Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fitzwilliam Townhouse 3 stars

41 Upper Fitzwilliam Street, DO2 PW71 Dublin, Ireland

#54 of 93 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 663 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s in a good location, plenty of bars and good restaurants just around the corner......we didn’t find them straight away, but if you turn right out of hotel, then immediately left and walk that way, they are 5 mins away. A lot less busy than Temple Bar, and prices reflect that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything is a little small and tight. Next to our window was a big and very loud construction area were people was working during the whole night! We had no good sleep therefor

    Breakfast room is very stylish

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is a Georgian townhouse, so the rooms are on the small side. That I expected, but I hoped the bathrooms might be a little more recently renovated. The bathroom was functional and clean, but a little out-of-date, and the door stuck a bit on the tile floor when opening and closing.

    Friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfasts, and well-maintained building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, lovely helpful staff and good value for money. Right beside bus stops for Dublin bus and within walking distance of the centre and st Stephens green. Old fashioned but still lovely and comfortable, Only stayed for one night with friends as we were going to a concert but it was perfect for what we needed it for

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit too small room for three people. Tiny bathroom

    Location excellent, service and staff very helpful, nice historic building, top floor was very quiet, albeit very warm. Breakfast was very nice, especially the pancakes which you have to order separately.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too little restaurant, the group of three or four people (that want to sit together) could be a problem

    excellent staff, cosy accomodation, only 15 minutes walking from the centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Three flights of stairs and another to the breakfast room.

    Location was perfect and cost was reasonable. A bit noisy at night closed window and most of noise was muted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a vegetarian full Irish breakfast although the pancake was fantastic

    Staff were very friendly we were able to check in a bit early and had breakfast too. Lovely hotel and the location wad brilliant couldn't of asked for better

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the quirkiness of the hotel and was interested in the history of the building. You do have to be fit though to climb the stairs to the top floor, however the lovely Reception does help with your bags!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom ceiling was very low

    Booked a single room and to my surprice got a room with 2 single beds and a double bed, it was great really high ceilings and space was great. Delicious breakfast too, I had the pancakes with scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were visiting Dublin as a family (2 adults + 2 children aged 9 and 8) and found this to be great value for money accommodation in a superb location. We had a family room right at the top of the house, which is lovely traditional Georgian building. They have pictures throughout explaining the history of the Georgian townhouses which make up most of this neighbourhood, which is a nice touch. The room had 1 double and 2 single beds, and a bathroom with shower. The room was quite small, but fine for us as we were only sleeping in it and out exploring the rest of the day. The room was comfortable with TV, spacious bathroom, tea and coffee facilities and nice toiletries and plenty of towels. I would recommend taking the hotel's parking deal with a local multi-story (about 10 mins walk away) as at about 17 Euros for 24 hours this works out a lot cheaper than feeding the parking metres outside (which has to be done every 3 hours, though parking is free outside at weekends). Breakfast is available for 10 Euros extra per person, which compares well price wise to buying it elsewhere - we didn't take the breakfast option, but the choice looked good and there was a nice breakfast area. The staff were really helpful when we arrived and left, allowing us to store baggage. The only small downside is there is no lounge to sit in, it is just the bedrooms and breakfast room. But overall I thought this accommodation was excellent value for money, especially given the location which is walking distance from the centre and lots of bars and cafes nearby - also a lovely playground in nearby Merrion Square which my kids loved as a break from sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping entered my room at 10.20 while I was getting dressed without any prior knock. Check out was at 11am and at 10.45 I received two calls off reception to ensure I was out of the room. Upon checking out I was not asked about my stay nor did I receive an apology regarding housekeeping entering my room.

    Excellent location. Cleanliness of room excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The history, architecture and the very comftarble beds! The staff was very friendly and in 10 minutes you will be at busy Grafton Street and Stephens green :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small for 4. Windows were not double glaze so noise of traffic was loud and room was too hot so we had to open the window would made it noisier. But did the job for us. No lift 3 flights of stairs.

    Liked the old type building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. staff were very helpful and nice. Location was excellent for city break. My teenage children delighted with WIFI

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff making calls while we are standing in front of him to get the key to our room

    Everything apart from staff left us unattended to for sometime making calls

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like most European hotels, not all the amenities are what we might be used to. Our room on the third level (that's 51 steps :) was incredibly hot. Better after the second day after having turned the radiator completely off. In three hotels in Ireland we found that the beds do not have sheets, making it hard to cover without the heat of the duvet. The bath products were plentiful but not particularly good, and didn't include lotion or conditioner, only bath gel and shampoo/body wash (same?).

    The one staff person we spoke to ( I think Albilene) was very friendly and helpful, welcoming us, telling us how to reach staff and recommending a decent restaurant. The building is gorgeous, charming and nicely kept. The family room worked well for us. In-room coffee and tea were good. Everything we wanted was within walking distance and the bus stops were nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt realize there was no elevator in the facility. We had no problem getting our luggage downstairs but for some Travelers that may be difficult. The single pane window did not keep the sound of traffic down very well.

    The authentic architecture and decor was very nice. The staff was very nice and accommodating. We were able to bring our luggage by before time to check in. The staff took our luggage upstairs and placed in the room for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was many flights of stairs i was on the top floor asked for assistance with case but none available. The radiator in the room made noise all night long. The bathroom was very cramped.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A workman started to hammer and bang in a room above me in the hotel just after 8am. This was much earlier than I intended to wake up on a precious day off work. When I was waiting to check out at 11am the workman came down the stairs with his tool bag and told the receptionist he was finished for the day - I was pretty irritated. Could he not have started at 11 when people check out and finished at 1?!? Not what you want when you are hoping for a peaceful stay at a hotel.

    Location was good. Room clean and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff, while pleasant, wasn't a good source of sightseeing suggestions and only mildly helpful.

    Room was clean and location was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some may not like the fact that there is no lift/elevator. This is due to fact that this is a historic building that can not be altered.

    Dublin was closed down due to snow storm. Public transport was not operating and Taxi would not drive me to the airport. Staff member drove me in his personal car to the airport so I could make my flight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent and extremely friendly. The room was standard but that’s all I wanted and more importantly it was extremely clean. Also the rate was very good value for its location in Dublin. Overall a very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast! Staff is really really nice and helpful. Room is comfortable, it was really cold outside and I was worried I'd be cold, but the heating worked wonders. 10 min walk from downtown, but in a quiet area, so the location was perfect! Overall a very good place to stay and with a more than reasonable price!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two main reasons I hesitate to give this a 10/10 for the money. 1. Had to carry my suitcase up 6 flights of steps as there is no elevator and 2. Heat shut off at 1am and restarted at 7am; was freezing the entire night as I was there in winter.

    Staff was super nice and friendly. Location is great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little hot in the room and the heater was tricky to control.

    The location is perfect. We were in Dublin to see a rugby game and it was about 20 minutes walk from the city centre and the stadium. It is easy to get there from the airport. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. I highly recommend this place! We did not try the breakfast so no opinion on that.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly noisy street, some wear to building fabric (but it is listed and they are not allowed to make substantial changes).

    Location, historic building with all original features, room comfort and furnishings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really comfortable, and the temperature of the room was perfect, not too cold, not too hot. Very peaceful, ideal for a good night's sleep. I loved the Georgian features of the building, and liked the information about the history of the building that was scattered throughout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds could have been a little more comfortable. Price was a little high, but probably is the norm in Dublin.

    We liked the location and the staff was very helpful and friendly. They let us store our luggage when we arrived very early. They also made sure of which terminal we needed to be at the airport when picking up a rental car and arranged a cab for us as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. I had no problem with interior stairs but as there is no lift this might be a problem for some people.

    The room was spacious. It was quiet despite being so close to a busy street. Bed very comfy and toiletries were supplied. Breakfast very good selection. Staff really very nice. I would stay there again. Good location. Good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The radiator in the room didn't turn off, and they were unable to fix it. The windows looked right out on the street and the room was literally 3 feet from reception/the front door so we could hear everyone coming and going. The bed and pillows weren't very comfortable (hard) and the bathroom was tiny. The keys are original skeleton keys so that was an adventure to use...plus not very secure. We stayed over a holiday so of course it was pricier but I don't think it was worth the cost.

    Cute room with preserved details from the original townhouse. The location was alright, about 20 min walk from the sites. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, poor mattresses. 4th floor with no lift. Bathroom the size of a closet.

    Very convenient location, can walk to museums, Temple bar, Grafton Street, and Stevens green. Great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far to hot and beside the road, consequently although the bed was very comfortable the noise from the road and the heat disturbed my sleep.

    Good location , comfortable bed, nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was far too warm;we couldn't open the window so was way too stuffy. The shower was so poor, really bad water pressure. Also requested toothpaste as we had forgotten ours & they had nothing to give us.

    Staff were really lovely, especially receptionist who checked us in, also also helped out with breakfast service the following morning,she was so friendly & helpful with a warm smile. Location was very central.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy. We could hear everybody in the other rooms on our floor & lots of noise from the busy road outside.

    Value for money & clean. Got bottled water in the room which is a nice touch. Perfect for a quick overnight stay with friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is small, ok for 1 person, but for 2 it could be small.

    Location is perfect for transfer from and to the airport, as well as for sightseeing, even at night. Breakfast is really very good! The bed is big and cosy, so sleep well. View from the window to the city street was also nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    (A number of deficiencies were highlighted to the hotel on their questionnaire so am not repeating here . Just to say they would be easy to resolve with an independent reviuew of the customer experience )

    A pleasant stay and friendly staff - Recommended - was about 15 minute walk into main shopping area of Grafton Street and O'Connell street - Due to nature of house no lift was installed so be warned if you have a mobility issue

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator; therefore took a ground floor room. Noise from traffic, but bearable.

    Good location, very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and staff on premise all night - secure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing was that the noise from outside traffic was a bit loud.

    The breakfast was excellent - great choice and the cooked choices were good. The hotel is very close to walk to all amenities in the centre and also some nice streets locally to walk around and see.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing amenities like a hotel safe, room was on first floor which was convenient but also prone to street noise.

    Good walking distance from popular sites like Trinity College and Grafton Street. Yummy selection for breakfast. Comfortable bed. Some highly rated restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because it's old the window was single glass which was a bit fresh if you were sitting at the desk. And we had the room right next to the reception which could get a bit noisy if you wanted to sleep in in the morning.

    The style of the hotel is great, it's a nice old building. The location is perfect, just a few minutes walking from the center but not too noisy. The staff was very friendly (like everyone in Dublin).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for showers. Not dealt with by management during our stay.

    Bed comfy. Room too hot and could not have window open at night due to traffic noise from the road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has no lift for disabled or infirm guests but these are Georgian townhouses that do not lend themselves to such a facility.

    Ideal location for the principal museums and sites. Friendly helpful staff. Located in the historic and attractive Georgian townhouse area in which Oscar Wilde lived.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 floors up. Noisy people above, complained every day and they said either there wads no-one in the room, they were leaving, then the last night they put someone in at midnight. Quite a way to walk to Temple bar area 2.8k, ok if you are young and fit or it's not raining. Plenty of taxis that charge various prices for same trip. We found a €5 difference in trip to and from airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold, draft coming from old window and as the room faced the street I could hear all the traffic.

    The breakfast was amazing and the staff were really friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we were assigned, the shower wasn't hot enough. Thankfully they were able to change our room for the remaining nights.

    Rooms were clean, location was decent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I though it was very over priced for room only the mattress needs replacing and the shower was poor in a few ways

    Lovely period house.staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a really good value for money. Staff was super approachable and ready to help. We loved the breakfast, there was an excellent choice. You can either help yourself from the continental breakfast or otherwise order warm food from the kitchen staff. Our rooms were pleasantly spacious and were always found them clean and tidy. We were on the top floor and it was really quiet. One has to keep in mind though that there is no elevator so if you have heavy luggage, that would be quite a workout to go up all the stairs. We didn't mind since we had small luggage and it was easy. I would definitely stay at the Fitzwilliam Townhouse next time I visit Dublin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room virtually on top of traffic lights would not have booked had I known this...I asked for a another room but the hotel is on a corner of two main roads and a lot of rooms are therefore on busy road take ear plugs

    Nice staff at breakfast very helpfull

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable and the noise from the streets kept us awake most of the night ,

    The location was perfect as I had an appointment close to the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, we lived on 2nd floor, so not really a problem. Quite small rooms, small beds. Price quite steep for what you get.

    Good location, walking distance to city center. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Decent breakfast buffet. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!!!

    Beautiful townhouse in Dublin, very convenient to main attractions. Room was very nice, with window looking down from the top of building to quiet street below. Room was extremely nice, with plenty of room and very clean with comfortable bedding. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi on the top floor we were not proposed re-allocation albeit the trip was for business purposes and wifi was needed poor breakfast choice in the continental formula

    location helpful and polite staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we arrived, 3 travelers in their 50's 70's and 80's tired from the trip to find there was no elevator and we were on the fifth floor. now valets. two young girls were kind enough to struggle up the stairs with our huge suitcases. for the 2 days of the stay we left in the morning and could not return til after dinner. there is no way i booked this knowing there was no elevator/ quite horrible. but the staff did everything they could. show me where it said there was not elevator. carol monica

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to carry luggage up to the 3rd floor because there is no elevator! There is also no A/C. Our third floor room was hot and stuffy. The large window opened only about 5 inches and there was no cross ventilation. The cool outside air never made it into the room. The furnishings and rug were worn and the bathroom left much to be desired. The mattress was very hard. All in all we were very disappointed given the rather high nightly rate we paid for our 2 nights there. The staff was courteous and friendly however. I'd would not recommend this hotel.

    Location was great. Very close to St Stephen's Green.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking on site

    Excellent location, with lovely friendly staff. The rooms are quite small but are very clean. They have really nice decor which have been refurbished with very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite nosy, both from traffic and from other rooms. Expensive considering what you get.

    Nice staff, good location. Walking distance to many restaurants and the city center. Easy to get to from the airport. Old, but charmy rooms. Good continental breakfast with yoghurt, cereals, toast with cheese and ham, some cakes and fruits. As well as coffee of course!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproof the windows somehow as the noise from the street traffic was loud from about 6.30 am till almost midnight.

    Staff helpful and courteous. Breakfast buffet good. Good information literature available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms does not look anything like the pictures... noise from tragic outside was awlfal... I could hear next doors tv... bed was ok but had 2 single bed pushed together..

    To be very honest there was a lot 2 like

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Stairs to the room, no lift. Not a problem for me but keep it in mind if you have health problems.

    Great breakfast, excellent position very close to Istituto Italiano Cultura & also downtown. Clean & quiet. staff very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking situation was deplorable, none to be had. When I was home and checked my credit card charges, the Fitzwilliam Townhouse charged me over $100.00 more than the price that was quoted to me at the time of reservation. They claimed the increase was due to change in the currency rate, however the confirmation sheet does not indicate anywhere on it that this may happen. Beware!

    If you have a car, keep looking for other accommodations. There is NO parking to be had!! The room was clean but on the third floor and there is no elevator or offer of assistance. As a senior citizen, it was not an easy task hauling luggage up three flights of stairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom - Could not get hot water in the shower, lukewarm to cool only. Lack of space to put toiletries. Mattress was not as firm as I would have liked. Room small but OK.

    Great location. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was generous and servers were delightful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay, staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent and kept us going til lunchtime. We found the location great, although we walked to the Guinness store room which took around 30 mins but when we came out we jumped on a tour bus the ticket of which lasted due another 24 hours. Our room looked out on the side but as we weren't there all day it did not matter. As we had a late flight the staff took care of our suitcases so we could explore more of the city on our last day . Would recommend a visit to VCC (vintage cocktail club) and also cafe en seine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was OK,-ish, could have been better. I booked well in advance and got a reasonable price, but since Dublin is extremely expensive, it appears that I got a bargain :)

    Excellent location, kind staff. Basic accommodation for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very good and the staff incredibly helpful! There was a fan in the room already, and they offered a top sheet in case the duvet was to warm on arrival. Clearly they were aware that the rooms could get a bit hot and did everything to help with that. Very good stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary biscuits with the tea and coffee???

    Our room was perfect as my husband is disabled, we were given the first room in the house nearest the door so he didn't have to walk far.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the room was clean it was a little cramped with two double beds and a single bed, the shower in the bathroom was also rather unpredictable as the water temperature was difficult to control.

    The hotel had character and the staff were friendly and helpful. For our purposes the location was ideal as it was within walking distance of the city centre and the key attractions which were the aim of the visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been better - pay to park by the hour on the street, but the staff helped us find a free lot at a nearby hotel.

    Great, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Clean, safe and comfortable. Everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift - we were at the top floor. Room was a little too hot even with window open.

    Little details - free bottles of water in room, chocolate mints that said thank you on them, body wash and shampoo freebies. Location was good - everything was accessible - Spars near by, lots of food places. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fourth floor is tough if you are from flat Texas and out of shape, lol. But that was just luck of the draw. Its further from the town center than many of the places, but as long as you are comfortable walking, its not a problem. Many, many places within a quick short walk for food, groceries, toiletries, etc. Use your phone GPS if its your first time. Why waste time and frustration being lost? It took us till the second day to figure that out.

    It was a lovely bed and breakfast. Quite charming and well appointed. Very secure as well. We were on the fourth floor, but the staff carried up my bags which was very appreciated. The staff went out of their way to make some wonderful recommendations of how to get around and tours to do. We were very jet lagged and needed guidance. The room was lovely, and big enough for us to get around. The beds were very comfortable, as well as the linens. They also got us in a room way before checkin time - i was planning just to leave our bags with them. Be sure and tell the cabbie that its the Fitzwilliam Townhouse, not the Fitzwilliam. He charged us extra after we clarified the difference halfway through the drive. We didn't eat the breakfast - so I can't speak to that - choosing instead to walk around the corner to a bagel and coffee shop to get an quicker start. Take the Mary Gibbons tour to Newgrange! Its fantastic! I wish we had had another day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the top floor and had to carry luggage to the top. An elevator would have been nice.

    The pancakes for breakfast were good. The location was just excellent. All hop-on hop-off tour buses could be caught from a few meters away. It was bang in the center of the city, but wasnt too noisy because of that (which was important since I was traveling with family and my infant son)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had scheduled a long and important SKYPE call and the hotel broadband could not support this. It was a terrible inconvenience. I was offered money off..., but my point of chosing this hotel is due to the Wi-Fi.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating. They allowed me to delay my checkout due to problems with their wi-fi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really everything was fine. Not much you can do about stairs!

    The property is an old Georgian House located on the South side of Dublin. It is well located and within walking distance of a lot of interesting places like the National Gallery and the Grafton Street shopping District and Stephen's Green Park. Guest House would be a more accurate description of the site rather than Hotel. Our room was four floors up (no elevator) so one would have to be physically able to manage this with suitcases, although the Receptionist kindly helped me carry my large suitcase up. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was great. They had a large selection and even offered cooked breakfast as well, very delicious. The room itself was very nice as well, with a comfortable bed and well-maintained facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs to our room. No cream for coffee and limited fruit for breakfast.

    Nice eating area. Having tea/coffee in room. Comfy bed. Cute bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: