Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lancaster Lodge 4 stars

Lancaster Quay, Western Road, Cork, Ireland

#11 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in Cork

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1336 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Good price to quality ratio
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only missing thing is a restaurant or a bar in the hotel. However, there many of them around, so this is a minor issue.

    Everything was great! The staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Highest standards in Cork
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative at all.

    I liked the spacious rooms and the recent renovation work is very impressive. The rooms are well appointed. The colour scheme throughout the building is superb. Lift is excellent. Car parking is abundant, private and secure. Spotlessly clean. I slept through breakfast on this occasion but both the buffet and cooked breakfast are a veritable cornucopia for all tastes. Staff genuinely courteous, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small negative the room was very warm...fans available though and it is a heatwave so its me being a bit overly critical...

    Location is perfect for city centre Free parking Staff were very friendly V comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to everything, cozy and welcoming, staff really helpfull. Really clean. There was a ketle, cups, take away cups, cofee, tee and milk on the room. Plenty of parking (private but for free). 100% recommendable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    The bed was big and really comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was big and really comfy. Reception staff very helpful and efficient. It was a very hot day and we were given complimentary cold water for our journey. Nice thought!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    Horrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is sparse and has no air-conditioning, there is no fridge, nor mini-bar in room. If you have a hot summer day, it gets quite warm and you must open the windows, They do not supply earplugs for the noise in the street. The price was outrageous, when the hotel next-door had all comforts and was 40 euros cheaper.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Fine but could be better
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a bit soulless. Disadvantage of no bar or restaurant facilities. I found it expensive. Room was way too warm and could do with air conditioning

    Breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Hot week in Cork
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner in the rooms. It was very hot week in Cork. Wall to wall carpet in the room. There was also noisy worksite in the backyard.

    Staff was very helpful and hotel was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar in-house but then again, there were lots of bars quite close

    Lovely fresh towels both days we stayed. Lovely and quite and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning. Lots of street noise, so bring ear plugs or drink a lot! No on-site parking, but there is a Community parking lot nearby, which costs 6.50 euro (exact change only) for the entire day.

    Location of the property, and having a bar/café attached to it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet was quite loose on the wall. Thought it might fall off! and the shower thing you turn to put the shower on came off if my hand.

    The location was fantastic. The bed was amazingly comfy and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and staff but too uncomfortable to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot with no AC. You had to leave the curtains open so what little air that would come through the window(which only opened about four inches) could circulate. This made the room too light and sunny to sleep after 5 AM. The pillows are also so hard that we all had neck aches.

    Breakfast is good, location excellent and staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great for a short stay, great value, perfect location for cork city!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The view from the room was at a construction site. Will upload a foto later if i can edit the review. 2. The staff didn't really explain in detail how to get to room at check in.

    1. The staff were very friendly, got a free bottle of water at check out! That was great as i was checking out early. 2. Full English breakfast was great i'd say below average price. 3.The room was very spacious! Towels were crisp and fresh. Water pressure was good no calc on the shower head. 4. Free parking!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay, it was modern, clean, comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband found the bed somewhat uncomfortable and didn't sleep very well. On the other hand, I was tired after all the walking we did, so I slept no problem

    The reception area, beautifully decorated, calming colours and friendly helpful staff. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of options. The room and the bathroom were spotlessly clean with plenty of towels and soaps.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Modern city centre hotel with good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room fridge and no ice machine.

    Parking was free and so easy. There were plenty of spaces. It is nice to just park up and push luggage in through a nearby door onto a lift in a city centre location. Good fast WIFI in room. Modern with great water pressure. Very clean. Staff gave a bucket of ice with no problem when asked and not just a few ice cubes in a glass. It is classified as a’guest house’ which could be a bit off putting but not sure why - maybe because other than for breakfast there is no restaurant and no bar. It is staffed at all times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    A great mid-priced option in the centre of Cork
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a good quality hotel in a central location - everything we needed was within a 10-15 minute walk. The staff were friendly while the room was modern and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Fine stay, nothing great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard, you had to insert your room key into a slot for the lights to work which was just very strange, the hair dryer was hard wired into the desk and you had to press a button the entire time to get it to work instead of turning it on or off. It was hot and we asked for a fan, which they provided but we had to go get it they didn't deliver it to the room. We also found the wifi spotty, it had to be re-logged into over and over even if you didn't leave the property and closed and then reopened an app. Overall we slept well because we were so jet lagged but their tag line is "luxury guest houses " and there was nothing luxurious about it.

    They allowed us to check in early which was great. And the location was nice, within walking distance to city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Too hot, over priced - stay elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely warm, no air conditioning and when we mentioned it to the receptionist she said “oh you should have asked for a fan” - not an expected step to have to take in a four star hotel. We were charged 12 euro for room service on check out (for the service alone, not the food) that was not flagged when we ordered it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower stalls are quite small.

    The hotel was immaculate and the guest lounge areas very cool. The continental breakfast was the best I've had in quite a while, and we were very pleased with our extra large room with comfy relaxation area and double dormer windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    After a bad start with the faulty location satnav link this turned into my all-time Cork favourite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Google map link from Booking.com took me 2 km away in a dead-end and the Cork one-way system is a nightmare at 5pm!

    This is the epitome of perfection in accommodation. It is not a hotel but an excellent,top-grade B&B. Position is perfect with the centre of the city 5 mins walk - restaurants, pubs and shopping all just a short stroll.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great. The hotel is centrally located in downtown Cork and is a quick walk to many different points of interest, restaurants, shopping locations, market, etc. The staff were wonderfully accommodating and extremely helpful with great recommendations for shopping and dining.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Location for walking into town Good choice of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room stat in room quite warm so had to open window. Though it was quiet.

    Location for walking into town Good choice of breakfast. Free parking. Tea and coffee in the room. Despite being on a busy street was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like

    The staff were so accommodating, it was a friends birthday and they helped us with the cake/candles/plates etc they also gave us a bucket of ice for the room. Really friendly staff and the decor was excellent. Absolutely enjoyed my stay here! 🙂

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Bathroom not updated so no photo shown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom not updated so no photo shown. Front door open at 1.30am so security not as good as it should be. side lamps coverted in dust, not cleaned in months.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable and smelled very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Initially I was offered a room at the top floor, with small windows. I didn't take the room and it was changed to a much better room.

    The bed was very comfortable and smelled very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the entrance to the carpark was a bit tricky.

    The property was in a great location. It had a great view of the river and the rooms were quite spacious and the staff were excellent and so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    The room had almost everything that was needed and was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water was offered to us on checkout which was much appreciated but would have been better if there was water available in the room.

    The room had almost everything that was needed and was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Excellent location with lots of restaurants, bars and cafes within walking distance. Paring was free which is a great bonus for such a good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Just an average place that happens to be close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place isn't a top of the line facility. The facility is modern but they don't do the little things to make this an above average hotel. They don't have the simple things you would expect. The bed is unsatisfactory because when we even tried to turn over in bed it would make noise.

    This facility is a normal hotel in the middle of town. It is within walking distance of just about everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Confused by the allocated rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to my liking from a star rating perspective.

    Despite this being a 4 star rating this did not meet our expectation around what we would expect for a 4 star. A more appropriate rating would have been 3 star.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Amazing we booked for two nights stayed 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a double room 1x double bed 1 x single my brother had the double bed n could feel the springs.. but thats n easy fix.

    Very nice place to stay; close to city and staff very friendly and willing to help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    We absolutely enjoyed our stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely enjoyed our stay there! The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was excellent. The room and the bathroom were really clean and nice. The location was great, just 5 minutes by walk to the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.5
    Modern and very friendly city centre accommodation, with free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, recommended nearby restaurant (Liberty Grill...super). Also free water upon checkout...lovely touch! Well done. Free parking is great bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Good car parking spaces and close to everything, location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the second morning it was a little busier in the breakfast room and I had to wait 30 minutes for my cooked breakfast.

    Good car parking spaces and close to everything, location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    A nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't call the Lancaster a 4 star hotel. It doesn't have a pool or leisure centre. It doesn't serve dinner. I would clarify this as a really nice 3 star.

    The location, the room was clean, the staff are lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was adequate, room was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linens weren't very soft or comfortable. Didn't get a great night's sleep.

    Breakfast was adequate, room was fine. View from river-facing rooms was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Funky haven, hard to beat on all levels.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing

    The place had a wonderful fresh feeling to it. The décor was simple but original, funky yet tasteful, bright and lively. Breads, fruit etc were all freshly made / fresh and delicious 😋 It's much more than a guesthouse. The staff were lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Staff were excellent and very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot. Even with windows open it was uncomfortable.

    Staff were excellent and very helpful. Little touches like takeaway cups for the tea/coffee in the room and free water. Location was excellent. Lots of tv stations too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and we'd stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Maybe no rain?????

    Great location with views over the river. Easy 10 minute walk into town. Friendly, informative reception staff who gave us fabulous recommendations for evening meal and so good that we had breakfast at the restaurant also. Room was huge and the bed was very comfortable and the right temperature in the room. Hotel looks modern and trendy and is very clean. Standard of grouting etc in bathroom was good (often the finish lets the bathrooms down)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful riverside hotel to come back to each night on our Cork adventure! Thanks a million!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bar or larger gathering spot would be a bonus. We are used to having one large bath towel per person in the U.S. - we had to ask for more each day - not a big deal.

    The location was perfect - right between UCC and City Centre. We were visiting our daughter who was studying abroad. The staff was friendly, helpful, and made on point recommendations for dining.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    We got engaged here! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were brilliant. They were so accommodating. The room had everything we needed, warm, cosy and spacious. I would recommend this hotel to any person.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottled water in the room.

    Very central location. Walking distance to the centre of the city. Clean bright rooms good value for money. Staff where lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice rooms and breakfast but far too expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apparently there was free wifi but it was overly complicated and I never got it working. Very expensive, I paid €278 for 2 nights and that didn't include breakfast.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Your Choice in Cork
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mild smell of cigarette smoke in room. Also, whilst everything was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and efficient, there's a certain soulless quality to this accommodation. I think it's overpriced for what you get at €169 for 1 night BnB for 2 people. For example, we could have stayed in the Imperial Hotel on the same night for €200 for 2 BnB - way better value for money in my estimation. Admittedly, we would still have had to pay for car parking and wouldn't have had the convenience of parking on site so its really a matter of what's most important to you when choosing accommodation.

    Free onsite parking. Friendly staff. 5-10 min walk to English Market/city centre. Very comfortable bed in a large room with tea and coffee making facilities+ biscuits. Quiet location. Complimentary newspapers. Complimentary water in room and when checking out. Overall it's a good choice for a visit to Cork if the negatives below don't impact on you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff: excellent customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff: excellent customer service. Breakfast: buffet limited, however the “A La Carte” breakfast menu was great and the food was lovely. Location: 5 minutes walk from the city centre. Free car Park. Room: Bed was comfy and the room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    So close to the city, extremely comfortable bed in a simple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only think I could fault them on was The variety available for breakfast as it was minimal and didn't look appealing. Also Some of the staff in the breakfast room weren't as welcoming as the front desk staff, particularly the younger staff members.

    So close to the city, extremely comfortable bed in a simple yet gorgeous room, front desk were very helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    Very nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction was not flagged when I was booking the night before. After a long journey the previous night the construction noise was not appreciated.

    Very nice staff. Clean. Great parking. Very central

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Good location, parking but be aware of screaming kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were screaming kids in the corridor at 9 AM! The hotel should do something about it. Family rooms with young children should be separated from the other guest rooms. People don't want to be woken up by screaming children when they are on vacation!

    The lady at the reception was very helpful and knowledgeable. A true hospitality professional! The hotel offers parking and is conveniently located downtown. Very nice shower!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Lovely clean, quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean, quiet rooms. Breakfast was very nice. Easy and accessible to main town area, within easy walking distance to all restaurants, shopping, bars. Very comfortable, nice hotel, would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd booked a twin room. The other person couldn't make it. Just as well as there was only one bed in the room

    Perfect location, parking perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    The room was lovely and very much hotel standard, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not exactly a fault but there is no bar facility and sitting in the lounge with a drink would have been lovely as it was a meeting point for me and all my friends

    The room was lovely and very much hotel standard, clean and warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. We had parking right outside the door and the walk from the city was so short and a taxi was not not needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Happy to recommend.

    This is a perfectly agreeable hotel, clean, well located (close to the city) and comfortable. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff are lovely - very friendly and helpful. Good, free wifi. The water pressure in the shower was great - the best I've ever come across. Parking was very convenient. The rate was much cheaper than most other decent hotels in Cork for that weekend, so it was the best value we could get. Happy to recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was way to warm ,,with 3 people in the room we were melting and hard to sleep

    Great location, very helpful for getting us taxi's . Very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location and very helpful staff. Very clean and rooms were nice. 10 minute walk to City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was not early enough. We did some tours that left early and we were not even able to get coffee until 7:00 am. Coffee needs to start at 6:30 am and breakfast needs to start at 7:00 am.

    Excellent location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Very happy with our two nights here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints relating to any element of our stay at Lancaster Lodge

    Very comfortable. Convenient location and easy walk to where family live in Cork. Very safe walking about the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Visited local pub where you had a band, footie on, good pub food and Guinness😊
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have 4 downlighters in the bathroom but nothing above the basin which has a large mirror with tall ceilings so light lumens are very (too) low. Add another 2 downlighters and you will be able to clearly see your face, Warts an all!!

    Good experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic place with the best staff ever!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a great little hotel in Cork. Nice parking and so convenient to walk to everything. Most comfortable. The staff is above and beyond any other place I visited. Friendly, knowledgeable of area and just down right awesome in accommodating us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Very clean comfortable Guesthouse
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff could be a little friendlier

    Very comfortable clean guesthouse, big rooms, very comfortable bed, good location, short walk into city, I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    It had what a 4 star hotel should have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to the Wifi was over complicated - typical Virgin! The outer front door was automatic but the inner one had to be pulled by hand - not the easiest thing to do if you are hampered by luggage or, like me, using a walking aid. There was usually some kind person around to lend a hand.

    The hairdryer was in a very sensible place - not plumbed in to the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Great stay in a great city. Definitely will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    My partner is a huge Depeche Mode fan and directly across from the hotel was a cafe called Cafe Depeche...and yes it was dedicated to the band. The hotel was a 5 min walk from the centre of the city too which was fab

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea at breakfast...but then I'm a connoisseur and only use spring water.Tap water boiled doesn't make good tea.Otherwise we had a lovely breakfast.

    Lovely comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfect base for our Cork Jazz Festival weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly expensive for this standard. Room was too warm even with the window open. Nice to have a decent size kettle but they give you tiny cups to go with it. Proper mugs would be nice.

    Quiet and very convenient with good parking. Comfortable room. Good lighting. Very Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Very average for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid £110 through booking.com with no breakfast. It turns out booking directly is £85 and included breakfast. They were very unhelpful when I tried to rearrange and I left without coffee or breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Another nice time in Cork.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a really good place, no quibbles. This is not a luxury hotel (there is the River Lee next door), but rooms are much bigger and staff are great.

    This is a lovely place. Rooms are functional and mine was quite big - which was nice. Breakfast is amazing and the staff at breakfast are super nice. The hotel is close to UCC but also very close to the city. Travel to and from Cork airport depends on traffic - there is really nothing the hotel can do about it. Just one more thing: as always the hotel asks you to reuse towels, but there are few hooks to hang them from. I really would like hotels to offer more opportunities to do so. Overall this is a nice place in a central location in one of the friendliest places I have stayed in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stop for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome on arrival. Given a choice of rooms. Opted for river facing at the top. Easy parking. 5 minute walk into Cork centre. Receptionist provided clear instructions and map with suggestions of where to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    A short break during freak weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no bar in the hotel or any available food after breakfast.

    Comfy beds,excellent breakfast choices and good quality produce.The staff are brilliant ,great service all round . We were stranded here during hurricane Ophelia Monday October 16th and the staff looked after us very well The hotel receptionists answered all our queries and helped us travel to Dublin via public transport links fir an alternative flight .They checked air lines for us and overall were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Mistakenly billed as a luxury 4 star guesthouse. Absolutely not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed a lot of work. The paint on the wooden side panel of the bath was flaking and looked horrible near the floor. Also the inside of the bath was badly discoloured, i imagine from stagnant water sitting in it. My partner and i were both very wary to stand in it and we just used it for showers, being very careful to stand on the non-slip mat provided. There is no way either of us would use it to have a bath. You had to flush the toilet at least 4 times to 'clear everything' (apologies) which became very annoying. I have been in 3 star hotels that had much better rooms than this. The full irish breakfast was v.small, and when we asked for toast, we got 2 slices of bread (sliced) to share between us.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Really nice staff, loan of an umbrella to go out in dreadful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cork is getting very expensive for accommodation but it is a very busy city.

    Really nice staff, loan of an umbrella to go out in dreadful rain. Great location to go out and get something to eat. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay, just wish it was longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern and clean hotel with friendly staff. Only small downside was that they don't have a restaurant on site but as it's so central, it's just a short walk to some fab places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    An excellent stay at the Lodge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the bathtubs have jacuzzis which rocks if you're tired from your travels. Unfortunately, mine was broken. Was so bummed! The shower & tub were excellent despite that - deep, long tub for tubfor tall people.

    Everything was great! Beautiful accommodations! Close to everything; very sweet & knowledgeable staff! St. Fin Barre Cathedral is 5 min. away! It has mazing stained glass & Blarney Castle is 10-15 min away. At the castle, the hike up to the stone takes you up narrow, spiraling stone steps and is not for the faint of heart or claustrophobic! It's pretty fun & spectacular once you're up there! The grounds are beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.8
    Absolutely fuming - a disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Connecting to the WiFi was the most complex I've encountered - and I was then furious to realise it had created a Facebook account for me. I do not want a Facebook account and don't want my on-line presence compromised by having one. I am ABSOLUTELY LIVID with this place for doing this to me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    When I travel to Cork again I will definitely be booking to stay at Lancaster large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly couldn't fault the place.

    Very friendly staff and extremely helpful. A very high standard of cleanliness, and the beds are very comfortable. In a lovely location and all shops are within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.6
    No 4 stars quality, bad breakfast service, less comfort - not worthy at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many many things were not ok at all...Very bad breakfast service. We ordered tea - never got it. We ordered toast - never got it. We orderd pancakes with bacon - got it but without bacon. Besides that the breakfast room is cold and simple - you dont feel good at all. It really looks like a hostel room and honestly often they have more comfort. We are travelling a lot. We are doing camping, hostels, 3 / 4 or 5 star hotels and have really seen a lot...when i pay less money i know that i cant expect that much. But in this case, we paid way too much for what we get. It was really disappointing paying so much money for a kind of nothing. I dont know why this accommodation has got 4 stars. I really have know idea why. There is absoluty no reason for it. No hairdryer in the room (yes you can order it at the reception - thats a kind of joke), no real possibility to open a window and get good new air in it, the towels smelled really bad, the whole room was not like 4 stars at all.

    Honestly, not much. Yes it is near the center but thats not worthy to pay 200bucks for a night. Besides the free parking space in front of the hotel,a nice receptionist with some nice recommendations and the late check out at 12pm, i cant find anything good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    The Lancaster Lodge met all of our requirements, couldn't have asked for more. 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double and Single Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was leaking, so we were extra mindful of cleaning it up, but that's nothing.

    The Staff were amazing. They were so helpful and friendly, we all noticed it. The room was comfortable for all three, no sense of being overcrowded. From check-in to check was smooth and absolutely fabulous (the complimentary bottles of water on check-out is a genius idea). The breakfast was delicious, and there were plenty of options too. Waitresses were friendly, clean, efficient and helpful, with excellent English. We were looking for a nice hotel, close to the city center, with good food, and comfortable accommodation...the Lancaster ticked all the boxes!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Cork city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing- had everything we needed.

    Beds were really comfortable. room very spacious, clean and location is great. Easy walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants. Staff were really helpful and friendly. I'd recommend this lodge for a Cork city break.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: