Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4 stars

Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland

#4 of 8 hotels in Cavan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2723 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my husband had to go alone for the night as i josephine had an accident and am hypersenctivity to noise in traffic and it was a surprise night for my husbands brothers 70th birthday. I have head injury so should be better in a few months

    bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better location map and directions would be very helpful.

    Elegant and very comfortable hotel with lovely grounds and excellent spa and fitness facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with food portion size in cellar bar, not enough to eat for dinner. Bit dusty in bedroom, floor needed a bit more of a vacuum Didn’t like view directly into spa treatment rooms

    Lovely bedroom, lovely shower, friendly staff. Loved the decor in the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful from the minute we arrived. The staff are so friendly & helpful. The food is excellent in both bar & restaurant. The swimming pool & spa area are lovely. The walks around the estate are fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived to Farnham estate it wasn’t just fantastic. We arrived late into the hotel and checked in at around midnight, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The hotel kindly upgraded us to a suite as we were still on honeymoon and it was just beautiful and a real treat, the treats did not stop there with prosecco and treats at dinner the following night. The forest and lakeside trails were great and the spa area was the best I’ve ever seen. I would highly recommend a stay for everyone! A real experience and luxury. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in rooms or bathroom. Bar overpriced for food and staff standing around talking instead of looking after customers. Tv in room totally out of date

    Golf course, swimming and spa area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely hotel. This was our fourth time here and we will be back. The food in Cellar Bar is lovely. The pool is clean. The staff are very nice and the overall cleanliness for us was really noticeable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Ground floor rooms need net curtains for privacy otherwise the blackout curtains had to be drawn. The bicycles should have been available free or for a nominal charge - not 18 euros each !

    Peaceful resort with forest walks and spa facilities. Excellent restaurants and room service. The massages were professional and very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is starting to age a little. The room I stayed in needed to be updated.. missing tiles in the bathroom and shabby paintwork. The pool area could do with updating.

    Amazing location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service a little slow in restaurant beside the spa but not really anything to complain about

    I guess we got very lucky as we were there on probably the hottest days of the year, the only time I’ve been lying by an outside pool in the sun in Ireland 😎

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a lot of stuff in the spa/pool area wasn't working. Just the Jacuzzi beds and stuff like that. Not really a big deal.

    I loved the pool in particular. The service was very good and we enjoyed all our meals. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Herb garden needed to be overhauled completely, all overgrown and paths needed to be weeded.

    The staff were very friendly, food excellent and spa facilities excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it.

    The setting was wonderful. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was superb as was the restaurant fare. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I strongly dislike the swim hat policy, surely in such a modern facility this is not required. Our room was not ready until half 4, when check in was at 3pm. We had no robes in our room, I had to call and a friendly reception member had them to us within 5 minutes. I would 100% not recommend the botanical restaurant for dinner, poor portion size and majorly over priced. There were 2 sides given to us, which was not enough for 4 people. For the price that is charged I would have higher service expectations. Local Indian/Italian restaurant in Cavan town, I would rate far higher in service/food/price. Perhaps I was disappointed by this trip as it was a bank holiday weekend and many weddings were booked in and seemed to take priority. I was at the hotel in April and fell in love with everything in Farnham. Perhaps the hotel was understaffed for a fully booked weekend which is why standards were not as high as April.

    The spa and outdoor pool is incredible, the best I’ve seen in Ireland to date. The style and space in the room is amazing. The old house is relaxed and worth visiting and enjoying a drink. George on the door was friendly and helpful, and had plenty of good tips for the surrounding area. Breakfast was brilliant. Walks around the hotel are stunning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning l, so the room and hotel in general was unbelievably hot and uncomfortable. The level of cleanliness left a lot to be desired, with spider webs and dead flies littered around window sills in both the room and restaurant. There was dust on the bedside tables in the room and the windows were filthy. The staff, although very helpful, had an inability to remember to bring you over something you had asked them for just moments earlier. At checkout we told the person at the desk this and although they were pleasant and listened - I felt that they had heard it before and it was not going to be reported to someone who could affect change. All in all, it was a disappointment. Farnham Estate has a great reputation and tradition, but the hotel seems to be trading on this alone nowadays. Such a pity, as there is such potential there.

    I thought the breakfast was lovely and the location superb. The staff were helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road signage leading to hotel could have been better. Level of maintenance /weeding of hardstand areas could be better.

    Beds very comfortable, tranquillity of setting, massage treatments and good lounger availability in spa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    The breakfast was excellent, more choice than we could handle! The room was large, we had one with a patio in the new section, I would recommend these rooms, especially if the weather is to be nice. The grounds are huge with many lovely walks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't nice at all. Everything seemed to be frozen and left out to thaw the night before. Even though there was lots of choice in the buffet, it was tasteless. In our bedroom the curtains were all ripped and the room was very dated.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The outdoor pool was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My pillows didn't smell fresh despite clean pillow slips...however they were changed on request and an apology offered.

    Respectful guests....peace and quiet...no children

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Grounds were very poorly keep grass not cut edges not trimed no seats out side just small things but what adifferance it would make please take alook at the galgoram class

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The waitress working in the bar was unable to tell us which country the house wine was from - now she did go find out but i would have thought this was something she should know.

    This is a hotel that i keep returning to as its just so lovely. The breakfasts are fab. with a wide variety of options to choose from. The staff are helpful, polite , friendly and professional in their approach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of seating areas outside for relaxin with a drink.

    Beautifully swimming pool. Very young staff but great staff. Management should be proud. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is definitely worth while staying in .the grounds are stunning for a walk an the infinity pool is beyond amazing .i can’t wait to go back .all staff very helpful too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues with staff on price which took a whole day for someone to make sense off when they finally did we were leaving and was told id get a call back. Didn't happen, also 2 centipedes in the shower that weren't acknowledged on check out the girl basically said "aww really"

    Everything else is fantastic the spa and the food is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door did not close properly. Wardrobe space limited. Dirty windows throughout. Smart frontage premier inn style structure when at back of hotel. Poor sound proofing with lots of noise from guests from 10pm to 5am on last day. First day was fine though. No fridge in room. 32 euros for 6.99 bottle of prosecco

    Great property and grounds staff were fantastic as were the pool gym and steam rooms. Restaurant and cafe in nearby Cavan fantastic. Good decor throughout hotel. Good space in hotel with lots of windows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property itself is really lovely. Was a bit disappointed with our room. Very dark and needed a bit brightening up.

    Beautiful location. Staff were really professional and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .The weather was beautiful when we were there.but the disappointing thing was, we couldn't enjoy it.because there wazn't a seat in sight outside front of hotel.most hotels have seating of some kind..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    Absolutely everything. The car park is a bit away from the hotel which was nice not looking out at cars. The lobby bar is nice during they day and the cellar bar at night is great. The restaurant is amazing and the food is to die for.Donna who served us was really amazing. We liked our stay so much we booked another 2 night in October. We were there for our first year anniversary and the staff left a happy anniversary card in the room which was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely and had a very comfortable stay

    Bright and spacious entrance with friendly staff. Great spa to relax and infinity pool was fab. Rooms comfortable.... All we needed for a birthday weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The golf course didn’t have rentals for us

    This place is amazing. The area is incredibly serene, the rooms clean and nice. The food amazing, and the spa relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV channels not as the room information detailed. No BBC1 at beginning of stay. Asked for this to be fixed at reception, not done until next day, when BBC1 appeared but lost BBC2. Ordered breakfast to the room both mornings, scrambled eggs were rubbery and bacon hard, inedible; but breakfast of bacon and grilled tomato on second morning was a little better.

    Beautiful surroundings, excellent walks which were well explained on all hotel literature. Wonderful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes, we wish we could have stayed longer

    We can't fault the hotel. We stayed here following a very difficult bereavement and the staff were so caring and courteous. Our room was beautiful, the staff were fantastic and the food was delicious. Spa treatments were very relaxing and we spent a lot of time walking the beautiful trails. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection on the dinner menu wasn't great,just found there wasn't much choice for people with a plainer pallet 😊 Really enjoyed the breakfast though. Pillows in the rooms aren't great,every other aspect of the hotel is geared towards relaxation and well being so would love to see them invest in a few new ones!

    I liked the hotel itself,arriving at the carpark and being collected by a courtesy bus and driven up to the hotel,great service.The Spa was really lovely,the staff are very friendly and professional,the indoor/outdoor pool was my favourite though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed with our food experience as a whole. Dinner at the Cellar bar was only ok. Both of our main course dishes were bland and badly executed - we overheard other guests with similar problems on the night. We ordered boiled eggs and an omelet from the kitchen at breakfast, which again was very badly executed. (extremely undercooked egg whites in both cases).

    Check-in was super easy. Our room was gorgeous with an amazing king bed and good quality teas/coffees/toiletries. When we first got to our room we were disappointed with our view but soon realised that the rooms with better views have more passing traffic, therefore less privacy. The spa and pool were very relaxing and never too busy. We went on the long walk through the woods on Friday morning, which was stunning and very peaceful. We seemed to be the only people there too! We had dinner and cocktails in the Cellar bar - our waiter Darren was very helpful and we really enjoyed our wine, cocktails and cheese board!! Breakfast has a broad selection of food to suit all needs - including a gluten free area. We arrived on the later side of breakfast both mornings and staff continued to replenish all stations until guests stopped returning for food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about the hotel! Beautiful location. Room was lovely, very comfortable, nice and quiet! The spa is a sanctuary of relaxation. The walks are so tranquil (bring good shoes) and the woodland is stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa could do with a bit of TLC I think. The sound on the speakers in the spa is very distorted. It made the relaxation music genuinely sound like creepy horror movie music! I also really don’t like how there’s a rule about wearing swimming hats, the Seafield in a gorey doesn’t ask you too, neither has any European resort I have been too. It’s said to be for hygiene but honestly it just feels like a way for them to sting you for a couple of euro for hats at the door to the spa.

    The hotel and grounds are lovely. Being able to swim from the indoor pool directly into the outdoor pool was amazing! The breakfast was great too, loads of options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Forgot to bring face cloths and these are not provided by the hotel.

    The friendliness of the staff and at the spa. Food excellent and great place to chill out, peaceful and beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa team at reception felt a bit "dis stressed" which may be against Spa philosophy where the purpose is to relax people. A spa experience starts with at smile at check in. The quality of the welcome is an important success factor. However, the outdoor pool looking into the gentle Cavan mountains, nicely heated makes you forget all dis stress "in a minute"

    Hello I am a booking.com Frequent Traveller (and shareholder) and I had the grace to discover quite a few places in Ireland and abroad. Farnham Estate represents unlimited abundance. The wine bar is very romantic and offers truly a candlelight experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FOUND BED A BIT UNCOMFORTABLE

    FOOD FABULOUS, GREAT PLACE TO STAY, STAFF COULD NOT HAVE DONE ENOUGH FOR YOU . SPA FABULOUS TOO,AFTERNOON TEA IS A MUST.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    if I had to find something wrong with it then it was probably just all in the room I expected it to be a little bigger, lighting wasn’t great because we were on ground level a lot of people passed our room so we shut the curtains, it could do with a mirror at desk level for applying make up etc and heating was a little off it got chilly at times with heating turned up but none of these things made a difference to how much we enjoyed the place.

    We loved everything, if I had any problems it was with the room itself but besides a few little things it was a perfectly good room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa and Swimming Pool were great, I felt it was a missing a hottub/jacuzzi when comparing it to other Spas I have visited.

    Service was great, very friendly front of house staff, bit of a walk from the car park but they have solved that with their handy taxi bus service if you have heavy bags. Had 3 course dinner which was lovely, staff all very friendly and young waiters were very professional and attentive. Outdoor pool is fab.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot even when we turned air con up.hair dryer kept switching off after 3mins ,I know this maybe a safety feature but took ages to dry my hair.

    The surroundings were excellent.The hotel was luxurious and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing... not even one

    Favourite hotel in Ireland, luxury and elegant. Plenty of things to do around the hotel including outdoor walks and hikes, outdoor swimming pool and spa to relax makes this stay just perfect. Even a free shuttle to and from the car park which isn't that far but it's the thought counts. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked more healthier options at breakfast

    The rooms were large and very comfortable and the spa was just lovely. The staff were very friendly too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the car park is down the road now there is a 24 hr taxi service to bring u up & down so it isnt to much of an inconvience!

    Its quiet, laid back atmosphere & the stonework is amazing when u first walk in :) our room was clean, warm & our bed so comfy! The staff were all friendly & helpful. We also asked for cot for our 9 month old & that was there aswell. Fab hotel & the spa is relaxing, id recommend a massage worth every cent! We cant wait to come back!! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The spa and pool are amazing. The lobby bar is very relaxing. Rooms are very comfortable and the bar downstairs is a lovely place for an evening drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food ... as your out of town and it’s such a relaxing place the food is important. This was not my first visit I have been quite a few times.

    The staff all over were very friendly. Spa is amazing facilities were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was average, food 5/10 wine not chilled, asked for brandy at end of meal came full of ice ...ask the customer before you put ice in a drink and serve your white wine chilled. Was told "we do not sell much of that wine so do not have it chilled".

    The pool, the room, the grounds. the hotel in general

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfy. There was also a thud noise every few minutes in the room throughout our stay which wasn't great when trying to sleep. Sounded like a pump kicking in.

    The breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought george Who was in reception Excellent member of staff. One girl who us dinner was also lovely. The girl that cleaned are room was also lovely. The rest were unfriendly and seem to have no personality. In the bar the drink and coffee were served without "hello how are you". Apart from that it was great thanks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where put in a wheelchair accessible room even though I has booked a double room. The noise was really loud as we where right beside reception. If you're not into golf or spa treatments it's just a normal hotel except you pay a whole lot more.

    Food was really good. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for our 10th anniversary reason was so we could spend time together and get treatments done for a present for us, half hour before going down our treatment was cancelled due to Someone ringing in sick, it took the goodness out of our trip we where very dissapointed, if we had to of knowing we would of booked somewhere else but unfortunately it was to late to,

    The swimming poor was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell from the drains or toilets which was slightly unpleasant at the reception area towards the spa.

    We attended the Farnham to taste our menu for our wedding on the 23rd of June. The staff were so approachable and friendly. Really looking forward to June. We also got an upgraded room which was fantastic. Very relaxing and a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic Spa, wonderful relaxing overnight. Room was comfy, clean and quiet with beautiful country views. The carpet in communal areas was a little worn but overall a wonderful stay. Staff were most helpful and meal in cellar bar was fab. We'll be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to purchase a swim cap at 3 euros in order to use the pool seems excessive. Also location is ideal if arriving by car but if depending on public transit, then taxi from Cavan bus station is 10 euro.

    Beautiful setting; loved the trails through woodland and lakeland. Breakfasts were grand; great coffee and a such a lovely variety of choices on offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My girlfriend got sick during the night and it was more than likely the food, no compensation or anything taken in account for the meal when we checked out.

    The pool and thermal suite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our evening meal in the Botanica Restaurant was a disappointment unfortunately my Wife's meal was both over cooked ( the Fish ) and under cooked nearly raw vegatables and the replacement Veg was no better. This spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the Botanica restaurant was poor and over priced. The room we stayed in had no view, whatsoever.

    Staff were very friendly. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was extremely tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the menu in either the bar or restaurant. Very limited and not a great selection. We had to cancel our reservation on the 2nd night and eat in Cavan town Was looking forward to this stay as it was our 1st anniversary and the room was poor I had to complain on the 2nd morning as our housekeeper had been in but they never even made the bed. Just threw the duvet up over and that was it. Not value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m a food snob so I qualify this when I say that the food was fine but not outstanding

    Great value, wonderful location and facilities and very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facecloths in room Poor service at spa restaurant Gf selection at breakfast could be better stocked - empty cereal jars etc No valet parking anymore

    Nice hotel in a nice location with great spa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!! Couldnt fault this hotel

    Everything..absolutly amazing experience ..food , pool, spa, room and staff all amazing! So peaceful and quiet with the most amazing views.Cant wait to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    The staff where very helpful and the hotel ground beautiful for walking. The location excellent for communicating to Cavan Equestrian Centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much I could find wrong with this establishment .Everything was very relaxing only thing I could say was service for phone coverage is poor but this almost adds to experience

    The breakfast buffet was lovely with great choice and loads of little extras such as different types of pastries, breads , meats and cheeses. The spa was to die for catering you to your every relaxing need, from relaxation rooms to Finnish saunas to an outdoor infinity pool. It wasn't missing a thing. The rooms were spacious with a pleasant terrace and romantic view point from bedroom through to bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms out dated. Need smart TVs Food in botanica restaurant and cellar bar was just horrible worst experience with food Same with the cocktails I wouldn’t order either! Because your in Cavan tried other places to go did not work out

    Loved the pool and spa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in the Wine Goose Cellar Bar didn’t offer traditional bar food, so I found it hard to find something to eat every night. One night I just had to take soup for my main meal!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really had no complaints. The golf course was a bit soggy and it was very breezy but that wasn't your fault. Accommodation was A1 as was the food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very creaky. When you turned over in your sleep you would be woken up by the creaking...I'm not a light sleeper! It was a double bed but with twin matresses, a little uncomfortable.

    The staff were excellent, especially John who worked in the Cellar Bar/ Foyer (from Virginia), perfect customer service. Tonia was great in the spa, very professional and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next time we will request a higher floor as we were on the ground floor and not much to see out the window.

    The Spa area is exceptional as it has an infinity pool. Great to prepare for the spa area in the room as the robes and slippers are available. It is a very relaxing hotel to go to. I have been before and will be going again. We love it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really missed the barbecued salmon for breakfast both mornings. I asked but was told the hotel was waiting on a delivery. I could live without it but it is a highlight of my breakfast experience!

    The staff were wonderful! From the moment we arrived, we felt very welcome. A special shout out to George who gave us a warm welcome with friendly chat. The pool was a lovely temperature as was the spa area surrounding it. Would also like to mention Yvonne and Aoife who were such friendly, helpful ladies. They even overheard it was my birthday and gave us bubbles! If you fancy a massage, Amanda was brilliant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly found it hard to even fault this hotel. The only thing that could be improved would be the TV in our room, it was slightly outdated and not great quality. However, this is a minor fault.

    From the minute we arrived we were treated so well. Staff at reception more than willing to help with everything. It was my boyfriends birthday and they had prosecco and a birthday plate ready in our room on arrival. We were surprised at dinner with the same again which I thought was such a nice touch. We ate in the Botanic Restaurant which we both really enjoyed. Breakfast was next to none - so good! The bedroom was amazing with a huge sliding door which opened to such a lovely view of the grounds. The spa and pool facilities were also fab! I know for a fact will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom was cold and had to request a heater Jacuzzi wasn't working and I went into the swimming pool both days and asked if it could be switched on.

    I had an amazing hot stone massage and if you could pass this onto the therapist please

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property states that it’s showers in the health spa has peppermint coming out of them along with the water. They DO NOT. Just a normal shower. Been like that my past 2 visits. Also has a couple down for our mini moon we got 3 cookies in a bag as a congratulations. Very dire

    Very relaxing. Lovely area and food is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I didn’t think there was anything that I didn’t like about this hotel and our stay, apart from the fact we were only staying one night and would of loved to stay longer.

    We really liked the black out curtains in the bedroom and how soft and comfy the bed was especially the pillows. We loved the different variety of options within the thermal suite along with the outdoor thermal swimming pool. We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent food and service within the Botanica restaurant by our server.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that we couldn't open our balcony doors.

    We stayed in rooms 216/218. On Monday we had major problems with the scalding hot water in our showers. The staff dealt with this efficently and in a friendly manner. Giving us a complimentary evening meal plus wine as compensation as greatly appreciated. Our only regret was that our stay was not long enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: