Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lough Lannagh Lodge B&B 3 stars

Old Westport Road, Castlebar, Ireland

#9 of 16 hotels in Castlebar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very basic and a bit dated for the price. Bathroom was like what you’d see a leisure centre changing room! There was no tea/coffee facility in the room. You could hear people walking up and down in the corridor.

    Friendly staff , pretty location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were so called upgraded from a room in the hotel area to a 3 bed cottage - kitchen well equipped but it was all very basic - one bedroom had leaky toilet

    Breakfasts great cook - Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and the location is superb especially for family who enjoys long walks and is pretty much a nature lover. It was an unplanned trip and was more than delighted of what the place has to offer😍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything overall, standards were excellent staff friendly and helpful ,food was very good location and surroundings just perfect for seclusion but within distance of town. a return visit will be on the cards.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit old fashioned. Bathroom could be improved as I felt it wasn't the cleanest.

    Staff were very pleasant to deal with. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An extractor in the bathroom that works would be a bonus but the window could be opened.

    Excellent location near the lake, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast and use of a kitchen for guests if needed.Overall, will be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok ,only one dislike . Room was close to the hall door . So I could hear the hall door been open all the time .

    Excellent location . Beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff . Room was to an exceptional high standard .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very nice the staff we're excellent the rooms could be a bit more modern, you need to bring your own shower gel and shampoo, there was no shortage of towels and the beds were comfortable

    It was located very near the greenway and their was lots of outdoor activities but their was also plenty of things to do inside , when the pool and outdoor educational facilities opens next door it will be the perfect activity holiday for all the family or just for individuals

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really .

    Made to feel welcome. Unhurried. Staff looked genuinely happy and always ready to help. Brilliant breakfasts. Great selection of hot and cold food. Plentiful tea coffee and toast served with a smile. Clean rooms , powerful shower , although a bit dated fine for the price we paid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiles in the bathroom could do with updating, superficial, because the room and bathroom were spotless

    The residents kitchen was a God send when you have a 6&4 year old!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    indoor activities in the evening would be of benefit to families with small children/teenagers.

    I liked the location the friendliness and atmosphere of Loch Lannagh House Breakfast was lovely and staff were very helpful and friendly . the kitchen area for residents was clean and well equipped with coffee tea milk our room was comfortable great nights sleeping the house was very quiet at night considering it was full. very enjoyable stay easy access to main roads for touring and hiring bikes was very easy and staff extremely helpful.highly recommend for families and people travelling on a budget .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We brought our own food as we were planning on having a BBQ which we did but we put some food in the fridge such as tomatoes ham steak and onions. And somebody took our steak and onions. I was raging and was going to March straight to reception but my partner wouldn't let me. The main reason I was mad is because there is a sign to not take something that isn't yours so I figured it was safe to leave our stuff in the fridge.

    There is a tennis court across from the lodge where the kids had a great time and also the playgrounds are great especially the one in the village itself. Breakfast was lovely the staff were great the man serving breakfast on the Wednesday and thursday mornings was very good and so nice.he deserves a pay rise. Also the kitchen where you could cater for yourself was a great if you felt like a home cooked meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little spartan. Part of Lough Lannagh holiday village and feels more like upmarket hostel than a traditional BandB. Sheets and blankets rather than duvetss.

    Lovely staff. Beautiful walk to town via the nearby lake (15 mins). Great breakfast. Clean and with everything you need. Comfortable bed. Spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An onsite bar would have been nice for a place to relax in the evenings.

    Lough Lannagh is set in a beautiful location with Castlebar only 15mins on foot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ronan was great, we were a large group of over 55 adults and kids and he handled it all brilliantly! We had no issues throughout the weekend and would happily recommend it to anyone 😉

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was poorly presented we had to wait for the tea and then the breakfast then it was not cooked and had to wait again for this then we only got some of it and they brought the rest of it then we got the toast no bread. it was a disaster

    the sausages

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Later breakfast ! Even though I was booked in for breakfast I never got there cos it finished at 10am . Too early when you're on holiday !

    room lovely , bed comfy , Ronan great ! Kitchen facility super .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security camera in hall leading to rooms, why was this necessary? Interior Decor of the old house reminded me of a government run old people's home. Which was a shame, as it could have had a lot of character. Bed was uncomfortable with a spring sticking into my back Fittings in bathroom were cheap €62 seemed expensive

    Very clean room and the shower worked well. It was well located at the end of Castlebay near the west port road and Newport road with leafy surroundings Nice Irish breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Great visit

    The Facilities to cook your own food and prepare it were really useful and also provided and excellent area to socialise and meet other guests. Rooms was nice and the water pressure in the shower was excellent. The bath was handy so our Inder 2 year old could have one before bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress uncomfortable could do with replacing.

    Comfortable and clean room. Location just out of town but easy walking distance. Availabilty of Wi fi. Staff welcoming. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was abit of a disappointment. The sausages and white bread need to be changed.

    The bed was comfortable and the room larger than expected. The shower was great too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location the staff were very friendly and helpful and we arrived a few hours early and it wasnt a problem to them to get our rooms ready and let us check in early loads for the children to do we definately cant wait to go back

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nn negative features noted.

    Nice location and lovely lakeside walk and activities within the campus. Central to local shops and restaurants. Very frendly staff and the residents kitchen with complimentary items daily was wonderful. would highly recommend this venue.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are so thin! If you are in any way loud then the whole building will know your business. We had kids in the room above us and we knew exactly where they were at all times, so not good if you've got very little kids.

    Beautiful location and so close to the town. The staff are so helpful and they keep the place running like a clock. The breakfast was so delicious and theres a residents kitchen available if you miss it (though I would advise you not to) 100% would return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trees need a trim around the back.it would help let some light in the room during the day .but not a big deal.i would go back no problem. 👍👍👍👍👍👍

    Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike about Lough Lannagh Village.

    Lovely place to stay... I only stayed one night (as i thought this was someone's home). I didnt realise it was laid out the way it is, and the kitchen facilities etc was fantastic. Ronan who checked us in was 100% efficient in his job, and gave us useful information on what to do and see while we were there..i will definitely return and for longer next time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing. I have serious allergies and the breakfast chef tended to my every need. Young man on front desk gave us exact directions to where we needed to go.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all!

    We were there for Irish dancing championships and so didn't get a chance to experience the bike riding or dragon boat :( staff were so friendly and helpful, very relaxed and felt like home away from home would certainly recommend to anyone wishing to visit Mayo. Conveniently located at the edge of Castlebar so within walking distance McDonalds right beside it -handy for teens! Easy access to other Mayo towns and areas !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so obliging. Our group had to leave early Sunday morning so they prepared breakfast for us earlier than the scheduled time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the sofa furniture

    yes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff - excellent location and value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room

    Michael was fantastic when we arrived very nice person

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities and Paul goes the extra mile.. would bighly recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and quite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast great people friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold , bathroom basic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV did not appear to be working in the room.

    Staff friendly. Food excellent. Room decent. Prices great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect for what I needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no twin beds available as requested same

    good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst night sleep I ever had due to a loud clicking noise that happened every 10-15 mins :/

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather spartan

    OK for a short stay, good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Cois Loch Eanach, gar do bhaile stairiúil Chaisleána' Bharraigh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and friendly the room was very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely staff . made very welcome lovely comfortable rooms and the breakfast was grate value . and in peak season it was super clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities were basic but fine.

    Comfortable, clean & breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anything the bathrooms could do with being updated

    The location was great you were in the town but felt you were in the country side

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,everything was fine nice friendly place

    Breakfast good lovely staff,location good for getting into town.beautiful setting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people upstairs and in hallway

    Good selection of breakfast items

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Bed very comfy, lovely room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lough Lannagh is lovely inside, the area is beautiful. Staff couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the place.

    Breakfast was yummy and plenty for my kids to do around the area. Great location and nice scenery.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the room bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn't do enough for us. Most family friendly place I have ever stayed. Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly. We were made feel incredibly welcome. Breakfast was good too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff Fantastic breakfast Clean rooms Self catering kitchen with mod cons Highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was busy

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    its location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much space in the pod but hey it's not every day you get to stay in an eco pod!!

    Amazing place to stay at a reasonable price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Staff were friendly and professional. The breakfast was very good and overall it was good value for the money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff were amazing, very freindly and relaxed. Will definately be visiting again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too hot

    Customer service outstanding , very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in rooms which desperately needs a serious upgrade, looks like bathrooms haven't been done up since 70's, place is way overpriced

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need some now bed linen.

    Guy on reception was very friendly. Nothing too much trouble. Lady who did breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very helpful staff, got some great tips

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was cold

    Staff-Ronan was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfort of the beds are not great.

    Location is great for young families.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for exploring the regions walks and cycle paths. B&B option is very handy with access to a fully equipped kitchen as well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds slightly hard

    Customer service was great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address doesn't match where it is!!

    Staff very friendly :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and bedroom fitout doesn't justify the 80 euro B&B charge

    Certainly different.....and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Was very comfortable, staff very friendly and was in a great location

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: