Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4 stars

Headford Road, Galway, Ireland

#31 of 42 hotels in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2343 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    The rooms and facilities are okay, nothing fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and facilities are okay, nothing fancy. It's located around 20 minutes walking distance to the center, or a 10 Euro taxi ride. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again, but it was fine for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Room, food and staff were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 4pm, check in was from 2pm, room not ready until 5pm. Air conditioning was quite poor. Tiny fan, was told after asking that it was working just not very strong and also couldn’t open windows so room was permanently hot in the hottest part of summer. Bought my own air con unit and then it was better. Breakfast tray not collected until 9pm after calling 3 times from 7pm.

    Room, food and staff were good. Shower was awesome. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    fab hotel never slept in a more comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    little bit far out from city however bus stop just outside hotel which goes every half hour into eyres square.

    fab hotel never slept in a more comfortable bed. The bathroom and shower was amazing. Just ate dinner in the hotel just a pizza but was the most amazing pizza staff were fantastic. Highly recommend for cleanness and comfort. good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money accommodation with good facilities and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was a little far from city centre but this was not really a problem as it was easy to book cabs via reception and these came promptly.

    The reception staff were extremely personable, friendly and helpful. All the staff were very responsive to our needs. The facilities were very good but the staff set an excellent tone to the hotel and were it's greatest asset.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower wasn't working properly as it would lose total pressure every few minutes. I was told to leave it running for 10 minutes before each shower which wasn't a satisfactory resolution at all. Breakfast was only satisfactory, not a great selection of fresh fruit at all, we were down at 9am one morning and even then the food hadn't been topped up. There were no pastries left at all or sausages. We had to pay extra for a cappuccino also. When i ordered room service from the bar i was told there would be a 5euro delivery charge which is unacceptable! I had just paid 360e for two nights service, i would definitely not agree with charging customers for room service. When the room had been cleaned in the morning our used towels were taken away and not replaced either.

    Receptionists were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Large clean room with twin double beds,Great shower,Air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we ordered off the set evening menu and for two courses it took almost ninety minutes,there were several other customers who were left waiting for ages aswell. loads of servers but there seemed to be a breakdown in communication,,also the ramp into and out of the car park is tight. There were refurbishment works ongoing at the time of our stay but not really a inconvenience,V nice hotel

    Large clean room with twin double beds,Great shower,Air conditioning was a bonus in our mini heatwave also a mini fridge in the room,Tea/coffee/safe always handy and a good selection of tv channels,RTE ITV etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    It was Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room doors closed very loudly all the time If I stayed in a room there were nothing to do ! Was poor without gym facilities and swimming pool

    Everything was ok and there were no gym facilities and swimming pool That was a bit boring when I was staying. Staffs are most of them very friendly and helpful and food are very tasty. Around 30 mins to walk to city center Eyre square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Not worth full price booking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first the water wasn't hot we were told to leave the shower on for 10 minutes (waste of water) still it was Luke warm. After complaining we were told that they had increased the boiler. When we showered the next morning there was no cold water... And the hot water burnt me. So the temperature setting was an issue... But that could have been just our room.

    Good location. Walking distance from the hotel to the town centre. Helpful staff. And an okay breakfast. Just not worth a full price booking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    It was "OK". Location good, room good, food & service not so good. Not great value.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food. Breakfast was self-serve/buffet which personally I don't like - I prefer table service, especially after spending €209 for just one night B&B. The breakfast items had run out by 10 am (Sunday) so it was not possible to have all the items to eat at the one time. The restaurant service (staff) were inattentive and not so good. We also had an evening meal which was about acceptable but not good.

    The room was comfortable, silent and clean and had air-con (very important). There was underground parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for a short break in Galway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window in the room was frosted so had no view

    Although a little way out of town a good bus service is a short walk away The beds were comfortable The bathroom was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King and Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning kept shutting itself of so you woke to a hot stuffy room. Cups were not taken away and renewed with fresh clean cups in the room.

    Staff were amazing, so hospitable, and professional. Meals were okay, the staff more than made up for the average quality of meals. Presentation in the dining room was immaculate! They should be proud of their exceptionally clean glassware etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing, comfortable stay in a lean friendly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast average. With one hour left for breakfast, supplies seemed to be running low. Had to ask for bread and pastries to be restocked. But when it was, they were very tasty and fresh.

    Bed very comfy. Was expecting twin room with 2 single beds but got pleasant surprise with room with 2 double beds. Room very clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff behaviour is irresponsible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff behaviour is irresponsible. They charged my credit card twice. After checkout I phoned and asked for clarifications. They promised to find out and call back same day. They didn't call. Next day I phoned again and asked same questions. I got same promises. And again I got no call next day. Such behaviour speaks for itself. Staff does not value customers and doesn't keep promises. I prefer not to stay in Maldron hotels anymore.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    I was there with my family to visit Galway and surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was lengthy,I came in early and told them to be back in such and such time but still room was not available and they have to make calls to the house keepers ,This all made check in lengthy and unprofessional.Also I was with family and made "a special request" which was never considered btw.Last but not the least is that breakfast was substandard to my knowledge

    Parking and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Maldron Hotel, Sandy road - Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the rooms. That's really crazy. It was really hot and I had to go down to the bar to get ice. I found this really inconveniencing. By the third time going down to get ice I just decided to stay up in the room. They need to ensure they have fridges in all rooms. I travel a lot and this is the first time I have stayed in a room with o fridge.

    Everything else was good. There is ample parking. The bar is great. Breakfast is awesome. You can also lounge outside. Very lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location for our needs. Excellent refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on day 2 wasn't a patch on day 1. Maybe different staff? Or stuff had run out? Still OK but not as good.

    Great location. 15 minute walk to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.0
    The staff make the hotel! 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    We stayed in one of the new rooms...very comfy..but a few blips with sockets and tv and aircon not working....but got sorted when we informed reception. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay...even the workmen on site had a cheery hello!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice, relaxing stay, close to main city centre(10min walk)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It might be stupid to mention but the Plates for your breakfast were cold so your hot food went cold far too quickly. This was the only thing that I wasn’t happy about

    Rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. It was also very quiet Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    Not a great hotel for what is being charged...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King and Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was bad, too basic for what is being charged. Very must out of town...

    We booked the Maldron only to be told to drive to another building as there was building work being carried out in what we thought was the hotel we wanted to stay in! The room was dreadful, amenities are awful. Very out of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small claustrophobic room,small double bed,bad smell in room which meant a bad nights sleep,a small person wouldn't be able to see themselves in bathroom mirror it's so high up on wall,in our opinion not a superior double room but an adequate room for a tall single person minus the smell of course

    Free parking,breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay once issues resolved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff needed further training. Position of hotel our of town centre not good - need a taxi.

    The Senior Management were helpful and charming and put themselves out to resolve some issues with junior members.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Generally okay for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was a little average generally. Often with buffets the food is typically a bit cool particularly the breakfast. Hard to avoid. Workmen still busy around the hotel.

    Very large room. Recent refurbishments and airconditioning which was great with the recent hot weather. Wheelchair accessible bathroom and room worked well. Free underground parking. On site restaurant with reasonable food. Friendly helpful wait staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely smashing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't told about renovations in the hotel when I had booked a room.

    Excellent place to stay, would recommend to anyone looking get away for a few days. Staff were really nice, place was clean. Overall good place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable stay in a very pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the bed too hard but that's just a personal comment. Some of the bar staff really didn't appear to know what they were doing.. This then led to long waits in ordering and receiving what you asked for. Reception staff were very efficient.. Smooth and effortless.

    Overall this hotel was a pleasant experience.. Good location and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.5
    Had a lovely happy time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything more I would need Perfectly satisfied

    The food was fresh big variety and very tasty The staff were very friendly and very helpful The rooms were very comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    The family room was huge and well equipped
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were rude and condescending both at check in and also when I asked for the room key to be reprogrammed at it didn’t work from the minute I got it

    The family room was huge and well equipped

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Very much enjoyed our stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King and Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very much enjoyed our stay . It’s obvious that there is continuous work happening in the hotel and hopefully it will be finished to the standard of room 6 on the ground floor where we stayed .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Great staff and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk girls were so helpful and even booked dinner reservations for us. Kind enough to book us a room in another hotel when we decided to extend our stay and they were fully booked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel...would defiantly recommend it. Location was ideal only a 10-15 minute walk from town and very easy to get taxis in and out. Staff couldn’t be more friendly or helpful. Hotel is currently under some work, we were put in one of the newly refurbished rooms which were Devine!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Better for business than leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window. Cleanliness - the room wasn't vacuumed and seemed dusty. On the first day, there were cleaning tools all around the hotel and a member of the staff almost threw a garbage bag on us when we were on the hallway.The location of the hotel is far away from the city, same building as a gas station.

    Huge bed very comfortable. Good programs on TV. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Will be good when maintenance finished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tatty bathroom fittings and damaged fridge cabinet with a missing door. Contractors using hammer drills early in the morning.

    Quiet room comfortable beds good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door on our room didn't close properly, so after housekeeping had been there, we found it open. We did tell the management, so hopefully they've fixed it by now. Room 206

    The beds were very comfortable and the drapes kept the room dark in the morning. Breakfast was quite nice - a full Irish breakfast buffet with gluten free bread available. We did have to keep the AC on all night so the comforted weren't too hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay with plenty to do and see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reconstruction work was going on and it could be quite noisy on occasions.

    Very nice room with comfortable beds. Nicely decorated room with a very good ensure. The breakfast and evening meals were very good value and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very poor, I was asked by what appeared to be a manager in a grey suit, " would I.like anything else as he took away my plate , o asked for a drink from the bar and he didn't order it, went to bar 10 mins later and bar staff member was rude

    Location for work

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were lovely couldn't have being nicer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was grand but there was dust everywhere and the duvet cover actually had a rip in it but other then that there was no problems with the room

    The staff were lovely couldn't have being nicer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Really nice stay in this hotel despite the improvements...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much bad I can say

    Really nice stay in this hotel despite the improvements going on. Staff were great and made us welcome. Wish we could stay longer but had to move on with our journey

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    The food was delicious, the rooms were fab & the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under construction at the time of our stay the rooms were down a dusty hallway with barriers & badly signed

    The food was delicious, the rooms were fab & the staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Great Hotel, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No face washers

    Hotel was clean,bed was comfortable with nice crisp sheets, comfortable pillows. Large tv. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Short walk to shops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were very poor just didn’t have an interest in what was going on While uthers were excellent It’s a pity that a few are bringing down the minority

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Wish they hadn’t been remodeling when we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being remodeled. When we arrived they had just laid new carpet in the hallway and the off gasing from the carpet was burning our eyes and giving us a headache. They moved us to another room on the next floor. Upon returning to our room after touring the town, the next day, they had torn out the carpet on our new floor and laid new carpet and once again we had to deal with the fumes. We talked to the manager when we were checking out, he apologized and offered us a free breakfast, but we had already paid to eat at the hotel.

    Enjoyed the breakfast. It was close to a bus stop to catch a ride into the city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    The work done is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting woken up by a fire alarm at 7am and no phone call to apologies or even an explanation when we went for breakfast. Builders were always occupying the smoking area as well as covering the seats in dust. The bathroom was not cleaned properly after renovation, floor needs a scrapping.

    The work done is really nice. Room size isn't bad and good space for luggage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and Comfortable near City Center Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hallway was a bit disruptive and noisy during the day as it was under construction but quiet at night.

    We stayed two nights on 3rd floor room facing the front. Room was clean, spacious with a comfortable Queen bed, desk and chairs. Fair size clean bathroom with all the provisions of a good hotel. Location next to a mall with plenty shops and within 20 min walking from City center. Friendly, helpful staff. Great breakfast with plenty choices of hot and cold. Overall a good hotel near the City with plenty underground parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Not what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King and Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly I have stayed at these premises before and was very happy they put me into one of their refurbished rooms which does not have a bath the shower spills everywhere as it’s not sealed off properly with a door. I’m not happy to have a room with a shower only. The gym is still under renovation and they refer you to a paid gym down the road or a gym in a different area where you need to drive I don’t think this is reasonable. Pity I really enjoyed my stays at this hotel in future this won’t be a top choice for me.

    Staff were great and helpful check in handled well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    We found the hotel staff excellent. Know when Renos complete will be sought after place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appears the hotel is under renovation and had a number of tours in at the time. As a couple travelling breakfast took longer than expected otherwise we enjoyed our stay very much.

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a weekend getaway! Close to the city, very clean, spacious & comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Later checkout ;)

    We stayed in a brand new room, it was beautiful! Very clean, comfortable and spacious, also in walking distance to the city, couldn’t ask for more!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Close to city centre and hospital for work and staff were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was under stocked as they had had large coach groups take a large proportion of the foods

    Close to city centre and hospital for work and staff were extremely helpful for busses new renovations are great particular The bathrooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to note

    Breakfast was excellent; hot and cold options; fresh fruit; healthy, delicious start to the day. The General Manager exemplified excellence in customer service. There was a bus stop nearby for easy access to Galway’s attractions. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    From the time we arrived to the time we left everything went so well for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything you need is there and its quite staff very friendly very happy

    The hotel is very well situated in walking distance to city we walked in to city in about between 10 to15 minutes and it all on the level very happy will go back again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Good, but thought would be be better because of star rating and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was having refurbishment work done, which were not aware of, so messy inplaces. The sat nav took us through an industrial estate which coloured our first impression. We were late going for breakfast and food was a little dry from sitting in heated trays. The price was not reflected, once refurbished I'm sure it will be fine.

    The bed was apparently new and was very comcortable. The lighting was good in the room and the staff were very friendly. Free parking on site a bonus. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Bad start . Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went to the wrong Maldron. Surely the names could be different? Arrived at a building site and were given a disability room. Should not have happened but was quickly rectified.

    The friendly and very cheerful staff made up for a terrible start. (see below)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    When we arrived there was a lot of renovations going on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived there was a lot of renovations going on. Our room was on the same floor and right beside the work which took away from our enjoyment. We understand the work has to be done but a small gesture from the hotel would have been appreciated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Very enjoyable just a pity about the building work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was renovation's being done at the hotel .which wasn't very nice .if we had been told this we could have delayed our week away for a later date

    The staff were lovely & very helpful .our room was lovely &comfortable & her clean .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    Hope its better when refurbishment is complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work going on every day starting 7am. Bar area poor and breakfast at just after 7am was cold. Not good when charged 10 euros each.

    Room was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    Alex
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked that the girl at the reception was very unfriendly and I booked the room up but she gives me downstairs and I am very disappointed and here is very disturbing

    Clean was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    I would not stay there again or at any of their other locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Specifically asked for room with fridge - fridge didn't work. Specifically liked how the pub looked in the photos, due to construction that we were not aware of when we selected this hotel, the pub was a small room normally used for conferences - same with the breakfast room. No washcloths One elevator was out of order.

    Bed was comfortable Staff was very nice and tried to be helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    We like this hotel, for convenience, friendliness and cleanliness, recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside of the price for the second night, because of Ed Sheerin being in town, we love this hotel, all is very good! PS, We did mention that the Air Conditioning was very loud, but the hotel has already this in hand as they had someone coming in to sort it!

    Originally we could only book one night, as Ed Sheerin was in town the 2nd night that we had hoped to get. We enquired about booking the 2nd once we arrived and did get 2nd night but at double the price. Disappointing as we use this hotel regularly. That been said, we love this hotel, it is very clean, the staff are very attentive and friendly, the hotel is very comfortable and buffet breakfast is good. Hotel being refurbished at present and starting to look even nicer than before! What more do you want you ask? Location you say, perfect really! All in all, a very good package, will definitely stay here again!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Ed Sheeran was great shame about the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed that building works were ongoing. Hence being woken up in morning. Needed more bar staff at night .If you’re going to up prices for a premium concert you should definitely put on more staff and at least run the breakfast longer in the morning .

    A good taxi service outside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices high for all local hotels due to Ed Sheeran concert So had paid a higher than average price , Some building work on site and our floor , one lift out of order so had to wait while builders unloaded plaster board and tools from lift on Monday morning , they did apologise Some building work noise when woke up Monday

    Great Staff and excellent service Newly refurbished Bar and Restaurant , very nice breakfast , loads of free parking in underground car parks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Didn't eat there or coffee but was excellent for the one...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lift didn't work the other one was half working . The renovations caused big disruption.

    Didn't eat there or coffee but was excellent for the one night stay we had there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    2.9
    Truly a nightmar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were, there during the renovations,the temp bar was awful ,no lounge to dine or drink in,builders noise,dust,no hot water in room ,we had to resort to the hotel across. The road for a relaxing drink.

    Breakfast ,plates cold ,food poor ,temp.room no widows,poor atmosphere,no music,staff doing their best and understaffed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was served in a function room with no windows...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was served in a function room with no windows or natural light. The food was lukewarm and quite tasteless. The bedroom was fine if a little small, the area of the hotel that it was in felt like it was not quite finished and had exposed electrical sockets etc on the corridor. The need to use your room key to access corridors in the hotel was also offputting and made me feel less secure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to some renovations, room wasn’t easily accessible and had a door banging all day/night due to this being the only access to the elevator. Complicated signage to get to different areas of the hotel

    Very friendly staff Very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    It will be a great hotel when building work is completed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not informed of the ongoing construction work upon booking.. This resulted in a temporary bar and breakfast/dining room amongst other disruptions. Our room was not ready for check in at 2.30 pm having just driven 200 miles. As we were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary (the hotel had prior knowledge) we were then verbally promised one of the’new’ king size rooms. We were actually given one of the ‘older’ bedrooms.

    The hotel is a 15 minute brisk walk to the city centre. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    The pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front of the hotel was a garage selling petrol. The hotel was quite a distance from the city centre.

    The pleasant and helpful staff. The underground car park was appreciated when we were loading luggage as it was raining.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    50/50 lovely staff poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- being put in a room where renovation is happening outside our room window 2- no running water for one night 3- uncomfortable beds

    Loved the staff very nice and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin so sound travelled a lot from corridors and adjoining rooms. I was never told there was renovations and builders when I booked. The temporary restaurant and bar were very depressing surroundings with no windows

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    A forgettable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took 20 minutes to get into the underground car park because construction workers were blocking the entrance. There was no hot water either on the eveing of arrival or the following morning. That was finally rectified but it meant staying on after the 12 noon departure deadline. This was initially - and forcefully - declined by the manger on duty. Not a pleasant experience on this occasion

    Stayed here two years ago and it was fine. This time, the place was a building site with construction workers outside, a makeshift residents' bar and a staff that appeared harried and unable to solve the problem of no hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    It was good
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get my wake up call the morning we where leaving . €5 extra for tray changes for room service. Asked for extra coffee and milk didn't get it.

    It's was great. We where 15 min walk from the square

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.2
    Wont be going back due to lack of communication. Very bad lay out off hotel and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better information on booking.ie about wether or not the hotel was under construction. We didnt have breakfast included but if we had of known there was no actual restaurant or bar when checking in we would of eent elsewhere for the night!

    It was a little break away after a long year with our 3 year old. We werent expecting the finest hotel but the restaurant was very poor and no bar facilities as such. It looked like it was under constuction but we never got told this at reception or when booking. We were very dissapointed. We had to go back in to the city and ended up having diner in Supermacs !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Undegoing improvements.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The menu was very limited and not very inspiring. One evening I had to wait over an hour for my meal which was extremely poorly cooked in an almost empty restaurant, the staff however were brilliant and made sure this never happened again during my stay. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment and the gym was closed, neither of which was I informed of when I booked and if I had known I'd have probably stayed elsewhere because I would have liked to go the gym as this was one of the amenities I wanted.

    The staff were very friendly and attentive and responded well to issues brought to their attention. Despite the refurbishment all the construction staff were very polite and friendly and did their best not to disrupt guests which I thought was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    Hotel with unstable quality.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt get room i booked, even second trial after going to reception, again he gave me twin room instead double room. Terrible sound out of ventilators in the yard all day and night. Reconstruction of the hotel : noise and dust every working day. I dont understand how csn they charge full price for that. I have seen the rooms after reconstruction.... modern but uncomfortable. No table to do office work....really inconsiderate designing. Yet i must be wuite expensive. Such pitty.

    Quite close to the centre. Stuff is kind. But they dont really know whats going on in the hotel. Probably the chaos off the reconstruction.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Good stay and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that renovations were going on and that maybe could have been explained a little better. The noise and outside jobsite

    Staff and room were all good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed at the lack of comfortable facilities (as hotel being upgraded). Would like to have been told as would have found alternative hotel to stay in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    2.5
    Horrible everything !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there in this hotel For 3 nights then i have emercency call so was leave hotel after one day. They told it is not problem gave to me back money For 2 nights back. And then when i was leave they didt. I called there sever times. They didnt give me money back!! Horrible hotel !! Never again ... they are here so confused about everything !! Dont recomended!!

    Horrible everything !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.4
    Dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction work going on in the hotel that we were unaware of. An email should have been sent to inform me of this. I would not have stayed there had i known this. We were woken by the noise before 9am both mornings which we found very frustating as we were away to relax and have a lie in. Also because of the construction work there was stuff every where outside the hotel which made it close to impossable to get down into the parking, there was very little room.

    The room was nice with lots of space

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: