Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leens Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Abbeyfeale, Ireland

#2 of 4 hotels in Abbeyfeale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 135 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric or proper shower. Shower was run from the bath taps. See pics. Water pressure was poor and took ages for decent hot water to become available. By that time I had my luke warm shower finished. Nearly 25 min to shower. Not great.

    Good restaurant and breakfast in the morning. Also handy location for my visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me it was perfect my son would have liked faster wifi

    The food was excellent both breakfast & dinner so much so we never even considered eating anywhere else

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed a place to rest after a very long working day,and an early start the following day...Leens fitted the bill perfectly...they accomodated all our needs and we couldn't fault it.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room descriptions from booking, twin, dbl, we booked two rooms because we thought they were both twin beds. We ended up cancelling the twin room which was a double bed actually and the dbl room had a twin and double bed. European sizes.

    The restaurant attached to the hotel was good. Lots of food, super service at the restaurant and hotel, the two go hand in hand.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny .. it was very clean but you could barely walk around it which was awkward for us getting ready for wedding we almost had to battle for space bed was quite small too ..

    The staff are the nicest people I've ever dealt with in any hotel I've ever been to they couldn't do enough for us... food was lovely .. hotel is very personable and staff interact with guests we really liked this .. pints were very nice and wine tasted fresh not like it had been sitting open in the fridge .. hotel was emaculate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was over the kitchen (we think) so it could be a little loud at night but not too bad. The lighting in the bathroom very poor .

    Staff very nice, always acccomadating . My family is from the area . I have never stayed at Leens before but have had several family meals there over the years and we have always been very pleased with the food and service .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing wrong with the hotel just location, not suitable for sightseeing lack of restaurants in the town

    Excellent choice on all menus service was friendly and efficient, food was well cooked

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double room myself and my husband stayed in was a little on the small side and was a bit dark however we were only staying the one night.

    The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There was nothing to complain about in this hotel.

    The staff and the homely atmosphere of this hotel are the best points. The breakfast and any other meal or snack are unbeatable. There are different parts of the downstairs area to eat, an open fire in the bar area and one other fire in a quieter lounge where you can eat as well. The rooms, beds and on suite bathrooms are perfect. We have known and visited this hotel for 27 years but this was the first time for actually staying there. It is very popular with the local community. If you are travelling or touring anywhere near Abbeyfeale, Trallee or Killarney you must stay here. I would recommend Leens Hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two steep flights of stairs to get to my room - no lift.

    Exceptional service - the owner/manager personally go up and drove me to the local industrial estate there being no taxi available that morning. Tasty, fresh food in cafe/bar

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately. A total downer were the noise in the morning. Drill and hammering just below our room started just shortly after 7am in the morning and it was unbearably loud and annoying. Felt like they were doing works just next to our heads...

    Loved our stay at Leen's. The room was cozy and the bed very comfortable to sleep. We had diner at the restaurant downstairs. Amazingly nice food!! Totally recommend to get some food there!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was especially impressed with the housekeeping, from cleanliness to the beautiful aroma of fresh flowers,and fresh towels. Thank you Ann. Beautiful breakfast happy staff great visit

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The landlord and his staff were first class, on a busy Saturday night in the bar, as we were staying at the hotel they brought all our drinks to us, the breakfast was excellent too

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the dust in the rooms and the fact we didn't have our bed sheets changed. Didn't like the noise from the generators outside had to wear ear plugs in the rooms but still could hear generators. Taps were badly fitted and twisted so you did not get the water pouring out of spout properly. Had to eat the same meal every night for 4 nights ☹️☹️☹️from the menu because of my medical dietary needs there was very little to choose other than duck or salmon which I do not like. Was not happy when I nearly had my phone and door key snatched from the table I was sitting at while eating my meal . I reported it to whom I believe was the manager who didn't seem very concerned. The morning of departure I had asked for gluten free bread for breakfast was then told they hadn't ordered any more in so had to have my poached egg on its own ( gluten free dietary needs).

    The waitresses were outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few channels available on TV could get no Rte stations

    Had dinner on 2nights excellent both nights great service even though they were extremely busy . parking at rear of Hotel available

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The way we were treated. We requested a larger room. Our request was accepted in an excellent spirit. We felt that the staff could not do enough for us.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was very average.

    Breakfast was good. Coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small but ciomfortable , really nice steak sandwich

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt fault a thing

    Everything was perfect with the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel overpriced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect poached eggs 😀😀

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing to complain about

    the hotel room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    All the staff worked as a team. Were polite, helpful, cheerful and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was very central and the staff could not of been any nicer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The room could have been a little bigger for the price I guess.

    The breakfast, they would make whatever you fancied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very small

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    It was very central for our needs .All staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything it was tops

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were rather small and dated.

    Very friendly staff and informative and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent. Very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had an in room safe

    Good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fantastic customer service. Extremely helpful. Lovely and clean. Great food. Central location with private carpark. I will stay here again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was terrific. Dinner at the bar, Maurice the Bartender, was exceptional. Baked salmon superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single bed room quite small.

    Breakfast individually prepared for each guest. No standard buffet except the cereals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and really warm

    Breakfast was good although one or two little changes could make it better

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be noisy at night

    Fabulous staff and amazing food!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, good food, and great pub. Cheers.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,,

    Great hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, room just a tad small when you have large cases

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been a bit warmer .

    Staff were very friendly . Breakfast was good .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Everyone was very helpful. FOOD is fantastic

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room too small. The bathroom was nearly as big. Too old fashioned

    The location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room's were a bit small

    The staff were very helpful and happy

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly staff. Food is fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our 8th time to stay here it is home from home. Staff, breakfasts dinners great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality,service,the surrounding etc was excellent kind regards maurice stack

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size very small dark dining room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff.didn't get chance to eat there but food smelled fantastic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the crack and drinks

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We enjoyed our whole experience here! Great room and great restaurant!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms small for 2 people

    Good traditional Irish food Very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were friendly. Great stay. Rooms were clean and comfey and food was great. We will be back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An excellent experience

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant food was very good and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room every small

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything - really enjoyed our stay. Should be rated 3 or 4 star (not 2!)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful. Room very clean.staff very welcoming. Food delicious.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a little small - others may be bigger. Car park route to hotel/bar utilitarian

    In town centre. Great staff. Very relaxed. Good food. Comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed in double room but it was tiny. It seemed like single room with a double bed. Tiny wardrobe etc. Lot of noise as if we were over kitchen fans. En-suite tiny also.

    The hotel was located in centre of abbeyfeale which was convenient and had its own car park. Food in hotel is delicious.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Couple

    The room smelled a bit and the layout of the hotel is odd. You have to walk through the bar to get to the reception. Would be nice if reception was open all the time, we needed to ask the bar staff for assistance.

    WiFi and clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stairs only to all rooms, would not suit elderly.

    Right in the middle of Abbeyfeale, with carparking at back. Bar food excellent and very well priced. Caters for old and young.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room walls are paper thin, I stayed for two nights and the first night I was awake for half the night as a result of the guest in the next room snoring, on the second night the noise from the bar below was beyond belief loud. I did request a room change as a result of the noise and was told the noise would be sorted out - music was turned off immediately but the crowd noise was still very irritating. Room size was very small. Calling Leen's a hotel is pushing the definition. It is essentially a pub with bedrooms upstairs, it's more a b&b with hotel prices but without hotel facilities. There is no full time manned reception desk, nowhere to sit around except the bar, we checked out at the bar counter and when we arrived we had to carry our luggage through the bar.

    Spacious bathroom, almost as big as the bedroom. Staff were nice enough.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it had all that we required , breakfast, nice size room, bar for a drink & food for an evening meal after a busy day , no need to look around for food. & secure parking , & all important friendly staff, I will be back.& a good price.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a hotel where the staff have the knack to ignore you, had meal in bar -very plain food,but adequate when you are hungry. The breakfast in the morning was a joke half a black and white pudding partially cooked, sausages that had been sliced in the middle (was this to insure they were cooked). Was not impressed with this establishment being called a hotel.At a push it was at best a B&B.

    It was a basic hotel,certainly no frills but for the price it was ok

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow breakfast service.

    Good food at dinner & breakfast but service was painfully slow at breakfast especially. Rooms very quiet & comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was great but breakfast pancakes were a smaller than I expected serving but not a thing wrong with them. More with extra fruit would have sealed the deal.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The bed wasn't great could do with a nice mattress topper to make it more comfortable. Breakfast sausages were like rubber not a proper irish sausage.

    A grand stay for a short stop. The bar and all the staff very nice and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were small'T%he

    The food was superb

There are also 52 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: