Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kilkenny Inn 3 stars

15/16 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland

#25 of 51 hotels in Kilkenny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1755 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from room was lacking a bit but who stays in the room very much! Views around town made up for lack of room view. Room was very clean and I really liked the wallpaper. Don't let lack of room view keep you away. Charm inside hotel was great!

    Kilkenny Inn is located within walking distance of many atractions/pubs. Staff were welcoming and warm. Pub and restaurant in hotel was excellent. Rooms are bright and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No curtain on window, only a blind. This was disappointing especially as a bright June morning starts at 4.30am.

    Friendly staff, good location, close to everything but not in the middle of bustle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little small but unique and quaint.

    Close to the main area. Really friendly staff and they even opened breakfast a little earlier so we could catch our flight. Breakfast was cooked on request so it was got and fresh. Easy to find and parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking area was very limited to us guests because it was very small. The restaurant in the hotel uses this area to park as well. I feel for the amount of money I paid the hotel should have been a bit nicer. Our hotel bathroom door was broken the whole time we were there and you would have thought the cleaning people would have reported it and had it fixed during out 3 night stay. The bathtub was very dangerous to get in and out of, it was very high.

    The location to city center was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were in did not have electrical plugs in the bathroom. The only plug was above the two person table where I had to dry and curl my hair. Other than that it was brilliant!

    We loved the staff, location, restaurant, parking, beds and cleanliness. We will return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was easy to access, was situated within walking distance of all major tourist attractions and entertainment venues, and had plenty of secure, off street parking. The staff were incredibly helpful to us, particularly when we fell ill and needed to see a doctor. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Would definitely recommend staying here when in Kilkenny.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They changed the carpet the day we arrived. The noise wasn’t that bad but the smell afterwards was terrible. There was also a construction side behind the hotel with a dump truck that beeped loudly all the time while driving backwards. There was a lot of mould in the bathroom (the fan didn’t work) and the toilet seat was old and damaged.

    Well located in the city center and the staff was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disorganised but I think this was due to waitstaff inexperience and more diners than expected at the same time.

    Bed was great and restaurant dinner meal was of very high standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who parked her Eurocar almost sideways......

    Nice short walk into town, to pubs and restaurants, quiet to sleep...easy out of town. Parking supplied. Bar open for guests only on Mondays as closed usually on Mondays. Ate in town, visited pubs, great Irish music.....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never like to see a strained carpet.

    location was good. Room needed some additional upgrading. Carpet should be replaced and walls painted where repairs were done and both windows should open, one was broken. The room was well equipped with towels, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal place to stay to go into town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening bar/waiting staff very friendly and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay at the Kilkenny Inn. Our room was wonderful, very comfortable bed, the best on our trip. The front desk women who helped us was lovely, so helpful. We appreciated being able to park on the premises.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was bit strange and was very hard to change temperature but that is all I would complain about

    The bed was very comfy, very clean and staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. 5minutes walk from Pub's and restaurants. In the evening the bar/restaurant in the Hotel gives a quiet and relaxed athmosphere for a night drink. Room was basic and clean. Reception staff friendly and efficient checkin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was a delivery truck was very loud, very early. But I understood they have to get ready for the day.

    The room was cozy and clean. The restaurant food was delicious and front desk staff was warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Wish I could remember the name of the girl who bookerd us in, but one of the most friendly & helpful we encountered in our 4 weeks in Ireland. Hotyel was close to the town centre & we had a ball. One of the best towns we visited.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - clean & comfortable rooms, exceptional friendly staff in reception, bar & restaurant. Conveniently located close enough to the many venues bars & restaurants on offer in Kilkenny yet far enough away for a peaceful nights sleep !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast nice but could have had more of a choice,especially bread,pastries etc.A bit boring

    Staff were all very friendly and helpful.Free parking a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is quite pricey even for hotel guests. I think they could have a better deal for guests.

    Loved the reception staff. The ladies welcomed us with a smile and were so friendly throughout our stay. Room was very clean and bright and cosy. The hotel was only 5-10mins to the centre streets and close to everything really.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was full when we arrived, think from what we witnessed it was possibly being used by non residents

    Location was good. Property being refurbished at moment and potential for a superior hotel there. Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Change nothing.

    Staff very helpful for directions and what to see and do in Kilkenny.Gave us great recomendations on where to spend our time both afternoon and night time. Breakfast was excellent and made to order and not there for awhile .Location excellent for walking to the City centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in office was on the back, restaurant on the front was closed, so it was confusing.

    Location was perfect, parking was easy, great room with a view, nice big bathroom, comfortable beds. Breakfast was nice. Good value!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, only a few minutes walk from the main street. Parking available too. Staff were very friendly. Room is basic enough but adequate for a short stay, clean towels and sheets. Can't complain. Competitive price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some redecorating going on at the time which is okay but quite a lot of dust in parts of my room (from drilling)

    Location was very central but still very little noise from street. Free parking available and convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the Inn was undergoing renovations and they rented us a freshly painted room, with NO CURTAINS on the window. That being said, when we mentioned it to front desk staff in the morning she comped our breakfast. How nice, and the breakfast was yummy :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reading lamp didn't work despite replacement and the bathroom sink was blocked.

    Service and food is good. Room was pretty basic though it was warm and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to use the lift for 3 days as the stairway was being painted. Minor inconvenience but delay with lift ment geting in and out of building slow. Also raining outside, couldn't put up umbrella as passage way along the building (to carpark) to narrow.

    Quite peaceful room (No 114), tea / coffee available, could have done with exrta blanket for bed. Staff pleasent, restaurant served good food staff there very helpful. Close to the town a big plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing room.

    The staff were amazing and the place was lovely. The room was freezing and not enough sockets and the ones that was there we're behind the tv. Also when we woke the next morning the window ledge was full of water from the rain, so it means there was water coming in aka most lightly why the room was freezing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue i had was that there was no hairdryer in the room. A call to reception and the hairdryer was brought up in five minutes but I would prefer to have one in my room.

    I loved the room. The whole place is getting a makeover and it looks great. The food in the bar was of excellent quality and was delicious. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Parking was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were almost at the end of their life :)

    Not like brand new hotel, but with great stuff, great restautant on site (where they are really cook great meals - considering not only Ireland), very good location, parking on the place and everything in good standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only thing that i found not nice about the place was the bar man he was very rude

    the lady on front desk was so so friendly and helpful, food was brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking says “in town” but it’s far from where you pick up the train...so it’s a bit out of the way in my book

    Fresh new linens, clean space, great view, friendly staff. Resturaunt has unbelievable food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtins in either room. Offered one beer or spirit to make up for it. (Cheapest drink) doesn’t make up for the lack of privacy as both rooms we’re facing out on a busy street And other buildings! Hair dryer with no plug in one room and none in the other! One loo roll between three girls. Definitely not worth the price we paid!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was perfect to the medieval mile and walking to everything - The staff was friendly and helpful - Our room was clean, and road noise was minimal - Windows opened to regulate temperature and the radiator worked well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was under construction,,painters painting on your floor when we stayed,,half painted walls and paint cans everywhere No parking in the car park cause the staff park there useing them all up Stall were very friendly tho Over all,,if there wasnt work going on and more places for parking,,wouldnt be a bad place to stay Good location in town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ultimately I didn’t have high expectations given that it was only 55 Euro a night but the room did have a damp smell and VERY cheap beds (the kind you’d put in a guest room for a child- that weak) I opened the window to get some fresh air in the room since it smelled a little stale and then found out I had no control over the heat to warm the room back up. I could tell The room had been cleaned but there were spills on the carpet that couldn’t be cleaned out.

    The reception folks were great and it was close to everything. The restaurant below the hotel was very good and separately operated by a great chef. Also you can walk from the train station. Ultimately I didn’t have high expectations given that it was only 55 Euro so If it’s only one night and you’re on a budget, it’s fine. If you’re going to do a few days in the town, spend a little more for a nicer place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a tad dated, but it was very clean!

    The Inn was adorable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Love the décor! The food and drinks were amazing as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The treatment we got on the night when arriving back from town was awful the night porter was rude and made us hostage in our room would not allow us to speak nor associate with our friends next door

    I liked the bar area and the lady on reception was really nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms clean but in need of update

    Had light lunch in the restaurant, absolutely delicious, fresh produce, was women's world day and they were giving free desserts. Nice touch🌹

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to locate when driving even with the aid of google maps

    Beds very comfy and I received a quiet room as requested. located centrally. Staff helpful as I needed to get documents scanned and they were able to assist at no cost to me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the corner and was quite cold, our friends were in the middle and their room was much much warmer...

    Good place, parking without problems. For me the menu in the restaurant was too expensive, they won some prices for cooking etc and if I compare price for accommodation and restaurant, the restaurant is not for tourists - especially not for tourist looking for English specialties...But the hotel is well furnished, nice people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a disabled shower cubicle that didnt close properly and flooded the bathroom. Tiles around the loo weren't even so water gathered. Floor very slippery and we had to use our towels to stop the shower flooding the bedroom. No safety deposit box. Breakfast listed flat mushroom, we got one button mushroom!!!

    Location to town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry read above . Overpriced and basic. No personal touch. Location ok.

    Receptionist was friendly but gave no extra information or added personal touch. I expected more from a hotel in Kilkenny I’ve stayed in more reasonable and nicer places in the city. Very over priced.Room was v small and expensive €189 for two people with no breakfast included. Decor was basic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very uncomfortable Breakfast not included in the price the Penbury inn was the same price and included breakfast much nicer hotel

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy because of banging doors (including the bathroom door banged off the bath when it swung open and I could hear this in the room next door). Not enough plugs - only two including for the TV.

    I didn’t have breakfast so can’t comment on that. The hotel was simple but had everything I needed. Location fab and free car parking. Friendly staff. Free WiFi. Comfy bed and windows that opened to let in air!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything great though, as the walls are rather thin, it is easy to hear noise coming from the rooms next door. For this reason perhaps best only for couples/business travellers/solo travellers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very old decor. Very old tv with a frozen channel on it that the receptionist said was like that months. Check out was 12 pm and a new guest walked in to my room at 11:30am, obviously mistakenly checked in too early. Luckily I was dressed!

    Room was warm and clean. Receptionist on arrival very friendly and loaned me a phone charger having left mine at home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a horrible buzz coming from the fuse box in the room that kept me awake for most of the night. I had a very poor sleep. It was insidious and utterly unacceptable, surely it isn't necessary to have the fuse box in the room, or if so, can it not be silent? If just a malfunction, it must be fixed. Otherwise a very nice hotel and I would stay again if that was a one off situation.

    The decor and style. Friendly staff, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are starting to look a bit run down. One of the curtains in my room was starting to come free of its attachments which meant that it was hard to fully close them against the outside light. On the expensive side for what you get even though I got a good deal but standard price for places in Ireland unfortunately. Most of the negatives are relatively minor.

    Friendly staff. Nice restaurant attached which made for a good breakfast every morning. Decent WiFi available throughout the property. Comfortable room and powerful shower. Overall if you are looking for a standard enough three star hotel in Kilkenny within walking distance to the centre of town and some decent restaurants then this is certainly not a bad choice but at the same time don't expect to be blown away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet needed to be cleaned or replaced.

    We were enroute to Galway, so we only stayed one night. The room was quiet and clean, the shower worked well, the towels were very thick and fluffy and the breakfast (best breakfast ever!), wifi and parking were included in the room rate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girl that checked us in was pleasant. The man who took over after would not be someone I would recommend. Firstly I went to ask a question and he didn’t acknowledge me at all as he made me stand until I opened my mouth. He also gave me completely wrong directions to town centre and it was lashing. I came back to request a taxi and again he said after phoning them that a taxi was a waste of time. I got an umbrella off him which was broken in 6 places. He had a bad attitude and just didn’t want any mthibgvto dovwith a customer. The man in the bar spoke back to me after I ordered my drink - that was it - he was just interested in closing up from 10.30pm and doing his till and was not going to let me know last orders - he seemed related to the man in reception. We were not informed of breakfast times on arrival and arrived downstairs at 7.15am to be told that breakfast didn’t start to 8am 😬 fortunately the lady working that morning made an effort and got us tea and toast and she had to get another staff member to go to the filing station for orange juice - don’t think we were meant to hear this.

    Location and value for money suited our stay as we didn’t arrive until 10pm and were away by 8am again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains were ripped, the lighting was poor. The general quality of the room for the cost of it was in no way worth the price.

    The staff were very helpful, kind and generally lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were clean, but in our room at least were showing signs of wear and tear. Not a negative as much as an observation

    Staff were friendly and helpful, and it was nice and close to everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff when we checked in, very charming and helpful. The whole town itself is lovely and this hotel is within perfect walking distance of it all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you couldn cancell - Bad nights sleep due to a noisey group - Breakfast not included in the price €120 - Rate charged should only be €50 pp & breafast included if €120

    Friendly staff - Good Parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very dates and the dog or bed was tiny we barely had room to move in them.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful and the rooms were lovely and hot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouse droppings visible in the tiles or ceiling of the lift...very off putting as it has not been cleaned since I stayed there in the summer.....I would not eat at the property because of it. Sorry....attention to cleaning not good.

    I was in and out overnight....booking was easy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front door was locked upon return to the hotel at 3am, couldn’t get into the hotel. Tried knocking and eventually had to ring the reception and a few minutes later a man came out to let us in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for one night. Didn't get to the hotel until 2am. I rang the hotel to see if this was ok and they said it was fine. Staff were helpful and breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We waited more than 15 minutes for a waitress to come to our table to greet us when we came in for dinner.

    Comfort of the room and the bed, our best 2 night's sleep!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was a little bit old fashioned 😉

    Nice place to stay in Kilkenny. Friendly staff with good advices about things to do , where to eat... This place is very central. Delicious breakfast. We had a very good time there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only two plug sockets in our room and the tv and the kettle were plugged into these so with the three of us in the room it was hard to charge our phones and straightener at the same time

    The dinner in the Kernel Restaurant was amazing! Staff were so kind and went out of their way to make us comfortable...the staff at the Kilkenny Inn were very welcoming, the place itself was lovely and very inviting and in a ideal spot if you want to explore the town centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked late so we paid a lot for a very simple room (that's on us) There were some large stains on the carpet which I feel could have been dealt with but otherwise a perfect place to stay for a weekend in that town

    Beds were clean and comfy. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Parking was very handy. Location was very good and JUST far enough from the bars and clubs that it was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing important

    excellent breackfast! very nice staff. fast wi-fi. confortable room. daily cleaning of the room in the centre of the town. free parking behind the building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like was the pillows, bin the pillows!

    Great staff, very accommodating, the food was excellent and the room was quite comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of dairy alternatives at breakfast meant that I couldn't have coffee, and a broken tile in the bathroom could do with fixing but these were minor observations.

    Comfortable bed, absolutely lovely reception and bar staff. Clean, nice evening menu and generally a good choice for a Kilkenny break.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the place was perfect. there wasnt anything you could fault, unlike the Saddle Inn

    Everything. Clean . Friendly. Location. Staff knowledge of surrounding area. top place to stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have small toothbrushes and paste on the premises. You can offer them for sale at €2/pack if it's not part of the hotel pack.

    I had no breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a disgrace. Curtains in shreds, tv size of I pad, bad reception. Bed old , chips on all furniture , cheap chemical cleaners.toilet seat un fixed and paint peeling off. All bad

    It had hot water

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very disappointing. The bathroom was awful. The shower looked like a "pen" with a rusty seat in it. I was so repulsed by it that I could not use it. I think guests should be warned about it. Lamp beside bed had no bulb in it!

    The breakfast was very good. Décor in the eating area was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel on the first night was very noisy.From 1:30am to 5:30am guests were singing and moving from room to room banging on doors. Hotel staff only came up once during this time to tell them to stop making the noise.

    The location was good, within 5 mins walk to the centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower

    Great breakfast although busy and service slow. Happy to forgive as Eggs benedict were delicious. Will be a great place once the rooms have been renovated to match the new look and feel downstairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an excellent evening meal and a hearty breakfast at the hotel. The location was good for nearby tourist visits , and a nice stroll into Kilkenny. Staff were very helpful answering our questions , ranging from local hurling matches to pubs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed springs inside the bed protruding, quite uncomfortable Next day, they put something on top of it, making it more tolerable

    Good location and very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kilkenny Inn was a great place to stay. Comfortable clean rooms and close walking distance to the Medieval Mile. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Great value for money. Didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: