Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garnish House 3 stars

Western Road, Cork, Ireland

#8 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in Cork

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1174 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Exceptionally nice guest house in Cork
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was perfect.

    A warm welcome accompanied with tea, bread and butter, scones and cake - just great after a long trip! We stayed in the newer part of the building and the facilities were excellent in our room - even a table and chairs and fridge. It was nice to have the option as to whether to have breakfast or not. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    When we were checking out we had to pay for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were checking out we had to pay for breakfast. This isn’t a huge problem, but they don’t indicate anywhere that it’s not included. We would have liked to have known so we could have chosen a quicker cheaper option. It left a sour taste in my mouth that they sprung it on us as we were leaving.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The whole stay was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was good!

    The whole stay was perfect! We were greeted with tea and scones on arrival- yum! Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Not to mention, the location was an easy walk to Cork’s main sights. Lovely BnB!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are small but they have everything you need.

    Great location. Staff was very nice. They also provide laundry services. Breakfast portions were huge, depending what you order. Definitely walked away full every morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite small as were the bed and bath. My husband is 6’3” and could barely turn around in the shower. I would definitely stay here again, but ask for a larger room.

    The food and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Very clean & comfortable room/bed, easy walkable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are very small

    Very clean & comfortable room/bed, easy walkable access to Cork City! We only stayed one night and slept in too late to enjoy their provided breakfast but overall it was a pleasant stay with no issues!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Would recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that breakfast was not included in the price that was paid

    Location is good. Owner welcomes you with an afternoon tea and scones. It is an easy walk to the pubs, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room, great staff, excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window glass is too thin (no sound / termic isolation). Be careful with the plug adaptors that the staff gives you: unfortunately, many of them are not working any longer.

    Breakfast is excellent for a honest price (considering the price of a coffee in Ireland). The staff is extremely kind and helpful. The Wi-fi works very well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only problem was the angled roof above the bed which made sitting up a hazard for anyone tall.

    The property was it a great location, it was an easy walk straight into town. Our room was clean and well fitted out, including a fridge. The breakfast is fantastic and amazing value for money, you won't need to eat for the rest of the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Good old fashioned hospital
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    A beautiful house with spacious rooms. A lovely welcome with hot, freshly made scones and tea. Breakfast to die for. Hospitality +++

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast great with multiple options all included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nowhere to hang wet washing like socks/underwear. Bit pricey for B&B/Guesthouse compared with hotel

    Breakfast great with multiple options all included. Room good, bathroom small, location good - walking distance to centre and pubs/restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast in a B&B that needs some sprucing up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In comparison with the other B&B's I've stayed in so far, it's not as good a value: smaller, less modern rooms in an old building. The greeting was more mechanical than friendly and the furnishings are in need of replacement.

    The breakfast menu is among the best I've seen: great selection and very good quality. Parking is convenient and ample. Location is not far from restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Nice spot just outside the town core.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that stood out as something that I disliked.

    Staff is there 24 hours and are very helpful. It's a lovely building and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant and attentive, but could have done with a larger bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bed very small for 2.

    Excellent attention by staff (late arrival). Cleanliness of facility, rooms etc Location (close to University and city centre)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    We felt so appreciated being there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hosts were so gracious, friendly and informative. Marsel & Johanna especially...they tended to you with sincerity and a personal touch. The breakfast was just incredible!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    most enjoyable and will most definately return
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we could have stayed longer and enjoyed breakfast

    Due to my early appointment in the Bons Hospital, my daughter was allowed to stay parked at Garnish House until she collected me later from my appointment. She was then free to walk into the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garnish was flawless. The afternoon tea was a nice touch on arrival especially after a long journey. The choice of food was excellent. The staff were excellent. Leave it to the Owner she was Superior.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor wifi did make a big difference; also I was in a room in the second building (the right-hand entrance door) and couldn't access the left building with the key, which wasn't awful but a bit of a shame as I prefer that lounge area

    Very comfortable beds and bathroom lovely, plus having a fridge freezer in the room was brilliant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    The breakfast was great, the place was very clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    The staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful. Unfortunately, I had to use a medical facility during my stay and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. I would definitely stay there if I were to visit Cork again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Elegant hotel in a nice part of town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were SO helpful! Property is lovely, good sized room, immaculately clean. The breakfast was amazing, such incredible choice and perfectly cooked. Even the cab driver told me about the amazing breakfasts at Garnish House!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great staff, great food and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was extremely helpful and the service was excellent. The breakfast was terrific. We were looking for an authentic Irish guest house experience and received it here. They even served our favorite Irish tea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You'd think that the staff should not have to tell adults not to slam doors and yell when they come in at midnight, but it might be good to include something about how noise travels and the front door especially when you brief guests about their stay. If your room is over the front door, you can feel it slam.

    The breakfasts were phenomenal, and the entire staff were amazing! They are super-accommodating for the erratic schedules that trans-Atlantic travelers have, and they were so warm and welcoming. The breakfast and hospitality make this B&B easily worth staying at. The B&B and surrounding area feel very safe, and there are some lovely places to walk around nearby. There are some great restaurants within a short walking distance, and a cab to/from the train station is pretty cheap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and fantastic breakfast. Staff are lovely too. Just be aware of small double beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite hot and the double bed very small, so sleeping was not comfortable. Can't help the weather but it was a very narrow bed. (My husband is tall and slim and I'm petite)

    Great location for walking into town. Across the road from the university and near a park. Staff were lovely. The welcoming afternoon tea was very much appreciated after the drive from Dublin. Breakfast was amazing. So many choices!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and huge delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was very hot but it was 30 deg outside in the heatwave

    unbelievably delicious and huge breakfast. Free of charge they provided dairy free alternatives and baked special bread. Incredibly friendly staff, my 3 daughters had an amazing time on our girls trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had coffe and thè in my room but I forgot to ask for the kattle.

    Really nice custemer service. I was feeling at home. I will choose it again next time. Bed superconfortable. 10 minutes maximum wolking to the city center. Ilaria

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast choices supreme!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was able to return unbooked for a separate night the following weekend. No room available in main house, but on account of the breakfast was content to be in an annex 10 minutes walk up the road. Obviously not so convenient. but charge was reduced. And the grilled trout at breakfast was just as delicious!

    Breakfasts! Range & variety of dishes & ancillaries, all available from 7am, served by lively & interested staff, impossible to match elsewhere within my personal experience. My gluten free diet was instantly catered for. Having booked for one night, needed to decide afresh each day, and they were able to keep me in same room for 4 nights, rebooked each day. The substantial snack freshly prepared on one's arrival (teatime on my case) made for a happy start, too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation and very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was excellent and the breakfast was extensive . The scones and tea/coffee on arrival was a very nice touch. More places should offer this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    great situation with easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we did not have breakfast there as we do not eat much at that time of day but it did smell very good and others looked well pleased. Great situation opposite the main university site and only 10 minutes walk into the centre of town. But it is worth taking the longer way over the river and along the north side.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Arrival and the scone & tea - nice move.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and to class the bathroom as tiny would be generous. Wasn't as easy to find as I had hoped as the car's navi didn't understand one way.

    Arrival and the scone & tea - nice move.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Good for a B&B. Transcendental experience for breakfast-lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was close enough to the city center to walk. It was in a safe part of town. It was right across the street from a beautiful entrance to University College Cork. There was on-site parking. The breakfast was beyond awesome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay at a competitive price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been bigger.

    The room was compact but it was nicely designed. Although the bathroom was small the shower was good and it was all very clean. The staff were so friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a nice size but was a little tight with the couch in it. There were already two chairs and a table so plenty of seating.

    The staff were excellent. Sarah was very helpful answering our questions about Cork. Our room was clean and we had a nice view from the third floor. The bathroom was big and the room cozy. We had a couch, 2 chairs and a table. It would be more spaces if they took out the coach. Bathroom clean. Breakfast was the best and a surprise for us. I thought it would be a regular Irish breakfast but it was beyond that. They had several selections for breakfast plus a small cereal section with yogurt, fresh fruits and a break and cake section. The best breakfast I’ve ever had at a guesthouse or a 4 star hotel. When we arrived we had tea and scones, cakes and bread. What a treat! They also had free parking. Location was good to walk into town. Took us 15 min.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    This is a welcoming and comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that I can say that was negative.

    The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was great and the welcoming afternoon tea was such a nice touch. Fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Great place, but small room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the greatest location and the bathroom was so small. Looked like a converted closet. Room was also very small.

    Great that they had parking and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was amazing!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    The location was wonderful as well as the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was wonderful as well as the staff! We were greeted right away and then offered tea, coffee and sweets! My children loved it! The breakfast the next morning was wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    lovely staff, excellent breakfast, wonderful beds
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, we were very happy there, go on like this an keep the standard!

    we had a room with 3 beds, enough place to stay, yet not very spacious in general, sufficient for a short stay. The staff is extremly helpful and friendly, and - as I had a VC to attend - helped me to find a quiet place where I could do my work. The breakfast has been praised in nearly every comment - I have to say it is at least equal to Tara House and the fisher´s lodge - delicious. What was really a nice welcome for us: we were offered tea, scones and jam when we arrived, a very welcomed offering. Finally, for me very important: excellent matraces!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Stayed for the breakfast and free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was nice having a safe box but it was really difficult to get to in the bottom of a wardrobe where the wardrobe door could not be opened fully.

    The rooms are clean and perfectly OK but not too spacious. The best thing about Garnish is the legendary breakfast with so much choice on offer. It is not possible to leave the breakfast table without feeling totally full for the rest of the day. My favourite was the apple and cinnamon pancakes. Free parking and wifi was important to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment of arrival everyone could not be more helpful. Scones and hot drinks to welcome you was a treat! This is a well run, well kept accommodation - faultless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    Pay the €20/€30 extra and stay in one of the Other BnB's on Western Road. I wouldn't be recommeding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please be very weary of this place.! We booked Garnish House, expecting to stay in the location and Building that was advertised. Instead we ended up in a different Building to the one advertised. This wasn't a massive inconvenience; however the building we stayed in was old and dated. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly, there was what look like beard trimmings in the bath/shower unit. Check out was advertised as 11.30am. However, the cleaner decided to enter our room at 9.50am. It was also quite noisy; the walls are fairly paper thin and you could hear the people in the floor below us quite easily. I thought it was a joke that Breakfast was not included. It was €236 for 2 nights; to not include Breakfast for that price is ridiculous. I suspect it was the fact that we didn't pay the extra for Breakfast that they decided to put us in the other building

    Parking. Location. Ease of Access

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Will most definitely be back 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault Garnish House!

    Welcomed with complimentary scones, brownies, croissants, tea coffee the works. Perfect location. Staff are lovely. Rooms were comfy. No fault whatsoever. Will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic, warm and welcoming
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Totally my fault - I didn't understand the shower and ended up having a cold/hot/cold/hot experience, thanks to Matchek it was soon remedied.

    The owner Johanna is a wonderful woman, she made us feel so welcome. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we were given a tea of scones and home baked treats which after travelling was absolutely lovely. I'd also like to take the time to recommend the breakfast. We ate it once, on the last day when we were rushed to go to the airport and we regret not taking the time to appreciate it properly. If we were to stay again then I would be there at 7am and taking a nice slow time of it. It was delicious and definitely not to be rushed. The beds were so comfortable I actually asked what make they were. Next time we're in Cork we'll stop by again. Thank you for everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    The staff was more than very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 2 adults, the room, and especially the bed, was very small. The room had a window to a light well. The air exhaust of the kitchen also went into that light well and in the morning our room smelled like bacon and eggs.

    The staff was more than very friendly and helpfull. The welcome tea with scones, toast, jam and cake were a very nice surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall, for the value, the Garnish House is an excellent choice when staying in Cork.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just be mindful of the small bathroom if you are more than average height.

    The service mindedness and friendliness of the staff, the wonderful full Irish breakfasts, and the very convenient location with easy walking access to Cork Centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay for 1 night
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cold at the moment we arrived. Shower didn't work

    Nice place, friendly staff, fast wi-fi, close to the city center, however, tranquil and quiet place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff available for late check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts! Old style B&B. We were up 5 flights of steep stairs.

    Friendly staff available for late check in. Wonderful hot tea, scones and breads offered after check in on a cold, wet Easter night warmed us all up & put us in a good mood after a long day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Misled that we would be staying within a guesthouse (but were given an apartment elsewhere)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were allocated an apartment in a building down the street across a traffic junction. The entrance hall was dark and uninviting and gave the immediate impression of dingy student accomodation. The apartment had a musty smell and the decor was dated and mismatched. The bed was very lumpy. There were marks (scratches) in the bath. A hand towel was folded up and left on the top of the toilet cistern. On check out I politely brought our dissatisfaction to the attention of the owner. She was very nice and professional and said that we could have been moved if we told her earlier. As we were in a real hurry the previous evening (with taxi waiting) we didn't have time to let her know and request move. As a gesture, which was appreciated, she offered us complimentary breakfast.

    Excellent breakfast and pleasant and professional staff and owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Three nights in Cork
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet took time to recover water pressure. Not quite central.

    Welcoming tea on arrival. Host took time to answer questions. Room larger than expected. Handy to bus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    The tea and scones upon arrival were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had trouble at check-out and now I’m having to dispute a payment because I was charged twice.

    The tea and scones upon arrival were wonderful! The staff was amazing. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Certainly a great location to be in to visit Cork.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Sometimes the noises of doors banging (in other rooms and also front doors) were a little disturbing.

    The location was ideal for walking into Cork City, also I walked in the adjacent Fitzgerald Park and went on a tour of University college Cork, which was just across the road. The staff were so very helpful all the time. When I was leaving at 4am for the airport, the night porter came to help me with my luggage as I was in the annex to the facilities. Having the kitchenette and laundry facilities were also appreciated for a long stay specially.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite is very small and basic.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast and great location, especially if visiting the university. Scone on arrival are a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Time in a Good Place -CORK!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom a bit small, but standard size for British/Irish Geust houses.

    You get the value for your money, did not try breakfast. Ate at the nearby cafes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Location, clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got charged for breakfast which I thought was included, however it was lovely.

    Location, clean and very comfortable. Staff very friendly. I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel to explore Cork! Right across the street from the University and best staff ever!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have off street private parking, but it could be labeled better as there are multiple parking lots in close proximity to each other.

    The hospitality was top notch and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The best B and B in Ireland, not just Cork. A real joy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is by far the best Bed and Breakfast in Cork. Mrs.Lucey and her staff are excellent at what they do. The house is spotless. Rooms are warm and modern. Breakfast has to be seen to be believed!! Garnish House in a must.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator in 1 of our rooms never came on.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely tea/coffee cakes complimentary even with late check in. Great selection of cooked to order breakfasts if you’re a bit tired of the “full Irish”!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, home from home feel. Will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could be more powerful.

    Extremely comfortable beds in a nice warm room, very quiet. The complimentary welcoming tea/coffee and scones/breads. Beautiful food. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice b&b 10 minute walk from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't pre-book breakfast and the booklet in the room said breakfast for guest is 10e. When finishing the breakfast we were about to be charged 12e. When asking about this we got an answer breakfast being 12e when pre-booked via booking.com- which we didn't do. Also we were told there must be old info in the booklet in the room- how about making sure you've got up to date info for guests. Eventually paid 10e though. This b&b is by busy road so you ought to consider this if you're a light sleeper, I'd imagine especially during summer time I couldn't sleep with the window open.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Tea/coffee and baked treats at arrival were absolutely lovely, makes you feel super welcome. Very comfy bed and room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Paid over the odds for one night on St Patrick's weekend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid over the odds for one night on St Patrick's weekend - would not encourage me to return, despite the good location. Breakfast menu was excellent - only carp was conc'd orange juice. Please, hoteliers, real or nothing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.7
    Good value for the money if you are only planning to sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If it’s one person just staying overnight this is a good value. The room and bath were really small. at 7 am there was a ton of noise across the hall, it sounded like vacuuming and housekeeping turning the room over. I didn’t appreciate it as I had hoped to sleep in a bit. I Had tried to find an employee the night before on a few occasions and wasn’t able to. I was a female traveling alone and I had stayed here with the hopes that it to be a more B and B type welcoming environment with other guests and staff socializing so was disappointed. My flight got cancelled last minute due to the blizzard and I was going to be stuck in Cork for 3 more days. Rather than stay here the additional nights I opted to moved to a more expensive hotel with a lobby and bar as I didn’t want to be stuck in the tiny room here for 3 days alone and with a tv that only got 2 news channels.

    Good value for the money if you are only planning to sleep there I’d recommend. Parking easy and available in lot right in front

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Generally good. Comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Person to greeted me wasn't all that friendly. I was really looking forward to scones on arrival but they were cold and didn't have any cream.

    Central location, good wifi. Felt safe and clean room. Convenient to have a place to park my hire car (off street).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was wonderful, beautifully cooked and presented...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was in seems to have very poor soundproofing. I didn't get very much sleep. Doors were slammed downstairs non stop and above me I could also hear bathroom noise water, extractor fans, doors, toilets flushing ect.had the noise levels been low enough so I could sleep it would have been a lovely stay.

    Breakfast was wonderful, beautifully cooked and presented room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super breakfast, possibly the best ever. Cakes and scones on arrival was nice. Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location - 10 minutes walk into Cork centre. Plenty of parking (if the car park at the front is full there is more over the road). I even got a brand new carpet in my room during my stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    It was very very pleasant, and I hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to turn the radiator lower, it felt a little warm.

    I appreciated a welcome a tea,and especially the fact that my sister was provided with gluten free pastries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    It was a good average place to stay. Everything worked. Room comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcome Tea and Coffee a bonus. Staff were excellent. Very accommodating! Location is good within 7-10 minute walking access of the city centre (and lots of good restaurants/coffee houses/pubs) as you walk to wards town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    The money was cut in advance and was returned the last day...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The money was cut in advance and was returned the last day of departure, meanwhile we were short in cash since we thought it was already paid from out account and we had to pay in cash finally.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast is a must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little further from the city center, about a 15 min walk. It is located on a busy street, noise at night.

    The welcome scones, tea and coffee was very wonderful. Parking was directly in front of building and very convenient. The staff was very kind. The room was very large and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, totally worth it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Loads of drinking, eating and riding. Ruined that bed, we did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included in the price

    They upgraded us to a separate apartment when we arrived. And the scones and tea on arrival was a lovely touch

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The tea and scones were a welcomed treat when we arrived after traveling. The beds were extra comfortable with beautifully clean sheets. The free wifi was great. would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the property we stayed in the lounge area was chilly so we didn't use it. But our room was lovely and warm.

    Excellent accommodation, staff were very helpful and welcoming. We did not stay in the main house but one nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Lovely Bnb with fantastic host, rooms, and a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who checked us in was so lovely! She had tea, coffee, breads, and jams waiting for us upon arrival. She was so helpful in recommending places to eat and live music venues. We had a great night. Good walking distance into town. Place to park our car at the hotel. The room was cute and clean. Bathrooms were nice and clean too. Would highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    B
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfy bed staff couldn't do enough. Owner friendly extra mile for husband whom working supplied free scones cakes coffee especially as she just buried her husband. A wonderful lady you will enjoy your stay. We were upgraded it was brill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Perfect House Near UCC
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The house we stayed only has three rooms which are all big and comfortable. We can use the living room and the kitchen and this really makes us feel like home. The reception is 24/7 and the staff are kind. The location is perfect. It's about 10 mins away from the city centre and only 1 min to the UCC by walking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    100% would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property was clean, well equipped with everything we needed and within easy walking distance of the city centre. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and the welcome afternoon tea was a lovely surprise. We would definitely recommend Garnish House and would absolutely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    My first say my in Garnish
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The B&B has several buildings and we didn't know which one we would be in until we got there. The breakfast area is only in one building and it was very busy for all breakfast hours.

    There were several common rooms, so our group could easily have on to ourselves. We had two rooms and they game us rooms right next to each other. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and allowed us to leave bags on site after we had checked out to collect later.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.2
    Close enough to Cork city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is way too high for the value; Toilet /entire pipe makes horrible loud noise every time you flush the toilet; Wifi breaks down too easily; Price I paid via booking is way more expensive than other guests for some reason (I could see other people's booking as the host uses an excel spreadsheet to check in and check out guests) Price I paid via booking is also more expensive than the rate shown the day immediately before (I booked in advance but ended up paying more), I have no idea why.

    Close enough to Cork city centre

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: