Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Ireland hotel reviews
  3. Dublin County B&B and inn reviews
  4. Dublin B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Egans House

Reviews of Egans House 3 stars

7 Iona Park, D9 Dublin, Ireland

#51 of 103 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1297 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2019

    10
    Nice guesthouse, close to shops, places to eat and only a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice guesthouse, close to shops, places to eat and only a short bus ride into the city centre. Room was comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. We had a pleasant stay here.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2019

    10
    Staff were so lovely and accommodating of our two kids aged...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so lovely and accommodating of our two kids aged 4 and 1. Breakfast was yummy and catered for everyone. Would stay there again if travelling to Dublin.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    9.2
    The place was very very cozy, clean, great service, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wasn't the best. It required bus or taxi to city center or basically anywhere interesting and the bus is 3 euros/person each way and taxi about 10 each way...still a great place to stay but plan to spend ~6-9 euros per person per day in transportation.

    The place was very very cozy, clean, great service, and the rooms were very comfortable. Receptionist went out of her way to make us feel at home. Hot chocolate machine near reception was awesome and the irish breakfast was not bad for 10 euros.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    8.3
    nicely decorated and comfortable hotel in a quiet residential area
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - a minibar or fridge would have been nice - location outside the city center

    - nice setting, in an old house - comfortable beds and nice firm pillows - well insulated - clean -quiet

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    7.5
    Clean room, fresh bedding, very comfy bed and nice staff.
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private bathroom - The shower temperature could not be adjusted. The shower knob would not lower the temperature of the shower. Once the shower was boiling hot you would have to call it a day and get out or be burnt! Also room was a little on the cold side

    Clean room, fresh bedding, very comfy bed and nice staff. Breakfast was good. Nice stay!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    10
    A really lovely comfortable experience of real hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing! We really enjoyed our stay at Egans! It will be easy to recommend staying here

    Great location,very peaceful road and really lovely "feel" to the property.Our room was very comfortable,spotless,warm and bright with all those little touches that make life easy eg an iron & ironing board which proved so helpful as were attending a wedding locally. Staff could not be better!They were just so very welcoming and helpful and any request was immediately met with "no problem"! Real hospitality from start to finish.There is a lovely lounge to sit and relax and a delightful garden.Although we didn't need parking we noticed it is available and covered by CCTV We were very pleased to have chosen Egans and plan to stay there again.Frequent buses to central Dublin are nearby and the area is very nice indeed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, Cozy and Clean, but lacked luster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The same, limited variety of breakfast started getting boring after 3 days. Three times, they didn't have something ready, once ham, once beans or coffee when we sat down to breakfast.

    The room and bed were very comfortable, especially the soft comforter and bed sheets.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2018

    10
    We did not expect such a nice, lovely, clean appartment, thanks a lot for a our stay in your hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We travelled a lot around Europe and we were honestly plesantly suprised. It was a very nice, comfortable appartment, very clean and lovely staff work there.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2018

    9.2
    Great family room, not overly spacious but that was due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great family room, not overly spacious but that was due to the 4 proper beds in one room, all equipped with duvet, pillow, extra pillows and throw. Thick dark curtains made for a good lie-in, there was a kettle with teabags and instant coffee, bathroom with well-functioning shower and all very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed a nice evening at Evans house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there only one night but the room did seems to get rather warm.

    It was perfect for our needs. The night staff was excellent. We enjoyed our walk to a local pub/ restaurant. A good night's sleep, hot showers and tea. Thanks.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    10
    Awesome value in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Very friendly on arrival got into gorgeous cosy little room early to drop bags Spotless and great facilities Superb value for money we will definitely be back

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, very clean, great value, very pleasant staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay. Very pleasant girl on receipt, very helpful. Room was just brilliant, at top of the house on the loft..fitted 6 of is comfortably, very clean and tidy. Only one small negative, I wanted to turn of the radiator but couldn't, switch was covered over. Don't like heated room while you're sleeping. But a very positive experience, great value, super clean. Kids loved it, bus stop not far away or you can jump in a taxi to town. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    8.3
    excellent with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything was OK

    good location, very good english breakfast, the receptionists were very kind and helpful, good price for value, so everything was excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    9.6
    This accomodation was really lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This accomodation was really lovely. Breakfast - very good for the price to compare with other restaurants around. I highly recommend this B&B. Area is very quiet and nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, attentive staff but it can be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't what I booked: I received an email telling me clearly that I had a double room for a maximum of 2 people. Instead I had a small room with a single bed (43). I didn't make a fuss as it was going to be just for me for a couple of nights. On arrival, my companion wasn't allowed with me in the room even though I was only going to leave the luggage and we'd quickly go away.

    Warm and quiet place. Clean installations. Problem with some maintenance debris in the bathroom was quickly corrected. Different kind of towels and shower gel available.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    8.8
    Our room was large, bright and full of light despite having...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on a ground floor in the maun coridor where we heard everyone loudly coming back at night - but i guess its not property owners fault. Also, it was a little bit cool in our room at night time and we couldn't turn the heating on but we used extra blankets provided

    Our room was large, bright and full of light despite having view to the front car park. The bathroom was a decent size too. The bed was very comfortable!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    8.3
    Small point to make.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small point to make. Ask the traveller if they can easily manage their cases up stairs or not before allocation of room. As there is no option other than stairs, i believe this would remove the small diff between good and great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location and value for money at €57 last min rate! Would def stay again and pay more!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location! Got it at the last minute rate as our local stay plce cancelled on us. Would definately come here again and after trialling it on the last minute "cheap" rate I would def be prepared to pay more to stay once again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, well appointed guesthouse with helpful staff and good location to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was poor in the guest room

    Good size room for 3 adults that was well appointed and had comfortable beds. The guesthouse was in a quiet residential area, close to transport and and reasonably close to the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    7.5
    The beds were a good size
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so warm due to us being on the top floor and you couldn’t open the windows at all! We had the leave just before 6am to catch our flight, on the way down the stairs my mother-in-law fell down the last few as there was no light for us to turn on! There was no one at reception for us to explain this to. If you’re going to have a room on the very top floor you need to have flights on!

    The beds were a good size

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    10
    Very pleasurable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all .

    Every thing wos vert good . The only slight problem wos the breakfast wasn't quite Hot enough for my liking .will visit again. I would highly recommend you to all my friends and family . ***** .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    4.2
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise noise and noise! All night, a kind of aeration system or something... Location far from city center and room with a view of a big construction site!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    8.8
    Friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't find any negatives

    Friendly welcome. Room was nice. Some restaurants just a 5 min walk away. We didn't go into Dublin centre but were given maps and directions and seems like it would be fairly quick and easy to do.15 min drive to the ferry port.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    8.3
    On the whole, we highly recommend staying at Egan's House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps the only negative thing to mention is the shower. The water came with very little pressure, the shower was not an adjustable one so if you wanted to wash only your hair you would have to get wet every time. One thing that struck us (although, later we noticed a similar arrangement in some pub's toilet) was that the sink in the bathroom has two separate taps - a cold and a hot one. We had never seen anything like it before so washing your face and teeth was quite tricky. I guess it's just something they would have in old buildings.

    The neighborhood is neither too quiet no too noisy, has beautiful buildings around, very close to the Botanic National Gardens. Just a perfect location. The staff were very friendly. The room was spacious enough. The room is cozy and there is hardly any noise heard from other rooms or corridors so you can have your privacy there. The kettle and the tea bags really helped us out as we don't eat such a substantial breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    7.9
    The location was convenient with public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t included. Everywhere else I stayed in Ireland had breakfast included.

    The location was convenient with public transport. The heated towel rack was appreciated. Lisa on reception was really helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    10
    If you are staying in the Dublin area, choose Egan's House. You won't be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was our first time in Dublin, we needed help with directions, restaurants, etc. The staff went out of their way to point us in the right direction. Absolutely no complaints and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    The customer service was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service was exceptional. The furniture was lovely and the decoration was well done. The facility offered more than everything we needed! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice place to stay, if you don't need to be right downtown and you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building seemed a bit dated, and the passage ways were very cramped. I don't think the building was designed for it's current use. The Plumbing was also very weird. But as we were to find out... weird plumbing was very common in Ireland.

    This was a nice Bed and Breakfast in an out of the way neighborhood. The neighborhood was very nice but quite a bit off the beaten path, and not convenient at all to the downtown area. The breakfast room was very nice and the service was good. Plus, if I remember correctly, I believe that they charged an extra 10 euros for the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    Nice staying at a reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -It takes some walking to reach the bus stops, even though it is more than feasible -breakfast did not offer so much options and I felt it was not totally worthy of the price

    Nice building, spacious, clean and comfortable room. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Don't miss this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mmmm. Having to leave.

    This place cannot fail to impress. In a quiet and beautiful Edwardian style neighbourhood. Comfy bed was another bonus to a peaceful nights sleep.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On our departure we were encouraged to pre pay our taxi to the airport. When taxi arrived at 5:30 am driver refused to take the voucher saying it had been logged by Eagan House as a cash payment. We woke up the night clerk and he was kind enough to reimburse us t he 23 pounds we had paid upfront so we could pay the cabbie. Cabbie claims this happens all the time!!

    Night clerk very helpful with luggage etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.4
    It was a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the very top floor and had massive amounts of luggage. Narrow stairs, no offer from the staff to help with any of it and there's no elevator

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    Not very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Place its self could do with up grade. The price was way to much for a B&B. The Breakfast was Extra, We got a full Irish which did not include Tomato or Mushrooms. The Room was Cold the whole time we where there, Idid not like it at all.

    Not a Lot, The little Garden was nice, If you where there in the Summer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff was really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is quite small, the hotel is more than 30 minutes walk to the city centre. There are bus stop 5 minutes away though but it would still take you about 20 min on the bus to reach the city centre.

    Staff was really nice and helpful. The hotel is in a really nice and quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.4
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had very low pressure, which made it really hard to shower. They were in a location that was a little harder to arrive - we knew this coming in, but still good to know that it’s buses and a lot of walking

    The place was nice, room was clean and felt spacious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Great value stay in north Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was OK. Room had a slightly odd layout, in having a separate ante-room (that wasn't quite big enough to fit two suitcases on the floor) between the bedroom and bathroom.

    Fairly central location for easy access to central Dublin, and good value for money in that respect. Room was clean and a decent size (though layout was slightly odd - see below).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Excellent we were happy with all aspects of our stay
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all great

    I stayed here on 19/09/18 with my 83 year old mum. We found all the staff We dealt with were extremely pleasant and helpful. The B and B’s common rooms were spacious and welcoming The bedroom was larger than expected and spotlessly clean The beds were so comfortable and I had a great sleep Tea tray was good finally someone has splashed out on Nescafé gold blend would of been perfect if they had left me a nice Irish biccie to go with it. Shower room spacious and spotlessly clean. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely come back and recommend to family and friends

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    We would stay again given the opportunity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some old carpets should be upgraded.

    The staff are most helpful and friendly, great Irish hospitality! The staff go above and beyond to answer guestions and give directions. Location is good for bus access to the downtown core.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.5
    Very Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After booking then advised breakfast is additional, parking is additional most have same breakfast in particular included as would be the norm in most guesthouses

    Very central, amenities easily accessed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Nice Spot to See Dublin From
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I could remember the name of the girl at the desk that helped us, she was so kind and helpful. We had just landed in Ireland at 5:30 am and drove straight to Egan’s House. She let us keep our car there (we paid for a spot) as we went out to see Dublin and try to stay awake. She told us where to catch the bus and we bought our hop on hop off bus tickets from her. It turned out to be a great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the lights in the room didn't work and neither did the soap dispenser in the shower. The manager reduced our bill by 25euros which made it more acceptable.

    The staff were pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    The property was centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not enough parking on site for guests. The shower stall was leaky-just in need of some maintenance. The wifi in the room was very weak (practically non-existent), but was okay in the common room downstairs.

    The property was centrally located. The beds were comfortable and the accommodations were clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Hotel prices for very average B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very expensive for the facilities offered. Double room would be more suited to a single room. Woke early on Sunday morning working in the yard outside our window. Coffee machine coffee charged at €2.00. No staff at reception when leaving back the key. €176.00 for one night excluding breakfast a rob.... never again. Stayed at city centre hotel a month ago for €50 less, was delighted with our stay and expected more from Egans giving the price difference. No problem paying agreed price but expect services to match.

    Location but not enough to justify cost of facility.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was really good. Staff were very friendly and always helpful. A nice garden to sit in. Lots to see in the location, and good public transport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Room really nice clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Online the property says through booking . com that the property is 10 mins from Croke Park it’s 25 mins walking

    Room really nice clean and spacious. You had an iron and ironing board which was great. Staff friendly and nice, and very helpful,would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Very close to airport and easy to reach the centre of Dublin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was very high, but probably is normal in Dublin. Breakfast was average

    Very close to airport and easy to reach the centre of Dublin by bus. We checked in late with no problems. Parking was free just few blocks away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Our 2nd stay here, but room didn't match up to the first time. Disappointed.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luke warm shower. Door banging all night. Dingy room. Had to ask staff member to move his car as was blocking mine from getting out of the space I had paid extra for. Wake-up call didn't happen. We expect more for €215 with no breakfast.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and communal areas downstairs smelled musty, there was noise from the heating system from 6 am so I was unable to sleep

    Staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with the cab to the airport but Lisa was very accommodating in looking into it and rectifying the situation. Having a courtyard view was nice but a bit noisy with people chatting out there.

    Everything. A very cute and charming place. A bit off the beaten path but, once we got our bearings, it was easy to get around and take the bus into the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Egans is a lovely place to stay. It’s situated in a lovely & quiet area. I enjoyed my stay. Thanks
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I haven’t much to complain about. I feel it’s a great base if you had to fly from Dublin airport early in the morning. I was very conscious of water & felt like I heard every flush & shower being operated. That’s just me though! My mother had a thing for running water to encourage my kidneys when toilet training kicked in!

    Receptionist Lisa is a very friendly & helpful person. Single bed? I conked out as soon as my head hit the pillow. Really comfortable. The bathroom was great too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Cozy with lots of atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Egans Guest House is a little gem. I felt like I was staying in old-world Dublin while I was there! The rooms are very quaint, while at the same time being nicely updated, and they're absolutely spotless. I really enjoyed my two nights there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was tiny and only provided near scalding water- could not adjust temp.

    Great staff. Comfortable beds. Clean. Near bus stop, Tesco, several great pubs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Over all our stay was very good. Reception was excellent. I would stay here again .Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a triple room, which felt a bit cramped..However,it was a particularly warm night which may have added to this problem.

    We liked the fact that the property was vey close to the venue, we were able to walk to it. The next day we went into Dublin city centre by public transport the bus stop was a few minutes walk from the property. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    We stayed overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed overnight. Checked in after 10 pm left at 5 the next morning. Location was great ! Room was clean. Bathroom was good. Could not ask for anything nicer given our brief stay. Jim from Scottsdale, Arizona

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Very average with odd changes in price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room prices fluctuated from 189 euros for a hot, uncomfortable room at the top of the building up multiple stairways to 60 euros a night for a nice room on the second floor. Prices vary depending on the whim of the manager. The breakfast was of poor quality as was the coffee, but there was no other close option

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.5
    Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were in attic, so many steps. Hot in room when we got there since sun coming in and no ac, but we were fine once we put down shades.

    Nice big room, great location of property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were extremely disappointed with this guest house. We had a very small room and the ensuite was even smaller. Considering they charged us 4 star price with no toiletries, really I consider this just pure greed a pure rip off (half weeks wage room only). You could say I need not have booked this place but I surely thought it would be better. We dont mind paying 4 star price as we have been to some wonderful places around Ireland but this takes beating. Also 7 euros per night for car parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    I recommend Egan’s to the traveler. Pleasant, safe, clean, cheerful and economical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were too many doors to drag my luggage through to get to my room. It was a very long, difficult day of travel and it seemed torturous to have to navigate through a number of rooms and doors to get to my room finally, but it’s a small complaint and it may not have bothered me if I hadn’t spent the whole day in various airports and trains and buses with my heavy luggage.

    I arrived quite late and was rung in by the night manager who was a bit distracted apparently by a drunken guest, but after a short wait, I was registered and given my keys. The bed was comfy and the clean sheets felt nice. Everything was clean if just a bit charmingly old-fashioned. Like staying at your grandmother’s house. The morning desk person was cheerful and helpful and offered me a place to keep my luggage while I went off to explore the neighborhood. Very quiet except for the road repair work being done outside. Nice neighborhood and an easy walk to some nice restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Quiet peaceful area, been coming to Dublin for years and 99%...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet peaceful area, been coming to Dublin for years and 99% of my stay has involved me staying her at the Egan’s Guesthouse. All the staff are so welcoming and couldn’t do enough for you. Such a homely feeling, amazing breakfast with many options to choose from. Great for families and couples. Thank you so much for a lovely warmly stay again see you shortly for when return ... Love Jem

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Place has a higgledy-piggledy layout which is great fun to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are lots of little steps Here and there so not great if you're in a wheelchair or have accessibility issues. View from the back of the hotel isn't match so vacant Estate but that doesn't mean it's quiet at night 😀

    Place has a higgledy-piggledy layout which is great fun to explore. And every room feels like it too unique. The staff of really friendly and the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Delighted with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt realise until i got there that i had to book a parking space outside the accommodation. However, the staff directed us to a suitable area to park in close by.

    The accommodation is excellent. Spacious clean room. Plenty of towels and tea/coffee making facility was appreciated. Very central, quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    3 night stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed/living area was quite small. Sink plug not water tight-sink drained quickly. Shower soaked bathroom floor past curtain.

    Quiet, safe, residential area and away from Dublin city. Easy bus ride to town and near excellent pub-The Brian Boru. 15 minute easy drive to Dublin Port.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    I liked the old building and the room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel it was very expensive for what you received, however all of the places we looked at in Dublin were very expensive.

    I liked the old building and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    I was there for my hen weekend, with 3 friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think as the breakfast was an extra charge, it could have been better. The quality and choice of the breakfast it's self was limited and little poor.

    I was there for my hen weekend, with 3 friends. The staff were lovely, and very helpful.the room was what I expected from a room share B&B.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff really nice, beautiful location, nice feel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work first night. Porter tried ro fix but no joy. Tv fixed next morning and staff were very helpful.

    Staff really nice, beautiful location, nice feel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Very quaint and private space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work in my room, making it difficult to communicate with loved ones. I feel a little short-changed because WiFi was one of the main reasons for my stay.

    I truly enjoyed the room set up and deco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location for Croke Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price hiked ridiculously for Stones concert. Over £200 for a double room without breakfast in what is basically a large guest house!!!

    Great location for Croke Park. Just a 15 min walk. Off street parking but needs to be booked l

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    The staff was very nice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very much overpriced. Not central (30 min by public transport). Wasn’t worth 155 Eur for a Single room. Sorry, won’t come back here. But definitely will come back to Dublin

    The staff was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay again. Called a B&B but breakfast wasn't included in the original price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities we're ok. There was a fairly strong unpleasant odor when we first got there. Additionally, there was a party of men that were above our room that we're up literally all night being loud and stomping around. Someone from the staff should have stopped them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    For such a tiny room ( single) it was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    For such a tiny room ( single) it was perfect. You have everything what you need and if weather was better can join tine garden for tea or coffee,very good location for getting to center and airport too. Room was very clean. Reception ladies gave good instruction for places out of Dublin. I am very satisfyed and thinking to stay again here when come to visit Dublin again. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    We arrived with little time and the staff were very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived with little time and the staff were very helpful. We were worried we may have been a little loud coming in but again the staff were very reassuring and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Fairly underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My shower did'nt work and dispite telling reception it never worked.

    I did'nt have crossents as being diabetic type 2 i am not allowed to eat them. I had a sppsidly full Irish breakfast and it was quite bad. I was on of the first down at 7:30 am when they opened. However, all the hot food was luke warm and and they did'nt have any fried eggs that were part of the menu. I believe the cook wonted to get away. Sadly, I may have been one of the unluckiest ones on the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Charming victorian residence away from the downtown area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just wish we were a closer walk to downtown Dublin and the rates were a bit more affordable over the holiday weekend.

    The room was beautifully appointed and it looked out on a charming and quiet tree-lined street. Beds were very comfortable too. Bathroom was large, but shower was small. Also, we were there during St. Patrick's Day and I felt the prices were much higher because of it. You are at least a 30-40 minute walk to the Temple Bar area, but cabs were easy to come by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wish breakfast had been included.

    We chose this place because it was a less expensive place to stay but only a 5 minute walk from a bus stop. Breakfast was not included in the price. The room was very clean, the beds were comfier than most of the places we stayed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    We spend a great time.
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spend a great time. Beds were very comfy and staff were very helpful and answering patiently all questions. We were feeling very welcome. I even asked if I could check out a bit later and there has been no problem. I honestly could highly recommend the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Egans House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: