Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lord Bagenal Inn 4 stars

Leighlinbridge, Leighlinbridge, Ireland

#1 of 1 hotels in Leighlinbridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of room poor. Spotlights from car park shine into room through gap at end of curtains and reflect in mirror-not great when bed faces mirror!

    Beautiful location on the river. Superb breakfast,beautifully cooked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic clean, comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel, clean quiet and comfortable, the staff are so warm and welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel at home, nothing is to much trouble, loved the bar with all the little alcoves and big comfy chairs, and the food was glorious, will definitely be coming back 😀

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Good short stay on the way to our holiday destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling with a disabled member of the family and his two carers. The bed was too high for him and he had to be helped to get in and out of bed which is normally not required. The toilet was too low for him a disabled person needs a toilet that is higher than normal.

    Location very good. Hotel had everything we needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    An excellent stay in a delightful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the delightful village of Leighlinbridge beside the River Barrow. Friendly, welcoming and efficient staff throughout. My room and bathroom were spacious and well-appointed with a view over the river. Food and service in the restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent wedding venue
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints. The view from my room was slightly marred by the flat roof section, but we could also see an old castle.

    The staff were tremendously friendly. The meal portions were a good, generous size. Leighlinbridge is a lovely location, very picturesque.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing country retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested a room with a view for myself & my daughter. Not only did they accommodate the request but also gave us a large twin room (I had booked a double on last available offer) which was almost a suite. Beautiful room with 4 poster bed. Lovely side view of the river. Really made out stay quite enjoyable. The food in the bar is something to be experienced! Delicious! Was well impressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Off-the-beaten track enjoyment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner restaurant adjoined the general bar area where 'background' music was anything but for diners ! An eclectic sound track was delivered at many more decibels than was comfortable and the staff , when challenged on the topic, agreed Interestingly, the different breakfast restaurant ambiance contrasted markedly - bright from large windows, profusion of fresh flower arrangements on each table and a wide range of good quality hot-plate breakfast freshly prepared.

    Spacious car-park , 'quiet' ,well-appointed bedrooms and modern and helpful staff members throughout. Breakfast quality and ambiance was delightful but contrasted with unnecessarily loud 'background' music in the different dinner restaurant-location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    The general atmosphere of the hotel is excellent and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast could have being a lot better, there was lots of it, but a small choice and there favourite ingredient seems to have being grease. Also a bit old school just having a choice of Tea or Coffee from two Urns the whole set up felt more like a Canteen Breakfast rather than a hotel of its quality.

    The general atmosphere of the hotel is excellent and the staff were excellent. The location was brilliant and loads of walks and a beautiful village.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not allowed to sit in restaurant and had to sit in bar for evening meal. Later in the night we saw people in restaurant which wasn't full. Asked about it was told they were part of package and residents. We were residents also. Attitude from staff supervisor was not the best. Different rules being applied to residents of hotel.

    Staff at reception were very polite and listened to our dissatisfaction with hotel dining experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Great spot, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minimum temperature of the airco is set at 19, and when it's raining you can't really open the window (without getting a wet carpet)

    Great place, friendly staff. Spacious, quiet room with a comfy bed and a great (especially for Irish standard) shower. Breakfast was great as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    A gorgeous spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place...nothing to complain about

    Loved the hotel...the staff were brilliant. The rooms were a good size and spotless. The food in the restaurant was delicious as was breakfast in the morning. There are so many lovely nooks and crannys outside to sit and have a drink or smoke. Just loved this hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it. The village is beautiful and so lovely to walk round.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good. Would come again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast. The orange juice was not as fresh as it could have been.

    They changed my room at short notice when the AC in the first room was not working properly. All staff were friendly and professional. Overall the facilities were very good. In particular, the receptionist was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Love to stay again
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a little difficult to get into/out of as an over the bath type rather than walk in. But a minor quibble. I was delighted with the room, breakfast and service.

    Unfortunately I only stayed for one night and left quite early. The bed was fantastically comfortable, and the room was spotlessly clean and more spacious than expected. Breakfast was delicious only sad that I couldn't stay longer to enjoy a walk along the river as it was a beautiful day. Staff were great and very helpful. Would love to stay again on a more leisurely trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recently stayed for a wedding. The service was fantastic from start to finish. We were blessed with the sunshine. The location and facilities are fab, we enjoyed the sun from the decking. The man at reception who checked us in was hilarious. Lovely man but same has to be said for all of the staff, so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    If I am travelling through this area again, It will be my first choice for a sleep over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very spacious and the Bed was so comfy, best sleep I had in a hotel for years and I always struggle to sleep in hotels. The ambiance in the Bar was top rate. I would recommend that this Hotel is a must is you are travelling the Ancient East.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Expectations exceeded and delighted we chose here for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    A lovely mix of modern and traditional homely feel to the place. Open fires and wood burning stoves added to the welcoming atmosphere. Beds were very comfortable and good quality furnishings. Recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.5
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived in the afternoon and there was no heating in our room(31).Despite visits from various members of staff the problem was not resolved resulting in a move to room 53.Electric heating but no hot water at all.Some allowance should have made as we had no breakfast owing to a prior engagement at a local friends racehorse training establishment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Staff friendly and great breakfast. Room very much lacking the basics.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without the air conditioning set to high, the room was cold. Noisy too when trying to sleep. The bathroom had no heating and the shower only part worked. The bathroom light when switched on triggered a ventilator, normal, but when switched off continued to emit a high pitched whirring for a long period.

    Bed huge and comfortable. Breakfast plentiful and bargain for those with big appetites.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    The staff couldnt be nicer and the food was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its quite expensive for just b&b also the shower in the room was very poor and the water was only luke warm. Air conditioning in the bedrooms so when you leave the room goes cold.

    The staff couldnt be nicer and the food was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room amazing and the staff very very helpful also we are in the bar as ur restaurant was fully booked and it was also fabulous. Plus breakfast was cooked to order also amazing service thank you. I have two precious children under 5 and you made my stay fabulous ps I also so loved it bath omg shower was great but the bath 😊👍 heaven

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    The main restaurant was located in the same area as the bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main restaurant was located in the same area as the bar restaurant. We felt that you need to have a better athmospher and tables in the main restaaurant when you are paying main restaurant prices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing over night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much, hotel was great, the area did not have a lot, so we would not have stayed for more than 1 day

    Staff were so nice and helped with any query we had

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    I couldnt fault a thing with the Lord Bagenal .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    I couldnt fault a thing with the Lord Bagenal .our stay was excellent from start to finish and EVERY member of staff were so friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.4
    we attended a wedding and the food was fantastic and...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a major disappointment. It was small and the decor was dark and dated. there was no kettle in the room. The reception staff were extremely unhelpful and rude when i queried the room as we had requested a modern room.

    we attended a wedding and the food was fantastic and plentiful. the service was fast and efficient. Bar prices were very competitive and the bar staff were fast too. the hotel grounds are beautiful and the reception area is very clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Lord Bagenal Inn we would recommend for a quite getaway for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we did not like.. some bottled water in bedroom to drink would have added... otherwise our stay was great

    The overall stay was very comfortable and relaxing..the room was clean. .food tasty specially breakfast.. staff helpful and cheerful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall we enjoyed the town and the hotel was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in our room was a bit rippled and looked it it soon needed to be replaced. They were doing some remodeling...but I'd consider that a good sign.

    Staff was friendly and it looked to be a lovely venue for those having a wedding. The town was very small and we enjoyed walking around it, and the Garden Cafe at the Arboretum was so good we ate there twice. Breakfast onsite was also nice as you could get cereals, fruits, toast and off the menu order whatever you liked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Great find
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't usually choose such a large hotel as they can feel cold, intimidating, imposing and unfriendly however the friendliness of the staff and cosyness of the bar area made it feel less so

    Location, fresh fish and seafood at dinner. Great breakfast. Fresh fruit and beautifully cooked scrambled egg. Staff friendliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Perfect for my girlfriends birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good, one thing if I need to stay something and it's not a slight on the hotel but you would be better served if you had a car to explore the area and kilkenny

    Myself and my girlfriend had dinner for her birthday in the hotel bar and it was delicious, staff were excellent and food was quick to be served, top drawer, room was great, clean and big double bed, nice quiet area in a small village beside the river, can sit outside on patio chairs near the river even if its raining a lot of is covered, breakfast was fantastic delicious food and lots of choice, staff at reception were really helpful and friendly to recommend things and rang us a taxi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Great place for a stop over, very quiet village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy room, great outside space, this is a small village, we visited for a particular reason, not as tourists, but lovely, quaint, quite a few pubs and approximately 1 shop! :) . On the river Barrow, but other villages close by with plenty of local shops and bars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    good but
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room at back of hotel, very warm, even with window door open.and the noise from approx 7am , constant humming, fan or air con system,this was audible even with door closed. hair in bath. fire alarm went off in middle of nite 3.15am approx. night porter had no idea how to deal with emergency, stated he could not find a fire so wasn`t one..??. was unable to turn off alarm, lucky my partner had knowledge of similar control panels and was able to assist. Breakfast was good, no food was covered, i seen at least 2 flies on over the bread, these item should be covered, i ordered the salmon and poached egg, the egg was very soft. some of the cutlery, cups we wiped before use due to dirt particles, milk jug included. Staff was brilliant, helpful cheery etc. WiFi weak in room and table we had for breakfast, ground floor room so expected better.

    location small village so every thing close, early book in, dinner and breakfast available inhouse. any staff we dealt with friendly and helpful, the night porter was confused about a number of items but i feel this can be resolved by training.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    as good as any hotel I have used in Ireland over the last 10yrs
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    The reception staff upon arrival were very cheerful and friendly, the room was of excellent quality, the evening meal which we ordered at 8.45 for most agreeable especially the steak.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    On the whole very good would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could get loud with other guests going back to their room, this happened on both nights we were there...not good ☹️

    Really helpful receptionist he was very good and the lady serving the breakfast was so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    loved the location food in restaurant good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed pillows too hard duvet too heavy and no upper sheet. We did not sleep well

    Could not get scrambled egg for breakfast for husband. I wanted hard egg it took about 8 mins my plate was being kept warm. When I got it back the bacon was very very crisp. Not the way I like it. We were in hurry to get away. Breakfast not up to standard of rest hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Great spot. Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delivery truck/recycling both mornings would have been better an hour later. Wasn't crazy early, but a good sleep in in such a comfy place would have been nice.

    Very pleasant staff, quiet, great location, great riverside location and views, good breakfast, great restaurant. Walk along the river for an explore and a great base for exploring further.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff where very friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too warm and I couldn't figure out how to work the air conditioning. It was grand when I left the windows open, it was still warm but scoffocating.

    The staff where very friendly and helpful. My room was very clean and the bed was VERY comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Riverside hotel with modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows not shutting tight and as it was windy was causing a whistling noise. Noise of other hotel users when shutting their doors. Shower had 2 head styles, largest head would drip.

    View from the room. Choice of a lift or the grand staircase. Breakfast dining area, with large breakfast choice. Good lighting in bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Stylish and comfy stay in a pretty and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV in our room only had 4 local channels; we would have liked a few news channels to keep up to date. Many of the plates and bowls at breakfast were dirty with bits of food still stuck on - there's obviously a problem with the dishwasher. Our dirty wine glasses were not removed from our room and there was an ashtray full of cigarette butts left out on the balcony.

    Lovely room with soft comfy bed and a hospitality tray of tea/coffee/biscuits. Bathroom was clean with a good range of toiletries. Breakfast was superb, especially the fresh fruit, range of breads and a selection of local cheeses. The full Irish breakfast was fantastic: freshly cooked to order, piping hot and really tasty. The best cooked breakfast we've had for a long time! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful; we were made to feel very welcome. Leighlinbridge itself is a pretty little village with lovely views of the bridge and old buildings. The general store at the petrol station just across the road from the hotel was handy for soft drinks/snacks. Lovely location by the river just a few minutes from the motorway and about 15 mins from Carlow.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Overall, happy with stay and made feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To use shower step into bath is high and did not feel that bath mat provided was secure. Though would rate breakfast highly raspberries on last morning were mouldy.

    Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Good base to ramble along the Barrow

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Personnel , food ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room 54. It is a pity such a wonderful venue doesn't have a leisure centre, this would attract more families Bedroom a bit small, bathrooms are extra large. It is also difficult to get into shower via the bath.

    Personnel , food ambience. Decor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Lord Baganal Inn 11-16 June 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a number of faults with the bath/shower room,however, they did offer to change the room but as we were only there for 5 nights we felt it was not worthwhile doing so. The air conditioning was very smelly & could not be used during what was a very hot spell, and due to the closeness to the barrow river the Windows could not be opened as it would allow midges in. We had expected to pay £428 in sterling on a credit card per the booking details on bookings.com but having had a meal for Euro 40 were charged £488 which does not add up. When we queried this the receptionist became very off and told us that she did not understand foreign exchange, and they charged in euros. When this happened a man came over and stood behind us staring and looking as though he was ready to join in if we continued to argue about the cost - we suspect he was a manager. My husband (who is an accountant) made it clear we would be complaining to booking.com. We ate in the restaurant twice and found it vey expensive e.g. A cheese omelette was euro 12.00 with chips being an extra cost and a small steak with vegetables euros 26.00. There was little or no vegetarian choices on the menu though the waitress was willing to offer items such as the omelette. Excepting the receptionist when we paid we found all the staff polite and helpful. In view of the above we will not be using either booking.com or this hotel again.

    The ladies who served breakfast and cleaned the rooms were always helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    More pros than cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water that I drew for the bath was yellow. I forgot to tell the staff. I did drink a little of it before, and I didn't have any issues. The town is very small and not hardly any restaurants within walking distance, so we were pretty much forced to eat at the hotel. I had the fish and it was fried to perfection and flaky, but very bland. My husband said his hamburger was very greasy. The chips/fries are pretty bland even when I pour on the salt. We were not sure the AC in on the room was working. We could not turn it down cool enough, and they did not want us opening the windows due to mosquitoes attracted to the light.

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely and the bed was huge and very comfy. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful during our stay and the staff were terrific, they really couldn't do enough for us. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Highly recommended and a beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a little complaint if we're being picky.............the garden to the left of the entrance could have been a little better

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was excellent and good value, the barman was very chatty and the drink service was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    AFFORDABLE LUXURY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to the room thermostat, but it was ok and I'm really hard pressed to find ANYTHING I didn't like!

    Breakfast was a cut above the norm! Anything you wanted, cooked to order! from a simple egg to a full Irish, plus all the other accoutrements you could imagine. Fresh fruits, cheeses, an assortment of jams and preserves, breads for toast as well as Irish Brown Bread and an assortment of breakfast cereal and a variety of fruit juices. I got the impression they would have provided anything I asked for and then ask "Is there anything else we can do for you?!" I entertained at the restaurant on site and had the same experience at dinner. It could not have been better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and setting, would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was too weak to be able to use in our room, we were on holiday so it wasn't that important to us, although I would have liked to be able to keep in touch with close family. There wasn't much milk left for tea or coffee in our room, but this was a minor problem as I am sure we could have requested some more.

    The staff were all friendly and helpful both with our booking and on arrival. Our room overlooked the river. I don't usually sleep very well away from home, but it was so peaceful and the beds so comfortable, that surprisingly, I slept like a log. The breakfast was perfect. Had a huge variety on offer, including full irish breakfast and lots of fresh fruit. The dining room overlooked the river and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was absolutely beautiful, great choice and all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom not very big but adequate and still good value for money.

    The breakfast was absolutely beautiful, great choice and all freshly prepared. Staff very friendly and helpful and there was a lovely atmosphere. Room was comfortable and bathroom was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    A lovely surprise in Leighlinbridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern & elegant. Located beside river. Staff very friendly & helpful. Breakfast excellent, as was the other inhouse food. Lovely room with large bathroom. Nice ambience throughout. Ample & easy parking. Lift available. Definitely recommend. Quality experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful and highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The foyer although beautiful was a little chilly at times.

    The hotel was beautiful spotless and the staff were excellent in all aspects. The food in the restaurant was amazing and 11 out of 10 for the wonderful piping hot breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic value
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was 11am which is a little early.

    Lovely place indeed hidden away , bedrooms were very comfy and the free standing bath was beautiful just a pity we were there for a wedding and didn't get to enjoy the comforts much. Would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    fantastic winelist in the restaurant - really exceptional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very much designed as a wedding hotel - nothing wrong with that - but as a consequence there are lots of stern notices about breakfast timing. In practice on a quieter night, breakfast was no problem.

    fantastic winelist in the restaurant - really exceptional for a small country hotel in Ireland. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Great stay, will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a lighter duvet and softer pillow?

    The staff were the best we've come across in a long time! Nothing was too much trouble. Great atmosphere in the hotel and food was lovely! Brilliant wine list in the restaurant!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    5.0
    good hotel badly managed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no spa.room not warm enough.bar area not clean enough(tables not cleared off properly and food left lying on the floor.it felt like nobody in charge.key to our room scrambled before 11 am on morning we were leaving ,had to go to reception to get back to room after breakfast to pack and go to toilet.very annoying.

    good location.good food.good car parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    Beauitiful hotel,amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout was a bit early that's all

    The evening meal was fantastic,the room was so spacious,and bathroom,bed was so comfy,the whole experience was just perfect.Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    An absolutely cracking spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the place! Friendly staff from check-in through to check-out. Unpretentious menu with really good food at a reasonable price. Bar staff great, old style barmen who their business with an excellent pint of Guinness. Child friendly. To really tell you how good this place was; when we checked in there was a wedding on (looked to be 100+ seated for dinner but probably more) so we thought we were buggered for dinner. But we went through to the bar and the full menu was available with timely delivery, great service and great quality food. I've stayed in hotels with higher ratings that can't pull that one off. All in, it was a great stay and we'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    I
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only regret is that i couldn't stay longer.

    I was there for a family wedding.Had a fabulous day. Staff and service excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.8
    A gem near Carlow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath is a little small, but shower OK.

    This hotel is a gem. Close to the motorway bur far enough for comfort. Parking and WiFi are good, bedrooms are comfortable and public areas interesting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Amazing food, friendly staff and pretty setting with lovely walks next to the river.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. It's a bit on the pricey side, but you get your money's worth.

    The food was amazing. I don't think I've ever had a better steak. The staff were really warm and friendly - traditional Irish hospitality. And Leighlinbridge is a good place to unwind for a couple of days. And if you like fishing and have a rod licence for Ireland, there is coarse and game fishing in the river for a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Fab hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel staff lovely and friendly food beautiful decor everything perfect We Had a huge spacious room.Breda on reception was so nice on arrival We will definitely return to this hotel again 😄👍4*

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    Lovely setting, beatiful place, good food on the restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a few hairs on my bedside table and some dirt around the window area. Also found it a bit pricey for the time of year and the lack of entertainment options (in the hotel and in town) .

    Lovely setting, beatiful place, good food on the restaurant, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Magestical, maybe the easy water's flowing in the canal outside, it just had that little something
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing not to like honestly, the hotel had that little bit of magic that money can't buy

    I loved the variety of food and the presentation of the food, you just can't beat the white tablecloths for that little extra touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Always an amazing stay, the staff are friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always an amazing stay, the staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and comfortable with great restaurant food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real fault

    Very comfortable excellent food and service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    superb value for money and top class bar food and menu

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent. Very friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    very good would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no pool

    great bed ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice break in Loughton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no dinner menu on the night

    The bed was very comfyno

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Accommodation, food & location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced & disorganised breakfast

    Accommodation, food & location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in the middle of the Irish countryside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big Comfortable room with good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Food very tasty and staff friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food very tasty and staff friendly! Nice and cool in the hotel during the unusually hot weather!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant didn't seem to much different from the bar for food experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Well run hotel, beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent modern hotel, Great food and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Good stay,visting family in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly Staff, very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel - can't wait to stay here again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay more than one night!!

    The food is amazing!!! Beautiful location and great staff. Lovely canal walk nearby too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    The place is simply amazing great for a small getaway could not fault one thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    The staff were so welcoming, helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    A Gem,This place is what Ireland is all about ,Lovely locals...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Gem,This place is what Ireland is all about ,Lovely locals,relaxed,world goes by,staff fabulous,

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: