Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jackson's Hotel & Leisure Centre 4 stars

Beechwood Ave, Ballybofey, Ireland

#7 of 7 hotels in Ballybofey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 731 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable, room was so spacious, bathroom was clean, the shower was so good, the breakfast was good, staff were very friendly and welcoming, we got giving a king size bed as an extra since I was pregnant which we really appreciated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)Distance from reception to bedroom was very off putting. Took ages to walk there. 2) Super-size floor mirror in bdm and it's wasted as there is no light near it. Disappointing. The previous are observations NOT complaints.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction along the river walk was disorienting, but not the fault of the hotel.

    This hotel was great value for the price and a fabulous atmospher. It was nice to have an in-house restaurant and bar. The restaurant accommodated dietary needs but didn't have too many options. The room had plenty of space. We walked along the river, which was lovely, even though we got slightly lost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of hotel dated.not alot to do locally I.e you would need to drive elsewhere

    Big spacious family room for 2 of us.bar,restaurant, wedding reception all lovely but rooms&corridors slightly dated&not as nice as main parts of hotel. Staff all very friendly,live music on sat night&nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm due to the high temperatures we were experiencing, but very comfortable and quiet.

    The Hotel was of a very high standard. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. I wanted to take my mum on a special trip and she really loved it. We ate one evening meal in the hotel which was very good and comparable with other local restaurants etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff seemed distracted and almost like giving customer service was an issue

    Very comfortable rooms in the newer part of the hotel. Great breakfast and lovely outdoor seating area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stair way was very dated. The bathroom floor in the ladies toilet was wet and no slip sign was present.

    The bar food was amazing!!! The room was beaitiful but the stair way was very dated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in need of refurb, very stuffy room and no fan/air con. Beds and pillows quite hard

    Friendly staff, obvious start to update rooms, good breakfast selection, free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilitie wise the leisure area is really poor. The steam room smelt like urine and the jacuzzi wasnt working not that it looked appealing anyway - id spent 10 minutes in the pool before I had to leave.

    Nice bar, bed was comfortable and although the room wasnt a modern one it was still cosy. One of the staff members we were greeted by was Alvin who we found very welcoming and willing to help (not like the one who I asked for a fan one night when it was really warm, he just grunted at me and said no). Apart from the leisure facilities everything else was perfect. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet break in the small town of Ballybofey. Then again if you dont want to be awoken by a false fire alarm in the middle of the night then maybe not!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast the next morning was a half hearted effort and regretted paying for it to be brought to the room

    Good location and the wedding was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not fault our stay in any way. Room was great and so clean. Great view onto the river. The garden area and pool were great. 1 tiny tiny thing was the pool could have been doing with a little updating but i believe that is on the agenda. Everything spotlessly clean and food was excellent. What more can i say. We had a great time. Ooh a bottle of wine was in our room when we arrived. Had mentioned to the hotel staff it was our 22nd Wedding Anniversary. Thank u for making our day even more special. X

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plaster coming off the walls in places.

    Great view from the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. Friendly staff. The food in the garden restaurant was very good. A good buzz about the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dusty. The breakfast was cold each morning and we went at different times to check. The pool was clean the rest was grubby or broken.

    The staff were all very friendly. The beds were very comfortable. I got a new hairdryer with in mintues as mine was working.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the hotel after a 2.5 hour drive. Stood 25 mins in a queue to check in. My friend had gone to the bar to ask for ice as she had medication to take and had planned to take it in the room with filtered water she had brought with her. The young chap behind the bar was more than happy to oblige however the more senior staff member refused to give the ice, rudely pointing to a sign saying ice will not be given. I have stayed in numerous hotels in various counties and have never been refused ice.. it costs nothing!! Extremely disappointed as it is a beautiful hotel however, not meeting guests needs would put me off staying again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like

    The hotel, room and staff was amazing! The lady in reception was so nice, she asked what brought us to Jackson's hotel and we told her it was our wedding anniversary so she gave us a free upgrade to the bridal suite, the room was absolutely stunning with the best views. The restaurant and bar staff was amazing, everyone was so helpful and friendly, the food was beautiful too. We could fault this hotel at all and we'll definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed with my room, it was quite dated with random furniture & shower/bathroom could do with a makeover. Sink & shower was badly marked through general usage. Would have expected something better for the rate I paid.

    Staff were very welcoming & friendly. Food & evening entertainment was great, we had sunshine & were able to sit in the beer garden which was a lovely bonus along with the entertainment that was on there also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise we had booked the old part of the hotel rooms were so dated like something out of the 80's. We were also in what seemed like the attic of the hotel on the third floor rooms were not full ceiling it had bright red carpet pine furniture like something from father Ted's house. Had stayed in the new part before and it's is 10 times nicer would of book it if i had of realised. Bar food also wasn't great would recommend the villa rose instead of this hotel

    Nothing very dissapointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast could have been better- food wasn't replaced promptly when empty. Had to ask for replacements.

    Lovely spacious rooms and good leisure facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't stay long enough 😥

    First time we stayed in Jackson's and definitely be back again.the guy in out front Alvin was so friendly and even got upgraded which was fabulous the view from the room was something else. The food was what you call price for your money it was amazing and the portions was great. The staff was also friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated.Ceiling sagging and noise from above corridor. Bathroom dated and no toilet roll holder or towel rail. Cheap loo roll and unpleasant smelling soap/showergel.Grouting loose,taps faulty and bed worn/no valance.Hairdryer awful. Staff variable-mainly young and poorly trained. Stayed at Easter so busy and full of young families. New bit supposed to be better.Not a good spot for a romantic nreak!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shorter queue for hot breakfast, nice to be served at counter rather than everyone lifting their own onto plate including children. Children should not be near the food and should be served by their parents at the table. Children should not handle the food at all because they would tend to lift food and then put it back onto the hot trays

    Food was good. Restaurant run out of bacon at breakfast. Room was good ,Jacuzzi not working, disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The healthy suite was a let down. Dirty, old, rusty and very steamy. Looked like mould on the tiles although it was hard. The main reason for picking this hotel was because it had a health suite. Wouldn't recommend to come back because of this. Let's the whole hotel down.

    Staff were friendly, clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dreadful noise from the boiler that was under our room 244 it started at 6am and that was the end of our sleep as we had to get up soon after that and check out. This room should NOT be allocated to any guests as it is horrible for that reason. We had booked our stay well in advance and should have been given a better room and as for the view looking onto the back of the hotel and the guests staying above us were like animals they were pounding on the floor from early morning. Never again. Take this room off the allocation and more staff needed at the reception desk to check in guests. This was Paddys day and they should have known better to have more staff on the desk and not just in the background on the day that was in it and the hotel supposedly booked out it it was!!!

    Room was comfortable clean and warm and plenty of towels etc in the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long distance and 2 lifts to get to bedroom Swimming pool facilities dated and baby changing room small and door wouldn’t lock

    Location Staff very friendly Bar decor and food lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the hotel room was totally ridiculous. Far too warm even with windows opened. Really prevented a good night sleep. Also a bit far to walk to get to room.

    The hotel room was very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that one staff member in particular (glass collector) at the line dance function we attended tried to chat up some of our friends then finally went with a girl from another table at same function.. the men didn't want to use the rest rooms as the worker and girl were getting it on as the men said right at the entrance..I wouldn't have had a problem if this was kept out of sight but I found it very unprofessional of the worker and left wondering does he make a habit at other functions being held..

    Hotel was warm and the newly furnished part looks lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faceclothes in our room and towels were tiny

    Our bed was very comfy and the staff on the Thursday when we arrived were execellent, couldn't fault at all my only problem would be on our last night the heating in our room Didn't work but when we woke up the next morning it was on, Other than that we loved our stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a suite which was excellent but the jazusie wasn't working and I was very disappointed because when l go away l really look forward to a nice relaxing soak. Maybe next time (: x

    I took my husband to Jackson's hotel for his birthday, we were given a suite which was amazing, so spacious and the bed was ready comfortable. Couldn't fault it in any way, we had a fantastic time. Thank you so much x

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get a seat in bar. Had to sit in foyer and it was a bit cold until we moved nearer the fire.

    Bed very comfy. Rooms very clean. Staff helpful and attentive Good music.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't have blinds so got bright early in morning and sound proofing was very poor in bedroom. Could hear every toilet flush, text and people coming back to rooms.

    Nice ambience in hotel, lovely food and nice front bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find a thing to complain about

    Everything was perfect from once we walked into reception till when we checked out. All the staff that we dealt with were lovely. Omg the bed was so comfy I didn't want to leave it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to walk to our room - we were in the new wing of the hotel, but the walk was worth it as we had a lovely modern room with 2 kingsize beds!

    It has been beautifully modernised since we were last there - lovely atmosphere. The music on Friday night was very good - bar staff very busy but had time for everyone! Spent Saturday afternoon in the leisure suite - pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Changing facilities small but adequate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor negative if I have to mention any is whilst the room was lovely and cosy when we arrived, the heat was a little too much throughout the night. Would also like to see herbal teas offered in the room - but these are very minor.

    I have stayed in Jackson’s many times and love it here. It has great service, great facilities and comfortable rooms all for good value. On this visit the staff went out of their way (over and beyond my expectations) to cater to my vegan requirements for breakfast. I was made to feel super special!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms very basic - no robes, sockets near beds, shower wasn't great. Pool/gym opening times are not great.

    Very friendly staff, nice food and spacious (but basic) bedroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bar area at busy times.

    The hotel was furnished to a high quality standard, the staff were very friendly and always willing to help us out with any questions we had. The food was delicious, all fresh , beautifully cooked,and getting served meals was very quick and excellent service. Facilities at the hotel are excellent with a large swimming pool and a hot tub, steam room/sauna all included. My one criticism is the bar area is quite small and when it becomes busy it is almost impossible to get a comfortable seat, bearing in mind I was in a party of 4. Overall though I was pleasantly surprised with Jackson’s hotel and will definitely return again soon as. It offered great value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t enjoy being awake all night because of paper thin walls, listening to other couples have sex, then kids running up and down the corridor because the hotel decided to have a Santa’s Groto the same weekend and were very unkind enough to let us know. Appalling

    I enjoyed leaving and going home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a disabled room and the bathroom mirror was awkward to use. The room was cold at night and there was no thermostat to adjust the heat.

    Bed was comfy and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    should have asked for a room a bit further away from the live music on the night, it was a bit too loud from where I was. Apart from that all was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very out dated. Waited 45minutes alone in restaurant just to see a menu food was bland and cold. No information about the "holding charge" for security still waiting on a £50 refund going back into my account. Not a happy experience.

    Check out time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Layout of the hotel is a little confusing. Would recommend staying in an executive room in the new section of the hotel rather than the main hotel.

    Warm and friendly staff. Bar food at night was very good but last orders finished a little early at 8:45pm. Rooms warm and very clean with very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had one problem and the was the noise overhead.... We could hear every step and we did wonder if the ceiling was going to come down.... I don't know if it was a room or a corridor above us....😦🤔

    Travelled with a friend. Check in was very pleasant and efficient.... Rooms are dated but clean... Had a 1st class dinner in the bar where the staff were very pleasant. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty worn carpets. Noisy floors, staff not very efficient, left waiting almost an hour at the bar to check in when I arrived at 3.30pm. Receptionist said she would come find me & I had to go back out to find my room key sitting waiting on the counter

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a luxury room! The room consisted of two single beds and one double bed (definitively in need of refurbishing)so myself and my husband had a choice of beds...during the night this was a blessing as the room was so cold we had to take the duvet off one of the other beds. We were woken at 6 am by an awful noise it turned out it was the electric shower in the room beside us. We then had the pleasure of trying to get the triton electric shower in the out dated bathroom to work..no instructions provided in the room. These rooms were in the old part of the hotel and definitely not worth 149e.

    Late check in available

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ON ARRIVING AT HOTEL RECPTION THERE WAS AN STRONG OUDOR OF DAMP WHICH WAS BEING MASKED BY THE BURNING OF PEAT THIS JUST PUT A DAMPER ON OUR BREAK FROM THAT MOMENT HOTEL NEEDS TO COMPLETLY REVAMP RECEPTION AREA TO ELIMATE THIS PROBLEM .WOULD NOT WANT TO STAY HERE AGAIN

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't often criticise places but this hotel was very disappointing,staff took 20 minutes to ask what we wanted for eats ,when said came out it was tasteless bed so uncomfortable,will not stay here again ,the villa rose down the street far superior hotel sorry I didn't book this as I have before .

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no water in the room 😑

    We love this place ! Friendly staff , lovely rooms with views and food really nice , particularly the buffet breakfast 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I recommend that the hotel invest in nonskid bathmats for the showers.

    Jackson hotel was in the right place at the right time. I was on a bicycle trip around Ireland, and two of my Airbnb's fell through. Through booking.com I found the Jackson Hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. And they allowed me to store my bicycle and a safe place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    being woken up at 2 in the morning by bar staff on the first night, being woken up at 8am by a guy hammering two rooms up from us on the second morning

    bar food was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our carpet in bedroom was not vacuumed all week quite dusty.

    The bed was so comfy. Few minute walk into town.food was very good. Scenery was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was excellent from start to finish. The staff were very friendly and more than helpful from the receptionists to bar staff housekeepers all very friendly. Our room was fabulous with a scenic view. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    buffet breakfast, food warm, toaster not working. generally breakfast was not a pleasant experience. As a family we have stayed in Jacksons many times over the years, food was always of a high standard. Felt like this has become a training hotel in the restaurant side, as tables looked made and were full but condiments were missing, menus not available. most of the staff were lovely with exception to one , he seemed like the breakfast reception was beneath him and was a tad curt + grumpy in his manner.

    very comfortable rooms, helpful and friendly reception, bar, waiter/waitress and porter staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls could be painted on the corridors leading to the bedrooms they were a bit grubby

    The bar food was very good and the staff were very friendly service was excellent .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room had small balcony over looking river finn and a forest the en suite was beautifully tiled in a rich red and pale gold mosaic the room itself was lovely and well lit the pool was warm as bath and the jacuzzi was amazing already planning to go back also underground car park which keeps your motorcycle dry was an extra bonus all the staff from the desk to cleaners were really friendly and pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the pillows, I like a 'soft' pillow and found these bit hard but that's just me, rest of the family had no complaints and slept like logs!!

    We had a lovely friendly welcome from reception staff on arrival. We only spent one night here, would loved to have stayed longer to make the most of the facilities the hotel has to offer. it was a lovely hotel, had dinner in the restaurant, couldn't fault it. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very out dated, the toilet was barely attached to the wall, no iron in the room and the hair dryer have no puff at all, in fact i gave up and clearly did a lot of others as everyone checking out had wet hair!! The hotel itself was very noisy at night and the halls floors sounded like they might fall through at any stage. Shame really as there is a new part to this hotel but I'm guessing its just lucky pick as to who gets where!

    The staff where exceptionally helpful and well mannered. Food portions good size and very tasty! Pool was a good size if not a little rough in places.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldnt fault it. reception and all staff were very friendly and helpful

    great hotel. full buffet breakfast to die for. pancake machine went down well with our grandson. Spent a few hours in the bar with my son. my husband went back with our grandson to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor of the room and I asked for a quite room on the ground floor the room we got was beside the kitchen for deliveries as a result we were woke up at 6am approx

    The bar food was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little or no hot water through shower, made staff aware but didn't seem to make much difference.

    Good view from room, handy location to travel about from and see the countryside etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the reception staff very unfriendly. Did their job but with no great enthusiasm .left your hotel and moved to another one. The first impressions were so different thanks to the reception staff

    A young waiter I met in the lift delivering. A. Room service meal. The most pleasant member of staff. I think his name was Michael

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 life guards that moaned the whole time we used the pool 1 bloke just used his wistle instead of speaking to us. Too strict in the pool for the kids to enjoy it

    The pancake machine was loved by the kids

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the moment I walked in the charged me extra for the brefast which I had already included in the price. I got next to No sleep due to the paper walls and the crecking floors, so if anyone moved in the room either side it was like living in an 1800 Clipper ship.

    Cannot say anything good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely long walk {for an elderly person} from carpark to reception and, worse, from reception to room 408. This had to be done often to get to bar and dining. Not being told of carpark lift to get luggage to room.

    Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and liesure factiles were so run down and very dirty and we were very disappointed as thats was the purpose of our visit

    Everything was good except the leisure facitiles were so poor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked everything about this hotel, from its location to its friendly staff. It was an extremely enjoyable stay. Great 4 days spent there in July. Great access to the fabulous scenic routes Donegal has to offer. If you are looking for a break in the true sense, Jacksons is the place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was poor during the day. Went into lounge for drink that night. Tables were cover of used glasses and bottles. Sat for one drink . But tables never cleared so left.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last couple of stays our room has been less than adequate. Whether it was simply because we booked for only 1 night and at discount price, we maybe weren't ranked top priority. But our stay two nights ago might have been the worst. Two sockets where broken and didn't work. We were put into a very small room that was beyond warm, with no bath. The mattress on our bed was so hard and didn't even fit the actual base, it was too short to cover it so I ended up whacking my ankle more than once climbing out of bed. I never put in requests but because our room wasn't great the last time we stayed I asked for a river view room if possible and received a reply that yes thus was okay but our view was of a roof and half a car park. We stay here two times a year. With our boys and often without for some r n r but I fear we won't be back for a while now as our last two or three stays have not been enjoyable.

    We've stayed at Jackson's about six or seven times and actually honeymooned here nine years ago. It's friendly. Relaxed and the hotel itself is lovely. The pub and beer garden is lovely and the food delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to check in at 3.15pm and our room was not ready. We were told it wouldn't be ready for around 45 minutes. We weren't offered a drink while we waited or even a cup of tea. We were with a wedding party and someone let us leave our bags in their room but the hotel is so big that it involved a lot of walking around with heavy bags while we waited for our room. No apology from the staff or hotel for this inconvenience. No offer of a later check out time to compensate. We paid a lot for this room and weren't happy with the service at all.

    Nice large comfortable beds. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was atrocious!!! I complained when we realised that the toilet was actually coming away from the wall and floor: this in top if the horrible decor and general upkeep of the room led our c

    We liked the alternative room in the new wing of the hotel: this was after we complained about the first room!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated hotel, rooms were awful, cheap old tacky laminate flooring. I would imagine the carpet throughout the hotel has not been changed since the 80's. I ate in the bar, the staff cleared the table of the drinks, but didn't even bother to wipe down what was a dirty table. The breakfast was a horror show - the worst breakfast I have ever eaten, dry cheap food served, and the buffet was almost completely unstocked. The breakfast room was like a sauna, so hot the butter was melting on its serving plate. Stayed alone with work for one night. If I was ever to bring my wife to this hotel as a weekend break - she would divorce me.

    very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 233, stayed in it twice and no cold water in basin in bathroom! food not great so don't eat in hotel, but facilities & staff great!

    very homely, great staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The leisure center needs to be renovated. It looks a bit worse for wear and a few maintenance issues. The pool was also very cold and the doors open didnt help!! The rooms were lovely however far too hot! Even with the windows open it still was too hot which made it difficult to sleep. Lastly, we had isssues with the room key. We had to be let into the room 3 times because the key card wouldn't work! The staff were very apologetic and did offer to change our room after the third time however we were going to bed then anyway. A free drink token for the bar would have been nice for the inconvenience.

    The rooms were really nice. We booked a twin room and each had a huge bed. The food in the bar was excellent and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought price was excessive without breakfast ..no fridge in room ..also our car was damaged in the car park...by local travellers...an 8 yr old boy , who, of course cant be charged..Thought the hotel could at least have sent an email saying sorry...

    Room was nice , comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is an old part of hotel and new section of hotel. I know this through staying here before. They put me in old part which I found outdated and the shower wasn't hot. Had 2 showers over 1 night stay and found the shower to be very very poor. If I ever stay again I will make sure I get room in new section

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of booking on hotel site price included breakfast but had to pay for beeakfast. Was allocated disable room which meant having to bend over quite low to shave. Would not go back to this hotel and will inform family and friends of my eperience staying here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom in old front part of hotel, bed very uncomfortable! Stayed in new section before and bed excellent, breakfast buffet poor! As was bar food last time I stayed, I told reception about bar food

    Good facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: