Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mount Wolseley Hotel Spa & Golf Resort 4 stars

Tullow, Ireland

#4 of 5 hotels in Tullow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 564 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.3
    Beds where very comfortable, grounds beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible, hit and miss, burned sausages and bacon, eggs over done wen the few that were cooked came out, beautiful hotel but really need to up their game food wise, such a pity

    Beds where very comfortable, grounds beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    There at 11.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There at 11.30am could not check in till 4pm.i went playing golf and my partner sitting there all that time..other people arrived at 2 and given there room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderfully relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna and jacuzzi area is quite cramped and dark ....could do with updating to fit inline with th e luxury of the rest of the hotel.

    The food was top class as was the room. The pool and spa was lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lockers in the swimming pool were hit and miss, most didn't have keys and the ones that did the key probably due to the water in the pools didn't turn and lock well. The only other thing was the flour tiles in the foyer of your room and the bathroom were very slippy, the reception upon reading do offer slippers.

    Everything was well organised there was plenty of room to sit, we stayed the night before the a friend's wedding and instead of changing hotels to where the reception was I wish we had stayed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    The selection at breakfast, the layout of breakfast and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to a wedding offsite, we could only collect our room card at 2am. When we got to our room and swiped access, it turned out the room was already occupied and they got a fright. We had to traipse downstairs with all our bags etc to try again. Not the guys fault at all but just felt less than ideal at 2am! The room we eventually got was very nice, comfortable and close to the elevator.

    The selection at breakfast, the layout of breakfast and the views from the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Leisure centre needs work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure centre needs work.Lockers didn’t work and staff member on desk wasn’t very pleasant.Was in spa , bar and restaurant everything was excellent everywhere else.’

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful, very well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the hotel when we were attending a wedding there. It was perfect from start to finish. From reception to event staff, everyone was polite, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and comfortable, the facilities were great, and the hotel’s grounds were stunning. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Lovely course with the exception of the flies.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Playing golf but the noise from 2 weddings and down at the locker room end were bad.Also lost 3 euro in trying to get a locker. This was refunded by pro shop.

    Lovely course with the exception of the flies.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing experience
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely rude cobsidering the cost per stay and not value for money. Bar staff rude refused me servuce due to meal serving despite serving other person. Staff require monitoring and more training . Myself and other people will not be revisiting this establishment until some considerable changes woukd be introduced.

    Rooms were clean and fully furnished ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Overnight getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing significant that we didnt like. Some of the furniture in the bar was a little tired and uncomfortable. The small double doors into the bathroom feels a little dated. But these are minor things. Dinner could have been tastier

    Good location for a group of friends to meet up who were based all over Ireland. Friendly staff and the pool / Jacuzzi was wonderful. We never left the hotel and it was a lively atmosphere with a nice volume of guests and live music.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Mount Wolseley Revisited
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to do outside of the hotel room. Bar and surrounding areas look very dated and the instrumnetal music played throughout the day is nauseating.

    Very comfortable rooms with little to no external noise. Food in the restaurant is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Quiet break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was expensive and mediocre, after lunch and dinner one day in the hotel we ate out the following day elsewhere. Cocktails were also very poor the mojito was not a mojito but was charged as one.

    The leisure centre was lovely and there is a nice chilled out atmosphere around the whole hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel golf Fabanc golf staff really nice and helpful . Bar staff very good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not great

    Hotel and golf fab. Pool room All very good ..breakfast was really good . The dinners were terrible.we had chicken that seem to have been leg of chicken rolled on something but it tasted terrible . The vegetables we mircriwaved to look . No butter or anything on them so very dry . Dessert I requested baileys cheese cake it was all gone . I got another cheese cake . A tiny square that was not nice and seemed stale. Next night I had lamb awful it was not roasted possibly steamed . Very hard to eat chewy . Ice cream was nice . The coffee was dreadful . I askedfir latte it was so hot I could not drink it . My partner asked for lack coffee it was like dish water. Awful. A staff member noticed we were discussing the coffee and did change it and it was better . Not great but better . Staff were lovey . Had a cheeseboard in the lounge and it was really great . We had a birthday and a stFf member brought a cake and sang happy birthday without me asking . Very good. Her nMe was Stacy . Great staff member . We made all these comments on the card in ourroom 316 . I should add my pRtner is a chef so food would be very important part of our stay in the hotel .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff were happy and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no apology or acknowledgement of the fire alarm going off at 4am. I understand from another guest that it was a false alarn but there was no apology from staff at breakfast or when checking out

    Staff were happy and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    3 Star room!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My second time staying here, but this this was more complex, booked a spa treatment was not exactly I would expected...not even up to30 min, after finishing the course the girl left us hanging outside the corridor, the size of the pool looks more like a jacuzzi (that’s how tiny it is) the beds in the thermal spa suite were messy this shows that no one comes often to fix the mattresses on the beds. Went for dinner and while I was waiting for the girl to bring up the food menus, I ordered a glass of red wine. I was in such shock to see that the glass was dirty, not polished at all and stained with lipstick all around the edge. I called the girl to change the glass, which she did in fairness straight away, but she didn’t look happy about it . I paid 230€ for a night there, just be thrown at the back of the hotel in a tiny room which looked like 3 stars room genuinely, small bed and small bathroom, I was not happy about it at all ! No 4 stars hotel should have bad rooms !!!!

    Lovely breakfast and of course the view of the golf course is amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Over all pleasant stay but over priced for the type/size of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small for €180 per night. I would have expected a bottle of water in the room and the water pressure form the shower was poor

    Staff were extremely friendly, service was excellent and breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Had a Wonderful 4 day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were great, helpful, pleasant, always with a smile and well wishes. The food was very good in the bar but the food in the restaurant was exceptional and the service. The golf course is magnificent a great experience for any golfer. Loved the peacefulness of the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows very very hard - had sore neck after first night. The inside of the hotel is very dated could do with a makeover.

    The hotel setting is beautiful. Good views of the golf course.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Rooms need to be modernized
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite dated with a number of finishings (e.g. the shower) needing to be repaired or restored. The room quality was below that expected of a 4*

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    I will come again for a holiday break its a fabulous hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had twin beds my wives bed needs to be updated the mattress had a dip in the centre also the bedding was too warm we had an exceptionally warm weekend 25 degrees in May! Perhaps if you have a summer duvet in the wardrobes for guests.

    The restaurant food was fantastic and the staff were really friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel just needs the staff to go with it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in bar was shockingly poor and slow. Staff seemed to be lost with no direction given. Lack of managerial presence was unsettling.

    Excellent location and beautiful setting. Hotel was nice a clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a fantastic experience at our nephews wedding which was the perfect setting for a beautiful
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could complain about from start to finish.

    The breakfast was great and had a vast range of options to suit everyone. The service was excellent and very well organised. Geraldine the manager was fantastic & treated us like family instead of guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    AmaIng wedding I attended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room key was broken and we were locked out for a few hours late at night. Overnight staff unhelpful

    AmaIng wedding I attended. Loved the food. Yummt

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.0
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels are very basic and the hotel products supplied are very very poor.... dreadful shampoo etc. no drinking glasses in the bedrooms ! And no shower gel in the swimming pool showers. dispensers empty!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Worth the detour
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room. Good breakfast and pleasant staff. Stayed here on business in 2017 and returning did not disappoint. Lovely atmosphere due to the mix of families, golfers and people enjoying a break. Surrounding area is delightful and Carlow is definitely worth a visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little smaller than I remembered and the curtains let light in at morning time which woke us up earlier than we would have liked.

    The breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff friendly and extremely helpful without being intrusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed one night and couldn't find anything we didn't like.

    Staff friendly and extremely helpful without being intrusive. Room was so comfortable and contained all the little extras you might need. Finished off our stay with a super choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing & enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have any issues at all.

    Breakfast was lovely staff were so helpful, great entertainment in the bar , the male receptionist was so pleasant we had a lovely break & will visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent overall experience. Would recommend it for a cosy and classy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lounge room was crowded and noisy. Hard to find a space to chill having a drink. Bedroom a bit small. Not enough windows in the bedroom, not able to enjoy the view of the location. No path around to enjoy the nature unless you play golf. No big outside view from restaurant.

    The Spa facilites, the staff, and the treatments ! Excellent quality. Large bathroom :) All the staff was nice and efficient. The building looks amazing. Inside as outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    From the time we walked into the Hotel we were greeted with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing . Everything Excellent . We will be back

    From the time we walked into the Hotel we were greeted with a Welcome Friendly Smile and that continued with every member of staff for our stay . Highly Recommended by Mary and Matthew Tormay . Thank You

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    I liked that the restaurant was able to cater for my dietary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the jacuzzi needs to do something, they water temp needed to be higher also in jacuzzi. I found that you were alway waiting for you turn in each part of the thermal suite.

    I liked that the restaurant was able to cater for my dietary needs. Restaurant staff brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    A very nice, busy, friendly and great value for money Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was fast and efficient. The room was spacious, spotless and comfortable. The Bar was buzzing with a great atmosphere . The dining room was very spacious and we had some very pleasant music on the piano,. The food was perfect. We did not use the spa/swimming pool but went to have a look and it was kept very clean and all using it seem to be having a good time. We left the hotel and forgot to empty our safe in the room, the minute we arrive home the staff were on the phone to inform us. Looking forward to going back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Waiting room staff. Complaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff v abrupt in bar area. Wanted to get order in and go home. Ordered food at 8 30 night of arrival. Asked every few minutes." Are you ready yet" ! Ruined the relaxing valentine's overnight. Blond pony tail girls (2). They were thumping around impatient. No interest in customer care

    V warm and cosy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    3.8
    I will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just about everything was below expectation. The door to the bathroom jammed so I couldn't go to the toilet in the middle of night and one of the drawers was just plain broken and kept coming out. I complained that we did not have a de Luxe room the staff told me that all their rooms are 'De Luxe'. I will never return to Mount Wolseley.

    The place was not great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    The attitude of the bar staff and there wasn't much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the bar staff and there wasn't much selection of food and not enough tables and chairs in bar we couldn't get a seat at all the second night and no one offered to help staff walked by as if we were not standing there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should be a proper smoking area, covered and heated. Didnt like having to stand outside in the rain.

    There should be a proper smoking area, covered and heated. Didnt like having to stand outside in the rain.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Staff were amazing room was the only let down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the only let down of my whole overall experience we stayed in room 269 the bed had a hole in the mattress so my partner didn’t sleep and all I had to swap sides with her so therefore I didn’t sleep.

    The staff were amazing location was superb

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.7
    Beatiful hotel, fabulous surroundings but leave infant at home!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for travel cot for 8 month old baby. Hotel provides cot but not cot mattress. Sheet placed over hard base. I phoned reception to see if this was a mistake and they said no, you have to bring your own if required. They offered extra duvet but as baby has started flipping face down during night I said I’ll put her in middle of us in the bed as it was 6 foot. However then realized that our ‘king’ bed was 2 singles pushed together and the ridge of mattresses was in middle. Baby and me ended up in one single bed!! Very little sleep!!!

    Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff in relaxing bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Good but disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room next to us had tv up so loud till 1am. Rang reception as 2 young kids couldn't sleep, receptionist told person to turn down tv but never did. Matter could have been dealt with alot better. Was no sense to how loud the tv was. 2 year old and 4 year old wer frightened by it and couldn't sleep because of it or myself and my husband. So disrespectful of person in the other room as it was turned up to the last for at least 3 to 4 hours. Staff didn't do the best that they could have done I think.

    The food was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable but eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar Food - very poor and way below the standard expected. The main restaurant only offered a very limited Table D'Hote menu - completely unappealing. The TV in the room was ancient with very poor picture quality.

    Staff were extra friendly, efficient and keen to help and the room was a fairly good size.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.4
    First and last!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was either too hot or too cold, no happy medium. The shower cubicles are ridiculously small and non-adjustable shower head makes showering uncomfortable. The staff are the least friendly hotel staff I have ever met, particularly the front desk staff on the Saturday morning. There is no warmth in their demeanour at all. For a hotel where a lot of families stay to attend Rathwood Santa Train, the Christmas decorations are very sparse and not well presented, which can also be said for the staff whose grooming could be much improved. Certainly not four star calibre hotel.

    The food in the Aaron Lounge was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    I did have a nice time but it was very average and not value for money , my expectations were higher
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got was very small and old fashioned , the shower was really bad , little dribbles coming out, felt a bit grubby , it didn’t feel the cleanest, the food in the bar and restaurant was poor , very small selection and for the price it was very standard, breakfast was nice , the spa area was quiet small, we had two treatments they were okay. The grounds were beautiful but no were for guest to have a stroll as it’s all for golfers.

    It was cosy and Christmasy I suposse , the lesuire center was nice,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    Could not wait to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very poor , was with my 3 year old and sister so would have liked a double and a single . Also key swipe would not work

    Orange juice glass lipstick on it .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Too short to give a full review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we went into our room it hadn't been cleaned , we were given a new room straight away and apologies

    Beautiful hotel didn't get to use the facilities would like to stay again to enjoy it more . Food was beautiful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.8
    Would not recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was extremely overpriced for the bank holiday weekend, over a 150% markup from its normal price. As a result of this, it was not only a sub standard hotel but also awful value for money. From the foul smell that lingered around the hotel, to the cold hot tub and the unhelpful staff, I would definitely not recommend this hotel at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    comfortable and relaing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disappointed when I couldnt avail of driving range for pleasure. I didnt like having to walk far to bedroom due to limited mobility. I should have asked short bedroom access to/from lifts.

    stafff member v helpful in letting me know of GF and DF dishes when we had our evening meal.. TV in room did not allow text to work well for Deaf Users. couldnt enjoy progroammes due to breakdown text

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Overnight break with a friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adult bar wasn't open on Saturday night. Was looking forward to a cocktail there after dinner. Signs on tables in lounge said it was open in Saturday but no explanation and we weren't keen he large lounge.

    Friendly attentive staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel and facilities although thought they were a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff attitude serving lunch. Quite abrupt while serving a lady who had ordered the fish option first thing in morning. Dropped plate of turkey in front of her and said fish had run out and turned and left without asking if this was ok??

    Beautiful hotel and facilities although thought they were a little under pressure at lunch, it was the Women in ag conf.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.2
    Poor Spa..Poor quality of food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa, use of thermal suite, is 25euro extra, my advice do not pay it, nothing in the thermal suite but a pool, steam room,.. oh and an indoor pool area (ha). Which was basically a room with two deckchairs and we watched a light, by far, the worst spa I have been to. Also, the quality of the food in the restaurant and at breakfast was extremely poor, given the restaurant is supposed to be a four star hotel. We stayed two nights, when we went back to our room the first morning, our bed was only half bed, with the pillows still on the ground, 2 empty bottles of heinkeen still there from night before, tissues still on ground. I rang reception who told me they would be around again at 4 in the afternoon to clean it .. never happened.. I did complain to reception when I checked out about our experience (first time ever to complain) and I was told I'd get the price of our two dinners back.. fair enough, but the phone lines happened to go down so they couldn't put through the refund.the phone lines were down all day so we'll see... just very disappointing stay for the price we paid..

    The lobby at the entrance and size of bedroom was good, separate toilet and shower was good idea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of young children so not really the luxury break that I expected.. Very worn carpet on main feature that is the huge stairs.. delivery/bin lorries noisy and shouts at 6am.... No brown bread left at 10:20am and no attempt made to get some, but breakfast not over till 11 and also needed for lunch and dinner!!!

    Staff were very nice. Hotel was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV in room very dated, and the picture was really poor. This was disappointing given we spent a good bit of time in the room as we had our 6 month old daughter with us.

    Staff in the bar and restaurant were very pleasant and attentive without being overpowering -perfect balance. nice spacious lounge and areas to relax.Pool is quite big and staff there also nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing time in a class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is that the golf course surrounds the hotel so there is nowhere to go for a walk as such as non golfers are not allowed on the golf course.

    Gorgeous hotel, very comfortable and luxurious. Staff very friendly. Excellent breakfast, great selection of food to suit all tastes. Dinner was lovely too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered coffee and scones (not heated) in the bar on two occasions, and both times the scones were microwaved.replaced once by a very stale scone.

    Service and food excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothin

    Got the trip for me folks for their anniversary they were delighted with everything. Great choice of food's for breakfast and also the dinner was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.0
    Swimming pool was out of action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was out of action. I specifically said I loved to swim as we were on a weeks break around Ireland . The building itself lacks character and is a little dated. Our room looked over another roof , very disappointed as we had stayed in a lovely hotel the previous night and it was a joy. Drinks were more expensive here too

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Country Ireland at its best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful reception on TV and very limited choice of channels? Take a book,

    Lovely location - lovely building . Neat comfortable room with two very comfortable armchairs. Separate loo and bright well lit bathroom. Shower, towels good and very generous with toiletries. Usual tea bags ( sparse) and silly size cups but biscuit on the tray Did not have time for the Spa - missed a treat. Dinner menu varied and food good? Breakfast exceptional - worth every euro. Remember to pre book dinner before you arrive. One hour to Dublin Airport and similar distance to Waterford - Great coffee shop Lemon Tree in Carlow town - amazing BLT and very good coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel and Golf Club
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly staff, very helpful and I thought the food on both evenings was really good and served by very attentive and friendly staff, Edel especially. Everything about this hotel was good, Great golf course for me and great spa treatments and leisure area for Mrs, so cant recommend this property enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Very pleasant and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no view, looked at a roof. Shower did not work when we got there, however it was fixed immediately.

    Pub area and dining area was very good. Food great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the breakfast, the food was poor. There were flies in the lounge bar. The "napkins" were paper tissues. The hotel, apart from the reception area is tired and dated. The above is intended as constructive criticism

    The breakfast, lovely golf course, reception area, exterior grounds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    annoyed that we got charged €162 for just a room which wasn't cleaned to best of standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That our room was covered in spiders and cobwebs and also the shower was covered in cobwebs too

    Very disappointing for such a beautiful hotel that our room be covered in cobwebs and spiders

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Great for families and spa breaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor negative I have is that the room was smaller than expected and certain aspects like the TV could do with being upgraded.

    Overall it was nice hotel and is very family friendly, there are lots to suits kids of all ages such as the teen zone and the toddler play area as well as a small outdoor park. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The spa area is beautiful and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Lovely hotel but spoiled due to spa facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was very run down, the changing rooms filthy, showers disgusting. Which spoiled our stay.

    The area was lovely but you need better signage of how to get in made a bit clearer. We ended up going right along the very narrow road at the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable, once price issue was resolved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with price after using Booking.com. Breakfast was booked but hotel said price was room only and wanted to charge an additional €25.00. They eventually honoured the original price quoted

    Great staff, in amazing setting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    The bed was not comfortable but that was the only negative...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Golf course is excellent. Staff are excellent. Location is really good and the food is also very good.

    The bed was not comfortable but that was the only negative for the whole weekend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.0
    Wont be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to walk around- golfers only Restaurant staff unfriendly Spa services poor No where to sit for breakfast (included in price)- had to ask for tea numerous times Check out at 12- interrupted twice before 11:50

    Nice dinner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Great relaxing night away with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the smallish side - but perfect for just the two of us.

    I stayed at Mount Wolsley with my husband for one night. The hotel is conveniently located a short distance from the nearby town of tullow, should you need to pick anything up from pharmacies, shops etc. The breakfast was excellent - really fresh with a great selection. The food in the bar was very good. The bar area was very comfortable. There are lovely areas within the grounds to walk and sit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay with pretty views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner wasn't working in our room. The lady who brought the fans for us was very negative. She had been to our room before and gave us more coffee as requested and tried to tell us it was our fault the air conditioner wasn't working because of our window being open. It was open because we had waited 2 hours waiting for 2 hours for the room to cool. Also a hotel of this caliber shouldn't require the guest to have to contact room service for ice. No ice buckets in the room.

    When told our air conditioner wasn't working the reception desk was very kind in finding a different room for us; however, our view was so nice we wanted to keep our room. We asked for two fans and again the front desk was very obliging.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Very child friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bad start - no effort by housekeeping to prioritise cleaning of our room early (was requested so thought they might make some effort like other hotels do) to enable our toddler get a nap and when we finally got to room keys wouldn't work so a trek down to reception and eventually when got into room there was no cot in the room (rang twice in advance of stay to ensure and again reminded at check in) which was very upsetting, especially as no answer from reception after repeated calls so another trek down to reception. Staff were more interested in justifying themselves than apologising and making us feel better. When we finally got settled though and got to experience the hotel amenities we really did enjoy our stay and the above felt more like glitches - do recommend they try to improve in that area for the future though.

    Fabulous grounds with a number of garden seating areas, a lovely outdoor playground and a very thoughtful playroom that our 2 year old loved. We had lunch and dinner in the Aaron lounge and found it so relaxing and child friendly and staff were excellent. Great choice at breakfast, love idea of counter where chefs ready to make pancakes and eggs/omelettes to order. Look forward to coming back again and staying for longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    A hidden gem. Been twice now, will go a third time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The car parking spaces were tight for space with many big SUV type cars using it. Also quite a busy car park but we always found a spot at the front, although there is an overflow to the back of the hotel. There is no in house film entertainment using the TV, just the standard channels on offer. Sadly due to the golf course being off limits you are restricted to where you can walk at the hotel itself. However there are other walks a short drive away nearby.

    Rooms have a lot of facilities in them but are not overly spacious if you are bringing more than one large suitcase. Food was generally good and the help yourself buffet breakfasts are great value. The Spa is very good and worth a visit if you want to relax and wind down.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Great - would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes at all - extremely efficient friendly staff and well run Hotel.

    I really liked the different lounges and areas to sit and relax, especially the library. I would've used the spa facilities if it was free for guests as this area was adults only. The leisure centre was busy being school holidays and lots of families staying. Really lovely stay, so relaxing and the room extremely well furnished with the two armchairs and coffee table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Overall pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having been told 2 morning's we had paid for room only eventhough we had already paid for the breakfast when we checked in.

    Pretty well organised for breakfast considering the amount of people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.2
    Children's playroom was a great added bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't very friendly. Rooms were dated and small. A wedding was on so took us a good while to get parking

    Children's playroom was a great added bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely large hotel, just outside Carlow town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Working air con

    The beds were lovely and comfortable and the staff were very attentive. Only issues we had was that the air conditioner in our rooms was not working and it was an extremely hot night which made it a bit uncomfortable to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    From check-in to check-out Mt.Wolseley impressed us enough to woo us back again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    problems As we stayed only one night on national sports related event we had no problems or glitches positive experiences only. comfortable

    atmosphere lively staff helpful /friendly/golf course looked superb,would hope to play it next visit but golf deal for guests could be better.Dinner menu for half board guests could have more mains choices.no

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Food second to none!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend asked for her twin beds to be changed to double and was told it would be done but it was never done 😒

    Food in both restaurant and lounge excellent! Breakfast was superb

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: