Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Errigal Country House Hotel 4 stars

Cavan Road, Cootehill, Ireland

#2 of 5 hotels in Cootehill

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    6.3
    The staff were brilliant, the service and food were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wheelchair in the bathroom shower and it was very clinical, I hadn't requested this and overall felt the bathroom was more like a public toilet.

    The staff were brilliant, the service and food were good. Good value for money if you are not looking for anything fancy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Had a day at the spa staff all very lovely and treatments...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was the night porter who wouldn't answer the phone after ringing about 4 times. Ended up going down to reception at 11pm,he was on his own mobile and not impressed with having disturbed him

    Had a day at the spa staff all very lovely and treatments where fab. In general it was a brilliant hotel to stay in.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for relaxing overnight stay with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safety deposit box but reception looked after valuables. Room 229 holes on wall especially around light switch. Iron wires exposed

    Welcoming staff and helpful Good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.0
    If the bed linen had of been cleaned plus I forgot to mention the toilet crowed and bath edge needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok when we arrived got onto bed I could smell sweat of the pillows and bed covers so I stripped the bed linen and put towels to ly on we both did I was shocked tbh Plus the girl Fiona who done my spa was brill the best treatment I have ever received and I spa wkly so a credit too Fiona But was very disappointed in the shauna steamroom and relaxation was all together in a wee small room very unusual however again spa treatment was fab hold on tight to Fiona I have a disability and found the lifts were well away from my room and was defo a problem accessibility wise I travell and stay over a lot in hotels and this is my honest opinion

    The staff were brill The bar food and staff brill and food in Resturant and bar bit steep

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the suite expecting a higher standard of comfort and cleanliness. The bed was uncomfortable and underneath there were some paper and clips so the room wasn't cleaned. The bathroom had mould in the corners and no heater. We were blasted with cold air throughout the night and on check out we weren't asked how our stay was and the receptionist wasn't at all friendly. The breakfast menu offered scrambled eggs and salmon we received dried eggs and no salmon very disappointing stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, friendly and excellent staff 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellent

    All the staff were excellent, but a special mention to Emma on reception, who made our stay even more amazing by upgrading our room to a suite, this was an amazing gesture.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    It served our need for a clean room in the area but would never recommend it or stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed like a cheesy wedding venue place that doubled as a hotel. The breakfast was really mediocre and both the coffee and tea tasted like warm, dark water - reusing the coffee grounds and tea bags?!

    It was a handy location for attending a family gathering.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay, very friendly and welcoming hotel. Excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower In Room 205 a little tired needs attention, also the flush on the toilet needs attention as extremely noisy when it was flushed

    Friendly staff, excellent choice of food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable stay.
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broadband in my room was poor but excellent in other areas of the hotel.

    Lovely room which was comfortable , spotless and I had a great sleep. Highlight of the stay is the amazing staff who are super friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    More a wedding venue than a touring hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to complain about a droning noise in our bedroom, it was an air conditioner unit which was close to our bedroom. It was switched off for a longer time to aid our sleep.

    The food was very good,but we did eat in the bar, staff did go that bit further because of my wife's dietary needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.0
    The rooms were fabulous.
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar food was very expensive for bar food I couldn't believe it and the menu wasn't great it didn't have a great variety of dishes. We were glad we didn't go to restaurant because if the bar cause that much it would of been very expensive to go to the restaurant! Also the bar food wasn't great I had to return items for being cold. Other wise it is a great hotel, would love if it had a pool but other then that we had a great time!

    The rooms were fabulous. The staff were lovely espically David in the bar he is a credit you are lucky to have him as a staff memeber!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Luxury stay for affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault this hotel.

    Attended a wedding at the Erriga l country house hotel. Good was 5 star as was the accommodation...such a comfy bed..i didn't want to get up. Breakfast was delicious and service was friendly and super efficien.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    We had a pleasant stay, our suite was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is great that there is an award winning restaurant However, we felt the prices may have been out of our range However, we subquently found out that there was bar located at the back which also served food in which we would have eaten, unfortunatly we were unaware of this so we drove around untill we found a place to have food. I would suggest that proper signage is clearly presented in or around the lobby so as customers on arrival can see what is available and where it is located.

    We were upgraded on arrival to a lovely suite which was a delightful surprise although in hindsight we should have booked into the room with balcony :-(

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxed atmosphere in hotel, we stayed in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely relaxed atmosphere in hotel, we stayed in the executive suite that came with jacuzzi & large balcony which was great! Resturant food and service 10/10 definitely worth a look.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Really enjoyed my stay and I will go back it’s a fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff were too slow at taking orders For food and drink maybe because of the weekend that was in it they weren’t prepared enough . But they are lovely staff

    Food was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff great. Public areas very good, rooms in need of update
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little dated, toilet cistern made horrendous water banging noise when refilling. Was woken at 3.00 a.m in the morning by outside aircon unit rattling which went on for about an hour. Shower cubicle doors difficult to close and loose.

    Good location and hotel staff extremely helpful. Excellent wifi in room. Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    50/50 if i would go back..
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where not very friendly checking and checking out..food had a burned taste to it and when asked did u enjoy and told about the taste was told it was smoked bit not on the menu about being smoked..

    Room was nice and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Nothing mean about this Cavan escape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the sheer scale of the property. Beautiful rooms and very good quality of decor. Beautiful breakfast. Very good options for dining also. Just sorry, due to time constraints, that I didn't get to sample the spa.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully decorated. Staff were very freindly and helpful. Food was amazing and quick service! Spa treatments were the best I have had yet. Lovely relaxed feel to the whole place! Was like bliss! Room was very comfortable with a smart tv and balcony and a bath couldnt ask for more!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    We met some lovely guests who were staying there, and our...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv was too complicated to operate and the reception clerk couldn't help. The thermostat had an extremely slow reaction time changing the temperature of the room. The breakfast was not very good, with slow service. The bathroom had water running noisily through the walls at odd hours of the night. The light fixtures were in odd locations in the room and were linked electrically in a way that made them even less useful.

    We met some lovely guests who were staying there, and our waitress at the bar was brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no evening entertainment

    the cocktails were fab ,food great.hotel is a very well ran place wouldnt hesitate to recomend it to all my friends breakfast was excellent tv very good ,the rooms overall were very cosy ,a great stay will be back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid for an executive suite and when booking, it said we would have a balcony but next door did and we didn't which was a little disappointing.

    We absolutely loved this hotel. The place itself was so picturesque and the staff could not have been any more helpful! The spa was lovely and they were so accommodating fitting us in a late appointment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.3
    Overpriced for what you get , glorified air b&b , no way it’s 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lodge house is actually a separate row of houses the far side of a car park, if it’s raining or windy u have to make your way to the hotel through the dark steep incline, stale biscuits in bedroom (out of date six months) heating was broken , despite turning it off it stayed on all night.

    Breakfast and food where nice, hotel is clean and well decorated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    10/10 value for money friendly staff great food and drink and very child friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was fabulous, the staff super friendly and the rooms were fantastic value for money. We had a huge family room with one very large king size bed and 3 singles bed. Not to mention the plush sofa!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Great stay bar the poor sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were kept awake by a rather loud and noisy electric heater in our room.

    Afternoon tea and evening bar food was great and my wife enjoyed her pampering.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.0
    Very enjoyable, beautiful decor, situated in a gorgeous setting, close to many amenities.Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hot water tap in the sink was on the tepid side, even though the hot water in the shower was adjustable

    There was a lovely, friendly, helpful waitress in the breakfast restaurant who was so pleasant and looked after us when we were unable to have breakfast on the premises owing to a prior commitment. Equally there were 2 v helpful and accommodating bar staff when we ate in the bar on both nights, a young man and a slightly older lady with glasses.Staff demeanour really impacts on our stay, so I would recommend Errigal Country House Hotel to family and friends on that basis

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.4
    The breakfast was served fresh and was hot and tasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid the hotel was dead, no one on reception to book us a cab, couldnt find any staff after 10 except the barman, no entertainment on a saturday night and the fridge in our room had a jug of stinking mouldy cream inside it, the stench overwhelmed the room so we didnt open the fridge again, reception had no lights on at all so very dark and eerie going to bed, wifi very poor

    The breakfast was served fresh and was hot and tasty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    Room great.food not so much and staff lacked that welcoming warmth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate shower from Jacuzzi bath. Waited over an hour for our food to arrive in bar (which was quiet) and food was not great. Staff were 'pleasant' but not particularly welcoming. Not warm or smiling. Breakfast was nice but croissant was under baked. :(

    Booked an executive suite. Room was lovely bed comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.2
    A disaster. Our breakfast was ate before we got our toast . We asked 3 times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge room was an ordinary house . Room 403 the carpet was filthy. We had shower gel in the shower and soap at the sink. Nothing else. The noise of a heating burner or fan kept us awake all night.

    The actual hotel was lovely . But we booked room 403 in the lodge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave hotel to run to lodges in rain...elderly paremts couldn't get access to front door unless walking up a small hill.

    Decor was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.2
    Nice hotel, stayed for a concert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in lodge, which is actually a house converted, no air con, really warm. Soundproofing terrible. Wifi awful. Wouldn’t recommend.

    Nice hotel, stayed for a concert.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    great place,staff excellent,but orientals spoiled sunday morning,with noise,going for coach tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the orientals,on a coach tour,making noise and banging doors,at 6 oclock in morning,irish people like to sleep until 9 or half nine on a break s,

    brill bar manager,a real professional

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful stay ! Thankyou, we will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature controls could be improved.

    Great interior/exterior architecture in the rooms and main areas & really friendly helpful staff are their best asset.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Will stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door card stopped working but soon put right in reception

    Very good breakfast at this Hotel - I normally don't eat much at breakfast - try the scrambled eggs with salmon! Good parking facilities and good meal in the bar. The price is quite reasonable and it feels comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.8
    Meals rediculously priced for 3pm in the afternoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals rediculously priced for 3pm in the afternoon. It was more expensive than the Slieve Russell, also in Cavan. I wanted to get dinner but due to the pricing got a sandwich and tea. Breakfast selection very poor. Should take lessons from Hodson Bay and Mullingar Park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Lovely meal, drinks and tasteful bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location- the village is pretty drab. We drove from West cavan to stay here good thing the hotel is nice as the immediate surrounding area doesn't have a lot to offer

    Hotel is very comfortable lovely dinning options we are in the bar had a beautiful meal and the same again for breakfast the next morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had only booked in for one night but will return again in the future.

    So tranquil and immaculately maintained, both inside and outside. Staff at reception, bar, breakfast room and hair salon were warm and friendly and made us feel so welcome. The hotel was a gem in the countryside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    EXCELLENCE IN THE COUNTRYSIDE
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WISH I COULD HAVE STAYED LONGER!

    A LITTLE BIT OF LUXURY IN THE QUIET COUNTRYSIDE. ABOVE AVERAGE ROOM SIZES. VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY STAFF MAKE ALL THE DIFFERENCE. THE CARE AND ATTENTION TO THE GARDEN PLANTING IS WONDERFUL.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Call to Cootehill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The flowers in the grounds of the hotel were superb. Staff were very helpful even with a wedding in progress. The dining room was very tastefully decorated as was the bedroom. Food excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice play to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Think the coffee at breakfast was instant which isn't great to be honest. If I'm wrong fair enough but I think it was.

    Staff in bar very friendly and responsive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    accommodation good food disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very disappointed with breakfast standard, very poor fresh fruit/yoghurt selection, breakfast supposedly cooked fresh made to order , but would disagree, lot of it seemed to be out of deep fat fryer

    accommodation was good , nice size room, very clean , comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Room was comfy, Food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a lovely hotel and location. I stayed in the Lodge house. Room was comfortable but it had been a very wet and cold day and the heating was not turned on. I did request it 3 times to be put on. They said they would but it did not work. this I was disappointed in as I had been out in the rain doing a Trail walk and was very cold and wet when coming to hotel. After the drop in temperatures from the day before, I would've thought the heating should have been on or at least given me the opportunity to turn it on.

    Room was comfy, Food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    Good place for weddings I expect, but stick to a B&B if you want a personal touch.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instant coffee for breakfast was unacceptable. Standard and choice of breakfast food could have been better. The website was unclear on the spa facilities, which turned out to be hideously expensive.

    General room cleanliness was good, comfortable bed, air conditioning in room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfy with a lovely location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very intermittent, constantly dropping then reconnecting. Could have been faster as well. I used the aircon during the night as it was warm, and at some point it started leaking water, which I imagine was condensation. I had to turn it off but it kept dripping through the night. I did mention this to the staff in the morning and they said they would see to it.

    Room was large and spacious, with a big double bed (queen size I think) a lovely balcony and all the bits and bobs for comfort. The location is lovely, just out of town in the hills so its peaceful and serene and lots of great roads to explore while walking or running. The restaurant made really yummy food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful night at Errigal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't very good in the rooms and with a low coverage with a certain network provider you'd be stuck for browsing the internet. Bedroom tv also had only 5 Irish terrestrial channels.

    Fantastic latte made by the bar manager! Food was good for all meals. Beautiful looking hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    We stayed in room 201.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    We stayed in room 201. The room was lovely, clean, big and comfortable. We were married here last year and wanted to come back, definitely recommend this hotel. Breakfast is lovely. Staff are very helpful and friendly. We will be returning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable stay but staff need to be able to communicate better with each other
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at 3pm our room was not ready. The receptionist rang cleaners and had an argument with who ever was on the other end cause our room hadnt even been started. Myself and partner had to leave and come back an hour later. One set of towels in bathroom.

    Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Good all round hotel food good room good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Bed good size and comfortable meal in restaurant good quality food and fair price breakfast was 100% apart from bacon a bit cold and bland rest was gray thick toast etc

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Had a fabulous Stay and would definitely return and next time i will be looking at the hotel for wed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no heat or radiators in the bathroom was quite cold

    rooms where spacious and comfortable food was gorgeous in the bar and breakfast. great place and have considered it for a choice for my wedding list

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.4
    Fab food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge we stayed in was noisy heating buzzin and too hot. Somethin wrong with system. Residence bar did not open straight after main bar closed. Could not get a drink. Told live music but there was none

    The food was fab

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.7
    Could do better.
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room in the Lodge. It was very nice but small. Tv had a lot of interference on it. And upstairs toilet you could hear all night. Also the food in the restaurant was not very good. Everything tasted precooked and hard. No weekend entertainment like there was advertised?

    The property was very nice inside the main building. Clean and modern room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    Excellent ol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 4 star hotel expect soap/shampoo. But just had dispenser on shower wall. However this was minor matter but maybe management should consider it

    Everything about it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    4.6
    The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which we stayed was beside the main hotel. No heat, no hot water when we arrived. Water ran down the wall in our room when the person upstairs had a shower.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    Stayed as part of the Wedding party
    • Couple
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water is really bad :( The receptionist who checked us in and out wasn't that friendly

    Lovely big room in lodge house, although away from Wedding party.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    100% coming back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather :-)

    Everything. The room 202 suite was large, very comfortable and clean. Jacuzzi bath amazing and the bed very comfy. The bar area was nice and the food very good. Breakfast fast and fresh

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.1
    Fabulous hotel great for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal was very rushed didn't get time to digest the starter had the mains out to quick. Didn't get meal I asked for. Waitress went to use the ladies with a t towel in her hand and then returned to work in the restaurant. Bathroom freezing with broken floor tiles.

    The room was fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Stunning hotel. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is kind of out of the way. So don't expect any sort of evening events or activities. The food in the bar was quite expensive and the food in the restaurant even more so. Although it was good quality in fairness.

    The hotel is stunningly beautiful. Impressively well presented and an amazing atmosphere of class and relaxation. We booked the executive suite and were not disappointed. The room was fabulous. Large flat screen Smart TV. Super fast wifi. 4 post bed. Beautiful view. Huge bathroom and 2 person jacuzzi bath. The hotel was silent all day and night. The blackout curtains meant absolute darkness while we slept. Breakfast arrived to the door at 10AM and was absolutely delicious. It really was the best hotel we've ever visited and we will be back. Make sure to opt for the free "late check out time" of 2pm instead of midday like we did. Because you won't want to get out of that bed!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing country break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked to order. Which made a nice change from usual hotel way of serving in covered dishes, bain-marie style. The on-site spa was lovely. Staff were friendly yet professional. I used the steam-room sauna area for an hour and had it to myself - bliss! It was a great place for a short break.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    5.0
    Short break after XMASS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was unbearably hot even with heating turned off as result balcony door had to be open and closed whilst in the room..Food was very average in the bar and the food from the restaurant menu was very disappointing.we ordered steaks which also incurred a supplement and they were burned on the top and not tender ..Said to the waitress but was told I'll pass your message to the chef..We heard nothing more regarding our meal no apologies on check out .As prices for food and accommodation is not cheap and this is a 4 star property I would have liked a mention of this issues to be discussed with me at some point in our stay there. For me this hotel is suited probably to weddings etc and the fact that their was a wedding on that day maybe explained our meal not being acceptable ..Staff in the bar seemed to me to be disinterested in their job or maybe it was the time of the year but I left feeling this place has no atmosphere and it's not a place I would return too.Also we had a late check out on our day of leaving and at least 3 different times I had to answer door to the housekeeping staff who seemed to be unaware of our late check out .This to me is a case of no communication between reception and housekeeping staff and needs to be improved in my view.It meant I couldn't enjoy the benefits of the late check out because I was continually answering the door to the housekeeping staff ..Also not enough towels left to use in the room only one hand towel for 2 people and also for a 4 star hotel the use of soap disspensers that they refill is impersonal and individual soap bars would be more acceptable .Same applies to the again to the shower gel provided.Also 2 small sachets of shampoo only left in not enough for 2 people who were staying 2 nights..But good amount of tea / coffee are provided in the rooms which was a welcome..

    Staff were friendly.girl on check in and waitress in the bar

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    Clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived back at hotel at 2am to find ourselves locked out. There was a mobile number on door to ring for night porter(good job we had our phones with us). We had to ring twice before he answered so we were outside for a while waiting and it was a cold nite.

    Clean rooms Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    6.7
    Bar food was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable and a/c was ineffective

    Bar food was lovely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Great stay as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were visiting family and know the Errigal very well having stayed there on numerous occasions. Almost all rooms have a balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    The room was so spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so spacious.. The service and staff was excellent..... Will be back soon....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Fit for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot of atmosphere

    Shower was great!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was fab nice menu good food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Every thing best place I’ve stopped in by far outstanding
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing best place I’ve stopped in by far outstanding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of Entertainment

    Breakfast handed instead cooking..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointed with staff reaction to problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel breakfast ever .... all our large party agreed ! Leak in bedroom ceiling onto pillow !

    Lovely wedding lunch/dinner

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was poor in my room but the receptionist was amazinhly helpful and moved me to another room which had much better Wi-Fi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with some repairs particularly around light sockets

    Lovely and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in a nice quiet spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was a bit noisy

    Room was lovely and loads of space

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi bath did not work, restaurant was not open and nothing on the website about it not being open

    Room was beautiful. Breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Everyone at the hotel were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone at the hotel were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast, Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water temperature changes in the shower was unbearable

    Good breakfast, Very nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.5
    Luscious countryside with lots to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful setting, midweek relaxing break, breakfast was freshly cooked.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: