Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mulroy Woods Hotel 3 stars

Letterkenny Road, Millford,, . Milford, Ireland

#4 of 4 hotels in Milford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 546 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel,very clean,rooms are very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Lovely hotel,very clean,rooms are very comfortable.very nice bar/restaurant with good food and the staff are very friendly would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cooked to order is always preferable to a buffet. But the buffet was ok.

    Great staff - barman in particular is very good at his job. Comfortable bed. Good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel except for the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was cold and the sliced bread definitely wasn't the freshest

    Everything except for the breakfast was great, there was a really nice lady at reception when we checked in she was lovely & helpful, the lads in the bar were nice, the room was perfect lovely & clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Clean rooms comfortable beds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was awful. Soup was great. By 25€ steak was inedible. I asked for well Done but what I got was dry bland no seasoning my steak knife couldn’t-go thru it. Roast potatoes on plate was like a rock. Fries undercooked. Only good thing was coffee.

    Clean rooms comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    this is just a small thing but I like that shower gel, soap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this is just a small thing but I like that shower gel, soap ect are supplied in a bigger fixed to the wall container instead of many small plastic containers and sachets that are just end up us rubbish in the bin.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Our stay was very enjoyable and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too warm! But then we are used to sleeping with the window open.

    Beautiful breakfast. Lovely setting for a hotel, out in the countryside yet not far from Letterkenny. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    liked everything about the hotel.

    the food is brilliant and the staff are friendly and very helpful you are made to feel at home from you enter the hotel at the front desk and every member of staff goes out of their way to help you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy throughout the night, sleep was disturbed several times. In the car park found that empty beer glasses and cans had been left on top of our car.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was served quickly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Huge room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel but in the middle of nowhere. I have asked during my booking for the room on the top floor but received room on a ground level with the few on the field.

    Huge room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor meal and service for wedding not enough food to go around table when asked for extra told straight up none left so some of wedding guests had no vegetables or bread rolls meat and roast potatoes cold

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel- great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure facilities would have added to the experience

    Food was really good and the decor was tastefully done and fresh. Lovely staff and clean, spacious rooms. Had a lovely stay - would definately recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.0
    Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv had no signal. No extractor fan in bathroom. Really dirty glass in restaurant,was not given the chance to order dessert bill presented to us hastily. Had to pay for room on arrival,not good. Won't rush back.

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    The cleanliness of the hotel, the helpful, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault anything. From being greeted at reception to our greats nights sleep everything was fab.

    The cleanliness of the hotel, the helpful, friendly and efficient team that work there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    A lovely place, clean & spacious room with lovely decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv channels were mainly radio stations, the breakfast was very basic & cold and the location wasn’t within walking distance to either of the next two villages. You were stuck to the hotel for some nightlife and that consisted of mainly elderly couples dancing. The music was just not to my taste.

    A lovely place, clean & spacious room with lovely decor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Lovely place, most helpful and caring staff, great atmosphere and fabulous food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to report, we have in fact booked anther stay in August!

    Food was excellent, staff went over and above to ensure that all our needs were met. There was a delay one night on our food due to a large party being in, but staff kept us updated and apologised profusely and everyone who was kept waiting got free Prosecco.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    quality hotel with good accomodation in the right place for me
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mistake in booking given 2 floor room soon resolved for ground floor

    nice restaurant - good meals - lovely room on ground floor - quality hotel - car parking adjacent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Very quiet area not far from letterkenny or fanad head ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar man that was on at 12 that night was terrible sat in the corner chatting up 2 girls and never bothered checking was there people looking for drinks the girls hadpoint to us and he served us like he was in a rush and ran back over to them we got up and left 👍🏻

    Very quiet area not far from letterkenny or fanad head ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Excellent staff - very friendly & helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in the room - no ironing board or iron & we had to get the key cards changed twice. We also got told at breakfast that we had not paid for breakfast ( which we had !) We had almost paid for a superior room and our room was of similar size to our other friends who had paid a lot less than us

    Excellent staff - very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, will be returning soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't think anything more could have made a difference, breakfast was great, the waitress was perfect, anything we needed she got for us.

    The staff did it for me. It was exactly what we expect when we spend time in a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    For the price this hotel was far below expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly, let me say that I emailed the hotel twice to discuss the issues below before putting this review on booking.com - I have received no response or even an acknowledgement of my emails. This is actually no surprise, consistent with the poor customer service of our stay. We had the following issues: Room was on a non-smoking floor, though people were smoking on our floor - we could smell it through the corridors. Poor breakfast - limited variety and low quality. The hotel’s alarm went off at 11:30PM waking us up - apparently it was an error, no apology from the staff. Between 2:00 and 4:00AM there was a guest / other (?) walking loudly through the corridors knocking on doors - hotel did nothing to address the issue.

    Really poor value for money - if the hotel was half the price, there would have been more to like about it. At these prices you can stay at far better hotels or B&Bs in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Good base for touring the north west shores of Lough Swilly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Mulroy is a non- smoking hotel but there was a stale (old) dormant cigarette odour noticeable in the bedroom which needs decor and bathroom updating. Bedding was clean as always but the mattress was uncomfortable/lumpy.

    Good base for touring the north west shores of Lough Swilly. This was our 3rd stay at the Mulroy Hotel. Only 20 min drive to Glenveagh National Park and Gaeltacht area / West Donegal Coast accessable within a scenic 1 hour drive . Friendly staff and weekend entertainment. Breakfast served up to 10.30am and 12 noon checkout is a bonus. The Mulroy has good selection of beers -serve up a great pint of Guinness and restaurant food is good. The nearby village of Ramelton has great pubs with superb live music at The Bridge Bar which also serves great food ( need to book ahead). Nearest beach at Rathmullan ( 10 kms ) where you'll also find nice restaurants and pubs .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    No one at reception when I arrived, I went to the bar and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one at reception when I arrived, I went to the bar and got a room and key organised 116 after walking there which is quite a way they keys never worked. I went back to reception and the bar then just sat at reception for 10 minutes where I was given new keys and I walked back to the room and they never worked ! So back to reception again 5 minute wait again, I was not happy I said I wanted another room much closer as I suffered with my back . I took my keys 216 and found he had put me up stars in the room furthest away, was he trying to be funny ?? Over half an hour to get in a room late at night ...motor good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, great staff, ambience, food, attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything - no complaints

    I loved the décor in the room, the staff were so friendly, attentive. Food was excellent, lovely ambience throughout. Will be visiting again. Congratulations of staff and management on your service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    We were there for a wedding and the staff, food, and décor...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of our room was too close to the function room where the dancing and music continued until 1 am. Others who stayed over for the wedding said they were not bothered by the music so it was just our location.

    We were there for a wedding and the staff, food, and décor couldn't have been better. The function rooms were large enough to accommodate everyone without any crowding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Mulroy Woods Hotel is a real gem and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fantastic, Staff are brilliant and always smiling, food in the bar and breakfast was beautiful, best Pizza I ever had, huge portions. Bedroom was clean and like new, Deco is beautiful throughout the hotel. Best value hotel I have stayed in without a doubt.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable bedroom. Lovely breakfast. Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the taps on the shower were very complicated to use. A set of instructions on how to use them would have been useful. The name of the hotel is also misleading. There are no woods nearby.

    The ham and cheese in the continental breakfast were the best I have ever tasted

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    No lighting for reading or using desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lighting for reading or using desk. Just one desk lamp or moveable floor lamp would have kept me for needing the emergency headlamp I carry just in case.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of Road noise when window was open. but that couldn't be helped as it is situated near road

    The reception staff was absolutely fabulous in this hotel very obliging and couldn't do more for you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Quite pleasant but could’ve been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food portions could’ve been bigger, there wasn’t much chicken in my chicken curry and my girlfriends chicken Goujons were very dry like they had been reheated. There was a big hollow/dip in the middle of the bed.

    Staff were friendly. Entertainment- monster bingo was a laugh

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    good value nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast staff not as friendly a smile 😊 costs nothing

    Restaurant staff lovely breakfast good evening menu not great portions too large was overcharged on bingo night a lot of hotel areas closed off could do with more entertainment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Mini break for wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism would be that I would have liked bath sheets rather than bath towels to use in bathroom as I like to wrap up in a large towel after a bath or shower.

    Great location for exploring the area. Great hotel. Great food. Lovely helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    warm friendly efficient service,plus food stunning and entertainment excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    what could have been better was the breakfast staff who was a foreign lady very unhelpful and no personality..I drink bloody marys and really like my tomato juice but there wasn't any and they werent any pineapple juice as an alternative for my vodka.the guinness was not good my brother said and wanted to go elsewhere because of it..maybe barrell needed changed or something im not sure but a good guinness is important to impress people from all over especially tourists from UK or USA or anywhere in the world..

    the whole staff and accommodation at our stay was superb..the food was excellent and the service second to none..the manager gani was excellent he looked after us while we were there and the bar man behind the bar Paul was an excellent bar person and Hughie.. the reception staff was very helpful and efficient and would definitely recommend a stay here anytime of year.we were very happy and in a great central location to town and to Ramelton letterkenny and to the main town milford.the music playing was excellent on saturday especially Trevor Loughrey he played country and western and all the irish traditional songs. we also were close to the travellers inn another great pub in town and great music on sunday night..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed in the evenings so only bar food available. The bar was crowded and difficult to get a table. Only one vegetarian choice on the menu unless I had pizza.

    Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    We loved the homely relaxed atmosphere, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the homely relaxed atmosphere, the staff were lovely and very pleasant, the food was amazing well done to the Chef and his wee son what a team they made.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The staff at this hotel made our stay brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, very helpful in all areas from check in, the lady was one of the best receptionist I have ever encountered. The night porter Travis was very welcoming, accommodating and friendly - a fantastic hotel that is great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange chemical smell from cleaning upon entering the room. Couldn’t get the hot water working for the shower, so we couldn’t bathe. No blow dryer for hair.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is just too far for anyone wanting to walk elsewhere for a drink or food /shopping

    staff were fantastic ,very helpful and friendly , food was top notch

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    I would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area is too public and there needs to be more front office staff for checking in/out.

    Lovely breakfast and we weren’t rushed to finish.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Stay was very relaxing,Food good and staff very friendly.Will return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television reception poor.Electricity went out several times throughout the evening,

    The beds were very comfortable, a great nights sleep.Food in lounge very good, excellent service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing, refreshing break in a beautiful part of Donegal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our deal was for mid week . Wish we could get same offer at weekends .

    We had a ground floor room which was very roomy and comfortable. Loved the excellent lighting.The decor was amazing, especially the picture of the master stag.We had a wonderful breakfast with so much choice.We will definitely be back .Thanks for a lovely break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, clean, good value, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Woken at 6am by guests outside the room, doors to stairwell close with a loud bang, could be fixed easily.

    Comfy clean spacious room, friendly & helpful staff, good value, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Exceptional B&B on par with a 4 star hotel except more homely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    The warmth of the welcome and the absolute comfort of the B&B. Beautiful breakfast. Room and en-suite - very high standard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    Never again 😟
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    OMG ask for a toasted ham and cheese sandwich staff said NO they don't do it so my husband was going across road to petrol station to buy sandwiches on the way out he said he was disappointed hotel did not make Toasties but the floor manager said said that yes they did!! So he sorted it out. At 4am three people two males and a female we're roaring at each other absolutely twisted on booze in room across from us room 210 and no one did anything about it. My husband had to get up to tell them to be quiet. Breakfast was mediocre not a pleasant stay won't stay again.😞 Came away feeling tired and no one was at reception when we went to drop off keys.... quiet stay NOT 😒

    Receptionist was lovely to deal with 👍

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, great food, amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mulroy Woods is a beautiful hotel, clean, tidy and finished to an impecable standard, the restaurant serves incredible food, cooked to perfection using fantastic produce, this applies to the breakfast too. The staff are all so friendly, happy and willing to help, I cant stress enough how great our time here was. Mulroy Woods would still be a bargain at twice the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    A great wee escape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door lock was damaged so had to use a key - bit tricky. Saw another visitor struggling too.

    Great food; Large room; late check-out time; location was perfect for the purpose of our visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    An excellent short stay in comfy well equipped rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent short stay in comfy well equipped rooms. Excellent food served by friendly and attentive staff. We will certainly return for a longer break.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Great would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't offer dessert or coffee after our meal

    Bed vert comfortable though heating not working in bedroom 303 it was warm enough from heater in bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Ideal as a base but need to go elsewhere in the evenings for atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms cold and hotel in general felt cold. No ambience or character which was very disappointing as this was what I was looking for going by the web site reviews.

    Staff friendly. Rooms clean. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    If the Mattress was better quality I would have no complaints and would highly recommend the place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mattress on the Bed was terrible. It was a cheap mattress, badly sprung. The WiFi was poor but that probably isn't the fault of the Hotel. Unfortunately Broadband in North Donegal is appalling.

    Staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and the Coffee was superb...that was a very pleasant surprise. The bedroom was spacious and spotlessly clean. It was very good value. As a base for exploring north Donegal by Car it's ideal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent! I'm happy to recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    All of the staff were particularly friendly and good-humoured - so much so that they extruded an impression that they all (including the management) shared some secret and on-going joke that brought smiles to faces every time two of them met as they went about their tasks. Overall, one got the impression that the Mulroy Woods was a happy place to work and this in turn made it a happy place to stay from a customer/staff interaction point of view. I will certainly stay there again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Great base to explore Fanad Penninsula and surrounding areas. Glenveagh in comfortable proximity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First room we were allocated suffered from some unknown background noise which persisted through the night. On advising Reception, they investigated and then arranged to move us to an alternate room with no fuss whatsoever. As an incidental observation, the first allocated room only had one available power socket. This was limiting when seeking to charge mobile phones.

    Very warm welcome in Reception on arrival and host was knowledgeable and very helpful with regard to local events and places to visit, including making phone calls on our behalf to get information on local events that evening. Bar and dining room staff were also very pleasant and eager to assist in any way they could. Breakfast had a good choice and restaurant menu had plenty of variety, food was well presented and was reasonably priced. Bedrooms were quite comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and TV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay in Mulroy Woods Hotel
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-all good with the hotel. The review dated 21 September 2017 was not from me.

    All the staff were friendly and helpful- from Shauna at reception to the staff in the restaurant. The rooms were very nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Donegal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent, very well presented and always hot. For me I would have liked a little more choice

    The location of this hotel on the Wild Atlantic Way was excellent. The hotel was very clean, the staff were brilliant, very friendly and always helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Had a lovely time would recommend it for a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one complaint about the whole weekend. The toilet seat in room 206 was pretty poor it was chipped and discolored. A very small expenditure would have solved this problem.

    Staff were so helpful with suggestions as to where we went and giving direction

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was supposed to be served till nine thirty but at nine o clock we were told all finished. Was disappointed and starving especially disappointed for my daughter who was with me.

    The bed was huge and very comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value for the money. Big rooms. I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was really wonderful. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We arrived late and the girl at the door was really helpful about what to do the next day and knew a lot about the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable break in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband had a broken leg which I let the staff know about before hand. We were given a lovely room on the ground floor with disabled facilities.From the receptionists to the bar and restaurant staff we were so well looked after in a pleasant caring manner. We found the atmosphere in the hotel very cosy and everything was spotless We enjoyed their bar food menu very much and the breakfast was very good. Lovely hotel for an Autumn break

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Galore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all great ;)

    Very nice hotel, very large and spacious room. warm, cozy, friendly. much of the premises is already modernized, but not all. but even the 80ies style room we've stayed in was great. amazing food, great breakfast - highly recommend and well worth the price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff at reception very kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position. Hotel in the middle of nowhere. I was looking for a hotel in the town of Letterkenny instead the Booking website found this hotel in Letterkenny Road. Fortunately it was a good hotel.

    Staff at reception very kind and friendly. Very nice room, big and clean. Ample parking. Value for money. Warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel stay at a reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy fire doors to push through in the corridors- I thought they were meant to be held open with the magnet holders until a fire when these magnets are released and the door closes?

    Room was spacious and well serviced with great bathroom, comfortable beds and tea making needs. The restaurant served great food at a good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Dinner was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was excellent. Just what we wanted. It was obvious the chef took pride in it. Breakfast was great too. All staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel very clean lovely staff bedroom very spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm during the night even with heating off unable to open window as wedding was in hotel that night so We could hear music

    Lovely hotel very clean lovely staff bedroom very spacious and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Reception staff charming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ate there on both evenings. Food was just OK. Maybe it was just the nights but staff always seemed to be cleaning around us. In fairness they gave us a free bottle of wine because we had to move.

    Reception staff charming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great stay at this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to have had a mini fridge for our beverages!

    Beautiful hotel! The room was lovely and had a super comfy bed! The breakfast was very nice and there was a lot of choice. Also the food in the restaurant was amazing! All staff were also very friendly. The hotel is situated in a great location. We really enjoyed our stay and are already planning our next trip!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant hotel, well located for sightseeing and staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately due to "computer error" one of our rooms was double booked leading to new guests entering our room - bit of a shock for all involved. However staff very apologetic and we all enjoyed our stay. Would stay there again.

    Good location for travelling out round the beautiful countryside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room with double and single beds. Large bathroom with bath as well as shower. Ate in hotel restaurant; food very good but service a bit slow as busy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    An ideal break in Donegal . Don't look any further!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to get away from my "normal" We experienced summer weather, stunning beaches, unspoiled scenery, traditional cuisine and an array of exciting outdoor walking trip. We also mustn't forget to mention that the beach is just a short drive away from our hotel,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    really excellent three nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be great to have water in the room

    The service is always excellent and even though the menu is limited the quality of the food is great, and the staff will always try and accommodate your requests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Any issue or query was dealt with efficiently by the staff.

    Myself and my partner stayed at the mulroy woods for two nights, while attending a wedding nearby.. the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The food overall at the hotel (breakfast and dinner) were excellent. Great spot for a quiet relaxing trip with lots of attractions for sight seeing nearby. Highly recommend staying here.. the rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff are the best thing about this hotel! Excellent customer service skills.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Convenient location before reaching the Northern Irish coasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very welcomed just before 9pm, last limit to order an evening meal at the restaurant / pub. Very large and nice comfortable room (2 beds) & bathroom Breakfast ok, evening meal ok, parking ok Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.4
    very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food and service in the restaurant was atrocious, food awful, we thought the food would have been fresh but the burgers were frozen, Bar service poor, no one there to serve and advertised cocktails but couldn't make them, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, we have stayed in lots of hotels in Donegal and this was our worst experience ever, will not be staying again,

    The hotel was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    the restaurant was excellent, which you wouldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you are at the front or side, there can be road noise.

    the restaurant was excellent, which you wouldn't necessarily expect from such an enormous hotel out of season

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    the young girls behind the bar and in the restaurant were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room could have been a bit better updated

    the young girls behind the bar and in the restaurant were all very helpful and very good at their jobs, excellent service all round

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.5
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found nothing to be dissatisfied about

    We ate breakfast and dinner there for our 3 night stay and the food was excellent the rooms were quite big the staff were top notch very helpful,full of information of places to visit around the area, i can see us revisiting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay apart from price difference as we were on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price quoted for two ppl bed n breakfast 103 sterling but on arrival hotel charged an extra 12 pound sterling for that day's rate against euro and advised to book directly with them in future! Not impressed with price change.....

    Liked all aspects of hotel including room staff and food

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: