Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kilkenny 4 stars

College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland

#19 of 51 hotels in Kilkenny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1888 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were woken quite early every morning with the staff cleaning and banging outside the room. I have 2 kids at home and was really looking forward to a break and a lie in! Saturday morning I was woken at 6:30am with banging trays and noise outside the room,. The hoovering started outside the door before 9am. I wouldnt receommend the hotel to anyone looking for a break at the weekend.

    We were in a newly refurbished room and the quality was perfect. Although there was a large group of us staying and other rooms charged at the same rate were less appealing and extremely run down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff respectful, courteous and friendly. Food was very good. 15 minute walk into a bustling city centre. Plenty of car parking in city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a little too crowded, quite far from the center to go on foot.

    Very large hotel, which can be a plus or minus depending on your needs. Good breakfast, but you need to get to the right round and choose the right time otherwise you expect a bit 'too much. Large rooms and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were a bit hard.

    The hotel was lovely, modern and very comfortable with lots of great amenities including a nice bar which served food. Bedrooms were of a good size and comfortable though the bed and pillows were a bit hard. It was also well located close to town. Also great to have free parking right outside the door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the property was perfect. I had requested a balcony room which I thought would have a view of something other than trees. It wasn't so much a negative as it was nice to be able to have the balcony to step out and have air but it should be noted that there are no views of anything.

    The room was exceptionally clean and throughout the main reception, corridors and breakfast room. The staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating. Room was spacious and the bathroom was pristine which is always a good sign. No rust or dated facilities in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, huge comfy beds, friendly staff and lovely pool and jacuzzi area. Would definitely recommend booking afternoon tea as there is so much food for the for a great price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a twin room but a double bed was in it. The staff came and changed it but it wasted a bit of our time. I am aware of the checkin time but feel it is far to late by comparison to other European cities

    Lovely comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest there was nothing to complain about :)

    Where to start...the staff are amazing!! The food is amazing, The bar staff are so friendly and the hotel in general was cosy and makes you feel welcome :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had some concerns about cleanliness in the bathroom, it looked like there were some mold spots on the ceiling, and in one section of the dining room there appears to be a lot of bugs. The toilet was also super close to the granite counter top, and I hit my elbow off of it a couple of times. Overal these were minor things and we still really enjoyed our stay.

    It's a beautiful hotel! Our room was very comfortable and the wifi was good. The staff were excellent. We had troubles with our card for payment when we arrived and the woman at the desk ended up having to hand key it in for it to work and was very helpful and patient. We were on our honeymoon and they sent dessert and champagne which was very sweet! The bar in the hotel is also really cool, and has a great terrace bar. We ordered drinks and dessert there and they were good. We also added on Breakfast when we arrived and that was good as well. We walked back and forth to city, about a 15/20 minute walk. We felt it was close enough to everything but set far enough away that it wasn't too noisy or chaotic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath leaked out into the bedroom carpet. The bathroom floor was dry but the carpert outside the bathroom door was absolutly soaked. Obviously a crack or leak somewhere. We did report it, nothing was done. There was a horrible damp smell in the room for the rest of the wkend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not as nice as I thought it would have been. The view was not very nice from our room.

    The leisure centre was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was just OK, not restaurant or B&B quality.

    The staff was exceptional to ensure we got a quiet room and experienced all the comforts that they could offer. There was great live music on Wednesday evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly, sat down for lunch and no one came near us. Went for dinner later and the waiter might as well have thrown the plates at us. We ordered the spaghetti with garlic bread, the garlic bread came 30 mins after and we had finished our meal already. The hotel then shut the water off for 2 hours so we couldn’t have a shower before we went out.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very Poor staff service and alot of discomfort caused by the staff and hotel management ,Would be better service in local B&B Then this ,have stayed and traveled .approx 50 + hotels this was the worst service and staff ever .They treated us like we are a burden ,mistakes after mistakes if i start writing will be a long list ,i have called and informed Booking.com for the misbehavior and poor services.

    pool ,saona

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding could be more comfortable. The pillows and duvet were not fluffy and luxurious; I would have expected them to be.

    The facilities and staff were truly excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed had no bedspread and there was no blanket and room was slightly chilled ,so initial presentation was bad ,The lighting was bad in the room and the view of side of building poor with up turned lawn.TV had limited channels. On same level as pool so heavy smell of chlorine in the hotel rooms corridor ,not pleasant.

    Nice friendly staff and good breakfast and newspaper.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no water on second day toilet didnt work and generally a bit rough around the edges in room

    food was excellent in bar but bad breakfast good residents bar also

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar should consider investing in proper gin glasses.

    The staff really made sure we had a good experience. They were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar food was basic. Curry was nothing great but presentable. No real complaints.

    The staff were friendly. The room and hotel were clean. Nice hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel. Well located for a walk into the town - about 20 minutes. Plenty of hotel parking for motorbikes. Lovely lobby and bar, also serving food. Comfortable, secure rooms. First class breakfast. The receptionist on leaving was absolutely charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast a full Irish and the cold buffet is 12.50€ which is brilliant, my partner ordered the vegetarian option which was advertised as pancakes with berries and syrup and he got 2 thin small crepes with a side of jam, and still had to pay 12.50€ which we were not impressed about at all as that’s a scandalous price for 2 pancakes even with the cold buffet included!

    Room was fabulous very comfortable, all the staff are very friendly and leisure facilities were great. Pure bar was very nice food is gorgeous and drink reasonably priced loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room felt cold at times and we could not adjust the temperature, unlike my friends room we were not provided with complimentary robes and slippers to use whilst we stayed at the hotel (despite us paying more for the room than our friend had), if more tea/coffee facilities could be provided (more milk etc.) and I would not opt in for the breakfast in your room option as our order was completely messed up and we then had to wait additional time for it to be corrected. With regards to the breakfast downstairs in the hotel option (as standard) to note, hot food is taken down by a waitress/waiter at your table and a cold buffet is provided to choose from, however the portions are small with the hot breakfast.

    the beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel lacked character, the rooms were bare...It was difficult to work in the room, as the chairs would not pull under the desk comfortably to work. There was a smell of cigarette smoke in the hall.

    The Bedroom was large and clean. Breakfast was served to the table by a lovely lady.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, just earlier check in as 4pm is quite late.

    The hotel itself is fab, bedroom we got a double and single bed even though I booked a double room which was great. Check in was nice and quick(prefer if it was earlier) even 2pm would be better. Staff were very friendly, location is walking distance to Kilkenny city and castle. Beds were very comfortable, will definitely be back to go to their spa it looked amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were very helpful when my husband needed to seek medical help. Two staff members kindly followed up afterwards, which we appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was just fine. The room was clean the bed comfortable and a good breakfast was given. It is a 5 star hotel and I would recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar is very quite but if you’re looking for a good pint and some friendly pub banter. Walk across the road to the scelp bar. Great pub.

    Good gym and pool facilities. Breakfast very good and beds very comfortable. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was a bit disappointing so we only ate there for one meal. Otherwise a great stay.

    We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Kilkenny. Much closer to the town centre than described on the website. Our room was great and the bed comfortable. I also had a really great massage in the treatment rooms attached.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt that the rooms were a bit run down; booked especially for the waterfall at the pool and jacuzzi for a relaxing evening but found out the waterfall has not worked in over 7 months (booked this earlier this year)

    Had a decent location and parking on site

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One drunk old man but situation was handled perfectly by the great security team they were brillaiant

    The staff were excellent very helpful all the time , and the room was lovely and the pool was fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer was extremely weak and we didn't get sufficient toiletries - however the hotel made up for this by giving us fistfuls after we mentioned it!

    Everything! The room was amazing, the spa facilities were great, breakfast was delicious and delivered to the room (but it would have been nice to have a wider selection of food available for the in-room breakfast). The staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was good (not the best meal you'll ever have but still very nice).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was brilliant food in the restaurant and the bar. Rooms are beautiful with a luxury bed I found hard to get out of 😂 very comfortable . Staff excellent .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at Hotel Kilkenny many times each time we come back we get the same welcome. The staff are all pleasant and friendly, nothing is too much bother for them and they are always there when there is a problem. I hope we will be back again soon. We had bar food the second night and it was delicious !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey but worth every penny. We’ll be back again in September-we can’t wait!

    It was clean and bright and there was a lovely atmosphere in the bar. The staff were busy but had a word and a smile for everyone and appeared to have a good relationship with one another. They were smiling and laughing together but never ignored a customer. The girls on reception were very nice even though they were very busy. The rooms were spotless and the shower was amazing. Breakfast was top notch. Served quickly and we had a much coffee and toast as we could consume!! Overall a great hotel and we can’t wait to return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelly the room decor was dated. the room service food was bad. I don’t think the hotel is worth the 4 stars it has.

    Bathroom was Nice. reception area nice and gym was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had breakfast included in our room but it took staff ages to take our order even though we tried to call them a couple of times, other wise all good!

    Ideal for what we wanted as we going to a gig in the hotel, had everything we needed and the beds were lovely and comfy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was good but not wow - no brioch with pate - regular toast. Staff came to ask if we were ready for mains when still eating starters

    Staff were so friendly and welcoming in all areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive bar food, four requests over 3 days for a fridge-which we got the day before we left, drilling or something at 8pm when my two children were asleep and shouting coming from across the hall at 12am!

    Pool was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t the best, the full Irish breakfast was very small and the pancakes looked store bought. There was no lock on the toilet in our room which I thought was weird, The plugs beside the bed are different and we couldn’t charge our phones unless it was at the other side of the room. The TV was very small now saying that you wouldn’t mind a small TV but it very far away which made it look even smaller. The cleaners came to clean our room really early as well which I didn’t like because we had literally just came back from breakfast which started at 7 and when we went back up to the room to just relax and get ready around 9 the cleaner had knocked on the door (didn’t give us enough time to answer the door in fact) and walked into the room. So we just left as feeling awkward of what had happened. The desert wasn’t great as I got the brûlée and it was just a standard is wasn’t like the description which I work in a restaurant so I would always read the description of everything.

    The dinner and Lunch we had was gorgeous and worth the money and the Staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is overpriced for what you get. Communal areas in hotel are OK but hotel rooms are not good. Bathrooms are in serious need of an update. Rooms are a nice size but did not like the decor and they are out dated also. I would not consider this hotel a 4 star.

    Breakfast was OK. Bar staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar food was very poor quality. Nowhere near the standard of a four star hotel. Stayed on the ground floor and staff left the window open after cleaning, leaving our property vulnerable.

    Breakfast. Pool was nice and staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't great for a four star hotel. Over priced for what you got. Expected better quality. Check in times are much later than other hotels, I couldn't access my room until after 5 pm.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful and the property itself was lovely and picturesque

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt find fault

    Rooms were lovely and spacious. Bed was comfy. In other hotels the cleaners start making noise around 8 o clock. Didnt hear cleaners at all. Very quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive , uncomfortable bed , poor views , very basic room for the money wee paid. ,

    Killkenny is my favourite city , an go there 4 times every year

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A person woke me early in the Morning, talking very loud British accent, the person didn't seemed to have to much respect for fellow guests. should have complained to reception. but that was the only fault i had with the hotel. that could happen anywhere.

    Leisure Centre could do with a refurbishment like hot tub etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs serious upgrading and bathroom very tired and old fashioned grout in Bath panels and wall filthy I like my bath but chose the lesser of two evils and used the shower not enough shower gel just one for two people seriously filthy stain in carpet beside the bed and only one mug for tea poor attention to detail from housekeeping..

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived their was no parking .Three conferences were on all spaces were taken up . That’s not good enough with people coming for a short break . Some spaces should have been kept for leisure customers. it was ages before we got parking . Needs to be looked at.

    Food was good staff were nice .Handy to walk into the town center.Overall an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the swimming pool to be a little cold. Also I never saw any info on the Orchard Day Spa on the website. I know it is run separately from the hotel. But this could have been stated on website. I would have booked a treatment, but it was fully booked when we arrived.

    The staff in the bar were excellent very efficient. Bar food was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cane to tge hotwl week after my wedding on minimoon. The coridoor smelt of bo !. My room had scratch marks all over furniture was boiking in the room and did not ha e air conditioning the window just blew shut evetytime it was opened. I haf planned for a massage but was fully booked went to have a swim and it was jammed with locals as was the gym and carpark cars parked on double yellow lines was near impossible to get through. I almost killed myself wgeb i triped over a hoover that was left on the corridoor at 2 am!. Was waiting that long for a drink in the bar we got up and left. Very dissappointed as this was our only chance to get away after our wedding.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not the best with decor, furniture etc. Main hotel was fab, and seen some other rooms that were lovely, maybe they keep certain types for the deals!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night,children woken up to drunken girls shouting outside our door! Food choices limited in Pure restaurant,lamb extremely fatty I couldn’t eat it.desert the best part of an expensive meal!

    Rooms beside each other as requested,early check in provided as travelling with children.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at 1 to check in I was told come later When I came back 2 hours later was told the room was still not ready did not get key to room till 5.30 and was told I must check out at 12 was not happy and asked if possible to check out later and was told 1 was the latest was not happy with the long wait after driving down from Dublin to spend mother’s day half my day wasted waiting on my room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's about 15mins stroll into the town but that would not stop me staying here again.

    Staff were brilliant in all areas. Breakfast was up there with the best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many channels on the television

    Bed was so comfortable , the room was the perfect temperature - not boiling and not freezing . So relaxed & also great size of a bedroom and bathroom too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not one of us can find a fault congratulations to all the staff for making it so good.

    The hotel was excellent and the staff in all departments were the excellent, very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. My 5 sisters and I stayed 2 nights had breakfast lunch and dinner in the hotel and couldn't fault one thing. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very slow and almost cold when it eventually arrived. Tv in the room was very small. The swimming pool was clean but packed with kids and non residents

    The rooms were fabulous, spacious and decorated beautifully. Bar had a great atmosphere. Taxi ride away from town €7. Quiet rooms. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertised set menu was unavailable for the restaurant despite the reception staff saying it would be. There was also some confusion as to the start time of the bar entertainment.

    It is just a short distance from the city which was ideal for us. The hotel is clean and the facilities are good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too far from city centre. I cancelled the breakfast one evening for the following morning but was still charged for it - don't think that the reception person was properly listening to what I was saying.

    Gym and pool facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were quiet hard & shower kept changing in temp but these are very minor details

    Room was very big & in a quiet part of hotel so very peaceful.. great swimming pool & jacuzzi. lovely decor in hotel nice big bar & food was nice..attentive bar staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask check in staff about certain details re leisure centre etc. No run down of any hotel details, amenities eg breakfast times, service times, opening times for leisure centre provided upon check in . Also food in the bar was really bad - rotten lettuce and cold black chicken in Caesar salad. Also asked for French fries, we were brought out chips which they then changed for fries, but were charged the more expensive price for the chips. Busy service meaning it was difficult to get seating but the bar staff were lovely and accommodating.

    Beautiful, modern hotel- my forth time to stay here and overall enjoyed the experience. Breakfast staff especially the middle aged man that served us was just fabulous and so attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff not very friendly when we dined in bar!! Had 3 separate waiters to our table seemed unorganized in fairness it was busy...that evening bar staff were friendly...things had slowed down so they wernt under as much pressure...

    Reception staff...when checking in there was a young girl Catherine i believe her name was on training..we had 4 rooms in total..she did great the other girl who was on with her was very pleasant also on checkout!! Chris at breakfast was fantastic...my dad wasn't well and couldn't make it down for breakfast so he made up a plate for him!! Great customer service he is a delight...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready when we arrived. Receptionist said she would call us when it was. Received no call. Had to approach the reception desk again after the long wait to enquire. Room service never arrived with proper order. Bed too small.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like only the weather was very cold n could not visit outside

    Really I like the hotel was quiet n nice n clean I like the pool n my partner like it as well hope we come back again next month for more days

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change mattress address the heating and just a bit of extra cleaning especially in pool

    The bed wasn't comfortable. And the marble tops in the room had loads of water marks . The bath need to be updated as looked a bit grubby.didnt use it . Plus tv was very small . Swimming pool changing rooms very dirty and no plastic bags to put your wet costume in . But on plus side room smelth lovely . And the room had everything we needed. The food was lovely and good value.and the staff very very nice. Oh one more point it was snowing the night we arrived and room was lovely and warm but woke to no heat at 630 next morning and there is no heat at all in bathroom. So had a very cold shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were a little dated ....would have liked more modern feel to it --- felt a bit old fashioned once I reached level 4. The bar didn't have a pleasant smell

    The cookies were incredible but found the sandwiches and soup not great to be honest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can fault is lack of air con. Room was pretty stuffy.

    The staff were very accommodating and friendly. Reservations staff and restaurant staff brilliant. Bar was lively and service excellent. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in our bathroom was blocked my colleague spent about 20 mins cleaning it out

    The bed was sooo comfy, my friends and I have stayed there before we’re work colleagues that trained together and meet up for a catch-up and a session

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really awful wedding guest shouting at his partner 2 or 3 doors down from my room at 2am. The hotel were aware of this unruly behaviour. He should not have been allowed to stay!

    The food was excellent, also leisure facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Can't fault one thing. Travelled with my 10 year old daughter. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Facilities and food amazing. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled with my two daughters and little grandson to celebrate my daughter's birthday....it was a rare event as we seldom get time to spend together. Our car battery went dead due to lights being left on...we asked for help at reception but we were told to go to garage across from hotel...it would have been nice if the receptionist offered to ring garage for us...it was an inconvenience that could have been sorted better and quicker if hotel staff offered more help...receptionist didn't care

    Bar food and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly and helpful the place was very lively but quite is well nice atmosphere the rooms were very clean the bathrooms could do with updating but otherwise really enjoyed my stay The food is fabulous in the hotel breakfast was beautiful just a little bit out of the town and it was costly enough to get in and out by taxi is

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add couldn't fault it !

    It was a beautiful hotel decor was lovely room was amazing and facilities were super from breakfast to the use of the pool and sauna to the friendly staff who were really nice and nothing was an trouble for them excellent very happy with our stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel only takes credit cards, which I don't have, I only have a debit card I had to give cash on arrival because of this on our first night the bed was uncomfortable and the room was very warm and stuffy, we were changed in to a bigger room by the receptionist who was more than helpful . we were given a larger room and the bed was very comfortable

    The food in the bar was very nice and a good choice of food the staff were more than helpful and very friendly there was music in the bar on both nights we stayed and it was very good the receptionist's were very quick at both check in and on leaving

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival at the hotel we were given a free upgrade to a deluxe suite which was a really nice surprise as we'd booked last minute. I had also requested a card for my husband in advance of arrival to be in the hotel room and they not only provided the card but also a free box of butlers chocolates! The room was huge can't fault one thing about it. The staff at reception were so nice, in fact all the staff we had interaction with were lovely, the customer service is second to none. We ate in pure bar and I have to say for bar food it exceeded our expectations, I highly recommend the salmon. Very reasonably priced as were the drinks. We will definitely be back for a longer stay next time as we didn't get a chance to use the leisure facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room based on the pictures from the website. The room was nothing like the pictures. It was far below our expectations. Far from a 4 star hotel. Our room could have been a bedroom in anyone’s house. A hairdryer stuck to the wall in the bathroom is far from 4 star. It would have taken me all day to dry my hair. We went for a drink before our dinner and there was an onion stuck the inside of one of the glasses.

    The staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: