Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gold Coast Resort Dungarvan 3 stars

Ballinacourty, X35 EA40 Dungarvan, Ireland

#15 of 19 hotels in Dungarvan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovel friendly hotel, fabulous location - must use the waterford greenway its a fantastic amenity
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms and hotel need updating

    good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, very family friendly facility with lots of repeat business which is a good sign

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    enjoyable except for lunch experience very very poor staff not at all friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dropped in to bar (golf club ) for lunch lady was not friendly at all lunch very poor , then we were overcharged would not recommend or would not return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice views, room was really clean, staff...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated decor in rooms.. Food not great, service pretty slow at bar also, staff seem to be doing a bit too much multitasking, appears a little short staffed.

    Great location, nice views, room was really clean, staff were all nice and pleasant. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.0
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and the single bed had a dip in it. The hair dryer ran for a few seconds, turning red in process, then stopped. One of the lights over the bed flickered during the night, despite being turned off. All in all the room looked tired as did the bathroom; the grouting on the bathroom floor tiles looked grubby. I did not eat there so can't comment on food.

    There were some nice staff there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom fittings could do with some upgrading as pretty tarnished at this stage!

    Lovely friendly hotel in a beautiful spot overlooking the Sea. Staff very nice and friendly. Had dinner twice in the bar and thoroughly enjoyed both meals which were excellent, Breakfast lovely and freshly cooked to order. Enjoyed the pool, Sauna and jacuzzi in the leisure centre. It is a little distance from town so a car would be needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and enjoyable - would happily go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant food could have been a little more exciting. Although clean and very acceptable standard, bathroom could do with a wee bit of an upgrade.

    The price for the accommodation provided was very reasonable. Very pretty and quiet location - but also accessible to nearby town. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stop on our way to our next adventure and the sunset view was spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really needed a fan in our room. The heat wave, which although unusual at this location was almost unbearable to sleep through. I Asked for a fan and they did not have any available.

    Our room had a fantastic view. Staff were wonderful. The dining experience was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    In general quite a pleasant stay but I will not be recommending this hotel and I will not be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in was not told where breakfast was served or where the room was. Room was lovely, spacious and clean on arrival but very little if any housekeeping was given during my two night stay. Tea bags, milk were not replinished. We ran out of toilet roll!! Small things but they are a mark of a place.

    Location is amazing. Views from bedroom out of this world. Bar food was tasty and plentiful and very good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Location: (We had a lovely view from the bedroom window and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had the bar food on two occasions and didn't think it was great. Asked at reception what the menu for the dining room was and was told it was the same as the bar menu (this could have been because it was classed as low season) so went into Dungarvan to eat in the evening and had a lovely meal.

    Location: (We had a lovely view from the bedroom window and the fact that it was near the greenway and a lovely golf course beside it)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Welcoming and friendly suited to couples or families in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect.The staff were very friendly . Even though i didn't have children with me I noticed the family friendly atmosphere within the hotel. Additionally There is an amazing playground outside. The breakfast was yummy and the room was very bright and airy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall really great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area had some areas I felt could be freshed up. Power wash tiles in a few areas, paint statues around pool area. Clean steam room and sauna glass doors. Better hairdryers in ladies changing area. Also lockers in changing rooms were poor. Staff were great in pool area and we loved using the facilities.

    We loved the location, we loved using the facilities in the hotel. The staff were all so polite, pleasant, helpful and friendly. The rooms were great. Overall really enjoyed our stay and if the price was right would definitely come again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were travelling for the first time with our 1 year old. We were given a lovely big room with travel cot. The location is great, it's a perfect base for exploring. The pool was lovely. Views are fab.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location, spotless clean in all areas of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Again dated decor so 90's even just get rid of the pelmets wud help.

    Breakfast cooked to order. Excellent scrambled eggs. Beautiful view from our room. Pity decor is so dated but spotless room and bathroom nice fluffy towels.Nice new tellys.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.0
    Front desk staff were very friendly bed was very comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place needs mordernisation especially the bar area...musky mouldy smell in our room

    Front desk staff were very friendly bed was very comfy breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff make the stay worthwhile
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are very dated and in need of a revamp. Towel rail fell off the wall. Rooms were a little musty at the beginning.

    Staff were so nice; helpful and accommodating. We were staying to attend a funeral. Night porter was such a gentleman. (I won't include the bar man in my rating - very grumpy and irate). The staff could not be anymore understanding and offered us help in anyway possible. Food was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Can’t really comment on the facilities as only stayed one...
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t really comment on the facilities as only stayed one night and it was to attend a friends funeral. But couldn’t fault the staff and after my friends explained that I would be getting there a little late and that I am diabetic and it was important that I could get something to eat the chef stayed in to accommodate this, so top marks from me for that. Other that that rooms clean and comfortable with a decent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay, friendly staff, great location, lovely views, new mattresses needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although new carpets had recently been fitted, the room had a bit of an 80's feel to it. Furniture all looked a little tired and in need of replacement. The mattress seemed old and dipped inwards like a trampoline! We mentioned that to the lady at reception after night 1 and we were assured that a different mattress would be put on the bed, but it felt exactly the same, later that day. We mentioned it again and we were assured it had been changed or if not another one would be put on, but if it was, it did not seem any different. So two nights with that "sinking feeling". Would be slow to book again. New mattresses needed! Room was pleasant and spacious, with a lovely view, but fan in bathroom was like a WW2 bomber in mid flight, tiles made the floor very cold (I appreciate it was Feb). Bathrooms need an overhaul too. Lot of rust on the shower rail.

    The staff were friendly and the room was bright with a lovely view out to the sea/coast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in a great location with great amenities for...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is quite dated

    The hotel is in a great location with great amenities for families. Every member of staff we spoke with couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Hotel while dated, is impeccably clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.4
    NYE in Gold Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not modern enough !! Needs a clean up in gaming area and pool area!! And more modern blinds/curtains for rooms

    The location !! Food was excellent staff lovely especially at reception !! Bar staff weren't great but we're nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    Adequate. You get for what you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive breakfast for very basic options. My partner had toast, cereal and coffee. I had tea. All this came up to 15 euro. Rooms and hotel very dated. Thin walls in room meant I could hear next door neighbours. Pub smelt very musty and lunch/dinner options not great.

    Staff are friendly. Reasonable rates

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    No complaints whatsoever, excellent food, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this hotel, it's location, the staff and comfort we couldn't fault , his was our 44th aniversary it's the second time we've visited the hotel, it's still an excellent place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was average

    We were cycling the green way. The location of the hotel was perfect our room overlooking the water. The sauna zacussi and pool was great after a 23k bike ride. It's possible to rent bikes from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.6
    Lovely location and potential high but very dated and in desperate need of a deep clean sadly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel could be amazing if it was just a little better taken care of. The room was filthy with cobwebs and dust everywhere. Even the basket with tea bags in had mould along the bottom of it. There was a lamp above one bed that when you turned it on buzzed and seemed dangerous. The bathroom was in need of a good scrub and had mould in several places as well as a tap that was insecure and span around in the basin when you tried to turn it on. The room smells of dust yet the hotel seems busy so I’m not sure why they don’t hire proper cleaners to do a good job and update it a little? Lick of paint wouldn’t go amiss. I actually also had a week stay in the cottages booked as part of my trip and prayed they would be better than the hotel having also previously stayed in the Villas. Unfortunately I just feel for the money being charged on this site I would be outraged with the standards in all of the accommodation at this resort. The cottage actually wouldn’t have been so bad had it not had an oven that looked like it had been installed fresh from the local dump and covered in rust inside and out!!! I also had a stinking dirty old mop left inside my wardrobe which meant I couldn’t use it because the smell was unbearable and overpowering! I removed the mop to the porch and resorted to laying my clothing out on the spare bed inside my case for the week. The hot tap on my en suite sink did not work at all and again the level of cleaning done was very poor I bought my own products and gave it all a good scrubbing myself. When I stayed in the villas previously everything smelt dusty and there was again dirt and old spiders webs everywhere! Lots of windows that didn’t close properly and the place just needed updating. Nothing a deep clean and a lick of paint and some less worn out furniture wouldn’t fix but it seems no investment is being made in the properties around the resort by its owner.

    Nice views across Dungarvan bay outside the hotel and a secluded location but still close to the town itself by car. Beautiful scenery nearby. Not noisy at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was freezing and overcrowded. There was no room to change for pool as all benches were full of bags due to there being no lockers available. We were forgotten about in the bar after ordering our dinner. Took 50 mins to receive food. No apology. Didn't find any staff anyway friendly apart from the younger lady in the pool. The television in the room is a joke and the controls didn't work. Left the do not disturb sign on the door and cleaner still entered the room.

    The playground outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.3
    nice location but faded glory. restaurant is a joke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was faded glory. Site location is great, but inside it was old and worn out. old mattresses, only one power grid in the room, bad heating, lite bulbs were broken, door locks so old and insecure, a kid could break it. Restaurant was an old pub with unfriendly staff and it smelled like 100 year old smoke.

    Site location is great, price low, and the lady at the receiption was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice Hotel but inside needs tobe brought into this centuary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel could do with a revamp. Bedroom needs a facelift and bathroom fittings toilet holder was broken. Internet broadband signal really bad. Bar and restaurant is very worn and outdated. Food in bar basic

    Breakfast was good selection was limited

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    very much the off season when we were there, but it was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lockers not available in leisure area for personal stuff, changing area needs upgrading.

    very much the off season when we were there, but it was a very enjoyable stay for us there. the leisure facilities were very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.0
    It’s ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the place is completely old. Tv was very old more than 30 years... the place looks like they never invested to keep the place moderno and new

    It’s a beautiful view. They are friendly. Swimming pool is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    We had a very enjoyable stay . We had gone to cycle and the location was excellent for this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the pool to open for adults earlier and perhaps breakfast going on until 10-30

    Very comfy bed -great space in room Very handy for the greenway and Dungarvan . Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    I found it very relaxing and location beautiful - staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was very very dated and needs attention. New shower curtain in particular & new kettle . Leisure centre needs a good clean and makeover especially the tiles in pool

    Location opposite the sea front - Our room facing out to sea - room 208 Easy to get taxi into main town - cost 10 euro

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.2
    Lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seriously needs renovation.. lobby looks ok but bedroom was very dated with springs in 1 bed completely gone. Not worth the price we paid.. not good value for money. I would not recommend or stay here again.

    Lovely view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, friendly Staff and brilliant breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner finished seeving around 8.30. Could have done with it being a bit later as we missed out.

    Great location and nice hotel for the money. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Very relaxing - good walking in the vicinity and plenty to do. Staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner we had in the restaurant was disappointing. Bar was very busy and noisy but that may have been because Waterford-Cork match was on TV one day and there seemed to be a large private party the next day.

    Views from room over the bay superb. Location. Staff helpful. Good leisure centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.3
    When I brought up my views to tge receptionist she said I clearly had expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is uncomfortable, very dated, no atmosphere. The bar is not at All comfortable. Which made us leave to find somewhere else . We ended up walking 60 mins away

    The outside of the holiday villas looked lively

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast served by smiling staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small screen old fashioned TVs are unacceptable in this day and age. Previous reviewers mentioned this and they're still there.

    Excellent breakfast served by smiling staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and could do with a refurb. Not overly clean - crumbs from day one of our stay still on carpet on day 4. Cracked basin in bathroom

    Location and view stunning. Staff super friendly and could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Spectacular view and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattress needs to be replaced. Food in the bunker bar was poor/average.

    Spectacular view and spacious room. Room was clean and hallways looked freshly painted. Really great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great Hotel, Good location, Excellent Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't really fault anything about the Hotel.

    This was our second visit to the Hotel and it didn't disappoint. We asked for the same room as before as it had a balcony overlooking the sea and it wasn't a problem. It was a large room with a large sitting area and a table and chairs on the balcony. The hotel has a swimming pool and there's a Golf Club next door. There is also a great beach near by. We didn't travel with any children but it had great facilities for them and nothing was too much trouble for the staff at reception providing tennis balls etc. It was lovely and quiet in the morning. No traffic. We ate in the bar and the food was great. We were very impressed. It had definitely improved since our last visit. We only stayed 2 nights but wish we had booked for an extra few nights. Hopefully we will be back soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    A very nice stay in a great location close to the Greenway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps if there were slippers and bathrobes available for getting from the room to the pool.

    Staff assisted us with bicycle hire. Very helpful. Also there is an excellent playground and there was a bouncy castle on one of our evenings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Dungarvan. Excellent location to cycle the greenway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit dated and very rambling. Reception area lacked atmosphere. Dinner options very poor. Either large featureless dining room or bar. Food choice very poor. Good for casual family holiday but not for young or older couples.

    Croissants very flakey. View from our room fantastic. Service re hired bicycles for greenway excellent. Golf enjoyable and very affordable. Breakfeast good with friendly waitress.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned decor. The tv looked older than me. The fan extractor in the bathroom stays on for ages after the light is turned off, very annoying when trying to sleep

    Lovely views from the room. Clean room. Lots of parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    EXCELLENT PLACE, SOUND STAFF
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad at all

    The staff and location were excellent.. The place is a bit dated, but I actually enjoyed it! It reminded me of going on holidays with my parents back in the 90s.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Sang in to the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a sing song in the pub downstairs. Laughed and sang all night. One we will never forget. Stayed here by chance and didn't regret a second. Thanks for the great night!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.8
    DUMP
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above...would not recommend or stay there again

    Very outdated & in desperate need of remodeling.TV is at least 20 yrs old analog. Poor value & overpriced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous location, should be much busier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is outdated certainly from decor point of view but then again it was quiet, this hotel deserves much more business and then I expect they would invest. Food provision was not at all inviting. Bar areas need modernising. Small things like doors sticking and poor TV reception could be easily improved. But would I go back having said all that, definitely. Absolutely. left my prescription sunglasses out all night on a bench on the grass and they were there just where I had left them the next day, where in the world would you get that kind of safety and security? Also our unlocked bikes as our lock failed on us but perfectly safe.

    Parking outside the door. lovely friendly staff and a room overlooking the sea, when in bed it was like being on a ship, fabulous view. And although an older couple we could cycle to Dungarvan which is 6 kilometres away and the Waterford Greenway is just a couple of km away. Dungarvan is aone of the best holiday towns in Ireland in our view for food, bars and cafes and general ambience and not gforgetting some of the bst beaches in Ireland within short cycling distance. All good. Leisure centrew looked fabulous, did not have time to use it but it looked so inviting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    3.3
    Poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced and not clean

    Only thing this hotel has going for it is the view, rooms were big but seriously dated even a pair of curtains would have made the difference. Breakfast was not included n booking but we had no intention of paying 12.50 each which would have cost us another50 Euro for our stay. Bathroom was moldy was not clean. We had a drink n bar and was charged 6 Euro less n bars n town for very same drink

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing if you are not a full Irish fry person. Decor in the hotel bedrooms is very dated

    The location and variety of facilities are excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    Not a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt damp, Decor very dated, Bed was lumpy. All the lights didn't work. Small old fashioned t.v. The jacuzzi and pool area was dirty, pool water was very cloudy. Needs a complete makeover.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Love Dungarvan; hotel is great location, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the last evening had hoped to have dinner at around 8 pm but were told that meals had finished being served earlier that evening; disappointing as beautiful sunny evening and had hoped to enjoy dinner and a couple of drinks al fresco. Also feel breakfast is too expensive at €12.50 pp.

    Loved the location by the sea. Shown to our accommodation; clean and tidy. Staff friendly and helpful. Adjacent to nice walks. Used Greenway Cycle which is nearby (very handy as bicycles were delivered to hotel). Used swimming pool 2 out of 3 days; enough room to enjoy swim on both days.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Very nice stay to do Greenway cycle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/lounge is a little tired needs a bit of a revamp but it dident take away from our stay at all as it feels nice and homely

    The new Greenway is a fantastic asset to have on your door way

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Good food, pleasent staff, good for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The out dated decor and furnishings itso a long time since I've seen such an old TV.

    Hotel good from outside, interior bestate described as dated but clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.8
    very friendly and helpful staff; lovely bedrooms; but BEWARE of thieves at the leisure centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool facilities were the biggest let down e.g. theft of my belongings; shortage of locker keys; unhygienic as children were eating sweets in the pool area; no swimming lane and only 3 hours allocated for "adults only" at specific inconvenient times. The leisure centre is not suitable for couples/ singles. Only suitable for families It was quite pricey as breakfast was not included in the overall price. €205 for two nights.

    friendly helpful staff; warm comfortable bedroom; amazing seaviews; safe place for bikes

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    5.8
    Dated basic hotel shame as excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception wasn't very friendly,no enjoy your stay,no thank you for staying with us was everything ok, that sort of thing basic customer service. Room was very dated with noisy electric fan heating

    Location is excellent amazing views

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Basic but great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really helpful and friendly staff who were really welcoming. The hotel room was very dated and basic but for a night away to explore the Greenway it was great value for money. The staff were fantastic and let us store our bikes in the hotel in a locked room which was really helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    10
    RELAX at the Gold Coast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather, but it is december!.

    The staff are first rate. The accomodation good and the bar/food very good. Is there anywhere else to stay in Dungarvan?:).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.9
    Amazing views and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of the room was a bit dated specially in the bathroom

    Room was spacious, staff were lovely and very accommodating, view from the balcony was beautiful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful three day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bunker Bar was a little too noisy.

    The room was spacious with great view and the staff were very friendly and helpful. At breakfast the buffet table was very well stocked and the food freshly cooked to order.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Comfortable room and great breakfast. Great location to break the journey from Rosslare to Killarney.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Got a balcony room which basically felt like an apartment, very spacious and comfortable. Beautiful view. Asked for a tv with a chrome cast connection, got given a 40". Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Nothing fancy but comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While it's a spotless clean room it could do with an update. Throw overs on the beds were a bit grubby.Travelling into town was a long road, no foot path, a taxi cost 10e

    The hotel has beautiful views from the sea front rooms. Staff very pleasant, food Good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Large room with living area including 2 sofas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could do with some attention: repaint door frame, redo sealant, etc.

    Large room with living area including 2 sofas. Sea view. Good choice of bar food as well as a restaurant with sea view.Leisure centre attached to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Fabulous relaxing and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners arrived in room just after 9 n woke us surely they cud wait a little longer as we were planning on going to breakfast at half 9 cause it was served till 10 n den found they didn't do anything as we had beds made-up

    The staff were very friendly the food was gorgeous n our stay was extremely peaceful just what we wanted, wud recommend it to anyone I know

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated however clean & roomy so all good.

    Lovely pool, very nice staff. We were upgraded to a bigger room as we have twin babies & a 5 year old so it was much appreciated. Food fabulous. Beds very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    5.4
    Alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is very tired, the TV must be 40 years old with no remote. We were on the 2nd floor and what I cannot understand is that nobody has thought to cut about 5 feet off the top of the trees outside the windows which would give you an 180 degree view and still leave enough of the tree for decoration. As it is your view of the bay is limited by about 1/3rd.

    Some of the staff were really good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    3.8
    For me the only thing going for it was it was close to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very tired looking and the food wasn't great. Won't be booking again.

    For me the only thing going for it was it was close to the sea and close to where I needed to be.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    A lovely restful, peaceful holiday. Brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedrooms were fine, but dated. The TV was so tiny, it was hard to watch it.

    I loved the location, overlooking the sea. Even though it is very much a family oriented hotel, it was very quiet at night. We had 2 very peaceful nights sleep. Staff were so friendly and helpful. We are actually going back in a couple of weeks again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay and lady in reception wonderfully helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a lovely room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    The reception staff and breakfast staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be updated. Bar food expensive.

    The reception staff and breakfast staff were excellent. Especially Mick on reception. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Good recommend to anyone
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant staff helpful and informative

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Good time had by all 11- 60 years old
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last serving of food to early

    Location access to green belt and beeches good swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Large room my son could play and the play ground was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff not great

    Large room my son could play and the play ground was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was narrower than most modern hotels

    The staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Lovely location, amazing views, waiting staff need training
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen being renovated; only 2 choices on menu; waiting staff slow and disinterested

    Pool was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    The price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: