't locked outside the hotel for a half hour the second night of our stay as the keypad outside the door was not working, and the calls to the hotel phone were unanswered as the night porters phone was "not working". when this was brought to the attention of the reception staff we were offered vouchers to use again which were out of date. after this we spoke with the owner and his reply was that we must have been using the wrong code and that they would look into it and get back to us after checking cctv. Thankfully it was a dry night and not raining. Would not recommend his hotel and will not be returning.

    the chance to have a relaxing weekend away for my sisters birthday

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby and hallways were dated. Our hallway had some wallpaper issues and needed to be repaired. Few amenities in the bathroom.

    Room was very nice The staff was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area was rather dark and depressing. Better lighting would have created a more intimate atmosphere rather than a social club, the restaurant was not available,! From room 103 to reception took me 168 steps,I do have a knee problem,and 22 stairs to negotiate,plus a small and sometimes well queued for lift. All this to get me to a room some 40 yards from reception. Lack of individual bedside lights for reading at night.

    Staff throughout the hotel were full of care and consideration.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So old fashioned rooms stunk no TVs signal the fire alarm went off in the hotel at half 9 in the morning for no reason was going on for a hour straight

    Nothing rely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor of the corridors are lovely and create a really nice atmosphere - it would be lovely if it could be continued throughout, I stayed towards the back of the hotel & the corridor decor was not so good. The curtains in the room need to go! ;)

    The staff were absolutely lovely! The room was spacious Excellent value for money The room was in excellent condition every evening I returned

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff we great very welcoming, My room was very Spacious room and clean, We eat in the hotel bar and the food came out fast and was very tasty, Great quiet location, walkable to the town centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the time we arrived we got an uneasy feeling. It was 6pm on a Friday evening and the place was in darkness. Lights were turned off in many areas all over the weekend. My Mum almost fell down the stairs on Sunday morning as the lights in the hall were off and we were afraid to take the lift again. We used the stairs all weekend to get to our room as we felt the lift was not safe. we put our bags in it on Sunday morning and met them on the ground floor to pick them up. We had the breakfast there which was only ok. The room was cold on Sunday morning so we had to go back to our room and make tea there so we would be warm. We had asked for the heating to be on in our room and this was done but it was the only place the heating was on. There was a constant smell of must and damp in the hotel. When we asked about where to go on Friday night for traditional music the receptionist couldn't tell us about anywhere to go in town. We went to a lovely pub and that did us but nothing exciting to write about. We went down to look at the pool on Saturday morning and it wasn't worth getting our swimsuits wet to even bother going. It is tiny. There is no longer direct access between the hotel and the so called leisure centre and you have to go outside to get to it. There used to be access and the door is closed with a note to say that it is closed for renovations. There was no sign of any building works. We were told in no uncertain terms were we to bring out towels from the room to the pool that these would be provided by the leisure centre and she (the receptionist) was sure to tell us too that no shampoo or shower gel would be provided by the leisure centre. The toiletries in the room were very minimal. We went to the Ice House on Saturday afternoon for lunch and coffees. A much superior experience from the moment we arrived. We went to Dillon's for dinner on Saturday night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed's weren't comfortable we booked a double room and the bed was barely a double and short i'm 5'7 and my legs hung off the end of the bed

    location was nice, staff were friendly hotel was nice an quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As much as I enjoyed my stay, the TV was not the best. Some channel quality was not great and the remote control did not work.

    As I was doing a marathon ye following morning, it was great that the staff were able to provide an earlier than normal time for breakfast and the selection available was really top drawer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no hot water on our second night or last morning but the owners did sort us out(maybe something to do with the power cut they had had before we arrived so can't really blame hotel)

    Unfortunately we had no hot water on our second night(or last morning) there although the owners did sort us out another room to have shower s in,the Leisure center was lovely suited our two boys as it had a lovely separate childrens pool,breakfast lovely,staff very friendly and definitely family friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar food was great - lots of gluten free options and I liked the old world look of parts of the hotel. The bathroom was big and the room very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I went over to leisure centre there was no attendant to get a towl off. I waited and waited and ended up just leaving.

    Great nights sleep - bed was very comfortable and shower was great. Receptionist was very friendly and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk was extremely friendly when I arrived and the night porter was very accommodating when I asked for extra milk and coffee :) very inexpensive and great value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel quite old fashioned and needs a little modernization. TV 📺 was very old and only had a handful of channels available. Tea and coffee 🍵 facilities were hidden in a cupboard at side of wardrobe.Lots of space in room which could be utilise better like a fridge in cupboard under TV 📺.

    Room was very spacious. Bed was comfortable and staff very polite and friendly.very good parking and generally very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: