Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4 stars

Ashford Estate, Cong, Ireland

#13 of 26 hotels in Cong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 249 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Close to the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price far too high for what you get Hotel decor is a bit ‘whackey’ Bathroom configuration doesn’t work - one small sink in large room, no towel rails, shower open so splashed all over floor

    Close to the castle Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced at 320 Euros for average room described as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced at 320 Euros for average room described as superior in architecturally drab faux court yard extension to small lodge . Described at lodge “at” Ashford Castle I would suggest the “at “ be changed to “on grounds of “ castle with no access to castle foyer . Breakfast included was ok for mid price motel if you didn’t mind negotiating tiny corridors to carry own food to distant table .All in all this much travelled person thought the experience ( room ready at 3 pm to 12 next day) worth 120 max. Underwhelmed .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Great staff beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hotel common areas very tired decor, carpet smelly as you walk through to our room, we stayed in old part of building But not a criticism just a suggestion to update ..it didn't make our stay bad we had an amazing time

    Everything and it's surroundings and especially the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Had overall better time before. It's trying to be something it's not. Staff are not well trained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture in room and on table in wildes was grubby.

    Didn't realise food in wildes was high brow- it was nice but I'd have got better value in the bar. Location is beautiful. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    The Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its obviously the most expensive stay in the area, if possible travel outside of season to get the greatest value for your monies.

    Wow, Beautiful location, beautiful lawns and gradens... A must see!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location and the stand up paddle boarding was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast were very inefficient. They were faffing about the place. We asked for a jug of water and were told “we’re too busy to get that for you”. The breakfast food wasn’t anything special for the prices paid to stay there.

    Beautiful location and the stand up paddle boarding was excellent fun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Lovely & quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like leaving wished we had stayed on an extra night as our next hotel was a disaster

    thrilled to have found the Lodge --so we now have added the lodge to our list of super hotels to stay at in Ireland as sadly some hotels do not live up to the "reviews" -the Manager was charming & made a point of saying goodbye to me the next morning ( he went to school 4 miles from where we live in North Devon )& Kevin was great full of fun & quite a charmer too & guess he too came from our area --Melissa could not have been more charming on the front desk & the super chap who served us our meal etc looked after us beautifully .Tom on the gate way arch is a scream we couldn't stop laughing when he lifted up the barrier & Luke & John on the castle draw bridge have a great sense of humour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Well that was quite something
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Well, where do we begin?! We've been fortunate enough to stay in a fair few hotels over the years but this was hands down the best hotel we've ever stayed in and the best experience we've encountered. I mentioned to the staff before we arrived that it was our first wedding anniversary in the hope that we might be able to get a small glass of bubbly on arrival but they went above and beyond. We received a complimentary room upgrade to a suite (with an upstairs!), a small dessert in the room on arrival with "happy anniversary" written on it, a signed card from the staff wishing us a happy anniversary and the Romantic Turndown that I requested (for a small charge was absolutely stunning. The staff were fantastic to us and we couldn't be more greatful. The toiletries provided were luxurious and everything was sparkly clean. Even without the upgrade the hotel and the experience are just something else. The grounds of the castle and the entire surrounding area are beautiful and you could spend an entire day walking around it all. The breakfast was fantastic with an array of cold selections (including carved meat and cheese!) and a choice of cooked breakfasts that were done to perfection. There is a free shuttle to the castle itself and if you are thinking about having a drink or a meal in there then I recommend that you don't even think twice. We had a cocktail at the bar overlooking the front lawn that was jaw-dropping and then had dinner at the Dungeon with a steak dinner that we're still talking about 2 days later! We were a little apprehensive prior to going into the castle as we're not used to attending such a high-end establishment. Some five-star experiences that we've tried to go to have often made us feel uncomfortable and the place feel pretentious, but in typical Irish fashion this place made us feel so welcomed and comfortable to enjoy the surreal experience. Nothing seemed too much to the waiters and waitresses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was so short but will be back
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like it was lovely

    Bed very comfortable lovely and clean and bright and lovely big bathroom would like to have stayed longer and got to know the place better excellent would recommend to others

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Everything excellent except for the nit picking I have done
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet paper of inferior quality. The extra fiver for the sides on the menu . Should have been included in the main price. Sink taps not turning the usual way ending up in a lot of splashing

    The ambience of the whole surroundings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Probably the best hotel all round that we stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One fault was they should have two people on reception, people were queuing for a long time due to the receptionist having to deal with customers and phone calls, she was brilliant dealing with her work overload, just my opinion.

    We loved everything from our warm welcome, our room/bathroom, food and the friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    over all we enjoyed our stay the food selection could be better and an increase of 30 euro on day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A more reasonable menu in the bar

    Breakfast was excellent beds were cumfortable and room were clean and warm. however we found the bar menu excpenciv and portions very small i understand the menu was tapas but was over priced . we had planned to have dinner in the restaurant on thursday night then found that the price had gone up from 60 euro to 90 euro just because the had changed the name of the menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Super stay fab suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Workmen drill & hammer in our only morning wakened up by it!!!! Not expect this at 4 star offered late checkout to hear it longer!

    Super stay fab suite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    We did not eat at the Wilde resturant because we did not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not eat at the Wilde resturant because we did not want A la Carte. We ate in the bar but the food was still like A la Carte in which we were disapointted in we just wanted a good wholesome meal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    A superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in room needs cleaning/ replacing as spoilt overall ambiance of room.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Food very good and location excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay on a wonderful and scenic domain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being awake early in the morning between 6am and 7am by noise in the corridor. There was a ray of light between the door and the wall (lightproof and soundproof could have been the ultimate perfection)

    This is the best hotel we stayed in Ireland and one of the best value for money of our trip. Everything was perfect, from the communication with the staff (attentive, polite but genuine discussions and laughs was pleasant) to the room facilities. Best bed on which I ever slept :) Staying on the Ashford Castle domain is such a beautiful experience. Truly impressed by the Castle on the Lough Corrib.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, location and surroundings great. Will be back again PG
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One small comment - staff overall excellent - but some inexperienced table staff stood out, minor point, perhaps due to a very busy period

    Location, staff, ambiance, Wildes Restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Stay at Ashford lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quay Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we could fault was the weather, witch couldn't be helped anyway.

    Excellent place to stay for any special occasion. We had a great night and loved everything about the lodge. Would deffinilty be back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding extended stay (due to weather conditions) and we will be visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were outstanding with their service and extra attention shown to customers. Nothing was a problem, and they were more than happy to offer advice on such things as road conditions and local issues when asked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments

    Staff went extra mile for our stay can't say enuf good things about the staff nice rooms good food great breakfast just a pity we only stayed one night😣

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only area that needed improvement was in the making of a Caipirinha.

    Everything about our stay at 'the lodge' was outstanding. Meal at the Cottage drop off/pick up in the RR. Every member of staff couldn't do enough, particularly Kevin who appeared to be everywhere all the time!!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Friendly helpful staff. Impressed and would highly recommend. A+++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault the hotel in any way.

    Our accommodation was of a high standard and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent and plentiful. The hotel is in an impressive location right beside the castle. We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Lots of activities are provided by the hotel but we felt that they were somewhat expensive, at least for our budget. We would highly recommend this hotel for couples looking for a quiet and relaxing stay. Good choice of restaurants, shops and bars in the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    It was fabulous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this place. The lodge itself was unique in the layout and the way it was decorated and our room was one of the most spacious I have ever stayed in while traveling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel but some issues, given expected standard will find somewhere else in area next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Found reception and bar staff fairly unhelpful, food was ordinary in bar and sounded terrible in hotel's restaurant (menu had nothing on it that sounded nice so chose not to eat there) and despite being told by staff and on website that we could book in one of several restaurants in the adjacent castle hotel we were repeatedly refused any availability for multiple times, days and venues, despite these times being shown as available on the restaurants' websites. Issues with rooms being left short of towels and room keys being removed with repeated requests required to resolve. Disappointing as we normally stay in The Rubens in London which is also owned by Red Carnation and have never been able to fault that hotel

    Room was nice, location nice, breakfast was nice and breakfast staff incredibly friendly and accommodating. Chocolate and fruit bowl on arrival a nice touch, but this only happened on first day unlike other places we stayed in on this trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    A modernisation/upgrade effort going badly wrong
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had hoped for (and some of the property photos indicated) a fairly traditional Irish country hotel. What we found was a mish-mash of competing ideas and quasi-modern decor ideas, none of which worked well together. The rooms were carpeted with red or black and white leopardskin print carpeting. The bar is illuminated with crimson neon. The bar menu is complicated and pretentious (although the food itself was decently prepared, if fussily presented). I could go on, and on. The whole place is trying, far too hard, to be some kind of 'designy' - with very little success. It's a real shame: this could have been a real gem of a place.

    The bones of the physical structure are good, and its location really first-rate. Staff at the property were uniformly very good: friendly, welcoming, informative and efficient. The breakfast offering was absolutely top-notch, as good as it gets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Such a nice property; we would definitely stay here again. Staff was very helpful and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quay Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our suite was very new (so new you could still smell the fresh paint) and not all the hardware was working properly. But, the staff was very good to come get it going again.

    Best breakfast buffet we saw in our 2-1/2 weeks of travel in Ireland. Eggs were perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Memorable and a must do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was on the fritz. Having just upgraded to new iPhone operating systems.

    Very friendly staff. Especially Kalina and Richard. We had an early morning flight on checkout and the friendly hosts packed us some fresh pastries for the road without even asking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Very very disappointed......actually crushed because it was to be the highlight of the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was terrible.......only towel rack for 1 towel.....NO place at all for a wet towel or face cloth......no counter space.....the shower leaked all over the floor no matter how careful we were and then we had no place to put the wet towels used to clean up the floor. Absolutely NOT USER FRIRNDLY

    The grounds are beautiful. The staff are excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely grounds, fun Hawk Walk, charming Cong, worth a one or two night visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the Lodge and Ashford Castle have the same owners, the Castle restricts access to people in the Lodge, and it's... kind of annoying. I understand that the Castle folk are paying double what the Lodge guests are paying and should receive perks for the extra money, but I thought the separation was overly rigorous. On a related note, as much as I liked the Lodge, I thought the price was steep -- $300 per room, per night, in mid-August (2017), for a hotel with very few complimentary amenities. I think $200 to $250 would still be a lot, but I'd feel more comfortable recommending it to others at that price point, based on the beautiful location and the activity options on offer (at extra cost).

    Although the activities are not actually run by the hotel, there are a number of excellent things once can do near by--from the Hawk Walk at the School of Falconry to lessons in archery or horseback riding (all for an additional fee). We did the Hawk Walk and the archery lesson and enjoyed both, the Hawk Walk being the real highlight for both parents and kids. The casual dining room at the hotel's Quay Bar had very nice options for the whole family. The staff were courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel and grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was fabulous. It was large enough to host a cocktail party for our traveling companions. We also took the falconry experience which was a highlight of our trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar food was average and expensive for the portion sizes (Bite portions).

    The location is great. Staying at the Lodge get you free access of Ashford Castle gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent; my daughter and I loved the hotel and our hawk walk. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot think of anything!

    Excellent restaurant and breakfast. Serene locale, and many activities can be booked at Ashford Castle. Hotel is very comfortable, with attentive and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    A pampering hotel that's well worth the extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although not needed, the in-room entertainment system was outdated.

    Beautiful grounds with ideal access to Ashford Castle and Cong. Staff were accommodating and genuine and evening live piano music was delightful Chef's tour of the polytunnels and herb gardens was inspiring and highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Cullen's restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath had to pay more for a room with bath Which was tiny Wouldn't go back Bad value for money Our room was backing onto where the bar emptied bottles after midnight

    Cullen's restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Very average. We moved to Trump Dionbeg which was much nicer and better value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quay Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that the room was tired and the carpet stained. Last time we stayed in the castle and it was magnificent, so we expected similar. Disappointed!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    We had an awesome visit - my children loved this hotel - husband and I can't wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing --- pure perfection

    Best service - best activities - best accommodation - can't get enough - love this place - can't wait to come back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, if you don't mind being second
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most activities are subject to approval from Castle staff, which means effectively Lodge guests have second pick. Can't access Castle or grounds without Castle staff confirmation. Base level rooms have only one window, looking into the courtyard, and which anyone can look in from.

    Very friendly and warm staff, and ready to help to the extent they can. Service was the best part of our stay. Wilde's had fantastic food, both for dinner and breakfast. Free wifi was good and reliable. Bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Customer service, beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a long time to get our room ready, in spite of request for early check in, but staff were very accommodating. Couldn't visit the actual castle without reservation.

    Customer service, beautiful grounds. Activities such as horseback riding, shooting, and falcon walk were awesome. Instructors were very pleasant and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Couldn't view the Ashford Castle even though we stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't view the Ashford Castle even though we stayed on the property, participated in activities and ate at the restaurants in the Lodge and Cottage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Pure Luxury, THE BEST
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I LOVED absolutely EVERYTHING about Ashford Lodge. Everything is perfect. Well worth the cost, which wasn't that much when you see what you get. Pure luxury. The breakfast was the BEST breakfast ever. The staff looked after you soooo well. Will definately be back!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Every one and every thing was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not hang up clothes. Rack way too high. No place to fix hair. No elec plug for curling iron or merror.

    Every one and every thing was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    A beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disappointed that the actual accommodation was not in the lodge shown in the picture but in modern annex attached to the lodge albeit very comfortable. The other disappointment that there is not access to the actual castle unless like us you booked to dine there.

    A very comfortable hotel staff were extremely helpful and eager to please. Beds were very comfortable and of course the grounds of Ashford Castle are stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff and nice bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many unclean areas. Everything needed to be dusted and visible bathroom sink drain looked was disgusting. Dropped the toothpaste cap in the sink and immediately threw it all away!

    Friendly staff and nice bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    AMAZING AND EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent from the staff to the room. Breakfast was top notch and delicious, made to order. The grounds of Ashford Castle are gorgeous, great to walk or ride around. The castle is impressive and the restaurants on site excellent. We will be returning for sure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    The staff looked after us so well and exceptionally friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quay Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Costello Suite,the first thing I saw when the door was opened was a large stain on the carpet, felt for the money we paid it should be spotless

    The staff looked after us so well and exceptionally friendly,nothing too much trouble.Was my husband's birthday and there was a gift and card signed by the staff.That night at dinner in Wildes (amazing food!)there were complimentary drinks too.Fantastic place to stay and will be back

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Rest in the West!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an expensive hotel because it is co-located beside the famous Ashford Castle. I know there are cheaper accommodation in local Cong village, which others might consider. We were hosting friends from Canada and this property had a significant and personal link. We thing it was worth the money!

    Fantastic location. Fantastic scenery. Great walks into the local village and countryside. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at the Hackett Suite and the Waldron Suite. Rooms were lacking the wow factor and had an unpleasant view of the air-conditioning compressors and the hotel's waste containers.

    The hotel was tastefully and warmly decorated in a rustic style giving the impression of a country holiday home. Breakfast was fantastic with very attentive staff and high quality local products.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.0
    Poor service and customer care
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service, kept waiting in reception, bar and restaurant. We walked out of bar in the end, so slack. Very poor. Quote, we are very busy , yes but I am one of those busy, important customers, no ?. AND I had paid too! Awful. Then had to wait 30 minutes to pay the hotel bill, as they were busy. I was late for an appointment. But they didn't t care.

    Poor service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    The Lodge sits in the Ashford estate which were huge,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Lodge rooms and the restaurants (including bar food) were best described as quirky and at odds with the advertised description. The decor was "Hollywood" with Sinatra music in the lounges. Our suite was large and totally decorated in black and white. The bath tub was not in the bathroom but in a corner of the room and surrounded by mirrors. Apparently other suites were decorated in different colors.

    The Lodge sits in the Ashford estate which were huge, park-like and beautifully maintained. Guests were provided with free admission to visit wonderful gardens around the actual castle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    The room was very nice, generally the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service in the bar service was slow, we ordered tea one day and low fat milk, we had to remind them twice about the milk by the time it arrived the tea was cold, The breakfast staff on the first day was slow and not very attentive so we asked to sit in the other side the next morning (the restaurant side) and it was much better. We asked if we could visit the castle one day, they declined which is a shame, as I don't think they where that busy, as no big event happening on the Sunday as we went to the grounds, which are lovely.

    The room was very nice, generally the staff were very helpful especially in the reception and being able to bring the dog was fabulous. I had a couple of complaints but nothing major, certainly nothing that impeded our enjoyment, we had a fabulous long weekend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was definitely not worth the money, the sofa bed was broken and the leather furniture, the dust was visible with a strange smell,? Carpet smell which kids were complaining about.Limited access to ashford castle property which was disappointing as was told it would be access and reason booked at the expensive price

    The property and parking were convenient and nice,breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    I miss it already and I've only been gone one day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Joe at the falconry school made that experience something extraordinary. We would make the trip all the way back just to fly some falcons if Joe was our guide. Something we will never ever forget. And the food!!!!!....amazing form breakfast to dinner anywhere on property. Very nice and accommodations staff. The spa at the castle was the best facial I've EVER had and I'm a bit of a spa snob. Wonderful experience all around for my husband and I as well as our teenagers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    High class but friendly accomodation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Luxury accommodation and really friendly staff.We were upgraded for free and our suite was brilliant.Breakfasts were amazing and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They are working on installing much needed air conditioning in the room at the Lodge.

    Food was excellent. Rooms were beautiful. We enjoyed several activities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Period house with lots of features and sitting in front of log fire with an Irish Coffee pure magic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool or Hot Tubs which would be a great asset

    Location looking out on Lough Corrib in Parkland with many walking areas Old world charm of the House and with a great art collection

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    I would return. Very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free boat trip at the castle was cancelled with no notice. Not the lodge's fault but rather the snooty Castle staff.

    Next to Ashford Castle with I feel a better view and value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.3
    Reception Staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tapas food only available in bar. All starter size portions. So if you're hungry you'd need to order a few dishes. Costs add up and you're waiting a good while between dishes. Bring back some good decent main courses for hungry people.

    Reception Staff excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    A stay at the Lodge at Ashford should be on everyones bucket list
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so friendly and made us so welcome.Our room overlooked the lake and was beautiful.Breakfast was delicious and dinner in the castle was superb.The castle was great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Comfort at it's best!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the food, bar staff and friendly atmosphere throughout our stay.

    I can honestly say that our stay at The Lodge at Ashforde Castle has been the best experience for a long time. The staff were excellent and very very helpful, they even sent a copy of the Quite Man DVD to our room after we had visited Cong Village. The hotel over all is brilliant and i would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Not your grandfather's castle lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not decorated as a castle lodge - eclectic basically neo-70s decor that is somewhat jarring. Room had AC but was off and room was uncomfortably warm.

    Food was good but the chef was trying a bit too hard.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Best hotel stay ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    Loved everything! The Lodge, the room, the staff were so helpful and friendly and the atmosphere relaxed! The food and service was top nosh and the location second to none!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.8
    Great location and beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor breakfast served in the room - shocking! Staff at the Castle on the door very abrupt in stopping us entering then making us wait on the steps outside whilst he checked we had a reservation to go in. Most unfriendly - what has happened to the welcome at Ashford Castle????

    Great location and beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for one night because we were doing a hawk walk at the School of Falconry. Very comfortable, excellent service, and dinner at the restaurant was wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    The location (near Ashford Castle and the town of Cong), facility, staff and food were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit warm in my room. It felt very stuffy. I opened my window but that didn't cool it off any. I called and a nice man brought me a small fan that helped a little. Overnight as the temperature dropped it was comfortable.

    The location was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    Bath room downer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath room was the worst design I have ever had to use. The lighting over sink was one small intense light that gave close to zero light to my face that shaving was almost impossible. The modern white elevated designer bowl spilled water out the rear of bowl every time you turned faucet on! The open shower stall was not well designed to prevent water to other parts of bath floor. Need a complete do over.

    Staff but. I could not get a pass to see the Other property Ashford Casltle interior. A real downer that I will pass on to friends. I stay at a lot of upscale properties & this one was a disappointment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    Best birthday pressie ever😀
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would have to mention is that we had a toilet which was facilitated for disabled. My husband found it very akward to shave in the mirror the next morning because it was so low and this was to facility a person in a wheel chair. If this room is to be used for able bodied persons maybe the mirror could be made longer to suit both parties?

    We had dinner in the Wildes restaurant and we were blown away with the quality and taste of the food. The expertise of the staff letting us know what we were getting and also the friendliness of the staff. We were spoilt with the little treats in between courses. I would love to go back again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing in luxury, feels like a different world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quay Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a broken lamp in the room. Breakfast was a bit limited.

    Gardens and accessibility to the castle grounds was amazing. Proximity to Cong was fantastic. Bar food excellent. Bar staff very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful facility and close to Ashford Castle where our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a 2 level suite which was very beautiful and stately. There were 3 of us and the hide a bed for the 3rd person was very uncomfortable. I feel with the high cost of this lodge a better quality hide a bed should of been available. Also the service at breakfast was poor having to ask 3 or 4 times for the same item. The manger did adjust the cost because of our concerns.

    Beautiful facility and close to Ashford Castle where our activities were taking place. The Sunday night live entertainment in the Lobby was excellent. Also enjoyed the lovely little town of Cong.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't stay longer.

    My mother has mobility problems and a room was changed to make ease of access for her. The staff from the gate through to the estate manager are friendly and so easy to deal with. The views are spectacular and so close to the village of Cong.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    10
    Five star service, reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Lodge is a fantastic, affordable alternative to staying in the Castle. The staff was happy to book reservations anywhere in property and even drove us to and from dinner. The stay includes passes to the castle grounds and eating at the Castle restaurants gets you into the castle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful location, great interior design
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed with the deluxe room. Carpet stained and no bath or view. Very comfy beds though. Staff were thin on the ground and seemed over stretched at times, but were friendly.

    Beautiful location, great interior design

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    4.2
    The location adjacent Ashford Castle was very pretty and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible staff. What a bunch of snobs. For the money we paid for a two room suite you would think we could go into Ashford Castle and take a little look around but every time we asked for a pass to go over there we were told NO. There is really no reason to stay here and pay the big bucks if you are not even allowed to go into the Castle. What a joke!!

    The location adjacent Ashford Castle was very pretty and the Village of Cong is a beauty. We loved the breakfast provided.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    A little part of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a wonderful two night stay in this beautiful hotel. The staff were amazing and I could not have been looked after better. The view from the breakfast room was wonderful and the food was to die for, both presentation and taste. The walks in the grounds were well cared for and I thoroughly enjoyed a few of the many walks around the grounds. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.1
    I found a baby caterpillar in my cauliflower at dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a baby caterpillar in my cauliflower at dinner. I also found a hair stuck to my breakfast plate. Found the service slow & had to ask one of the managers for champagne/ prosecco when we came in as a lot of us hadn't got ANY & was told by a staff member that we would have to pay for it. 😡

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    6.7
    Odd policy on castle visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Castle did not allow us to walk inside the castle even though we were staying on the grounds, in the Lodge! We were escorted out of the castle after we walked in to look around. Never have we experienced anything like that! Very off putting.

    Great venue.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: