Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Loch Lein Country House 4 stars

Fossa, . Killarney, Ireland

#1 of 43 hotels in Killarney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely views, tasty breakfast, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea kettle in the room (though they offer to make tea and bring it to your room)

    Lovely views, tasty breakfast, friendly staff. Great place to start the Ring of Kerry drive. It’s nice to be out of Killarney downtown because it’s so crowded and touristy there. However, know that this place is only driving distance to any restaurants or attractions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    On our arrival Kevin greeted us and helped with luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    On our arrival Kevin greeted us and helped with luggage. He could not have been more helpful. The next morning we sat down for breakfast and it was delicious. Paul, came to the table and asked if we new where we going the first day. I told him I did and he asked if Valencia was in our plans and I said I hadn't heard of it. He said come see him before we left. He had all the literature on the Ring of Kerry and of an island that most people don't go to. You take a ferry to it and return by bridge. The tour bus's cant go there and it was the highlight of our trip. I highly recommend this place. We had drinks in their small bar and chatted with Kevin that evening. Home away from home

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    What a treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely view and VERY comfortable bedroom. Hot shower and room to stretch after 10 days on a boat. Lovely coffee table books everywhere and the perfume of lilies

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Beyond our exoectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was not long enough!

    The views of the lake and mountains are fabulous. The room and bathroom were very spacious and beds very comfortable. Above all the hospitality of our hosts, Annette and Paul was remarkable. They cannot do enough to make their guests feel like they are home from home. Always there to offer advice about the area. Dinner is also exceptional and at a very reasonable price. We will definitely return!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely exceptional in every way..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Huge room with comfortable bed and armchairs, beautiful bathroom, and all very clean. Superb view of lake, staff all welcoming and attentive, breakfast and restaurant meals were of the highest standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Loch Lein Country House exudes warmth & charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I simply can’t say enough wonderful things about our stay at Loch Lein Country House. Paul, Annette & their staff are gracious & welcoming. The setting is exquisite & rooms large & comfortable. The breakfast & dinners are lovely. A perfect place to call home during your travels!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Loch Lein - a rare gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loch Leinbach was a beautifully appointed lodge with very friendly staff, especially the evening host, Kevin. The view from our room was breathtaking as we could see the lake, the mountains and a distant castle. The breakfast was extensive and delicious!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have loved to have a pot to boil water and make tea in the room. But this is minor. The place, and the hosts, were wonderful

    lovely place! wonderful view over the lake.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Outstanding two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My personal problem was some of the Irish back roads which were very narrow.

    The Loch Lein House is first class. Annette and Paul are excellent hosts and provide everything you need at this location which has been winning awards every year for their hospitality. Not only were the breakfasts outstanding, but the dinners were also delicious. Parking was plentiful and secure. Annette was extremely informative about all local touring and events.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's wonderful and homey to stay here, we were nicely assist for the local area to visit. Pity our stay is too short, suppose to stay more nights here

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent food, friendly staff, beautiful facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of tea/coffee facilities in the room - but having said that, tea, coffee, etc was available on request. However, I prefer to have the room facilities.

    The Super King bed was fabulous, as was the beautiful view overlooking the lake. Great wifi also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ZERO

    Paul and Annette the owners and Kevin were very friendly and helpful. Probably the best hotel ever - personal service brilliant, spotless everywhere, great attention to detail, paradise in a delightful setting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel with great lake views. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room (and the rest of the hotel) was fantastic. We really loved the place. It was very peaceful. The room and breakfast were very good. All staff were very nice and helped us get the most of our stay (even recommending a village to visit the next leg of our trip). We stayed there 2 nights and I wish we had been there longer. Great if you want to enjoy the region and the National Park. Highly recommended. Would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! What can I say this is how to run a successful B & B six of us arrived in the car park out came a young man dressed immaculate and took our bags in Jeff I think the owners son what a very pleasant young man We were then greeted by the lovely Annette and checked us into our rooms beautiful clean large and a stunning view all 3 rooms were excellent, beds bedding linen out side our room were fresh flowers every where smelt divine. After our evening out for dinner we got back 11ish and were greeted by Paul with a cup of tea and fruit cake. In the morning some of our group were up very early and they were offered pastry's and tea even though we were not having breakfast, could not fault this place. Thank you to the family for making our stay in Killarney a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic, spacious room in response to request for lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in room would be nice. Cup of tea provided to room on arrival was greatly appreciated.

    Fantastic, spacious room in response to request for lake view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Not as good as stated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just told you. 5

    No place to have a snack . No home made breads or scones. Breakfast fair, no fresh fruits or pastry’s., meat and cheese very poor, have payed less in Killarney for at better standard, but yet it did not get a rating like Logh Lein.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Spotless accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Spotless accommodations. GREAT MEALS. Superb views overloo king lake. Extremely friendly staff, trying to make sure that you had everything you needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Unexpected bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint is that the parking should have sort of markings which guests should obey, as the guests (at the time) were taking liberal amounts of space in between their cars.

    My two friends and I needed a place to stay before our hike. We did not really look into what kind of lodging we are getting as we were only interested in sleeping in for the night. We were very pleasantly surprised by this beautiful little hotel. It has a nice lake view with the gorgeous Kerry mountains in the background. Walking into the hotel, I had one concern based on my prior experience with "rustic looking" hotels in Ireland: that it might have the "old house smell". Luckily, this was not the case. The rooms we were staying at were all recently redone (from what I can tell, or they are just impeccably maintained). Bathrooms had perfect tiling and excellent water pressure with no-fiddle shower controls. Before heading out to our hike, we had the pleasure of enjoying our breakfast made-to-order. I will be returning for a longer stay at this hotel for sure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Without doubt the best property we stayed at during our time in Ireland. Both Annette and Paul are incredible hosts. The place is immaculate, the service is wonderful, the view sensational and the rooms spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A delightful stay and highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in the bedroom, evening meal was too expensive.

    Room was delightful... really big with superb view. The hotel was beautifully kept up.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Really nice view in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No electric kettle, this is very rare in European hotels these days. The window can only open a little bit, this makes the room slightly hot in sunny days.

    Really nice view in front of the hotel. The hotel and its rooms are very elegant and well decorated. All this makes you feel the price is worthy. We really enjoy the time spent here. People are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The Owners/staff were very friendly, we arived mid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having to leave to Go Home.

    The Owners/staff were very friendly, we arived mid afternoon and after check in we sat out outside in the garden to a welcome pot of tea and cake, nothing was too much trouble, the views of the lake from the garden were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely view, Spotless clean.Would recommend if staying in killarney just pity about shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm But stayed during heatwave Miss tea and coffee facilities but we were offered tea or coffee on arrival. Shower wasn't great more of a mist than power shower,also took ages to warm up so had to mark down

    Staff were attentive and very pleasant Room was huge and lovely view Good choice for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, but a little too formal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location and view are incredible. Service, rooms, breakfast are excellent. However, in my personal opinion, this place could really benefit from a 'modern' upgrade in ways of style of interior, service and hospitality into less formal and more cosy, easy and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Idyllic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and tranquil spot overlooking lake & mountains, spacious and comfortable room, delicious breakfast and above all, a very warm welcome. It was hard to leave!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful, charming Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is a charming well run Inn. The food is excellent, the owners attentive and friendly. Our group enjoyed the view, cleanliness and warmth of the Loch Lein House. Thank you!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Peaceful and beautiful. The staff is super friendly, informative, and helpful. Super clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    This stay tops them all. There are not enough stars in the sky to give this wonderful stay. Beautiful place. I should have booked all 12 days here and ventured out. If you are staying in Killarney, don't pass this up. It made our trip. Thank you Annette and Paul. They arranged transportation with Tom, to The Celtic Steps show. A Big Thanks for a perfect stay in Killarney. We hope to visit once again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    A perfect, small hotel away from the chaos of Killarney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The garden setting and view of Ross Castle across the lake were fabulous. The room was spacious and comfortable and the hosts could not have been more helpful. The food in their restaurant was also quite good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Terrific place to stay in the Killarney area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel with great views over lake towards Killarney National Park. Quiet, secluded location. Lovely grounds and gardens. Close to the National Park, Muckross House and Ross Castle, the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. Close to golf courses (though we did not play this trip). Room was large and well appointed, with full bath AND shower. Window overlooking the lake. The owners are delightful and accommodating. Even did an emergency load of laundry for us. Breakfast was very good, in a nice room overlooking the lake. Would have liked to stay much longer than two nights. Next time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and food both overpriced. We stayed in Cork in Montenotte also a fourstar with better restaurant for about 20% less. Dinner really too expensive and the owner never once cracked a smile. He runs back and forth, once behind me shouting "Youallright?". He means well but .....

    Early check in was no problem. Nice room and good breakfast. Fine location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    A pure pleasure to stay here. Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic from the minute we stepped in the door until we left! The hosts were 100% attentive. The quality and style of the house was top notch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    First Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful first class accommodation with welcoming and friendly hosts and excellent service. Easy parking and the meals were a high standard at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Very nice and relaxing stay at a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was good.

    Wide variety of items for the included breakfast. Paul & Annette were very nice, efficient and accommodating. Large room. Great view of the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful property with personalized treatment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I came in late and very tired. I was greeted personally by Kevin who shook my hand and gathered all of our luggage to the room. He later returned with a pot of warm tea along with making sure everything was in order. The morning breakfast was the best we had had throughout our travel through Ireland. We will definitely come back and stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    A superb place to stay, offering easy access to many wonderful sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little more sunshine would have been nice!

    It is a lovely property, and Paul and Annette were wonderful hosts. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food service was superb, the views of the lough out the front window are heavenly. and the quiet bar offered a great little nightcap to the day's activities. This was certainly our favourite place to stay on our 15-day trip through Ireland.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Very beautiful place.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention.

    Very beautiful place. The wonderful hotel, spotless clean. We had big room with the pastoral view on the lake and the mountains. The service was very good and it was individually based. We recommend it for others.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Perfect hosts, Location, Comfort and Food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi reception patchy in places. A hidden SSID access point was interfering with the signal in our room. (Channel Overlap) Could have been another guest causing problems.

    Everything was fantastic! Went the extra mile every time to make our stay perfect. Very comfy beds, excellent food, quiet location, lovely views of the lough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    One of the best accommodations of our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we could only stay one night - we had to be in Sligo to play golf:-)

    This was such a find!! It is a small hotel that is run by a husband and wife team. They are so gracious and accommodating. We were a party of eight and they had another big party that had booked the dining room. We were late arriving, around 4:30 or 5pm and needed to go to Celtic Steps, an Irish dance performance by 6:30. We were so tired and hungry and wanted to order pizza to hotel. They had never done this before (as had we) but ordered the pizza and we had a private parlor that we were able to eat in. They also ordered us a cab for all eight of us to and from the performance. Was a great experience all around. Would definitely go back. Breakfast was FABULOUS.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Very agreeable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only criticism I had was to be told after making the reservation that there was to be only a meagre dinner menu (soup and the like). But when a fellow guest complained the owners did at least offer a complete menu, albeit still only offering two choices which stayed the same throughout our short stay.

    Generally everything except as below.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    The room was spacious and had a bay picture window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    The room was spacious and had a bay picture window overlooking the lake and mountain beyond. It was so quiet and peaceful. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and even though we checked out before breakfast, they gave us coffee and pastries to go. Internet access was good. Even though this is a bed and breakfast, they had a small bar for guests. A perfect place to rest from our travels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful B&B - would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints!

    One of our favorite B&B's during the entire trip! Great view of the lake from our room and from the dining room. The included breakfast was delicious. We decided to stay for dinner one night and it was spectacular! Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Room accommodations far exceeded expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we didn't like was the fact that we only booked 1 night. Other than that, not one bad remark.

    Room accommodations far exceeded expectations! Very large clean and comfortable and the on suite bathroom was excellent. Dinner in the dining hall was incredibly delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful people at a beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were made to feel very welcome from the first moment and were stunned by the beauty of the grounds and hotel itself. Annette was very kind and helpful. The food was fantastic as well. They gave us great recommendations for places to visit while we were there but really, we were content to just sit outside with a glass of wine and recap our day of hiking while enjoying the view. Also, I left behind an item and they sent it back to the US without any charge. We will stay here again when we go back. It was further away from town but since we were putting many miles on during the days, we didn't really need a nightlife. It is nice and quiet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Nothing to dislike at the Loch Lein from the initial warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Nothing to dislike at the Loch Lein from the initial warm welcome to the quality of the room and breakfast. Excellent staff reflected Paul and Annette's enthusiasm throughout, our thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful property and amazing staff. You will appreciate this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    First off, the staff is great! The owner Paul is so nice, I can consider him a friend upon leaving his hotel. The rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. In addition, the restaurant food is very very good. The hotel is located on a lake with a beautiful view. Downtown Killarney is about 1 km away. I will definitely be starting here again! Thanks again Paul! I wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful setting with lovely Irish hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like that we had to leave.

    We loved everything about our stay at Loch Lein Country House. The setting of the property is beautiful, it is convenient to downtown Killarney, our hosts were delightful and extremely helpful with every detail, our room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    One of most favorite vacation experences
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything exceeded my expectations Great place at outstanding value

    Personal service and attention to detail are outstanding Entire staff always looking to help with visit, advise on touring/restaurants and driving directions Would recommend them to friends and family

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location outside of town. On-site breakfast and dinner are top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decor getting a little outdated (though very clean and comfortable).

    Quiet location outside of Killarney. On-site dinner was superb. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    See above
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything except we should have stayed longer

    Our recent stay at the Loch Lein Hotel , Fossa , was a most enjoyable experience, from start to finish. To begin with ,the process of making Reservation from USA was smooth and efficiently handled. On our arrival at the Hotel we were greeted with genuine warmth and felt immediately "at home" with our hosts . Our bedroom was beautiful, and the view was spectacular, embracing the Mountain and Lower Lake of Killarney with its Islands. The breakfast menu at this Beautiful Hotel had a wide selection of foods to choose from. The service was excellent. The Dining Room itself has a view that is a feast for the eyes. In the past I have stayed at many Hotels both foreign and domestic run but I have never been as impressed by the ambiance as of This Loch Lein Hotel. Robert Menasche New York

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Don't miss Loch Lein, the house and staff provide a spectacularly welcoming and beautiful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - this place is perfect!

    Spectacular, welcoming country house with a beautiful garden and view to the lake (Lough Leane). We had such a wonderful stay, wished we could have stayed longer! Our room was large, comfortably modern and beautifully appointed, and with a garden/lake view. We were served bountiful breakfasts with menu choices cooked to order in a front room overlooking the lake. We ate a delicious, gourmet and romantic dinner there as well; the kitchen is fabulous. Our hostess, Annette, was always looking after us to make sure we were happy and enjoying our stay. She gave us great suggestions on where to hear live music in the evening. Her husband gave us amazing driving directions for the most wonderful driving tour of our whole trip. Annette even did a little laundry for us without charge. Loch Lein House feels like home, but better. Don't miss this hotel, it will be the best stay of your entire trip! It was the highlight of ours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    An excellent well run establishment with very good facilities and a very good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a little remote view from room could have been better an excellent

    Helpful staff large comfortable well appointed room fine dining very nice public areas location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    The best hotel during my entire trip to Ireland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my favorite hotel during the entire trip! The staff were exceptionally helpful and kind. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding. The decor of the hotel and the landscape were a treat to the eyes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Perfect, I wish all our bookings were this good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could not stay another night

    Delightfully charming host and and impressive level of attention to detail - the scores above do not do Loch Lien justice !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Happy holidaymakers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The signposting is small for such a hidden location.

    The overall setting was tasteful and cosy with plenty of space. The view on the lake, the mountains and the gardens was gorgeous. The location is just at the border of the national park. The staff was extremely professional, kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Everything was excellent from the gorgeous views to the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent from the gorgeous views to the room, it was lovely and comfortable, breakfast was lovely catered for everything, staff were very friendly and helpful felt very much like home, loved staying there will definitely be back again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Perfect location for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was absolutely perfect.

    The rooms were very spacious and the bed was comfortable. My room looked out over the lake which was close by. The staff were very friendly and happy to chat whilst getting pre-dinner drinks in the little bar. There are two bicycles available for guests which were great for a pre-breakfast ride through the nearby countryside. Ask early to use them to allow staff time to get them ready. The hotel is conveniently located as a base for exploring the Ring of Kerry and Dingle, it is also close to the quaint town of Killarney which was great for dinners.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    This property is family run & nothing is too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is family run & nothing is too much trouble this rates as one of our best stays anywhere in the world would recommend without hesitation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful place to stay at !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the friendliness of the staff. Loved the location. The hotel was lovely and ver clean. The staff was very informative of local and out of town attractions and helped us decide on what to do because our list was too big for the time we had. Those suggestions worked out perfectly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel, Annette and Paul were wonderful, made us tea on arrival. Room was spacious and comfortable, bathroom had both bath and shower, towels soft, bed very comfortable and large. Would stay again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really fault it.

    Had a brilliant weekend in an excellent hotel. The rooms were very large, comfy and clean and the view amazing. The food was excellent and the owners couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Totally charmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I only wish we had stayed longer!

    The couple who run Loch Lein are exceptional hosts. Their recommendations were excellent and nothing was too much bother. It felt more like staying with friends than staying in a B&B.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Best place we stayed while in Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a thing!

    Loch Lein is a few km from Killarney. It is a beautiful lodge (full breakfast is included) with 23 or so rooms. Wonderfully quiet with beautiful views of the lake. The host and hostess are wonderful and professional beyond measure. Love their sense of humor. Nice little bar that makes 5 pm especially good time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    As good as it gets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place. Great location, excellent view of the bay and mountains, rooms were charming & comfortable, food and service excellent. Wonderful front lawn where you can have a pint and appreciate the great view. Paul & Anettte, owners, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Can't imagine a better place to be if you want to travel the Ring of Kerry. Gap of Dunloe is literally 15 minutes from the hotel. If you don't love this place you should stop traveling and sit home in front of your tv where you belong.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    So perfect I didn't want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it at all.

    Everything in this hotel was as perfect as it could be. The owners were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. As I am a bit disa bled,, we went everywhere by car but saw many places close enough for good food and entertainment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    We stayed for two nights at Loch Lein Country house and can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for two nights at Loch Lein Country house and can very much recommend it - very nice rooms, friendly staff, wonderful location (if you travel by car) and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    Irish Welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The welcome and customer service were superb. The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable. It would have been very nice to have had time for a longer stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Top notch bed & breakfast stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late after a long day and were greeted warmly, helped to our rooms and even brought tea, what a treat! Also when our daughter didn't make it down for breakfast they made her a plate and sent it back to the room with us. We were only there one night on a very busy journey, would highly recommend staying longer!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    We would like to come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is excellent! Comfortable, good service and the food is so delicious!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful location looking onto lake, friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is out of town so need to be aware of that

    Beautiful location looking onto lake, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    beautiful vista. attentive staff and well kept .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Staff are very attentive. Lovely surroundings and well kept amenities. Restaurant excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic view of Loch Lein and mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view of Loch Lein and mountains. Very relaxing atmosphere. Staff very attentive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    The highlight of our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    The welcome, the location and the overall appearance of the hotel. The service was above and beyond and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely situation with view of lake, enormous bedrooms, nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely situation with view of lake, enormous bedrooms, nice Reception areas

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. Lovely quiet relaxed hotel. Cooked breakfast to order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet relaxed and big bedroom. Obliging dtaff

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: