Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Killeen House Hotel 3 stars

Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland

#11 of 41 hotels in Killarney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was warm and welcoming. The property and hotel were straight out of a storybook -so charming and well maintained. Their restaurant, Roggers, was fabulous!!! Can’t wait to return!! I’ll bring a golf ball to add to their collection in their cozy pub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved it, not just because it lived up to the reviews of a beautiful place to stay, incredible restaurant, and delicious home cooked breakfast, but the owners are gracious, hospitable and fun. Plus, throw out your itineraries and ask for their suggestions, that alone is worth an extra star, I have an opinion that places like Killeen also attract nice guests. Our first night there, a guest poured our Guinness! I had thought he worked there! We will be back, and will stay at least three nights vs. two, don't stay less than two, this is a gorgeous piece of the world. Seriously, can't say enough, lovely inn and lovely people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Better than we anticipated! Lovely quaint hotel. Sincerely warm and friendly staff. Had a great time in the pub. Very comfortable, clean accommodations, bed was so comfy! Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stephen was so wonderful, greeted us from the moment we arrived, always checking to make sure our needs were met. Wonderful place. Would recommend it in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING....

    Huge big comfy bed..... Room had two lovely small windows which I left open at night, and woke to birds singing in the morning.....Heaven..... Also, the bathroom had a window which is very unusual in most hotels today.... but which I love...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and owners are amazing, genuinely the friendliest we have ever experienced in all of our travels. From the time we arrived to the time we left, the staff would take the time to attend to our needs, even when they had other responsibilities. The breakfast and bar food were excellent. The rooms ended up being larger and more comfortable than we anticipated. A must stay if you are planning a visit to the Killarney area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were not good: very solid and this doesn't have to be so with man-made washable ones - a breathable microfill one would do the trick, especially as a top pillow.

    Everything, except for the one thing detailed in the box below.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very comfortable. We had our meal in the bar and the food/cocktails was great! Michael, Steven and Valerie were outstanding. They made sure we were very well looked after. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All great!

    Comfortable, quiet, spacious and ground rooms available. Staff so helpful and access to top rating restaurant onsite amazing! Gardens make for a lovely retreat for tea and views delightful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was huge! Breakfast menu was extensive and everything was gorgeous. Dinner was unreal - a cut above. Staff were unfailingly lovely, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of any way to have improved our experience. The hosts were great, the setting idyllic, foot terrific. I would highly recommend this place and the people who run it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, the only down side was we couldn't stay longer.

    The location was idyllic and the atmosphere inside was very warm and welcoming. The restaurant was superb offering an amazing dinner with lots of choices and a breakfast you wish you could have everyday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in bedroom was fine for one person to view but as it was not centred between twin beds, difficult for 2nd person to see. Pancakes and scones for breakfast - not freshly made that day but everything else was lovely, particularly the porridge.

    Extremely helpful staff (& owners) and genuinely warm. Loved the little 'golf' bar - it was small enough to just swing a club, full of character, golf items and some excellent whiskey. A great place for pre & post dinner drinks and to meet other guests. There is also a TV / Reading room which is good for unwinding or just to chat to others. Liked the fact that breakfast wasn't a buffet (can find this a bit challenging in other hotels) and that it was table service. The porridge with honey & cream was delicious. Ate at Rozzers the previous evening which was very good tho dessert portion a little small. The rooms are quite simple, with comfortable beds and all spotless. Wi-fi great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.

    The overall friendly and charming environment. The food was amazing, couldn't ask for better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little pricy

    Geraldine and Steve were extremely welcoming and very helpful, food was excellent( Michelin) standard), very scenic. So many things to do close by. It was awesome experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff were incredibly accommodating. Went out of their way to ensure all of your needs were met. Made excellent recommendations of activities, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    I would stay here again in a heartbeat! I highly recommend this hotel to ANYONE! The location was beautiful. The rooms were great. The staff was AWESOME! The food was amazing. Hurry...book now!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything wonderful! After booking, owner helped with itinerary. Great welcome by owner, staff consistently pleasant and considerate. Food excellent. Room and beds very comfortable. Beautiful plantings and flowers on property. Atmospheric church ruins across street, mountains in background. Idyllic 6-day stay. Central location for day trips to Kerry, Dingle, Killarney.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners of the B&B were very friendly and personable. When they greeted us, they asked for our first names and always referred to us by our name.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    Always lovely staying at the Killeen House. Wonderful staff, top notch restaurant and the perfect location to explore Kerry. Can't recommend this hotel enough!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a single negative.

    Killeen House is one of the top small hotels in Ireland, brilliantly located for driving "The Ring of Kerry", "The Dingle Peninsula", golf in the Southwest of Ireland & enjoying Killarney (one of the best towns in Ireland for interesting tourist experiences & wonderful scenery). Geraldine & Michael create a wonderful ambience with fantastic food, hospitality & a "home away from home".

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best food and accommodation of our entire trip. Wish would could have stayed longer. Large, clean and decorative rooms at a very good rate. Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Geraldine and her team are excellent, offering great service and amazing food in their restaurant. The rooms are very comfortable and catered for all our travelling needs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit warm; could have had a better selection of pillows. Our side of the hall was next to a road; noise would not have been a problem if the windows were closed; which they weren't because of the temp. Outside temp was about 55F.

    Relaxed personal attention to detail by the owners and staff. Great water pressure and temperature range.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything about the Killeen House was a wonderful experience, but Geraldine, Michael, Steven, and the entire staff made us feel incredibly welcomed and part of their family. Even if just for our four-day visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a thing!!! You were all A-W-E-S-O-M-E!

    Our stay at Killeen House Hotel was out of this world and has been the talk of our trip to friends as a "must stay" when they visit Ireland. The bed was heavenly, the service was brilliant, the breakfast was perfect each morning - nothing left undone, FIRST CLASS. The bar walls was amazingly decorated with Golf Balls and Bag Tags from all over the world. A sight to behold! The hospitality provided by Geraldine and all her staff was exceptional and memorable. Geraldine is truly a people person and treats her guests like friends, we loved her for that! Highly recommend Killeen House Hotel as a place to stay even for one night - but longer is better. We already have it on our list to return to again. Thanks a million to all - You Rock! :-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners, Geraldine and Michael went above and beyond when I had an illness, calling their own doctor to get me an appointment within minutes. They really care about their guests!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were so sweet and helpful! Food was amazing, the room was perfect, and the building was adorable. All and all it was everything you expect from a b&b!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food and great staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym or pool.

    The cosyness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit chilly when we arrived

    The location, the staff were great,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly and helpful staff, pity we couldn't have stayed longer

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, the pub and food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small rooms and beds Too noisy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    F

    H

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff were very personable and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Great hosts, great food, great bar. On a five star rating this is a six star.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The food was superb. We're will come back for sure 😀

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a great warm place in Killarney!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Michael and Geraldine were superb hosts. The were the most gracious and helpful owners we have ever met. Fantastic stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was spectacular. Knew our names and gave old fashioned hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely location just outside the town center. Excellent restaurant. Our room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful B&B with great hosts and an excellent on-site gourmet restaurant!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Michael and Geraldene were the most friendly and helpful owners we have ever met.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the owners and staff , and the food was fantastic , a must for anyone having to stay in the area , definitely stay there again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spirits a bit steep. The usual, serving doubles and not telling. Not much different to most hotels I suppose

    Staff superb and very friendly

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outside Killarney.

    Staff were very friendly and food was excellent! Stunning views!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to dislike

    I got a marvellous welcome when I arrived. This hotel is run in the most professional manner making sure that all the small details are dealt with. The food was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was very expensive and not up to the quality of food expected at those prices

    loved the location and the overall look of the Hotel from the outside

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    So much to describe . Michael the proprietor was so nice , hospitable and funny . The Killeen House is a definite stop on every future trip to Ireland . I'm not back in the states for 24 hours when I'm telling my friends and colleagues about my wonderful stay .

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful warm Irish hospitality at its best...very friendly proprietors and staff gave excellent service and attention at all times.felt we were amongst old friends from the moment we arrived..beautiful charming hotel with very tasteful fabrics and furnishings..delightful little bar with quirky but v tasteful golf style decor...we had a spotlessly clean very spacious and comfortable bedroom and hotel obviously very well maintained and managed..delicious fresh food at dinner and breakfast. Could not find any fault whatsoever..

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was very convenient to places I wanted to see, the parking was ideal, the staff was friendly,and the accommodations were excellent. I also enjoyed dining at the hotel's restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small, cosy hotel - ideal for a relaxing stay. Excellent staff, very welcoming & obliging. Lovely room, spotlessly clean & comfortable. Really excellent breakfast - lots of choice, no one rushing you on. Restaurant food also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to complain about!

    So welcoming, the owner prepared a pot of tea when we arrived! Our room was quaint with a fully stocked bathroom. We woke up to a hearty Irish breakfast, fun conversations with guests, and helpful tips and directions from the owner.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small annoyance was that our room overlooked the cow pasture so if we left our window open and had the lights on in the room little flies came in droves. However, our travel mates had a room on the other side of the house and didn't have a problem with this.

    The staff was amazing. We came in after a long day of touring and didn't have dinner reservations. Every table was full in the pub so they offered to serve us from the living room. What great service and delicious food!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast service too slow for us!

    Good location, very friendly staff and always willing to help..............complimentary tea on the afternoon we arrived!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful country hotel, short drive out of town, away from the touristy hub bub of Killarney. Welcoming and helpful staff, nice comfortable rooms, great restaurant and bar. Lots of character and great value to boot. We loved Killeen House.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing we didn't like

    Everything was excellent, Michael & Geraldine are fantastic Hosts and certainly go out of their way to make you welcome & comfortable. Michael is a passionate tour guide giving us tips of where to visit etc. food excellent & wifi excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff made us feel so very welcome. The restaurant food was fantastic, the rooms charming and the owners were a delight. We'll return as often as possible.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I like the place of the hotel. It is situated a little bit far from the town but it is a benefit as well because there is a very comfortable path to the town along the Killarney national park, so if you like walking you will receive a lot of pleasure admiring the buitiful surroundings and silence of the forest.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was awesome! They were so nice and so helpful. They took the time to learn our names and we felt so welcomed. We plan on making a return trip within the next year and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was so friendly. Called us all by name after first meeting. The restaurant was wonderful. A great place to stay away from the hustle of Killarney.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely welcome on arrival, room clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent with good choice.We had an excellent dinner both nights of our stay in the hotel at Rozzers Restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place is an absolute gem. We stayed here on a very busy Saturday night and cannot fault our stay. Staff were so friendly, breakfast was second to none, and the whole hotel itself was fab. My partner plays golf and loved the whole atmosphere of the place. We will be returning for another visit without doubt.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wish we could have stayed longer!

    The house/inn is lovely, in a beautiful country setting just outside of Killarney. The food in the restaurant was delicious! The owners and staff make this place! They made us feel at home from the moment we walked in the door! I do t know how they do it, but the guests feel like they are staying with friends, but also at a 5-star resort....we didn't want to leave!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I was shocked when I arrived there by only looking at the small building look like a B&B. Before I went there I booked it online I thought It is big hotel by the name "Killeen House Hotel". I booked for my friend as-well and feel embarrassed.

    I only liked the staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warm hospitality, home away from home.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet could have been better but not bad

    The helpfulness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All excellent, location, cleanliness, breakfast, comfort, staff and owners. Will definitely return for longer.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no accurate gps co-ordinates for Kileen House

    Mikael and Geraldean (owners) were delightful , and everyone was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very nice. Breakfast was excellent. Staff extremely friendly

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was outstanding. Geraldine, Michael, Mark, Stephen, Theresa were all fantastic and extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just about everything, should have book more days just to hang around

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: