Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Ireland hotel reviews
  3. Cavan County hotel reviews
  4. Cavan hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Kilmore

Reviews of Hotel Kilmore This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland

#7 of 15 hotels in Cavan

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 543 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    8.8
    Beautiful setting spotless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor staff attitude only 1 member of staff even bothered to communicate nobody had a pleasant smile or acknowledged us in the hotel area

    Beautiful setting spotless

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had our little boy with us & every single member of staff we met were one nicer than the other & each and every one of them took the time to talk to our little boy . We had a lovely lady called Sue looking after us at breakfast & she simply couldn't do enough for us. If we are heading to Cavan again we will definitely stay here.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.6
    lovely hotel, please fix the heating and the wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoke alarm went off at 1.15am. 10 seconds. All was well. However, it had the effect of knocking off the heating in the hotel, so at 8.30am the room was cold and the water was freezing. Not a good way to start the day. Free wifi kept collapsing. I gave up.

    Room was great. Bathroom spotless and well-appointed. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    Excellent hotel- great location and service. Clean and restaurant excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    Great location. Staff friendly and very courteous .New revamped rooms and bathroom Very prompt on delivery of extra linen when requested. . Very impressed with facilities and restaurant. The best breakfast we have had since touring over last 5 weeks.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    3.8
    Very disappointed with my room. Hot stuffy and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot, poor ventilation and was for disabled access users. This did not meet my expectations. If I was informed whilst booking that I would get a disabled room I would not have booked. Also room overpriced. Reception staff also declined to inform me it was a disabled access room. Poor performance at reception.

    Leaving

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    10
    Everything about this hotel was excellent the room the bathroom ,the bar and the restaurant not for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I be honest I could not find one fault

    Everything about this hotel was excellent the room the bathroom ,the bar and the restaurant not forgetting the staff who so attentive nothing was any trouble for them and so pleasant

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    2.9
    The entrance with the water fountain.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No remote for the tv, only 4 channels available. The wiring in the room was faulty so I had to take 2no bulbs out so the reading light and the bed side lamp would turn off. The food was well over priced for what they served. Staff pulled there face when I asked for some more mushroom sauce considering they only brought one float out for to men and the expected us to share potatoes out of the same bowl even though we ordered separately. We were there on business not a date. Me nor any of my colleagues will be stopping again.

    The entrance with the water fountain.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    9.2
    If you have to be away a week on business, you couldn't have a better place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Main restaurant was closed on two of the days that I was staying, so had to eat in the bar. The food was cooked in the same kitchen, but it was a little noisier. Some people might have preferred it as a little livelier.

    Room was excellent. Quiet and comfortable. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    The room was fabulous, bed very comfortable and food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like that I was not made aware that I could have got the room cheaper by saying I was staying for the wedding.

    The room was fabulous, bed very comfortable and food was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.9
    Stayed here several times and its been great vakue for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here several times and its been great vakue for money/location. On more than one occasion the morning porter has asked me who paid the bill, work or me. This occurred at check out having prepaid the room on arrival. Hes aware the room is paid but asks anyway. Its obviously what he says to people but its incredibly inappropriate and leaves a bad taste after an otherwise great stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.1
    We chose this one on Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We chose this one on Booking.com as it said it had a streaming service and satellite channels and being midweek we actually just wanted to relax in peace and watch a movie. NO satellite channels in our room and a tv we couldn't stream to. Very disappointed. Also paid for a room with breakfast but leaving early for work there was no provision for an early hot breakfast. Other hotels have done this for us so major disappointment here, and still charged for breakfast we weren't able to have. The shower head in the room was faulty and sprayed water everywhere!!!!!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    6.3
    I would recommend this hotel because it was good value and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff weren't friendly. Little green light on ceiling was very annoying at night, Glass door on bathroom was see through.

    I would recommend this hotel because it was good value and clean. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    4.2
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    room was cold & smelt slightly of damp. bar area was scruffy and seemed dirty e.g. stains on seating, decor dated, food & wine expensive for what it was.

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My vegetarian meal in the restaurant. No effort made for vegetarians. It was very poor. My husband enjoyed his chicken meal

    Lovely hotel. Rooms very comfortable. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean and really lovely staff
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We opted to eat at the bar and we were seated in the kind of conservatory area, which was a little chilly and there was a concert going on in one of the function rooms which made it a little difficult for myself and my friends to hear each other.

