Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Ireland hotel reviews
  3. Galway County hotel reviews
  4. Loughrea hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Gordon's Guesthouse

Reviews of Gordon's Guesthouse

Tynagh Loughrea, H62 RX96 Loughrea, Ireland

#4 of 9 hotels in Loughrea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 80 B&B reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 51

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2019

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay, lovely, friendly host, made us feel very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ensuite toilet was very small, if we were any bigger we would'nt have fitted!

    reat Breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Also great to be able to make cups of tea/coffee whenever we wanted.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2019

    7.9
    Stayed here on a stop over on our way to Sligo, if a taste...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eat somewhere before you arrive as there is nowhere to eat in the village, although our host was more that happy to cook for us had we needed it.

    Stayed here on a stop over on our way to Sligo, if a taste of traditional Irish life is what you are after then this is the place for you. Quite little street with a pub/shop very friendly host who couldn't do enough for us. The pub next door was quite lively for a little village and as a result we had a very enjoyable breakfast next norning with a couple of Irish men that were passing through.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2019

    9.6
    Staying at Caroline’s feels like staying at a friends house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at Caroline’s feels like staying at a friends house. She made us feel very welcome and had great tips for our trip to Galway. The room is really nice - very clean, quiet and the bed ist super comfortable. The breakfast is also great! Since the bar was closed for reconstruction we went to the other pub a couple houses down the street. There we had an amazing and very interesting evening with the locals who are all very welcoming and up for a chat. We'll definitely come back! 😊

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2019

    9.6
    It was like coming to a friend's house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was like coming to a friend's house. Caroline welcomed me heartily and after showing me the room we had a beer and a nice chat. By the way the room was clean, cosy and quiet. I slept so well. For breakfast she made wonderful scrambled eggs and everything you need was provided: cereals, fruits, coffee, even soy milk .... Her recommendations were so helpful. All in all a wonderful stay. (I wish I had stayed longer). You definitely should come here.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2019

    9.6
    Shame the bar is closing, but can't wait to try Carolines new Bistro and wine bar once it opens.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no en-suite bathroom. bar closed for renovations. Conversion to a new Bistro.

    Comfortable clean room. Outstanding breakfast, great craic in the bar up the street.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2019

    10
    A lovely, homely guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have just spent the best week ever in this wonderful guesthouse. Caroline welcomed me and I really feel like I have known her all my life. My room was spotlessly clean and my bed was so comfortable I struggled to get up every morning. The shower room was superb too with plenty of room in the cubicle. There is also a fully equipped kitchen and a bathroom to use upstairs. I didn't use the bath as I would have ended up staying in there for hours!! The breakfast room really gave me the family, country cottage feel. It was nice to look out and see a peacock wandering down the road too! The location of Gordon's is in the quaint little village of Tynagh and with a short 15 minute drive to Loughrea I was able to park my car for €3 for the day and get a bus into Galway city for just €13 return. I have nothing negative to say about Gordon's. The added bonus was having fusses with Jacksy the Yorkshire Terrier every day :) Thank you Caroline for my lovely stay, I can't wait to come back again very soon!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2019

    7.9
    Caroline is an amazing hostess- friendly, fun and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a beautiful location but we didn’t realise it was 45 minutes from Galway. Not really a problem as we had time, but could be for others.

    Caroline is an amazing hostess- friendly, fun and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble for her.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2019

    7.1
    Caroline is a wonderful host and helped us navigate our way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation is not in Galway City. When you search Galway City it comes up but is quite a drive from there in the country

    Caroline is a wonderful host and helped us navigate our way there and even provided a free glass of wine and bowl of pasta on arrival!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2019

    6.3
    Breakfast was nice, bed was comfortable, Caroline friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was under renovation & we weren't told this until we arrived , we were planning on eating in & had to drive a further 12klm there and back for a meal. The shower system wasn't explained clearly enough. Bathroom was extremely tight, not great value when compared to others in Ireland.

    Breakfast was nice, bed was comfortable, Caroline friendly.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2019

    9.6
    Lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not the best upstairs. Caroline was renovating downstairs so a few issues with the plumbing but she kept us informed and all was sorted.

    Caroline was the perfect host! Nothing too much trouble and helped us plan our day with her local knowledge. Breakfast lovely.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    10
    A great place to stay, very good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect for where I needed to go. Room was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. Caroline is a really lovely lady and it was a pleasure to meet her and stay here. Would definitely stay again if in the area. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    9.6
    As Harley Davidson bikers, we received a very warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As Harley Davidson bikers, we received a very warm welcome. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms and bathrooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. The owner, Caroline was fantastic, very helpful and friendly. Meeting Jacks (the dog) was the icing on the cake.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2019

    10
    Visit Gordon’s, get a Guinness and relax!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great WiFi, always a bonus... but the amazing breakfast and the ability to make a vegan breakfast in a short time; making sure that my dog was fed and watered. The lovely bed and the room, large enough for comfort, but small enough to be very cozy! The bar and atmosphere was awesome; welcomed by locals and staff alike! Caroline was just fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2019

    9.6
    Definitely stay for the breakfast. I can’t wait to go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little cramped, but still, excellent facilities for €35.00

    Very clean and comfortable bedroom. Great atmosphere in the bar. Caroline tirelessly runs a great guesthouse and bar while cooking an outstanding breakfast. Shout out to locals, PJ and Michael who were very welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2019

    10
    Loved the feel of the place - felt at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the feel of the place - felt at home. That was largely due to the incredible hospitality of Caroline, the owner. Do not have enough good words to say about her. In addition, the bed was very comfortable and breakfast was awesome! Although not a big drinker, I enjoyed hanging out at the pub and chatting to the locals. Not in Galway City but the area around the village is lovely - several nice castles around

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2019

    9.6
    Lovely warm welcome, very cosy bar with toasty fire lighting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely warm welcome, very cosy bar with toasty fire lighting downstairs. A little gem of accommodation in the centre of Tynagh village! Thank you Caroline

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    9.6
    Nice house. Great location. Right next to pub/restaurant. Handy drive to bigger towns/places to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ensuite was a little on the tight side and a glass for rinsing mouth would have been nice.

    Location was perfect as I was visiting someone in the area. Host is great. Lovely breakfast. Room was nice. very clean. Could do with a small table to leave things on. You can also bring your dog. Its a lovely house and I wish the owner well with it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    8.5
    Friendly, good value Irish pub.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More space to hang clothes.

    This is a small country pub and guest house. A lovely warm friendly, quiet traditional pub. The room was warm clean and comfortable. No frills basic accommodation but in my opinion great value for money. Food nice; typical "Pub grub'. Recommended.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    9.6
    True Irish country experience filled with warm generosity
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, and I mean it. Only the thing I dissatisfied was my language skill which was not good enough to express my heartfelt thanks to the village and the people.

    Though it was a solo visit, I did not, no, I could not feel any loneliness. The local people gathered in the bar kindly welcomed my visit, and I could share the hearteasing yet joyful time together. The food quality against the price, the cosy room, the degree of service, everything were utterly beyond my expectation too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.8
    Night Away
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very rural and traditional pub with rooms located in a quiet village location just over three quarters of an hours drive from Galway city. Caroline, my host, was amazing, very friendly, full of energy, had loads of local knowledge and nothing was too much trouble for her. Even cooking food for me at half past nine in the evening after I had arrived late! The locals in the pub treated me as though I were a long lost relative and I was included in just about every conversation. The laughter was infectious and I would love to meet some of those regulars again The breakfast was plentiful and my cooked option was cooked to order. The bedroom was a little basic but tastefully renovated and spotlessly clean with an exceptionally comfortable bed. Would stay here again if in the area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    Basic room right next to the village pub, which have the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic room right next to the village pub, which have the same owner. Host was wonderful and very helpfull. Had a great time at the pub at night talking with the friendly locals. Food is also served at the pub and is fantastic (and very cheap).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Great short holiday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we didn't like is that we couldn't stay another night.

    Our host Caroline was lovely and has taken great compassion into renovating this property. The room was fresh, clean and had a nice comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Excellent, friendly atmosphere. Comfortable and private. Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I just wanted a comfortable base for visiting old friends and family and this was perfect.

    Warm, friendly owner. Easy atmosphere. Respectful of privacy. Invited to ask for anything extra. Could come and go as I pleased. Coffee and tea available at all times.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay with your dog, Caroline was so nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all perfect!

    Perfect place to stay with your dog, Caroline was so nice and my dog Sally loved her. We would come back again! Very clean, fresh renovated and the best breakfast I had in Ireland! Also the pub is very lovely and it was great to meet the people there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Authentic gem with a lovely fresh interior
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a little gem of a place in Galway. The staff made me feel really welcome and couldnt do enough for me, (especially when it came to feeding me after long days at work). Freshly cooked breakfast served at whatever time suited my plans for work each day. The locals and atmosphere in the bar dowstairs were fantastic, the craic and songs were flying. Highly reccomend a stay here to recharge the soul.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent place, newly refurbished rooms which are modern and comfortable. Host is very welcoming and friendly. Food is available in the bar in the evenings. Breakfast is excellent too. Little bit far out from Galway, but that makes for a quiet and relaxing stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    5 stars Treatment a big thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was 100% prrfect

    There was nothing i didn't like Gordon's bar & guesthouse was perfect owner staff everything brilliant a big thank You.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    This pub has everything that a small town pub should have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This pub has everything that a small town pub should have. The atmosphere was electric with the locals keeping us laughing all night. Caroline the publican was amazing helping me plan out my next few days of travel. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Over all a great experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Caroline, the owner, was exceptionally helpful and her...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Caroline, the owner, was exceptionally helpful and her friendliness made my stay very enjoyable. I would thoroughly recommend the B&B and the bar served an excellent pint with great locals. Thanks Caroline

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2019

    10
    Absolutely loved it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Absolutely loved it all. Perfect hosting!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2019

    10
    Lovely landlady, gave us a very warm Irish welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely landlady, gave us a very warm Irish welcome. Enjoyed the black & white pudding 😋

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2019

    10
    Best bacon and egg breakfast in Galway !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best bacon and egg breakfast in Galway

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2019

    8.8
    Value for Money, Friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit far

    very good

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2019

    9.6
    Gordon’s Guesthouse
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a gorgeous location, very clean. Host was very accommodating. Can’t fault any part of it.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2019

    9.6
    Caroline was such a lovely young lady who made sure we felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Caroline was such a lovely young lady who made sure we felt very welcome and went out of her way to make sure our stay was great.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2019

    10
    Great Hostess who went above and beyond.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Hostess who went above and beyond. Irish hospitality to the max.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2019

    9.2
    Super place to stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed a bit of TV in the room

    Clean,tidy, comfy bed, bar down stairs,great breakfast and super price.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2019

    9.6
    Very nice breakfast :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast :)

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2019

    8.3
    Very good breakfast and the owner is very pleasant and give...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast and the owner is very pleasant and give us a very good recommandations Very good place to visit Burren

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2019

    10
    Excellent host .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent host . The room was great. I'll be back .thanks

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2019

    9.2
    Very cozy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a drive from Galway.

    Nice breakfast. Very homely. Helpful owner. Nice village.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2019

    10
    Lovely host, great breakfast anything you'd like.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely host, great breakfast anything you'd like. Rooms were cosy and the bed was super comfortable. Will definitely be back! 😊

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    9.6
    Caroline is a real treat looking afterall your needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Caroline is a real treat looking afterall your needs.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Great staff great people
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Gordon's Guesthouse, Tynagh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed our stay here. The owner was extremely hospitable and kind. Its a very quiet area and very peaceful which was what we wanted.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather

    Breakfast. Ride horse by Flowerhill Very good for Cross Country horseriders Possibility for dinner (extra) was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.0
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit farther than expected but totally worth it.

    Its a really comfortable place. Definitely made our trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Amazing hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all

    Everything about this little country pub/b&b

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Great atmosphere enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly hostenjoyable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Great hospitality superb cleanliness fantastic breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hospitality superb cleanliness fantastic breakfast!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. From our warm welcome to the comfy bed. It's a beautiful wee spot!!

    Stayed in July 2018

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 51

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!