Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hazelbrook House B&B 3 stars

85 Lower Gardiner Street, D1 Dublin, Ireland

#80 of 105 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 976 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    Right on airport bus line.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating. Curtains were dirty and didn’t block out the light from the courtyard lights.

    Right on airport bus line. Pub with music close by. Walking distance to many Dublin highlights.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.4
    Could have been described as a Motel 6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a bed and breakfast, but a hotel. Breakfast was not free. If you wanted breakfast, you had to pay for it. The bed did not have a top sheet. There was no remote control for the tv in the room. Pat found one and put one in there. The lighting was poor in the room. Ok I’m the bathroom.

    The front desk guy, Pat, was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    Convenient but to avoid for long stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fluching toilet broken. Walls very thins - Others rooms tv and voice disturbing. Price of room not including breakfast when the name of establisment finishs with B&B...sometime no one to open the front door...

    Room not on street.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Place very close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the main street , very noisy untill late and back at 6am, little sleep!! At 6am it was like day in the room , no black curtains.

    Place very close to the center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.8
    expensive at 125 euro for what i got
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was and underlying smell of urine in the room Also the toilet was not clean when i entered there was urine in the toilet bowl

    Bed very comfy shower good booked a double room and ended up in a room with 4 beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    What do you need more when you open the door and are in Dublin?!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little too expensive for that quality - as virtually all the hotels in the UK and Ireland

    Excellent geographical situtation. Friendly staff. Quiet room. Reasonable English breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    The inside bathroom is noisy sound, It's too small space for put the luggage on floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inside bathroom is noisy sound (look like the sound of the machine). The staff could not change the room. In the bathroom is not good smell, The luggage must carry to the high floor, no lift and no help from staff. It's too small space for put the luggage on floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    Pricey but delivers on most things.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This B&B doesn’t include breakfast in its prices. The rooms are a bit old. You can sometimes hear the people in the next room. No toiletries expect lol roll and soap are provided. Some staff were friendly while others were a bit neautral - not unfriendly just a little cold for the hospitality trade. The price is high considering what you get but Dublin is an expensive place.

    Location is great. It’s quieter than I expected given the thin walls and busy road. Room is big enough. WiFi works fine. Was able to store bags on checkout day and check in early.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Very good location and the airport-bus line is right next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could hear everything and everyone on the floor outside. I didn't like that you had to leave the key to the room there, as there is no safe in the room.

    Very good location and the airport-bus line is right next to the Hazelbrook House, so you can save the taxi expenses (bus takes ca. 30 minutes to the airport). Very decent check in times. There's someone at the desk all the time (even at night).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location,very little else going for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom smelled of animal urine and flies in the room. We had to open windows to try and air the room.

    The location was ideal! Close to all tourist attractions, bus routes, etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Is near about everything, you can walk to every attraction.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think is expensive, the room is not bad but for the price you expect more.

    Is near about everything, you can walk to every attraction. The staff was cool and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.5
    Basic for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected more for my money, but found Dublin very expensive overall. My teenagers were adjacent to the smoking area, which was smelly and noisy. I was disappointed not to get a parking space as there were 4 of us for 3 nights.

    Location, staff, cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Good for a weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress could have been better it dipped in the middle when you got on the mattress you could here the springs . We had a room which was on the main road side it was very noisy with traffic and people up and down in middle of night we had to have our window open as it was warm at night if we stayed again would ask for a bedroom at the back .

    It was only a few minutes walk to the centre . Also you had to leave your key at the reception desk when you went out then they would press buzzer to let you out and in again which was good as nobody could just go in and out who wasn’t stopping there .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Good nights stop over
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of the 10 Euro parking charge per vehicle. Not a fan of surprise add ons.

    Off street parking. Nice place to stay and not to far into the centre. Breakfast was the best value around. Would stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Love the location, it's clean and friendly
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love hazelbrook house been going there for a few years. However it's the first time using booking.com to book it as hazelbrook emailed and said they were full even though I'd provisionally booked it weeks before. Still love it though

    Love the location, it's clean and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    B & B close to center, gets very hot during heat wave
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During my stay it was unusually warm in Dublin (30 °C) and the room, just on the west site of the property under the roof, became unbearably hot. Length of the bed is at most 190 cm, with a wooden board at the end, so inappropriate if you are longer.

    B & B close to city center, everything on walking distance. Some stairs to climb to top floor, no elevator.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat no air conditioning smell of smoke in room, noise bed was very uncomfortable, I asked for another room and I was shown a room away outside the building to the very back off the property which was worse than the room we were in...came down next morning for breakfast to be told we had extra money to pay if we wanted breakfast, I thought when I played for B&B breakfast was in price... I would if got it cheaper and better rooms if I had if stayed in a hotel...we shall never be staying in this place again

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    ideal position - close to downtown;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the shower cabin was too narrow - difficult to move inside the cabin while taking the shower; corridor was not too clean - vacuum cleaner was left at corridor during all days of my stay; as per the House title (B&B) breakfast should have been included in the price - had to pay that separate, thus, the title needs to reflect what the customer gets

    ideal position - close to downtown; fast/reliable wifi connection

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poort value for money A lot of noise during the 2nd night of our stay.

    Close to the city center Fair value for money. Family room was just what we needed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst experience ever. First, the mattress was from another century and completely worn out. Second, the room does not have double glazing and hotel is located in a very noisy road. Both reasons why you will not sleep at all. Third, there is not enough pressure for the water in the shower. Extremely bad value for money. I do not recommend this place.

    Nice staff and good breakfast but unfortunately does not compensate the bad experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location but way overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location but way overpriced. Very plain room had to lug suitcases up 3 flights of narrow staircase. Staff were friendly, room was clean but have stayed at much nicer places for half the price. Handing in key every time we had to come and go was odd and made it feel like area was maybe not safe but didn’t see anything outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building itself is old. You can hear every step of your neighbors. Mold on the ceiling. We got the room right under the roof. The window didn’t open properly, no ac, stale air, hot even on cloudy day.

    The location is great. Decent full Irish breakfast for extra cash.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Grand for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly. Old decor. Renovations must be going on as there was paint, brushes and masking tape everywhere over the 3 days but no one working on the job. Should be tidied away until they are in use again, not left out. It was dear for room only, however, cheaper than the other hotels in Dublin.

    Quiet location. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Keep looking...okay "in a pinch" I guess...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was more broken down than any I have ever thrown out!! [Room 17?] And the price was HIGHER than any hotel I'd ever stay in in Canada...even the city of Toronto! Stairs are problematic...few restaurants to choose from in the area.

    A reasonable location for walking to the downtown area. The attendant at the front desk was MOST helpful and we appreciated having our luggage stored upon checkout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Easy access to & from Dublin airport right in the city centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little of note.

    We had a nice warm welcome apron arrival at reception and were given a nice quiet room at the back of the hotel which was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a fantastic location very close to the main centre of Dublin and only a short walk to the temple bar area. This hotel is also easy to reach from the airport with the 747 and 757 bus stop only a few yards away from the front door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    It was clean, good location as only a few minutes walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable bed, very small TV, wall tiles propped up in bathroom, very poor shower pressure.

    It was clean, good location as only a few minutes walk from centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nn mirror situated near plugs for hairdryer to see oneself, and no room around the bed, kept hurting myself on the bedstead edges.(l am only 9 stone.)

    All good otherwise, position great for shops and theatres and buses and station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall my stay was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property seems to be "under construction" at the time. Carpet on stairs held there with sticky tape and the walls might be in the process of being painted(?)

    Hotel was in a good proximity of where I wanted to be. Staff was very pleasant and once I got over the initial look of what seemed to have been the "construction site" the hotel (B&B) wasn't that bad for a place to lay down your head. The freshly made breakfast (which you pay for in cash every morning) is very nice in comparison to the buffet breakfasts I had for a whole week prior to booking in to the Hazelbrook House.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    The location was convenient for the train station and for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite hot and there was no way to turn the heating down

    The location was convenient for the train station and for the city centre. The facility to leave luggage in the morning was greatly appreciated. Breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.8
    A horror of a stay. Shame, after enjoying it so much just 3 days earlier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room. Room 15. Avoid at all costs!! A tiny weirdly shaped room with an uncomfortable bed wedged in it sporting a mattress seemingly older than old Mother Earth herself. There was a tiny window which opened onto a dark area, so it was a dark room (later transpired it backed onto everyone else's windows so we could hear about 7 different channels on various TVs clashing at the same time right into the night and everybody else's conversations). There was a solitary single dazzlingly bright lightbulb (no shade) hanging from the ceiling - no lamps. I went down to reception and requested a lamp and was met with a shrug and a head shake whilst the chap muttered about being fully booked. There was no space on the floor to open (hand luggage sized) case. We couldn't move past each other. It was small, dark, smelt dank - despite it being a scorchingly hot weekend in Dublin this room has probably never seen sunshine or light. I just felt dirty! Also, quite bizarrely, the toilet was wedged between the shower and the wall but had a gigantic blue toilet roll dispenser bolted onto the wall and sticking out over the toilet basin itself so you had to kind of slide onto the toilet sideways at an angle to avoid the dispenser then twist just before your body hit the seat. All in all I hated this room and this stay! If we ever stay here again, we shall request Room 5 which was lovely.

    The only saving grace on this visit was we had to check out at 4am to get to the airport for our flight. I liked that we didn't have to stay in that room a second longer. Such a shame, after having had such a great experience of Hazelbrook House just 3 days earlier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location. Basic, but very nice room. Cheerful and helpful front-of-desk staff at w/e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress not very comfortable - old and thin. The breakfast could have been better - served stone cold on the most miniscule of plates - the egg yolk was so dry it was practically powder. Tiniest of portions. Would not recommend for adults with any sort of appetite.

    We stayed twice - this was our first stay and was on the Friday night. The room (room 5) was lovely. The gentlemen on reception (both for check-in and check-out) were cheerful and helpful. Mattress worn thin so not the most comfortable, but we were extremely happy with our room - it was nice and bright and airy and the bathroom was lovely and clean. The hotel's location was perfect. Had this been our only visit, I would have given this a hearty endorsement. Alas our second visit, 3 days later, was an absolute horror. So much so that the impression of this stay was somewhat tarnished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    not very nice. but Dublin itself was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything but because first time in Dublin and did not know anywhere and two woman on our own it was pointless doing anything about it. for the price I expected better accommodation and breakfast not included.

    Nothing, refurbishment was going on when we arrived painting, there was no outlook from a small frosted bedroom window but when opened view from across the hallway of the building were appalling food and other item sprawled across ground, these premises were be used by council to accommodate homeless family's and the children were quite noisy early morning and a lot of noise late at night. this was to expensive for what we received although I have to say our room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    By the title of B&B you would expect breakfast to be included. It's not and it was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy with traffic even with the window closed. The breakfast was terrible. Very little choice apart from cereals and the cooked breakfast wasn't cooked fresh.It had obviously been cooked earlier and kept hot. Very disappointing. I was looking forward to a freshly cooked Irish breakfast

    The location was very central for sight seein

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, basic, but clean and bright rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was on the side of the street and the windows are not sound proof, so you can hear the traffic on the street. The water pressure in the shower was low and taking shower was not very comfortable. For the price we paid (about 85 Euro per double room per night), I would expect to have breakfast included in the price, but it wasn't.

    The main advantage of Hazelbrook House is its location! You are at 5 min walking distance from The Spire (center of the city) and within the same distance you have connections to almost all the bus/tram/train lines of the city. There are discount shops nearby (Tesco Express, Dealz etc), as well as places to eat at very reasonable prices. The room was bright, as we were on the top floor. The stairs were not a challenge for us, but it could be harder if you are a bit overweight. The bed was comfortable and the bed sheets were clean. Most of the staff was very kind and responsive. There is a smoking area in the back yard of the hotel with a shed, so you can have a cigarette even if it rains (it is forbidden to smoke in the rooms, and I completely agree with that). The WiFi connection was excellent - fast and stable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The biggest inconvenience is , for some reason , the inability to open the window . The room is stifling and I can not imagine staying there on hot days . Very low water pressure in the taps . If it was not for this , it would be best to give the highest mark .

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Way overpriced for what you got,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was boiling hot and unable to turn radiator off. Opened the windows for fresh air, handle was loose. Foreign family with young children living in the basement area, made a lot of noise. Rip off

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    Quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. The bathroom had grout that looked like it had mold and lots of mildew and was in rough shape. We had the third floor room and there are no elevators. Made for a long trek up with our luggage

    Very convenient to the city center and directly on the line for the airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Fine for a night, wouldn't recommend any longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't give any info at check-in (WiFi, breakfast, the need to request the TV remote from the desk, checkout etc), the beds are uncomfortable spring beds, the double folds in the middle and they make the standard spring bed squeaks with every move.

    Room was clean and spacious for downtown. Easy walking distance to the downtown area and bus stops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Value for money good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great 5 mins to O’Connell St. Very responsible price, clean room comfortable bed and pillows Would recommend for a night or 2 stay and would return again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location but really just a place to lay my head rather than a spot to spend time in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very warm, heating on constantly so I was abit overheated at night but it was cosy. The tv wasn't great reception either but it was fine when I was able to watch tv on my laptop with the free wi-fi.

    I slept very well even with it being in such a busy area. I did have other guests chatting on their phone by my window which was annoying but that is not the fault of the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.8
    I choose the hotel for its location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only little thing is that heating could not be lowered on the radiator and I suffered a little bit overnight.

    I choose the hotel for its location. It had been recently redecorated and things were new.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm, found sleeping very hard

    Love the beds really comfortable, and very clean room, both gentlemen at reception were very lovely and accommodating and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    Cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are paper thin - I could hear everything that people were saying when they came home in the early hours of the morning, from noise in the hall to noise in rooms adjacent to me. Also, it's called a B&B but breakfast was not included.

    Comfortable bed and shower. Polite people at the reception desk. Price the biggest drawcard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    Location is good and staff pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being mislead

    It is advertised (misleadingly) as a B AND B. oN OUR FIRST MORNING WE WERE TOLD WE HAD TO PAY FOR BREAKFAST. So strictly it should only be advertised as a B. We ate breakfast just down the road at O'shea's Cheaper and much better value. I dislike being treated as a captive audience to be fleeced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Good for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a little bit small and although I am not a big man at all I had some problems with moves inside of it. Once during the stay the hot water did not flow for several hours.

    The breakfest was fresh and well served. The room was on the other side of the house and from the window there could be seen a small courtyard. That was surely better than to have a look to a very busy Gardiner Street. The city centre is in several hundred meters distance, it is 50 meters to Talbot Street which leads to the centre - Dublin Spire. There are many supermarkets, café bars and restaurants in the near distance. The bus stop of Airlink Express is 20 m of the accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location great price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to say though, hot water runs out pretty quickly, and the taps in the sink doesn’t work properly.

    It’s a fair price for a good hotel. Good space in room. Has a small wardrobe, table and mirror, and lots of soap in the bathroom. Really good location, right in the middle of the city center, very warm and helpful staff, and clean place. Would recommend it!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Didn’t make Dublin, tore my Archillies Tendon in Australia,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t make Dublin, tore my Archillies Tendon in Australia, Dr advised me not to travel, looking fwd to future visit, thank you 1travel for your insurance coverage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light is really white, tl. I'd prefer it more cosy.

    We really liked our stay: great location, clean, recently decorated, easy reachable from the airport and kind staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lousy bed! Mattress was in very poor condition! you could feel the spirals when laying down and you hit the bed base when sitting on it. Noisy rooms.

    Friendly staff, perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    Good features (staff, clean, comfort, coffee) but dear for its type, noisy and light going on/off
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor view from the room and the hotel was a bit noisy at night. The noise was unsurprising, it being basically a younger person's type of place (as I said above, it's primarily aimed at students and backpackers), and one other irritation was that there was a light from an adjacent room that kept being turned on and off, I think it might have been a security sensor. I paid €60 for the room, which I suppose is the sort of minimum you would expect to pay nowadays, but I've stayed in much superior hotels for as little as €50 a night as part of a deal. So, pricey for one night considering the type of hotel it is.

    Very helpful staff, very clean, comfortable and good location. The hotel was pretty much as I expected, being basically a student/backpacker type. A little surprised and rather pleased to see coffee-making facilities in the room, I've stayed in more upmarket, more expensive places that didn't have any in-room drink facilities!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Great location, next to city center, train stations, restaurants and coffee shops. The airport shuttle has the stop across from the B&B. The staff was great. Clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Weekend in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in lobby felt a bit dated however they had decorators in as we were checking out. Walls are a little thin but didn't feel too intrusive Couple of occasions waited over 5 minutes outside for a member of staff to 'buzz' us in

    Excellent location, rooms were clean, nice ensuite. For Dublin, the prices were reasonable although still felt high for what it was. 747 airport bus stop right outside Coffee facilities and Tv The hotel was perfect for a weekend in Dublin when all you want is a clean room and a decent shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lots of stairs so not suitable if that is a problem. Outside smoking area (or other tenants smoking illegally) made our room smell smoky sometimes.

    The neighborhood has the best bars and restaurants (Celt, 101 Talbot, etc.) and the bus to the airport stops right outside. The place was being repainted and the shower was hot!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    convenient location, good price, simple lodging
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls, could hear everything in hallway and rooms. Not enough hot water.

    Easy to get to with the bus from the the airport, easy to get to main attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Efficient and reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the room next door but again you get what you pay for

    You get what you pay for so what we got I was happy with. Staff member was very helpful during stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Staff was pleasant, the room was cosy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The smoking area was behind our window and even though the window was closed, the smoke came in. The door to the smoking area was constantly open and as our door was next to it, the cold air and all the voices from the smoking area came also in. As many have said before, we also missed a small reading lamp.

    Staff was pleasant, the room was cosy and clean. The location is perfect (ca 500 m from O'Connell Street where are the main bus stops and shops and everything). We arrived around 2 am and had no problems with check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.6
    AVOID!! Horrid place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival we were informed that there was no space in the car park for us so we had to park in a very expensive car park about 10 minutes from the b&b. The room as almost €100 for the room for one night and and because of this I expected a better standard of decor and comfort than we found. The room was sparse with poor facilities and the beds were incredibly uncomfortable. We were expected to pay an additional fee if we required something such as a hair dryer, or even to use the tv remote which personally I think is disgusting as the room was hardly cheap yet I have stayed in nicer, cleaner and more comfortable hostels than Hazlebrook House. When we arrived the b&b was also undergoing renovations which we were not informed of upon booking. The place was a mess and the smell of paint filled our room making our daughter feel sick and giving us all headaches. Staff were content to just sit behind a desk not moving apart from to take our money. This property was dismal and personally I will not stay here again. AVOID!

    The location was good, close to shops and the port, with good links to Dublin City.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Great alternative to Temple Bar area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the north side of the River not far from O'connell street. It lies next to a lot other B'n'B, hostels and hotels with bars close by. Wi-Fi was working fine and the reception was open 24/7.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.1
    Good mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Renovation works in front of our bedroom door in the early morning.. Room was quite warm and there was quite some noise from the streets. The floor of the bedroom was uneven, and there were some hole's in the floor.

    Good mattress Clean bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like having to hand key in every time we went out. Stafff knowledge of gluten free poor. Had to pay for breakfast daily instead of end of day.very hard to sleep due to street and traffic noise

    Liked the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.0
    Room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Room was clean. Staff on whole pleasant though it was a bit creepy when the receptionist followed one of our party up to our room as he was suspicious we had smuggled someone into the room. The receptionist then waited for my brother to come out of the toilet as this was where he thought the mystery person was hiding. All un-necessary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    It did the job for our short stay but I likely wouldn’t stay here again. I would try and get closer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator in the building so if you are on the top floor you are carrying your luggage up like eight sets of stairs. We had stayed in a hostel when we were in Galway and the beds were more comfortable there, I was expecting more as this was a B&B and more expensive by 100 Euros. It feels more like a hostel but you have your own bathroom. There is also nowhere to adjust the tempature in the room. This is also about a 20 minute walk from any of the sights.

    The person at the front desk when we checked in was incredibly friendly and helpful. If you stay here check out The Celt around the corner for a great authentic pub experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Convenient location but fairly basic..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No effort in the room.. not even a picture on the wall! Nearly €200 for a B&B not even a breakfast at that price..

    Location is good.. that's about it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Close to transportation to airport.-would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location-easy walk to O'Connell St . Staff very knowledgeable and helpful with suggestions, Comfortable room & excellent breakfast choices. Would recommend to solo travelers especially.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Insights into Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My neighbors were noisy. The staff was very helpful in trying to get them to be quiet. I found out that they were a family that didn't have a home and were being supported by the government. I really didn't spend much time in the hotel. There is so much to do in Dublin.

    It was within walking distance to everywhere in Dublin. Two supermarkets are nearby. You can get everything at the supermarket.There are no refrigerators in the rooms. The rooms are small and you can hear the neighbors. It is a great bargain for Dublin. Cafes, bars, ice cream shops are within walking distance. You really don't want to spend too much time in your room. The showers are very small. The wifi was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Fine for a short-stay but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was a bit shabby looking; it's an old building and it looks a bit tired. It could do with a renovation and a coat of paint. The bed wasn't the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Dublin is expensive and you definitely don't get a lot for your money and this place is no different.

    It was cheaper than some places in Dublin, but not by much. It's not far from the Luas stop at Busarus so it's handier for getting around. The place was fine for staying one or two nights but I wouldn't want to stay any longer. The place was clean, as were the towels and linen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Easy to access, clean, good bed, if going to Dublin again - plan to stay in the same place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only toast, no other selection of bread for breakfast; small room, old furniture, no table desk in the room, no EU plug, no hair dryer included in the room price, no TV remote included in the room price but possible to rent, not easy to charge mobile and other electronic devices if not Ireland (or UK) plug -- EU schuko plug adaptor taken from home

    pleasant staff, easy to access from all other interesting locations to visit; easy to access from airport (747 bus stop in the front of the house), comfortable bed and pillows, clean bathroom, possibility to prepare tea/coffee, relatively quiet location, not expensive as other accomodations in the neighborhood

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.6
    Very poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged my credit card x2 once for a one night stay to which I had phoned and explained that I had booked in error and again for my 2 night stay which I have absolutely no issues with when I e-mailed to ask for a refund I received a message stating no refunds. I will not recommend this hotel nor would I stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Very average basic guesthouse which charges roughly £60 per person per night , with NO breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This guesthouse is in dire need of renovation , no toilets in the reception area , only a few tables and 4 chairs in reception area. Narrow stair case with far too many stairs upto the rooms on the third floor and no lift , so quite unsuitable for those with walking difficulties. The walls have been filled with plaster all the way up in preparation for decorating but does not give a good impression. Our door was needing painted too , basic wood , not a good look. No chair in room to sit on . Deposit of 5 euros for TV remote, iron etc. It is called a Guesthouse B&B but the breakfast is not included in the rate , strange ! Full breakfast is at a cost of 7.50 euros , but I wouldn't bother , there are cheaper much better places near by.

    The best thing about this guest house was the location , not far from O Connell Street. It is clean also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant,handy to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to small for 2 single beds , a double would fit better, hard to walk past bed without kicking toes on the bed post, no table lamps or chair, shelf above hand basin made it hard to wash face or shave.

    Convenient, clean and nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Was disappointed with check in process and car park advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chose hotel as had parking but this was big enough for 3 cars and was not comfortable with hire car in narrow underground carpark. A lot of stairs to lug a heavy suitcase up. Had to leave security deposit to get a remote control for tv. The tv was the size of a computer screen

    Location was good for launching from Dublin

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.8
    I was glad when it was time to check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This would have to be one of the worst hotel rooms I have ever stayed in (Room 15). No room in the shower to turn around. The toilet had a great lump of a toilet roll holder sticking out from the wall which meant you couldn't stand close to the toilet bowl. To sit down you had to manoeuvre around the jutting out toilet roll. There was a jug on the bedside table but nowhere to plug it in. Had to end up putting it on the floor to boil. The bed was far too big for the room. There was no bedside light, no chair and nowhere (besides the floor) to put stuff. No breakfast included (€5 extra) in the expensive room rate and a deposit required for the TV remote.

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 22-avoid it! It sits right beside the outdoor smoking area and thouroughfare from car park. Whole room stunk of cigarettes and people sit right outside your bedroom window chatting loudly and smoking at all hours -it feels as if someone is actually sitting in the room having a cigarette at 1am. Not even a sign up to ask guests to respect others and keep noise to a minimun after 10pm but this may help? Bathroom window is also right beside this area so even though glass is frosted people can still see you and it's pretty obvious you're sitting on the toilet while they're smoking right beside you- maybe a blind in the Bathroom could help.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    I was able to book a basic room for five people without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They tried to get me to pay cash when the fine print says credit cards accepted. I didn't go for it. We had to turn in our key and pick it up every time we came and went.

    I was able to book a basic room for five people without spending a fortune. The whole place could use a major renovation but if you are looking for a reasonably priced place in a good location this one will do the trick.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Great Location for a family stay within easy walking distance of Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location within easy walking distance of Dublin Centre and attractions. Basic facilities but just right for our needs. We were a family of 5 sharing one room which is difficult to find in a city centre location

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: