Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Norseman (Formerly Farringtons of Temple Bar)

28 East Essex Street, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#41 of 93 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Very clean and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasnt very big, windows didnt open much so no breeze, couldnt find a light switch for the light at the end of the room and if it was at the side of the door it didnt work so was getting ready in the dark, although door didnt have a handle on the outside felt unsecure as no lock on the door on the inside, didnt get a tour or guidance from staff just given a key

    Very clean and great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for our Wednesday night in dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance foyer a bit smelly mouldy I guess but it is an old building.

    We found it a great taste of Dublin close to everything. Comfy beds and good shower!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location for a night out with mates, and you want somewhere easy to to crash.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fixtures could do with replacing, mould around the top of the window pane. Bathroom door had a poorly thought out full length glass panel allowing streetlight to come flooding into the bedroom as there was no blind or screen either on the bathroom door or on the window to block out lights.

    Great central location,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    great location, but very noisy during the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I read the reviews about loudness from the street and took earplugs with us but could hear the noise from the street through them anyway...I'd only stay again again if the price was £50 not £150 a night as I had a very disrupted sleep.

    location was great and also staff were very friendly. we had a pint at the bar during the day and we didn't think it was that pricy. the bed was comfortable and bedding very nice. nice shower gel and shampoo in the shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Great space as long as you don’t want to sleep !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh,I guess I expressed why we had a concern about our stay !

    A great room, clean and welcoming. But if you want to sleep DO NOT rent this room!!! On an over night connection, only being in Dublin for one night we thought it would be a good time in be in the Temple Bar area! Unfortunately, we had no idea that the partying does not end ! We were literally up all night ! The bar music stopped at 3:30, the patrons left by 4:30, the drunks quieted by 5:30 and then there was silence for one hour when the street cleaners came out !!!!! All this for $ 650. For two rooms !!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    We loved the location. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink faucet needed fixing ( loose) , bed was lumpy. Someone unlocked/ opened our room door when we were sleeping- no safety chains on the doors.

    Great location, nice decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy area. Streets and cobblestones proved to be a problem. My sister had a fall, dislocated shoulder, broke arm bone. Maybe not a good place for older people to stay.

    Location was great. Wished we had eaten at the hotel. Being a vegetarian is difficult all over Dublin however.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Over all good nite was had.just sleep was lite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy on street in morning wife was mone to plkeased.from bottles being collected to pnumatic drill or something being used.

    Very central ireally liked it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.8
    Awful ! - in desperate need of an overhaul !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Very noisy (outside ) as we expected so cant complain about that......but inside the noise was shocking, other guests decided to have a full blown fight/argument at 2am ! Shouting swearing slamming doors, I understand that things like this are out of the hotels control - but they did nothing about it, there is no way of contacting anybody in the hotel from your room either!.... I wa afraid that somebody was going tosamsh there way into our room the way it was going !!!! 2) Rooms are not well maintained, loose light fittings, loose toilet seats, loose taps, broken (dangerous) plug sockets. 3) Absolutely terrible bed - the mattress literally had a massive crater in it you could feel the bed frame through it !! - complained on check in and was told - "oh yeah we ordered a new one but its not here yet" ......and that's it....nothing, no sorry no replacement no move to a different room ....Nothing !!! - just not bothered !! I have stayed here before (when it was Farringtons originally) and although it was more expensive we found our stay to be superb this is the reason we chose it again for our stay this time and the experience is completely different. I would not recommend this hotel and will not be staying here again !!!

    Location is good - but noisy (as expected)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    I would NOT recommend this establishment unless you want to stay up all night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't expect to get any sleep here, the location is very noisy with people walking past making heaps of noise into the wee hours. The bar is the reception so if not open there is no one to communicate with. My son ordered a vegetarian pie & was given a chicken one by mistake with only a 'sorry' from the staff & no compensation.

    Central Location & nicely appointed room with comfy beds & own bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Ireland/Dublin introduction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator to transport my heavy luggage. Contact information for the management would have been helpful.

    Within walking distance of our tour meeting place, shops, pharmacy, restaurants and pubs, Trinity College, Whiskey tasting. It was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Right in the middle of Temple Bar so if you’re looking for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the middle of Temple Bar so if you’re looking for the perfect party location this is it. If you’re looking to go to bed at 10 then I’d look for something else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    Sleep deprived !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Felt very isolated , no phone in the room & totally seperate from the Norseman pub to contact anyone if there was a problem. I had no hot water on Sunday. I would have rated this room higher but cant recommend it as a relaxing place to stay due to the noise. If you dont want to sleep this place is perfect but the noise from the street at night is unbearable even with ear plugs. Its a shame as this could be such a great place if they only got double glazing to block some of the noise. Also no breakfast included in the price.

    The room was fab, really modern & nice bathroom. Location great . Would be a great place to stay if they get double glazing !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    It was very good location, just upstair of long history pub...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very good location, just upstair of long history pub with good selection of drink and food. We went to the coldest snowing day, but we had a very good time. Room was very big and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Traditional, clean and inviting pub in a great location close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cold and noisy from the outside which could simply be improved with secondary glazing and maybe more blankets on the bed.

    The bed was so comfortable and the shower was perfect. We did have to ask for extra tea and coffee but they didn't mind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue for us was getting luggage up 2 flights of stairs

    Fantastic location in heart of the Temple Bar district. Unique experience to stay above a pub but there was no noise issue for us at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay if you want to get involved in the Dublin nightlife....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t stay here if you want a quiet night - nearby pubs open until 02:30 in morning, or you could just join in - you’re in Dublin after all.

    Fantastic location, great if you want to be in the heart of Temple Bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.0
    Would not go back or recommend. I wish I had stayed somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is literally no customer service. The “hotel” is run by the people who work at the bar downstairs. It shouldn’t really be called a hotel. The biggest problem with our stay was that we didn’t have hot water for OVER A DAY and had to speak to the people at the bar several times for it to be fixed who showed no sense of urgency at all. It felt like we were bothering them with something minor and annoying and they didn’t really apologize or compensate us in any manner. Also, whenever the bar is closed, you have absolutely no one to talk to. Apart from not having hot water, the room was absolutely freezing. The window had such bad insulation that you could feel the draft as if it was open. On top of that, he heating was pretty bad so the room was cold all the time. Maybe during the summer this might not be a problem but don’t go in the winter because even if you are lucky enough to have something as ESSENTIAL as hot water, you will freeze in your room.

    The location is great and the room was pretty modern and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    In temple bar area, close to everything we wanted to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy due to where it’s situated but this was not an issue for us as it was what we would expect from a room so close to the nightlife.

    In temple bar area, close to everything we wanted to do.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointed in the room. Nothing as bad as being freezing in your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing as heating was not working, complained downstairs to owners in the bar , they weren't overly helpful and could not get the heat working. They put a blow heater in the room but still didn't heat the room very well. Very noisy as your right beside all the bars but that didn't bother us as we were there for a good time but paid £120 for 1 night with no heat and wifi connection very poor and no breakfast with this price. Rooms are above the Norseman bar which isn't very clean and I had to send back my food which was hard fish but they did not charge.

    Bed was comfortable. Location was good right in temple bar. This is the only good thing about Norseman.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    hotel couldn't have been more central with public...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    having a bin in the room would have been nice, low tables not suitable for working on a laptop.

    hotel couldn't have been more central with public parking nearby, large room and shower, nice staff at the pub next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    If you are looking to be in the thick of things in Dublin .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Navigation and parking are a challenge ... but that is to be expected in the heart of a city.

    If you are looking to be in the thick of things in Dublin ... this is a great spot for it! Be prepared for a late night and early AM as there is always something going on in the streets below. A true dose of Irish entertainment culture to be sure!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    We had a good time and the folks we interacted with were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No windows!!!! Skylights only. No escape if there was a fire. No lift. 3 flights of stairs up. Waitress for dinner never came to ask if we wanted additional drinks and did not bring check.

    Food was good. Bathroom was very modern and clearly new. It was very soundproof and it was above a bar in Temple Bar, so that was a bonus. Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and comfortable, but loud and not particularly welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to the location, it's very loud. The place across the street has music until long after midnight so if you are looking for somewhere quiet to retire early, this probably isn't it. Also, due to unforeseen circumstances we arrived really late in the evening to check in, so they were very busy. It was difficult to figure out who to talk to to get a key, and he seemed (understandably) irritated that he had to stop what he was doing behind the bar to show us how to get to our room. After that, we didn't see an employee again for 3 days. So, no hospitality really.

    The location was extremely convenient, right in the heart of Temple Bar. It's a great location if you are going to be out late and then just want to climb the stairs up to your bed! The room was clean and had a large, modern shower. It was also the only place out of the 6 or so we stayed in during our trip that provided an oscillating fan.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location. Friendly staffStandard rooms clean but needs work doing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid over £200 for 1 night. Bedroom number 3 needs a full blind for the huge window in there. Sun was beaming down on us at about 7am no chance of a lie in. Needs re-painting and plastering around the window. Check in time very late all our friends checked in around 12pm and we had to wait till 3pm.

    Right in the middle of everything. Very close to the temple bar pub not a far walk from everything. Staff very welcoming and polite. Loved the fact the entrance was separate to the pub. Bathroom lovely, room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    can wait to come aback again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing which is very small there was no much water pressure from the shower

    staff were fab they couldn't do enough for us, bed was comfy great location, deffo recommend this place to my friends

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.4
    Great location but expensive with poor customer service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was there on important business and when I got up in the morning there was no water at all. Not even to clean my teeth or flush the loo, let alone have a shower. This problem was fixed but not in time for me. They seemed to have a problem with the pump and even after it was fixed, the water pressure was not great. I understand these things can happen, and the lad I spoke to originally handled the situation well. But, I was very disappointed that the management didn't address the situation and I received no apologies. The rooms are part of a pub and I really felt they were an afterthought and at no time did I ever feel particularly welcome. Another thing was my bed sheet had some horrible looking stains on it. I cant believe that who ever made the bed thought it was acceptable to leave it like that and not change it for a cleaner looking one. I wasn't expecting much, but at over £100 per night, I did expect the basics like water and a clean bed sheet. Customer service from the management was poor if not non-existent.

    It is situated in Temple Bar which is an excellent location for the buzzing nightlife of Dublin. The room was basic but modern looking and well designed, with excellent wifi and a tv. The bed was reasonably comfortable and there were tea/coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location in the heart of Temple bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very noisy at night due to all the pubs situated in the area so if your visiting Dublin for a relaxing stay the apartment isn't ideal. For us however, it was perfect as we came for a bit of a full on weekend! We noticed the water supply in the bathroom cut off 2 out of the 3 mornings we stayed in the apartment for roughly 45 minutes each time and we weren't supplied with the wifi password so didn't take advantage of this free extra during our stay.

    The apartment is in a fantastic location based right in the heart of temple bar so the atmosphere is fantastic. The apartment was a great size and situated at the side of the Norseman pub. Plenty of nice restaurants and pubs are located nearby and the bar staff at the Norseman let us leave our luggage with them upon checkout for the day which was really helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nosey, windows didn't close the whole day, water tap in the bathroom hanging off, toilet didn't flush had to flush ourselves by filling the kettle with water and pouring down a toilet. Very unhigenic Did not sleep a wink. I may as well went and slept outside in temple bar because the windows provided I noise reduction at all

    Yeh location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Amazing location for nightlife
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfy and had springs that can destroy any back. There was a camper bed on the floor (which moved very easily) which was a dangerous obstacle in this tiny room. The hotel gave someone else a key to our room and a random man walked in when we we were about to go out (staff apologised for the mix up but that man could have easily stole from us if we weren't in because of that mix up).

    The location of this hotel is amazing if you want to experience the nightlife; sometimes it is quicker to go back to your bathroom when out instead of waiting in a que!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    Lively central hotel, just a bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit unclean A lot of money for a hotel such as this. It's a decent hotel but for this price you expect much higher standards

    Great location, right in the centre Friendly staff Safe and easy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Great location, decent pub room, don't stay here to relax / sleep but instead to crash after drinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No privacy between room and bathroom. Very thin walls between rooms (could hear everything in the other guest rooms). Can hear the music in the bar and noise from the street throughout the evening. Needless to say, there was little sleep had in this. Bed was not sturdy and squeeked, floor was VERY slippery. Bathroom door would not stay closed.

    Great location to explore Dublin

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    To be in the heart of the Temple Bar district was a blast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside sounds carrying up to the 3rd floor - voices, cars, motorcycles after midnight.

    To be in the heart of the Temple Bar district was a blast! Friendly people, good music, good food, Lots of shopping and tours available within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Short Stay in City of Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit warm in the room so we had the windows open all night. The accommodation is located in the party district so it was quite loud all night with drunken people yelling into the late hours.

    It was a small little place but had all we needed for our one night stay! They even held our bags for us for most of the day before we checked in which was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Room was just renovated and it was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows would need to be new and triple glass to keep the noise from the street. This was my noisiest night in a hotel ever.

    Room was just renovated and it was nice and clean. The location is excellent, close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location and rooms. There will be noise from Temple Bar street outside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the hotel were to fit Double glazed windows it would help with noise from the street life

    Lovely comfortable, spacious and clean rooms and bathrooms. (I booked 3 rooms) Easy check in at the bar below. Easy key drop on the way out. Location is outstanding for Temple Bar nightlife - but remember the bars carry on until around 4am and the street cleaners come in about an hour after! It is noisy from the nightlife, but nothing that a few pints of Guinness doesn't cure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    3.3
    Terrible location..very noisy! rude emploees and lot of things to be fixed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the toilet flush was broken and had to ask them twice to fix it then they finally tried to fix it but were not sucessful! and said that there was nothing they could do! and we simply had to deal with a broken toilet! one of the employees even said to me that i was not staying for long had not paid much!! outrageous..an absurd.. they then said they would send someone and they never did. It was not cheap for me and i definitely PAID to have working toilet! Employees very rude and not helpful. it is also a very noisy location..i would advise people NOT to stay there.

    clean and spacious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.3
    Would stay again, perfect location for Olympia theatre and Temple Bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lock could be replaced and the food we had wasn't great.

    Perfect location, VERY clean bathroom, good room, bed a little lumpy but slept very well. Good pint of Guinness.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.5
    The Norseman is right in the heart of Temple Bar - if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very noisy until early hours of the morning, particularly on the weekend, so not ideal if you are more of a sightseeing/ early night type of traveller.

    The Norseman is right in the heart of Temple Bar - if you are in Dublin to check out the music and the pubs (and don't mind some late night noise) this would be a great place to stay. The room was large and very nicely appointed with a great bathroom. We arrived around midnight on the Saturday night of the long weekend and even though the place was heaving, the staff helped us out by getting us settled into our room. Great selection of beers on tap. Usually some live music in the bar as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Staff were helpful, well situated for a night out in temple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit tired- windows didn't fully close so there was a draught and you could hear the revelry of the partying masses like they were in the room with you & when they finally shut up as the sun rose, the clean up squad bustled around with equal enthusiasm. It would be a great room if you were visiting the area to party hard then collapse into a comfy bed but not for a romantic break. Tap wobbly, no instructions for the heating.

    Staff were helpful, well situated for a night out in temple bar, wasn't expensive compared to other places in the area but Dublin is expensive overall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Clean, comfy, affordable central base but noisy location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely noisy. You have to expect that in Temple Bar, but single paned glass and very thin walls meant you heard everything as if it was within your room or as if the window was open. Would benefit from double-glazing. The wi-fi didn't work very well at all.

    The bed was comfy and the location was terrific, right in the heart of temple bar. It was very clean and tidy and there was plenty of space to store your bags. Shower had a good water pressure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was unbelievably uncomfortable. There was a big dip in the middle of it and springs digging into us from the top to the bottom. We both had the worst nights sleep we've ever had. So because of that we wouldn't stay here again.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't working. Check out too early

    Great location. Check in is quite late - 3pm. Most of the day is gone waiting around to check in. Lovely room & bathroom - very modern. Great to be able to control room temperature

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice place on top of a nice bar !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the morning / night very noisy due to all the bars around with firstly the visitors and secondly the deliveries etc going on in the early morning. But this is to be expected at a location like this.

    Location was great, easy to reach and lots of things to see & do around.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.1
    A few little niggles but great spot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange, very strong smell when I arrived, disappeared after a couple of hours. Temple Bar is noisy at night - which is nothing to do with the property, but - the windows in the room don't block any sound whatsoever. If you need to sleep bring earplugs. Otherwise, nothing to discredit the place.

    Room really well presented, easy to access and hassle free coming and going

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out at 11am - too early

    Room is gorgeous, spacious, modern, more like an apartment than a hotel..Large bath, tea and coffee facilities, bed is the most comfy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Super spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was so delighted there was a Jacuzzi. So disappointed it didn't work

    The locality was spot on. The pub staff hugely friendly and efficient booking us in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    7.5
    Fun Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from Pub is pretty loud until wee hours of the morning.

    Temple Bar is fun area and the Norseman Pub is great. Staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent modern spacious apartment like room in the heart of temple bar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not disturb sign needed as well as a safety deposit box. No phone to contact anyone from room. No booklet with accommodation information in room supplied

    Large spacious room & bathroom. Tea/coffee making facilities. Very comfortable. Location couldn't be better - everything you could need is in reach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.2
    Central central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Price..pure bargain.

    Location was amazing. Staff so friendly. Side door so didn't av to walk through bar. Just brill place.Food was beautiful & very quick service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.8
    Staff were great
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a water leak in the hallway and it was being managed but first impression was slightly negative due to look and smell.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    7.5
    Perfect for going out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the rooms are above the pub it is quiet noisy during the night, but that should be obvious. (Around 2 AM it's getting quiter.)

    The location is the best about this place, right in the middle of the centre. You need to check in at the pub and then they will show you the room. The room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    The best place to stay in Temple Bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Great size of room, very clean, comfortable bed, great music at venue, great location and friendly staff. Its very noisy in the morning. U just need blackout curtains that are very dense to block out light and noise. I'll stay with u again. Although in another arrangement as I broke up with my boyfriend the same night. Relationship ran out of steam.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    The suite we had was amazing the bed was comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite we had was amazing the bed was comfortable and decor was lovely. The staff were so friendly too. highly recommend The Norseman for a great place to stay in Temple Bar Dublin

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Great room for great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great room for great value! I loved the central location right in Temple Bar, but some people might be bothered by the noise of people outside late at night.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location, good value for money! :)
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are staying at any hotel in Temple Bar area expect it to be very noisy. I'm not saying this is bad, its just one thing you need to be aware of. :)

    Great Location. Helpful and extremely friendly staff. Good value for money. Room was very clean, coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Free and really fast Wi-Fi . There is no actual reception, so if you book a room at Norseman, ask at the bar! :) Highly recommend this place! :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.3
    The room was modern, neat and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed there on a Tuesday night and was woken up by many noises during the night, mostly from drunk people shouting in the streets. This of course is a result of the hotel being next to a bar. Old stains on the bedding and towels.

    The room was modern, neat and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't think there could be any better location! The room was big and we had all we needed. Pubs, shops, bus, cafes, everything is right there. Supernice staff too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room at the front was quiet noisy, but rectified straight away by staff, they put us into a lot quieter room.

    The location was great. The staff were fantastic. Rachel was amazing nothing was to much for her. I loved everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.2
    Simply Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi was spotty at times, making it difficult to connect and slow.

    Incredible location right in the heart of Temple Bar District; immaculate and updated rooms with incredible showers; friendly and helpful staff in the pub below the rooms. Noise levels from the street below were elevated, but you have to expect that given the location right in the middle of the action.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable flat pillows.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Hotel is in the heart of Temple Bar !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very loud outside until late...

    Hotel is in the heart of Temple Bar ! Great music in the evening, especially Sunday evening with Mylo Music

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great room in the heart of Temple Bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was immaculate and everything was newly renovated and in perfect working order.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud even after pubs close.

    Great location. Easy to get there and right in the heart of Temple Bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Night in central Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right over a popular pub - but the rooms have double-glazing, so it's not so bad.

    Very central. Comfortable, spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Buy ear plugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite noisy in the Temple bar area.

    It was central. Good selection of beer. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    pleasent stay, noise was not a real issue, central to most places. Great pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little noisy but to be expected as it is in the middle of temple bar.

    great location in central temple bar,. Basic but well appointed room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    IT is a lot of noise in the evening, night and morning from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IT is a lot of noise in the evening, night and morning from the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night. But it is a pub and you can expect noise. No lift. Stairs too much for an older person.

    Location I didn’t have breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Advised Norseman over three weeks before that we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advised Norseman over three weeks before that we couldn't make it. Just a terse response saying no refunds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous - thanks!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location, right in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud at night

    Amazing location, right in the center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff were amazingly friendly and welcoming.Location & apartment were bang on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.0
    Decent room, quiet, clean, good ensuite facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room larger than expected, excellent showroom/toilet ensuite facility, functional and clean accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: