Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Killarney Plaza Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland

#16 of 41 hotels in Killarney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 541 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely relaxing stay here and enjoyed some drinks in the bar with good music.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit hard.

    I liked the friendliness of the staff. The location of the hotel in the Centre of town. The leisure facilities were great and very relaxing. Underground parking was perfect. Music in the bar on two nights was enjoyable and the residents bar was open late.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Great service but little too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are dated, bed mattress was solid and was the most uncomfortable out of 3 hotels we used on trip. Hotel half the price had new comfortable mattresses (Holiday Inn) Price 148 for mid week stay in July not worth it but demand is high in Kilarney. As a guide the realistic price should be 110 and no more.

    Staff lovely, Loads of bars, dinner / breakfast great, live music in bar great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Bed scrumptious , staff great and location good too , I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little tight and entrance and exit was not working properly but we were looked after immediately!!

    Bed scrumptious , staff great and location good too , I had pool area to myself !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay ,lovely central hotel, very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was to the front of hotel so quite noisy when young people coming home from night club. Also quite a few steps down to leisure centre so not suitable for infirm.

    Spacious room. Comfortable beds. Very clean central location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but old fashioned place to spend a night, in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drab, dated decor. Small TV in the room. Breakfast not great. Low water pressure in bathroom.

    On site parking in the underground carpark. Excellent location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Central location near the National Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning could be improved. Big, noisy tour groups with aggresive tour group leader disturbance at breakfast.

    Very central, a bit big but very pleasant all together. Has everything you could expect from a hotel of the sort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Impressive and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really maybe pillows could be a little softer.

    Location is perfect, close to shops, restaurants and pubs, super friendly and smooth check-in. Rooms are nice size and very clean, stayed on a bank holiday weekend and got a great rate for the room. would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    The close proximity to all the bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like being woke up in the morning by cleaners gaining access to the room on two separate occasions, I don’t understand why a cleaner would be trying to access a room whereby the people occupying it had not checked out yet? Other than that I enjoyed my brief stay

    The close proximity to all the bars and restaurants. Check in staff were extremely professional and informative

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious stay in Killarney!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy boiler or air conditioner next door to our room. It was turned off when I asked.

    Very large room. Comfortable bed. Lovely staff. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    It is a warm welcoming elegant hotel. We had easy access to the national park cafes and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The porridge was placed directly in front of the sausages and rashers. When you reached for the breakfast items they would drop into the porrige. Meats and cereals should not be together. I saw a rasher drip into the vat of porridge.Vegans would not be happy.

    The spacious dining hall with the tree lined window seats. A good hearty breakfast with healthy options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Beds were very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't like the rule about having to wear a swimming hat in the pool, I haven't worn a hat for over 40 years!!! Also there are no loungers in the pool area. The pool area is small but a couple of loungers where you can sit and read/relax would have been nice.

    Beds were very comfy. Spa robes and slippers were provided in the room. Good breakfast choice although would have preferred table service rather than buffet service. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    It had to be the best location of hotel to stay in killarney...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had to be the best location of hotel to stay in killarney it is so central 😊👍 We didnt use the Spa on this occasion but having visited it on two other occasions i would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only small downside was the power from the shower was terrible. But that was miner when everything else was perfect.

    The Staff, Breakfast, Room, Location, everything was 1st class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in the heart of lovely town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room quite small. Pillows were very uncomfortable, and not the first time!

    Staff great, location - perfect, lovely spa, great breakfast, nice live music in the bar!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Hotel tops bring glasses to see tv while in bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Portable tvs in rooms like a laptop in 4star hotel didnt get it hotel was also very hot sun was spliiting the trees turn heating down

    Location and staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    The staff were very helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and polite. The bed was very comfortable and the food was delicious. The hotel was very central to our needs. We will be returning to this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay and would rebook if ever visiting Killarney again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low height in hotel underground car park only 1.59. Limited space so had to use public car park on Saturday evening, but luckily it was free overnight and Sunday.

    Friendliness and quality of food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was genuinely bad I'm surprised it was a question in this survey as It really was bad. There were no sausages for breakfast and the toast was half toasted. Bit disappointed as it cost 158 euro to stay in a double room and it's where we normally stay. Heading bk again next month and I'll prob book else where for that price a good coffee and a basic fry with toast is expected.

    Central and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Great relaxing stay, well worth the trip :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wait in the restaurant to be see was long, waiters didn't come near us we needed to approach them.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and well prepared. Spa was well worth the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Room was big, bed was big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over crowded, couldn’t get a seat for lunch, no atmosphere in the bars. Couldn’t watch Irish rugby game as there were no TVs with seats near, had to leave hotel to go elsewhere.

    Room was big, bed was big and comfortable. Leisure centre was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 robe was big and other was small.. small robe didnt fit either of us. All robes should be xxl.. the bigger of the two was xxl if not 3xl and even though it was massive on us still a lot more comfortable. Also similir with slippers.. 1 large pair and another possible small or medium.. im a size 8 and my partner a size 11. Again larger slippers wouldnt bother people who have small feet. Room seevice menu was very limited. Also televisions are tiny. Stayed in more basic hotels with bigger tvs in the rooms.

    The quietness in the room.. being near the street made no difference. It was so nice and quiet and also loved the lobby area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the late bar we didn’t get our Brandy in a brandy glass, we did ask and the barman went to the main bar to get some glasses but the main bar was locked up at that time.

    The receptionist were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean beds very comfortable. The hotel is very central an added bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Loved everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar.

    Loved everything about this hotel. Heated floors in the bathroom, huge spacious rooms in the suite. The location is perfect with Killarney’s nightlife on your doorstep while still being a quiet location. Perfection. I Wish I had enough time there to have tested the Spa facilities. Next time!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    I would stay here again you would get the same experience from a B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check in the receptionist tires to over charge me then they failed to tell us the pool was out of Oder until we went to leisure club I asked if we could use the pool in the spa and was told no to go over to The Towers

    Well presented hotel food in the bar was beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location, beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel was beautiful and the staff were a pleasure to deal with we were left disappointed with the fact that we were unable to access the gym from 12-4 and had no access to the swimming pool due to some ongoing issue.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Would book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closed, though alternative offered. Sauna and steam rooms were open but way colder than they should be.

    Location, friendly staff, attractive hotel, value for money, good breakfast, fantastic gym

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little dated. Service in the Grill Bar was very poor. Food (both dinner and breakfast) was OK.

    Staff at the desk were very good. Location is perfect. Parking was free and easy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    No parking available so had to leave the car in a public car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available so had to leave the car in a public car park overnight and staff were not very helpful in this instance! Hotel itself was lovely and great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed with my stay. Cold small and noisy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold. No extra blankets sheets or pillows. Room was small considering the price we paid. Food was average.

    The location was ideal. It was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with great location, will go again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thougt in restaurant food was not as good as it was 3 years ago. It was just ok. Service in restarunt great no complaints. Bit noisy neighbors.

    The location is brilliant. Swiming pool small but very nice and comfortable, staff great. Breakfast lovely!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    I loved the hotel, its just a gorgeous venue for a breakaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt get parking on site and it was really busy in the nearby carpark, so I was about 20 minutes driving around before I got a space.

    The hotel was gorgeous and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    There was a noise both mornings around 7 from outside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a noise both mornings around 7 from outside the window for about one hour,it sounds like a air con compressor,Pity to be woke up so early when on a break,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location but need to improve on the menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Menu this year was very limited so we didn't eat in the hotel. Children were running around the 1st floor of the hotel making a lot of noise at 11pm at night. Parking was a nightmare.

    Pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    Probably wouldnt stay there again for the reasons outlined above plus the price of €120 per night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked breakfast to be delivered to my room between 10-10:30 but hadnt arrived at 10:40. I rang reception they apologised saying they had a lot or requests for breakfast at that time, breakfast eventually arrived at 11.10 which left me 50 minuntes to eat breakfast and get out of the room. Even worse was the breakfast order was wrong, I got scrambled eggs instead of boiled, they forgot the orange juice and the cereal I asked for. For a hotel that charges a €10 'tray charge' for breakfast to be delivered to your room i wasnt impressed that it was 40 minutes late and wrong.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    2.5
    horrible stay. will never go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything about this place was horrible. the spa was brilliant but the rooms the service the facilities all of them were not worth the money I truly think it was like a large hostel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel great location and staff with fantastic bars and food options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First morning our shower was a bit cold, second morning it was nice and hot so we finally had a chance to enjoy the nice ritual products! Our room had a strange musty smell

    Lovely hotel in great spot. Fab staff, a wonderful selection of bars and the food was excellent! Lovely products in the bathroom and the room was so nice and spacious and warm. Appreciated the use of dressing gown and slippers and iron and board all set up in the room. Cooked breakfast was delicious, there could have been more fruit. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    I probably expected more from the hotel as I had heard great things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking facilities.

    Parking facilities are insanely small. Single bed was very small. Issue with remote for television but that was eventually sorted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Friendly, welcoming, comfortable, clean, lovely breakfast, lovely hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast very good range, the room was lovely comfortable and clean, the staff were friendly and welcoming, swimming pool was delightful and the hotel is next to everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    As it was my first time taking a break on my own and needed the rest found the staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there wasn't an option for food in the evening except dinner .I understand that it is not a busy time but think maybe should have been informed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Defintely worth the money will stay again soon :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition in the room was a bit cold and when we tried to fix it it was just getting worse so we just turned it off . Other than that no complaints .

    Went down for my birthday and got blown away by the Christmas decorations. It was absaloutely georgeous . The pool and Jacuzzi was just right. My partner got the pulled pork burger and he taught it was the nicest burger he ever tasted and I said the same. The chowder was lovely too was a pity that I was a bit sicky I couldn't finish it. The staff was so friendly and helpful . Defintely staying here again!! :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay it was relaxing & food & accom & staff were fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Interconnecting rooms were great, free baileys was lovely touch, staff so friendly & helpful, xmas decorations gorgous coming back here for 6 years love it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    A relaxing haven in an ideal location where we felt welcome, confortable, and cared for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room would benifit from a mature hostess who knows how to welcome guests, immediately serve coffee, and in a warm manner direct the guests to the buffet. The food, however was delicious and the diningroom is absolutely lovely.

    We were warmly welcomed by the reception staff, given a beautiful and spacious upgraded room overlooking the national park and a bottle of delicious red wine in celebration of our 20th anniversary. Friendly, thoughtful service in an elegant, clean environment-what more could one ask for?!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a most enjoyable stay, i go back again and again to The Plaza because of all of the above the staff friendliness, when i mentioned i go each year with mother and sisters we were upgraded to a beautiful suite which made our stay all the more enjoyable. The food in the restaurants is beautiful and the breakfast menu must be one of the best i have experienced,location of the Plaza Hotel is so central.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom extremely cold and no satisfaction when pointed it out. Our complaint was not handled at all very dismissive over it. A pre charge taken off your credit card which will be refunded in 5 days was not explained clearly at check in when we asked about it at check out the member of staff was again dismissive. Very disappointing stay over all.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Good overall.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is extremely warm inside. Uncomfortably warm. Breakfast finished at 10.30. It's too early in my opinion as we didn't wake until 10.15 as it was our first time lying in bed in a long time as we were away without our kids.

    Location is spot on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Lovely vibe in hotel bar at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing thought hot food was a bit stale and for a top class hotel bit pricey for very average except for fruit portion. Nothing to do with staff and chef. He was lovely. Also noise in bedroom constant boiler or car park was quite annoying

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fridge would be nice in the room and an extra chair only one in the room.T,V was very small.

    Hotels location is perfect right in the middle of killarney town. Staff very friendly and decor of hotel was fab. Spa was wonderful got a lovely treatment from Amanda, very nice friendly girl , did an excellent treatment very professional. Underground parking was very handy . Lovely new cafe opened to the front of hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Stayed there previously and hotel is definitely going downhill. Will not be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was certain we booked breakfast also but was told by Curt receptionist that it was room only. Only sell bottles of water for 2 Euro each. Residents bar closed. Asked for room near pool and couldn't be further away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Room - Luxury, the pool area and hot tub were primo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room - Luxury, the pool area and hot tub were primo. Location excellent by Killarny National Park and public transportation. Also to town walking everywhere easily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely staff,great leisure center, underground parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the street and was a little noisy

    Lovely staff,great leisure center, underground parking, beautifully lobby, spacious bedroom,nice food , relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Excellent, relaxing and refreshing, moreover they cater for special dietary requirements wonderfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like having to pay for the compulsory hair cap to swim.

    It was luxury! The first joy was the provision of a porter to help me with my bags. This service was happily provided at the end as well. I had a fabulous room with great views, which was an upgrade, and beyond expectations. The hotel is centrally located. I was able to park. I even checked in early. I enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi. They provide complimentary slippers and water, besides the usual tea and coffee. The restaurant catered for my gluten free requirements with professionalism, which is a big deal for someone with Coeliac Disease. It was a relief to be there and an opportunity to relax. Reception was also very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing break!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were allocated had an adjoining door to the next room and we could hear every word that was said in it, also terrible road noise!!!

    Breakfast was lovely!! Location was superb!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Food was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was awful. We were at a function and the service was awful so slow. Food was cold and meat was like jelly. Desserts were rock hard. Wouldn't recommend to eat here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Luxury from arrival to departure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was closed on our arrival so we parked in the off site car park which was no problem. Just would have liked to have known before getting stuck in traffic

    Loved the feeling from the moment you walked in to the moment you left. It's was luxury start to finish. The staff were fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    old-fashioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booked a double with a king size bed, given one with a double and a twin; old fashioned interior, need update;

    location; if your car is too big for the garage and you need to park in the public car park nearby, the hotel pays for 3 hours per day (no parking fees between 6 pm and 8:30 am)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A member of staff in the bistro was very unprofessional and rude. She cleared the table by reaching over my shoulder between me and the wall while I was trying to feed my baby. The rest of the staff were fantastic and the incident was felt with by management and there response far exceeded what was necessary which I appreciate. Even after this problem I am looking forward to my next visit

    Great hotel and good food. Room was comfortable and large and the hotel was spotless.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    Dissappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were in was extremely noisy generators out side the window, even when window was closed the noise did,nt change dayor night.

    breakfast was good, the manager in the breakfast room was not very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    Service which is well below what you'd expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Messed the room booking and had to request change on arrival, moved to room with a broken wardrobe door which despite requests they failed to fix, had to request clean cutlery in the restaurant, had to send meal back (over cooked steak). Whilst the staff rectified every error on request (with the exception of fixing the wardrobe door) and even gave us our meal for free, the number of errors in a stay of only one night I found staggering for such an established four star hotel.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Top class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was perfectly located near train station and right in the center of town the staff were friendly rooms were spotless and very comfortable bed really enjoyed our stay will be back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic Hotel! 100% recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included in our cost price but there's amazing cafes just a few minutes walk up the road so it wasn't entirely a loss!!!

    Amazing holiday! Fantastic superb hotel, right in the centre of Killarney town. Use of the pool and the gym came complimentary to hotel residents as well as free parking. The bedrooms were fantastic and I slept like a log in their beds! Will 100% be recommending this hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Killarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather

    The hotel is centrally situated in the centre of town within easy walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has excellent facilities and the staff were excellent and very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    ONE OF MY BEST STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!

    I have only great things to say about this hotel! We never felt so welcomed before. The staff was really helpful, patient, polite, the staff really deserve a reward! The room was clean, the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and spacious. We were treated very well by the staff. The facilities are great: Lovely swimming pool, nice jacuzzi. The breakfast was a success: there were so many choices, it looked great and tasted lovely. If you are going to Killarney, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    we had a great weekend at the plaza Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Nights B&B + One Dinner Special Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like noise in our bedroom at night. We think we were very near a generator. Had to go looking for earplugs. We both are light sleepers

    Yes. Beds were great. Food excellent. Leisure centre excellent. Staff so friendly. Cleanliness perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Location,decor,comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Nights B&B + One Dinner Special Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor. Eggs were not freshly cooked. Scrambled eggs tasteless. It would have been nice to get served instead of self service. Dinner menu limited chicken breast portion was v small. Overall we were disappointed with the breakfast and dinner

    Location,decor,comfort

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast was excellent;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking situation wasn't ideal as we paid for parking in the public car park as there was no space for us. The room was quite small for the cost. It was more akin to one person single occupancy then a two person double.

    The breakfast was excellent; location was great for what we needed it for.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.1
    Room service was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was very bad. All night doors opening and closing loudly. Children crying and running up and down the hall. The breakfast was very unappetizing. All looked greasy and half cooked and sloppy. Pity as the location is great.

    Room service was lovely.😊

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    made very welcome and would have no doubt in returning again to the plaza hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Nights B&B + One Dinner Special Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    martina and myself cant say there was anything that we disliked everything was top drawer.

    we loved the location the staff were very professional and friendly we also found everyone who was there at the time of our stay to be relaxed and friendly also we thought everything that could be done was done to ensure our stay was enjoyable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel if you're not driving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities were non existent. Local public car park was full on Saturday afternoon when we arrived to check in. No drop off facilities that we could see, badly sign posted on arrival into Killarney.

    Beds very comfortable, bedrooms were very comfortable. Bathroom spacious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    I LOVED the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was not very good, we waited far too long at 5pm to get served at a bar, did not seem to enough staff to cater for the volume of people By the time we arrived at 3 or 4 pm, the hotel parking was full, so we had to park in public area, which is always completely maxed as it holds the whole town's volume of cars.

    I LOVED the location. Amazing to walk out the front door and be in the middle of the town centre

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    This hotel is heaven on earth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the room it was fantastic. The staff were friendly, polite, very helpful and always had a smile on there faces. We had the buffet breakfast which was 10 out of 10. we ate all the time in the bar and grill restaurant in the plaza, the food was to die for and the staff were brilliant. We went to the spa with the couple's package and found this to be excellent also. The plaza hotel is the only hotel I will ever stay in when we go back to killarney.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.3
    Good location but disorganised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lifts to car park were not clear -heard others saying same thing-very difficult to find car level The car park barrier would not open when leaving-took several attempts to get vout!! The volume on the TV was not working on any channel we wanted to watch We thought shower curtains are no longer a hygienic option in hotels Breakfast was thronged- items not replenished quickly and big queues

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.0
    Supermarket Hotel devoid of personality or adequate parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy. Breakfast staff seemed overwhelmed. Not the friendliest of establishments. had one drink in the bar to end our evening out an trying to get a drink was like getting blood from a stone. Lots of very drunk people shouting and falling around the place. Very unpleasant and not a sign of night management or staff to police or do any checking that I could see. We were a group of hotel industry people down for a class reunion and didn't feel the love.

    Good location,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.8
    I did have some treatments on the spa which I really enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this hotel to get away for a relaxing night .we were woken at 3am by the large group of women with children roaring up and down the corridor.this noise went on for over an hour and a half.got no sleep.the other thing was we tried to get a sandwich in the bar at 830pm but we're told they don't serve them on there own.there were no tables and we were not allowed to eat in the seated area outside the bar.all very strange

    I did have some treatments on the spa which I really enjoyed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that we had to pay €20 extra for the breakfast to be delivered to our room,and the toast was burnt.

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic weekend away, fantastic hotel, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on the bed were very uncomfortable the only down fall

    The leisure facilities were fantastic, food was fantastic, great service by all the staff, very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: