Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lough Rynn Castle 4 stars

Mohill, Mohill, Ireland

#5 of 11 hotels in Mohill

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Ease & comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service excellent. All staff first class. Great food.

    Ease & comfort. Strolling at ones leisure. Up keep of gardens excellent. All staff take pride in their work. Customer always first.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    the bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the walls in our room were PAPER THIN. We could hear the people next door coughing and snoring! We assume they cud hear our every move as well so it was not a comfortable night.

    the bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous stately home setting providing great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room non existent as velux type roof window. Not bothered as price reflected this.

    Stunning stately home ambience. Terrific charming staff and 5 star service. Breathtaking lakeside grounds. Large beautifully furnished room and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Situated in nice grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit ‘commercial’ rather castle living, as room was in separate motel style building. The walled garden seemed to lack recent care, expected better with start of spring

    Situated in nice grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    We have stayed in Lough Rynn last year and we loved it,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed in Lough Rynn last year and we loved it, which was why we came here again, and it was as nice as we remembered. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was top notch. We will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Can't wait to return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a fabulous stay! The staff we're polite, friendly and very helpful. The evening meal was top notch, the best food we have ever tasted and our waiter was charming and funny. We will certainly be returning soon to this wonderful hotel and beautiful gardens. Thank You to everyone at The Lough Rynn

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    A really happy family memory for my Dad’s 80 th
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really ..... good quality

    Catherine checked us in and changed my parents room to accommodate my 80 yr old Dad. It was no problem at all .... I should really have pre informed the hotel but didn’t think that the rooms were outside the main house. She was so polite and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would find it hard to say anything negative.

    Very peaceful. Many little places to sit and look at the views. Nice fires and great food. Friendliest staff I have encountered in a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    A Great Getaway!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A spa would be nice!!

    Friendly, accommodating staff who go "the extra miles". Great room really comfy with good night's sleep!! Beautiful surroundings . Returning again for the 7th time so that speaks for itself!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Great Getaway!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great but maybe a spa would be nice!!

    Old meets new!! Lovely comfy seats in drawing room where you could lounge all day with all "creature comforts"!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Tranquil and very peacerulean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it in anyway and looking forward to going back in the summer.

    The staff were extremely friendly. Obliging in every way. A huge thank you to Kevin that kindly gave me a lift to Dromod when no taxi was available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Very impressed a lovely place, would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had some background music or entertainment in the evening in the bar.

    Staff were lovely especially Kevin,he went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Our room wasn't located in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room wasn't located in the hotel. It was based in a near by building, which although was nice, it wasn't as nice as previous rooms we had stayed in within the castle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    Lovely spot for dinner but totally missing a spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom total letdown Sink tiny No were to put makeup on comfortably/ no shelving beside mirror Bathroom was freezing

    Evening Meal was fabulous Bar food was really good Staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent & very relaxing. We were made to feel valued.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all .

    We arrived & were shown to lovely room which looked out to the lake. But very cramped. We asked to be given another room which was dealt with very promptly & courteously and we were given a wonderful courtyard room which was much bigger & close to the room which we had on our previous stay. The staff were, without exception, extremely helpful, professional yet friendly & the food & drink was all of very high quality. We will return!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    My husband and I loved it everything was just perfect for us a relaxing 2 ngts until the next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a window on ceiling had no view so other than that perfection

    Loved that the bathroom floor was heated the food was exceptional the staff was so friendly and attentive the perfect stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing.I have wanted to stay here for a long time, but i would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were put in a room away from the main building. It was wheelchair friendly, which meant that the mirror and sink were too low for us. The shower was a pain due to the chair and low shower head. We hated it. One evening when we came back, the room didn't heat up for an hour or more, it was freezing. We had to get a man to get the television going as it wouldn't turn on. I am Coeliac and told them, but even though i asked for gluten free bread i got 2 poached eggs on normal bread, (even though the toast was gluten free). Then they took it away and brought it back on gluten free bread but it was the same two eggs which i could not eat due to cross contamination. Someone should tell the breakfast chef to look it up. It is really important and can make a coeliac very sick. If a person was on a wheelchair there is no way they could have used the wardrobe or the safe as it was wedged in sideways and there was no handle or key to open the doors of the wardrobe.

    Bed was really comfy. Old part of Castle gorgeous. Staff smashing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used booking.com and booked this as a surprise for my suster. My card info was on line but the hotel charged my sister on her card, so she knew the cost which spoilt the surprise for me. We alsoo got a voucher for dinner for her and her partner and the staff were reluctant ro accept it and wanted to charge them. This unfortunately has made me very reluctant to use booking.com again or recommend it to my friends. The reception staff were not very professional in handling these problems and were in fact rather disinterested. I had also spoken to a lady on reception the 2/01/18. She said as it was a special occassion, she would put my sister and partner in a room in the main building, but this didn't happen either. My sister enjoyed her stay but due to these problems with what was a Christmas gift, I doubt she would make a return visit unfortunately. Hope you find these comments useful to improve the communication between booking.com and the venues you book for.

    Food was delicious, room was lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    We loved every moment of our stay in Lough Rynn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved every moment of our stay in Lough Rynn. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The service and food were amazing. Our breakfast was delicious too and in such comfortable surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    we had a most fantastic time and we will be back to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest We loved every minute of it all.

    Staff loved the fact that it was our first time there.So courteous. Great sense that we were in a very friendly place.Staff seemed to love their jobs.we were pampered.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    We keep going back to Lough Rynn - why? it is simply the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    We keep going back to Lough Rynn - why? it is simply the best on all counts. We decided to sample the "Christmas Spirit 2017" in Lough Rynn with an overnight on the 6th/7th and we had all "Twelve days of Christmas" packed into that 24 hour stay. The important things which created this impression are as follows: The decor for Christmas was just amazing. There is a warm, friendly no fuss ambience at reception which immediatly makes you feel that you have just come in to your own front hall. Staff at Lough Rynn seem to have a huge sense of pride in their hospitality with a seamless connect between management and front of house. We had a smaller cosy room in the house which was just perfect. Claire took complete charge of our care from the moment we entered the bar and looked after our every need in food and beverages. We slept like the proverbial "logs" and woke once again to a calm peaceful ambience followed by a superb breakfast and a thorough read of the daily paper. Our "twelve days" were over and we returned to busy lives nevertheless certain of one thing - we will be back!!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    This place was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place was amazing. Everything was top notch. The staff were super friendly but didn't bother you. The food was really good with a great selection. We will come here again! There is a garden and its located close to the water. We made some great memories with some awesome pictures.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Would really like to plan another visit only for a bit longer next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked absolutely everything

    The atmosphere, the amazing Staff and the surroundings. Stunning place for any type of entertainment eg family get togethers, weddings or just quiet meals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful, luxurious, comfortable, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom fixture/tap in the shower was a bit fidgety and it was almost impossible to get the right water temperature, it was either too hot or too cold to handle. Also the bathroom ventilation didn't seem to be working but the nice tub and warm floor kinda cancelled that out so we practically forgot about the cons :) The hair dryer could probably use an upgrade, though.

    The hotel and its surroundings are stunning. The room was beautifully furnished and the bed big and comfy. The bathroom had a tub and floor heating which was super nice. We took a walk in the garden park around the hotel and it was gorgeous, I definitely recommend leaving some time for that. The breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful restaurant with great attention to detail. The staff were nice and professional. We had a wonderful stay here!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Escapism!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Tranquil, comfortable and friendly polite staff!! Love coming here a few times each year and have done so for several years!!! That in itself proves the quality of the accommodation and friendliness of the staff !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was to our liking, from the staff who were so helpful especially Emma who help me organise our engagement and the little extras that were presented to us. Location,comfort, food 100%.Thanks to all the staff there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was fantastic. It had a separate exit to a courtyard. The staff were exceptional especially the bellman and the hostess in the bar area. Very quiet and had wonderful gardens surrounding for nice walks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Why go anywhere else, go to Ireland and see the wonderful beauty and genuine, friendly people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was wonderful.

    Excellent staff, beautiful location, great for walks and the walled garden, the lough, wonderful scenery, great food - Ireland has it all!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful stay at Lough Rynn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our accommodation was away from the main castle, If the weather was cold, this might be a problem But I noticed they had a golf buggy which they might use for transferring people.

    The approach, it was exactly as I thought a castle should be. The staff, from the chap who helped with our bags, to the receptionist, exceptional waitress. I loved the bathroom, the jacuzzi bath! The louvred windows meant the room, although in the eaves, was very airy. The gardens, amazing. The food at dinner, although choice not extensive, food was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Castle and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful Castle and grounds. Walled garden was amazing. Excellent food and service. We will definitely stay there next time we are in Ireland.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.7
    Very kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed by the restaurant: Good service but unsatisfying quality/price ratio. Bathroom was big clear and it had a bathtub but surprisengly there was no water closet brush! On our behalf, luxury can be found in small things,things we couldn't find there. From our personal experience,it is quite overated.

    Very kind and helpful staff. Confortable room though we had a problem with a wi-fi that wasn't solved during our stay. Spectacular location and excellent breakfast ( homemade cheese and butter) fresh fruit very good salmon, very good croissants. We have been given a four bedroom at a price of a double room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Romantic night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a seewer smell and although we did not mention until checked we were offered no real apology. Bit disappointed with reactions

    Food good staff really very nice. Could not do enough to please

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to recharge your batteries!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked the opportunity to stay in the Castle but this was not offered on the site.

    Every comfort provided. Staff very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Will defo be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu could be a bit bigger and it's a bit out of way. But given it's an old castle it's not something you can hold against anyone.

    Lovely grounds and very nice rooms. Great for going on a nice walk and rooms you can really relax in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    My favorite hotel in Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a limited amount of parking spaces with no lines or markers indicating spots. Therefore, many cars double parked which made the parking situation even worse.

    My favorite hotel in Ireland. The architecture was impressive and the rooms were very comfortable. The weekday price was reasonable and breakfast was included. The walled gardens were absolutely beautiful and perfect for an evening walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic please go you won't be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe could do with leasure or spa facilities

    Every thing was excellent staff food bed really enjoyed our stay at the lough rynn castle would highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    2.5
    Awful service, grubby rooms no wifi or phone coverage and the food was disgusting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's was no wifi or phone coverage in the rooms and onsite I asked to move to another room but they all have no wifi or phone coverage. This should be stated before booking for a business trip!!! I rang and complained to a manager called Kevin who really wasn't helpful and also was really nasty throughout my phone call! Do not book hete

    I wasn't so unimpressed by this property. The place is grubby and the staff were so unfriendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Spectacular castle experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have salmon as an option on the menu, instead of cod. The Moet more than made up for this however!!!!!

    The hotel is beautiful. The staff are brilliant. The grounds are fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    We had a great time at Lough Rynn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't turn the air conditioning off

    We had a great time at Lough Rynn. The staff were amazing, they were very friendly and took the time to spend with us when possible. We enjoyed exploring the castle and grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    very enjoyable two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The soft furnishings need updating bedspreads, curtains, cushions, lampshades. Our room 210 was in the stable block the curtains hang out from the recessed windows which means the light just streams into the room in the morning . We devised a makeshift arrangement with some large hair grips to hold them against the windowsill. A window blind would really make a big difference ( we did mention to hotel whilst there)

    The staff are very friendly and well trained to give good service. Our meal in the restaurant was very good also excellent breakfast. The gardens and hotel setting are beautiful and very well kept if you like gardens the walled garden is a treat.Despite back to back weddings the two nights we stayed, our room was quiet and we were not disturbed at all. The freestanding purpose built events venue looked really lovely. We were not guests at either wedding and had considered cancelling our booking because of the weddings but we were pleased we chose not to.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice place to go to for peace and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room no view.window too high up.bathroom small and cramped.no swimming pool.The hotel had an advert on the Irish independent offering bed and breakfast cheaper than booking .com and a free bottle of wine when leaving.

    Location good.bed comfortable.breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Really super hotel in an amazing setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a room in the courtyard and whilst it wasn't dirty I did feel the cleaning could have been slightly better. The quality of the shower could be improved.

    The staff at Lough Rynn are excellent. I had mentioned that it was our Wedding Anniversary and right from check in it was commented on. We received a welcome letter from the General Manager in our room together with some chocolates and in the restaurant our waiter (who was excellent) offered us complimentary prosecco and chococaltes with "Happy Anniversary" written on the plate. It is the small things that the staff in Lough Rynn do really well but it is the small things that make exceptional hotels. The setting is amazing and the only thing that let it down was the Irish weather! Bed was super comfy. Quality of the food in the restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Beyond a 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish it hadn't rained on the day of the wedding so we could have had a nice photo out in the garden!!

    We liked everything. Absolutely everything. We attended a mid-week wedding and had the ability to come in a day early. Not only is the property amazing but we had a lovely walk around the grounds which were virtually empty. It was fantastic! The bed was huge and comfy, the pillows were great and a huge to with all the free view channels. For an extra 5 euro we got to enjoy an amazing huge breakfast!!! It was pure luxury, especially since it was such great food. The hotel isn't huge, there is enough space for everyone to spread out, lots of hidden little rooms and spaces for coffee, pints and quiet chats. Plenty of benches and tables in the garden areas for the same. The wedding was catered by the hotel and I cannot say enough about how amazing the food was. The service was phenomenal. Not only was everyone very friendly and knowledgeable but to watch the staff serving the wedding was like watching a well orchestrated ballet. It was smooth, professional and like nothing I've ever seen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Affordable luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon checking in we were told to call the front desk if we needed anything. Within a hour we called to ask for ice twice and never got anyone to answer.

    Beautiful grounds and gardens for a stroll. The room was nice with one door leading to an open air courtyard and the other door leading to a common hallway. The morning breakfast was delicious and made to order. I have never seen an omelet as large as the one served to my wife.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    A very restful stay, like going back in time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally I would have loved a room with a view but somebody had to have those rooms!

    We loved the old furniture, the old feel to the place. Do not change a thing! Although I have to say we really liked the luxury of the underground heating in the ensuite! Breakfast fab and we had the bar food, served by a really nice girl. Gardens amazing also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Amazing, Beautiful, Great Food, Great Staff...Room Was Not in Actual Castle :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were put in a room that wasn't actually in the castle, it was in a separate building about 200 meters from the castle. The room was really nice and the stay was nice, but we had booked on Booking.com to stay in an actual castle, to get the experience of being in the castle. We were never informed that our room was in a separate building, so when we arrive and they informed us that we would not be in the castle, it was disappointing.

    The grounds and castle were amazing and beautiful. The breakfast and food were top notch...probably the best breakfast we had in 14 days during our trip. The staff was professional, friendly and amazing. It was a great pick!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Just Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room as beautiful and bed so comfortable. The peace and quiet was delightful. Staff were more than helpful. Beautiful grounds to the hotel and the breakfast is just magical! Worth a visit and we will be back again! :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    With nature and friendly people in the heart of Leitrim
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a breakfast area with a view of the landscape which is really interesting and natuaral

    The staff were excellent, happy, knowledgeable and always willing to help! We were treated as unique!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Our stay was very enjoyable & relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing about our stay that e did not like

    Our breakfast was excellent ... we had a lot of choices to choose from & our bed was very comfy we also loved the gardens surrounding the castle ... it was the perfect place for a relaxing break

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    House and park are magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tiny room and especially the same outdated music during dinner (and breakfast), for example "Richard Clayderman"

    The Lough Rynn Castle Restaurant is really excellent (but not the Music during dinner), you have to go there for dinner, it was impressive! The house and especially the park are magic, it was wonderfull to stroll through the grounds and to the waterfront and see all the old trees and buildings made of stone The staff, above all in the restaurant, was extremely friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous night away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great not over the top like in most plush hotels.restaurant food was excellent, portion sizes were perfect. Lovely bar. Whole experience was absolutely fabulous

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    The reception staff were very friendly,very helpful and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We believe that management should seriously consider connecting the Main Hotel to the Wedding Banqueting Hall and the Managers Residence by means of an underground tunnel or a ground level covered walkway as the present format could be a real turn off for many future guests.

    The reception staff were very friendly,very helpful and very professional. We really enjoyed the hotel and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous stay in Lough Rynn once again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only improvement that I could suggest would be to have bottled water available in the bedrooms.

    Food in the Sandstone Restaurant was fabulous as always with brilliantly attentive staff. In general the friendliness of the staff at Lough Rynn is top level and made our stay even more relaxing, there for every need without been intrusive. The porters take great pride in their work and always available for a chat about the history of the property.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Want to feel like a queen? Stay at Lough Ryan castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Beds were super comfy! Staff was great, friendly and helpful. The front desk attendant was so friendly, she gave is a quick tour and asked someone to help with bags. I'm sorry I can't remember her name , but she was the best!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything..... We loved everything about this hotel and as traveled extensively it's now my fiancé and I favorite place to stay in the world. The staff in particular went out of there way to make us feel like royalty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.8
    Great weekend with first class treatment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost embarrised to mention but wifi signal could have been better.

    Because it was our wedding anniversary upgraded without extra cost. Exceptionally friendly and accomodating staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    Great break from city life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the sofas in the reception rooms need to be recovered t would also have been nice to see more of the fires lighting. Overall though a fab stay❤

    We loved the comfortable feeling we got from the time we walked in. Staff were externally pleasant and helpful. The surrounding grounds are beautiful with plenty of choices for good walks.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in everyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything so I have no negative points

    Absolutely fantastic hotel. The staff were so friendly. Our room was beautiful. It was very spacious and clean. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was out of this world and the staff were faultless. Honestly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    5.4
    Air conditioning unit in room too noisy and we were not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit in room too noisy and we were not happy that our room was outside the main hotel we had to cross the carpark in wind and rain to get to our room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    The nicest, most relaxing experience ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived our room was not in the hotel itself it was across the courtyard in another building. As soon as we enquired about a room in the hotel itself we were accommodated immediately.

    I loved absolutely everything about it..myself and best friend went away for some relaxation time and it was absolutely fabulous.. we went to kilronin castle the following night and we were so disappointed with that experience ... we were both so so happy with everything in lough Rynn, and one of the most noticeable things was the high professional standards by waiters in the restuarant. Excellent. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    heated floor in bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent location, great staff, original furnishing of bedrooms, underfloor heating in bathroom, excellent food and not expensive for the quality involved

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.6
    Got the whole package at Lough Rynn excellent overall .We will return !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed no swimming pool as we usually travel with family and that would be a key point for them.

    Staff were excellent from arrival to departure good rapport at every point of services

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No games for guests to play (chess, cards etc), would be nice addition considering how remote it is.

    All the staff were absolutely amazing (In particular our waiter Janos, great guy)!!! Lovely drawing room with massive fire place, good food and stunning grounds. Really enjoyed our stay there. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    well appointed rooms, exceptional service, beautiful area
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Since I was here for business, I wish Internet capacity was better, not able to send large downloads

    Staff exceptional = kudos to Kevin, Tracey, & Claire, even arranged an early time for me for breakfast, since work took me away from the hotel prior to breakfast serving time. This has been the only hotel I have ever stayed that accommodated food just for 1!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Wow
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike!

    The surroundings, the rooms, the facilities, the staff, there is no end as to what's to like about this amazing place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    5.0
    Unpleasantly Surprised...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. Small bed. Unsupervised children running around. For paying an amount of €230 per night you would expect at least a King Size bed. But no. We got something between a single and double bed. I am a 6 foot 5 inches man and my wife and I struggled to have a good night's rest on this small bed. In a very small room with no bath I need to add. It felt like we we just shoved into the worst room available and forgotten about. What made it even worse was a bright hall light staying on the whole night, shining into our room. And being close to the bar area, we could hear empty bottles being discarded on to other bottles making a loud glass breaking noise. This stopped at midnight. We had a meal in the bar area and the waiting staff threw empty bottles away in this manner the entire time we sat there. This was a total waste of money and I would not recommend it. The outside of the property is very beautiful but the room we had was shocking.

    Interior and decor. Location and outside view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful, wonderful, amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling for 6 weeks and stayed at numerous places throughout the UK and Ireland, Lough Rynn Castle was by far the best. The service was wonderful, food world standard and the castle and grounds just gorgeous. We have promised ourselves another stay sometime in the future.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    When you need a stress free experience this would be hard to beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was too short!will take a longer stay next time.

    Upgrade to Clements suite wow factor, great selection at breakfast, friendly staff and lovely evening meal, hot food was hot , always a good feature. New carpets being put down but very little disruption to guests

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    Love Lough Rynn Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two main reasons I choose the castle was because my sister wanted to experience the library and my mum wanted us to rent bicycles. Unfortunately the library was being worked on, so it was temporarily closed the day we stayed. We did manage to pop into the library for a few minutes before we departed and it was beautiful. And we were informed nicely that the bicycles were in maintainance when we enquire do so we couldn't use them. I think we just happened to book the wrong date for our vacation. Either way couldn't fault the value for money and the journey from Wexford was worth the overall experience.

    Breakfast was the best I have ever had in any hotel. Beds amazing. Room spotless. The location amazing and the staff were really great particularly the waiting/bar staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Sublime retreat in Leitrim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent. They were real....Not a hint of 'have a nice day' corporate insincerity about the place. Just good old Irish hospitality in a luxurious setting...and the non Irish staff were just as excellent.. Food was superb. Room perfect temperature, spacious, quiet, clean and extremely comfortable. Best that we have experienced in Ireland.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for you, organised a private drawing room for us to eat with our three year old. Beautiful place, so clean, gardens are amazing, will definitely be back and will definitely recommend

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    beautiful setting on the lake😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we were not informed that we were not staying in the main castle.this information was not available at the time of booking.??????

    The food & staff were excellent!!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Autumn stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location.Exceptional food.The bed was very comfortable The staff were helpful and very friendly.Very relaxed atmosphere Lovely walled gardens for a stroll

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Great getaway to a castle on a lake with gourmet meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was brilliant!

    Lovely majestic home with beautiful gardens to walk through. Large room, updated bath and comfortable bed. Besides breakfast, dinner and high tea were excellent. Ruins, bridges, and the lake were nice strolls. Excellent staff. Wished we had stayed longer.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Not always a castle stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to stay in a room in the castle instead of an out building. We were not told until checkin that all the rooms in the castle were full, a big disappointment since we booked it as a stay in a castle for my daughters first time to Ireland. We would not have driven out of our way for this stay had we known prior to our arrival since there are many castles to choose from to stay. A very big disappointment for us.

    The dinner was excellent although a bit expensive, but well worth it.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lough Rynn Castle traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: