Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Downhill Inn 3 stars

Sligo Road, Ballina, Ireland

#16 of 17 hotels in Ballina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the room was like an ice box the window wouldn't close properly no hot water in shower we had two single beds in the room we asked for a double sheet for the beds because we had to push them together but they didn't know what it was the TV was brutal it was a box TV the signal was really bad and their were very very little stations and no plug sockets near the beds they were across the room I had to ask for an extension lead because we both had to charge our phones plus my girlfriends wheelchair because its motorized

    The food was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and dinning room very cold. Could do with replacing taps in bathroom. Lace curtain on bedroom window needs replacing it had a hole in it.

    Very good breakfast well cooked presentation excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt pressurised turning up for breakfast at 7:30am. Unfriendly breakfast attendant. There was no food served in the restaurant on the Sunday late afternoon despite being advertised in the hotel brochure. Very overpriced at €65 per night.

    lovely lady on reception, tried to do everything to help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was cold and unwelcoming .... the bed was uncomfortable there was no electric sockets beside bed which is required beside you to charge phone and use at same time and same when using a laptop the bathroom was horrible very old and dirty looking the panelling around the sink and bath was coming away and discoloured and dirty ..the towels available were not bath towels and were rough and greying when you pay for a hotel you expect luxury a decent towel is not unreasonable to expect

    the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and reception not properly staffed. receptionist doing both and having to answer tour guide questions. Meant long waits for service and spoilt cinviviality after long out.

    Nice comfortable hotel if a little basic in furniture etc. Good breakfast. Walkable to town centre approx 20 mins. Plenty of taxis if needed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some of the plumbing dated - signs of rust.

    A little dated in terms of decor, but adequate space. Quiet location a good 15-20 mins walk from Ballina. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms need attention i.e. fittings and tiling.

    Location was good - just outside town. Within short distance from Enniscrone. Staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner menu was adequate for one/two night stay. Bed was comfortable and room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dragging a heavy suitcase upstairs wasn't too 'flash'! Having to 'refresh' my Wi Fi connection every so often was 'dreary'! I was a long way from my car at this property! Visiting shops and so on was 'problematical'!

    Big, spacious room. Easy to operate shower...at last on my trip! The lady at reception was knowledgeable and helpful and managed her property with confidence. I was able to park next to the entrance steps on the way inside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tjey chraged my credit card without asking my prefered method of payment and prior check out and I don't care what the small print says! I am not disputing if the card have to be preautorised, but not actually charged.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much choice for breakfast. Grapefruit contraindication for asthma medication. No soya milk. Juice container always nearly empty. Bacon a bit tough. Eggs either under or overcooked. Wifi access a nuisance.

    Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in room was only an old portable, needs upgrading. No night porter so there was no option to order food when we returned after a night out, simple soup and sandwiches would have done.

    Breakfast was included in the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was quite far from the centre of Ballina, about a 20 minute walk! There were no bars in the vicinity, besides the Hotel Bar. If you wanted a bit of nightlife, you had to walk! The WiFi was terrible, you needed to register with a password which took ages! Then there didn't seem to be any signal in the room. Would have liked some fresh fruit at breakfast.

    The staff were nice and friendly and answered any queries helpfully. The room was nice and clean. There was plenty of room which is a bonus. The bed was comfortable and warm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken window, unable to open it, dirty net curtains uncomfortable bed, the kettle badly stained on the inside not able to have cup of coffee, very outdated bathroom shower not working properly poor water pressure, cracked grouting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There didn't seem to be any heat on. It was quite chilly at night in the room. There was no lift so for those with walking issues, heavy cases, children, buggies - this might have been a bit of a trek up the stairs.

    Breakfast was good. Porridge is available when asked for. The bed was very comfortable. It was nice and quiet - not much traffic noise or loud guest noise. There were some toiletries provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel with nice grounds and polite staff, shower was great!! And the full Irish breakfast was lovely. Parked right outside main door and petrol station right outside hotel too so was handy. Had a lovely time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing....

    During the week end we enjoyed the craic with the staff and other people that were staying.On the saturday evening we went to the ice house for food and the atmosphere was cold,the staff didn't smile and then we understood why it was called the Ice house.We were delighted to return to our own hotel.....One feature that is nice is that they have a stone that can predict the weather...Thats worth a look!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could be updated a little, but was ok.

    Food was excellent, travelled with family and friends everyone was really happy. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was horrible the orange juice was like it was left in the dispenser for a week the orange walls and decor is back in the 70s it's not somewhere I would have booked if I wasn't stuck as ballina was nearly booked out the weekend I stayed and I needed to be there but it was a last resort Also they take a pre payment which is ridiculous as 4 and give star hotels don't do this

    The bed sheets were clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv,s weren't working in the hotel all over the Easter weekend and were very tiny in the rooms! Wifi only available in reception and kept cutting out! Apart from that it was grand!

    Great price and good base for our stay to explore Mayo!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no television in my room and it was freezing no heating. I was to,d the cable was broken and a pump had to be replaced. I felt room very cold. A bit disappointed as I came for my husband s birthday. We weren't offered anything off price.

    The food was nice, the bedroom clean but very cold.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn't work,, WiFi wouldn't work in room and wasn't told this until payment had gone thru on card while checking in,, the room was also very cold,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot fault the hotel in any way and it was perfect.

    Fantastic breakfast,,lovely people who could not do enough for you and very clean,,warm and peaceful room,with comfortable beds and pillows.Nothing was too much trouble and it was spacious without losing the personal touch. I have family roots in the area and the people at this family run hotel take a great interest,even though I must be one of thousands.I look forward to my next visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing is that the bed sheet was not very comfortable.

    Location was good. Staff were very friendly. Room was only a short walk to the front door. Shower power was exceptional. Breakfast was very very good; fresh, lots of options, very clean Irish breakfast cooked to perfection. Coffee was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. The shower was freezing and had to leave the water running for a few minutes as it was brown!! Eventually cleared and warmed up a bit. No lock on bathroom door. No fan either so steamed up and smelled awful. The smell of dust and dampness was awful. No wifi. Shocking hotel, not worth €20 a night never mind the €70 I paid.

    staff was friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned, tiny television, old springy matresses, not a lot of parking. The place could do with a facelift!

    Location was good. Cosy bar area. Relatively clean and nice quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down dingy old hotel.Badly needs refurbishing.No friendly atmosphere. Musty smell.When we enquired about bar food reception man wasn't sure if it was available or not and after discussing with another guy decided it was. Towels in room were threadbare. €79 for room only wouldn't normally be a bad price but for this place it was expensive. Booked it because it was the last place available in the town. Now we know why.

    The beds were fairly comfortable and the sheets were clean.bathroom was also clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with some renovations. Rust in bathroom. Even though we were in time for breakfast there was very little left & no intention of refilling bread / juices etc. We were attending a wedding near by & glad we didn't spend much time in the room. We had asked for a cot for our 4 week old & none in the room. He slept in the buggy.

    Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs remain a challenge for heavy bags and handicapped persons.

    The staff is friendly and accommodating, and the food is excellent! We are repeat visitors. This is a hotel, not a typical "B&B." An excellent, economical point from which to visit Mayo, Sligo, and Donegal!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not clean. The floor evidently hadn't been washed properly from the previous visit and well aged dirt and calcium was caked around the taps. Most bizarre was the towels. Old, grey and we'll beyond their use by date. To add insult to injury, a sign over the towel rack read 'we wish to advise all our patrons that our towels are electronically encoded for security purposes. Not particularly comforting to think about the kind of guest who would steal an old towel when you could buy a new one for a few euro in Aldi and a not particularly welcoming note .... not to mention the fact that the claim was probably untrue to begin with! Electronically coded????? Dreadful tone to set.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just okey,there could have been a better choice of cereals.my bacon was very thick and and bland.

    Nice big room very clean and cmfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to get back into the hotel at night as it was locked. Residents should be given a key. And the phone number is confusing to those from outside the jurisdiction. Write the phone number (which appears on the locked door) in full. 00353etc.

    The breakfasts were excellent. Staff could speak many languages including Estonian, Finnish and Russian.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No receptionist. The decor is so outdated. I was given a key to a room and there was a person in there when I opened the door. He was getting dressed.

    Breakfast was freshly cooked. Very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at reception was not very pleasant. We were unfortunate to have a room linked to another room by a door that was locked but you could hear a lot from people talking next door.

    It was convient for a wedding nearby. The night porter was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi. Uncomfortable plastic sheet on bed. No butter, only margarine available for breakfast. Could do with redecoration.

    Location and availability of parking

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a feeling of penny pinching. Everything is cheap

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no lift. coffee maker not working

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not very clean. Seems understaffed long wait for any services

    Comfotable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home

    The staff were very friendly and recommended places to good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small tv's bit too expensive!!

    Everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Bed was comfy. Breakfast & dinner was great. The staff are this hotels shining light!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was homely and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were great, hotel had a very classic feel to it, would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating e.g. No flatscreen TV in room. Decor a little tired

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi signal intermittent.

    Very friendly barman, good breakfast. Comfy rooms that were cleaned daily. Good parking and location just outside town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location, parking with tourist facilities I required.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff, and good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu could have been more extensive, choice was very limited

    Staff were very helpful and just really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Nice pleasant staff and clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception

    old hotel innovation is nessescary

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No receptionist..... No barperson just a man multitasking from reception. Walls in corridors filthy. Carpets almost worn away

    Location and parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more towels

    Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bar facilities plus no Sky sports in the bar.

    Perfect location to be near enniscrone

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smoking outside the front door so you can smell it in reception

    Parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    spider nests around windows

    close to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls

    Rooms are dated but adequate considering the price range

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available until 6.30 pm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quiet location good nights sleep

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints

    The staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Group
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Very clean, large rooms and service was excellent. Definitely will be calling when back in area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great breakfast and good selection of food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all. Excellent

    Great choice of food for breakfast and hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Lovely food and very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gluten free diet catered for. Quiet location, no night disturbance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no lift

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very worn, not looked after

    The low price at the time

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom lights dim (like a lot of hotels)

    cheap & cheerful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaint

    Very comfortable and great fresh cooked breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security tags on the towels

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi poor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corporate Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/ a

    Clean friendly good breakfasts

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole experience would not rate this hotel

    Did not like property at all In need of revamping

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service, to table in the room to eat food on apart from the dresser, TV tiny

    Spacious rooms friendly staff..clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: