Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mount Juliet Estate Manor House 5 stars

Thomastown, Thomastown, Ireland

#4 of 6 hotels in Thomastown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 169 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locker room for men at pool was extremely small there were 2 people when i went which no room for me to change therefore anymore than 3 people its not large enough. I was there at a quiet time so would hate to see what its like at busy time. Andy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel and surroundings, with a magnificent golf course and club house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a man I found the Michelin one star food was inadequate. The food was excellent but not sufficient quantity available for a grown man. My female partner found the helpings adequate.

    The King Sized bed was superb, as were the pillows. The ensuite was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Old-fashioned luxury golf course resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite old-fashioned even compared to the rest of the hotel. The receptionist was not very helpful when we got lost on the property grounds and then finding the restaurant. Also the property is beautiful but it is mostly a golf course. We did a horse trail ride which ended up being very disappointing along the golf course asphalte trails...

    Beautiful hotel, quiet atmosphere. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    We had a warm welcome and our room was fine but after that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried to visit the equestrian center to inquire about a trail ride(we have several horse at home) but it was locked up and not at all welcoming. We did walk through the neighboring stud farm and it was beautiful but we did not see anyone there either. It seemed that if you are not a golfer, this may not be the place for you. We were disappointed as we had high expectations for Mount St Juliet.

    We had a warm welcome and our room was fine but after that we were disappointed. The porter never brought my bag and it was up and down stairs to our room. We had a huge lunch in Kilkenny so we wanted a light dinner. It was recommended that we go to the golf club but they sent us from place to place and never gave us a table. We went back to the Manor House and had a delightful experience in the bar but they had no food. We went back to our room and realized they had room service and had a nice meal for supper. It was an ordeal trying to figure out where we could have a light supper.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice stay, will try the hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in the Manor House was "quaint" - quite small in size considering the price to stay there. We were very unhappy with there being several spiders in the room. The shower door was not long enough and water got all over the floor. My partner and I ordered the sirloin steak for dinner - cooked to perfection, mine was delicious but my partners was very fatty. The Manor House provide a car to drive you between the House and the rest of the estate. We had to make 2 requests for the car and were nearly 30 minutes waiting on the car to collect us which we were very disappointed about.

    The estate is beautiful and facilities are fabulous. We had dinner in The Hound restaurant, service was excellent and my food was very good. The breakfast was excellent, service was sublime and the food offerings were superb. The spa was lovely, and the treatments were excellent. The relaxation room could do with some improvements in comparison to other top spas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    House and ground beautiful. Staff excellent. The Hound restaurant disappointing.... Decor dated .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told in advance that the Lady Helen restaurant would be closed on a Thursday which was the evening. We had chosen to eat there( it is usually closed on Sun and Mon.while the receptionist was v apologetic we felt that it was not a good enough response. We ordered roomservice and the food was lukewarm and fish undercooked but we did not wish to spoil our evening by complaining and having a delay while we re ordered.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Everything was great but the pillows I found very...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great but the pillows I found very uncomfortable, one was too little and two was too much, found it difficult to have a good night sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing Location, the lovely surroundings the river , the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One one Restaurant, Michelin, Expensive

    Amazing Location, the lovely surroundings the river , the horses In front. Golfcourse by . So cozy and authentic, Staff fabulous, breakfast quality more than perfect. Love it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Split levels room, bathroom on a different level than the main bedroom. Not good for elderly people

    Manor House is nice but for elderly people a room with two levels (bathroom on a different level than bedroom) is not a good idea Hunters Lodge is probably better although we dd not stay there, only in Manor House

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Some of the staff members were really wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is nice but little too overpriced for the services it provides. Got feeling that certain guests get certain treatment. Not sure I would stay the night again but definitely would go back for the food. Our room was nothing like what was advertised and pictured when I booked.

    Some of the staff members were really wonderful. Food was tasty. Comfortable beds,beautiful location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful grounds and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at the bar was slow and a little unprofessional. Check in could have been more informative e.g. tell us about leisure centre, bike rentals etc. Litter noticeable in rose garden/walled garden. It looked like used toilet roll from a blocked septic tank? The stay was rather expensive so would have expected a higher level of service.

    The grounds and food were fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Very dated, could be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the Manor House which was very dated, no air con, no lifts and staff did not help us carry our bags to the 4th floor. The heat in our room was stifling and pretty much unbearable a poor quality fan was left in the room but this just circulated warm air. There was cobwebs around the staircases and dead flies in our room, just didn’t feel like a clean place to lay your head.

    The grounds were fabulous, great golf course and golf club and equestrian centre was beautiful with lovely staff and stunning horses

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Stunning setting with excellent walks around the estate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning setting with excellent walks around the estate. Room was classic in style and very comfortable. Super breakfast in the Lady Helen with stunning views over the river. Short but excellent stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    A magnificent room in the Manor House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No jacuzzi

    A magnificent room in the Manor House. Amazing staff particularly Linda on the front desk. Couldn’t do enough and aisling in the lady helen was fantastic! Everything was superb and the food in the lady helen was amazing and great value for money. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    We won't be returning and I wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way overpriced for the actual experience. The Lady Helen restaurant was a huge disappointment. Michelin starred, but I have no idea how that was awarded. No restaurant manager, so we were served by several different people, no continuity. No sommelier, so wine served by a waitress who served the white with our amuse bouche as we'd intended but came straight back with the red, opened it and asked if we wanted to try it. Well not really when we were drinking the white! Food - not a ringing endorsement when I say the amuse bouche was the best course! Starter of 2 not particularly large scallops was just ok at best, main course of saddle of lamb was extremely poor. The 2 pieces of meat were the size of a small saddle of rabbit! Flavour wise, there wasn't much apart from an overwhelming taste of pickling liquor. This vinegar flavour was very pronounced across the whole meal and overwhelmed everything else. It was the worst 'fine dining' meal I've ever had.

    Lovely old building in wonderful grounds and nice views. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Serene, comfortable, and decadent - with impeccable service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My fiancé and I booked a last minute getaway in Mount Juliet this May and it was everything I wanted and more. Let me say firstly that the service and attention to detail is just impeccable. While we waited for our room to get ready we tried the food at the Hound restaurant. We lunched outside overlooking the golf course with a glass of malbec. [Top tip: try the 3 course lunch special. The servings are just right.] Then we took a quick stroll down by the bridge until our room was ready. There was a wedding on while we stayed there but the property is managed so well we didn't even notice them. Our room was stunning with a very very comfortable bed. After chilling out we visited the pool and then used the complimentary bikes to cycle back to the manor. We booked a table for the Hound restaurant for dinner. The steak was so soft, the parmesan crust house fries were delicious. After a satisfying meal we returned to the bar in the manor house. I had a mojito and a long island iced tea. We relaxed by the window and admired the finer details of the house. We noticed how well kept the place is, even down to the rope on the drapes, everything is clean and neat. The staff must really care about the manor because it shows. If you're a history buff you'll love it. Especially if you're into art. I'll be sending friend who's a costume historian up to Mount Juliet in her best Georgian kit to take some pictures. I finished the night with another glass of red before retiring to my very comfortable gigantic bed. The following morning we had breakfast. I recommend the cinnamon french toast. Also, try the honey. We went for one last cycle through the grounds, my fiancé even befriended a little foal who followed us from behind his fence as we cycled for a bit. On returning, a staff member asked if we'd like to take a cycle as he noticed us looking at the bikes earlier. We thanked him and said that we had just returned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing in that with better management oversight it could have so much nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Utter confusion on arrival as to which of the two hotels we were booked into and it took some time to sort this out. 2)The only dinner reservation was at 5:30 but no-one else showed up until 6:30. 3) We were woken up at midnight by a dozen or so loud guests leaving the 1 Star Michelin restaurant to go to the second hotel. Management really needs to "up its game" and hopefully it will be a nicer place to stay.

    The room was pleasant overlooking the garden. No coffee in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A luxurious countryside getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hound Restaurant doesn't live up to the expectations.

    It's a gorgeous mansion in beautiful surroundings not too far from the town of Kilkenny. The rooms are spacious and surprisingly sound proof. We also had a lovely river view. The breakfast is excellent - be sure to try the eggs benedict!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    All we could say is wow, what a wonderful place to spend on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All we could say is wow, what a wonderful place to spend on holiday. The Hound restaurant at the near by club house was some of the finest food we had in our trip to Ireland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Fancy treat for a quiet getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is quite a distance from KK town. The cost of the night stay is very high , we had a voucher thankfully as I certainly wouldn't have paid it otherwise. Very overpriced and didn't even include breakfast, however really nice for a treat.

    Really friendly and helpful staff, very welcoming. Room was beautiful and comfortable. We ate in the golf club which was delicious food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful time and will stay again for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant at the Yard wasn't great (ok but still getting on their feet I think) and the restaurant at the Manor is amazing (Michelin star). We would've loved something that was solid, good fare at a good price, especially when staying several days. We would've been thrilled with a stew or pub lunch after morning outdoor activities but that's not available which we thought was a slight miss.

    The Manor House is exquisite but really not a place for young families - and unfortunately there were a few over Easter weekend. They have built a beautiful new hotel with pool and health facilities complete with playground that is much more suitable to families 200m away. Depending on how you are traveling I would chose accordingly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Everything in the main house is top class - we loved it, and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate at the nearby Hound, which was a disappointing experience. The food was fine, but there was no personal touch to our service at all. We left after our main courses, and retreated to the beautiful bar in the house to finish off our evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Lounge area of the hotel was particularly beautiful, as was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feel like the breakfast was pretty standard and not really worth the money. We've had amazing breakfasts in similar hotels and they've been included in the room rate.

    Lounge area of the hotel was particularly beautiful, as was the bar and the availability of old books was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Everything other than golf was below par.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is completely inadequate and the options for dining for lunch are confined to the clubhouse, that offers a very small menu. Staff were overrun with orders and could not cope with a full room. On both mornings at breakfast I had to draw staffs attention to fairly disgusting incidents. The first was a pot of jam with green mould on our table and the following morning there was a butter tray boasting pubic hairs. Outrageous.

    Golf course is excellent. Food was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    It
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coach to pool was disappointing not convient. On our day to checkout renovations at pool meant we couldn't use it

    Room was very good. Bar in hotel disappointing u couldn't drink the Guinness.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Ok but not amazing....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot at night, left window open in Jan as couldn't sleep. Continental breakfast, I.e. cereal, toast and coffee for €20 each is a bit much. Hunters yard restaurant is disappointing and not great value for money.

    Staff, location and very tranquil. Thomastown nearby is lovely, look for the Blueberry Cafe for lunch/coffee or Bassett's for a lovely dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful property to stay with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t include many utensils for the kitchen and there is no milk or any food left in the fridge to welcome you. I think for the cost to stay here it would be a nice gesture

    The cottage was wonderful, spacious with the bonus of under floor heating in both bathrooms and a lovely gas fire in the living room. It had private parking just outside the house which was very useful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful manor house, enjoyed our relaxing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on top floor so bit of a trek.. a few bits on the room needed sorting out the odd stain,no shower curtain etc. These are all small things but unfortunately things I noticed. Also a nespresso machine or similar would be a welcome addition.

    Beautiful manor house, enjoyed our relaxing stay! Wonderful restaurent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    The room and bed was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bed was lovely. Food was excellent. The man on reception the night we checked in was not overly nice. The man who brought our bags to our room was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    This stay a little disappointing but we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the pool and health club was closed due to work on additional accommodation. Although we were offered cancellation with no penalty we felt something else could have been offered to make up for this as we were only informed a couple of days before we were due to go. The other thing was that the food was (in our opinion) disappointing. In particular a very under average sandwich cost 7 euro and there was only one vegetarian option on the restaurant menu. The hotel also seemed busy and this appeared to be challenging for the staff on accasion with a knock on effect for customers. Finally; I had asked for an early check in if possible. When I checked in this was written on my booking but I was told unfortunately it wasn't possible. I completely understood but a little envious of the couple beside me who were able to check in early and who were getting their room keys.

    The grounds are lovely. Equestrian facilities excellent - lovely well cared for horses and I had an excellent instructor and lovely girl for a hack. There is also a stud farm on the other side of the estate which provided fabulous views of very happy foals. The fire places in the main house are fabulous and generally the place is very beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very disappointed about the spa being away from the manor house and the hotel itself look a bit run down, on our opinion it looks more like 4 star hotel. Maybe we will come back again after the renovations.

    My husband and I absolutely loved the lady Helen restaurant! The staff in the restaurant were very professional, polite and friendly, they tried to listen to all our requests and explained the food in every detail. Very nice breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing, unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in one of the Rose Lodges. They are in the middle of a building site. There is a new 94 bedroom hotel under construction beside the lodges. The lodge is in need of up-grading especially the living area. The bedrooms are nice and clean as are the bathrooms. It is best to stay in the Manor house.

    The Lady Helen restaurant was wonderful as were the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    A birthday treat that after a shaky start turned out to be a delight in almost every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mixed messages on the package I had booked through Booking.Com. Although a dinner in the Lady Helen dining room was specified at the time of booking it seems that the hotel were unaware of availability in the dining room until I attempted to make a reservation directly with the hotel. I was refused a place in the restaurant due to demand on tables. However, having registered my disappointment at almost missing this treat for my 70th birthday, a table was provided at 9:30pm. Apart from this slight difficulty the only other issue was airlessness in the fairly small bedroom we were allocated (rm 29) above the front door entrance porch.

    Beautiful surroundings, excellent service at all times, great food and ambience in the public rooms. Great service was exemplified by Jamie, Victoria and all the waitresses and waiters and porters.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    I want to call this place home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the luxurious accommodation and wandering the vast picturesque grounds. Regrettably we only stayed one night. I'll know to stay longer next time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Worth every penny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in a Rose Garden lodge which was splendid. We were a party of four and all had complete comfort. We ate dinner in Hunter's Yard restaurant and then had breakfast in the Manor House which were both 5 star dining experience. Couldn't recommend it more! The Manor grounds should be enough to entice you in..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The estate is gorgeous. The historic and well-appointed manor house was a great place to sit and have a drink in front of the fire, overlooking the cows and horses and the beautiful surroundings. The golf course looked amazing, but we didn't golf. The kids loved visiting the animals and walking the grounds. We had a two-bedroom, two-bathroom lodge accommodation with a sitting area, dining area and kitchen. Very comfortable, clean, and well maintained. Ended up staying a second night. Great value for the money. Not too far from the Rock of Cashel and the Blarney Stone. It's a short drive into the town of Kilkenny, but it is totally worth it. Great town for dinner and walking around- include a visit to the Kilkenny Castle, where they also have a park and playground for kids.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    A very special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our two bedroom lodge was wonderful and we loved everything about our stay. Even though there was some construction going on close to our Lodge, it really didn't bother us. The staff were amazing especially Eugene. Friendly, happy and relaxed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, Historic Manor House! Stunning grounds! Take a tour with Des!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price was not the same as Booking.com quoted. Also, I booked at the same time as the other couple we traveled with, they had a bigger room and we paid 25 Euro more a night than them. I questioned this when we checked out, and the very nice receptionist tried to adjust the price, but said she couldn't help us because we booked through Booking.com. This happen twice on this vacation and we booked all the rooms through Booking.com I have some future rooms booked, however I might started booking directly with the hotels. No air conditioner in the manor house. There was new construction taking place and all rooms will have A/C

    Beautiful old manor house, loaded with charm. The grounds are stunning. The view out our guest room window took my breath away! The staff were extremely helpful! Take a tour with Des, he is absolutely delightful and very knowledgeable about the house and grounds. He is a wonderful ambassador for Mount Juliet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Supberb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa a little tired but very clean but helpfulness of staff made up for this.

    Everything about Mount Juliet was beautiful. Ate in golf club both nights, food was lovely as was breakfast in lady helen restaurant. The porridge was the nicest I've ever tasted. A bit disappointed that the other restaurant which I had eaten in on a previous visit was closed but it's something to look forward to on my next visit. Our room was upgraded to a fabulous suite which I didn't want to leave. Toiletries were really nice and I've ordered some from the company. The bed,pillows, decor, furniture,view everything was out of this world. We walked extensively in the grounds which were so clean and well maintained. Daffodils were in full bloom. The staff were very friendly and so informative, I found the dark haired barman whose name I can't remember extremely helpful and pleasant. All in all it was a great experience and I'd love to go back. Elaine

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Outstanding hotel- the perfect place for a getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were so friendly and we had a stunning view of the river from our room. The food was exceptional and we had beautiful walks around the grounds and even saw the new foals. It was the perfect place to stay for our first wedding anniversary, it was a wonderful getaway weekend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing and beautiful place to be with 5 star treatment but avoid the pool/spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa/pool area was poor enough and water was cold, barely 4 star. Really needs improvement, too small aswell.

    Food was as expected for 5 star and staff throughout were excellent. Fires were lighting giving a cosy ambience. Very relaxing and beautiful place to be.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Luxurious getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, the manor house is old so there are some funny noises at night (from plumbing I imagine, not ghosts!) but that adds to the charm!

    Amazing grounds, huge room with terrace, wonderful staff that couldn't do enough for you!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    We had a thoroughly relaxing break and will be back again and again....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mount Juliet is a lovely place for a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life with plenty to do and also lovely places just to sit, relax and do nothing. The rooms in the Main House are very comfortable, quite well appointed with lovely views over the river and the extensive paddocks from Ballylinch Stud Farm. Dining in The Lady Helen Restaurant is a joy and the food is simply delicious. The atmosphere is very pleasant and relaxing. Breakfast is another treat with freshly baked pastries, homemade jams and marmalade, dripping honey combs and pots and pots of coffee. The staff are all very friendly, helpful and professional and made our stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent service from all staff, especially the concierge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Gym & Pool facilities are a bit dated and are not at the same level as the rest of the Estate.

    Excellent service from all staff, especially the concierge. Grounds are fabulous and well worth going for a cycle. Food was very good in both the club house and main house.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    If you want to spoil yourself, or someone special, this is the place. Stunning and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant Kendalls is under refurbishment, didn't know this at time of booking, but could use the clubhouse to eat.

    The staff at mount Juliet excellent, lovely and friendly, couldn't do enough. The Manor House was beautiful, and loved the afternoon tea. Breakfast was amazing. I wish I booked for longer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    The midweek mini treats in the spa and the temperature of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kendal's is closed for renovation- some kendal menu items would have been nice to see in manor house lounge and/or extended serving times in lounge

    The midweek mini treats in the spa and the temperature of the pool :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.0
    Would not go back or use Booking.com in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main restaurant was closed but I was not told this until after my booking was made. Shocking that a small 5* hotel would close their main restaurant (Michelin star) and not close the whole house. I explained to Mt Juliet that the restaurant was the reason I booked them but I was told it was not their problem and I would have to deal with booking.com to cancel the reservation. Only then did I discover booking.com have a 30 day cancellation policy for this hotel! I couldn't even cancel my reservation and go somewhere else. Shame on booking.com for not making such an unusual cancellation policy clear! As it was 2 days before Christmas I did not have time to argue. The room was not very clean - wrappers and empty shampoo bottles. To top it off there was no hot water the next morning!! I was told they would call me when the boiler was fixed but nobody did. To be fair, Mt Juliet upgraded our room and took some money off the bill. But, this was supposed to be a fantastic experience for my mother and it was anything but. I should have saved my money and stayed in the B&B down the road.

    The staff were very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    5.4
    Very poor standard for the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unprofessional concierge. Chaotic and rude manager of a very inefficient breakfast room. Such a level of fuss and disorder....and that was before the busier 2nd morning

    The surrounding parkland are beautiful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved everything

    Everything !!! This property is truely amazing !!! Outstandingly gorgeous Loved our stay and hope to return 💕

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Real quality delivered in a relaxed manner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Real quality delivered in a relaxed manner

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Charming Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful estate, beautiful lifestyle, quiet place, excellent cuisine. A great place for horseback, hiking and cycling.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    We stayed in the manor house and the room was absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym and pool was very small.

    We stayed in the manor house and the room was absolutely amazing. Very big and luxurious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way to expensive

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    The staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't say anything negative about our stay.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Our room was fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff too thin to cover needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff too thin to cover needs. Booked us into a restaurant that was closed so we had no place arranged to dine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Very special experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Members only access to club house bar in evening. No alternative in hunters

    Luxurious. High quality. Lovely room. Superb dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and relaxing and met all expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food delicious. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Walking the golf course, Lady Helen Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Walking the golf course, Lady Helen Restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Didn't meet my expectations. Over charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a superior double size bed bud really it was two single beds pushed together. Extremely disappointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    We were in our Honeymoon. With the exception of the receptionist Victoria” the staff were cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. We had an issue with bugs and had to be moved .

    The food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    It was really enjoyable just not long enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go to another building for the leisure centre

    The room was beautiful and I loved the bathroom. The breakfast and lunch were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall happy with visit to MT Juliet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condition of golf course T During dinner the staff were obviously under staffed and thence service a bit slow

    Qualyof rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure centre changing rooms are a joke way too small

    Wonderful grounds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Great food lovely location and plenty to see in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best dinner in Eire

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.8
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over-priced for the quality on offer.

    Good location. Quiet and restful room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Luxury family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bar was superb and the lodges were fit for royalty. Staff are amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Magnificent old property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room could have been better

    Magnificent old property Beautiful rooms Great walks in the grounds Outstanding service at front desk

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    A few days in a country paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were warm and friendly and amongst the best we have encountered this year. Mount Juliet is a truly special place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable 😊
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage coming in to the property

    Loved the rose garden lodge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Amazing bathroom with stand alone bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive for room only rate. Breakfast was substantial but pricey.

    Amazing bathroom with stand alone bath. Gorgeous grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Truly magnificent stay and highly recommended. So good that we booked again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The setting was magnificent. Truly breath taking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    The best place in the world to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Everythinv

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricy

    Great spot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities. Took advantage of the horse riding and the Michelin starred restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    The surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We have booked self catering accommodation and the kitchen was very badly if not to say not equipped for cooking!

    The surroundings

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: