Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Ireland hotel reviews
  3. Dublin County hotel reviews
  4. Dublin hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Isaacs Hostel

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel

2 Frenchman's Lane, D1 Dublin, Ireland

#85 of 153 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3128 hostel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2019

    8.3
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wasn’t aware that the bathrooms aren’t attached to the rooms but that was my own lack of research really

    free breakfast and friendly staff. the place does the job if you literally just need a bed for the night. not too far from trinity either.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2019

    8.3
    Pleasant stay, good deal for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lockers were not for free, toilets are small.

    Breakfast variety was enough for the price, clean and comfortable room, pleasant stay, I recommend it for a short stay in Dublin.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2019

    8.8
    A good hostel with great activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some guests were quite noisy at night. The bathroom was uncomfortable (you have to push the button every couple seconds when having a shower).

    Overall I really enjoyed my stay in this hostel. Staff was very friendly. There are a lot of (also free) activities, and it offers a free basic breakfast as well. A well-equipped kitchen is available for the guests. The location is perfect, the hotel can be reached from the airport very easily by bus, and all main attraction can be reached on foot from the hotel. Rooms are basic, but clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2019

    8.8
    Lustig und gut
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed over the weekend in a 8 person Room. It was ok, the sheets were tidy, the bed was comfortable (I’m 156 cm and weigh 55 kg). It was quite noisy but you can buy earplugs at the reception. You can also lend free socket adaptors. The bathroom was also clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2019

    4.6
    The offer earbuds for a reason.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pluming, the WiFi was glitchy and only worked on the first floor (every staff member will say “oh that’s just the WiFi in Ireland” but I literally NEVER had a problem anywhere else), my friends and I didn’t even shower there and waited for after we flew back to the states to shower because of how unclean it was. Also, if you stay on the first/second floor you can hear the person in the room next to you drop a pen The walls were so thin.

    The staff was nice and the train was neat that came by the hostel. Very good location and can get to most sites

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2019

    8.3
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly it was very expensive for people travelling/backpacking on a budget, but that's also due to high prices everywhere in Dublin and for that, many things are included like free breakfast.

    The most amazing, friendly, helpful and competent staff I've ever experienced in a hostel, especially in such a big one with many people coming and going they still had the time for a little chat and tips/recommendations on where to go and what to do around Dublin. Cosy common areas to hang out, play table tennis, read… and a sauna that's open every night. Also perfect location right in the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    10
    because of this hostel I had the best time possible in dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could be a bit longer.

    good for traveling alone, many offers for traveling in a group or group activities in general, also great staff 24/7, they give great recommendations or just fun to chat with.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    10
    I like the staff cooperation with Guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    I like the staff cooperation with Guest. The facilities very clean good Value. The printed off my boarding pass no extra cost Thanks Guys. Close to railway station and Bush Station.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2019

    10
    The best hostel I've ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing bad about this hostel

    I liked that the place was very clean, they clean the rooms every day. I was so surprised when i saw that the toilets and the showers were very clean.. The stuff is amazing, very polite, friendly.. In our room we even had mirror and a chair.. In the corridors there are huge mirrors with hairdryers and straightener irons, perfect for girls.. didn't expect that at all.. The room was warm as much as you needed it.. It is 5 min walking from the center, very safe place, behind it there is the bus station, you can take from there the bus to the airport, and for that you can book tickets at the reception of the hostel, 1 euro less than the normal price(6€ instead of 7€).

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    8.8
    Excellent location, bus station to get to the airport is in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets were not clean.

    Excellent location, bus station to get to the airport is in 2 min walk from the hostel. All non-EU citizens, who needs their plane tickets to be printed, can do it at the hostel for free. If you forget adapter for socket, you can get it at the desk. What I also liked is plenty of options to get cheaper tours. Hostel offers free 3-hours guide tour in Dublin with a funny Irish guide, where you'll get the information not only about history of Dublin but also positive emotions for hole day! Excellent and friendly staff!!! I enjoyed my stay at the hostel very much!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2019

    8.8
    A central location with good facilities, good value and friendly staff and guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Visitors didn't always respect the quiet times. People drying their hair outside my room at 11.30pm and 6am. Earplugs are a must if you are a light sleeper or if you are near the front of the hotel.

    Showers and toilets were always clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful. Location was only 5 mins walk from the city centre and 10 mins from Temple Bar. The Thursday night quiz was good.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2019

    8.3
    Staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 14 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel like their could’ve been more with the continental breakfast. From what I heard it never changes so maybe a change in food selection.

    Staff was amazing. Truly an amazing first time hostel experience. Will definitely recommend to future travelers.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2019

    8.8
    The staff are super friendly and the place has a great vibe about it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too close to the train- quite loud at night but can't be helped I guess!

    The staff are super friendly and the place has a great vibe about it. Nice communal areas. Nice friendly faces, Breakfast was nice and relaxed. Love that there is access to tea/ coffee/ hot water- it makes a huge difference.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2019

    9.2
    Nice and warm 🧣🧤
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 14 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I think they need to provide a nice wifi, you cannot use the wifi in your room just in the reception. Sometimes I want to do my plans trip but the wifi us low and I don’t have a chip with internet so it’s a little complicated.

    It’s nice hostel; there nice kitchen, bathrooms, reception,... nice space and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2019

    7.9
    Bed was confortable and toilets were clean most of the time,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists overacting kindness felt too fake and even rude.

    Bed was confortable and toilets were clean most of the time, room was less noisy than expected from reading other reviews even though it was next to the train and it was also very spacious

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2019

    8.3
    Met some really nice people and friendly staff, and most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sockets are set at the lower part of the wall so it will be hard to reach your charging phone if you are on the upper bed.

    Met some really nice people and friendly staff, and most importantly, FREE PIZZA

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2019

    10
    Best hostel in Dublin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Michael is definitely the best receptionist ever, he could train staff from 5 Star Hotels and I work for this kind of hotels myself, I know what I’m saying, I stayed there in 2015 and he still remembers me as of 2019, such a surprise. He treats people on the best way possible, always nice to everybody and is definitely the most approachable person in the hostel whenever you have a problem or a situation that you need some help, it doesn’t matter if you’re there for a day or a week, that’s great, thank you Michael!!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2019

    7.9
    Cheap and well-positioned accomodation to visit Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Globally, the hostel is good, however some maintenance of the common areas (especially, the bathrooms) would be appreciated.

    Staff members were always kind and helpful. Many services available, including breakfast (included in the price), walking tours, etc. Possibility to buy discounted AirLink tickets at the reception.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2019

    4.2
    Not satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not friendly at all. They don’t even smile back at you specially the guy with long hair with dark complexion at the cash counter.

    Breakfast was freshing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    5.8
    Having a self catering kitchen and a table to play ping pong
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really noisy, the floor too! Not much space to take shower. Water coming down from the wall

    Having a self catering kitchen and a table to play ping pong

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    7.1
    Good Location (Spire: 5min,Temple Bar: 15min);
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 5 nights

    furniture and other interiour needs renovation/renewing (all couches are worn down, pool table is shifted, wood covering the front of wash basins is falling off ...); beds are extremely shaky & squeaky; hardly any free space in 16-bed-room; pretty annoying that you need your card key for literally every door, especially to the rec area

    Good Location (Spire: 5min,Temple Bar: 15min); many offers to spend time at hostel (reading area, table tennis & pool table, sauna...); staff is really nice & helpful; hostel is actually surprisingly clean (though I did not check out the kitchen or sauna area); good price-performance ratio; breakfast is good although very standard (two kinds of cereal; coffee juice or water; toast with different kinds of jam, peanut butter or nutella)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2019

    8.3
    Nice Staff, great location clean.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue with Issacs is that there was a great deal of noise throughout the night. The purpose of our trip was basically to get a good night's sleep before our early (and very long) trip to Australia the next morning. Unfortunately we got barely any sleep. The keep the noise down after 11 rule definitely needs to be enforced more strictly. There were people in and out and all hours of the night, slamming doors, blasting hair dryers and talking so loud as if it were the middle of the day. A great place to stay otherwise but it wouldn't be my first choice if I'm counting on a good night's sleep.

    Nice Staff, great location clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2019

    7.1
    Good location breakfast simple but with boiled eggs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was sleeping in a lower bed..as soon as the guy up me turnd over I woke up ..I did had a very bad sleep..

    Good location breakfast simple but with boiled eggs.. the free walking tour is very nice

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2019

    8.3
    1. breakfast has toast, milk, coffee, orange juice, apple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 2nd time I stay here, I was given a room that facing the street and the metro so it was very noisy even I had my earplug. NO WIFI in the room.

    1. breakfast has toast, milk, coffee, orange juice, apple juice, boiled egg, jams, butter, enough nutrition for a day and good value for money. 2. shower room and bed room is clean. wifi at public area is fast enough. 3. location is great, and just 3 minutes walking to bus $#747 that goes to airport. and easy walking to a few famous places.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    2.9
    No wi-fi in the 21st century
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no wi-fi in the rooms and connection in the front desk is poor. There are not enough sockets to charge phones or connect laptops in the rooms. Staff behaved badly: they post the name of the guests they want to talk with on the main door at the entrance. They have our contacts (phone number and email) to reach us, no need to be impolite. They wake up guests to clean up the rooms. The train passing nearby sucks. Sheets are uncleaned before guests arrive. Rooms have no ventilation, actually there is only a window with a view to pigeon droppings. Most of the shower doors are broken. Lockers are paid and they do not sell beer.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    10
    by far the best Hostel in Dublin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that was a bit annoying is that in the bathrooms in the shower and also in the sink the water will just run for exactly 4 secs, so you have to press the button again and again. I understand that the water should run only limited, but 4 secs is way too short!

    This is the absolutely best hostel in Dublin. If you can get your hands on it, make sure to stay there! I've never stayed in a hostel that clean and comfortable. The bathrooms and also every other area in the accomodation are so clean you could probably eat from the floors haha. Even we were there around a very busy time it was always quiet around night time. They have a lot of group rooms and relaxing areas so the atmosphere in the hostel is amazing! There is always someone to talk to so it's perfect in case you travel on your own. The staff is amazing and the service is unbeatable - they organise everything for you on a small budget - they even have an own cheap pick-up service to the airport. I've never been to a hostel (not even hotel) so well equipped. They have a kitchen with everything you need and a lot of individual cooking areas so a lot of people can use it at the same time. They have a laundry room, reading rooms (with a lot of books to chose from), sauna, fresh towels every second day, FREE PIZZA NIGHTS on thursday! Pub Crawl, play areas with table tennis etc, free walking tours around Dublin and so many other (also free) activities I can't write them all down. The rooms are amazing, pretty big and with big mirrors. Breakfast is basic but perfect for the price you pay. Very well located! Just a 10 mins walk to o'connell street! The main bus station is just around the corner and all the tours (cliffs of moher, wicklow mountains, cork, galway, Limerick) start just in front of the hostel. I can't believe it is one of the cheapest hostels around Dublin!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    8.8
    The basement where you could play ping pong, Poole, fussball...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a bit bad, but what can you expect. Overall it was really good. No complaints.

    The basement where you could play ping pong, Poole, fussball and Xbox. The kitchen was nice to have Very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    6.7
    Noise level is unbelievable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise level is unbelievable you'd be lucky if you get a decent night's sleep. You can hear everything and everyone including the receptions/sitting area music. I stayed 2 nights but combined both nights I think I had 8 hours of decent piece and quite to sleep. The people who were staying here weren't so mindful of their surroundings and treat it as if they are the only ones staying here! Don't expect much from the breakfast either, it's just coffee, tea, orange juice and toasts. If the cost of this is charged with the room price then I think it's a total rip off as that is NOT a breakfast but rather a snack. Showers were clean and spacious but you have to constantly press the shower to turn on as it has a limited time and it turns off automatically. This is annoying (I know it's supposed to be an awareness to save water but it doesn't)!!! There was a window in my room but the glass was tinted blurry so what's the actual point of the window if you can't see what's outside and what's the point of the curtains for the window if it's tinted blurry. I don't think I'll visit again. I don't care how good or clean a place is but if it's noisy and can't sleep then that would be the last time to stay.

    The location, the bed and shared bathroom and shower was good as it has a door unlike some hostels where they use a curtains for the showers.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    7.5
    The staff are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a great hostel but there is some room for improvement. Yes, it's a low budget hostel but the beds could be more comfortable and it could install soundproofing because the train woke me up at 5 a.m.

    The staff are great. It's a great location and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    10
    Well-organised and very well located, excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular.

    The hostel is very well organised. The rooms were very clean. The staff was very helpful and efficient. The bed was comfortable, I slept very well. The location is amazing too. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2018

    7.9
    The atmosphere and the music in the common room was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 4 plugins in the room with 16 beds... And rooms were really cramped. Water in showers needed to be pressed almost whole time, because water run out after 3 seconds. Also lack of lockers in the room.

    The atmosphere and the music in the common room was really good, better than in pubs around city. Also location was great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2018

    10
    Amazing! Will recommend to everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train and bus, staff was super nice, room and bathroom was clean and I love the fact that there was huuuge open space for people to just sit and talk. :-)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2018

    9.2
    The people at the reception were really friendly and helpful.
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There aren't enough places to charge your phone! Especially in the bigger doorms.

    The people at the reception were really friendly and helpful. Thank you! And the location is great, especially for people who are going to the airport after their stay in Dublin. :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2018

    5.4
    Not a place for business travel where you need WiFi,charging, and night light ! :(
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No individual charging point at bunk beds, no individual lights, half of the time WiFi did not work! And cleaning staff omg..they clean so much that half of the time washrooms are inaccessible because they are cleaning!

    Its quite lively and kitchen too has too of stuff if you are planning to cook. Breakfast was nice !

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2018

    9.6
    The only hostel in Dublin for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi did not go into the room I was staying in at all. In any case, I'm not going to stay at any other hostel when I come through Dublin. They've earned a loyal patron.

    Absolutely loved the friendly staff that made everything feel so relaxed and comfortable and welcoming. The ambiance was just like a homey college feel and other guests were always friendly as well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location which perfect staff
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A noisy train every 10 minutes until 12am and which begins again around 5am

    It was very clean, the staff was kind and helpful, the shower were nice, the breakfast is nice and the location is awesome

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    7.9
    Affordable option near the city centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was the bare minimum, unfortunately. Coffee and juice were bland and there were no other eating options other than toast and eggs. I would have liked a bit more variety, but it was ok. My partner thought the double bed in the private room was a tad too used in the middle.

    The staff was very, very nice to me upon arrival. They solved all problems, had patience as I figured out the key cards. The bathrooms and rooms in general were very clean, heating was more than enough. The location was also very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2018

    6.7
    Very friendly hosts but needs alot of upgrading for safety and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 14 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, the hostel doesn't have lockers in the room and the only lockers available cost 2€ a day, and are located in a very smelly, humid basement. The hostel is open at all hours so there are no limitations in the hours you come in from nights out pubbing, which makes it very annoying for the ones who are sleeping. At anytime in the night, or early morning, you have people coming in ... Always drunk... Often being sick... Or just loud and disrespectful. Sure it's part of the hostel experience but it made me feel unsafe. The rooms don't have enough power outlets for everyone to recharge their devices. The beds don't have individual light systems for safety. One night, a guy crawled into a girls bed, and wouldn't get out despite her screaming. We weren't able to identify this man because of how dark the room was, and it never felt quite safe. The game room smelt like feet and onions. The bathrooms didn't have hooks or shelves to put our things on so we had to put everything on the floor. I hate to be so negative, since the staff was really amazing, but sadly, I would not stay in this hostel again. The other guests that were staying there, made my stay really unbearable... Vomitting, and not cleaning after themselves around the hostel. Wish the staff would have intervened more with conduct policies.

    The staff at the hostel is absolutely fantastic. They were always super helpful and welcoming. The location is great, if you're looking to walk around Dublin. There's a self serve kitchen always open for water, tea and has refrigerators to keep your food in. The hostel was also being cleaned regularly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2018

    5.8
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously noisy day and night. Aware this is hostel but Iv stayed in hostels before and slept well. Didn’t sleep at all. Loud music, hair dryer area outside in hall way so people constantly stomping up and down and talking so couldn’t relax even though we booked a private rooms. Would not stay again. Loud music, thin walls

    Free coffee and basic breakfast Clean rooms and shared bathrooms Nice staff Fan/heater in room

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing. The Hostel was dirty, especially the toillets. On the Saturday morning there was vomiting in the washbasin. At breakfast were there no choices.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2018

    7.5
    Not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's impossible to sleep because the front of the building faces train tracks and the trains run until late night and start during early morning. If your bed faces the train tracks, good luck. You have a bed but you can't sleep. Ear plugs don't work because the train noises are really loud.

    The location is super central. The hostel has various events, pub crawls, walking tours, etc.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    10
    Great place, lot of events, cheap prices, really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The temperature in the room was maybe too hot but nothing unbearable

    Great place, lot of events, cheap prices, really good position (10 minutes from nightlife and so close to a tram stop). Rooms and toilets were clean too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small issues. There are locker facilities available in the basement, but there aren't any lockers in the bedrooms. The breakfast room was a bit crowded.

    Very helpful staff. There was some confusion about my assigned bed already being occupied, so the staff managed to swap me to a new room quickly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    9.2
    The staff are fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise caused by some inconsiderate guests staying above me.

    The staff are fantastic! They tried their best to keep the place in orderly manner. It is a good place to meet people from many countries. I could use the kitchen for cooking and just to relax and have a cup of coffee anytime of the day except cleaning time. It is located in a strategic place.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    7.9
    The staff were lovely and very helpful and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. Other guests returned from a night out around 12-1am and proceded to be incredibly noisy for well over 1 hour which caused a very restless nights sleep. The walls are very thin so we could hear everything. We even could hear when someone used the communal bathrooms/showers.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful and accomodating.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    5.8
    The Hostel is located in a very good location, right into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom (shared) had individual taps for cold and hot water, so you either freeze, either burn your hands. You have to keep the tap pressed continuously to keep the water running. The bed had a quite bad mattress. The first night we had a heating problem so no heat was provided in our room. They solved it the next day. The breakfast is quite poor (toast bread, eggs, jam). Isaacs hostel is an option only if you really travel on a budget.

    The Hostel is located in a very good location, right into the city center. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere. The tour company they recommend is very good, you will have a nice day (we took the Cliffs of Moher & Galway tour).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    10
    Every single thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. The hostel is excellent.

    Every single thing. A had a really great experience with this hostel. The breakfast is really good, the toilets are very clean, the kitchen is big and complete. Great atmosphere in general. Thank you guys, you do a great job!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    7.5
    Clean friendly and secure no problems :) great help with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean friendly and secure no problems :) great help with local attractions and the walking trip is well worth it ...: it’s free and it is... the guides work for tips but I’d say it’s totally worth it

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    8.8
    Staff were amazing thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was hard to use our shared washroom - as soon as the other private room heard us get up or come home they went and hung out in the bathroom and showers

    Staff were amazing thank you!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    5.8
    Good location. Stay if you are not spending too long inside the hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilets and showers absolute rubbish. I know this is a hostel, but there was no privacy and few safe/dry places to store useful things like your clothes. One of the showers had a button which needed to be re-pressed every 2 seconds to keep the water flowing. One day during my visit the water for the toilets was switched off..... Room was BOILING hot and controls didn't work.

    Great location. Bed was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    7.5
    All in all it was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the cleanliness of the toilet, and I didn’t like that when I went to the showers, the cleaning lady was there. It was uncomfortable

    The bed was really really good and the breakfast was super

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Really comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hostel and service, they're extremely friendly and helpful. Adi in particular was top notch! The location was also great, you can get to the main train and bus station in under 5 minutes on foot, so it's easy to explore.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    The first of many
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like with my stay.

    From the friendly and well informed first meeting to the time we left, we were well looked after and the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    8.3
    Very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charging the phone wasn't a pleasant experience due to the difference in charging port.

    The breakfast,was included in price was excellent. Also the free walking tours was a great idea/

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    7.5
    Nice but very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was impossible sleeping. You can listen all the noise from the rest of rooms and doors during all the night. It is allow noise since 7am, and the mirrors and hairdryer are in the corridors, so we had at 7am a dozen of girls drying their hair and chatting very loud at our bedroom door. I was using earplugs and it was impossible to sleep more than 2 hours in a row.

    Localization was very good, everything clean and the staff very friendly and hepful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    10
    Comfortable, warm and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I have liked that I felt very comfortable, despite being in a hostel. Breakfast included was a great plus. The hostel offers a wide range of activities, perfect for whoever travels alone. I took the city tour because I only had one day in Dublin, it was a free tour (paying tips at the end) and was absolutely brilliant beyond any expectation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast is nice for the price, and the living rooms are so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a bad experience with the people in the room, they were really unpolite and spent all the night shouting and switching on the light, but this is not hostel's fault.

    Breakfast is nice for the price, and the living rooms are so beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    7.1
    lively hostel but the facility in the room so so only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room...located just beside the busy road, it's very noisy,and no soundproof, I can hear my neighbor very clearly, and the wooden floor is making SO MUCH of NOISE day and night whenever people walk by. I can't get a good sleep at all!! And there is only two single bed in the room, nothing else! ( Hostel did provide towels)

    Location was good, walking distance to most of the attraction side. The staff was really nice and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay at Isaacs Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no space in the shower cubicles to put your toiletries. The dorm room (8 beds) is a bit too small, especially when fully booked.

    The price per night is awesome. The staff is really friendly and helps you with any problem that may arise. The facilities like the common area, the kitchen, the sauna, and the lockers are also a big plus.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Perfect location and the friendliest staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location and the friendliest staff. The rooms and facilities couldn’t of been kept any cleaner. I will definitely be staying here again on my next visit

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    10
    Lovely Lively Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and bathrooms were a bit cramped, but there was also a mirror in the hallway with a shelf and outlets which helped.

    Lively and comoftable place to stay. The stove in the common room was a lovely cosy touch.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    7.5
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the 6 beds room. But unfortunately I got problem with other gusts. I moved to the 8 beds rooms. This was very comfortable more than the 6 beds room. Inside 6 beds floor was made by wood. So when I walked on it by beach sandals they made noise a lot. And room size was small. I hard some noise from up too by wood floor. There was no small right next to our beds. If you stay with rude people who are drunk they will turn on the very bright light in the midnight and will make some big noises by heels. I could not sleep then. But 8 beds room was not like that floor.

    Location. Staffs were helpful and kind.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could’ve been tall stools in the hallway beside the phone charging area. The trains were very loud and woke me up on numerous occasions.

    The showers were powerful and warm so I enjoyed that. I also thought the toilets were quite nice and there was a lot of places to charge your phone.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    10
    Great room! Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and ensuite were super clean and stylish. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were lovely and helpful! Check in was really easy and the location is amazing - right by the square and easy walking distance to the Christmas markets, restaurants, shopping and cafes. It felt like we were in the heart of Galway.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    6.7
    The location is excellent and easy to reach from the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception area smells very bad and the wifi is only available in the reception area.

    The location is excellent and easy to reach from the airport. The price is also good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    8.8
    Happy and homely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a little uncomfortable but nothing too bad. The train/tram line above made it a little noisy but they did specify that before we came.

    Great place with great staff, the free walking tour I would HIGHLY recommend it was fantastic! Free breakfast was good, and the place was very clean! Would visit again! Great for travellers.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    7.9
    My stay in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be a bit noisy with people out the front smoking and talking loudly. Also, there was a guy in my room who came in and watched loud soap operas on his phone while eating at 1am when everyone was sleeping. This is just hostel life though.

    Good location and close to supermarkets. There is also this cheap pizza place nearby that does a 5€ pizza, chips and drink deal. They have a sauna and it was cool to use it as I haven't been in years.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    8.3
    Close to city center
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 16 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Migrants from Africa came there in the morning from the street (they were not guests) to having a breakfast. Nobody checked them or ask them to leave.

    Close to city center

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff and free locker for residents before and after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small toilet and bathroom. Super tired and bad experience when using them. Breakfast was below average. AND THE MOST IMPORTANT THING is there is always no WIFI in your room no matter which floor and which room you live. If you need the internet, go to the ground floor where you do the check in and there are tables and chairs for you. But this sucks as you have NO ACCESS to INTERNET in your room. If you think internet is important for you, I suggest you to go for another option. If you buy early enough, there are tons of options for you with better price and location.

    Nice staff and free locker for residents before and after check in, which is safe with only access granted to residents (need to unlock the door). Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    9.6
    The hostel is within walking distance to the city Center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 6 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is under the bridge where the railway it is ,so it is a bit noisy . The wooden floor makes lots of noises too when u walk on it or people from 2rd floor are walking

    The hostel is within walking distance to the city Center. Very convenient.The free walking tour ,free breakfast and free sona are awesome . Will stay again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    10
    Amazing value for money, will be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 14 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent value for money. Great staff and great facilities. Very clean and welcoming and a great location just 5-10 minute walk to temple bar etc.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    6.3
    Meh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the first night we were there our power outlets in the room stopped working, when I told the staff they pretty much told me “too bad”. After a few more people complained they finally checked the circuit breaker and fixed it. We stayed 3 nights and every night it was SO HOT in our room, even with our window open 24/7 and our fan on while we slept. The heat wasn’t even on in our room but we woke up sweaty gross feeling every morning. We also didn’t sleep the best because even though the “quiet time” is after 11pm, there were constantly loud drunk people in the hallway at all hours. I mean I know it’s a hostel and you’re pretty much paying for a bed but if you can barely sleep, what’s the point?

    The property was cute, close to the town center, and if you are a social person, you would enjoy the atmosphere. It is the best you will get in Dublin for a cheap price. I like that we were able to have a private room. It looked like they had lots of social events throughout the week for guests like a pub crawl etc.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.2
    Got our money's worth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 14 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The trash bins in the ladies bathroom on the first floor didn't seem to work right as the trash would stick to the top and not fall down. It seemed like the senzors weren't working. The keycards kind of get easily demagnetized. Quite a few times when we went down to the reception to ask for adaptors in the evening there were none left, so be prepared to bring your own. One of cleaning staff got a bit rude with my sister when she spent time with her boyfriend who was in another room, even after being told that she stayed at the hostel as well.

    Even in a 14 beds room didn't feel cramped. Although if the window wasn't left open it would start to feel like a sauna halfway through the night. This also happened on the last night when it was much warmer outside. Our stay at the end of October, beginning of November.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.6
    Dublin girls holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a weird man in our room which made us feel a bt uncomfortable considering we were a gorup of six girls getting ready so an option for a female only dorm wouldve been better/looked into who they were putting where.

    The kitchen was really handy, lovely touch esepcially to be able to go and get coffees/teas. The room was spacious enough. The toilets and showers were really clean. The staff were super friendly and soo helpful - plenty of recommendations. The bar crawl was also really fun (12 euro from the hostel)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    8.8
    It was a great experience and perfect for a weekend with friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bunk Bed in a 8 Bed Dorm
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no problems at the hostel. Even the fact that we didn't have adapters to charge the phones was fixed. Everything went great! There were a few people making noise, which didn't bother us because we arrived right after them, but I saw the colleague at the reception trying to solve the problem and the noise stopped.

    I requested some decorations and cava bottles in the room for a surprise birthday celebration (that's why we were coming to Dublin) and the staff was very helpful, trying to provide what was asked. Also, I believe that the hostel is better than what we see on the pictures and also it's localization and overall surroundings.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Isaacs Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: