Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leenane Hotel 3 stars

Clifden Road, Leenaun, Ireland

#1 of 10 hotels in Leenaun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1163 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    The view on the water was breathtaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s kinda a lot of bugs outside being so close to the water.

    The view on the water was breathtaking. Get a room on the second story if you can. Amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Very welcoming check in and characterful deco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite gales and electricity cut at breakfast time the breakfast was great and the staff remained ever cheerful. The view was great if interesting during the “hurricane “ weather.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    A friendly hotel which makes its customers feel at ease.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    The staff were extremely helpful. The food is superb. The Tuesday night music session in which some of the guests joined in made for a very friendly atmosphere in the hotel bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Food was good, scenery was good, what more could you ask for from a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was excellent. We traveled to Leenaun to experience "Wild Ireland" and it lived up to all our expectations. The Hotel was good, although the rooms could have been warmer. The restaurant served really good food and the staff were very friendly. It is an excellent location to explore Connemara, Westport and Mayo.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Worth the price
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses weren’t very comfortable as well as the bathroom.

    It’s so difficult to find descent dog friendly hotels in Ireland and we were happy to find this hotel. The stuff was very kind and the food in the restaurant was delicious! The view from our room was spectacular! The hotel is located near lots of attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay all in all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better if rashers were freshly cooked. They appeared to be boiled and we're cold.

    The room was excellent with a top of the range comfy bed and very quiet. The very large residents lounge with roaring fire is very relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Great location, food and value for hillwalkers
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Staff were friendly and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent. They provide a packed lunch on request and fill your flasks. Mine was taken from my hand as I entered the breakfast room before I even asked. We were climbing Mweelree. Chowder is delish!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was slightly disappointing with undercooked sausage and pudding and over scrambled eggs.

    Comfortable bed and great views and an overall feel of olde worlde charm. Staff were a great asset being friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Everything is to the standards!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only we did not like us that hotel is closed during the winter!! :) we would definitely come over for a Christmas

    Everything is to the standards!! Great food. Great service. Our room was simple, tidy, bright, cozy with excellent view. Guys thank you for brilliant week end!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Value break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smoking area outside main entrance is not great.

    Excellent Staff, Great food and great atmosphere. Place was full which says everything. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, room was so comfortable and clean with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, room was so comfortable and clean with the most amazing view! Had both dinner and breakfast, top class for both. A little hidden gem, will definitely be back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have nothing negative to say about the Leenane Hotel!

    Excellent location, lakeside view, clean and comfortable, reasonably priced. Excellent facilities and staff. We were given a Free guide book, listing areas of interest, very useful. Very relaxing atmosphere, great walks by the shore, and mountains, a nice Bar with friendly staff, Bar food if you should want to eat there. Full Irish breakfast, Mmmm! Overall, an excellent Hotel to stay in, whether alone or with family and friends No hesitation in recommending it to any visitors, whether from or outside our shores. Hoping to visit this area again, in the future, and will certainly be staying in the Leenane Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Relax and enjoy great food and amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was excellent! Fresh and tasty. Wonderful presentation. Great variety on the menu. The bar was well staffed and there was a lovely, relaxing atmosphere. I think that a guest sitting room , like the large one in Leenane Hotel, is a super facility. It allowed for guests to sit with a book/newspaper/tea and chill! It was a chance for families to sit in a large group and enjoy time together. The hotel had a buzz of people enjoying themselves- a really happy vibe!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is indeed a pet friendly hotel - unlike so many others that advertise same but fail to deliver. The location is one of the nicest in the world and can't be beaten. The facilities are 'old style' (which is a welcome respite from modern boutique hotels ) and very comfortable. I loved everything about my stay, they will be seeing a lot more of me - and it's a thumbs up from the pups!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    One night in beautiful seclusion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. If you have heavy bags, bad knees or trouble with stairs, be sure to get a lower level room.

    We drove the Ring of Kerry to get to the hotel. If you enjoy scenery, getting here will be great for you. The staff was attentive and the portions of food we rec'd at dinner were enough for 2 people to easily enjoy. The two of us should have ordered only 1 entree and split it along w/ the sides. We felt bad that we could take the leftovers (flying out next morning). The bathroom in our room had heated floors and a heated towel rack which was a nice surprise. The building has historic (not rustic or rundown) charm and the parlor is very inviting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room with an elderly facilitated bathroom which gave off a smell upon entering the room. We were not elderly!!! I'm saying that we would stay there again but not in that room.

    Excellent value for money. Staff helpful and friendly. Food good. Excellent location. Views are stunning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    I got what I paid for. Resolve the dislikes and it is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar Service a bit slow, some staff could be friendlier. No weetabix for brekkie. Chowder could do with more fish The only Tv in bar is viewable by a few. Another Tv on the dividing wall is badly needed.

    Fabulous residents lounge. Nice breakfast room. Some staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Lenanne Hotel, home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was fine.

    The leenane hotel is in a beautiful location. We found the staff very friendly and very helpful. The room was very comfortable and all very clean. Their food was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic breakfast, delicious food in the restaurant and clean and comfortable bedrooms. This is a real gem, the location is stunning and the staff are super helpful and welcoming. Given the location and food this is real value for money. As my Italian partner said this hotel experience is 'spectacular' If you want total relaxation then this is the perfect place. We are already thinking about when we will return . Thank you all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable and with sea view. Breakfast was very good. Staff gave me a detailed explanation of what I could do the following day if I stayed in the area. They do this every day for all the guests and they have a lot of rooms. I definitely be back next time I'm in Ireland.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer in room was broken and there was no spare one available but girl did offer to let me use the one in the next room but l didn't want to go sit on bed in next room as dryer is positioned next to bed.small hiccup,but everything else was great so will recommend and return again

    The view is second to none and helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    We were staying here for family 70 birthday advised staff of this. They couldn't care less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We woke at 12.30 am to water pouring down through the bathroom ceiling light. Got 2 kids up and out of room - afraid of water & electricity.Only guy on duty was bar man & was disinterested as not his problem but would mop up. -duly did.Was unable to change rm as fully booked. When we spoke with owner following day he was so rude and said he can't put cameras in bathrooms to monitor guests ( guest upstairs left tap on). No apology or redress offered. We were moved the next day and His attitude was 'haven't you been moved to top floor no water will come down on you there! I have never been met with such poor CS and bad attitude. NEVER again.

    some of the staff there were lovely. Proximity to attractions in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Budget stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed updating with shower door bath panel and tiling needing refurbished.

    Good food and friendly service in bar and restaurant. Great musical duo Sat night created good atmosphere with good crowd. Bedroom spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel And bedrooms overlooking the fjord a big bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is a bit dated being a fixed head so could do with a re-furb but this is a minor point relative to the overall experience of this lovely hotel

    Lovely hotel in a great location overlooking the fjord. The staff were lovely, especially our dinner waiter Vincent who turned out to be the captain of the Fjord cruiser the next day. There is a lovely lounge with big fireplace to relax in and our bedroom had a balcony overlooking the fjord which was very special. Dinner and breakfast were excellent (big portions!)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    What a location, one of the loveliest in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think. I liked everything. Not sure what else is around, so you may have to rely on the hotel for all your needs. How bad!

    This historic hotel was wonderful, our (little) balcony looking right over the fjord. Such a picturesque location. We ate a lovely meal in the restaurant: steak was delicious as was the prawns with salad. Breakfast was very good also, good coffee. We recommend the boat trip on the fjord, very informative, leisurely, and lovely seafood chowder!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely visit to Leenane Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Net curtains in ground floor room would be a good move as we were always in dark due to French doors being next to pavement.

    Love the lounge and the dining facilities. Live music a bonus. Location is to die for!! The views are spectacular.Very hearty breakfast. All I could eat and more!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Scenery is breathtaking, plenty of outdoor activities available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ventilation in the bedroom - it required the opening of the french doors which overlooked the main road and the smoking area which meant noise

    The bedroom was a good size and the bathroom had a separate shower and bath. The fish served in the restaurant was fresh and delicious. The residents lounge was roomy and the fire gave a lovely aroma.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    very very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to do with the hotel but its a tough drive there

    I really enjoyed my stay there, location is fab. and friendly staff they could not do enough for me nad really good value as well so well done all round

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Magical location in a classic hotel; the perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only possible thing I could cite as negative is the poor wifi connection. This would only be an issue to me if I wanted to stay here and get some work done. Again this is the only thing I can find to give constructive feedback on

    The Leenane Hotel is one of my most favorite hotels ever. You can't beat the price, location, friendly staff, and quality of comfort you receive when staying here. This is my third time here and my affection for this hotel only grows with each stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    A bit of an update and this hotel would be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very musty smell in the bedrooms rooms and hotel entrance and lounge area and furniture was a bit old battered and a bit dusty and there was Cigarette burns in my headboard.

    The location was perfect and I had beautiful view from my room out onto the fjord. The staff were lovely, cheerful and helpful and the food was excellent and it was fantastic to be able to bring my dog on holidays with myself and my daughter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Adored the vintage style of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adored the vintage style of the rooms. The staff were lovely. Discount at the seaweed baths was much appreciated. The local seafood was so tasty and the views from this hotel are stunning. Without a doubt I will return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic again will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely, beautiful sitting room to relax in. Food was superb!! Especially the lamb burger, and fish dishes. The room had a beautiful view was clean, beds comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Not as good as last year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed there last year and had a beautiful room and a great time. However, this year was different. The room was not as good as last year, there were dirty coffee stains on the pillows. There were a crowd of young fellows at the bar when we were eating our lunch and they seemed to have had a lot to drink as they were loud & using very inappropriate language in front of children. They were also sagging off the customers as they walked passed or asked a question to the bar staff, who in turn found them very amusing. Not sure if I would stay there again to be honest. After returning from a night out we found it hard to gain entrance into the hotel and had to wait for the owner to open the door who seemed annoyed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Thus place is charming and full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thus place is charming and full of character. Located on the only fjord in Ireland the views are wonderful. Staff very friendly, food is great and the spa treatments are really reasonable. I recommend the salt water seaweed bath. Amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous location and hotel, splendid food....Totally recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some might prefer a lift to the second floor, but personally I enjoyed the exercise of walking!!

    I loved the location which was very convenient for a tour of Connemara, but also a place of beauty in its' own right. All the staff were excellent, very knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel itself is lovely , with plenty of old world charm, including a beautiful drawing room. Meals in the bar/restaurant were delicious! A great place for groups/couples/lone travellers....It's got everything !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel is perfect for sight seeing all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the WiFi to be pretty weak, but as most of our stay was out sightseeing for most of the day we didn’t mind much. However if you do like your internet maybe bring an internet dongle.

    The location of the hotel is perfect for sight seeing all around Connemara. Such a beautiful location, the people of Leenaun very welcoming and friendly, as were staff in hotel, they were ready with any enquiry we had. Made us feel at home. Food was beautiful! Will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to spend a relaxed weekend in amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to spend a relaxed weekend in amazing surroundings,staff and facility top class and breakfast the perfect start to a days hiking in the mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was rushed. Shower drain was a bit blocked and the shower room ended up flooded.

    Fabulous location beside Killary Harbour. Great service in the bar for food and drink

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    In short, it was a very nice stay and we would consider staying again at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food could have been better. It was very greasy, especially the fish and chips. The breakfast had obviously been cooked way in advance as it was dry and too overcooked. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were excellent. The buffet was okay apart from the continental breakfast which had flies landing on the food. The windows were open as it was very hot but there should have been food protectors/ nets over the food to keep them off. A simple pop-up toaster would have been better as I am sure that keeping the toaster on all the time uses a lot of electricity and it takes an age to make a piece of toast. Tea and coffee are excellent. The room was very comfortable and quiet, the only negative was that the room faced on to the path and to get any privacy the curtains had to be pulled. They were very heavy curtains and grand at night but made the room dark. A sheer curtain or venetian blind would have been good for during the daylight to give some privacy but still let in the light.

    The staff were excellent in every way, extremely patient with very elderly clients and more than helpful even though they were boiling hot and very busy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Decent stay if you plan on utilizing the fjord
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms in the extra building are quite basic, and could do with some trimming of the ivy. I couldn't even open the window as the bugs and ivy were so thick! It was a very basic room, not terrible, not great. One thing, they don't have secure WiFi. Normally, I wouldn't be bothered - it's vacation, not time to sit on your laptop! But BOTH my husband and I had our email accounts hacked within 12 hours of logging in at this hotel, which I think has to mean something!

    The reception staff was fab, the food and bar were delicious. Good breakfast menu, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Old fashioned comfort and welcome in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Beautirful main building, with a wonderful lounge with grand piano, sympathetic paintings, and a roaring log fire (needed during my June stay!) The staff were without exception professional and charming. Bedroom in new block was tasteful and very comfortable, and food and wine were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Very warm welcome from Connor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The head barman was busy doing everything but nothing. He obviously intimidates both male and female staff. I waited over 45 minutes to be served and only then by a new staff member on for the evening. I placed my order and then overheard the head barman tell the waiter there was no cod left, but that “the punter” wouldn’t know the difference between the cod and turbot. The meal was disgusting, the “fish” like mush, the batter very greasy. At 2am, I was awoken by frivolity in the smoking area outside, head barmans voice very clearly heard, this lasted until 4am (the barman left at around 3.30am.

    Very warm welcome from Connor. Loved the scenery in the fjord, especially when the tide was in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal booking through booking.com not recognised and another had to be hastily arranged. Staff advised best to book direct. Fish and chips good, but other meals choices could be better.

    lovely views. Despite being a very large hotel, queues at reception were not too long

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    I liked the curb appeal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the curb appeal. I loved the lavish styling thru-out. Everyone was friendly and helpful. That old world charm of the bygone days. Very relaxing atmosphere. The view from the room was stunning. Cocktails at the bar before dinner and good food, what more could you ask for? A swedish massage; they have that too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location,friendly staff,and the sun was shinning :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff very friendly and attentive, cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, had dinner at the bar was FAB, breakfast a bit disapointing, very basic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Very nice lounge and cheerful bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfriendly at check-in. Mediocre bar food. Folk chatting and smoking outside until after 1pm. Room ok but nothing special.

    Very nice lounge and cheerful bar. Wonderful setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Really welcoming and friendly girl on reception and gave us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really welcoming and friendly girl on reception and gave us lots of interesting information on the local area. Very comfortable room and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The hotel has a beautiful view of water and mountain killary...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated on the roadside so there was noise from passing cars at times however as the location is in countryside this stops early and from about 9 onwards it was very peaceful the setting is serene

    The hotel has a beautiful view of water and mountain killary fiord, and is short stroll to famous pub used in the film The Field, the village of leenane was charming and is a great base to explore Connemara,we found the hotel to be excellent value for money our large comfortable room had a balcony overlooking the stunning fijord, the breakfast and dinner at hotel were really top notch, the staff were efficient and so friendly, I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location but ........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner ordered in the bar very slow to arrive and had to be chased up - very surprising as they were not busy. Overall, stay and food expensive for what we paid.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff and comfortable room. Good choice of breakfast although staff did not pay attention to the food selection ordered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable hotel, with outstanding views and a friendly, peaceful atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of running water overnight and until about 8.15 in the morning.

    A communal lounge with plenty of comfortable seating, terrific view over the fjord, very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service and friendly staff, 11 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was slow but it worked

    Very friendly staff, nothing was a problem for them, a credit to the hotel, location was excellent, room was clean and tidy, the food was delicious, if you chose to stay I would recommend the 1kg of mussels, in fact all the food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Delightful location, friendly staff, great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I biscuits in the tea and coffee room kit!

    Had breakfast in bed, was excellent. Location to die for and staff really lovely. Checked in having heard mixed reviews but was happy to find it a delightful stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has an amazing location with bedrooms overlooking Killary Harbour.The property is sparkling clean.The food served in the bar is of a high quality and the trad music on Saturday night is an added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    The Leenane Hotel is worth a stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and mattresses are a bit tired, but functional. The decor in the rooms has been updated at some point, but it's dark.

    Lakeside rooms have a beautiful view, location is excellent for exploring the area, staff was great and the food was very good--better than I expected! Our entire stay for 2 including room, bottle of wine with dinner plus breakfast was under 150 Euro...a great value! We went to the seaweed baths (20 euro with hotel discount) which are a must do! However, they close at 6 so arrive early enough....or go at 10 a m. when they open. There is no elevator in the hotel so if stairs are a problem, take note.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful and peaceful with stunning views from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the hotel was stunning, the staff incredibly nice and helpful. Rooms a little small, but perfect for an overnight stay, beds comfortable, and the surrounding area very relaxing. Good food in the bar/restaurant, but a little busy on Tuesdays. Staff offered us a drink due to the delay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable old-fashioned hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable clean hotel in superb location, right on the lake. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food, wine at reasonable prices, specially wine of the month. Free car parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything that I didn’t like.

    The location is wonderful, the view over the Killary Fjord is beautiful. The hotel staff were helpful and our room was lovely. Breakfast very tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Will have to go back for longer time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't staying long enough.

    Location and scenary. Wow friendly efficient staff. Lovely comfortable hotel. Fire blazing. Lovely double room with sea views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.5
    Would stay again if I got a very good deal but would eat some place else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having 2 wait 45 mins between starter and dinner in restaurant. (We were both just having fish & chips). Getting wrong order for breakfast.

    View was fantastic room was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Thought enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect. Very picturesque and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in bedroom shabby. Bathroom drab.

    Excellent food. Breakfast had a lot of choice. Had evening meals also in hotel. High standard and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    We loved the ambiente.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could be improved. We experienced poor signal across the building.

    We loved the ambiente. It is a historical building and so comes the interior. It’s a little bit like went through a time machine but in good words. We liked it a lot. It is perfectly located. If you book a room to the front you will enjoy a lovely view to the riverside and the mountains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities, excellent food, fabulous location, all at a very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave.

    In a week touring around Ireland, we were frequently charged 'quality' prices for average accommodation and food. At the Leenane, we got quality accommodation and food for an average price. Excellent facilities, excellent food, fabulous location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy if your room was above the outdoor smoking area. Folks out around 2 AM chatting.

    Well received by Conor, very patient, and concentrated on all guests, even though there were others waiting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    A stunning location with amazing scenery, but they really must consider adding a lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO LIFT! Had 2 heavy bags, and of course was on the top floor, 2 flights up! Room was tiny--bathroom even smaller.

    Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Loved the choices available to the clients for the cooked breakfast. Public areas had a charming, old world feel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    I love staying in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That l could not stay longer ! I'd like a facial or more beauty treatment s in the seaweed baths !

    The view , the view, the room, having a bathtub, room fresh, breakfast very wholesome,staff friendly, not in your face ! Just a very beautiful part of Ireland!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay - all too short!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and hotel has lots of character! Very comfortable and spacious bedroom and spectacular views from our two windows...was there to participate in Killary Cycling Nightrider Sportif but would definitely come back to stay another time...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    quirky old world style hotel with beautiful view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    quirky old world style hotel with beautiful view of the water and mountain, some really nice art work , a very cosy lounge with nice old furniture and big blazing fire!!!! building is really nicely renovated , a lot of the old features remaining, very nice staff , good food and bedroom very comfy with a nice little balcony.....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Love this hotel, have stayed here several times. The location, the food and the staff all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy smell of heating fuel fumes in the reception area, which drifted into the lounge. Have stayed here before and not had this, so presume it is a temporary glitch!

    Food was great - lunch very good, dinner excellent. Very friendly staff. Hotel very clean. Gorgeous views of sunrise over the fjord from the bedroom balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Perfect way to start a holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for three rooms with sea view and close together we got both! The staff were friendly and helpful and both our evening meal and breakfast were excellent. Rooms were of a very high standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Great Agatha Christie location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a shame that the garish green lighting coming from within the spa, and flood lighting on the small garden opposite, broke the tranquility of this secluded location.

    Great evening meals and breakfasts, lovely view across the fijord to the mountainous coast, lovely log fire in the drawing room - a perfect Agatha Christie setting!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    A place to go to recharge your batteries and soothe the soul
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out was a little slow but wouldn’t have been a problem if I wasn’t in such a hurry!

    This was one of the friendliest most relaxing places to stay in the most stunning location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable - will be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    furniture in bedroom very old and dusty - couldn't use drawers for clothes

    very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent location with great value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Lovely welcoming hotel with old charm atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely welcoming hotel with old charm atmosphere. Was hiking with Friends in this beauty spot and the hotel provided the perfect base for comfort and rest. Our queries and requests were dealt with efficiently and politely by hotel staff and management . Great breakfast in an airy bright breakfast room . Highly recommend the Sea weed bath after a long day out hiking .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was near the escape stairs, that area needed tidying up and cleaning.

    The hotel was comfy even though I was on a camp bed. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, the weather great and the scenery spectacular. The seaweed baths were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel with character in stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love this hotel.

    This is a lovely old family run hotel oozing character and atmosphere , set in the most beautiful location of Killary Fjord in Connemara. We love it’s individuality, warmth and friendliness of the staff - they have time to talk to guests. You must have a bedroom overlooking the fjord. Rooms are comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and decent bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: