Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Downings Coastguard Cottages - Type A 3 stars

Rosapenna, F92 WP5V Downings, Ireland

#2 of 7 hotels in Downings

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 65 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    10
    Well equipped, cosy cottage with perfect views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, well equipped cottage with a magnificent view over Sheephaven Bay. Seamus was very friendly & helpful regarding places to go locally for walks & to eat. Loved that we were able to walk from our cottage to Downings beach. Perfectly located for visiting Tramore, Dunfanaghy & Portsalon beaches which are all worth a visit! Great family break..we’ll definitely be back & would highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    5.8
    Great location, pity the house was so cold and had a damp smell throughout.
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previously stayed in Type B properties which were great. Unfortunaterly the Type A house had a damp smell on entering and was extremely cold and difficult to heat in particular the sun room. Electricity and oil costs were very expensive.

    location is excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    The host was excellent and was very friendly with loads of...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The host was excellent and was very friendly with loads of information about the local area. We really enjoyed our stay and being able to have our dog with us was a great bonus. The beaches and scenery were awesome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    High class dog friendly self catering house. Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were impressed by the high standard throughout the property. Every room was comfortable and the supplied linen was hotel quality. The concierge was incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating. We were thrilled to bits with this rental with its superb views, and our dogs had a ball!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic holiday home with little in way of privacy with every room in sight of adjoining holiday houses. Bedrooms very small with no wardrobes in any. No welcome pack provided. Mattress in one of beds basic & uncomfortable. 4 days, & towels provided only for one. Not the place if you are looking for a little luxury or home from home! Only selling point was the view. Disappointing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Downings coastguard cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cottage was great but as usual the weather was a bit rainy . A kids play area would of been nice ,slides and swings ect. The kitchen and living room were lovely and warm but the heating was not on in the bedrooms or bathrooms so a little cold in there..

    The views from the cottage were great and the kids had a lovely time meeting others and playing on the tennis court. Plenty of room for our dogs too. Inside the cottage was great clean and comfortable with everything you would need.. Seamus nd Verify were very nice and helpful..Plenty in the area to do and lots of eating places about..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was quite a walk to the wee main street. Too far for my mum who is 72 to walk. Prob take about 20/25 mins however for a young family it would be no.problem and it's literally a five minute drive

    Cottage had everything you could need, it was very clean, big space and lovely location. The views from the cottage are amazing. Two beaches are a five min drive and are stunning. The beach hotel and the gallery are highly recommended for food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything that could enhance the xperience.

    Friendliness and help from owners . Excellent all round. Nothing too much trouble whenassistance needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great Location Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We loved everything about Coastguard Cottages - great location with super views from our living room and sun room over golf courses and especially the Sheephaven bay with Tramore beach, Horn Head in the distance and Ards Forest Park across the bay. The house was spotlessly clean, white bed linen and towels, excellent kitchen facilities. The staff could not have been more helpful - special call out to Verity and Seamus - who could not do enough for us. We found the information pack in the house really helpful. We loved how quite it was in the evening time. Downings village is a treat also with plenty of really good places to eat and drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Amazing holiday in a beautiful setting and cosy cottage, where nothing was too much trouble.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had to come home!!!!

    location was excellent with amazing panoramic views, and easy access to the peninsula. Hosts were superb, nothing too much trouble, very friendly and extremely helpful. The cottage was immaculate and spotlessly clean, would be great for families, girlie weekends etc. and had everything we needed. Also, having our dogs with us was a big thing, and they both enjoyed their break too. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending Coastguard Cottages to anyone, and most are wheelchair friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic and value for money. We would recommend Coastguard Cottages as we intend to be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Seamus and Verity made us very welcome,we had a fantastic stay in the cottage and where upgraded to a type B at no extra cost. The cottage was clean and tidy all facilities worked and beds were clean and comfortable.It was a pleasure to have your breakfast overlooking Downings Bay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Highly recommend Coastguard Cottages, staff friendly and a great spot for a short break. Downings 😊
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of paint

    Staff very friendly and the view was amazing. We were very fortunate during our Easter 2018 break the weather was amazing. Cottages refurbished and look great but strong smell of paint but didn’t stop us from having a good time 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Well beyond expectations. Splendid. Hosts were very welcoming, approachable and very helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    N/A

    Exceptionally warm welcome and added extras such as wine and chocolates on NY Eve much appreciated. The quality of care and attention was the best I've yet encountered and this will be a regular destination for me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Just what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOT A SINGLE COMPLAINT

    We LOVED everything and even stayed two extra nights we were so relaxed and happy. Seamus the residence manager was always helpful going above and beyond his duties. I would more than recommend this amazing residence, it is family friendly, has amazing views, is very quiet and very relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Will definitely book here again. Had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe just the condition of the double bed. Just a little on the old side possibly.

    Beautiful location. Great property. First class hosts. The food in the local bars and restaurants was superb too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Great spot, lovely people, nice staff - what breaks are about
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the childrens facilities noting all the houses are centred around a very tired tennis court, though advised this is being addressed in close season. Looking forward to seeing the New facility next time we are up as we will be back

    Location wise you cant beat it. Just outside the main village within walking distance though

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    10
    Clean and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and well equipped. Accepted our small dog. Great view of Downings area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    9.6
    Better than i could have hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was so welcoming and relaxing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Everything it was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything it was brilliant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    The simple and effective way to bring people back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The simple and effective way to bring people back.Great host in Seamus .Clean value accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing, wonderful location and great facilities.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked all.

    Lovely views and great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Great place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it

    I loved staying in the tower. There was loads of room and it was very clean with all the facilities you need.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    It was rejuvenating restful and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think of anything negative to say about our stay.

    Friendly efficient service in a tranquil relaxing picturesque setting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Very nice. The views from the cottage out to sea were incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional cost of heating and electricity. Not calculated until we left and could not gauge how much it would cost.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Coastguard Cottages
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything house view and location were great staff were wonderful friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Very clean well kept site with a friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath for young children

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    A brilliant time was had by all we didn't want to go home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    The house and sea views were lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in cottages, thanks to Seamus for hosting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, all good.

    Nice interiors and helpful host.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    great, quiet location perfect for families to explore the area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely quiet location but still handy to village, 20 min walk. Welcoming host made us feel at home. House was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    SUPER! We will return here one time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No problems. Anything.

    Everything was SUPER! The situation, the village, the apartment, EVERYTHING!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    The view was incredible.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was incredible. House layout fantastic. Our whole family loved it. Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Couldn’t have wished for a better place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views. Very efficient host, easy to communicate with. Great parking too. Not hesitation in recommending this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    shower pressure not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower pressure not good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Close to beaches and the local amenities also pet friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to beaches and the local amenities also pet friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    really enjoyed Downings. The house met our needs adequately, but they are very basic and wouldn't li
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very basic.

    great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Not long enough!! Hope to return again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful owner. Spotlessly clean. Situated in a beautiful area with fabulous, deserted beaches!

    Stayed in August 2017

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36