    The bed was insanely comfortable and the shower was really really good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.6
    The room was lovely and clean and the bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fire alarm went off at 3/4 in the morning and there was a guy out side the room shouting around the same time, but to be fair it only lasted a few minutes..

    The room was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable, found the staff to be very friendly and the food was very nice...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    loved our stay here everything was perfect ❤ we stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    loved everything !

    loved our stay here everything was perfect ❤ we stayed in the prema suite ..the room was ..wow the nicest I have stayed in 😍 we got upgraded due to celebrating a birthday and it was the best surprise . defo will be returning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    The hotel and food are lovely but what makes the whole thing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel and food are lovely but what makes the whole thing a 10 is the staff. They were so helpful and friendly even before we left England we had a call to confirm our requirements for hypoallergenic bedding and to see if there was anything else we needed. Amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    8.8
    On the whole we had a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were charged 40 euros more than what we were quoted. Which was a bit of a shock but apparently it was a miss understanding over the breakfasts.

    The hotel was excellent. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    I will return. rated 3 star much better than many 4 stars I have stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checked in at 23.00 Restaurant closed, without asking receptionist offered to get us tea and sandwiches, we did not avail of same, but a nice offer. Room spotless.Nice Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    7.1
    It was pleasent and staff were lovely but a little pricey for what we got from our stay.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast could have been nicer and hotter. The hotel also took money off my card without permission to pay for the room which upset me as we were paying with another and it took a few days too be returned.

    Bedrooms were so lovely spacious shower and the wedding we attend there was fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn' recommend staying overnight.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV and shower didn't work. Was told that the fire alarm triggers the shower to turn cold as a safety measure. I left the water running for a long time on a number of occasions but the water never got hot. The room was v expensive so was not happy with the facilities.

    Clean room. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    8.8
    Rooms were fab, bed was huuuuge and really comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt that it was very expensive for the price I paid when brekkie wasnt included. I wanted a bath too but there was just a shower

    Rooms were fab, bed was huuuuge and really comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    7.9
    I got food poisoning and had to be taken to hospital when I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got food poisoning and had to be taken to hospital when I told the hotel that I had eaten there and one other place they immediately blamed the other place and said it had nothing to do with them. I only wanted to make them aware it was possible that I was sick from there and they made me feel like I was an armed robber!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel just love getting back to it for a relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel we stay here every year and it keeps getting better. The food is amazing, from your evening meal to the breaky the next moring and the staff are brilliant can't do enough for you. Just a great place to relax and spend the day as everything is covered Stayed in the new section of the hotel this time and the room was fantastic so new and fresh, roll on next year to we get to stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    4.0
    I wanted a good night sleep and that is exactly what I got.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a soft fried egg for breakfast and although I emphasized that twice, the egg was overdone. And I found the staff a little dour,

    The facilities are great, clean and comfortable. I had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, reasonably priced but need to pay more attention to the finer details!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a triple occupancy, only had facilities for 2 people, 2 bottles of water and 2 sets of towels, 2 glasses etc in the room and staff didn't respond to well when we pointed that out.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.9
    Great to have breakfast available from 7:00am.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service food wasn't great

    Great to have breakfast available from 7:00am. Most other places I miss my breakfast as I have to get on the road by about 7:30am

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.5
    The rooms are modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel personnel weren't very pleasant. They weren't rude, but they just seemed busy and not excited to help new guests.

    The rooms are modern and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.5
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Travel cot requested on booking and a personal call to hotel and still not in the room on arrival.

    Interior of the room very modern.good selection for breakfast and good food in the bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    Great hotel, staff, can't wait to come back and would def recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If anything I couldn't get TVs listings on telly, so didn't kn wot was on There was nothing about hotel or staff that we could fault

    The rooms were large and airy, the bed fantastic, the breakfast great, nothing was too much for staff This is our 2nd visit was here last year and stayed in a triple room this was chalk and cheese

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    Lovely experience would go back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing could have been better.

    Beds very comfortable ,spacious and very clean.Food excellent well presented,this was our first time and we would recommend it to anybody.This is a lovely, friendly, excellent Hotel. Thank you to all at Hotel Kilmore.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Had a lovely visit to Hotel Kilmore with my partner and two other people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    The staff were helpful way above and beyond expectations and the bedrooms were so clean and comfortable. The drinks are reasonably priced and the service is excellent, would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, excellent staff and food that you couldn’t fault in anyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only fault I would have would be the bathroom door as you don’t have much privacy (room 221)

    Very friendly staff throughout hotel. Food outstanding for evening meal and breakfast Lovely view of the courtyard Rooms extremely clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.8
    Room was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a intruder in the room at 2.20 am got them out of the room called reception no reply Next morning when i talked to staff about this they apologise I was not able to go to reception at the time because my 12 year old daughter was very upset Turns out that it was another guest who coud not rember which room they wer in and climbed true the window the hotel gave us a party of 3 a free lunch for 1 as compensation Lol When we booked with booking. Com the final price was £127.00 We had too pay £131.00 the hotel blamed this on the rate of the euro to sterling Good hotel but failed on customer safety Not able too get help when i had people in my room at 2.20 am luckily they left when i spoke to them but if the night porter had have helped them find there room they would not have climbed into or room thinking it was there room

    Room was good Food was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    7.0
    Lovely cosy hotel and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a triple room and was very tight in the room for 3 and also the bathroom had nosiy doors. The room was expensive for the size and the fact there was 3 of us.

    Lovely cosy hotel and great staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    6.3
    Didn't get what I paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dated and tiny.(231) We've stayed many times before and couldnt beleive how bad the room was. Hotel was full so they had nothing else for us.

    Staff an food were great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    10
    I would love to stay there again and highly recommend it to others.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better to have a swimming 🏊‍♀️ pool Otherwise can’t complain.

    I stay in kilmore very often, I like the location staff very friendly and helpful, clean bed 🛏 And a good breakfast for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.2
    Great food ,modern room, great shower and loved the heated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Green emergency light on ceiling in room , very bright couldnt sleep with it. Can they be moved away for bed area.

    Great food ,modern room, great shower and loved the heated mirror in bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.6
    Memorable for all the right reasons!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that I arrived hours before check in, after 24-hour journey, & room was made available to me straight away with no arguments. Meant that I could shower & rest before meeting my relations I'd come share a family wedding with (which was held at the Kilmore & was absolutely fantastic!). All staff were efficient & attentive & the food, quality & portions, were amazing & such excellent value for money. Although a very busy place I was able to find areas where I could sit, read & chill.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Room very clean and shower was nice and hot. Staff extremely helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room Service, breakfast wasn’t up to standard. Tray wasn’t set properly and juice missing.

    Bed very comfortable and a nice room, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.5
    It would be better if check out was 12 not 11.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be better if check out was 12 not 11.30 and if breakfast time on Sunday could be a little longer but apart from that everything was great. Lovely hotel and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    Will diffently use the hotel again and I'll recommend it to everybody
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    The room was lovely and big the bed was fantastic and comfortable very clean right throughout the entire hotel staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.2
    Stunning hotel, very relaxing and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I was very happy with all on this stay.

    Beautiful hotel. The room was stunning the decor was beautiful and very cosy room. Staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. Our meal was just amazing 5*. Would highly recommend a stay here. Very happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    5.0
    Hotel was fine, evening meal was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had dinner in the dining room, there was 11 of us, the 7 steaks ordered were all cooked to the wrong temperature, they were out of stock on items, then one person ordered food that they didn't have in stock But they took the order and tried to give something else, the salmon was frozen and horrible, the staff were not helpful in the fact that we couldn't even see them and then had to call them over from somewhere else when we needed service. The worst meal ever, experience and food we had, very dissapointed,l. Hotel was great in terms of the room but dinner was horrific

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    4.6
    Not worth it with the price poor customer service and poorly maintained room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Card wouldnt work in the door had to go back to reception twice to open it spent about 30 minuits doing that until a receptionists actually helped us..The room itself was modern the view was out over the car park. The room was poorly maintained with shower door that would not close and table and chair that where all chiped definitely not up to a four star hotel and at nearly 200 euro a night. I was very dissapointed I had high hopes.

    Their was lots of parking and plently to do around the hotel the water fountain looked well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.5
    Good the first time I stayed in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom a little small but comfy. Noisy on arrival as wedding party in reception area.

    Only stayed for bed and breakfast. Had a buffet meal which was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant stay and we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints. Swimming pool would make this hotel near perfect.

    Everything about the hotel was to our liking. Cosy, friendly & comfortable. Food was very good and room was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    9.6
    It is a nice hotel but I wouldn’t stay in room 102 again..we had stayed previously & had no problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in room 102 & it was extremely noisy as doors banging until after 3 pm.. I had specifically requested a quiet room... also the shower leaked from the top & completely wet the toilet, toilet roll, floor & walls...I told reception about it at checkout

    Comfortable bed.. had to turn on heating though when we arrived so room was cold in the beginning.. huge choice of food & dinner in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    9.6
    When ordering dinner in the restaurant, you were required to...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When ordering dinner in the restaurant, you were required to order two sides, which is a little excessive as one side would have been plenty and two just caused a lot of waste. Other than that very enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    9.2
    Great large clean modern fresh bedrooms with great extras...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surroundings a bit industrial & breakfast could be improved

    Great large clean modern fresh bedrooms with great extras like bottled water and good quality biscuits. Bar food delicious. Comfy seating in reception and a great buzz about the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    7.5
    Nice relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    only complaint was the fire alarm went off at 1.30 in the morning, staff were on hand though to inform people that it was a false alarm.

    The bed was very comfortable and the pillows too. Food in the restaurant was excellent and so was the breakfast, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had stayed a few weeks before this and had a room in the newer part of the hotel, the rooms in the older part are much smaller so it was disappointing.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the style of hotel only small bar of soap enough for hand washing not for showering, no shower gel only shampoo, shower cap. Even for overnight stay bring your own shower gel !

    Beautiful hotel, staff welcoming and very friendly, bar food of sandwiches very filling and value for money. Room spotlessly clean, very well designed, comfy bed, super shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    I can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much gluten free options on menu

    Lovely staff. The hotel was busy but still had plenty of room to sit and eat. Gorgeous food. Beautiful room. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hotel staff amazing but I was there for a wedding and because I booked through Booking.com I did NOT get room at wedding discount so this will put me off booking with Booking.com again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    6.3
    The Breakfast staff were polite and helpful, the bed was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was extremely loud all night as there was a function on, my phone did not work when I tried to call reception and there was no parking available

    The Breakfast staff were polite and helpful, the bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed, paying the money we did we expected a more luxury stay, it felt like a budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First impressions of the room - small, limited facilities (no fridge, tv dated and many channels in black and white, v bad lighting, no iron, no bath,) Saloon doors to the toilet reduced privacy to the bathroom, they kept banging when opened,

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.1
    Room was lovely, food great, staff very pleasant, pity about noise heard in other rooms.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are paper thin, had to phone reception twice, couldn't sleep with volume of neighbours television (I'm not a light sleeper).

    It was clean, fresh smell of paint! Room was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    6.7
    Nice with a possiblity for much more
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only a few small issues I had and sometimes I don't even bring these up but if the hotel managers or staff take them on board it could have turned the stay into an almost perfect one. Firstly and most importantly there is a green emergency light in the new rooms and when all lights are off this is extremely bright, my colleague who was staying in another room had the same issue. Secondly in contrast to the dinner experience breakfast was a little less pleasant not terrible but the staff were a little short with me, the chef asked me what I would like with my egg so I said "just what ever the full breakfast is" she misheard me and I think she assumed i said "just the eggs" she started walking away so I realized she hadn't heard me so I repeated myself so she could hear me. She got a little upset and mumbled something to the effect of why didn't you say that the first time, again I would have let this go but something similar happened a few mins later. When you come into the breakfast area they ask you for your room number and if you would like tea/coffee and toast to which I gave my room number (130) and said coffee and toast please. I had almost completely finished my breakfast and my coffee and toast hadn't arrived so I went looking for the waitress to see if I could get the coffee and she again was a little snappy at me but brought me my coffee. The bed was clean big and for some would have been comfortable but I just didn't settle partially because of the light but also a little because of the bed. (It has taken 1739 characters to explain the dislikes and 628 to describe the good this is not relative to the experience overall a nice stay, which is why I wished to give context to my small issues)

    The hotel was a nice, clean and functional. I stayed in the newer rooms near the back. The room was a great size and had sky sports in the room which was a lovely bonus cause I really wanted to watch the Packer vs Cowboys. The bathroom and wet room style shower with large shower head was excellent and enjoyed after a long day. On the menu it says that if a desert isn't on the menu you should ask to see if it was possible to get it, I had a hankering for a Knickerbocker Glory and asked if it was possible and boy was it possible they put together a hankering quenching masterpiece and the best thing about the whole dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    10
    Great hotel for a wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel for a wedding. Amazing function rooms newly done up. You don't feel you have taken over the hotel as you are separate from the day to day business

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water due to a heating fault but sorted ASAP, staff were brilliant.

    The hotel was immaculate, there was a wedding at the same time and didn't impact our stay at all. A great place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    stayed here for a wedding, staff were so helpful, i emailed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stayed here for a wedding, staff were so helpful, i emailed a few requests before we stayed, nothing was too much trouble. they were so good. food was amazing, rooms were lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    8.3
    Good modern hotel with country charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No problems with the hotel; was a bit expensive compared with other 3-stars.

    We had stayed here before and were happy to return. Room was in a new part of the hotel - very comfortable, spacious and well designed. Great shower and bathroom. Lots of power points for chargers, etc. Great breakfast buffet. Staff were very helpful and friendly in any dealings we had with them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    The hotel was perfectly placed for visiting family in Cavan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was perfectly placed for visiting family in Cavan. We had a very pleasant, modern and comfortable room in the new extension. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. This time we only used the Kilmore for sleeping and did not use it's other facilities. Although our family do have Sunday lunch there on numerous occasions. We are planning to go back to Cavan again and will most definitely be using the Kilmore.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.2
    Impressed, lovely food, clean and modern rooms
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought the price of alcohol was a bit steep

    We were there for a wedding! Set up was beautiful, staff really friendly. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel and were very impressed with how clean and comfortable it was.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    6.7
    Lovely hotel and shocking bar staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were absolutely terrible, bar staff were lazy, waited more than half an hour to be served a drink on more than one occasion, watched kitchen staff drop cutlery on the floor and then set a table with the same cutlery without cleaning it, if the staff were given some proper training I would rate this as a five star hotel

    the hotel was amazing, beautiful place and well kept, grounds outside and indoor garden were beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location to where we needed to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were asked to move in the bar area as we had a pram, although we were not blocking anyone. We ended up moving outside in the foyer area, which was a shame as we were going order food.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing for the €370 paid for a single night, breakfast did help my mood in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The second room was the opposite of the first, small, dark, grim decor, view of the car park, no water, shower not functioning correctly, cold water tap not working correctly, slow WiFi. Hugely disappointed with the quality of this room especially after seeing what was available with the other. Also, this room was in another wing of the hotel meaning I had to share with one child whilst my wife stayed with the other two (usually the two boys would share but they were too far away for us to be comfortable) which was just as well as another guest banged on the door after midnight and there were a few doors banging around 4 am which would have scared my younger son. The €20 difference in rooms is laughable, make sure you find out which type of room you are booking.

    One room was superb. Spacious, bright, excellent view, great shower room, bottled water, decent WiFi, quiet. Breakfast was excellent and staff were very friendly and obviously told to make sure guests had as much to eat as desired.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful with my multiple allergies.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a hotel thing but Ireland does not have trains. Everything is by bus and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel.

    Very helpful with my multiple allergies. I had plenty to eat. Everything was just lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    10
    An excellent night in Hotel Kilmore.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door in the bedroom leading to an adjoining room. I could hear voices and light was evident under the door.

    Room was lovely and modern and clean. Food was great. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    7.5
    Staff really good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pillows - awful. As a smoker: there were no 'bins' for cigarette ends so I put them in my pocket and took them to the bin in the room.

    Staff really good. Food really good - seafood chowder to die for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    4.2
    I want book there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the bed was fine

    Big room good size bed but the room was very smelly they told the reason was that they wash the carpet ...on arrive the gave really bad room at the back of the hotel I ask them to change it and they change to a smelly room breakfast was not included

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    10
    Warm Cavan Welcome at the Kilmore
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff are very welcoming, I have stayed several times at the Kilmore Hotel and always excellent room rates. The food is excellent I couldn't fault them with anything. Well done.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    10
    Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't fault a thing.

    We stayed at the Hotel Kilmore for a wedding a few days ago. From we arrived at the car park, which is very close to the Hotel itself, everything was perfect. The welcoming reception area, (check-in was very quick) the atmosphere upon entering the hotel - just felt at home, not like some of the larger hotel chains. The staff are very friendly, food is amazing and cocktails are fab. Our room and bathroom were very spacious, the bed was sooooo comfy and the decor absolutely gorgeous. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: