Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4 stars

The Bridge, John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland

#12 of 51 hotels in Kilkenny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3750 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    It was Ireland as you dreamt it would be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was phenomenal and the fact that parking was included in a city where there is NO parking was a real bonus. Just across the street is Kilkenny Castle and the Medieval Mile -- not even a 5 minute walk. There is also a great Irish pub across the street (Matt the Millers), where we enjoyed delicious pub grub for dinner and live music (all the Irish pub classics) by the local folks. We only wish we knew going in how great this stay would be and we would have used Kilkenny as our home base of travel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    A good base from which to sightsee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room. The terrace was crowded so getting a seat was an issue. Staff was hard to attract for service. Aspect from room was of the car park.

    Comfy beds. Great location. Pleasant breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    I would stay theee again. Just loved the position and the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing g they lacked was there dining experience was not good. The menu was very basic. You would of thought they would have had a better menu etc given the location opposite the castle. Hence we are across the road, there are plenty of options around town.

    Location was good, the place was spotless, parking was so easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Location was excellent within walking distance from all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great

    Location was excellent within walking distance from all the main shops and bars. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful on reception and room staff very friendly aswel. Room was really spacious and such a comfy bed! Really great hotel and super handy having parking on site also! Will deffo be back ☺️

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Well done Kilkenny River Court Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not fault the hotel in any way - exceptional experience.

    We loved our stay at the Hotel, great location in the heart of town and would certainly recommend the hotel to others.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Bedroom was clean tidy .
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered room service theyre was no table to eat our breakfast ..also when we arrived to the wedding theyre was a marathon on and we couldn’t park in the grounds had to carry bags etc over the bridge not ideal when ur in heels and dressed for a wedding ....

    Bedroom was clean tidy ..Bit stuffy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great stay in Kilkenny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldnt say didnt like. The hotel itself is older style may not suit some people.

    The friendliness of staff. The room wa large plenty of room to move and put your luggage not u ddr foot. Breakfast was excellent. Staff brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    One of our best city breaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean and tidy, bed very comfy. Breakfast was delicious with a great view of the castle. Location excellent for all the sites of Kilkenny

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    My favorite Hotel and town on my trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all...

    By far, this was my favorite hotel and town on my 10 day vacation in Ireland! The hotel room was clean, updated and comfortable. We had a view overlooking the river and the Kilkenny Castle! We were worried that we were also perched over the outdoor cafe area and might hear noise... nope...never heard a sound. We loved that the hotel had a free parking lot too as this can be rare in some of the hotels and we just strolled over the beautiful flowered bridge into this charming little town! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly! My only regret was that we didn't stay longer!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location right next to the river and across from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location right next to the river and across from the castle. Shops and restaurants were so convenient - just a short walk. Easy parking at hotel. Superb staff! We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Overall we would defintely recommend Kilkenny River Court to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could be a little challenging.

    Rooms were comfortable, clean, had wonderful view of Kilkenny Castle. It was so lovely to wake up each morning & look out & see Kilkenny Castle. Had a wonderful full breakfast each morning. The location was great as you could walk to all the pubs, shopping & tourist attractions. Great outdoor patio along the river overlooking Kilkenny castle. Wonderfulplace for lunch ,dinner & cocktails.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    A real gem at an unbelievable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Without question, this is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. From the reception at the front desk, the spacious room, the meals and ambiance in the dinning room and the view out our window of Kilkenny Castle, everything was fabulous. We even met travellers on our trip who were coming your way and didn't hesitate to tell them about this hidden gem. You need to go to the hotel to just take advantage of the wonderful setting of the morning breakfast...a real treat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Kilkenny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel in Kilkenny, perfectly located to leave your car and walk to everything. Lovely breakfast looking out on the castle, staff were very accommodating and friendly. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Great location and super comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is wonderful with great views of the castle as well as walking distance to all of town. Super pub right across the road with excellent food and live music. Once settled no need to drive. Very good breakfast and super comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    The room was bright and clean, breakfast was nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the room was very overpriced for a one night stay

    The room was bright and clean, breakfast was nice and reception staff very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The staff were very nice the breakfast fantastic room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like in the hotel

    The staff were very nice the breakfast fantastic room was clean and quite at night very central to everything and Kilkenny a fantastic city for a short break. Will go back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable. People were friendly and the restaurants were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service in the bar stopped at around 8.30.

    Rooms were a good size, comfortable bed and armchairs. Staff were polite and friendly. The hotel is ideally located for all the sights in Kilkenny. Good breakfasts too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    Under whelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at breakfast, we ate our whole meal without getting toast or coffee. We asked for it twice and then at the end of the meal, two people each brought over the coffee and toast. 30 mins after sitting down. I had requested a room facing the castle and understand ‘subject to availability’ at check in, the receptionist didn’t even acknowledge that I had requested it, instead we were just handed keys to a room with the tiniest window, over looking the car park! It was so dark! People were parking their cars right outside our window. Overall, for the price, very underwhelming experience and won’t stay again. Would perhaps pop over for a lunch though, as the view on the terrace is second to none.

    The location is good, you can walk everywhere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the river was lovely. Had a castle view room which was an amazing experience to have, and staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking is free for people staying at hotel, booking.com ad doesn't make clear. They give you a ticket on leaving to get the barrier to raise for you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.5
    Very nice. Just wish I was able to stay on a different price day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Turn in hard to find on GPS. Better signage to see for the turn into the courtyard. Black is hard to see!! Also..PRICE almost DOUBLED ON For a SATURDAY NIGHT! That's not right.

    Nice view of the castle and nice deck. Good food! Nice location near everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Love this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second day of our honeymoon and Brian at the front desk made it even better. Beautiful hotel, right across from a fantastic pub, close to the medieval mile and great shopping. The view from our room was Kilkenny castle. A must to stay at.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Found the hotel excellent, spacious room,gorgeous breakfast and plenty of it,ideal location ,very handy for going out ,will definitely be back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    There was a wedding that took place on our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding that took place on our stay Bar and dining room were unavailable from noon to evening I don’t think these kind of things should happen through the guests stay .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in centre of Kilkenny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was nice, but not outstanding. Otherwise everything was excellent.

    Lovely hotel right in the heart of Kilkenny. Room was very comfortable and staff friendly and were able to check us in early which was great as we were going to a wedding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Very relaxing stay because of the near proximity of shops, a castle, and Gaelic entertainment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike although the entrance to the car park was a little difficult to navigate if you didn't have someone to help see you out.

    We stayed in a suite which was way beyond our expectations, the staff were some of the friendliest we have met and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast and dinners were both of very good quality. The hotel was very near to the town centre, although next to a river, so the stay was very leisurely, both historic sites and shopping were within very easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    The rooms were shabby, lots of noise throughout the night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were shabby, lots of noise throughout the night and there were alot of large flies on the bread and pastries when we went for breakfast. I would not stay here again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic, nothing extra for the money we paid. No bottled water. Tea/coffee facilities u would get in b&b. Nothing to see where money went. Shower over bath. Would expect separate shower. Wouldn't recommend. Better accommodation in Kilkenny for price we paid.

    Breakfast. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Awesome hotel in every way n great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in great location. Our room overlooked the river n castle n had a balcony.room was lovely.massive cosy bed.shower was brill.even had bathrobes n slippers.fantastic Buffett breakfast.best I've had.lots of selection.everyone working in the hotel were very nice.really enjoyed our stay.great hotel.ps free secure parking was handy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Very well located in heart of town on riverbank overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very well located in heart of town on riverbank overlooking Kilkenny Castle with convenient free parking included at the front door. Spacious & comfortable room. Best value for money of any of the places that we stayed on a 12 driving trip around Ireland.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    The location was very easy to walk to and even stop yo rest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This walls between room.

    The location was very easy to walk to and even stop yo rest our feet and back out again. It was quite from nose outside but walls are this. Staff is very friendly and breakfast was good for a buffet. We were visiting on our honeymoon and they made us feel like it! Beautiful view of the castle!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Couldn't fault a thing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The electric in the room didn't work at one point but it was fixed very quick

    Beds were extremely comfy and staff couldn't do enough to help. Location is ideal right in the city! We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    we had an amazing time in Kilkenny topped off by staying in the ~River Court hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely helpful, had an issue with the shower, rang reception and it was rectified in minutes. Room was spacious and comfortable and breakfast in bed was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable unfortunately we didn’t get to...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were at the wrong entrance and so was another person so as you come over the bridge it would help if there were another sign on the outside..

    The bed was very comfortable unfortunately we didn’t get to breakfast but had lunch and it was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Location and staff make the river court what it is.....beautiful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't really want to be critical as I would truly recommend the river court and we had a lovely experience, staff here make it! Our room was overlooking the car park and we couldn't open the windows fully but honestly I would come back again in the morning even to the same room 😬because it's a fab place to stay and if I was going to Kilkenny in the morning...it's the river court for me! 🤗

    Breakfast was beautiful, good selection, nice and relaxed didn't feel rushed, staff really helpful and approachable great with sorting taxi's and arranging iron to be sent to room etc. Bar staff really good, very friendly and knowledgeable on the various Irish gins! 😃

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable 1 night stay - excellent location and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our balcony opened onto an air condition outlet, and was a little noisy, however, it was turned off during the night. That's the only minor complaint.........well, you did ask :-)

    Excellent location with castle and river views. Good size room. Balcony that you could open the door for fresh air.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    An excellent location in Kilkenny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a modern hotel alongside the River Nore with Kilkenny Castle overlooking the hotel from the other side of the river. The Bar and Dining Room were good as was the service. The staff were most helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    I love the location of this hotel, right next to Kilkenny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some water in the room would have been nice after a days shopping. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but extremely busy, and it was a little hard to get their attention at times.

    I love the location of this hotel, right next to Kilkenny Castle and a very short walk to lots of shops, cafés and bars. Our room was cosy and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Excellent room,excellent food,excellent staff,will be going again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very popular with weddings, but while they ask you to respect other people's privacy the noise comming from the wedding reception kept my wife and i awake till two in the morning!!.

    Everything!.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, from the minute we walked into the hotel we were met with big smiles and excellent service. The room was large, the bathroom was large, great info in the room, excellent food, lovely area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect! The staff were pleasant and helpful. It was a beautiful hotel. Perfect walking distance to bars, restaurants, and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.0
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleaning. The bathroom sink was dirty. One of the fade towels was completely dirty. I could say it was disgusting. Looked like lots of nose dirty!:( The pillow cases were dirty. There was no towel paper and when we went to her reception in the evening there was no one there to give one to us. The staff was very friendly, except for a female waitress at lunch time that looked very annoyed at us every time she went to the table. I was very disappointed with the cleaning in the bathroom and bedrooms, as previously mentioned. The sink drain was disgusting , the toilet sit was dirty and the hand towels were dirty. I expected that the cleaning staff would have a quality standard as it is a 4 star hotel. Thank you

    The bed was comfortable and the view to the castle was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Proximity.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps just the night staying there but very very noisy in corridors until midnight. Doors banging in almost every room near mine. Calling out. Talking loudly outside rooms

    Proximity.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    The location riverside and opposite the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of rooms ( Rm 128 for example) suffer from a location directly above a large electricity unit which emits volumes of hot air. Given there’s no aircon in the room, opening a window to let in cool air results in directly the opposite. The hotel accommodated our complaint and changed our room.

    The location riverside and opposite the castle. Comfortable rooms. Good Irish breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    I found our stay very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I didn't like!

    Location very central to all amenities. Very comfortable and beautiful breakfast. Spotlessly clean and very friendly staff. What more could you want?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The room was huge !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We had a fab night in Kilkenny. Everything was great!

    The room was huge ! The view from the dining room was gorgeous and the breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and beautifully presented. We loved our night here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very hot and it was hard to cool this down so was not very relaxing.

    Gorgeous view from the balcony and lovely breakfast the next morning. Our room was really well presented and we were given bottle of prosecco on arrival in our room to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Was expecting more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't great, not really up to standard for a 4 star hotel. The potatoes were very hard. The portions were very small and there was Not enough variety.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in the heart of Kilkenny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding on when we arrived and we were concerned it might be noisy but our room was very quiet and comfortable. The breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast very good. The location cannot be beat as you are steps from everything that Kilkenny has to offer. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Would definitely consider a return visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing because the management of this hotel wee indifferent to the noise of this wedding part
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding party late night disco or band that played unacceptably loud until Three AM. I complained to the hotel management with very little response.

    Bedroom comfortable. Dinner good not in any way remarkable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel. Enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like everything was lovely.

    We got a nice big room the bed was very comfortable we had a balcony which was great .the staff were lovely and very helpful the hotel was within walking distance from the shops and the train station and will most certainly be going back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location in Kilkenny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Challenging location to find and difficult parking.

    Good pub food and great breakfast. Very helpful staff. Unlike other hotels in Ireland there were easy chairs in room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Kilkenny stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i didnt like.

    The hotel and restaurant offered great views of kilkenny castle. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was great. A three course meal cost 30 euro. The breakfast was buffet. I really enjoyed my breakfast. The pastries and scrambled egg were very tasty. The room was new and a good size. The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Impressed by service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whereas the decor in the reception area, the bedrooms and the landings and breakfast room were bright, clean and fresh, the bar and restaurant seemed a bit grubby and out of date I feel it needs a total revamp particularly the seating and flooring.

    Most of all I loved the service provided by staff and their general friendliness. Whether checking-in/ using the restaurant or passing the housekeeping staff in the corridors, they provided a nice atmosphere for a break.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    Stay was lovely , would recommend it being in the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were nice but overall Hotel & rooms could benefit from a refurb, I would rate it more of a 3 star Hotel at the moment then a 4. We found our last morning very nosey with what sounded like repair works going on above us.

    In the heart of the town, staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Great view, location, and site......quite a bit noisy however
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise was a bit much with very loud weddings going on until the wee hours of the morning. Our walls were cibrating from the music.

    I loved the location, the view and the staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Great value for money considering the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money considering the location. Whilst we had a little "hiccup" with our check-in, the staff did an outstanding and professional job resolving the issue quickly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    The location is just perfect over looking the river and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a pity there is no leisure complex

    The location is just perfect over looking the river and wonderful view of the castle, not to mention how close this hotel is to all of Kilkennys hot spots :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location, near to the city center and the castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite its charm, The building is a little bit “overdressed”. The staff was unattentive and absolutely not reactive to the needs of the clients (luggage loading, no help to open the double door with a stroller while I was holding the baby)

    Wonderful location, near to the city center and the castle was just outside the window. Complementary parking right in front of the entrance, the overall quality of the breakfast buffet was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Weekend chill at the River Court Hotel Kilkenny.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music on Sunday afternoon could be better also charged three euro for a dash of orange juice that came out of a carton that was on are third drink the previous two drinks with a dash of orange juice cost nothing.

    The bed were comfortable and the outside sitting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location next to the castle, great open air bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was very dusty & covered clothes and bags in dirt dust

    Fantastic location next to the castle, great open air bar overlooking the water, excellent breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Two day stay so it served its propose central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Part of the Hotel looked run down and in need of repair and no night to ask the residence who decided to had a conversation in the car park for nearly a half an hour at 3.20 am and again at 5 am.

    Staff, Location and Evening Meal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    A gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the castle. The terrace is a great spot to enjoy the view and is also overlooking the river. The rooms are elegant Staff are excellent.... Lisa is the restaurant is outstanding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Very very clean rooms and bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner nothing special better offer in town chipped and nicer… much nicer breakfast ok. Very hard find some space in the car park

    Very very clean rooms and bathrooms. Nice clean hotel, very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms perfect size and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything

    Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms perfect size and spotless clean, food was amazing hotel had everything you would need and is right beside all amenities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Loved this location and the beauty of the hotel. It is in the midst of history, nature and culture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location and the friendly, helpful Staff! The room overlooking the river was superb and extremely comfortable and welcoming! Very hard to leave.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    After awkward first morning start were able to enjoy the next three days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water on the first morning of our stay due to faulty water tank. This meant going for breakfast without being prepared and as the water did not return until almost noon were unable to enjoy the morning. No recompense for the inconvenience, not even a drinks or light meal voucher. No contact from staff re reason for no water until we asked and no updates. Poor facilities for food intolerance sufferers. Gluten free bread in freezer, supplied own gluten free roll for burger. Spider like crack in middle of bathroom sink, reception informed.

    The bright rooms and corridors which gave a welcoming ambiance .All the eating areas for meals and drink both inside and outside were comfortable and well serviced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, confortable and most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were the standout thing for me, their friendliness and helpfullness were exceptinable. Would give a big a big shout out to Lara in particular, superb staff member.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location but I will not return because of the odour problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really did not like the smell of cooking oil on the stairs and in our room. It was off putting and is the reason I would not stay again. When we left I could get the odour of the oil on my clothes. Very very unpleasant.

    I liked the efficiency and friendliness of the woman on reception when we were checking out. I liked the way we were greeted and shown to our table at breakfast, the staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I payed an extra €50 for a balcony room and it was lovely during the day but at night it was full of spiders and midgets I couldn't use it after dark

    Food was lovely staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had a leisure centre (pool & jacuzzi) when i stayed there before, a good few years ago, which is one of the reasons I booked, Only realised they were gone when I tried to use them, in fairness it was not listed online.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Not the stay we hoped but staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible sound of a ventilator from the kitchen in our room, hotel promised to check and discounted us but did not work out our 2 nights as we hoped, as well hotel was without water for almost a day so we did not use the shower and toilet not a real good experience bit unlucky as was a city problem they told us. Other give the hotel for sure much higher rating. But try to be honest we did not like this experience. We asked Bytheway booking.com but they never answered our email... They let us down most from all her still 2 days later no answer!!! Wonder if this review will show online.. Really bad service...

    Staff is very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    Below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel with no charm - Rooms are very basic and need some refurbishing - Uncomfortable bathrooms

    Great location - Great view on the Castle from the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    - Waiting well past check in time for our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Waiting well past check in time for our room - Complication with refund on departure was handled badly - No variability in evening menu ensured we went else where to have dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Shower in room was unusable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room was unusable. The on dial was so stuck we could barely turn it on. And the inner dial which controls the temperature was stuck also and the water was so so hot iyou could not stay under the water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable and comfortable despite the heat in a great centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the heat wave and high temperatures the bedroom was very hot. A desk fan was provided. Unfortunately we were unable to open the ground floor window overnight for security reasons. Disabled parking was close to the main entrance but tight for two cars.

    Very comfortable disabled facilities in our spacious room. Bathroom / wet room was spacious. Staff were under pressure and very busy, but friendly, courteous and efficient at all times. Food very good for both breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: