Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Maynooth Road, . Dunboyne, Ireland

#2 of 2 hotels in Dunboyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1040 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was very poor. The bar staff were more concerned about gossip than welcoming us when we stood at the bar. They didn’t have a clue about their drinks menu which was disappointing since they boast a large range of really nice gins. They didn’t have any of the accompaniments for any of the Gins; the girl Said she would have to “run upstairs for Lime”. The lime that was served in my drink was brown-not very appealing. I didn’t complain; probably should have. There was a very bad smell of damp/stale Vomit in one of the corridors off from the bar. Not pleasant. There were no robes in our room.

    Place was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely wonderful weekend. Food, service, facilities and attention to detail were second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire experience was outstanding. Beautiful location, hotel and service was excellent. The food was A1. I would certainly stay here again and would have no trouble recommending it to others. Thanks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Hotel with beautiful gardens
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us the room on ground floor and it was very cold inside. Not mentioning there was no view from the windows at all. Breakfast had very poor variety and though it wasn’t busy that morning it took a bit longer to be served with drinks.

    The location is very good and hotel has beautiful gardens around. Also there is a small village close by for restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Love this hotel, love the decor in the bedrooms, love the staff and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price a little steep for the time of year I stayed and at 67yrs old I do think that it would be good if they had a special Senior Rate for us oldies

    I have staying at this hotel for the past five years. I go to chill out, and I do. The staff are so friendly and the atmosphere in the hotel is excellent. One blond girl in the restaurant for breakfast, dont know her name, she was blond with a pony tail was so nice to me and friendly. This is why I return to this hotel time and time again. I will be back to stay in this hotel again, my favourite in north county dublin Meath.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Business Stay - one night!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point (couldn’t turn down the air con. In my room)

    - food was good - staff friendly and professional - rooms modern, clean and warm - would recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    This hotel is nice, clean and comfortable but definitely not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good at all. I burnt my foot on the steam box in the spa steam room because there was no signage warning people not to step near it. The room was clean and comfortable but definitely not deluxe standard or worth the price we paid for it.

    The bed was very big and comfortable, bathroom was a great size and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful hotel avoid the Spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole spa experience was very poor indeed. Firstly there was no nice spa aroma which is a very important part of the experience, most of the rooms within the thermal spa ware not working, eg the "tropical shower" was a trickle of hot water, the "full body massage" only consisted of back of legs, back and shoulder, no head, neck or front, this was both for male and female, the "citrus juice bar" is 3x jugs of flavored water 2x apples and 2x orange, the spa facilities are unclean and v tired, there is no swimming pool, was v disappointed compared to recent spa brakes at Slieve Donard and Carrickdale hotels.

    very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed and room was nice. The old part of the building is spectacular and very well maintained on the inside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    A hotel with a lot of potential, but needs a lot of work to improve its reputation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs work all over, mainly the spa. We stayed here a 3 years ago and the spa was getting work done to it. On this stay, the spa again was disappointing, there was cement on the floor so everywhere you walked you had grit on your feet. The tropical shower had a huge puddle of water so you couldn’t use it. They were out of robes also so just had to use towels. The relaxation room had water jugs that weren’t filled and also had wallpaper that was peeling off the wall. It was disappointing Because the spa has a lot of potential in terms of layout and facilities, but just lacks maintenance. The €10 charge per room to use is also is also ridiculous. The hallways also could do with some fresh paint as they had stains and scores on both the walls and doors. It’s a great hotel with a lot of potential, but I won’t be in any rush back.

    Great room with plenty of space, It’s very clean, modern and comfortable. Staff were also very friendly and helpful and did everything they could to help out. The village being a short 5min walk away is also an added bonus

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.6
    Best bit was the breakfast leaving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall disappointing. Castle? Don't think so. Grounds tired. Dour welcome. Staff looked overworked and tired. Downstairs bar needed airing and freshening. Bar food not great --chowder needed fish to help and chicken wings nondescript. Overpriced all over.

    Best bit was the breakfast leaving. Very good. High standard of cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel , modern decor , friendly staff highly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    avoid the Ivy restaurant for dinner , food disappointing , service unbelievable slow , restaurant manager unfriendly , unhelpful and unwelcoming . Restaurant lets hotel down

    Beautiful hotel , modern decor , friendly staff highly recommend spa it was amazing, spotlessly clean , comfortable rooms ..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a private event on which had entertainment so there was no entertainment on for other guest which was disappointing and it was Sunday August bank holiday

    Food and spa was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Good overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was disappointing. Very weak. The breakfast buffet room was uncomfortably warm.

    The bed was very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful. Walking distance to the local village for bars/restaurants if you like a change of scene!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice relaxing break with my husband
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet paper in bedroom very papery WiFi not great in bedroom No phone signal in room

    Spa was amazing and staff so nice and made our experience relaxing Food was lovely Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice place for a weekend away to just relax without leaving a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Twice the cleaning lady just barged into our room without knocking or anything, so I'd say you better lock the door if you don't wanna be disturbed. We also thought the gardens could be better kept. They have such a nice territory, it's a pity it is not looked after.

    A very nice place to just relax for a few nights. The room was comfortable, spacious and quiet, room service prompt, SPA installations met our expectations as well. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    A noisy evening that negated a comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frankly the walls of the room were paper thin - every noise in the corridor and every door that opened, every conversation in the adjacent room was as clear as a bell. There is clearly inadequate soundproofing and for the cost of a room per night the noise was simply unacceptable

    A Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Love this hotel. Room large, well decorated, clean, quiet. Bathroom big with separate shower and proper sized towels!! Great breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Not what I was expecting a little disappointed and will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room 220 of security camera and someone’s old clothes hanging from it

    Air conditioning in room Breakfast was tasty but could have been hotter

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Everything was spot on
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact the bar shuts at 11 O clock but then again it was a Sunday night but it should be different for residents

    Everything was perfect from bar food to dinner

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Fan of the Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the bar food area was very poor, slow to take the order waiting for a long time for it to come, there was six of us. It didn't all come at the same time and the food wasn't very special, would not recommend it at all.

    I liked the spa area, staff were friendly and helpful, treatments were good. The outdoor hot tub and hydrotherapy pool was great. Lovely soft towels, nice changing areas, plenty of fresh water or orange to drink.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is clean, grounds at the back of the hotel need a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in we were put into a twin room even though we had booked a deluxe double. When we told the receptionist the next day she got the staff who clean the rooms to make it into a double. We got a rude awaken at 08.50 on the Monday morning to get r room cleaned as a busy mum of three and an opportunity to have two days away child free I was so annoyed at this.

    Hotel is clean, grounds at the back of the hotel need a bit of work. Food in the bar on r first night we got the steak sandwich which was very dry although chicken wings made up for it they were delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Was disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff were not friendly and appeared to be under pressure and came across as not wanting to be there. One bar closes early but the drink you could get in that bar were not available at the other bar. Breakfast: our table and other tables not completely set i.e. missing cutlery. Also order of fried egg came out after breakfast was completely eaten.

    The lady who checked us in was very nice. The pool area was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Bedroom was fantastic and bar staff where nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready when we arrived, told to come back in 15-20 mins . Paid for my room and then told I would not get a receipt until the next day. Common areas dirty . I wasn't asked about my stay at checkout . Dirty linen discovered as we were leaving room

    Bedroom was fantastic and bar staff where nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Prefect last night before heading back to states
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have time to book for spa treatments! One night stay only!

    This is a beautiful location and close to airport without being too close to Dublin. Great room service!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    No park or swimming facilities for kids -spa present but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No park or swimming facilities for kids -spa present but under 16 not allowed - garden required a lot of maintenance and shower in room didn't work properly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    car park, excellent, room nice size, balcony nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no club orange in stock, no cidona in stock, no lucozade in stock, no 7 up in stock......only fanta orange childs drink for under 4s.......................recession is over, nama is gone now lads..........quality drinks in a quality hotel.....got breaky to our room, young boy came 30 mins later demanding five euro payment for room service...more staff training required here urgently........breaky was one hour late.....has to ring down twice..................did pay my 5 euro on leaving with 500 euro charge, no problem.............airplanes over head every morning, not nice.......................5am to 9am..............

    car park, excellent, room nice size, balcony nice....tv reception very good as it should be....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Pedicure booked for 10.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pedicure booked for 10.30am. She was 30mins late and as a result I was late checking out. Cleaners came twice to the room within 30 minutes to see was I checked out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    I will not going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the hake which was nice but the vegetables and potatoes were cold

    We attended a family wedding the venue was great but I was disappointed with the meal particularly the main course which was cold

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    a very relaxing night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    A well kept hotel where the staff could not do enough for you. This was our second stay in this hotel and we will be going back next year. An ideal location for a relaxing break

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, but not what we were expecting or looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was disappointing and misleading for its name and advertising to capitalize on the the former castle in the area, Other luxury castles we stayed at had more of the old castle charm and components. It was also so large as to be impersonal. (We were led to this place through a tour of castles in Ireland)

    Very much a large luxurious hotel with spa amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could only find fault in one area at breakfast in the ivy room we found we had to stand at the enterance for quite a considerable amount of time to wait to be seated.this was a Monday morning and there where rioughly ten other diners there???

    Beds very comfortable .Delighted to have bath robe and slippers made it easier to come and go in the spa area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Rooms and lounge area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and food in general. Dinning room needs to be looked at with regard to food service etc. no plates beside croissants and toaster! No yogurts on one morning.. all a bit of a mis mash.. needs improving as it lets the hotel down

    Rooms and lounge area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was overpriced and service very slow Staff was terrible and entertainment was so bad we finally decided to walk to dunboyne to get some decent atmosphere and music Definitely not worather the money We booked a treatment and we were left unnatended because they were short of staff (that's how the excused themselves at the spa)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but could do with thicker walls and quicker breakfast staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Why are hotel room walls so thin. Guy in the next room snoring really loud and it was like he was in bed with me!!! Breakfast plentiful but staff seemed slow to clear used tables and one morning it was really difficult to find a clean table.

    Very large room with a bath and separate shower. Comfortable bed. Reception staff helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didnt like that they charge you to use the pool even if your staying as rooms are pricey enough and the down fall is that there is no pool for kids etc

    The whole hotel was lovely . FOOD STAFF ETC Great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room could have been better. But, we weren't there for the view.

    This was our second stay at this facility. We returned because of location, cleanliness, comfort and staff. The staff at this hotel are wonderful! We would absolutely recommend this hotel and would book there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    The room was gorgeous, very nice balcony and the bath and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa was great however there were builders walking through while we were in the pool and the outdoor Jacuzzi. I didn't feel very comfortable as we were in swimwear.

    The room was gorgeous, very nice balcony and the bath and bed were so comfy. The breakfast was lovely with a great selection available. The staff were helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above,

    Lovely hotel. Breakfast was a little crowded in the morning and the sausages served were not the best. But overall our experience was very positive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced and poor quality for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite uncomfortable, the rooms much to hot with very thick duvets so difficult to sleep (air con was too noisy to use). They did change this to a sheet on request but a thinner duvet would have been nicer. Breakfast was distinctly average and not worth having. The food was cold and had obviously been sat out for some time (this was at 8:30 so not exactly late for a hotel breakfast). The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and had poor transport links (had to get a taxi from the airport to it). The rooms have fridges hardwired into the wall that then humm all night (annoying). There was an additional charge to use the pool etc. So you couldn’t just pop down - you had to book a package (minimum 10 Euro). Just generally disappointing when we’d had to pay so much for our stay. Also 2 single gin and tonics in the bar cost 20 Euro - unbelievably expensive.

    The staff are friendly on reception and when we made a complaint about the general problems with uncomfortably hot rooms etc they did work to fix it as best they could.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable - as usual !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    loved staying at this Hotel again - we have stayed there before and intend to return again soon . Its what we recommend for complete relaxation and time out .. Close to all major attractions if you feel like touring around or shopping for the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Eat the APPLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Seoid Spa relaxation room was untidy with half eaten apples, apple cores and half glasses of water all left along side the relaxation beds....disgusting

    Lovely deluxe room very clean and great view onto lawn and fountain

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right before check out time staff tried to enter the room without knocking, took the good out of the visits to the spa. The staff in reception were brilliant when informed them and I was given a discount

    Spa was nice, food was good cost was very reasonable for Dublin area, staff were excellent. The location was fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast area, on busy days you have to wait for a table. They should extend the space - add more tables and staff

    Very comfortable, spacious rooms, nice village nearby, good location, green astounding and well maintained big gardens, free big parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    I wasn’t 100% happy with the hotel as we were told at check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t 100% happy with the hotel as we were told at check in that our room would be 20 minutes late. I also requested a high chair for my son and it arrived dirty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Charging an extra 10 euro each to use the pool completely put us off the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay ten euro extra each to use the pool. I have never experienced this in any other hotel I've stayed in. I don't mind the cost, but to have paid 140 euro for 1 night bed and breakfast and then be told that we have to pay an extra ten euro each to use the pool is absolutely ridiculous. It's such a petty hidden cost. It would certainly put me off recommending this hotel to anyone else, which is a shame because otherwise our stay was lovely.

    The bed was particularly comfortable and the room was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Arrived early and staff so welcoming and let us into our room early. Excellent hospitality. Helped with taxis and local info. Can’t wait to go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall a very pleasant hotel, worth another visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More varied menu in the restaurant for non brown meat-eaters

    A great hotel in a good location, comfortable and big room , good work space, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Modern efficient business hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were told the spa may not be available as it was small and only a certain number of people could go each day. We only chose this hotel for the spa so we would have been extremely annoyed if it was not available. However it was mid week and we had no problem but other potential visitors would need to be aware.

    Rooms large, good spa area, good breakfast. Nice bars and good service. Smart business hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay. Based on that I would return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom furniture/carpet/paintwork chipped/marked Relaxation area in spa needs redecorated and updated Hotel is a bit tired looking in places Bar food was poor

    Bed linen was very new, bathroom was spotless two important features in my opinion The Ivy was perfect, had a lovely meal here and two great breakfasts - top marks to restaurant manager - very accommodating, helpful and efficient as were the waiting/bar staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautiful and beds were very comfortable. Hotel staff was very helpful. The food was good and location excellent for the Boyne Valley Drive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing Birthday Night .......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payment was taken upon arrival so an extra's like room service had to be paid for at the room door. Upon entering the drive I though this looks lovely but when I drove into the car park it is very open at the back and surrounded by housing estates, not as appeared on the website pictures. Check in was easy but payment asked for in advance instead of the usual scan of a visa card. As soon as I opened the room door you could get a damp smell from the bathroom, this remained for the duration of our one night stay. I did not complain to reception as we had been told the hotel was full booked and we only had a once night stay. We could not get a sable in the hotel restaurant as it was booked up so ended up eating in the local village. To top the night off our room was overlooking the Spa and we were woken my drunken youths shouting and having a good laugh in the outside Jacuzzi, I felt sorry for the ladies who used it several hours later, the outside Jacuzzi was not covered during the night and no sign of security. Overall a very disappointing Birthday weekend away, I've stayed in many hotels around Ireland, and usually leave positive feedback but this was poor.

    The entrance is lovely and it is close to the local village. I believe the Spa area is lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    I don't think I would be keen to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was disappointing - we had bar food and all our meals were bland and without flavour - in once case inedible (the manager did remove this meal from our bill - thank you).

    Rooms were comfy and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Friendly, efficient, capable staff, excellent facilities, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was excellent

    Staff were exceptional in all areas of the hotel, the receptionist was a breath of fresh air after a long journey due to traffic delays, the thermal suite and spa treatments were excellent, really enjoyed the whole stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Hotel good, Spa disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed with Thermal suit. Purpose of visit was for rest and relaxation. Groups chattering, laughing, messing made relaxation very difficult. Even after treatment in upper relaxation room the noise was very disturbing.

    Food in restaurant was excellent. Room was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place to stay. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con in the room was particularly noisy and had to be turned off. As a result, the room was quite stuffy throughout the night.

    Great location and facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Staff was exceptionally accommodating and helpful, food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was exceptionally accommodating and helpful, food was delicious, location was convenient with a very short walk to several restaurants and pubs, facilities we're clean and the rooms were as-advertised which was a plus. I'd absolutely book again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    always enjoy staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    evening meal menu was not what i was hoping for and i thought the drink in the bar was a little expensive.

    room and staff and breakfast were all excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing with great stafg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was odd we had to pay for the swimming pool. Second day we were told we had to wear slippers and robes but not on the night before.

    Was an excellent hotel and service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable, balcony was a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was not maintained well. There were towels, robes, slippers and empty cups everywhere which I thought was a bit grubby.

    Bed was comfortable, balcony was a plus. The breakfast was nice in the morning. The bar chips were delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Thoroughly relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved my experience and I would come back again

    The spa was amazing. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was gorgeous. I spent a night here with my friend for a girly spa night and we both had a great time getting the spa treatments. The pool and Jacuzzi was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    A short walk to Dunboyne center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from Dublin center. Approximately a 40e taxi or 4e bus which is 30 minutes ride.

    A short walk to Dunboyne center. Good pubs and small shops. Very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable, comfortable and extremely welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no teabags in the hotel room however when we asked for some the reception staff brought some up for us.

    The hotel staff were fantastic and the facilities were excellent. My partner decided to propose to me in the restaurant and the manager was incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    4.6
    Adequate ‘business-travelling’ weekly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Booked a double bed and got a triple single room. Confirmed at the reception at the time of registration that it was a double bed. I rang the receiption desk and offered another room or they would change the room to a double In the morning. 2). The room itself did not have heating system working and temperature outside was 2 degrees. Woke up during the night frozen. 3. Hotel bars at both 22:00 and the residence bar closed st 23:00hrs. No negotiation On hat from both barmen. 4). OJ was fully concentrate, no bits or boobs. Really bad taste. More a business or wedding motel really. If you looking for a short breaks for a few day please look elsewhere. Thanks for reading.

    Spa was nice. Sports Bar - food was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    They tired their best despite unfortunate circumstances.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES NEED TO BE CONSIDERED. The staff did everything they could for us despite the unfortunate fact that the spa was closed, internet down and electricity out. Note that we were STUCK there due to the red alert in Dublin (28/02/2018-02/02/2018) so these are very special circumstances. I still think they should have bumped the pricing down for a non functioning spa (our reason for being there in the first place) and should have had a back up generator for the electricity and WiFi. The hotel had a shortage of food (again not 100% there fault) and couldn’t provide us with a taxi to the airport - we found one ourselves: surely they could have done the same for us?

    SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES NEED TO BE CONSIDERED. The staff did everything they could for us despite the unfortunate fact that the spa was closed, internet down and electricity out. Note that we were STUCK there due to the red alert in Dublin (28/02/2018-02/02/2018) so these are very special circumstances. I still think they should have bumped the pricing down for a non functioning spa (our reason for being there in the first place) and should have had a back up generator for the electricity and WiFi. The hotel had a shortage of food (again not 100% there fault) and couldn’t provide us with a taxi to the airport - we found one ourselves: surely they could have done the same for us?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Another Great Stay at the Dunboyne
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is wonderful and Juliana is without question one of the brightest faces in the hotel. She is so friendly and welcoming at breakfast and makes it feel as if you were family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pizzas weren't great but that's only something tiny & probably personal preference! Really lovely hotel!!

    Comfortable rooms & bar/lounge areas Spa was lovely!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay with friends for a birthday celebration 🎉
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly I lost a new bracelet my friends gave me on the night. Unfortunately it wasn’t handed in 😢

    Food was delicious and bed was very comfortable. Great entertainment in bar. Spa treatments were absolutely fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Great resort that I will certainly include on my itinerary during my next visit! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By far the best stay in our Ireland trip! Stunning facilities and grounds and just a short walk to a quaint and friendly town with pubs and transportation into Dublin by bus or train.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection of beers in downstairs bar. Did not like people in robes from Spa/pool sitting in the bar. Very unhygienic .

    Good size rooms. Plenty of relaxation areas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    The spa was great and the staff were friendly but I was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa was great and the staff were friendly but I was not impressed with the room (we had 2 single beds pushed together) or the view.

    The spa was great and the staff were friendly but I was not impressed with the room (we had 2 single beds pushed together) or the view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I taught the restaurant staff could’ve been friendlier, and the girl on reception in the spa was quite rude

    The spa was amazing!! So relaxing and refreshing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Looking forward to returning again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the point of check in to departure it was an excellent experience. Fabulous two days and nights of comfort great food great service and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar downstairs lacked atmosphere. It was very quiet.

    The hotel lobby and lounge area was very relaxing. Food in restaurant and bar was very nice. Would recommend dining in either. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    3.3
    Definitely the worst stay we have ever had in any hotel be it 3,4 or 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 135 has badly stained carpet and curtains as well as bed covers. The table in the room has a top ready to fall off and the desk looks like it went 10 rounds with Mike Tyson. Red hotel information book was ripped to shreds. Went and asked for another room which we had to pay 40 Euro extra for. Room 433 was nice and no complaints above it on first night. Second night a fight broke out in the room next door at about 1.30am and after containing reception someone from hotel called to investigate. Noise stop for 20 minutes but when they returned to room they shouted at each other until 4.30am we finally got to sleep at about 5am after we returned from breakfast at 10.45am the shouting started again so we just packed our bags and went to reception to check out. Reception knew about our complaints asked us to wait and have a word with the duty manager which we did but he never showed up. A nice lady who was on reception came over to us and said sorry and offered us the 40 Euro back I had payed to get out of room 135. I accepted as I had seen the duty manager was avoiding us. We have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels in the last 25 years and I have to say this was the worst hotel stay we have ever had. We went away for a relaxing break and booked this hotel for it's spa and location. Beware only a few things work properly in the thermal suite, only 2 jets working in hydrotherapy pool, both doors on steam rooms don't close properly only 2 tropical showers work out of 4,other areas locked I presume broken or not working.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Just lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the room we stayed in. It was really large and the bed was so comfortable. The communication from the staff was excellent. They responded to my queries by email quickly and helped me arrange a few things for our stay. I had mentioned that it was my partner's birthday and the lovely person on reception took it upon themselves to notify the restaurant who then had a lovely little birthday treat for him at the end of our meal! There was also a little note left for him in our room wishing him a happy birthday from the staff. It was so nice and I didn't even ask for it. I really appreciated it though and so did he. That extra bit of customer service really made our stay memorable :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Hotel was beautiful in a perfect location. Will def be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge in one of the bedrooms but there was a space for it. We had 2 rooms booked and when arriving at 3.30pm one of the rooms wasn’t ready so we had to wait. Was bit disappointed as check in was from 3pm onwards and we had travelled a distance down.

    Hotel was in a perfect area, very clean rooms and food was beautiful. Nice area aswel

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: