Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fitzgeralds Hotel 3 stars

West End, Bundoran, Ireland

#1 of 10 hotels in Bundoran

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 156 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike! If we had to be picky, perhaps we would say the car park was very tight but really wasn’t an issue

    The family feel to a lovely boutique hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly lovely place to stay! Oozes old world charm. Has a lift! Our meal in the bistro was delicious. Heater under the towel rail in the bathroom in room 310 meant I was able to wash & dry my jeans overnight! We were very comfortable here! :) Photo below is not the lobby, just a lovely hallway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing if iI has to say one thing a larger tv in room would be nice

    Restaurant and bar area fab. Cosey with candlelit and open fire. Staff so friendly and attentive . Fine selection of wines and food first class. Has a homely feel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    needs up dating . when we were having coffee in sitting room you can’t use toilet until the bar was open you need to use your toilet in your room

    Staff very nice. food delicious .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit outdated. Perhaps some music/tv in the reception / lounge area might make a bit of an atmosphere because as you walk into the hotel it has an empty feel to it. The bed was quite small to share and not very comfortable. We didn’t feel that the room was worth the amount we paid for the night, having stayed elsewhere in the days prior doing a coastal trip. Not having tea/coffee/water in the room is a bit odd too as even budget hotels usually have those facilities these days. We also found it a bit strange to see a sign on the single bed in a double room saying “you have booked this as a double room, If you wish to use the single bed there will be an additional charge.” That left us with a bit of a bad taste.. it gives off a cheap vibe.. I’ve never encountered such a thing before as I have stayed in other hotel double rooms (not all) and they often do have a double and a single and I’ve never seen that before! Strange.. obviously to save on cost and time changing the sheets but.. really?

    The location of the hotel is perfect. Within walking distance of all amenities. Most staff are friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather, it rained the whole time but we were not to be deterred, we were out and about the whole time.

    We liked the comfortable bed, the heat was just right in our room which was big and very comfortable, we had a sea view room with a great bay window, and two great chairs to relax on, we didnt have to sit on the bed, the tea and coffee in the hall was a very good idea, the staff were friendly and very helpful, breakfast was fresh cooked each morning which was another bonus, we had a super 3 days in this very beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like to have the and coffee facilities in the room but there was access to tea and coffee on site!

    Staff were friendly welcoming without being intrusive, beds were super comfortable, breakfast was lovely, waiter was excellent and location was fabulous 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, wifi was poor, tv channels extremely basic.

    The breakfast service was excellent. Staff where very good. Polite, attentive and precise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle in the room. No iron in the room. Ran out of tissues in the bathroom. Apart from the waiter & the aged man who checked us in the other staff were not all that welcoming. Parking at the rear is dreadful - we used the car park on the opposite side of road from the hotel

    Breakfast was excellent with good choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food,very friendly staff, Gentle man at reception, Room

    We were very pleased with our stay and we will be delighted to stay in your hotel very soon again,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jerry "O" did a great job accomadating any and all needs. Job well done, would highly recommend for future travelers. Captain Vincent J. Dougherty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin bedspread, no extra blankets in the room, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, they were down a flight of stairs and served in paper cups. No WiFi even with the code, just couldn't connect.

    The room clean & bright. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Again fetch it yourself below stairs or do without While the last hotel we stayed in was cheap this wasn't

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could only spend one night there and did not get an opportunity to partake in dinner!

    It has a unique style which is far superior to all other hotels in Bundoran. You get a great welcome and personalised service. Super that there is tea/coffee available day and night and the fact that you can get excellent good wine by the glass is something that is especialy good. Unfortunately we did not get the opportunity to have dinner there, however was told by many people that food and service are excellent. So will avail of this pn my next visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bundoran itself is a bit run-down and not somewhere I would recommend visiting to be honest. But that is not the hotel's fault.

    Staff all very friendly. Parking is very tight - if you have a big car it would be a real challenge. Breakfast is served at the table, not buffet. Enjoyed the Irish cooked breakfast. We only discovered the bistro after having had a quick (mediocre) dinner elsewhere - it looked very enticing indeed, and we were sorry we missed it! I would definitely recommend dining at the hotel (there is nowhere else comparable in Bundoran as far as I could tell).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are familiar with Fitzgerald's hotel having spent time there over a number of years. Would happily recommend it to anyone. Lovely family. Good hotel. Excellent food. Love the fact that the breakfast is cooked fresh every morning- no carvery. We will be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea / coffee facilities in room (at bottom of stairs) My room payment was pre-authorised on my credit card without my pin number or even presenting my card. In my experience, as a frequent traveller, this is not standard practice & should have been discussed and agreed at check in.

    Friendly welcome, Beautiful sea view, lovely room, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Fresh to order breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were met by the very friendly owner on arrival who showed us to our room. It was very clean and comfy as was the en suite. We ate in the dining room in the evening and the food was delicious and at €30 each for 3 courses I thought it was great value for money. All in all we enjoyed our stay in Fitzgerald's and will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here before and had no complaints. But this time we stayed in a room that was absolutely freezing despite heating being on. I was supplied with heater but for £93 this is not acceptable. When my wife passed on our comments about our stay it would have been common courtesy for manager of hotel to contact us. Bit dissapointed about that as our previoys stay was a very positive experience

    The hotel is set in beautiful location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in room was poor. No tea making facilities in room.

    Warm, friendly atmosphere, clean and comfortable. Lovely food. Staff helpful and professional. Lovely location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely hotel, very helpful gent in reception, we had to leave early the next morning and even though breakfast starts at 8.30 ours was ready for us approx 8.15 full irish for my husband, lovely girl served us. will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water was just lukewarm,no life about hotel,too quiet,it was more like a b&b, No fruit on breakfast menu.

    Room was nice and clean.good parking available. Location Close to allingham hotel if u are interested in a bit of country and western.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was excellent. Staff excellent & very friendly. Breakfast was superb. Room was spotless. Secure parking. Comfy beds. Had a seaview room out onto the street but was still nice & quiet at night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is really nothing I can say I didn't like we were very impressed with our stay from all aspects I am looking forward to a return stay for a relaxing break

    We enjoyed the complete package the food was excellent and the staff were most friendly and helpful vary safe car parking facilities just brilliant, wonderful value for the price paid

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park too small really. Really tight. No kettle in room for late night cuppa.

    Beds extremely comfortable. Staff really friendly and helpful. Ocean view amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet hotel close to all amenities in Bundoran. Staff where very friendly and breakfast was lovely. Would recommend to anyone who wants a quieter stay away from the busier hotels which have music in them at night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar open toll 6 had to go out to get drinks more like a b&b than a hotel .had to go down stairs to make tea and coffee under the stairs felt like we a hostel would not stay here again

    Veiw

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lovely very clean hotel enjoy the peace @quiet had a meal in restaurant was delicious plenty music next door if want The gentleman in restaurant was good chat good at his job plus the staff love to visit again .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't get a chance to try dinner with them.

    Large room, with view of water. Bathroom was very large also. Breakfast was the best I had in the 2 weeks, I was in Ireland. Staff very friendly. Off street parking. I will return again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was grand 😊

    People, weather and the welcome we got

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t realise the restaurant was open

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great

    Quiet and friendly with a superb breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was an excellent restaurant in the hotel. The Proprietor and staff were friendly. Also the sea view from our window was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic

    Beautiful hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be upgraded & modernised

    Clean & good location for our visit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely taste breakfast.a bit skimpy.tpo long of a wait 4or it

    The foyer

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could have been more comfortable. Car parking tight.

    Breakfast was excellent. Great venue - will be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was excellent, hidden gem. Food, staff, ambience was amazing, highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space is limited.

    Very comfortable and so relaxing, just the place to stay to chill out completely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like the 1960s does & don't notes left everywhere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car par is very small and tight to manoeuvre in.

    Super breakfast and every bit was brought to the table for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is in an excellent location opposite the beach and has loads of character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room, no tissues, no extra pillows. Very dated, could do with an update of the entire room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes facilities in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freshly cooked breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasent and helpful staff clean and comfortable room/bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    no toilet on the ground floor :(

    great bar - breakfast - free tea - close to main amenities :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were quite hard

    Sea view was spectacular

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in my room.

    The breakfast was freshly cooked and well presented. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked Tea facilities to have been in the room

    The homely family atmosphere from the moment we entered

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea in the rooms.Have to go down to a machine on ground floor

    The views.All rooms overlooking the sea.Perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely uncomfortable was very hard!

    Staff were very accommodating lovely people made us feel.extremely welcome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner/staff excellent. Restaurant food excellent. Room sea view excellent. Very clean Breakfast excellent. Highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were exceptional with hospitality. Nothing was a problem and so friendly. Room very spaceus and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food excellent. Traditional hotel. Excellent customer service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where very friendly and the breakfast was beautiful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The room was lovely and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warmth and comfort

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea in your room Had to hand your key in at night . When you were going out

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant and staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tight but at least the parking was on the premises

    Great location and lovely views from the front bedrooms and great staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great breakfast. Comfortable room. Fairly central but quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a small hotel and sometime you may have to wait at reception to be attended

    The breakfast was cooked to order and of very high quality

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only was 10 mins late in room some 1 rang to room wasn't very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms very clean and comfortable. staff very friendly and helpful. lounges great to relax in have a drink and enjoy the sea views.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: