Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Limerick Strand Hotel 4 stars

Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland

#3 of 33 hotels in Limerick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1452 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    The Limerick Strand Hotel was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Limerick Strand Hotel was good value for money. Our room was very comfortable and the facilities were great. The staff ere friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    4 star hotel but don’t eat in the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the bar was terrible. Food was good though. It was a long ways from pubs, shops and attractions. About a 30 to 40 min walk. Only one chair to sit in - two would be nice.

    The rooms were good but I accidentally left my wet umbrella to dry in the basket and it got thrown out. Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t cleaned till after 4 and only because we complained. Lobby was always full with people and baggage waiting to get in. Always noise at night in hallway...loud ....they seem to have big groups going on....we were there on weekend ....not pay attention to individuals

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great hotel in a good location and everything was fine. One of our group had a medical problem and the staff were great and called an ambulance and looked after him until it arrived which was much appreciated and many thanks to those who helped him.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a complete disappointment. It took over 35 minutes to get our drinks delivered & the restaurant was NOT busy. The hotel seems to be in a dodgy part of town. I won’t be staying again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Was comfy, clean and a good location for the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a tad expensive for what you got but that seems to be the case with all hotels at the moment. Bit much having to pay for parking, considering the amount I paid for room it should have been included. Also the TV wasn't working.

    Was comfy, clean and a good location for the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Not returning to the hotel with rude and dismissive management!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attitude of the management after we tried to get the two phone chargers that we left in the room back. It was dismissive and rude. They claimed to be right and honest. Guess what that makes us to be?

    The location was great. The beds were comfy. Pretty clean overall. The pool are was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Right in the action--and comfy to boot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to find a room for three, with three beds, but this hotel had that. The room was completely comfy and even better, the hotel is within walking distance of a vibrant downtown. We had a blast exploring and could always see our hotel across the river waiting for us at the end of a day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    I couldn’t control the air conditioning in the room as per...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room with 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t control the air conditioning in the room as per the instructions on the wall. The tv channels were fuzzy and freezed at times. When I came back to the room in the early hours, the issue seemed to have resolved itself but it was a little bit late.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Very nice modern and lively hotel in fantastic location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cold water in bath. Very busy hotel (probably the sign of a very good and popular hotel though) with queues on checking in, checking out and for lifts to bedrooms/ car park at times.

    Great Location.Very clean bright modern bedroom with nice view of city. Very comfortable bed and pillows.Air conditioning.Food in Bar was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to stay by the river, nice family friendly bar with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for use of car park for 2 days!

    Nice place stay in great city location. Lovely comfortable room with great views. Great food, family friendly hotel, lovely and friendly bar staff, very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, we were upgraded to the bridal suite, which helped or enjoyment of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything to improve, the staff were excellent. There was some redecoration going on in the bar area but did not really impact on us other than the smell of paint.

    Touring Ireland prior to attending the Connamara Pony Festival in Clifden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    The property was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait until 4 o'clock for our room to be ready. We had a family room. It was extremely cramped. We had stayed last year in a family room and the room was fabulous last year very spacious and comfortable but this year it was a smaller room with the beds all crammed in.

    The property was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    You can't go wrong here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was outstanding- beautiful room. So many perks for the price. The pool , hot tub and workout facilities are great. We noticed that airline staff also stay here. Would definitely stay agzin!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice Visit to Limerick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checkin could have been better handled by the lady checking us in,

    The bed was very comfy, steak dinner was superb and Mr David, in the restaurant is a superb host. I highly recommend the Rib Eye Steak.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Spent our anniversary at the stand and upon arrival we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent our anniversary at the stand and upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite. The staff at the hotel went above all expectations and left us a card and a plate of desserts in our room for us. An amazing hotel and will most definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    There was a party on and the loud music was even heard on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party on and the loud music was even heard on the 5th floor. This has happened to us on a previous stay and it should be explained on check in

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    This is a lovely modern hotel across the river from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay for parking.

    This is a lovely modern hotel across the river from the city centre. The staff are friendly The rooms are modern and well designed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff from the first minute to the last were just...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff from the first minute to the last were just fantastic.. we had our new born baby with us for her first night away, we were naturally a little nervous about this but the hotel couldn’t of done anymore

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Great stay and they even left a birthday treat in the room for my husband thank you that was a lovek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was fabulous very comfy bed and the view was great. We ate in the bar and the food was delicious. We would definitely recommend The Strand

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Super!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave my boyfriend a birthday card ,chocolates and had "happy birthday Mike written in chocolate on a plate as well a a personal note of welcome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great shower and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two nespresso capsules and the cost for buffet breakfast is a bit steep even with discount. Highly recommend going out to the buttery or other nearby cafes

    Great shower and comfy bed. Room is a lovely size and nespresso machine was a nice touch. Leisure Centre was very relaxing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Busy, driving to different areas-great base!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there was a weekday wedding and our room was one floor under it! It did not end until 12:30am. Pounding music-ugh! The good part, we received comp breakfast and comp parking! Much appreciated 😻

    Clean, well maintained, great staff, great location for walking about Limerick

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, with big open bar and reception area.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar food was ok but was not really hot when served. Beds weren’t too comfortable and a small stain was visible on one pillow case.

    Nice hotel, with big open bar and reception area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Room to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bar / restaurant service; average rather than excellent bar food; late night noise from a school graduation event. Breakfast could have been better for what I think is a **** star hotel. The receptionist claimed to be giving me an upgrade - the room I got was what I booked - a twin room. Why do hotels go through this kind of nonsense! Overall - a sense of more emphasis on margins than standards although if you need a centrally located easily accessible hotel with parking in Limerick city for a short stay the location is hard to beat.

    Great location, comfortable room (except for late night noise from basement event); good parking. ATM in the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Not going back, poor service for an expensive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    180 Euros for a double with no breakfast or parking included. I think it's too expensive and it isn't a 4 stars hotel at all. They didn't even join the beds as requested and receptionist would complain for not being able to understand an Italian surname. Is that a 4 stars hotel reception level?

    Comfy bed and complementary tea and coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Didn't meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the rooms were a let down. The attention to detail was really lacking in our room in terms of cleanliness. There was a red stain on one of our bathroom towels which looked like blood. Bits of plastic on the floor and the room was not dusted. I was seriously not impressed by the room. €8 for the car-parking I thought was a bit much. Would expect a bigger discounted rate for overnight guests given the cost of the rooms.

    Good location. The hotel looks so modern and lovely - the reception, the bar, the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Bed was absolutely amazing, the staff were so helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much parking around for big vehicles.

    Bed was absolutely amazing, the staff were so helpful and friendly. Very close to the city centre, just a stroll over the bridge away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location within walking distance of town and walks on the Shannon. Great. Gym. Good food in the bar and restaurant, friendly atmosphere, lovely location for meeting friends and family.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    An enjoyable and stress-free few days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable - we really enjoyed our stay!

    Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and the beds were comfortable. The pool was great - and had easy access for someone with mobility problems. Food in the restaurant and cafe was lovely. There was also a great selection of food at breakfast time. We wanted a relaxing stress-free break and that is exactly what we had! We stayed for 3 nights and could easily have stayed for longer, especially as the next accommodation we stayed in was a real letdown after The Strand!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Rooms & hotel facilities were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the party’s in the main suite was unbearable and we didn’t get much sleep as the music was on till 2:40am, I was on the first floor for the first night and staff were great and moved me to the 5th floor the next day

    Rooms & hotel facilities were great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff and rooms great but beware of functions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from functions will be a major factor in us not returning to this hotel ever. There were people screaming and fighting in the hallway outside our room for most of the night plus the constant din of music made for a very unpleasant night with very little sleep.

    Staff friendly and helpful. We liked the small fridge in the room and the ice machines on every floor. The executive lounge was adequate for drinks and snacks during the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in a fab hotel but reduce the sandwich prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a BLT sandwich and was charged €12.95 I wuoukdnt have minded paying that price if it was a big sandwich it wasn't it was tiny.

    Beds were soooo comfy and pillows very good quality

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is ideally located for exploring Limerick city on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the hotel was very high. This did not even include parking. Our bedroom was cramped with two single beds and not of 4* standard in my opinion. The cleaning staff did a very poor job making the beds each day and even left one of their water bottles in the room. This hotel, although ideally located was not good value for money.

    The hotel is ideally located for exploring Limerick city on foot. The entrance lobby is lovely. The leisure centre, including a pool and gym was nice and the opening hours were very good. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    The strand hotel
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite old fashioned. Beds lovely and comfortable. Not able to get a meal in bar as always busy and restaurant very limited menu.

    The beds very comfortable Location to the town Staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Not a happy barman
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the Strand Hotel recently. We had 5 rooms booked and was very insulted by the way one of your bar staff treated us. We proved to him that we were all paying guests and therefore entitled to use the residents bar. He reluctantly served us but would only allow members of the same rooms to buy drinks for each other. This made no sense because we had already proven that we are all guests in the hotel and should therefore be allowed buy drinks for whichever group member we pleased. This same bar man also decided when we were allowed to have a drinks as if we were intoxicated adolescents. I can assure you this was not the case and that I was there with my in-laws. We questioned why this particular barman was treating us like this and his response was “I’m used to dealing with your type”. I’m not sure if he was mistaking us for someone else or if he was just having an off day, but this act of ignorance put a massive dampener on what was my wedding weekend. I just want to clarify, this feedback only refers to an isolated incident and that ever other aspect of your hotel is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Two night stop over in Limerick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Modern hotel with very helpful staff. Room and bed very comfortable. We stayed in a king room on the executive floor and the facilities in the executive lounge were very good. Especially the coffee and macaroons

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    On arrival to the hotel the reception staff are so welcoming...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival to the hotel the reception staff are so welcoming friendly and helpful nothing seems like too much trouble for them I would recommend this hotel to anybody travelling for work business or leisure the Converse the lot incredibly comfortable and immaculately clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    This hotel in general is gorgeous, room was fabulous, we got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont like leaving this comment because the hotel was gorgeous and staff were lovely. We had Lunch, in the Terrace Bar, service slow and food not great. We had dinner in the river restaurant one evening that was really nice.

    This hotel in general is gorgeous, room was fabulous, we got upgraded to executive suite. Bed was very comfortable, balcony was lovely. Pool was nice and clean. Staff were very friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Girl's Night Away
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room with 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triple Room was very cramped. Lifts are very confusing. Was given a key for the wrong room Ended up walking in on another Guest

    Location, facilities and parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Lost wallet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included and had to pay extra despite e200 p/ night charged completely self service expect better service in 4 star hotel Had to pay for parking. Tv did not work in the room. Room overpriced for what you get.

    Staff on reception especially Susan were really helpful. Especially when I list my wallet and phoned places we were in to check was out handed in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would rate it more a good 3 star than a 4 star. Staff on reception seemed rather distracted and more interested in chatting than looking after guests and bar was chaotic, couldn't even get a drink at one point

    Very busy hotel in a great location, public secure parking very close to hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel, good location, let down by early wake up from their noisy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room located beside a service area & staff were very noisy early in the morning, waking up our children, they had no regard for guests in room beside them.

    Breakfast was good, expensive though. Room was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great stay in a excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like or we could fault.

    The hotel is in an excellent location over looking the river and only a short walk to the centre of the city and other tourist attractions. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. We would definitely recommend the hotel to other travellers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont agree with guests having to pay €8.00 for car park. Could have been a few more staff on reception.

    Breakfast excellent. Staff very pleasant. Good bar food. Books at reception a lovely touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wedding reception being held one floor above our room. The music was so loud it sounded like we were at the reception. The night manager just said, oh sorry they should have told you that when you checked in. The room was musty from the old carpet. The A/C barely worked.

    The only upside was that we ate at the restaurant in the hotel because they had a late dinner and the service was spot on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Good Hotel, but the staff and cleanliness is not of a 4 star hotel. Not worthy for that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Cleanliness is not of a 4 star hotel. Dust on never cleaned spots (mirror and shelf). Staff of the restaurant: rude. We asked, just asked, if was possible dine at 9.45 (kitchen close at 10) and the guy replied us annoyed and upset that, yes in theory was possible, but they were closing. So, tell me just "NO, I am sorry".

    Very good facilities, the room was beautiful and big. Mattress awesome, tv with internet, A/C in room. Bathroom very comfortable (bath and shower separated).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Quiet and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was too dim. As you get older you tend to require better light

    Quiet and spacious room. Good location. Helpful staff. Good food at the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location for visiting family and sites; parking was a dream, thanks, staff couldn't be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lamps too dim in the room.

    great location, wonderful, helpful staff,good food. the only downside: the lams in the room are a bit dim, made reading my book difficult.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Spacious room, nice bathroom with both a bath and a shower,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was messy, they half cleaned up after a wedding party. Didn't look very inviting. When mentioned they said they couldn't continue because we were there. Communication skills to be improved:-)

    Spacious room, nice bathroom with both a bath and a shower, comfortable bed. The food in the restaurant was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Executive lounge was a nice touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Executive room was still a very small room with not a lot of space. Bar service was very slow...always standing around waiting for someone to appear behind the bar

    Executive lounge was a nice touch. Very handy for a drink when needed. Staff we dealt with were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast, friendly staff, spacious rooms, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find the main entrance. Less options in river side restaurant those who don't drink.

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff, spacious rooms, comfortable bed, good location, easy reachable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Stayed for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed for a night. No complaints. Room was large and very comfortable. Staff at the bar were very accommodating and allowed us to have our meal served at bar area since restaurant was closed. Service was attentive despite the late hour. Location is great. Lovely view of the Shannon river, and 10min walk to King John's Castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    I will highly recommend this hotel to friends for business...
    • Family with young children
    • Contemporary King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was happy with the hotel nothing to complain about

    I will highly recommend this hotel to friends for business or pleasure.staff,food etc was top notch Rose🇸🇱

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Lovely sizable room dissapointed in staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had to wait an extra hour as the room was not ready which was disappointing considering it was one of the most expensive rooms ie a suit. we were actually booking a room in another hotel when the Manager stepped in, there was no offer of using the Lounge or perhaps a complimentary drink whilst we were waiting. Disappointing way in which the staff dealt with it, even after we got in the room there was soiled towels in the bathroom and housekeeping still required back in for various reasons

    the room was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    A great stay in a quality hotel with good facilities and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find fault

    High quality hotel in reasonable location with good facilities. very friendly and professional staff, Diana from housekeeping was particularly helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing. Great location.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night Porter was extremely rude. When my boyfriend and I asked where the bar was he said " you're clearly not staying in this hotel" and when we showed him our room key he just nodded in the direction of the bar and said it was closed anyway.

    The bed was extremely comfy and the room was so quiet. So peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Limerick Strand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is over priced as most hotels include it in the room cost. We paid extra but it was nothing special. I've had better breakfasts that worked out cheaper at various hotels in Ireland. Much better options in limerick city for food. Also paying for parking is extra and car park is very small we had to wait 20 minutes for a space.

    The staff were all very friendly and the rooms are incredibly comfortable. The hotel is very nice but overpriced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Lost a lot of its former gloss
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Queue at breakfast for pancakes - waited 10 minutes and gave up. Arrived on Friday night, no food at all available after 10pm which was annoying. advised we could order a takeaway and eat in hotel which was not appealing. we ordered room service which was probably the worst pizza I have ever eaten. Rooms and décor are tired. Great views and location but would not recommend.

    Breakfast was plentiful and varied if a little busy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    O.K.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room service food quality and choice were grim, and not up to 4* standard in any way. Bar service was poor. Seating in the bar is uncomfortable and should be changed. Cleanliness of the hotel generally could be better, and staff training is needed. Management was not obvious, and should be much more in evidence in various areas of the hotel.

    Position and rooms were good. Staff were friendly, if not very well trained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Thought the service had gone down since the last time we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were waiting a long time for the food and we ordered extra food for our son which only came out after we were all finished and then he didnt want it anymore. Also when we checked in they said we booked for two adults and 2 children when my booking clearly said 1 child. They said the price didnt change. There was an extra bed in our room which we asked them to move at checkin at 3.30pm. We had to ask two more times and it wasnt done until 9pm that night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay in a modern and clean hotel. Excellent location , Reception Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working properly in bedroom so very hot. The maids,housekeeping workers didn’t acknowledge you...(hello/ good morning ) which seemed very rude and made you feel awkward.

    Bed so very comfortable, duvet and pillows just right. Breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Loved my Junior suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues I had , the receptionist didn’t swipe my card when I checked in , so when I ordered my prepaid breakfast in bed at an extra cost of €6 , they insisted I paid for it in cash there and then while I was half asleep in my dressing gown . I asked them to add it to my bill but they said they couldn’t as my card wasn’t swiped when I arrived. Didn’t see why I couldn’t just pay for it when checking out , bizarre. I also has access to the executive lounge , free canapes and wine from 6 to 7 . Sadly over my 3 nights stay I didn’t get any canapés , day 1 , when down at 6:15 and there was none there . Day 2 , all had been eaten including second helping by American family who has no consideration for anyone else . I called catering to let them know we had run out , they brought 1 tray of canapés as opposed to usual 4 . Day 3 , I just gave up and couldn’t be bothered to mingle with mostly greedy people . The receptionist was kind and helpful and offered me a bottle of wine . Besides these 2 incidents, I had a wonderful stay and loved my Junior suite . I would stay there again

    Loved my Junior suite Friendly staff Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hotel, really enjoyed our stay here.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great central location, super views over the river (from a junior suite), on site below-ground secure parking (reduced charges for hotel guests). Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    great night in limerick
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only booked for the one night

    bed very comforable , very modern and well appointed hotel . Will return ,- food was to a very high standard and staff lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location. Friedly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing I would say is why do you need so many TVs in the bar and lounge.

    I was particularly impressed with the receptionist Susan who was extremely busy with a lot of people checking in. She was so efficient and courteous with a welcome smile for everybody. I was there for 2 nights for a conference and one night for pleasure and she was constantly ensuring I had a comfortable stay. Very very impressed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A fantastic hotel in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The luxury of the space and general comfort of the hotel and particularly our suite and balcony overlooking the river and city. Well worth the upgrade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    A little disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “executive” room was really nothing special. It begs the question of what kind of room we would have had if we hadn’t availed of the upgrade. It was generally clean but needed some paint and a bit of an upgrade. The breakfast staff were very inattentive. At one point, I went looking for someone to bring us a pot of tea and when I asked a member of staff (She was pouring herself a glass of smoothie at the time) she laughed at me, stalled and looked at the chef making the omelettes. At this point, I realised she was on a break. I asked if this was the case and she said yes. I then asked if someone could bring us tea. This was organised, however we had no cups on our table so had to go looking for them. A little disappointed as I had paid an extra €15pp for breakfast.

    A fantastic welcome from Shannon at the front desk. She asked me if I wanted to avail of a €30 upgrade to an executive room and I did. The staff on the whole were great. Especially checking in and checking out. Executive lounge was great and well stocked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay immensely , would def stay again but maybe on opposite side of the dogs house :))
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac blowing in hot air so gave up and opened window as Room very warm , Dogs barking outside all night , no fault of hotel though.

    I liked mostly everything , staff were so friendly and pleasant especially Shannon at reception . Breakfast was superb , an amazing choice .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Large comfortable room, helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking, paying extra for breakfast as I thought room was expensive to start with.

    Large comfortable room, helpful staff. Was able to have an hour later checkout with no cost. Close proximity to city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect never fails to impress-will definitely return
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault this hotel in any way!

    The bathroom design and products are particularly luxurious. The breakfast is always a treat and staff in the dining room make it such a pleasant part of the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    As we expected. Great view and luxurious junior suite. Helpful staff. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at the hotel is underground and for cars only. Anything bigger will be very hard to find space for - anywhere! Not much water pressure in the shower either.

    Complimentary coffee, snacks and light breakfast a much appreciated bonus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable room but disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were delays during check-in. I had booked online but had an almost 15 min checkin.There was a lot of noise from the other room doors in relation to very noisy room doors waking us up (doors are heavy and bang closed) . Housekeeping knocked on the door at 10am when checkout was noon and woke us up. At that point we were awake. We got ready and checked out.I complained to the desk during checkout about the experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    cosy night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    soccer match on in bar. it was loud with handful in bar. one of my pet hates... we went to restaurant to avoid noise.. we didnt ask to turn volume down.

    everything. staff food location room comfort excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Pleasent but room wasn't suitable for our needs.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too warm, no ventilation, unable to open windows, not suitable for anyone with serious breathing problems, couldn't sleep and aggravated condition. Bathroom wasn't suitable for elderly gentleman.

    Clean, staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: