Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Greville Arms Hotel Mullingar 3 stars

Pearse Street, Mullingar, Ireland

#12 of 16 hotels in Mullingar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1059 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Massive hotel with loads of character and history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was supposed to be free wifi but the signal was so poor it very rarely worked

    Massive hotel with loads of character and history. Also a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Stay okay but don't think I would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the noise until 3 am Saturday night. We were on 2nd floor and found stairs hard. Smoke coming in through our window. I thought the price for one night really expensive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    always stay if in the area always a welcome reception bar...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    always stay if in the area always a welcome reception bar staff very helpful and friendly good choice of menu in restaurant and breakfast spot on Regards Tony D

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    The property is nice and clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside about this property is no pool ..and the owner doing what suits him ..not the paying customer

    The property is nice and clean ..staff are great food is lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant and comfortable place to stay with a good restaurant, in a bustling market town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the car park could be better signposted from the main road. It's hard to spot when you arrive the first time

    Nice big room, good food in restaurant, plenty of good secure parking at back of hotel, comfortable old fashioned inn.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Location was great, staff lovely and great buzz around the...
    • People with friends
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty roasting but considering we only get a short summer in Ireland couldn’t have asked for ac :)

    Location was great, staff lovely and great buzz around the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The hotel itself is lovely, the residents bar and beer...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is lovely, the residents bar and beer garden is amazing. The location is brilliant. Staff were very friendly and i would book this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is dated and needs a renovation badly, I would say starting with the bar area, to make it brighter and more welcoming, and to keep up with the other bars and hotels in the town.

    This a well located hotel right in the heart of the town, close to the main bus stops and about 7minute walk from train station, there is a secure car park also. The staff are always friendly and helpful, the food is great too, in the main cafe or restaurant, I met with family and we had a nice dinner in the restaurant. The hotel overall is dated and needs a facelift, the bar needs brightening up and just needs a refresh, the room was comfy and a mix of modern and dated furniture, the bathroom has not been touched in at least 30years, but had good power in the shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.5
    We stayed at this hotel as a stop from the airport, on our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress wasn't comfortable, it should be changed. And I did hear the music from the pub next door, which didn't really bother me but good for others to know.

    We stayed at this hotel as a stop from the airport, on our evening arrival day. The hotel staff is very friendly, the breakfast was excellent (even made their own scones) and they have their own parking, which is great when you have a car. The hotel has a classic english old feel to it, which was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    I wish we could have stayed longer,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    We liked everything, But I was surprised that there was no lift, My breathing is bad so the stairs would have been to much fo me, The girl at reception did her best and got me a room on a lower floor, That made me very happy, Thanks to the lovely receptionist, P/S The food was scrumptious,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    'BREAKFAST ' LADY WAS LOVELY.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an older person finding my way i thought the bar staff could be more tolerant and patient....they will be my age one day.

    Complimentary water was a surprise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.6
    Room was very hot and stuffy even with windows open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very hot and stuffy even with windows open. A lot of noise from night club and people running up and down the corridor at 2am making lots of noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall the stay was enjoyable, but the bed and heat of the room was not ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were just a few problems with the room: 1. It was very warm. The outside temperature was around 20 C and the window in the room was facing a courtyard area so little to no breeze could get in. Also the window was very small. 2. Half of the springs in the bed were damaged - one side of the bed was dipped, which did not really effect me as I was a lone traveler and could sleep on the other side, but if you were sharing it would have been an issue.

    The staff were very friendly and were very helpful. The rooms have excellent soundproofing - there was a live band in the bar but you could not hear anything once you were in the room. The food was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel will be returning for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect rooms breakfast bar an music great.staff very kind an could not have been more helpful from check in to check out.the weather was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location and breakfast was fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that we were kept awake with the disco which was under our room it was so warm that we had to leave our window open as no air conditioning, but we did get a fan from reception straight away when we asked for one

    The location was great as the hotel is in the centre of the town, and the breakfast was excellent with a great choice to choose from. The staff serving the breakfast were also excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Room for improvement
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 204 and it was awful. No air conditioning so had to leave the window open as room was sweltering hot. The noise from the fan extractor that was directly outside the window was awful. It sounded like a reversing truck the enter night. We had an appointment at 8am that we had to be up for and got absolutely no sleep.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious . The hotel decor was lovely. Would stay again but definitely not in the same room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    really disappointed with our stay for the price i paid i could have rented a apartment on air bnb
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    how clean the room was, the bed was rock hard and finally price this was extremely over priced all most double it should have been

    i have stayed here a few times and have got a really nice room and was very happy unfortunatly on this stay the room i recieved was filthy dirty the place needed a good hoover and the bed was like lying on a pallet, i also found 144 euro to be way over what the room should be really worth if anything the room we got should have been around 80 euro, their was a festival on in the town so i think was probably why the room cost so much surly this should be regulated if that is the case, i had asked change room but the hotel was fully booked out so their for we had to stay with what we had

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and food, bedrooms/bed could do with an update
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms clean but very dated and the bed wasn't very comfortable

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast and lots of choice. Great location in the center of town and a nice bar to enjoy a drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    The location of the hotel was great and they had a good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water temperature in the shower was broken and I struggled to get hot water. Also there is a lot of noise from the club on Thursday and Friday night.

    The location of the hotel was great and they had a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, more than met my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our room I really could have done with a bit more light or at least one bright light near a mirror!!

    Location excellent and all staff met were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and spacious with a comfy bed. There is a choice of places to eat on-site, a bistro/restaurant, a pub that does food and another food bar open all day, there is also on-site parking too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Very noisy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bar next door playing very loud music until 2.am in the morning. I could not sleep. I contacted reception to complain and they said they could not do anything about it. I was very tired the next day for a very important business meeting I will not stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Will not stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and cleanliness

    Beds were extremely uncomfortable and mattresses need to be changed!!! Area for breakfast was a complete mess with no clean tables.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    No thank u
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Treatment from the management John

    Everything except for the manager after asking for assistance with him his now refusing any bookings as I was and reported to the manager and let me come stay with them again nw won't I asked that I am not going to be in the property if certain person was going to be there but no would not listen to me and then arrived last WK and wouldn't let me stay after me ringing to confirm the reservation, Everything is great there bit manager is very rude John.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in perfect location
    • Group
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didnt effect our group - but there is no lift in hotel

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of little extra touches to make our stay special. We were at a fifth birthday and staff really spoiled the Birthday girl. Beds were super comfy and room was clean . Coffee maker room in water etc all made for lovely stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay and will recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really couldn't fault the place, there is no lift but staff happy to help with bags.

    Organising a hen night here for 20 people was so easy. Karen did an amazing job and helped out with any requests (which were many!). Food was fabulous and plentiful and having a private area for our large meal really was the icing on the cake! The beer garden was an added plus on a sunny weekend and if we had known there was live music beforehand we wouldn't have moved from hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Didn't like that the access from carpark to reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that the access from carpark to reception was through area where customers were eating. Having to carry luggage through this area was not appropriate. No wifi available in the bedrooms which was very inconvenient for me as I could not use my laptop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rear parking, you park behind the building then to go into the hotel, have to enter through the lounge. It was not great when you are carting in luggage. But it’s Mullingar. Also the wifi did not reach our room. Had to move to the other end of the building.

    Was right in town. The food there was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Offers a promise but fails to deliver.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was appalling and should have been thrown out. Springs had gone and we had to turn it over to get a reasonable nights sleep.

    Staff were the biggest asset of a hotel that offers promise but fails to deliver.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    The Hotel was amazing and was over whelmed with the history,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing was the room was very warm and on opening the windows we had the noise from your garden area and were tired the next morning as we had to leave very early room no 220

    The Hotel was amazing and was over whelmed with the history, the food was wonderful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    It was okay as an overnight stop but we wouldn't want to stay for several days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paintwork in some parts of the bar was very grubby and we prefer our breakfast made to order. The bar areas needed freshened up.

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, very friendly staff and right in the heart of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift-only stairs!! Awkward with luggage

    Lovely hotel, very friendly staff and right in the heart of Mullingar. There is a lovely walk nearby in the Greenway

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    In the end, all was fine and it was good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet was dirty and issues with back waste - not nice, but staff reacted well and another room was provided without delay

    Staff were friendly and helpful, parking, wifi, food and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel-it was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rear entrance from the car park was a little grubby and gave a bad impression.

    Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel-it was fresh and piping hot. The bed was very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant & enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom can be prone to outside noise

    The staff were all very pleasant & friendly, a fantastic spread for breakfast. The bar has a great selection of beers, spirits & cocktails, along with plenty of tvs to watch the sport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Centre of town accommodation, room was very clean and we found there to be plenty of space for our luggage. Shower has bars of soap (I'm not a fan of shower Gel) and the other amenities were also good. Linen was very good and the towels still fluffy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was not available arly enough - I had to get 7.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not available arly enough - I had to get 7.31am train to Dublin but only a limited self service was available. There was a step inside the bedroom door which was hazardous-for entering and leaving and needs to be resolved.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Great but wifi and parking caused some grief
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in room was pathetic much of time although good elsewhere, parking presented difficulties on arrival- had to pay for parking nearby until place was found in hotel car park

    Room, bar, location, food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    I wish I could have stayed longer! I hope to come back one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only complaint I have is that I wanted to have a bath but I couldn't get the water warm enough.

    Beautiful building. They have done a very good job of keeping it updated. I loved this little town of Mullingar. The people are super friendly and the food is good. The room was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Mullingar comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, felt spring or something coming thru sheets

    The property was excellent, staff were very polite and helpful, food was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, clean and comfortable. Value for money. Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the bedrooms and bathrooms was dated. However, they were clean and comfortable and we all slept well.

    The bar meals and breakfast were excellent. The staff very friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. The hotel museum was a real bonus for the children. The residents seating areas were great. Great location in the centre of town and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two much traffic on main Street. The carpark could be better.

    The room was very nice and the bed was excellent. Staff very friendly good crowd in the bar 👏👏

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay very geniune ppl and good ppl to speak to staff are amazing
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a smoking rm and the man said it was not with no signs and always have been in the smoking room , other than that perfect

    Comfortable and peaceful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Not the same as before! 🙁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room we were given is ryt in front of hotel/Road and with old style windows they're draughty and let every single noise from ppl chatting to car noise to builders working at eight ó clock in..we had very disrupted sleeps...the issue Was not resolved even after we raised it.. .

    The room we were given was beautiful and comfortable.. Breakfast in greville Arms is amazing so much selection. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for. I paid very little so received very little from this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was rock solid. The radiator sounded like it was about to take off and visit the moon. The rooms definitely did not match the ones shown on booking.com and was noway 15x15!!

    Great staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    A very welcoming hotel in the centre of a busy town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We had trouble with our key and Gerry came up to the room with us to make sure it was working (he was very helpful and polite).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Keighley is the best thing about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell. The breakfast was really oily and tasted off. My first day the room was cold as was the shower and the hairdryer blew only cold air. However I did ring regarding the room being cold and they did send a heater. No lift either. Which is not acceptable for a hotel where most of the guests are elderly. The noise at night also is very loud. I can sleep through anything but I would say this would be a problem for most.

    The best thing about the hotel was Keighley the receptionist. Considering she'd never worked in a hotel before and had only been employed just over 6 weeks she is the best thing about the hotel. The saving grace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was pretty good
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing, noice from nite club kept me awake and shower was freezing next morning. Had booked smoking room and got non smoking room

    Breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.5
    The Hotel is very centrally located in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is very much in need of refurbishment, it is very tired looking throughout. There is no lift which in this day and age is unacceptable. The room layout was a bit strange in that the wash hand basin was separate from the bathroom. I don't know if this is the case in all rooms. Internally on the ground floor there are lot of different levels involving steps.

    The Hotel is very centrally located in the centre of Mullingar town. Breakfast was good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had been quite a while since myself and my partner got away so where looking forward to it but we were very disappointed. The carpark was a joke, no spaces, when we asked receptionist we were told the gate was broken and to pay in a carpark accross the road which we wouldn't be reimburst for. Breakfast was like going to your local cafe, nothing special for a hotel, seem to be more concerned about the customers coming in from the street rather than the people staying in the hotel who have paid already. Hotel needs updating too, and should inform clients that there are no lifts, very dark hotel.

    The Ulysses bar was the best part to the stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the Greville Arms is simply amazing. The rooms are comfortable, the atmosphere is welcoming, the food is delicious, the location is central, and the staff are beyond helpful. Couldn’t ask for a better experience, will stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.5
    Overall enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table booked for 8.30 for dinner . Waiting nearly 40 minutes in lobby to be seated.

    Dinner and Cocktails were lovely and breakfast very nice. Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dark - lighting very poor. Our shower didn’t have any hot water and room was cool. Although I reported the room temperature it made no difference. The hotel does not have a lift or disabled access to bedrooms. This was not evident on the booking app.

    Positively the food was very good and staff were pleasant. Room spacious enough and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it from start to fiinish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only half a loo roll, on contacting staff it was sorted very quickly.

    The Bed was very comfortable, Bathroom very clean & tidy. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room windows old so a little drafty from bathroom one. Room lighting a little dark.

    Reasonable price. Very clean room and staff very friendly. Good central town location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    The room was particularly nice and spacious.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was satisfactory.

    The room was particularly nice and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they supplied me with a heater and then a kitchen plate when I requested them. The breakfast superb, and relaxed atmosphere in breakfast lounge. The foyer area nicely decorated, busy and lively. Situated in middle of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    I liked the friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heat, it was way way too much. Rooms tired and dated,windows full of condensation. The hotel is so busy i don't see how they can clean it properly, felt it was grubby.

    I liked the friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was lovely and organised with military precision. Enjoyed the bar had a lovely evening with friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Clean, friendly, great location, good food and great bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was in the bedroom rather than the bathroom but it didn't matter too much and the car park is too small but nothing that affected the happiness of the stay.

    Bed was extra comfy. The bar is fabulous. Breakfast was yummy and the staff were lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    3.8
    Miserable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had stale damp smell, booked double bed & got 2 single beds instead & no hot water from tap or shower at all. Had to boil kattle to wash myself in the morning!!

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    3.3
    very very disappointing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms was very cold on arrival. Lighting was poor and grab rail in bath came away from the wall while showering leaving with an injured leg. The manner of the duty manager dealt who we informed was beyond poor..

    Not much to like really.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Convenient location, friendly staff, comfortable bed and excellent food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more brightness in at least some of the public areas (currently could be perceived as a bit gloomy). Hot water arriving a little more quickly in the sink.

    Food in the restaurant was excellent. (Waitress service was fairly efficient but let down in small ways eg lack of friendly eye contact, left scraps of food when clearing away, but overall efficient). Reception and breakfast staff could not be faulted.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.5
    The worst Hotel I ever stayed in very disappointed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt awful the carpet was all stains . The lockers had cigarette burns the bathroom floor had splats of the tile filler still stuck to the tiles . The breakfast was awful they had the day before salad bar on display with coleslaw which had a film of mayonaise on it . The breakfast table was against a room divider that was covered in scrape marks the list goes on . I would never go back

    No , I did not rate it 4 out of 5 . I would rate it 0

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    I was rather disappointed with the bed, it had a hollow in it and was very uncomfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was lumpy and very uncomfortable, the TV was not on standby and finding the Power/On switch was tricky. It was very noisy until about 1am and a man was trying to get into my room for 20 minutes.

    Breakfast was excellent, I chose the full Irish breakfast and there was more than enough to keep you going until evening. The staff went out of their way to help me defrost the car windows and even brought a jug of warm water for me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two little things - parking was a nightmare but then again it is town centre. got sorted eventually. The mattress was very firm but again that’s personal preference

    Delicious breakfast 🥞

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel in Mullingar - I would return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel car park is located to the rear of the building - slightly difficult to find space in it, but not a big deal

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, excellent location in the town centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    The room was beautiful.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were really thin and I was kept awake by noisy guests. Breakfast in the lounge was over cooked and unappetising.

    The room was beautiful. The bath robes were comfy and warm. The bistro had an amazing lunch and the desserts were to die for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay but would ask for different room if return visit. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold, no central light so room too dim even with lamps on.

    Atmosphere, decor in public spaces. Staff very pleasant & helpful. Food very good. Entertainment very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Food lovely in bar, breakfast was alright , nice atmosphere...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the hotel is a bit tired in places, chipped paint and carpets very worn, could do with a little tlc , bit nervous with all the candles lighting , parking limited spaces, got blocked in had to get manager to sort it out

    Food lovely in bar, breakfast was alright , nice atmosphere in the evening with music playing, staff very helpful, overall an enjoyable weekend away with my partner, will probably book again for a weekend break

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.0
    Nice looking property but terrible food, a lot of lazy staff esp the tall girl on the desk.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was gross. The sausages were reheated likely from the day before. For 2 days I could only eat a pastry. Wifi very weak i was there on business but couldn't work due to weak internet. Girl on desk very unhelpful about this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent always go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed to small room to far away to many steps and the noise in room from next doors shower toilet this was this 1 room we never experienced this before we stay twice a year

    Freshest croissant ever staff are so friendly I.e catering staff foods always amazing and while place spotless

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    New year celebrations with family and friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of a lift is my only fault.i have ms and can walk unaided but I find the stairs difficult.

    Old world charm and atmosphere is super.the location is very central.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Top quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was spacious & very comfortable. The food was top quality & the staff are so friendly. We will definitely stay at the Greville again. Thank you to the lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant, and Festive wishes to all your staff who were so helpful and friendly. Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift !!!!!

    The receptionist was a lovely helpful girl who got us a room just at the top of the stairs. Unfortunately there is no lift but stairs are low treads and great bannisters so managed okay. The dinner was lovely and waitresses very pleasant and helpful. Had very good fillet steaks 🥩 for mains- an excellent selection of vegetables etc fantastic value. Even without a lift I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable and pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The twin room was quite small and could do with a revamp. Whilst everywhere was very clean, the hotel could do with an overhaul.

    The hotel was very clean and in the centre of the town. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order (had omelette) and very fresh.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    Loud noise, freezing room, hard old bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traveling on business asked for a quiet room. At 8.30 a disco started and the room literally vibrated until 12. Should have been told and check in and I wouldn’t have stayed. Radiator didn’t work. Room totally freezing. Water lukewarm in shower the next day. Total disaster for next day work.

    Very little

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    A lovely clean and welcoming hotel - great value for money and in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing I could complain about

    Friendly staff, great location on High Street, room was lovely and clean with nice toiletries, bottled water and a chocolate on the pillow. Breakfast was lovely. Although a very busy hotel the rooms were quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: