Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kilronan House 3 stars

70 Adelaide Road, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#31 of 103 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1018 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    We didn't spend alot of time here as we were out making the most of our short break.However we will
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First class

    The service and attentiveness was first class.Very welcoming and would totally recommend.We would certainly stay again on a trip to Dublin.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Tight car park but when you’re checking out, Romi the manager will have it out at the road for you. Property is ideally located with walking distance to everywhere and it’s very close to the Luas if you’re feeling lazy. Also, I forgot my charger in the room but I emailed and Romi posted it out to me. 😊

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.2
    Great reliable BnB and present staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking plan seems a little dodgy - saw my car unlocked and power on, on one occasion, and illegally parked on another. But I guess they just take responsibility if you get a ticket.

    Everything worked and was comfortable, great breakfast and staff on sight for most hours. Not worrying about parking was great (however see below), and it was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.1
    Staff were lovely, but definitely over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor so it was a trek to get up to our room, the place was dated, shower was tiny, twin room was very small, definitely over priced.

    Staff were really friendly, breakfast was delicious, beds were extremely comfortable, parking was a plus, location was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, comfortable stay in a central but quiet location, We would definitely go there agin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a shelf missing from its brackets in the bathroom It would have been nicer to have the shelf there, than have to put toiletries on the top of the toilet cistern,

    The staff were welcoming, friendly, pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful! and the room and linen spotless

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    3 nights city trip in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washbasin was very small. The door in the shower was broken.

    The building is very nice, the room and especially the bed comfortable. We slept very well. We loved the breakfast and the service at the breakfast. We felt very welcome all the time. The guesthouse is located near to the city center.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    Lovely attentive Hotel staff, hotel has an old world charm and the breakfast was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little small and building could do with a little renovation also would have liked an on suite room but knew what to expect

    Staff extremely attentive, excellent breakfast freshly cooked great choice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.8
    While the location is great, the rooms are very noisy. Would look for alternatives next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Less spacious, quiet noisy, small and poor equipped bathroom/shower.

    While the location is great, the rooms are very noisy as the place is close to the centre. It is literally a house with rooms, rather than a hotel - which makes it not as comfy as a hotel room but still cosy. Breakfast was good - the typical "Irish plate" highly recommended. Good for short stays, where you don´t need much sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Love, love, love Kilronan House!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the room, the breakfast were all excellent! I would recommend Kilronan House!! I had a late arrival into Dublin, Romi the manager stayed on top of my arrival and made sure someone was there to get us checked in. We were taken straight to our room to settle in, and took care of everything in the morning. The room was delightful! Comfortable bed. We had our own bathroom as well which was a plus! OMG, the breakfast was very good too and is included in the price! They give you a little menu to choose from. I had to try the Full Irish Breakfast. The staff at Kilronan House was very attentive to our needs. Romi made sure we had a map of Dublin to get around AND at the end of our stay ordered at taxi for us to get to the airport. Love this place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.8
    Not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that this is overpriced

    The room is very small, but nice and clean. The bed is super comfortable. The shower is tiny, and the toilet was in the floor below. Kind of strange set up. But the place is pretty, and the breakfast is decent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.8
    The location is not central, but quite near to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given extreme small single, less than 10 sq m. I think it should not cost 100 eur per night.

    The location is not central, but quite near to the center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely B&B where we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was small but.. c'mon it's a bed and breakfast!

    Bed was comfortable, private bath was available in our room, it was clean and cozy within walking distance of good restaurants, shopping and nightclubs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, fab location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the begining the staff were very courteous and helpful, parked the car for me and carried my bag to the room without me even asking for assistance! Breakfast was really good, great choices available. We had a triple room and it was very spacious and the beds were really comfy. We loved the fact that the old style was kept but doesnt look as 'outdated' as more modern hotels! We where attebding a wedding in the Odeon, literally just around the corner so the location couldnt have been better! Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, great staff, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn’t like, which I didn’t notice at the time of booking, is that our room did not have a toilet (it did have a shower). Several of the rooms use a shared toilet on the second floor.

    Very nice hotel, very quaint and an excellent morning breakfast with helpful staff. The location is nice in that it is a bit off the beaten path, but only a couple blocks from the closest hop-on-hop off stop.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable, friendly, cozy and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    They received me late at night and were very friendly. The room is small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was abosulutely incredible with many options to choose from and all very delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Comfy bed and good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is quite dated, the room had a small and uncomfortable bathroom, the sink is in the bedroom and on top of a drawer, the mirror is too far away and I found holes in my towels. It’s just not what you expect for that amount of money.

    Comfy bed and good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.4
    The location isn’t too bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is way overpriced!! It hurts to pay so much money for a very low to moderate quality.

    The location isn’t too bad. The hotel is located in a very typical old building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Quintessential Georgian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff aimed to please. The bedrooms were comfortable and the breakfast fabulous. Great to stay in a Georgian row house with a personality. The staff opened the breakfast room eRly as we were leaving early.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Great service by very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was tiny. Really too small to make this a room.

    Very very friendly staff!! They made the breakfast experience truly wonderful. Great quality breakfast, a lot of choice, food was prepared with love. Staff was very helpful and great with everything: directions, recommendations, parking the car, luggage. Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    The staff was very helpful indeed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, the walls and doors are old and noise insulation does not exist. My bed was separated from the stairway by just a couple of meters and a thin old door. It's like sleeping in the stairway.

    The staff was very helpful indeed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Quiet location near St Stephen’s Green
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were asked if we could manage stairs, we hadn’t realised we would be on the top floor (60 stairs!). The bathroom was functional but very small and quite dark. The room itself was lit by lamps only which meant the lighting was very poor for shaving / applying make up.

    Quirky, interesting building in a good location. Efficient & helpful staff. Good lounge with constant supply of coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Great position but as described- tired and our room was very warm due to the hot water pipes behind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely hot even for summer- on the final morning we found hot water pipes running up the wall behind the wardrobe. There were 2 fans in the room but it was still too warm to sleep in

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    The staff at this wonderful boutique hotel are friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at this wonderful boutique hotel are friendly, discreet, helpful, knowledgeable about the local area, obliging and made our stay in Dublin one we will remember fondly for a long time. The building is charming and the setting ideal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff was super-nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We changed rooms two times. the first room, didn't have a side window just roof windows, it felt a little bit like sleeping in a swimming pool because there were glass bricks to provide the room with light. The second room was a nicer, but to the front street and extremely loud in terms of traffic noise. The third one was perfect. Best rooms: next house, top floor, facing the back of the house. We have to say: the staff was extremely helpful and tried to make evverything possible. Well, it is a very old house, therefore: complete Dublin-feeling.

    The staff was super-nice. And we loved the breakfast as well, especially because it was NOT a buffet. The location is very good, not far away from St. Stephen's Green, short walking distance to very nice pubs and also for shopping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    A welcoming Irish coffee on arrival to valet parking the car - all with a smile :0)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Romi and the rest of the staff could not have done any more to make us feel welcome, from a welcoming Irish coffee on arrival to valet parking the car - all with a smile. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was excellent, close to city Centre and on Luas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Location was excellent, close to city Centre and on Luas. Although the hotel is more like a guest house, the room was comfortable, the breakfast was really good and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Victorian elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but the staff were very helpful and carried our luggage for us.

    We were treated exceptionally well from the reception to the car service,the beautiful room, the delicious breakfast. This is a quirky mid 1800s residence and is decorated to suit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Good location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was quite restricted. No issue but access to vehicle once parked by staff was a little difficult.

    Good location and service. Breakfast great, rooms comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Had nice time, walking distance to Iveagh gardens for concert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows..

    Our room was economy as that's all was left.. Very noisy snoring next door so didn't get to sleep much.. Wouldn't stay in that room again.. Breakfast was very good, all staff very professional. Location good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Extremely Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room was exceptionally clean. Bed was very comfortable and the room was really well decorated, nice plush carpet and pristine bed clothes. Staff were excellent, very welcoming and helpful without making a fuss. Location was great, just off of Stephens Green in a very quiet safe area. Great value for money in Dublin which is unusual.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Avoid it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had room 14 - avoid it! It is totally awful. a Single so small that you have to climb over the single bed to reach the part-opening window. No fan, no air con, stuffy and dated. Truly a tourist trap. Shower and toilet 'en suite' were basic, but clean. Electric shower didn't function properly - either scaling hot or cold... for Gods sake!!! FIX IT. Breakfast was fine.... the saving grace. Will not stay here again and recommend you pay a little more for something MUCH better.

    Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Good stay, breakfast did let it down unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast the pot of tea was horrible, awful water taste. I asked for a coffee and that was rotten too. my pancakes were cold.

    We were going to the Iveagh gardens for a gig it was so close! The hotel is very charming and old fashioned, the beds were really comfy, especially the pillows.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we received did not meet expectations set by website. We were in a dated and somewhat worn part of the facility.

    Breakfast was very good. That part of the facility was very comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Rip off Ireland once again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest pokiest room I was ever in👇in Ireland & a rip off at €99👇Couldn't even have a proper shower as the water was either too hot or too cold👇

    Reasonably good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Old style building but despite this it was very clean, homely and had really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were some of the friendliness we had met in our stay in Dublin. Couldn’t do enough to make us feel more welcome. Breakfast was delicious. Rooms were old style rather than modern to fit with the theme of the old house but was perfectly clean and well serviced. Nice, peaceful and noise free at night. Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely long weekend spent in Dublin :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection could be improved.

    Very welcoming and accomodating staff! The room was a good size and clean. The location is in a quiet area with easy to access the main attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Good but too expensive for the room we had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given room 9, in the below-ground level, next to the kitchen. It had a window to a sort of "airway", not really a normal window. I have experienced that in Europe but never had to pay so high a price for that sort of room. The room price should be discounted. Very small room, quite large bathroom. Fortunately there was no noise from the area outside, although I did smell cigarette smoke one morning. Tell them you don't want room 9 or you want a discount. Breakfast was very good and the friendliness and helpfulness of Renato made up for the negative aspect of the room.

    The night manager Renato was especially helpful, really going out of his way to give us extra information. Although our room was small, the bathroom was large so I can say I liked that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    The breakfast was great and we were greeted with a lovely Irish coffee while we waited for our room being ready as we were half hour early. The staff were very friendly and all of the food drinks and service we received was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast, good value for Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a little too far to walk to attractions as well as walk around all day, but the tram is very nearby and we caught that to centre of town. Room on the small side but it is good value for Dublin.

    Excellent breakfast, good value for Dublin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast is really good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in the room

    The breakfast is really good Possibility to have tea with cookies anytime The friendliness of staff I got a bigger room than foreseen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Perfect, met all our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are looking for a quaint Ireland style B&B, this is perfect. Location within walking distance of many attractions, friendly and accommodating staff, super clean bathroom and comfy beds. Charming décor, breakfast was included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Best kept secret in Dublin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. Everything was great.

    The Kilronin House exceeded all of my expectations! When the Airbnb I had booked canceled 30 minutes prior to check in and Airbnb did next to nothing to help, Booking.com came to the rescue and we found the Kilronin House on short notice and checked in 15 minutes after booking it. The location is hard to beat, the staff is nice as can be and the value is unmatched in Dublin. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Good Location to see the sights during a quick stay in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The breakfast room isn't large enough and was full on our arrival for breakfast, we waited at least 20 minutes for a table. If you are on a timetable, I recommend you ask about peak times and if they expect to be full. - The room itself was quite small, and we expected nicer furnishings and facilities for the price.

    Good Breakfast and very Friendly staff. Onsite parking was very easy and worked well for us, both arriving and departing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Just okay accommodation but great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor very tired throughout / bathroom very dated and in need of overhaul. Mattress in room sloped into middle and wasn’t particularly comfortable. Expensive for what it was.

    Excellent Breakfast and staff very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely Georgian house in pleasant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small, not really a double, one side of bed against the wall. No view, just of wall. Room tastefully decorated but tired, needed new furniture and decorating. Towels and toilet paper cheap. Generally we felt it needed bit more luxury for the money.

    Lovely Georgian house in pleasant location. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly reception staff and in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in by a very friendly young man and were assisted with getting our bags up to our room. The onsite parking was full, so we had to park on the street, however we were offered the option of leaving the keys to our rental and the hotel would move the vehicle once the other guests departed and opened up a parking slot (we declined since we were leaving quite early for the airport and chose to leave the vehicle on the street). The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    We were very pleased - could not have done better than the Kilronan for our short stay in Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One thing - the mattress in room 24 could do with replacing - bit hollow in the middle!

    We enjoyed the elaborate Edwardian décor and artefacts in the public rooms, staircases and landings. The staff were unfailingly attentive, helpful, professional and friendly. The breakfast menu options and service were impeccable and the location, within active walking distance of central Dublin, was perfect for us as sight-seeing tourists. As a bonus the Adelaide Road stop, the last but one for the 757 bus from the Airport, drops you opposite the front door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    So central, reasonable, comfortable. Really friendly and welcoming staff. Parking included in the price. Definitely going back there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff bit too many stairs....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I was told we would have 1st floor room but had 3rd. When travelling with my 71 year old mother this was not great as it was very difficult for her to get up the stairs.

    Good location. Really friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, and staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that hotel was rather small, rooms a little cramped. Our ensuite was tiny, but all was clean.

    The staff were very attentive and helpful. Bed very spacious, fresh, crisp bed linen. Dining room rather small, but breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great location and amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very accommodating and the breakfast served is excellent. The rooms were clean and the hotel is in an excellent location. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Economy in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here twice during our Ireland holiday. The first night we had the Family Room which was spacious and clean. The second night we had the Economy Rooms. These rooms had a shared bathroom on another level and were very small. The staff is amazing and so is the breakfast. It’s a good value for economy accommodations. Just be sure to get room details before booking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    I highly recommend Kilronan to all visitors to Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at Kilronan is memorable due to the high standards maintained and the hospitality extended to each of us. The staff were highly professional and welcoming.Our breakfasts were delicious. The ambience of Kilronan is very impressive. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Great Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with updating. But overall can’t fault it.

    Very friendly staff, ideally located in city centre. Free parking, basic facilities but very good value for money and with breakfast included. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    Rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property charge 179 euro for one night which is alot of money and then pit me in a room right beside the kitchen with noise all night and morning and the floor boards above my room squak everytime someone steps foot on it which was all night i complain and they tell me to come back 3 days later for a refund and when i return they say they will give me 50 euro back but i have to wait until they speak to the owner this is a joke i dont think places like this should be alowed charge such prices and just leave paying customers in a room they cant even sleep in so dissapointed

    ..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice Budget solution right next to the city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the stairs that other guests were making when coming back to their rooms. Smell from the kitchen in the morning - proper ventilation might help.

    Staff was very assistive and friendly. Breakfast like in 4-5* hotel :) Heating worked well. Stayed in single room with no toilet, but was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    2.5
    Rude manager
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our flights into Dublin were cancelled due to snowfall, so we had to cancel our reservation Kilronan House. Despite being an "act of god" and no fault of ours, the manager refused to refund any portion of our payment and was quite rude on the phone. Don't bother booking if there's a chance of inclement weather that could affect flights!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable , convenient and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very convenient place to stay. The building is old , but tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. The manager and staff were very welcoming and efficient. The breakfast was one of the best we've had in Ireland.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Delicious breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bathroom with water getting hot a bit too long for winter time and sink outside the bathroom

    Delicious breakfast. Very helpful personnel. Old Edwardian interiors

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.2
    The restaurant area is very charming and the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not up to a nice standard for the ridiculous prices they charge. The bathroom was very poor and had such a tiny shower that I - someone who is 6ft 5 - could not stand upright in. We didn't get to have breakfast because they 'don't start until 7am' and we had to leave for a flight at 0630. We also had to pay for the first night that we couldn't stay there because our flight to Dublin was cancelled. The property was not very forgiving or kind about this and basically couldn't care less. The bed was also very uncomfortable and at close to 200 euro for the Saturday night and 100 for the Sunday night it just was not worth it.

    The restaurant area is very charming and the staff are reasonably nice. I think with some minor improvements this bed and breakfast could become very good, but unfortunately too many things let us down during this stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    All good!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have a normal window you could open rather than the opaque glass blocks, but maybe the view wasn't worth seeing.

    I liked it's uniqueness. Definitely not just another chain hotel. Quirky and with personality. Also very comfortable. Decent size room. Excellent breakfast. Very helpful reception and dining room staff. Convenient to many great bars and restaurants on Camden St and the Luas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly & helpful staff with a great breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly & helpful staff with a great breakfast menu - my one night extended to 3 due to the storm & the Kilronan served as a good office for my time here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Value for money and comfort near the city centre
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the price nothing really. It's a tad tired but that's kind of part of its charm.

    Excellent value for money is a characterful hotel, near the heart of Dublin city centre. Breakfast is also good value for money for a guesthouse and I just get a good feeling from the place in general.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room n ensuite was a bit small for 2 n over hot during the night as heat stayed onn all nite and i had 2 open windo whoch left room noisy from street traffic ..

    Room was wee bit small for 2 people

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Exceptional staff that make your stay so comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cute old bed and breakfast located near great parts of Dublin. It makes for a spot that’s easy to get around and drop back. The staff were extremely nice and went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Breakfast wasn’t great but ok. The room was lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    We had a comfortable stay at a reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very small as expected in a converted property. The property is a little tired and would benefit from attention in some areas.

    The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Good choices on the breakfast menu. We had a good sized quiet room with a comfortable bed. Approximately 20 minutes to walk into the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Fine food, staff and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    They have orthopedic mattresses. Very comfortable. The only drawback to this hotel is like of an elevator. Concierge helped me with bag though. Breakfasts were lovely and staff helpful. I wasn’t feeling well and waiter brought me chamomile tea. I also got an upgrade to a larger room without charge as they weren’t busy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice for a short stay and we will be back and will recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was difficult to adjust and had little power.

    Free parking. Friendly efficient staff. Free coffee and biscuits on arrival. Comfortable room with adjustable heating. Really great breakfast cooked to order and with a lot of choice on the menu. Very quiet at night and an excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, friendly and good value with a good location. Ideal base to get to know Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our ensuite bathroom was functional but the shower cubicle was worn and fragile. Car parking is available but the space is narrow and you wouldn't want to risk parking your vehicle (luckily the staff offer to help).

    We had a warm welcome from the staff and our room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Kilronan House is a handsome 19th century town house decorated in keeping with it's period. It is a reasonable walk or short tram ride from all the main Dublin sites and attractions. It was good value and we would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderfully charming and in a very central location (max 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ok, so no lift and lots of steps to the top floor. But it is an historical building with tons of charm but if you have a bad knee then you might need to rethink. You will still be missing out though :-)

    Wonderfully charming and in a very central location (max 10 minute walk to Grafton St and literally around the corner from the National Concert Hall with Stephen's Green just beyond) Very helpful staff and terrific excellent-quality breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Good location for walking into the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower took a while to get hot, potentially as we were on the top floor.

    Good location for walking into the city centre. Great staff. Lovely breakfast. Really comfy bed and warm room. Extremely clean. Free parking!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent property fact parking is included in city centre a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very suitable for small children as halls breakfast room very narrow and small.

    Excellent property fact parking is included in city centre a brilliant bonus. Family room was brilliant would definitely stay again. Nicest breakfast I ever got including hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely stay, great location and I would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower took a while to 'settle' and it kept going really hot and then really cold. Given the sounds it was making I'd say it wont last much longer :) But I was able to shower so I can't complain.

    I had booked an economy room so I was a little nervous about what I would get. I was travelling alone for a friends party so I really only needed a bed and I have to say I was delighted with my room. It was warm, comfortable and clean. They had recently put in a new carpet in the room and it was so soft under my feet. Breakfast was lovely, staff were really friendly and the location was excellent. Best bit was the convenient and free parking, I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, very friendly staff and excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the room was clean enough, it could do with a deep clean. Also the decor was a little bit tired and it was slightly chilly (not enough to request extra heating but just below comfort levels).

    Great location, very friendly staff and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic breakfast with old world feel,staff were very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom within the room only shower and basin. Also press with tea facilities could do with a dusting was a bit of a turn off

    Fantastic breakfast with old world feel,staff were very friendly and location was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: