Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gleeson's Restaurant & Rooms 3 stars

Market Square, Roscommon, Ireland

#2 of 8 hotels in Roscommon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 548 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit cramped.

    Staff were kind & helpful. Reasonably priced laundry service. Location was central with plenty of parking & restaurants & bars nearby. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room quite expensive for what you had.

    Rooms a little tired, large hole in our bedroom carpet..quite expensive but on a good note the breakfast was really good and all the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Central location in the town & very nice outside area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bathroom lights over the basin had the glass shade missing.

    Central location in the town & very nice outside area with flowers to enjoy the excellent weather

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful Junior Suite overlooking the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our breakfast was a little chaotic. Too few staff and a mix up with our order, so we ate separately.

    Beautiful Junior Suite overlooking the square. Fabulous location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Had baked alaska for dessert,so looking forward to it,such a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had baked alaska for dessert,so looking forward to it,such a disappointment.aybe thats the roscommon baked alaska but it was terrible.other than that things were fine..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    This is great place to stay and we will certainly be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Another vegetarian option on the menu would be appreciated

    The staff were really welcoming - the offer of a free pot of tea and a scone was so lovely after a long journey. We had both breakfast and dinner there and the food was delicious - the chef also tweaked one of the menu options to suit my mum's dietary requirements. I was surprised and delighted by the size of the single room I'd booked and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    We were on a family get together and recommend Gleeson's to anyone wishing to visit Roscommon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were polite, very helpful and ensured our stay was enjoyable. Really enjoyed our stay and will visit again in the future. Food was great and enjoyed the breakfast after a hard night with friends & family. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The cleanliness of the room was five star quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness of the room was five star quality. The home cooked taste of the meals. The most friendly and helpful staff. Perfect central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All of the facilities are to a very high standard. Good car parking. Bedrooms were very comfortable and sparkling clean. Breakfast was very nice too. It’s an old building that has been renovated with care, keeping the old character intact.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Cosy, comfortable and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no negatives about this trip!

    Exceptional service, so central and the room was just gorgeous!! Spotless clean and so comfortable. The breakfast was included and a great selection of hot and cold food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    lovely place to relax , and dine in a fine restaurant that never lets us down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything is always great

    As always our stay in this guest house was perfect , good food , friendly staff and very comfortable , and it is in a great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic venue and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Met with a friendly receptionist Karen all staff very friendly and helpful rooms clean and food great overall can’t say enough good things

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable and friendly with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Comfortable and friendly with excellent breakfast. Staff were superb, even organised a local genealogist to visit us in the bar to help sort out some 'family tree issues'!!!!!! Location ideal, right in centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one teeny wee criticism- The chicken wings were TERRIBLE!!

    Location Mannerly, lovely & friendly staff Lovely comfy room Breakfast Easy & hassle free check in and out Main course for dinner was delish!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Was great
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and pillow could be improved, the generator was noisy and the room was too warm and suffocating.

    Hotel was super clean. Location was the catch, the bathroom was the best part in the room spacious and spotless. We had to leave earlier than plan they charge us only half the tariff. the lady at the reception was super professional we got a free ride to the train station by the hotel staff we were so grateful. Pauline was the sweetest, she knows how to handle guests professionally. Don't forget to ask about their home made walnut bread - DELICIOUS

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Very good bar big incident at check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready at 3:30pm. We are asked to change our clothes in the function room which was very public. Completely unacceptable.

    Good food and clean comfortable rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Warm, relaxed and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No views from rooms but that cannot be helped.

    Lovely B & B in the centre of Roscommon town. Really welcoming, warm and cosy. A really relaxing place to stay, great food and lovely friendly staff. Lovely hot shower and plenty of water. Loved the open fires.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    I really like this hotel. Like a home from home.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location. Wonderful breakfast cooked to order. Good choice. My colleague is a good trencherman and he was served the full Irish on what was really a platter. While the single rooms are small. there is a desk and easy to work. Wi Fi coverage is good. This is one of the few places that can produce a pot of tea and a scone or toast at late in the evening. Nice beside the turf fire in the sitting room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay again!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt have any complaints about the property at all!

    I really enjoyed my stay and location was fantastic! Staff were very attentive and keen to help where needed. Found it a very relaxing environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it

    Very well located.very clean and warm. Lovely shower and comfortable bed. Perfect for what we wanted. Was a friend's wedding so a lot of friends staying in few different places. By the sound of most of the people I knew there we got the best place to stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    I thoroughly enjoyed a brief stay and felt that the staff really cared about me and whether I was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alarm waking me at 5am - yes, I know this wasn’t intentional but you asked the question. Other than that, breakfast was really good - but it was quite a wait. I think that the café was extra busy by the time I came down.

    I was greeted with a friendly welcome and even though I didn’t have time to come down to enjoy the tea and scone on offer, it was brought up to me. Thank you Marie!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful charming hotel with lovely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    From the warmest of welcomes we received on arrival, to the complimentary tea and scone,the comfortable room and incredible hospitality of the staff, there really is nothing to fault here. Everything was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    A quiet, relaxing stay in a warm and welcoming athmosphere
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave for home!!!!!!!!!!

    On arrival we were greeted by the very pleasent and helpful receptionist. The tea and scones on arrival was a treat after the journey. Our dog loved the accomodation and all the attention. We will certainly return in summer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    great family reunion, hosted about 45 people including children and we all felt very welcome and we
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    coffee and scones on arrival would have been lovely???

    dinner was excellent especially the salmon. Bed very comfortable room beautiffuly laid out. great value for money. Hotel has great character

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Return visit and will return again
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Wonderful location. Freshly cooked breakfast with a great choice. Cosy sitting room with fire and no tv on. Never too much trouble to get you a cup of tea /scone from the lovely cafe Very stress free . There is a bar in the restaurant for those requiring something stronger than tea

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Looking forward to returning again in the summer with family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, warm and comfortable hotel in an excellent location right in the center of the town. Lovely cooked full Irish breakfast well presented and lots of variety on the plate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Great food and also very cosy comfortable rooms.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was top notch.

    My boyfriend had just been released from hospital after surgery and we stayed at Gleesons after so he could recover. They where so helpful and understanding and went out of there way to help us feel more comfortable. They took our bags up for us and also brought food up to my boyfriend while I walked to the local chemist to buy painkillers. They were very understanding about me needing to bring my dog also as not many hotels or guesthouse in Ireland are pet friendly. Thanks so much to all the staff at Gleesons on Friday evening :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    A lovely varied breakfast menu not just the usual full Irish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A lovely varied breakfast menu not just the usual full Irish. A very friendly, homely place to stay with an open fire lighted even at breakfast time. I would definitely stay again and have recommended to friends already .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Friendly service, good food, and a good night's sleep.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central, lovely food, super welcoming staff who offered that I could use the lobby and stay warm at the fire after checking out, if I got too cold from the snow and freezing temperatures outside that day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Lovely spot in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were lovely and welcoming. They went out of their way to make me feel welcome. A complimentary cuppa and scone on arrival was a lovely gesture. The room was very comfortable too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    4.2
    If you like the freezing cold after 9pm stay here
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were freezing Staff didn’t want to know when it was mentioned to them just said it was impossible as all the boilers were working.

    Location was the only thing going for this place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Very good with extremely nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit too much noise from the extractor that was near my bedroom window.

    Very pleasant friendly staff. Very central location. The restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value, friendly staff and a fresh tasty breakfast, morning receptionist very helpful
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman at the reception Robert I think was so welcoming and friendly. We had a long trip and it was 11 p.m. when we arrived so it was very nice to be offered and served tea and scones. I have recommended this Guesthouse to people that could travel to Roscommon in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bedrooms and beds very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The lounge and bar areas were welcoming. There was a great selection for breakfast, with the staff willing to accommodate all requests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Gleeson's Hotel was a great find . It was very comfortable. The Owner and his staff were lovely, .
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Full Irish breakfast was really very good.Delicious home made scones were served at breakfast.The lunch menu was also very good. We enjoyed really good homemade soup . There was an extensive dinner menu.The fish and chips were particularly good. Also the stir frys.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Had an amazing time, everyone we met at Gleesons went above and beyond for their guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike about Gleeson's

    Room very clean and comfortable,food is excellent and staff very friendly. The location is right in town, great place to walk around. We even went to Fossett Circus. A fantastic trip all around. I would give 10/10.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm at 2am!!

    The hotel restaurant was excellent and good value for money. Staff always on hand and couldnt do enough for you. Pauline is worthy of particular mention, a blur most of the time managing the restaurant, bar and reception...a definite asset to the hotel. Location excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation looked like it was in the middle of re docerating, The carpet was stained, but the room looked like it had been reciently been paibted.

    The staff were friendly. the location was excellent. the food was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Ok as a one night stay but not any longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding area, there were a lot of people just standing around in the streets which made us feel unsafe. No lift and no one offered to help with bags. Lot of noise at night time. They took payment from my account without asking despite us asking three times if we could pay via travel money card, towels and sheets were off colour and didn't look very nice, continued mental side of breakfast poor -having to stand and make toast on a two hole toaster was very annoying. View from bedroom window was a roof

    Main meal food was very good in the cafe part. The complimentary tea and scone was nice on arrival.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Over priced for what you get. Shower wasn't that good, not very clean water didn't drain away. No fridge and poor coffee making options (no decaf). Room seemed small

    Breakfast was nice Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location, good hotel but room and cleanliness let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not cleaned well at all. Bathroom not cleaned, hairs on towels and floor. Woke every morning with bug bites. Very small room. Should be single not double.

    Great staff. Good food, restaurant and bar area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    The relaxing unpretentious heart of Ireland is thankfully still beating.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find anything not to like.

    A hidden treasure. Baffles me why this part of Irelamd is not promoted more. A relaxing,tranquil oasis of calm. Can't wait to visit again and next time stay a little longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    The staff were excellent and had a sense of humour.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The soap in the bathroom is in bottle form would prefer if in bar form. Shower in our room was fixed would prefer the hand held unit

    The staff were excellent and had a sense of humour. likewise the management. the brown bread is available to purchase and if we lived locally would become part of our staple diet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    A nice hotel with good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller and not as attractive as site photo showed. They were selling upgrades.

    Loved the Castle and Abbey. Workhouse was okay, repurposing it has lost its history.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay, will definately be back and would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    We liked just about everything about the place but mostly the staff, who were all very polite, friendly and professional. The food we had, both breakfast and dinner was exceptional also. And a nice quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.0
    Have nothing negative about the hospitality location etc,but was charged more than advertised ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome and relaxed atmosphere in Gleesons have stayed previously and will stay again without question,ideal spot ,visiting family .Great bars in short walk highly recommend,cannot fault

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable stay. We were treated like VIPs from beginning to end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A delightfully pretty room. Bed large and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend and we would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    The is a darling boutique hotel in a small village and a delight to end the day at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a little trouble with the shower, but mostly everything was just fine. I appreciated that the hotel had many lovely flower boxes which added to the ambiance and the beauty of the small hotel.

    The staff was especially cordial and considerate and helpful. The breakfasts were fine but nothing extraordinary. The drinks later in the day were wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected a basic room but it was hotel room standard, could not fault it, would highly recommend it and we will be booking again. Breakfast was really good also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    This hotel was in the right place for us as a family of six to travel to places we wanted to go to. Excellent hotel,and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. Would definitely go back, and recommend this wonderful place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Central Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great, right in the middle of town, and incredibly easy to find. The interior has a boutique feel, especially the restaurant, which I really liked. The staff at reception were warm and friendly, and the room, foyer and outside seating area was immaculately clean. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location in the heart of Roscommon Town close to everything. Lots of on-site parking. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. My room was very nice - warm, clean, comfortable and quiet. Good wifi and TV channel selection. Delicious breakfast. Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    get rid of the toaster at breakfast, not good to queue & wait whilst breakfast on the table. Should go back to how it was last year with the kitchen supplying the toast on racks with the breakfast

    Overall comfort, cleanliness, friendliness of the whole place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    A reasonably pleasant place with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift and the stairs were rather steep with narrow treads. The room was small and the beds high, I found them difficult to get into though I am shorter than average so it might not be a problem for others. The room we had was at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park, we could hear some machinery, possibly the air conditioning or washing machines going till late. The sauce with my lamb steak for dinner was wonderful as were the sweet potato and mash, however the other vegetables were rather undercooked for my taste. As a couple we were seated at a very small table which felt rather cramped.

    The staff were lovely and the breakfast was excellent. The room and ensuite were clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early for check in, tired from an overnight flight, and were treated beautifully...offered complimentary tea and scones as they readied our room...they could not have been kinder. Breakfast was wonderful, accommodations exactly what we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Thanks from Ernie and Charlie
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great accommodation with friendly staff thanks to the staff and Owner for leaving homemade scones to room at night to eat after coming in from drinking cheers Ernie & charlie

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    I can not fault the accommodation at all. Oozed quality and excellent staff who went the extra mile. The location was great so we just had to park up and walk to local bars, restaurants and the castle. Had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Great stopover in Roscommon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family-run inn right on the Roscommon town square. We were made to feel very welcome, and enjoyed a good dinner in the restaurant. Everyone was very friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    Pet friendly hotel in Roscommon.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door was sticking. Taps in the bathroom a bit wobbly, and discoloured under one. Furniture basic and worn. Bed could have been firmer. But overall a very pleasant experience. Would recommend to anyone with a pet.

    Great to be able to bring our labradoodle to a hotel that was welcoming. Central location, surprisingly quiet, room at the back. A beautiful park nearby, castle, lakes, ducks, great for the dog and us. Breakfast was excellent. Staff all so friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay in a character property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    to note that a central town location can have Friday & Saturday night sounds

    Character property with good rooms, ambience and central town location and breakfast and own bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend, only negative for me was the blind in room...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds on the window was the only fault.

    Highly recommend, only negative for me was the blind in room didn't fully close and there was a velum window with no blind so I was awake really early with brightness in the room. Breakfast was superb, freshly made and great choice. Scones were delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.3
    A nice place to stay
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit feeble

    All was fine, except they did not seem to be expecting us upon arrival and although we had booked (and paid for) a triple room (to be used by two adults) they tried to give us a twin room, and I had to insist. But this matter having being addressed, all went well after that. The waitress at breakfast was not overly friendly, but the food was good. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    Anice place to stay in an interesting small town
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unimpressed by the one dinner i ate there. Very slow service and the chicken was on the dry side and bland, despite being advertised as free range. On the second night i had a much better meal elsewhere at much the same price.

    Breakfast was good both in variety offered and quality. Homemade breads were excellent. Very friendly and helpful at check-in. Great town-centre location with free on-street or private parking. I noticed no noise at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    highly recommended. Great value. very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    professional staff, great location, very good value for money- I stayed in the economy room so it was small but overall it was very good value for my spend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Make the trip to Roscommon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing bed and super soft bedsheets. One of the nicest townhouses I stayed in recently and perfectly located to the town of Roscommon for shopping and a brief walk (not in heels ladies) or €5 in a taxi from the Abbey hotel where we attended a wedding. You could stay chatting to Mary and Emmet all day they were so genuine and friendly. Will be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in Roscommon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints except TV in room was not working

    Staff - helpful and friendly , location in centre of roscommon , breakfast ,restraunt - food was lovely and good value

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money in the heart of Roscommon Town
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet/shower very small in Room 202, some very early morning noise at rear of hotel.

    Dining and breakfast offering good. Premises has a good atmosphere. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    3.3
    totally not up to standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room location horrible. View from window onto a terrible backyard. Toilet seat fell off when I lifted it. Kettle full of sediment, water scummy. Ironing board and iron at top of the stairs. Desk unattended when we arrived. Breakfast very average. No interest shown in us, we weren't asked if we were happy with everything. I couldn't wait to leave and will never stay there again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    4.6
    No warning about the "annex"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were shoved unceremoniously into a separate building altogether, had issues with electrics, a dodgy entrance over an empty shop, the shower in our tiny ensuite shower room could have been cleaner, stained towels (which we had to share because there was one body towel and two small towels left out for the first night, one of which had a horrible brown stain on it) The whole experience was reminiscent of my days in student digs - which I didn't mind at the time but I also didn't spend €70 a night on

    The actual hotel part was nice from what I saw of it ... we turned up to be told we were booked into "the annex" ... which is a couple of doors away from the beautiful town house and really more knock-in-shop than boutique hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    4.2
    Don't be fooled
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the annex. It was not clear on the Booking.com site what this meant. It refers to some rooms above some commercial premises down the street. You enter through what seems to be a shop doorway. There is a long, badly-lit staircase leading to four rooms. Ours had 2 large Windows overlooking the square which meant no privacy unless you closed all the curtains. The room had an ingredient smell. The towels smelt strange! Not dirty but not nice. The carpet was stained, the tv was archaic, there was nowhere in the bathroom to put toiletries although there were broken brackets where a shelf had once been. There was a grudge in the corner which was filthy and mildewed inside. I could go on! I told the receptionist and all she could say was that those rooms were cheaper. I had no idea why they were cheaper but they should not be rented in that condition. It certainly made me question how Gleesons had won so many accolades. Booking.com should make it clear that this is very inferior accommodation at a different premises and a warning sign sbive the door would also be helpful.

    The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls a little thin (we had noisy neighbours - might not have been an issue otherwise). Bathroom door did not close fully in the bedroom.

    Ample free parking. Good breakfast. Restaurant downstairs which had a good selection for vegetarians. We arrived late but they still served us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating wasn't working on arrival. Handle of bathroom door came off in my hand! Staff member didn't apologise for same when told.

    Good location but don't book the annex - it was cold, noisy, and down the street from the main house which did seem lovely!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    just that there was no leaflet in room explaining that you had to go up around 20 channels to find a working station a simple thing in room would help we presumed the t v was not working and only found a working channel before check out

    everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Friendliness, politeness willingness to help, of a all staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room as good as 4 star hotel breakfast v good, fresh porridge, cream and honey. Tasty non greasy full Irish,all good.

    Friendliness, politeness willingness to help, of a all staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    4.6
    Never again. 4 hours sleep per night
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heavy metal kitchen/back door loudly and frequently creaking and banging from 6.30am to 1am next day, 4hrs sleep per night. Excessive mould growing on walls and ceiling of unheated en-suite. Too many dead bugs in the light fittings. First batch of towels looked grubby. Staff pleasant, owner dismissive. Booked for three nights in February. Glad to finish my business and go home for a decent night's sleep.

    Good central location for my purposes. Breakfast was good but milk sour on two occasions. Soft sheets but hard bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: