Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clayton Hotel Silver Springs 4 stars

Tivoli, Cork, Ireland

#22 of 28 hotels in Cork

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1900 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was to have anything to pick on it was just I didn’t realize the pool wasn’t at the hotel

    The staff were so friendly yet professional. It was very family orientated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for a night away for our 4th wedding anniversary and having booked last minute our hopes were not crazy high! Our check in was super fast and the lady at reception could not have been nicer. Got to the room and to our surprise we had both robes and slippers on the bed and a knock at the door seconds later with a platter of cakes and buns with happy 4th anniversary on it. Couldn’t be happier and cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got food in the bar, we waited 30mins for it and when it arrived it was over cooked and had to be sent back.

    We visited the hotel for a concert and they ran a shuttle bus direct to and from. May our trip alot easier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too hot and not very clean. Bar had barely any drinks and electricity kept going in the room.

    Location was fine because a shuttle was organised by the hotel to the concert but wouldn't recommend for someone wanting to go into the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No trays available at breakfast for some reason.u have to carry ur bowls,plates down with ur hands,it takes a few trips,it’s a bit distracting and annoying

    Good choice of breakfast food. Dinner was lovely,staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not aware that the leisure centre was not in the same building as the hotel at the time of booking. We drove five minutes to it, but would have been a fifteen minute walk uphill otherwise. Not exactly the kind of trek you want when using the hotel facilities. The food in the bar was pretty bland.

    The room was lovely and clean as was the bathroom. The staff at reception and in the bar were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the bar was appalling. The quality of the food was poor and the price was ridiculous. The windows in the room were extremely unsafe for small children. The pool and changing rooms need updating.

    reception staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were advised prior to arrival that the pool was open until 10. We have an autistic child who loves the pool and this was a deal breaker for us on arrival we were advised the kids had to vacate the pool at 7.30. The pool facilities themselves were very shabby. The food in the bar was very poor. The adults ate theirs as we had a long day and were starving but the kids meals were i edible and most of food as returned on the plates. The Wi-Fi did not work in the rooms and their was no children's tv available in the family room be were in 432. Having eaten very little the night before the kids were looking forward to some pancakes only to be told for breakfast that they had ran out of pan cake mixture.

    The rooms were v clean and comfortable and reception staff were v friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and bed were very small and the room was too stuffy, arrived to heat hitting us going into the room. Opened the windows then left for a few hours, came back and was still the same. Didn't sleep great for the 2 nights because of this..

    The staff were fantastic. Food was absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely hot. Normally this isn't a problem in Ireland, but at the end of a heatwave we really felt it.

    Great hotel with excellent breakfast options. It's located on the edge of the city so very handy for motorway access. We walked into the city centre. It was a lovely walk in the sunshine and took us about 45 min

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room607- Room was far too hot and small. -Breakfast was not fresh in the mornings, cooked breakfast was dried out -The swimming pool and leisure center were 10-12 minute walk away from the hotel even though the hotel was advertised as spa hotel. - the glass lift smelled of sick for the full 4days, - The TV remote didn't work properly and didn't have a sleep timer. -The shower pressure was awful, had to fill the bath to rinse my hair. - water out of the shower smells stale. -Hotel was a drive away from city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Anyone booking this hotel BE AWARE - THIS HOTEL HAS NO AIR CONDITIONING IN THE ROOMS which we found very surprising, and poor, for a modern day hotel. I haven't really heard of a hotel these days without air conditioning? I found the rooms very, very hot. Uncomfortably so. The staff are also lacking in friendliness, which is surprising as I was told about the friendliness of the people in Ireland.

    This hotel has a prime location, and is good for commuting to the centre of Cork. The food is of a very good quality here, if lacking a little bit of atmosphere. I booked this hotel for a trip en route from Galway to Cork. This had a prime location with good parking. The city was close as was Blarney castle. BE AWARE - YOU NEED A CAR TO CIRCUMNAVIGATE IF YOU ARE STAYING AT THIS HOTEL.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was in was awful, couldn’t sleep with the noise from all the fans/motors on the flat roof. Baby was up half the night. No air con and couldn’t leave the window open with the noise.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely hot room at night. Windows open, but no fan or aircon. Was very hard to sleep. Toilet seat was loose. Room was only dressed for two occupants. We were a family of four.

    The room was tidy, if a little tired. The hotel was quiet and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had paid for breakfast the night before as we had room only booked. We were looking forward to breakfast after the standard of food we had the night we arrived. Breakfast was a huge let down. We were greeted by a rude dark haired lady carrying pastry's in her hands , no gloves! Asked us what room we had, then in a very rude manner and instead of calling reception , she told us we were room only . The woman then called reception and never came back to us. Not once did we hear good morning! Once we had gotten our breakfast on a very ill set table ,our hopes for a beautiful breakfast was crushed, this was not 4 star service.

    Room was 2 warm even with 2 fans, but very clean and comfortable. Staff were lovely, we ate in the bar, both waitress and barman were outstanding along with the food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, very old carpets stained , very old furniture-late "80 , windows old and not functional-you could hear everything from outside. My husband said that it seemed that we were sleeping în a tent. No fridge. Dirty towels , full of hair. Breakfast -same every morning. Not rich, I would say very simple. But the staff was realy nice , very helpful. A lot of dust all over, beds, chair, table, everywhere inside our room. First night no hot water. Very expensive. For 3 people, one night 172 Euros? Too much for what the ofer. Not deserve 4 stars. Maybe 3 ? But I am not sure.

    Large beds. And confortable. Large parking space, Lovely terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was insanely warm with no air conditioning. There was an oscillating fan provided but that just blew out warm air and for obvious safety reasons, the Windows only opened about 3 inches. Other than that, everything was brilliant.

    The staff were super friendly and the location was perfect for the activities we had planned during our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception staff was rude. There was no AC in the room though they advertised that the hotel is fully air-conditioned. The swing pool and other heath facilities are way out of the hotel building one need to climb a hill before they get to the facilities. The hotel is located on a busy road and it get very noisy during the rush hours. Limited transport links.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only down fall of whole trip was on your website it shows playground and indoor play room, my son was so excited to get there n see these, so when we got there to see fencing like a construction site around the playground with a gate thats wide open onto a carpark :( i was very disappointed and then to be told by reception staff your indoor play room for kids wasnt open until the winter months :( this was not stated on your website :(

    staff are so friendly esp reception and the restaurant , i had my mum and my 5 year old son with me for my birthday treat night away . staff were so good, food was exceptional slept like a log

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room very stuffy, hotel dated, one staff member in the bar very rude when asked for the breakfast menu he answered you will wait a minute.

    Close to cork city, free parking, most staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing really. Very disappointed with rooms being dirty also windows with mold also rooms smelled and were dump. We got change for another room not much difference...for the money you charge not worth it and for calling 4 star hotel i would rate as 1 star.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms. First room had a terrible smell of dampness. Second room was fine but on checkout we were informed that we had been upgraded and a gift left in our new room. Neither actually happened and it appears we were put in the wrong room.

    access to the fitness centre. Three minutes walk up the hill in the grounds of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was a disappointment .Too long a wait and the lamb shank was so tough and undercooked despite the long wait .Not enough staff serving and they never come back to see if you are happy or need anything else

    The room was fabulous great space great bed slept like a log .The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a hot time when we stayed so the Guinness could have been colder :-)

    Excellent Room & Bed. Good Breakfast choices. Bar facilities. Outside city but short taxi ride to city, €12-15 one way. Outdoor smoking areas. Car Parking spaces. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was cold it was a nice hotel but not for a family hotel because the food very expensive nice but €58 for 3 people to have lunch and 3 cokes is a lot and the shower bath was frezzing my child felt bad gettin in it was that cold I said to reciptation they said they send some1 up to cheak the never did

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite jaded. Couldn’t open the window in the room as there was some sort of fan that came on and off continuously overnight. One waitress covering the bar. Took 15mins to get a menu. We have a 2and a 3 year old so quick service is essential. Not the girls fault, she was going as quick as possible. We booked the hotel as it claims it has a pool. It doesn’t, it has access to a leisure center. Although we only paid €109 I would have paid 30-40 more to get a pool onsite. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for families with small children.

    Room was spacious and two double beds. Just got too warm and we couldn’t open the window

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slow, bar area uncomfortable and the fact that the heating in the room could not be turned off it was very dangerous with a four month old baby.

    Location, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in very sunny stuffy room windows opening directly on to busy road and train line, Extractor fan in bathroom not working Tea and coffee tray : room set for 3 people , on arrival 1 sachet with crumbled cookie No drinking water Biscuits not replenished rest of stay

    Comfortable bed friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms needed a little extra care, nice but bland and extras (water, toiletries) left wanting. Main hotel perfect, decor nice. Just the rooms didn't quite match the rest of the hotel. Bed comfortable tho.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay. We were "guests of the day" (some random thing) and had a lovely welcome platter of macarons waiting for us in our room. The front of house staff were so plesent and welcoming. The room was great, nice size. I forgot my phone charger and only had the cable part from my car, was delighted to find there was the USB connection on the PowerPoints meaning I was able to charge my phone with just the cable :) Bed was comfortable, pillows suited my preference perfectly and I slept like a log. Our room was at the front of the building and we had a view of the river. Fantastic value for the room. Unfortunately we didn't have time to stay to try the afternoon tea but that looked to be great value also as €14/20 per person (without/with alcohol beverage) Will be back. Oh also, my mum got a taxi from the city centre to the hotel and it was less than €10. Nice and close to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to move rooms because of no internet connection, they were cobwebs all around the lights, the bed moved & there was loads of dust & dirty underneath, the Windows had mould on them & the pool you had to drive to it.

    The staff where nice & the food was delicious & hotel in good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I couldn't get warm water for the shower, and the shower only from the top ( very high) doesn't make things easy for people who are under six feet!

    bed extra confy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was half renovated. Not clean. Hair all over the bathroom when we arrived. Chairs in room were very dirty from other people spilling food on them.

    Breakfast buffet was worth the money. Lots of options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location as it was advertised as 0.9 km away from stadium when it is actually nearly 6km of a walk to get to it so advertised wrong cost us a long in taxis for the time spent there

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad staff, room 103 is very bad, noise and very warm in the room...very bad view form the window...air conditioning pipes in from of window...i can not sleep all the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very noisy hear everything outside traffic etc as Windows were old. Over priced for what you get carpets dirty and old. Thanks God it was only one night. Flies on the window frames.

    Breakfast was low lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff in the restaurant and bar are very slow. took about 15 minutes to get a menu in the restaurant and the bar was worse!

    Hotel was lovely, bed was comfortable. very clean, loads of parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was sugar added to the Orange juice and the orange juice was not fresh, I would think for a 5 star hotel this would be a must have at the breakfast.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small but comfortable. Management watched on while a child went from table to table in the restaurant looking for sponsorship. This really isn’t acceptable. Manager did apologise but should have controlled the situation sooner. Food only average.

    Great value for money. Nice bar and lobby area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not serviced no tea coffee or milk in room after day 1.room service on Saturday tray with leftover food was still in room when we left on Monday.not good????

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I emailed and phoned ahead of my stay to ensure a fridge was made available in the room. I was assured it would be there on arrival, it wasn’t. I also requested a ground floor room only to find that they didn’t in fact have any rooms on the ground floor. The layout of the hotel isn’t friendly to people with young children or to those with disablilties.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff came to make up room just after 08.00 one morning...a bit too early I think!

    The manager was very welcoming and upgraded me unrequested to a really nice room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant/bar staff was very unfriendly and rather rude, also rhe location is not that great if you want to see Cork city

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy and it looked and felt like a 2/3 stat hotel. More than once my food came in dirty plates and filthy cutlery. The bedding had stains on it and the corridor smelt awful. I was so worried about getting ill at this hotel because of the obvious lack of hygiene there that I ended up eating out as much as possible.

    The staff were super friendly and professional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about the stay! I couldn’t fault ye

    Everything! The polite and very helpful staff, the gorgeous food, clean room comfy beds! It was amazing and be sure to be seeing us back soon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not withing walking distance of the city centre, thats not necessarily bad, but good to keep in mind. You have to take a bus back at night.

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. Breakfast only started at 7am. Rooms were melting warm. We had a baby with us so couldn't leave window open cause of draft.

    The coffee was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the gentleman at reception was not friendly. We paid for the two nights on checking in so we thought. But on checking out it turned out that he only booked us in for one night. Because of this our keys were blocked after the first night. Plus on checkout we had to pay for the second night. They also tried to charge us for food we did not get. The breakfast was dreadful. The dust in the room was very bad and the heat was to much even with the radiator turned off. The bar staff were not very friendly and took ages to get served.

    This time around not much to be honest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like a power shower in the ensuite but the water flow was only adequate. I was hoping to use the gym in the morning before I got ready for my business day ahead but was informed at reception that the leisure centre was 10-15 minutes walk or 3-5 minutes drive. That was very disappointing as I had limited time on my hands.

    The bedroom was adequately spacious with the double and single bed. The beds were very comfortable as we both slept well. The sink in the ensuite was a great size to fill for personal use. The bar restaurant area was very bright and airy with wonderful electric fires as focal points. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are always friendly and helpful, the room was just fab and so comfy, I could have stayed forever. Breakfast was great with lots to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool is a 15 minute walk up an extremely steep hill, we had a seven month pregnant woman and a 1 1/2 year old with us so it was ridiculous. The pool was also freezing. The travel cot provided had no mattress just a bed sheet thrown over a wooden board. The food in the restaurant was very poor choice and quality. There is very little parking near hotel which meant we had to park again up the large hill! The room was booked for 3 adult and a toddler and we were provided with two bath towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food had been cooked earlier and having arrived at 8.30am we were left with a sad mess

    The bacon was fatty and was a grey colour. The sausages were in 5deep in a warming pan and were also of a grey colour with fat adhering to the sausage sides. Very disappointing and not value for money. We passed breakfast on the 2nd morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to thank you. We had a wonderful time at your hotel. The staff was wonderful, and the rooms very clean. We will recommend you to our friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t great. We asked about the pool, were given vouchers but weren’t advised how long of a walk it would be with small kids and bags. We could have driven up to make it easier had the reception suggested it.

    Restaurant menu Staff Breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast not great, dinner sometimes cold or reheats, swimming pool 10 mins from hotel not as advertised- water absolutely freezing, noise of boiler on first night a bit annoying and second night kids were left unaccompanied next door to us while adults downstairs at bar, made complaint as the teenagers were slamming doors, blaring music and trying to get into our room. Told staff they should not allow 13 year olds to be unsupervised very unprofessional

    Handy for fota, good location, good kids club and playground, clean, comfortable beds, nice room and value for Easter holidays, nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door wouldn’t close. The windows were full of condensation and an awful draught coming from same (but not too bad when u pulled the curtains) We requested someone to fix the safe for us no one came, after half an hour we gave up waiting and just carried on without it, My Dinner was vile (carbonara with chicken, no sauce, lots of oil in it), but waiting staff didn’t charge for my main course as I couldn’t eat it, however my children’s food was lovely (and they are picky eaters) and my husband’s main was ok albeit tiny portion :)

    I liked the location, the pool, changing rooms with added feature of hairdryer and straighteners was fab and the nicest staff I have come across in a hotel, rooms were spotless and very spacious (we had a family room) added little packet of cookies with the coffee and tea selection was very thoughtful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location isn't pretty, grill restaurant has very little choice and staff in there were not very helpful. They did not tell me about the other restaurant in the hotel when I said I couldn't find any food i liked on the menu. They gave me the kids menu instead. Then I find out there is another restaurant with lots of food i could have eaten which they didn't mention.

    The facilities, the room and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cajun wrap at lunch was slightly cold as also were the chips which I sent back. The chips were merely refried and returned , the decaf coffee was instant, I wasn't told this when I ordered but it was obvious when I tasted it.

    The fruit salad was lovely, no brown bread left at 9 am.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went down for Breakfast at 7:45am and it was lukewarm/cold. Leisure facilities were offsite and run down.

    Great family friendly hotel near the city centre. Taxi into town only €9/€10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel could do with a revamp...decor is now outdated and tired looking especially in the corridors and in the breakfast rooms....WIFI coverage was poor Location - much further from city centre than anticipated

    The pancake maker for breakfast...good idea

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait one hour in the reception to be checked in even though we arrived at 14h. Child care room was tiny. At some stage 14 kids were on top of each other and only one member of the staff supervising. Restaurant service was slow,waiting for 1h to get our orders

    Bedroom was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv not enough channel selection. Restaurant staff and bar staff, not very good, multiple mistakes in our food orders. Restaurant manager not very helpful.

    Beds comfortable, shower good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole breakfast experience was not nice at all. The “chef” should be charged with fraud in my opinion. You end up feeling lost when u get down for breakfast. Easter Saturday was woeful, Easter Sunday was ok ,Easter Monday confirmed for me that I will but be returning to this hotel

    The bathrobes on the bed when we arrived was a nice touch, the view was absolutely beautiful. 6th floor looking out over the whole city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offsite pool, have to trek up a long hill to get to pool.

    Great selection for breakfast, great location for fota wildlife and the city, good for families.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no bottled water in the rooms. We ate in the restaurant on the three nights, while our food was fine our friends food was cold on multiple occasions , also dirty plates and cutlery. We all felt that there was not enough staff on the floor and not enough managers to advise what staff was there to be more productive, we had to clean off tables at breakfast on more than one occasion. The directions to the leisure facilities need improving.

    The rooms were very comfortable clean and warm, the leisure facilities were good. One lady on reception Sabina ( i think this was her name ) was very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a group meal 2 of our group had to return the soup as it was cold I was stunned to hear the server say she would stick it in the micro wave !!! Then the fish dish arrived -Hake lt to was cold Hilariously the server again said she would micro wave it I then told the server not to bring the food to the table cold as micro waving food was not good enough At no stage did a manager come near the table

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed wasn't comfortable, and the radiator in our room was broken therefore we could not turn off the heating. It was too hot and kept us all awake on the first night. We informed the hotel staff three times about the radiator, only after the third time on the second day did a member of staff look at. He told us he couldn't fix it as maintenance had all gone home. However he went away to find a tool and told us he would be back. He never returned and the radiator never got switched off!! We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant both nights. It was disappointing. Parts of my main course was cold on the first night, however I just ate it as my children didn't want a fuss made! On the second night I ordered a plate of chicken wings and I had to send them back as they were cold.

    It was spacious and the bathroom lovely. Breakfast was very good and excellent selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though I emailed the hotel to enquire about pool, nobody mention that u had to leave the hotel to get to it!, heat not working in room, and a terrible noise coming from boiler, there was a noise all night, not much sleep got.

    Lifeguard very good at her job, Breakfast great selection

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from the room, just a load of scrub right outside the window and it made the room dark. Rooms at the front would have a nice view we were at the back on the 4th floor and had nothing. Also the pool and gym are next door up a really steep hill. If you are not too fit take the car.

    Bed was lovely and comfortable, breakfast was great and had plenty of choice. Staff were very nice and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family Room - beds very uncomfortable, TV didn't work propely with few stations, curtains hanging off the wall. Room was nothing like the website very dissapointing and in need of an update. It was also too hot with no option to turn down heat. The swimming pool was a good distance from the hotel and very run down very dissapointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not near the hotel about 5 minutes drive up steep hills, wouldn't even class it as beside the hotel.Very loud at night in the corridors.

    Beds were very comfortable. Food was nice in the bar. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a constant noise across the rooms from cleaning and also air conditioning. Windows are not sound noise barring, noise from cars across the main road

    Breakfast was good and warm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor seals on windows,so because our room faced the main road,it was very noisy,also some plaster falling off around the window.altough the pool is on the website like it’s part of the building,it is a good 10 minute walk up a steep hill behind the hotel.not good when you have to carry a 2 year old up and down it.the pool was very poor.

    Staff were friendly,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was very poor. Menu was not as advertised and tasted microwaved. 8oz burger was closer to 4oz. They had chicken goujons on an adults menu. Service slow. Leisure centre is up a hill and very old. Room like an oven.

    Hotel is in a good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t realize the pool was not located in the actual hotel building. The windows in family room were not safe for small children and the noise and draft through windows were slightly uncomfortable.

    Staff were all very friendly and helpful- great customer service

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: