Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lyrath Estate 5 stars

Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland

#16 of 51 hotels in Kilkenny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1624 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Phone didn’t work in room, nor did corridor phone, nor did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone didn’t work in room, nor did corridor phone, nor did reception pick up several calls to reception making it impossible for us to order room service with a sleeping baby in the room. In fairness the manager did refund our eventually ordered meal following a complaint.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Everything was good till breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. The staff weren't helpful. We were seated at a table without a breakfast card menu. No one explained what could be ordered from the kitchen. We didn't know how to get tea/coffee. Cappachino was served in a normal mug.

    The room was fantastic. We were upgraded on arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    The Lyrath Estate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to queue for breakfast only to be told there where no tables available. We then had to go sit in the lobby and wait 15/20 minutes to be called in for breakfast. A five star establishment should be able to cater to all guests for breakfast adequately in my opinion. Spa treatments are short and overpriced. Wouldn’t use the spa again, just my opinion. I’d recommend the thermal suites as they’re fairly priced and enjoyable.

    The property is stunningly serene. It’s so open and calm. The walking trails are beautiful, the room was clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in. The swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi were very relaxing. Food was delicious. Easy to find, we traveled from Dublin and the drive was only an hour and a half. All staff we interacted with during our stay were extremely pleasant, professional and made myself and my partner feel very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is late being at 4pm There was a bit of a wait for to be seated for breakfast

    The grounds are amazing The hotel is gorgeous and the rooms were fabulous The food in the bar was lovely and the staff very attentive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved our stay in lyrath. We wete there for a wedding and everything was just exceptional. When we checked in, we had been upgraded to a deluxe suite. And it was fab. We couldnt rate the hotel or its staff higher. We cant wait to get back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    A real luxurious treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great range and variety for breakfast but would have liked to have toast served with the tea as one very slow toaster for such a large breakfast room was a problem.

    Top quality hotel in great location surrounded by lovely gardens and grounds but very close to Kilkenny city. The staff were most helpful and friendly and the level of comfort both in the bedroom and hotel itself was really top class.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little tatty stains on the carpet and lamp shades and in a suite you expect better ,there was no coffee for the machine 320 euro a night I'd expect better

    Beautiful place great location fantastic spa and treatments ,very friendly staff ,the food was delicious and reasonable price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    40th celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottled water in the room was Welsh. Surely this could be sourced locally to reduce carbon footprint and support local economy.

    Absolutely everything. Faultless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic! Beautiful Hotel in fabulous grounds and professional and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared a room with my mum and sister. Room lovely but very cramped for 3 adults and price didn't really reflect this. Would splash out on an extra room for the comfort next time if we can. Charge of €15 a wee bit pricy for use of sauna and hydro pool.

    Friendliest and most helpful staff I've come across in a long time! Fantastic breakfast. Food at The Yew Tree and Tuppers Bar both excellent. Beautiful parkland to stroll around. Lovely massage from Jessica at the spa .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Definitely worth a visit, extremely relaxing yet exciting but it's what you make it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When hiring the bikes we didn't seem to come across any cycle track as such however we could have cycled into Kilkenny city and so we plan to do this on our next visit.

    The hydrotherapy pool was amazing, we got breakfast delivered to the room the next morning and it was fab! We also rented the bikes for free and we can't wait to go back and try out the archery as well as so much more. Loads to do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    The service was excellent and the suite was so spacious.
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt it needed a little renovation, we stayed in a suite and there was little things slightly woren for such a highly rated hotel.

    The service was excellent and the suite was so spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful property....out in the countryside. Probably our favorite place in Ireland that we stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside is that when our laundry was returned a couple of items were damaged.

    Outside of Killkenney a bit but it's an absolutely gorgeous property. Beautiful estate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Told breakfast was served until 11.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told breakfast was served until 11. Went down at 10:30 to be told breakfast was finished. Couple arrived in after me and got served a full breakfast. Heat in the room unbearable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Everything from start to finish with the hotel was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from start to finish with the hotel was fantastic. Staff very friendly, room top class and food excellent also. Treatments in the spa were also great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting and amazing food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lyrath is in a beautiful setting. We stayed overnight as we were attending the snooker exhilbition. We were upgraded to a superior room as ours was not ready which was a lovely surprise. The food in the bar was excellent. Battered haddock was cooked perfectly and staff were courteous. The beds were very comfy and pillows too. I would definitely recommend the Lyrath Estate for a relaxing weekend. Oh also breakfast was yummy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful hotel really enjoyed it buttered to book a spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get to spa all booked out very disappointed

    Beautiful hotel really enjoyed it buttered to book a spa treatment a week before and still couldn’t get it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Little bit of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming costume spinner in pool area so swimsuit didn’t dry overnight. Had to wear a swim cap (supplied) in pool.

    Beautiful room, good walk in shower with lovely complimentary toiletries and fluffy towels there were two good restaurants on site, lovely grounds. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was our anniversary and we got upgraded to a superior room and an added bonus of a box of chocolates was a nice touch. The hotel is so luxurious and beautiful grounds to have a stroll around, the staff are a credit to the hotel each and every one of them polite and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Countryside luxury superb food and cocktails very close to vibrant town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing.

    Lovely estate, very good food especially bar and breakfast. Asked for room change as one guest couldn't walk far, gave us a lovely room with patio next to lift, very happy will return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast times change during the week so be sure to check.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast times change during the week so be sure to check. When we checked in we were told breakfast was served from 8 to 11. Monday morning this was correct but Tuesday morning it finished at 10. The breakfast staff were very accommodating and allowed us to avail of what was left on the buffet. We should have been made aware of the change in time when we checked in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyable relaxing we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No pencil found in the writting pad .2 out of the 3 nights staying we recieved a small square of chocolate on our pillow saying thank you .On our last night we were disappointed no chocolates Its the simple things thats make our stay stick in your mind and spread the word Reception did not make us aware that reception was on third fllor A

    All staff were very Proffessional regardless of the rank they held.Breakfast is a must for anyone staying Both walks around the grounds were wonderfull .Given a choice of 2 Restaurants food was good We will be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    This was the last getaway for us before our first baby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the last getaway for us before our first baby arrives. Enjoyed everything from the beginning to the end. The room was bright and big, nice grounds around the hotel to go for a walk. And amazing food in the grill and bar with Susan's great advice to go for the ribs (smiley) Had a comfortable night sleep even with my big bump and breakfast was surely not disappointing too. Would definitely recommend this place to someone who values great service, comfort and tasty food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Given the price., and the supposed "5-star" nature of the hotel - underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stains on the carpet in the bedroom. The fact that an "executive" suite simply means you get a longer hallway rather than the traditional recieving room (though the bathroom is very nice) means I regret paying extra for it... The hotel claims to be "5 star" but the middling Radisson Blue in Stillorgan in Dublin is far superior and makes no such claims.

    The breakfast was excellent. Very good produce.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Wedding stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the little time we had to enjoy the room :( We would love to stay here again, but because of it's price it's something we can't afford to do a lot. It's not the hotel fault but the fact that we need to save.

    Stayed with my boyfriend in this hotel for a wedding, and absolutely loved it! It's a pity we didn't get to enjoy it more, but I'm sure that if we ever get the chance, we will. The way they have mixed modern and traditional is absolutely great, such a stunning place! The food we had at the dinner and breakfast was gorgeous. We also got time to visit the swimming pool, pretty great as well. We stayed in a deluxe double room and it was absolutely amazing! Felt almost like a celebrity. Special thanks to the accommodation assistants for keeping the place so clean, neat and tidy. I personally know how hard that work can be, and how little people recognise it. The rest of staff were very nice and friendly as well. Bit pricey, but worth all the money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    A birthday visit, and a wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife tried to book a spa treatment but all booked out, and the bed in our room was just 2 single beds pushed together, meaning an uncomfortable ridge down the middle

    The venue itself is beautiful. A wonderful location and the room itself was wonderful. The only downside was that we did not get to meet the dogs! ☺ Strongly recommended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff, very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool was not accessible between 12:00 and 16:00, which was disappointing.

    Excellent staff, very friendly. Beautiful location, great for walks. Very good breakfast. Quiet rooms, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money. Breakfast included also was a very good buffet. Upgraded to the executive floor which was a nice surprise. Very friendly staff especially Susan in the grill restaurant who fitted us in as we were late arriving

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that you had pay extra for the thermal suite. Not much signage on the floors to guide you in the right direction. It took us ages to find the thermal suite as we didn’t take the lift.

    Lovely hotel, staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Our stay at Lyrath was a highlight in our two-week stay in Ireland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing!

    What a beautiful facility! From the grounds, our room, the staff, everything & everyone was five star! The lovely staff was so accommodating, we were truly spoiled. The room was large, quiet and the beds were perfect. My only regret was that we only booked three nights! Thank you, Dave & Susan Hummon PS. The falconry experience, recommended by your staff, was extraordinary. And, I loved the walks around the grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall very enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was part of wedding party.On arrival was not quite sure where drinks were served so ended up paying at bar

    Comfortable bed.Spacious room.Two lovely retrievers to meet and greet visitors at the front door

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel , good staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Thie Lyrath Estate Hotel is excellent The grounds are lovely. The restaurants and bars are very good too. It is probably one of the best we’ve been to,in Ireland. It is about 2.5 miles from Kilkenny city. Would certainly stay again and can highly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely setting, lovely staff, nice hotel but not 5 Star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was a bit small, the wardrobe was tiny and had a front to back rail instead of side to side which was awkward. The air conditioning unit wasn’t working properly so the room was uncomfortably warm for a lot of our stay. The pool area was disappointing and didn’t feel like other pool areas I’ve been to in luxury hotels. It was very functional but didn’t feel very comfortable. The robes in the room were old and frayed. We still had a lovely time but for the price we paid, I was expecting luxury.

    Staff are really lovely and friendly in the Lyrath. The setting is beautiful which makes for a very relaxing break. The food at breakfast was good (maybe not five star, but good) and we had a nice meal in The Grill restaurant which is a great space with really friendly staff and good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    The Spa was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although generally a nice hotel at best I would deem it to be average compared to other hotels in Ireland

    The Spa was fab... although you have to pay extra to use it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, so peaceful and such comfortable room. Dinner at the bar was perfect and we found the whole place extremely good value for the quality and overall experience. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Incredibly relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like

    Excellent facilities. Staff totally professional. It has a wonderful relaxing feeling. Beautiful walks outside in the estate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in grill bar were rude and not helpful No kids channels on tv Gym very small Gym & pool close during the day from 12/4 pm The grill bar has awful staff and service No snacks served at bar

    Comfortable beds Spacious rooms Good bar food Good location Good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    So much potential and disappointed it did not meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor service (20+ mins for a glass of water), room not ready at 4PM, extra charge for spa, extra request paid in advance for room was forgotten....

    Great breakfast and dinner, large comfortable bed, friendly dogs....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    One of the best hotel experiences...ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property and exceptional service. We loved the extra care shown by the staff to make our stay truly memorable. The handmade toiletries are amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely spot, attentive staff and a lovely break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was slightly hard to get in touch with the front desk for things. My partner called a few times but got no answer, when we was looking to book a taxi into the center. I know they were probably very busy at the desk,but that was definitely something I noticed.

    The reception and bar area was lovely.The terrace outside was very nice ,we sat out there for lunch. We received a lovely bottle of wine and a card in the room, as it was our anniversary (which is why we booked our stay). The bathroom is fabulous. Large,deep bath and a wonderful strong shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Probably not a 5*, but a very good 4*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was the biggest disappointment. Expected more from a 5* hotel.

    The hotel and grounds are lovely. The food was quite good: breakfast excellent as was food in the Grill Bar. The Grill Bar was probably a touch on the pricey side but good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff seem to decide at what time the bar closes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seem to decide at what time the bar closes. We understood that we could get a drink at the bar until a late hour. The bar was closed early because it was quiet This is not good enough for a five star establishment Loved the visit but we should have been given a room with a view as these rooms were not occupied Best of luck Noreen and Emma

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and area. Couldnt thank the staff enough for all the help with a special day i had planned. Very helpful friendly and nice. Had an amazing stay and everything went as planned. The spa is amazing and the whole place is very well kept and extremely clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel - would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think there was anything we didn't like!

    We received a fabulous welcome by a lovely chap called Tom who parked the car and took us up to our room. Tom didn't just go through the motions, he was very informative too. What an asset to the hotel he is! The bar staff were great too, allowing me to sniff some of the different gins before deciding what one to go for! Unfortunately we had a very early start the next morning so we didn't get to fully explore the hotel. We did have breakfast delivered by room service though which was super.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of a trip into the city but nothing too bad. Staff helpful with taxi too.

    Friendly helpful staff. Nice grounds to walk around. Nice room and

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent romantic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very spacious, with a monster bathroom. The bed and pillows were really comfortable. The staff were excellent, really attentive and genuinely friendly. We really felt that they wanted to do everything to make our stay better. We ate in both restaurants, the food was excellent. Buffet breakfast was also very good. Really enjoyable stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Really nice hotel for a quiet break away. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a fault of the hotel as such but we couldn't use the infinity pool or spa facilities as it needed to be booked in advance and was booked out. So disappointed but our own fault I guess for not realising sooner.

    Beautiful grounds, very nice staff,food in the grill was lovely, as was breakfast. The bedroom was very nice and staff even had a bottle of bubbly ready for us for our anniversary. Lovely touch!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are really not 5 Star level

    Great availability of Coeliac suitable food and a separate toaster at breakfast - this demonstrates a great understanding of this auto immune disease and the need to be aware of cross contamination! So well done Lyrath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location with wonderful facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location with wonderful facilities and surroundings .Bedrooms and bathrooms excellent .Restaurant food very good and reasonably priced .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant and very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to close the curtains and turn the lights on to get changed. A net curtain/blind would have been helpful.

    The room was so comfy and welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful relaxing needed more staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the bar for mario rossenstock was not able to cope with crowd. Needed more staff on. Met people who said they ordered food in grill bar and after 45 min waiting walked out with no food as wanted to go to concert

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    lovely stay in the hotel, we ate in the Grill restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think it’s ridiculous that you have to pay to use the vitality suite if you are a guest in the hotel, have stayed in many 5 stars and this is the first time I’ve seen this.

    lovely stay in the hotel, we ate in the Grill restaurant and it was superb! Breakfast also very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Pure luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for two nights and can’t fault a thing! Amazing food and the spa experience is better than anywhere we’ve stayed including other five star hotels!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing treat we didnt want to leave, definitely be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with our stay maybe more coffee in the room but other than that great stay

    Staff extremely helpful and professional. Spa was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    the grounds are stunning but the quality of the hotel did not meet a four star standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bog standard hotel room..so dissapointing. The room did not meet the standards of a 4 star. We have stayed in hotels that offer way more quality than the lyrath.The carpet in the room was not clean and neither was the window.

    The grounds were stunning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Wow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I actually couldn't fault anything in this hotel.

    I loved everything about this hotel. The staff were exceptional; nothing was ever a problem. The facilities were excellent and our room was amazing. We will definitely be returning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    My stay in the Lyrath Estate was amazing I will definitely be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall but wasn’t a big issue we needed to get a taxi into the town, it’s not a long trip but was the only negative I can think of

    Restaurant was excellent the food was amazing, bar area was great and the whole structure of the hotel was fantastic the grounds etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    I loved absolutely everything, strongly recommend, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved absolutely everything, strongly recommend, the staff couldn’t have done enough, the room was spotless and so comfortable, the food amazing. Just a beautiful place, can’t wait to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Decor, comfort, newly refurbishment, bar and grill with live...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rate should have included access to oasis suite.

    Decor, comfort, newly refurbishment, bar and grill with live music, variety of eating options, lots of extras for kids e.g. Cinema, pool room as well as leisure centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Such a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just being picky, the carpet in the room was a little stained and slightly damaged. When we were having breakfast, our half empty plates were removed from table while we were still sitting at the table. The staff didn’t even ask if we were finished. Would expect more from a 5 star hotel.

    Hotel surrounding was lovely, such a great view. Food in The Grill was delicious! Lovely room, very spacious. Smart TV, could watch Netflix.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous short visit to Kilkenny
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable!

    Stunningly designed and decorated hotel. The comfiest bed and bed linen ever. Fab breakfast and dinner in the Grill. Our waitress Jessica at dinner was lovely. Ross provided the fabulous music snd positive banter and Susan, restaurant manager was lovely. Very friendly staff. I think we checked out with Sandra who was also friendly, chatty with a lovely welcoming smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    High price does not mean good service
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front of house staff really let it down. We were told that we could eat in any restaurant. Then when we asked to book a table in the new restaurant we were told it was not available. We then looked at the menu for the available restaurant down stairs. It did not appeal to us. I then asked for recommendations for places to eat outside of the hotel. They had none. Suddenly then a bar menu became available, even though we were told there was none. However, an on duty manager overheard the conversation and approached myself and my partner and squeezed us into the new restaurant. There was a handful of available tables during the full time we spent there eating our dinner. So, I'm not sure why we could not eat there in the first place. Access to the spa is an added extra, and it wasn't until I asked the next day about it were we told. This was not explained when checking in. I've stayed in other hotels with higher rated spas and you're not charged extra to access the spa. I think we were giving incorrect information about the Breakfast time. We were told breakfast was only until 10am on Bank Holiday Monday. We arrived on time. Other guests were arriving in for Breakfast up until 11am. It was far from a relaxing breakfast before home time, the waiters (men in suits) were sprinting around the room after each other. I wouldn't mind the service at breakfast was very very poor. So they weren't doing much, just looking busy. Very disappointed giving the price that we paid for our stay.

    The food was good. The room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Special place. Quality, value and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the food we ate at breakfast , Grill and bar were excellent. Sad not to have fine dining restaurant, as booked to celebrate and only found out on the day that it was shut.

    Great location. Comfy clean and spacious. Lovely jolly staff...and the dogs, ahhh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had eggs benedict for breakfast and whilst it was nice - I think it would have been much better coming prepared from the kitchen rather than buffet style

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4oc check in ..Being moved from the restaurant to the residents bar and then to be moved from there to the reception area and it wasn't late.Didn't find moving twice relaxing ..

    Staff .rooms. food fabulous. reception area .old house ..decor. golden retrievers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Two couples woke us and our son up in the hallway late at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two couples woke us and our son up in the hallway late at night, a bit more respect for people sleeping wouldn't go astray, also they were well in their fifties so common sense would of been nice. Same two couples were so loud at dinner time it was impossible to enjoy our meal and I could see other people were getting annoyed by this also. We are regular guests at this hotel and this is the only time there was a problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Very spacious rooms and en suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise that visiting the spa incurred a €15 charge, just to use the pool etc. (Leisure pool was free).

    Very spacious rooms and en suite. Good attention to detail e.g.lovely handmade soap. Food was great. I had the lunch on arrival,dinner later and breakfast next morning -all to a very high standard. Lovely spacious lobby. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Fab hotel 3rd year returning :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your staying in hotel you should not be charged to use the spa as it costs €15 if your not having a treatment.

    Friendly staff, comfy beds, food in restaurant gorgeous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spot on

    The food was amazing. Proper modern healthy twists on traditional Irish fare - especially the breakfast. We love that it is family friendly yet the place is not over run with kids. They have the balance spot on

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, friendly staff and nothing was a problem to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe some snacks in the bar for having with drinks but really not. Necessity

    Great hotel, friendly staff and nothing was a problem to them. Very welcoming on arrival and allowed us to check in early. Food was excellent in both the bar and grill restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    5* restaurants in a 4* Hotel but would still return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public pool could have been better, its a shame to be expected to pay to access the indoor/outdoor pool that is available but yet the privacy of it was nice. The bedroom was big spacious but dated mattress was not comfortable and TV was not a smart tv only free to eir channels with not options to pay per view.

    The restaurant was amazing, food and service was top standard. The staff was amazing and always willing to help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice location, in a very nice setting, SPA is very good, food and service is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, maybe this was because it was Easter but there were a lot of kids around and many of the walls are old and reflect all of the noise back into the rooms.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, quality of food was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice and pleasant stay but expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small which was not expected for the price. The hotel leisure pool is average. Images on the website are the spa pool not the one accessible to guests. Reception often had no staff.

    Buffet breakfast was excellent. And the hotel itself and surrounding gardens were beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was all good

    Lovely hotel great ambiance- beautiful setting and a great place to spend a weekend. Lovely breakfast both days. Used the spa facilities which were great. Staff were very helpful and arranged a taxi for us. Great showers and we had a balcony room with a nice view of the gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Well worth it..
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first being put beside a console room had disappointed me thinking of noise when trying to sleep on as I had only came off night duty that morning but it was pretty quiet so no actual complaints.

    Staff were great, room and view was amazing and the breakfast was gorgeous and well presented..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay but I recommend keeping 4 (not 5) star expectations in mind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the food was disappointing, from the breakfast to the bar-food, it was average flavor at best. The new Grill restaurant was much better with great cocktails but still not 5 star quality. Although my massage was great the thermal suite facility is very small and dressing rooms were not well equipped for the volume of people visiting. The hydrotherapy pool is lovely however couldn't comfortably fit more than 4/5. It's definitely not worth the €15 entrance fee.

    The reception area makes a positive initial impression and the lounge areas in old house are enjoyably peaceful. The breakfast selection was great although lacking in flavor & freshness in my opinion. The house dogs are a great touch if you like pets. Very good facilities for families. Nice location, close to Kilkenny but far enough to feel the country vibe. We had a spacious & clean bedroom, a nice bathroom with a walk-in shower and large bath. There is a separate toilet too. The bed was very comfortable although pillows were not to my taste.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: