Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glenlo Abbey Hotel 5 stars

Galway, Ireland

#1 of 46 hotels in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 263 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    Just ok and overpriced for what you got - we wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corrib Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Casual dining cellar servers were not particularly friendly or even personable - seemed distracted and harried even when there weren't very many customers. Nothing wrong, really, but not up to the level or front desk staff nor the staff at other properties during our stay. The public areas of the hotel were nice - but not all fireplaces in use (only in reception area) and it was rainy and cold. The property is a basically a golf resort and hotel as opposed to inn or manor house. Bathroom was tiny (and we had a deluxe room), only a shower and bathroom door couldn't be kept open - for some reason it had an automatic closure that was annoying - plus the door was heavy. For the price, this property did not live up to what one would expect. We paid less for some of our other lodging during our trip in Ireland at properties that far exceeded this one.

    The front desk staff and bellmen were great. Room was clean. Beautiful view from room. Good location for exploring the beautiful surrounding area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    The bed was extremely comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Classic King Room – Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The distance from the city was inaccurate. Unless one can walk approximately three miles in ten minutes!. The only way into the city was to drive or pay €12-15 for a taxi. On Wednesday the Pullman restaurant was closed and as a result the downstairs bar was the only place to eat which left it noisy and the staff under pressure.

    The bed was extremely comfy. The cold breakfast selection could be better. The loaf bread was almost impossible to cut. The hot menu was fine. The staff at breakfast were very nice. The housekeeping staff were also very nice but they did come around mid-afternoon/early evening which was odd.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff, lovely grounds, and falconry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corrib Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation in the restroom, but there's only so much modernity one can add to an 18th century residence.

    Very helpful staff, lovely grounds, and falconry. We got to play with birds of prey.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    Not a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one there to greet us or take our bags fron the car. The hotel smelled musty and of fish. The room wasn't properly cleaned. The coffee and tea at breakfast was horrible. Breakfast staff were far from friendly. There must have been fifty spiders and webs hanging on the soffit when we went to pull the curtains...ugh!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Very nice staff but didnt feel like a five star stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottled water left in the room, handrail on stairs down to bar sticky Food presentation really bad far from five star

    Nice view, nice sized room but not old world charm

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    If you really want to spoil yourself or find somewhere wonderful for a special occasion, this is it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corrib Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could have stayed much longer!

    The hotel is magnificent. The rooms and the common areas are beautifully appointed and the grounds are simply amazing. The staff are extremely competent and willing to go out of their way to make your stay special. Dinner on the Orient Express was narrowly saved from being disastrous when a large party of very loud and inconsiderate American tourists behaved rather inappropriately given the setting. The staff were quick to assess the situation and kindly but subtly moved us to another carriage. The meal was sublime as was the wine and the service unparalleled. There are any number of fun and interesting things to do within a few miles of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    On arrival, it became apparent that I had made a mistake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, it became apparent that I had made a mistake while booking getting a Twin Room rather than a Double Room. We were lucky as we had a great experience with the receptionist, Isabella, who happily found us a different room that was more suitable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed ! To soft. Not any outlets in the room to plug in electronics. No USB charging plugs which are very useful because then you don’t need the outlet adaptor. The rooms and shared areas were way to hot. No way to cool the bathroom- had to use a hanger in the door to prop it open.

    The breakfast at the restaurant was more than we expected. Friendly staff. Property looks lovely but weather wasn’t nice enough for us to explore.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Our stay was perfect. We wish we had more time to just stay and relax there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We loved everything about this property. The staff was friendly and greeted you with a smile at every turn. The rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast choices were amazing and the food delicious. We ate in the train car which was a fun experience, the service and food was first rate. We also ate in the hotel restaurant, food was delicious there too. We enjoyed the movie theatre as well. I would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel and the staff make it a superb place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pullman Restaurant is overpriced, menu limited as is the chef, way too much salt on the main course. Staff far and few between. Music very repetitive.

    Excellent location and staff. Food in the Oak Bar excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay but not a 5* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Abbey Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to navigate inside Hotel need more direction signs to function room/bars etc No Climate control in the Bedrooms No pay for view movie channels

    Awesome view Staff were very friendly Unique restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Stayed here for a wedding, was an absolutely fabulous hotel.
    • Couple
    • Abbey Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here for a wedding, was an absolutely fabulous hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful and could not fault them. Will be back again, thank you Glenlo!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Easter Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was to inform me via phone call on 1st day of our stay about the use of nearby spa facilities. This didn't happen.

    Very comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast in fabulous River Room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Loved the vast green land, golf course seems cool but I’m...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I dislike was there wasn’t a spa in the hotel.. but overall a definite recommendation.

    Loved the vast green land, golf course seems cool but I’m not a player. Lovely staff,very warm atmosphere all around. Reception was very welcoming. Loved every bit of glenlo.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful location with wonderful food, staff and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very small qualm would be the bathroom got quite hot and the fan didn't seem to help but we lodged the door open to help de-steam the room.

    Wonderful five star hotel close to Galway. Super friendly and helpful staff. Great food in the Pullman restaurant, yummy salad in the oak cellar bar, wonderful afternoon tea in the Kentfield room and breakfast with a view in the river room. Our room was really spacious with every thing we needed provided. We enjoyed the pianist on Friday evening as well use of the cinema room and taking a ride around the estate on the bikes available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    perfect relaxion in lovely location with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food in the Railway carriage.

    Staff absolutely superb , friendly , cheerful and efficient. Food in the bar excellent. Food in the Railway carriage flattered to deceive ; beautifully presented but little flavour Would return certainly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    The view from our room was beautifull with or without the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our room was beautifull with or without the snow and the location so close to the city centre was very convenient, We were impressed by the quiet efficiency of the staff and we will certainly stay with you again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave!

    Absolutely everything nicest place iv stayed in a long time way nicer than ash ford castle staff warm and friendly beautiful atmosphere food Devine can’t wait to go back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Luxurious hotel with the best staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in a great location and It is not far from Galway city. It has so many facilities (restaurants, bars, entertainment), that one would never have to leave the hotel for any reason. The staff make the hotel what it is. They are warm, friendly and attentive. The breakfast is wonderful and there is something for everyone. I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, would strongly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were very happy with our stay in the Glenlo. From the friendly welcome the moment we arrived, to the lovely decor, to the nice and friendly hotel staff who could not be more helpful, to the courtesy spin in the hotel car into Galway when we asked for a taxi, cleanliness of the hotel throughout and for the lovely food. We will definitely be staying again in the Glenlo Abbey in the near future and would strongly recommend this hotel to other potential guests

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay but staff training required to improve the overall experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food and beverage staff in the cellar bar/restaurant and the Palmer bar lacked training and product knowledge. I would question the 5 star rating given a lack of attention to detail.

    The facilities at the hotel were good and offered comfort and cleanliness.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    amazing, amazing & amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing one of the best places I have stayed in a very long time. Made to feel so welcome

    Amazing Breakfast and great service. lovely staff very nice and welcoming in particular the lady who checked us in on Friday and out on the Sunday. You were able to chill and relax in lovely surroundings. great Piano player on both evenings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Fab place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the Train restaurant because my husband loves trains for his Birthday but was only told when we arrived it was closed for Renovation so was very disappointed but they gave us an upgrade and were very good we will be going back when the Train restaurant reopens .

    It was very relaxing beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.4
    Rated as 5-star but to describe it acurately it should drop a notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in room didn't work properly, but it was late and we had retired to bed when we noticed it and we didn't want to call reception about it. Should have ben checked beforehand though. No dedicated residents' lounge; the only public spaces for a drink are also open to non-residents, and it appears that the closure of the local pub has created demand for the bar and lounge facilities in the hotel. Despite the two log fires, there was nowhere to sit in comfort away from noise, to read a book or just relax. The crowd in the bar was noisy, which wouldn't be a problem if there was an alternative. We felt that the hotel didn't merit a 5 star rating for this reason.

    Breakfast was excellent, served in an elegant room by staff who had obviously been trained. Food selection and quality was good, as would be expected in a 5 star hotel. The Pullman restaurant wasn't open the night we were there, but we have used it in the past and it is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't bother going again.
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was totally overpriced. The car park is right in front of the hotel ruining the view. There is little to no walking availalbe directly from the hotel (a 10 min walk around the golf course, otherwise you have to drive to get a decent walk).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Old World Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful rooms layered with gorgeous fabrics Stunning view over the bay Wonderful estate with beautiful grounds and elegant living and dining rooms All staff were excellent 5 mins to city centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    More than perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing...

    Simply the most incredible hotel, In house cinema, The coolest restaurant made up of two carriages from the original orient express, The most comfortable bed my wife and I have ever slept in, Every last staff member went above and beyond, I could write pages on the place but could never recommend it enough!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, steeped in history and just pure luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is expensive for one night and I think could benefit from better mid week value deals.

    Amazing hotel, steeped in history and just pure luxury! Enjoyed every aspect of the stay, staff were so friendly and service was brilliant. Both dinner in the cellar bar and breakfast were lovely. Good size portions at very reasonable prices!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff were super-friendly and helpful - all of them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the walk wasn't across a golf course... the balls missed us all, though, and it's probably safe enough! A paradise for golfers, I guess.

    The staff were super-friendly and helpful - all of them. We also loved the overall atmosphere and the quality of the food in the Pullman Restaurant (what a special place to have dinner!). In spite of their being very busy that night, service was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the heating in the room could be warmer .. not as warm to my expectation..

    Comfortable and very relaxing. I like the fact they have small cinema and we can pick dvd to play in our room. excellent services and staffs.. very professional.. the best hotel I've stayed in so far

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice experience but closer to 4 than to 5 stars..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at breakfast: no real experimented staff... music too loud Too many small details such as TV not working, small bed lamp out of use...not really 5 stars alike compared to other 5 stars.

    Great experience at Pullman train restaurant, super service and very good food. fantastic location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.3
    Avoid at all cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corrib Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, absent staff, rude staff, no AC, unable to open windows, dinner not available (find your own), 40 mins wait to be served cold toast at breakfast....5 star....give me a break and this hotel a very wide berth.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    A wonderful experience in this old world Hotel and estate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotels need to change their Bedding in warm weather , to have a full duvet on the bed in warm weather is madness, had to get house keeping to change to a light weight blanket. No aircon in the room and windows only open a small amount.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent, always there to help. The rooms were big and bed very comfortable. Great selection at the bar, and outside terrace for sunny days. Dinner on The Pullman was very good, highly recommend. Lives up to the 5 star name.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Welcoming luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corrib Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made us feel so welcome. We enjoyed the facilities. Beautifully decorated. The bathroom was fabulous. Beds extremely comfortable. Delicious meal in the bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Relaxing Stay in Glenlo Abbey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that i didnt like, just wish i could have stayed here longer

    The beds were super comfy as was the hotel in general with it big open fires and comfy couches. Was just what we needed after a busy week. Dinner in the The Pullman Restaurant was delicious and our waitress couldn't help us enough. Breakfast was perfect with a variety of things to choose from their menu. The decor throughout Glenlo Abbey is amazing!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Charming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at breakfast was slow. At dinner the server spillled wine on the patron next to my table. He also dropped the credit card machine at our table.

    Beautiful grounds and the room was lovely. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Magical stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My meal in the Cellar was poor,even though my hubby loved his and had plenty.I left feeling hungry!!!

    The bed was really comfy and the view spectacular.Staff couldn't be nicer.Loved the Orient Express experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel to visit Galway, but expect to get a taxi into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drink at the bar was ok but not great. Not sure if it is worth 5 stars - showers etc a bit old. Rooms could be renovated.

    Really friendly staff. Lovely comfy beds. We had a standard room with garden view and it was perfect. Very yummy breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken through the 1st night as wedding party guests were heading to bed and were making a lot of noise in corridor

    Pullman restaurant dining experience excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Probably wouldnt stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door would not close fully. Had dinner delivered to the room, steak was overcooked, the chips were too dry I could not eat them and neither of us got the onion rings that were stated on the menu as part of the dish.

    The comfort of the bed was amazing! Great pillows! Lovely view of the golf course and Lough Corrib.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Just to say something: Our room was facing a parking - it would have been useful to be informed about it when making the booking. An adaptor in a room would be handy. The location is outside the city centre.

    Great hotel, surrounded by a golf course and facing a lake, excellent breakfast, beatifully decorated common area where you can enjoy a drink in front of a fireplace. We stayed one night only but you should allow for at least two nights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Gorgeous Hotel....very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corrib Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful golf course outlook, large rooms and excellent staff and service. The Falconer (Jurgen) was amazing and the exoerience of getting up close with so many precious birds was a fabulous experience. Beautiful hotel and location and excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Pullman excellent breakfast not so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room itself would be more like a 3 star. Bit disappointed by the basic accommodation. Breakfast was awful and so expensive. Don't waste your time with it. Even the orange juice was bitter. Very disappointed.

    Pullman restaurant was the highlight. Food and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower in the bath is not really acceptable in a 5 star hotel. There was ample place in the bathroom for a separate power shower. Tea at breakfast was not hot enough on both mornings. I like my food hot. Was a bit disappointed with fillet steak in the Pullman restaurant as it was tepid. Mentioned it to the young waitress but she didn't seem to know how to deal with it. Older waitress who showed us to our seats, was extremely friendly and a good advertisement for the restaurant.

    The bed was lovely and comfortable. Beautiful breakfast room .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast could have been better .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better . Better selection of fresh fruit and not in the hard to get at containers . The grilled breakfast wasn't great . It didn't seem fresh maybe pre prepared . No fresh orange orange juice either .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable experience. Truly 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving the hotel was the only thing I didn't like. I could have easily stayed for a week

    A visit to Glenrothes Abbey is an exquisite experience. It's a true 5 star hotel. The staff are excellent - friendly and welcoming and efficient. They are fantastic

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautifukl place, staff ( many of them) very nice. Bed so comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that you could not opt for DBB on website, but when I booked in for dinner ( v expensive), there was a fuss made about giving me the DBB rate. They did give me the rate, but normally it is automatic when you book for dinner when you get there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    8.8
    Great for wedding parties or other group events
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full Irish breakfast was a ltitle dry but they had a good range of other options. No complimentary body or hand lotion in the room as standard.

    Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Free bikes to cycle around the grounds were a nice touch too. Clean, tidy, room with very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Five Star Staff and Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner in the Pullman is a wonderful experience, if a little pricey. During breakfast, would recommend that toast be delivered to tables along with guests' tea/coffee orders. Ours arrived after we had completely finished our breakfast. Nothing major that cant be fixed.

    Our stay at the Glenlo Abbey was wonderful, and began with the warmest of greetings from Sandra in Reception! All the staff we met were obliging, efficient and very friendly - they simply could not do enough for guests. We were also upgraded to a delux room which was stunning. Thanks also to Rory, the General Manager, for the courtesy tour :) We will definitely return again to the Glenlo Abbey.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Fairytaile
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more flexibility with the restaurant closure. We ask a piece of chocolate with a whiskey; the answer was that the kitchen was closed...

    The place is a fairytaile, a bit outside from the caos of Galway that is around at 3km. The abbey is on a lake, the view is wonderful. The breakfast gives you the best awakening that you could ever imagine. Room perfect and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Only place to go in Galway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being overcharged 64 Euro (admittedly by mistake). Prices in Pullman OTT.

    Beautiful room with excellent view. Magnificent breakfast. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, particularly Saidhbh at reception.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Lovely relaxing Hotel in a lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was 1 or 2 little faults it would be toilets in the bar downstairs are a little dated but not in keeping with the tone of the hotel. And the carpet on the way down to that bar a little woren (guessing it's due to the traffic of the golfers) .. neither would put me off going back!

    The Bed was just soooo comfortable, breakfast was lovely in a lovely setting. It's a lovely hotel to chill out! Very romantic especially at Christmas :).. Dinner in the Pullman is a MUST ambiance was 1st class and Dinner was amazing!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    A little bit of luxury on a country estate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the Oak Cellar Bar on Sunday night was a bit slow, and the waiter forgot to bring the tea after the meal, which you wouldn't expect in a 5* hotel with the reputation that it has.

    The roaring log fire in the drawing room was wonderful on a cold day! The room was very comfortable and was certainly spacious, and the quietness of the estate gave the feeling of being a million miles from civilisation. We enjoyed being able to follow the walking trail through the golf course to the shores of Lough Corrib (the only danger being a stray golf ball!).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Excellent staff, great Xmas feeling and a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a welcome glass of Champagne or other beverage on arrival but still 5 star.

    Excellent and friendly staff. Helpful and professional . Breakfast was perfect ! Great location and a nice and warm Xmas feeling :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Staff were so kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If only one minor fault- the bedroom was a little too warm. We had to turn off the heating and open all of the windows at night but it didnt in any way affect our stay. Our stay in glenlo abbey is without doubt the best place we've stayed in yet. Well done!

    Staff were so kind and helpful. The room was exceptional. The food was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    A Great Castle Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't able to book the falconry activity on a short notice. We only found out about it the day we checked in while reading about it in the room.

    Bonnie at the front desk made our stay very special. She was really helpful and attentive, especially to our little son. We love the view of our room. The hotel itself is a great relaxing getaway. I particularly liked the silverware for my little boy at the restaurant. It had little bunnies on them. I appreciate details like that. It was also nice that the spare bed was already prepared and the room was nice and warm when we got in. We had a wonderful morning stroll on the beautiful property grounds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.0
    Will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more variety on the desert menu!!!

    The lobby area with large open fires were very relaxing as was the large spacious bedroom. The food was tasty with plenty of choice!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Glenlo Abbey Hotel is a perfect hideaway in the suburbs of Galway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bath in the suite. We came down for breakfast at 10-10 and feel the extra bits were removed too early-croissants, meats etc. also, there were no plates left in this area

    The staff were friendly, very helpful, cheerful and seemed to really enjoy their work! The breakfast was delicious and the unexpected upgrade to a suite most welcome and luxurious

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.7
    Priced like a 5 Star Hotel, but does not have consistent luxury facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corrib Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom, no exercise facility, pub in dark basement- very overpriced

    Staff was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is a bit dated, but the room was nice and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a bit dated, but the room was nice and restaurants were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful facility and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Warmth and friendliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellent experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corrib Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent experience... staff couldn't have been nicer... would definitely return and definitely recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Beds weren’t as comfortable as I expected from a five star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren’t as comfortable as I expected from a five star resort, but it was an incredible place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location with an outstanding staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corrib Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an amazing property with an excellent staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Need room temp control and bottled water
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need room temp control and bottled water

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Just an amazing place to stay with a perfectly fine tuned concept. It's every penny worth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    So much beautiful character to enhance the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corrib Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much beautiful character to enhance the experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Our 2 nights there were up to our expectations. We will be back, but we will skip the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a bit disappointed by the Pullman restaurant. Orient Express, fine. Service excellent , but food... Not what we were expecting.

    Everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Satisfactory on every front. Will return one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not sample the croissants. Breakfast - much choice - all fresh - friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    So lovely a place to stay everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Everything was so nice staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Glenlo Abbey is a calm oasis close to the bustling city of Galway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning property and location. Staff were superb and extremely friendly. Glenlo Abbey is a calm oasis close to bustling Galway city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfy bed - lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu very limited in the Pullman restaurant and expensive too

    Comfy bed - lovely breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Tranquil and elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquil and elegant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing lounge Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom freezing. Breakfast ..bacon and potatoes cold mushroom and tomatoes cremated

    Relaxing lounge Comfy bed. Lovely walk to the lake

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: