Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glen Valley House B&B 3 stars

Glencroff , Leenaun, Ireland

Review score

Based on 74 B&B reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Josephine was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Josephine was great... friendly, rexlaxed, warm, accommodating, helpful... the perfect hostess. She had everything we needed and more, and her breakfast was delicious and filling. We would most definitely recommend her and her home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Josephine's B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about it was positive.

    Josephine, the B&B landlady, was extremely warm, welcoming and friendly, and encouraged camaraderie amongst the guests. The breakfast was excellent. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    The owner was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The house could use some upgrades. There were problems with the water supply and the shower set up was confusing.

    The owner was wonderful! As were the the breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    The owner is really nice, she showed us to our room and let...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road to get to the property was a single lane road (no room to pass) and traffic went both ways

    The owner is really nice, she showed us to our room and let us pick out what we wanted for breakfast the next day The property is in a very scenic location 15 to 20 minute walk (one way) will give you amazing views of the surrounding valley and lake Beds were super comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Simple accommodation with lovely hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need fans for hot weather

    In a very quiet, secluded area well outside of Leenaun. Comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfast. Hosts were friendly and accommodating in spite of the hot weather and no shower working in one of our rooms. (this was due to the weather though)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay, Josephine was a very kind host! We had a delicious breakfast and the b&b was located in a quiet and peaceful area that formed the perfect basis tot discover connemara. I sincerely regret that we only stayed there one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice remote hideaway to get away from your everyday life :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower took awhile to get warm but once going was nice. Bring cash as there is no facility to pay with credit card (there is also no pass machine in the town).

    Lovely tea and scones as soon as we arrived. Josephine is a lovely woman, very welcoming. Great views of the mountainside. If your lucky your view from your window will have the mountain sheep roaming around the garden without a care in the world.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    One night in lovely, quiet location, 10 minutes drive from good evening food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't great but we coped

    Josephine was just lovely,served tea and biscuits on arrival and had a nice chat. Scenery was amazing and breakfast was delicious at a shared table with a young couple who were also happy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    One of the best B&B's in Ireland, pretty, authentic and in an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    This was one of my favourite B&B's in all of Ireland. The setting is stunning, away from everything in the middle of the mountains on a farm. The building is beautiful, the area is beautiful, the room was beautiful and authentic. I loved the owner. She was so friendly and caring and made us feel at home. Unfortunately, we could only stay one night. Good breakfast. The sights of Galway are close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    A quiet, rural setting with a relaxing outlook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water pressure in the shower was very low and wasn't very hot.

    A quiet, rural setting. Josephine was very welcoming and gave us excellent suggestions for dinner and sights in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    lovely very rural property, working farm, but access road a little difficult for elderly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was my elderly parents who stayed here, they found it a little difficult to negotiate driving the long laneway access into the property as sheep shearing was going on at the time . breakfast was shared at one large table , and while it was good food, some of it was cold.

    helpful host who accomodated a change of arrangements despite inconvenience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast very tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very slow,no power behind the trickle of water.

    Breakfast very tasty.Very friendly patron,beautiful location but remote if not looking for that.We loved the location for that reason.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Off the beaten track near Leenaun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remote location. The cramped rooms and ensuite. The limited breakfast selections.

    The proprietor took us in her car into the Leenaun township some 4 or 5 kms away, where we were able to enjoy a drink and a meal. We had arrived by bicycle and were quite exhausted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had hoped to see ponies, but there were none this time of year (June). You arent literally staying at a pony farm, but there are lots of sheep nearby. For my elderly mother, the house other than the living room was a bit on the cold side. The hostess doesnt normally run the heating systm in the summer, but Irish summer weather can seem coldish by US standards. This isn't likely to bother people who are healthy... Certainly didn't bother my husband or me. A cultural difference I think. The only place the wifi worked was at the end of the hall next to the hostesses kitchen, so could be used in a pinch, but not using a chair.

    The hostess is fantastic--charming, friendly, helpful, welcoming, interesting. We felt like we had made a friend and found a home. I was travelling with my parents, who are in their 80s. The hostess went above and beyond the call of duty to make us all feel comfortable, including doing a load of laundry for my mother. The breakfasts are wonderful, and she offers afternoon tea. There is a warm, compact living room for the guests. Across the road is a sheep farm, and behind the house is a nice place to climb with agreat view from the top. A short drive takes you to restaurants, and other numerous fine sights and activities. The house is old and a bit worn, in a comfortable, charming way. You may want to select a bedroom that is not en suite, because those are much roomier.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    It was further out in country than we had anticipated
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was further out in country than we had anticipated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could do with a mixer tap for wash basin. The carpets can be little better

    Breakfast was Good. The hostess Jo was very informative

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    If you are looking for a place off the beaten track, this is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for a place off the beaten track, this is in. Awesome hostess who goes the extra mile.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tv in room

    Host very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in room but was offered to us down stairs

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Just too far away for what I wanted. Two cyclers just loved the location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More pressure in the shower.. Did not use.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    The owners were adorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were adorable! Excellent breakfast, cozy room (I slept like a log) and a large bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location. It was very close to Killary adventure centre where we were competing in an event. The owner was also very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    OK place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a bit worn and dated. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit cramped.

    Comfortable sitting room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Friendliness of owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendliness of owners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location in the heart of connemara
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely relaxing location. Right on tge western way

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    A friendly, warm farmhouse bed and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful place, set deep in the countryside and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Host was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access road was not great

    Host was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    Gorgeous setting at the end of a secluded path, overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad as such, we just found the wi-fi was not working which is not surprising seeing we are in the middle of the Western countryside. We couldn't figure out the hot on the shower, and disappointed we couldn't didn't tea and coffee in the room. Small details really.

    Gorgeous setting at the end of a secluded path, overlooking the mountains. Comfortable bed, great host. Great for getting to all the places you need to on the Connemara Loop

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.6
    We liked the warm welcome accompanied by a pot of tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the warm welcome accompanied by a pot of tea. We especially liked breakfast with the other guests around a large dining table, which was very sociable

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    4.2
    The house was pleasant enough and clean, the room was small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor value for money, very basic B&B for the same price as I paid for a very nice hotel the following night. One guest was refused access to hot water for a drink for her and her mother in the evening. Although we were given tea on arrival, later on she was told by the proprietor that she was "not working" then and she couldn't have access to a kettle because she "only had one". Considering the price of the stay and the fact that the location was remote, this is very poor service and attitude. Somebody should probably point out that a kettle can be acquired for a few euros.There was also supposed to be Wi-Fi access, but nobody could get this to work. The breakfast was also very average.

    The house was pleasant enough and clean, the room was small but comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.8
    Very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good stay. House in the Connemara : you wake up in the middle of the mountains and the nature, you can see some sheeps overthere, and it is so quiet. Our hosts were very nice and friendly, and we had a delicious breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Landlady Jo was perfect hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Landlady Jo was perfect hostess. No tea making facilities in bedroom but tea/coffee available on request. Lovely cosy llittle sitting room with wood burner.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    8.3
    Josephine is a very helpful and warm host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Josephine is a very helpful and warm host. She made us feel like home. The house is located in an evergreen forest 5 minutes drive from the beautiful Killary Harbour. Easy access to many walks.We enjoyed our stay!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    VERY peaceful, on a secluded road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi.

    VERY peaceful, on a secluded road. Nice owners.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Host, house, hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Host, house, hills

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.9
    beautiful place, a very nice owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no wifi although it says there is one.

    beautiful place, a very nice owner.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Lovely location, great chat with hosts who gave great tips...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location, great chat with hosts who gave great tips scenic routes an places to eat.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.5
    Magnificent location for nature lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Magnificent location for nature lovers. Warm welcome. Tasteful decoration. Good advice for dining out.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: