Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hodson Bay Hotel 4 stars

Roscommon Road, Athlone, Ireland

#13 of 21 hotels in Athlone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1244 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Don't order room service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being asked to pay for the room on check in.was unusual. However the worst was being asked to pay €7.50 for room service breakfast at the room door when it was delivered!!!! Plus the breakfast was awful and had clearly been sitting around a while. Really put a damper on an otherwise lovely room.

    Room was large & spotless.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel friendly staff a lot of miscommunication and errors
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all aircon in the room was very loud so we complained about it and someone just came up and took the fuse out but then the room got very hot as it is all windows. Then we were told that's how loud they are? Secondly the iron in our room.. I was ironing my shirt and got a electric shock as there were bare wires on the iron cord. When we told staff he just took the iron and replaced it. Thirdly when we left my bank account was charged 50 euro without my consent then when I asked about it they just said we don't know what Its about and said they will refund it which takes 5 days which is very inconvenient. Overall the stay was OK seeming as I was proposing to my girlfriend to but these little errors made us not want to return.

    The staff was was very helpful especially a girl names joanna at reception!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Perfect anniversary !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Deluxe with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came for our first anniversary. When we arrived in the room we found little cakes and a card :) I loved the bed, the most comfy bed ever :) View was beyond words, and we both really liked our jacuzzi :) We were in the Adult Only section on the 4th floor in a room with view on the lake. A big thanks to Shannon from the reception, she has been great with us, very helpful and all smily :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced and doesn't live up to expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Altering settings on aircon made no difference, too hot. Switching on TV only effected by pressing buttons until something happened. Not st all intuitive, as in pressing the on/off button. Service in the bar not great and bar food quite pricey and poor - the curried chicken was very overcooked as was the accompanying rice, which had more of the texture of rice pudding. On the positive side however the poppadom was good.

    Comfortable room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Large room and a very comfortable bed and pillows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar menu was limited. Other than that fabulous. Would stay again.

    Large room and a very comfortable bed and pillows. Room and bathroom were clean and the room had a view of the lake. The leisure centre facilities were first class.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Overall lovely hotel staff fab had a beautiful meal in the restaurant that night 🍷🍷😜
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So over crowded on that Sunday no seats in the lounge to watch the football n no room available 😩😫

    Staff fabulous the only little whim that I had was the long wait to get our room I know they had a very busy Saturday big wedding etc but at 5.30pm I spoke with a manager n we got a room straight away I ? are the guests who book directly with the hotel seen to first ??? We were so tired traveling from another wedding miles away the day before

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    One night stay would like to come back for a longer visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fry could have been hotter.

    Room was large with two windows overlooking the bay. Bath and shower were fine. Breakfast was good with a great variety of fruit and cereal available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    fantastic hotel and location and will definatly return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    i found the pillows a little uncomfortable and the aircon unit in the room wasnt great the night was very warm and really could have done with functioning aircon

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable and breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the room was way too much even with the air con on all night and the windows open. The room was nice but the size of the room itself and facilities in the room did not justify the price I paid!

    Bed was comfortable and breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    Room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning only blew warm...and was so noisy I couldn't sleep. When i ask for someone to look at it they sent a young girl who played with the same switch and fobbed me off with some ridiculous excuse and left me and my partner to sweat all night...not good enough...the TV remote would not work....amature service..

    Room size... quite clean...location...breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Nice size rooms, comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refrigerator in our room wasn’t working. The staff sent someone who checked to see if the card for lights/electric was inserted in slot. She saw it was and said she didn’t know why it wasn’t working, it should be if card is in slot. But, no one else came to fix or replace it. Hopefully they did fix or replace before they rented out the room again.

    Nice size rooms, comfortable beds. Great food offerings at hotel restaurants. Great location and beautiful property with great amenities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Busy kid friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as the cost matches the quality. Overall good value for the money paid. A place to lay your head (I wouldn't recommend coming for the confort and quality of the rooms as very 80s style and outdated) as you enjoy the buzzing bar and kid friendly pool and bay. Somebody

    Bay area is lovely. Its a place I'd feel confortable bringing kids as it's very kid friendly. Plenty of room for them to run around, good pool snd their allowed in the bar. Bar area is very busy with a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    We had a very nice 👍🏻 stay in your hotel and Would love to come back in the future. Thank you 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I are celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary this year, the hotel left us a very nice card and a selection of cakes. I thought the card and cakes was a really nice and it made us feel special. All the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    It wasn’t bad but I expected more to do locally
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of food in the hotel was very expensive for what we had, especially for the kids and it wasn’t great, especially the lunch buffet. The kids food was taken from a warm drawer so could have been there for an hour!! The windows in the room were very dirty, the bathroom had lots of dirty marks around the tiles and the fan didn’t work. Apart from Bay Sports water park, there’s actually very little to do for families locally, we actually drove to Galway on one of the days and basically went to an arcade and the cinema in Athlone, we could have done that at home!! It just wasn’t for us!

    The view was nice and the parking was very close to the hotel entrance. Breakfast was very nice, large choice of foods available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is in a fabulous location with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in very busy , long wait . No view from our bedroom at the back . At the time of visit noisy due to children . Had to park a long way from the hotel due to daily visitors to the waterpark on the Lough at the same location. ( School holidays )

    Fabulous location with great views. Excellent breakfast .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Lovely time at Hobson Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner sound as if it was broken & didn't push cool air. Hottest day in Ireland in decades. Room 633. Thank God the window opened or would be unbearable.

    Staff was wonderful. Bar food yummy. Lots available to do especially for families. Would return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Bedroom was beautiful and quite big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was beautiful and quite big. Swimming pool area was gorgeous we we're delighted with the different therapy parts in the pool... Evening bar food a bit over priced for what it is ribs were not cooked enough food is just average. Breakfast was ok the hotel reall need to change there sausages there more like hot dogs but the fresh fruit and raspberry yogurt was delicious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great Peaceful Lovely and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival At 3:45 our room woznt really but it woz understandable As it woz a busy time of year .

    Very things great place great stuff and lovely food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent service, food and location. The room was below standard for €220
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was €220 and my view was of a roof, very poor value for money The breakfast was lovely and lots of options. However the breakfast room was not being cleared/turned over for other guests

    Location beside the bay was great parking I attended a wedding and the function room was lovely, the service and food at the wedding was excellent. Also the pre wedding reception was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.6
    Disgraceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was worst I'd ever experienced got there after a 2 hr and 30 min drive at 5pm the room wasn't ready then given the wrong room not enough beds it was a joke will never be back

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Room was great,big and spacious,bathroom was good size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bar,for such a big hotel you'd think that there be 2 bars,loads of space for another one.

    Room was great,big and spacious,bathroom was good size

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Amazing staff, hotel and grounds-great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff were so kind and helpful. breakfast was done superbly and service was excellent. The grounds and amenities were first class and lots of activities on the grounds of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    an ideal spot to spend few relaxing days. Just what the doctor ordered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could complain about our stay was great and and I would highly recommend the Hodson Bay to anyone considering a visit.

    hadn't heard much about the hotel but was really pleasantly surprised. Loved the location and facilities especially the spa. Kids had a great time. The staff were really friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. I will defiantly stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    First time stayer at this hotel and will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time we have stayed here and was really impressed. The hotel has so much to offer inside with the pool and multiple bars and places to eat, with the lough just a few metres away. We dined in the restaruant that eveing and the offer of 2 courses for 25 euros was very good value as the meal was superb

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    love this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved everything about it ... the location (amazing) food (beautiful) rooms (stunning) staff (fantastic) we didn't want to leave . and we will visit again.and again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna not working in leisure centre. No light snacks available in evening

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the pool is fabulous especially the hydro pool. Golf club nearby. Good food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed at this hotel before so were happy with the price with Booking.com. The room was lovely and we enjoyed a meal in the bar which was very tasty. The view is great over Loch Ree.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Accessible room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be supplied with a shower chair.

    The bedroom and bathroom are spacious, plenty of room for wheelchair. There is a gap between the floor and the bed, and grab rails in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    The room was very comfortable & spacious with a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Deluxe with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we went to check in our room wasn't ready. We were told we would get a call to let us know when it was ready. Nearly 2 hours later we went back to reception to see if our room was ready, it was ready but no one rang us to let us know. We were also charged extra for breakfast. When I pointed out that breakfast was already included in our room rate we had to be refunded.

    The room was very comfortable & spacious with a lovely view. It was one of the quietest rooms we ever stayed in. I could not fault the room at all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it but it was very crowded that weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very poor not nearly enough parking space.should have parking for residents when we arrived we drove around for 20 mins before we could get a space and that was away from hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Do not reccomend at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do i start. From not being able to check in at the allocated time. To the rude staff. The standard bedroom with a view of another bedroom. No toiletries in bathroom but mould. A shower curtain that either flooded the place or stuck to you. The not being able to get into the restaurant. And finally no sleep due to kids running up and down corridors till 2am. Dreadful place and stay would not reccomend at all.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Bed was extremely comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that there was no music in bar on our second night..first night the guy called Derek was brilliant. .I feel for such a big and popular hotels there should be music every night dduring the summer months it's OK if you didn't have children with you you could go into athlone town

    Bed was extremely comfy..food in bar was excellent..staff were very friendly..and the added bonus was the baysports in which my 2 teenagers thouroly enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    lake glimpse room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    we paid for a lake view room but had only a glimpse of the lake by standing against the window and looking sharp left .i feel the room description was somewhat misleading and expensive because of that

    very busy weekend with the hotel full but the staff coped well and there was a good buzz with guests of all ages intermingeling easily

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    We liked everything about this hotel, such a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this hotel, such a great atmosphere, we went as a couple and our room was located away from where families were staying which was great, will definitely will be going back again, staff were so helpful, food was great and reasonable and music in bar later

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff were fabulous - great level of customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of ventilation in bedroom. Booked it for a spa break but a) as it's more of a family Hotel - I didn't find the peace & quiet I wanted & b) it's not the kind of place where you feel comfortable walking around in your dressing gown. Jacuzzi / whirlpool were not in the spa area - they were in the leisure centre beside the main swimming pool which can be accessed by the public leaving it very busy & noisy. Overall it's a lovely Hotel - it just wasn't suited to the kind of break I wanted.

    Staff were fabulous - great level of customer service. Hotel is very family orientated and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    The best place for a family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved everything had new born twins with us and staff could not have been more cooperative or helpful to our needs. Highly recommend this spot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Hodson Bay Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dated, bathroom too. Not a clean as hoped in the room, yellow stains in bath and around sick - old soap stuck under tap. Windows quite dirty and lots spiders around it.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Carvery was tasty. Basic accommodation but price was fine for what it was.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Goos stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat Deluxe with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as clean as i would expext. Had the delux suite with an great view but the windows were quite dirty. And the curtain needed a wash too.

    Excellent staff anf facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Very much a family orientated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too many kids

    Very much a family orientated hotel. Plenty of space for just sitting around but bar only fir food during the bar not suitable if u wanted a quite drink during day. Staff ok not very friendly apart from ruth on reception and 1 waitress. Breakfast served in octagonal rm mad noisy we asked 2nd morning could we go to tower rm so lovely quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    A little tweek and it could be absolutely perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room only but upgraded to dinner and breakfast at check-in. However this was not passed on to the restaurant. Had to go to reception after meal with my visa receipt to prove the meal was paid for beforehand. Staff were very apologetic but I was dissapointed with this. It happened to others there too as we could hear people arguing that they'd already paid for their meal

    Hotel is in a lovely quiet location. Pool is really nice and my elderly mam was able to join in the aqua aerobics class which was terrific. Booked two rooms the one in the main part of the hotel was lovely but the one in the new part was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing restful and refreshing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan in the room

    The room was excellent bed very comfortable The hotel provided complimentary chocolates and an upgrade to the adult only section as we were celebrating a special wedding anniversary thankyou Hodson bay We have just booked to stay again with our son and daughter in law in a couple of weeks would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Some costumer care and would have been perfect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff are very lost in what they're doing! We had our starters and our mains came 45 min after without even clear the starter plate! When the starters were cleared the waitress took all our cutlery leaving us with nothing to eat. I need to go to the bar to get my second round of drinks! The menu in the bar is expensive for the service that we get. They need more costumer care and trainning and divide dutties. Everything else was perfect.

    The hotel itself and surrounds are superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff were so friendly but what was frustrating was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need to be more organised they seemed to be so many of them everywhere but only certain people could help you? A connection needs to be made with the water sports as I had asked questions at the front desk I was told I need to walk down and ask and over email but no information given. .

    The staff were so friendly but what was frustrating was there was so many of them but only certain people could help you. I asked 5 girls who walked past our table and was told oh ill get someone for you now...? Staff standing behind the bar that couldnt serve u!!!or no staff at all for minutes. I cannot fault the staff but that was very frustrating. My dinner was very bland but they did there utmost to help me when they were informed. The soup was to die for at lunch 😍even though they advertise for water sports they are not connected and u get no discount for being a guest in the hotel which is a bit misleading, there map has a bike trail but no bikes? the spa is amazing too. I did enjoy my night away but I was a little disappointed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    grumpy receptionist
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lack of guest information at front was unsatisfactory lack of welcome and friendliness just business like andconcerned with payment only very unhappy with front desk we had to study brouchers to find relevant information to inform ourselves of hotel routines brown bread for bre akfast was hard and dry and badly presented i wonder why no sunloungers were not provided for guests outside when sun was so beautiful

    pool was warm spa was fab try to ask for Mervin for massage he is excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    It was relaxing and the leisure Centre made it ultra relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite busy and extra staff brought in to help did not have a good knowledge of the hotel and could not answer questions. They were, however, very polite. Our room was on the fourth floor over the leisure Centre. The windows were very dirty on the outside. It took from the great view. The slowness of browning the toast.

    Liked the location The bed was very comfortable The room was spacious and bright with great view over the lake Swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool were excellent Quiet reading space was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    We had a great comfortable stay and we would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clearly a busy time of the year i felt the hotel could be doing with some extra help in the bar area , and the clearing up of tablets out side

    The area where the room was situated was nice and quiet, and easy accessible from the ground floor , i had a great nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.5
    Adequate but disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was ok but I was disappointed considering the cost. I have stayed in better places for half the price - bar area was packed & very noisy when we went to get dinner on Friday night - food was fine but nothing special. There also was a lack of nice comfy areas to sit & relax unless you wanted to sit in the hall way which doubles up as a conservatory I booked a twin room but was given a double so that had to be rectified & even though I requested& was given an extra 30 mins on my checkout time from 12 to 1230 as I was doing a swimming race in the lake & wanted to shower before I left when I returned to the room at 1205 after the race we had been locked out

    Buffet breakfast was very good - great variety Room plenty big

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.5
    The grounds and surrounding area
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stuffy old bed so uncomfortable first hotel I never slept all nite very little staff on breakfast waited half hour for pot of tea and place settings tables all around still full with dirty dishes

    The grounds and surrounding area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    I stayed 2 nights & would highly recommend it. My kids are age 15 & 7. Perfect for all of us👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids club was excellent. My 7 year old would not come out. The staff were excellent & full of fun with the kids.great to see staff happy & having craic with the kids. Impressive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for families, would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ques for lunch the next day in the restaurant. We had to go into town instead as young kids and could not wait that long.

    Stayed in a family room with 4 children ( under 5). The room was ideal. It’s a great family hotel, I was very impressed. Facilities for kids, great playroom and the leisure Centre was very clean. The room was pricey for 1 night but we had a lovely stay. I found all staff very helpful. My husband was offered an early morning coffee as he was strolling the corridor in the early morning settling baby. Breakfast was very good. We will return .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel with outstanding staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we were given had extractor fans outside the window and this room was of a much lower standard compared to the second room we were moved to. Room change was not an issue and the staff were very helpful.

    The staff at this hotel are outstanding,they are extremely helpful and professional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant leisure centre food was delicious. Staff were lovely and friendly. Lovely seating area out front with beautiful scenery. Lovely walk along the pier after dinner. Rooms were very comfortable and very clean. Kids club for summer holidays very family friendly hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Amazing, beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didnt like

    The swimming pool was brilliant, perfect tempature, hydro therapy pool was excellent. The bar food was lovely and staff friendly. Receptionist Eleanor very friendly and helpful. Baysports great fun and the viking cruise ship a brilliant addition just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Great location rooms dates and not great quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the room. The leak in the room by the bed. Carpet was soaking wet. Having to ring reception 6 times for a fan and some ice.

    The swimming pool was good and the tv was large

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid a lot of money for the hotel room and we were given two single beds that pushed together, the shower was really bad and also the room we booked was a lakeside view all we seen was the top of a building and the car park. The room was nothing special in comparison to other hotels we stayed in for the same price. The car park situation was bad as we parked a good bit away there should be parking for guests only on site.

    The staff were very nice and the room was tidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing and won't be back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A carvery lunch for two people was over 30euro. Dinner was not good value for money - no problem paying for good food but this wasn't. It was extremely hot weather at the time of our stay and there was no AC in the hotel, we did receive a fan however it was still not enough to cool the room.

    Bed and pillows were comfortable. Reception staff (especially Elenor) were very friendly, our dinner was ruined by a rude waiter but made up for by a lovely waitress named Alice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful setting and or rooms were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff on at key times. Bar staff were good but carvery/food staff was poor and occasionally rude, in particular one person who appeared to be in charge!

    Beautiful setting and or rooms were great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    great hotel, good value, excellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air con in some of the rooms

    Superb location on the edge of the lake. Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms and great food in the bar area. Breakfast is a great feast with loads to choose from. Only down side is no air con in some of the rooms, otherwise a great base to explore the West of Ireland from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, great staff, nice breakfast, clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very very stuffy, but were in the middle of a snap of weather we're not equipped for, not the hotels fault! On the pricey side for a Monday night..

    Lovely hotel, great staff, nice breakfast, clean. Facilities top notch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    There were too many systems in place for this and that.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were too many systems in place for this and that. Eg if you ate outside you had to pay and order at the same time. I ended up trying to pay for barfood behind a group of 12 who were all paying in advance for food. There are 2 tills and despite asking nobody would let me pay. 20 minute wait to pay bill is very annoying.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    Pool and gym facilities were adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is old and dated Getting correct setting for shower was tricky Shower in general was v poor Room needed a/c

    Pool and gym facilities were adequate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    It was lovely and we hope to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was exceptionally hot the night we stayed and the air con didn’t seem to bring the temperature down much.

    We had a great room in the retreat section of the hotel. Spacious, clean and modern with a fantastic view over the water. Nice bathroom. Quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Rooms were excellent although we had a mix up with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff good but not well trained very young staff in restaurants not clearing tables not awful but could be better

    Rooms were excellent although we had a mix up with our booking over all fair

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Our stay was brilliant we were there for our 40th Anniversary we made the right choice i
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    The room was beautiful and comfy The Staff were brilliant especially Shannon at the reception Mark the wee barman but the whole staff were fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The length of the walk to the Retreat bedrooms.

    The quality and variety of food in the restaurant were first-class. The seating areas were comfortable and spacious. The staff were friendly and efficient without being obtrusive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautful Hotel☝️☝️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That The Hotel is Out a Bit From Athlone. Staff at Front Deck a Little. ( Cold )

    Beautful Hotel. Clean Hotel. Lovely Breakfast Lovely Meal in Da Bar Bar Staff Very Friendly. Very Good Value For The Price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The staff were very nice they couldn't do enough for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very nice they couldn't do enough for us. We had a family room and it was lovely and spacious and absolutely spotless. The leisure centre was fab, we had our two year old with us he was in his element.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    great location amazing hotel friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bay sports was closed for school tours - it was a beautiful day - the kid seen the play area and naturally wanted to play but it wasn't open to guests until 4 and unfortunately we had to leave before then.

    The food was fantastic and the views amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Delightful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Retreat with Lake View (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the room air con or a water tank not sure what it was 😩

    The bed was very comfy and hotel is very nice the only downfall was the noise in our room sounded like a water tank or something not sure but very noisy other than that I could not fault anything else had a very pleasant stay 😊😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    The location was picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar food was not nice. Waiting staff quite rude. Waiting half an hour to take order. Blatantly ignored until it was time to pay when 4 different members of staff offered to get the bill. Room was tiny- a side room off a family room.

    The location was picturesque. Staff on reception were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    champagne without the fizz
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too warm. The breakfast was mediocre. The check in took ages and i didn't like that tea and coffee was not brought to the table for breakfast. it should be offered by the staff. I thought the breakfast was not of a 4 star standard. I dont feel the hotel exceeds the expectation i had of a 4 star.

    I liked the venue which was stunning. I liked the leisure centre which was outstanding. I liked the carvery and restaurant. There was a good flow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Bit of a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very dated, room 210 hasn't a great view. Taps on bath might as well have been welded shut. Took us over 10 mins to get it to run water. Tiles around the bath could do with a good scrub as was very grubby. Swimming pool was a let down compared to internet pictures.

    Shannon at reception was very nice. Location of hotel was very nice. Excellent breakfast. Mattress on the bed was a1. We got a good deal wouldn't pay anymore than 100euro to stay here to be honest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Only one night wish it was two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are excellent. very large and comfortable. Perfect for a romantic get away or even just a relaxing weekend. The area surrounding the hotel is lovely although can be busy at times. Every member of staff I came across was friendly and helpful, I could not fault them in any way. Would and will recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area was very noisy. Service was very slow and inefficient. Very disappointing as we had French visitors with us. Not a good example.

    Room was clean and roomy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Overall we had a lovely time and the view from our room was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit smaller then expected. I would have liked a stand alone bath. We didn’t know the vent on the windows could close so we were a bit cold in the night.

    Loved the breakfast area, lots of variety. Staff helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: