Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gabriel House Guesthouse 4 stars

Summerhill North, St. Lukes, T23 X963 Cork, Ireland

#9 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in Cork

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1699 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one at check-in desk when we arrived. Waiting 10 minutes. This is the only negative about our stay.

    Very comfortable & clean. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was intermittent. While fine for checking emails, for any more heavy duty stuff, another wifi source should be found. Luckily there is a place called webworkhouse with great internet 15 minutes walk away.

    The bed was super comfy - so cosy in the mornings I didn't want to wake up! And the breakfast is well worth the money, being high quality and offering a wide variety of foods, from home-baked cake to cooked breakfast to yoghurt and summer fruits.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is conveniently located on a steep hill which is very close to the rail station and Cork City Center BUT I advise travelers to be prepared to take a bus or taxi if you have luggage - the steps down to the train were a source of great trouble for my 70 yo dad and 53 yo me - our backs just weren’t meant for the climb to or from. If we were better prepared, Eviston House would get a 10!

    Kathleen and team did an outstanding job of making us feel that their Inn was our home. From the greeting and help with bags (and a gorgeous room with great shower, beautiful views and comfort in abundance) to the late evening beverages and delicious fresh homemade breakfast, this place tops the charts!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little warm - but got a great workout to the top floor.

    Our hosts were wonderful - even packed a little surprise for our trip north. By far - the best breakfast in Ireland!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room layout not so great with two steps to the bath and the windows on the ground floor could not be opened for security reasons. No place to do any exercising. The parking lot slant was dangerous and difficult to manage with a large suitcase. No seniors should have to deal with this.

    Wonderful staff and the breakfast though we paid extra for it was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Cannot fault the staff or the accommodation.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfasts were superb! Excellent location, particularly if like me one is planning to use public transport, being just a few hundred yards from both the main rail and bus stations. Very comfortable room. Cannot fault anything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a little on the older side. Can hear quite a bit of noise through the upstairs floorboards. However, rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Nice location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was a perfect for us as a family

    Friendly and helpful staff very accommodating of our 3 yr old grandson who loved collecting the chicken and ducks eggs each morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints

    The room was quiet, very clean & comfortable. The staff are always cheerful & ever helpful - all of them. Access by public transport (bus) is easy, regular & safe. The WiFi gets a bit crowded at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gabriel House was fantastic! Loved the house, room, breakfast, and location. But the best part was the people: Kathleen, Julie, and Geraldine were so kind, friendly, and fun, and my friend and I wished we had at least another night there. If I go back to Cork, I know exactly where I’m staying :).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only suggestion is that the little garden swing had cushions and could use a little tlc as it is in a nice location for a evening glass of wine.

    The staff was wonderful,very helpful and friendly. The breakfast. was excellent Just a short walk up the hill from the bus station with our backpacks. Very clean !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed my stay at st Gabriel's. Breakfast was lovely and great selection. Place was spotless. Staff helpful and kind. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    This was a very nice property on the hill above the city center. Park your car and walk everywhere! The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was tasty, and Valerie was a very attentive host. We definitely plan to return on our next visit to Ireland!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was amazing! The location was great with a quick easy walk to town. The room was so clean and the staff were great! We were greeted warmly and given directions to the best local pubs, where to find live music and given a map to located things in the city easily. The parking was easy and there were more than enough spaces for all guests. Breakfast was great and on check out we were given more inside information on great places to visit at out next destination! Really lovely stay at Gabriel House

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked through Holiday Lettings our reservation listed; lunch not included, dinner not included, breakfast 10 euros, we were surprised when we checked out that breakfast hadn't been included. As far as we were concerned it was listed and therefore was included in the total reservation price given by HL, - but not so, at check out we were asked to pay for breakfasts, so be aware of this when booking as at best it's ambiguous.

    Friendly helpful book in, chilled water on tap in reception was welcome, nice outside patio, tasty breakfast with choice of cereals, full cooked, meats and cheese, juices etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms, no bathtubs, no refrigerator in room, off and on BAD internet, noisy room under the breakfast cafe. WAY too expensive for the value. Couldn't wait to check out.

    Pros: location, cleanliness, outdoor space in back and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be aware if you are travelling by foot that it is at the top of s steep hill but it is a nice walk into town.

    A warm hospitality welcomed us to Gabriel House. Nothing was too much trouble. The property is in a great location to the city centre and is good walking distance to attractions, restaurants ( discount available to many local eateries when staying here) and railway station. The property appears well maintained and our room was perfect for what we needed. Large car park available for guests

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but considering that its only for sleeping it is fine

    The location is excellent, short walk to the town centre. Secure parking is an advantage. The lady at the reception ask me if I like to take a coffee or anything on my way out. Thought that was very kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hard to find, but that is Cork’s fault due to lack of street signs!

    Clean, comfortable, walking distance to Cork City, great breakfast selection, and staff very helpful in giving directions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely place & very luxurious for me. What a treat! I booked it accidently by not realising the euro to NZ$ exchange rate, so it was several steps above what I would usually book. 😀 But I loved it & would recommend it for service, comfort & the lovely breakfast. There was a little walk up the hill from town, and I enjoyed walking up & down the steep streets & steps nearby. It is very flat back home so it was very nice to have the chance to climb hills. The view from my window was of the railway station, the river, and beyond to the hills. I watched the rowing boats on the river & felt like I could see the whole world from there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff recommended 2 good restaurants that corresponded to our request. Bedrooms are spacious and the common areas are very well kept. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike in this lovely B&B

    Very welcoming very clean and had parking. Also a large bed a lovely change from the usual double beds. The staff recommended several eating places and we had a great evening of Irish music and meal.... all discounted. Good location for walking into the township. We also used their generous free international calls to make contact with family....very special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views from our back room over the City were spectacular. It is a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. It was easy to get back either by bus or taxi. The breakfast selection was really good and the Irish Breakfast top notch. The staff was friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a really nice time in Cork and this guesthouse. The hotel is within walking distance from the city center, the room was small but convenient and clean. Free parking in front of the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was really amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to floor 3 room. Location a 15 minute wall to the city. Bathroom so small could not completely open its door. Cork is an industrial city and was not an appealing to us as tourists.

    Excellent staff, good breakfast. Parking available. Free local and international phobe calls from our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    The staff were incredibly nice. The room was all we could ask for. And the smartphone in the room for us to use, carry around, and even make international calls free was an amazing bonus. Stay here if you're going to Cork!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the rooms is rather small as is the choice at breakfast.

    A good hotel near the centre of Cork. We had an enjoyable stay there. The parking and the location are nice. Very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff, rooms, brekkie, and shower. Valerie and others were informative and kind and the bed was fantastic - also excellent water pressure in the shower (which is a big one for me as I love it). It is only a 5 minute walk from the train station and 10 minutes into the heart of everything. Great value!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note: if you’re arriving on motorbikes, it’s a really steep drive and pick your parking spot careful. Should be no trouble if you can ride a bike proper, mind you. Not a negative. A caution. Great place. Thank you.

    Easy walk. Easy receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of had a few more choices of cereal .

    The staff were great and room was very comfortable, and location to city centre was under 10 mins walk to a great night out in many of the city pubs and bars .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had more of a hotel feel than a bed and breakfast, which had us missing the "Ireland feel".

    The staff was very friendly, and had their son carry our luggage in for us. It is within walking distance to the city center of Cork. They give great recommendations for food nearby. Our room was large with a decent sized bathroom. Great black out curtains for decent night's sleep. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really. Super close to train station. Bit of an uphill walk, so this is something to be aware of if walking uphill or up stairs is a difficulty. Not the prettiest neighborhood, but also that's probably what contributes to affordable price.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was PERFECT!

    Very lovely B&B! The staff was wonderful :-) Thanks to Kathleen and her team. If you will staying their, get to Cobh and ask Kathleen what you need to see their ;-) She will tell you good stories. At Gabriel House I had the best breakfast in whole Ireland. Homemade pie (DELICIOUS), fresh fruit and more. The rooms are big, clean and the beds are comfortable. It was a pleasure to stay their. Thanks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in the middle of hill. Though it looks quite close to Kent station, you may need to walk up some high stairs to reach to this hotel. (But still very close! (5mins walk)

    Very comfortable bed and quite place. Employees were very kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they served food in the evening.

    Location,staff very friendly and the food was excellent, will definitely stay there again when I visit CorkCity. First time staying in a b&b was pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit far from the centre (across the river), and the parking was quite full, it was like a jigsaw puzzle! Steep driveway to the parking, and narrow - OK for my car, but if you have a big car or uncomfortable driving up/down very steep and narrow way, take note!

    Comfortable bed, great breakfast made-to-order, cozy guest house overall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill down into the car park was a wee bit scary!

    Staff were so lovely and the room was so clean and the beds super comfy! The location couldn’t have been better!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only down side was the steep street that it was on, but is was easy to find a bus or a taxi.

    Lovely room, great breakfast and nice staff. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really warm (although my trip was during a freak heatwave), would have been nice to have more channels on the tv or apps to access; like Netflix.

    Really comfy bed, good shower, quick and easy check in/out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only drawback for oldies like us was the slope to the front door.

    The view of the garden and over the station was a great way to start the day; very peaceful. The warmth and friendliness of the staff was exceptional: Caroline, Liam, Kathleen and Valerie especially.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very compact, didn’t matter much on this occasion as we didn’t intend spending much time there but for the price was tiny and the bed was a very compact double-my husband is 6’3” and it barely fit us both

    Breakfast was lovely; staff were very friendly and the general areas were decorated nicely; location is excellent and good car parking is available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi on the first floor were we were staying wasn't great it wouldnt stay connected even when you put in the password a few times

    I found the staff very helpful and most accomdating at all times throughout our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift and one of our rooms was on 2nd floor (2 flights per floor and so a lot of steps). As we are not young, this was difficult. I feel guests need this information.

    Staff welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV screen could be a bit bigger.

    Nice room with a very comfortable bed in an excellent location. Views over Cork city were a bonus. Caroline at Reception was a star and couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was right next to reception, as in bed was 5 steps from the desk, so can be noisy as the bedroom door is old and you can hear everything. Thankfully there was no noise later at night

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Walking distance to city centre. Very reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We specifically booked a room with city view but given room 16 at back of the hotel. It was dungeon like with 2 tiny narrow windows high in the wall, almost ceiling hight so you coul not see out onto the carpark or even open them, it was also very dark hot and stuffy. They did give us another room but felt they were not happy about it. The receptionist said the rooms in front were for long stay customers even though we paid front room with view rates. She was rather curt even though I was very polite. The advertising is very misleading and I think if I had not explained my claustrophobia problem with confined dark rooms she would not have moved us. The new room was fine but brilliant security lights were shining up into our room for most of the night. You could not shut the curtains as the room was so hot and stuffy.

    Comfy bed, clean room, good breakfast, friendly staff,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was so touched my how welcoming And helpful the staff were Especially Kathleen and Valerie. Even when juggling so much and trying to get their brains around a new computer system. Well done and thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room at the top level only had small wondows in the sloping roof. The bathroom was tiny. Had to step out to dry myself.

    Good location. Had great exercise after dinner walking back up the hill from the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was right next to reception and we could hear everything happening at the front desk so I had to sleep with earplugs. The wifi was very spotty and only worked occasionally. Sadly we were overcharged due to a new system error on the hotel's side which i was sympathetic to but it took a few follow-up emails and calls to get my refund processed and my 10% genius discount wasn't accounted for in the refund. They did however give us a complimentary breakfast on the day so it all evened out in the end.

    The room was beautiful and had lovely views of the garden. The beds were comfortable and the room spacious. The decor is opulent and feels luxurious. The bathroom is spacious, good shower and lighting options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many steps to carry up our heavy luggage. Everything else was perfect. Great breakfast.

    Close to the city to walk. Really steep hill. Close to the airport. Very accommodating. Gave us a packed lunch for our tour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very friendly and accommodating proprietor; room very clean and airy; very quiet at night; extremely good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly. Room was stunning I was overlooking the city and room was spotless. Tried to book another there but booked out. Excellent value for money. Siobhan

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gabriel House is in a great position to access the centre of Cork (on a hill so might not be suitable to those for whom ease of access is important). Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, parking on site and a great selection for breakfast. Will definitely stay again when visiting Cork.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building was lovely and had been decorated very tastefully. The furniture and soft furnishings in the bedroom were to a high quality. The landlady was lovely. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small, no wash cloths and parking and location were tricky. Carting our own luggage up 3 flights of stairs was hard too.

    The room was ok, it was cute that it being Easter, they left chocolate eggs on our pillows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to drag my wife’s 100 lb suitcase up multiple flights of stairs. The bathroom was a bit small as was the room.

    The people were so nice. They made you feel at home. The food was very tasty and the location offered easy walking access the the city center and lots of local pubs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The peaceful tranquil of the hotel great friendly staff fabulous decoration of the old and new world case on a hill over looking cork, cork harbour and dock lands very relaxing place to stay nicely priced a must 10 of 10 well done

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Working with property manager Kathleen was amazing. She was so much fun and completely made our trip. The property was very nice and was a great location for everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only two things: my room was cold, at night I noticed the heating was on, but then after a while it was off. I went to the reception and I was told it would be on and off and they couldn't change it, only raise the temperature. I went to sleep later still feeling cold. Wifi from the room I was in didn't work properly, not enough signal.

    Excelent breakfast, confortable bed, nice shower. The place is really lovely, my room was quiet as I requested, perfect for what I needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went there for my sisters hen in Feb. It was a lovely guesthouse. Rooms were spotless. Breakfast was delicious. Staff were helpful and polite. Felt a little bit like we were on a school tour though!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really excellent, made to order. The staff was absolutely wonderful. The receptionist was delightful and so kind. We got in late and had hungry kids she let us use the dining room to eat dinner. We had a fabulous experience. The rooms were simple and clean and a great value I would recommend this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini Irish breakfast I got one sausage on day one (menu says 2) 2 sausages in day 2 and one sausage on day 3??

    This is a beautiful b&b extremely good value for money perfect spot views are amazing!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We drive a large van. Getting it in and out of the carpark was nerve racking. A very steep hill around a sharp turn. This wasn't evident from any pictures that I checked in advance. A car would be ok.

    Everything about the actual building, and our stay, was excellent. Very clean, friendly staff, good value and great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a very heavy bag because of work items and the stairs were a bit much for me. Not a problem, just did not realize this when making the reservation. I will still go back.

    Kathy was great. Check-in was so easy and lady there was very friendly. When we asked for dinner recommendations, they had a nice list and we picked one that they felt was among the best...it was FANTASTIC. They told us we would get a 10% discount, but the waiter provided a 15% discount! Kathy was very surprised, but pleased for us. Breakfast the last day was the best we had in Ireland. Variety, well cooked, wonderful continental foods to go along and such friendly service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot think of anything.

    The Professional yet friendly attitude of all staff; the spacious room in a large detached house with extensive gardens and a magnificent view over the city; the range and quality of breakfast options. Kathleen, the Manager, going to great lengths to assist with a problem related to my car; the location is a 5 minute walk to McCurtain Street one way and a 200 mere walk the other way to a small nest of shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    Room was very spacious clean and warm. Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good and varied. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent! The room was perfect, with a very comfortable bed and a nice and clean bathroom. The staff was nice and friendly, we loved Kathleen! The breakfast was amazing. They also have a lovely garden with animals! The Hotel is in 10-15 minutes by walk to the city centre but near the hotel there are nice pubs as well! I would highly reccomend Gabriel House :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heat at the hotel from 8 am to 6pm. Impossible to be there during the day it was so cold. It was early Feb. when I was there and the weather was very cold and rainy.

    Very helpful staff. Breakfast was amazing. Rooms were very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had booked a single room but was put in a four-bed bedroom (two singles, one double) which made the rest of the room very tight, and there was really nowhere to sit. In order to open the window you had to climb on top of one of the beds

    Nice building, excellent parking facilities, and it was quite easy to walk to town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The property was gorgeous. Just be careful in the steep parking lot. I thought the part where you put your key in the slot for electricity was a great idea, I always knew where it was that way too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! Everyone was beyond amazing, they really made you feel welcome. Karen the manager and valerie...her 2nd in command (?) Are two of the best ladies youll ever encounter!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my weekend coincide with a hen party, no sleep the first night after 03.00 hours in morning and just had a 1000 mile flight and up for 18 hours just wanted to sleep

    Good locaion for my needs, good chouce for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like 3 TV channels! The Netflix button didn’t work! Although, I did learn a bit about Irish politics, so that was great!

    The sausages, velvety soft. The carrotcake muffins, mmMmmm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, for the money it’s more than worth it.

    A hidden gem of a guest house! For the price it delivers over and above. Spotlessly clean rooms, comfortable beds, a fantastic lady on reception who goes above and beyond, and a central location minutes from city centre. Highly recommended. The lady who Checked me in offered help on the city if needed, allowed me leave my car the following day and even offered a bathroom if needed when I came back for the car that evening. Credit where it’s due, a fantastic guest house. Lovely views over the city from higher rooms too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light over the vanity mirror was broken and the pillows were quite hard .

    On arrival.we were met at reception by a lovely lady .we were a little early but our room was ready.it was nice and clean .breakfast was delicious and there many choices.when in cork again.we will stay here .

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: