Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Murphy's Hotel 3 stars

Teeling Street, . Tobercurry, Ireland

#3 of 5 hotels in Tobercurry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Paul Murphy and all staff were very approachable and helpful. We enjoyed the live traditional Irish music which is a regular attraction. Room 1 is quiet and has outlook to the secure car park. Electronic access cards, lift access, dining options and adjacent supermarket add to convenience. The bar is a very good. Breakfast was excellent and this makes value for money great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money, nothing. It was a lovely place to stay.

    Fantastic service. The staff were all so warm and friendly and they couldn’t do enough for us. The food was great, especially the cooked breakfast which was Lovely and fresh, and loads of it too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel. Staff friendly and welcoming. I was disappointed when I saw the breakfast as not a lover of cooked breakfast and the cereal / bread selection very basic. However I asked if they had any fruit and yogurt and they made me up a lovely fresh fruit salad and a bowl of yogurt. Perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice from fan in bathroom kept us awake on and off every ten minutes . Tv was a 20yr old computer monitor and remote did not work

    Breakfeast and The lady who served us .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was directly over the Bar/Lounge area and it was very noisy from the Bar due to a birthday party- noise continued until 3am

    Very Large Bedroom. Very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast Very good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent and typical of what i find with true Irish hospitality. The room was superb and fullfilled all my needs and expectations.Highly recomnend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of facilities in the bedroom eg. Lack of sockets and no mirror over the dressing table and the shower was compact

    The food in the hotel was lovely and an excellent breakfast the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mould in the shower between tiles and shower door. The staff said i have to pay when it was paid online when I booked.at the morning Fire alarm turn on with no reason.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ordered food at about 3.30 from the evening menu and it was excellent. Room was very comfortable. Car parking in hotel car park. Staff very friendly.Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    television had very little channels it was hard to find it from the street we drove past it three times

    the outside is quite deceptive but it is a lovely clean place a lift for the wheelchair now the only thing was they gave us a room where outside of the lift were 3 steps so we had to pull the wheelchair up however if i had gone down i m sure they would have changed us but the rrom was lovely and big so we didnt bother. great pub downstairs once the kids were settled we went down and had a nice drink. staff friendly breakfast was full and plentiful and when the chef heard the kids asking for hash browns he went off and made them for them which was a nice touch so well done darren, the waitress in the morning was very good too though i didnt take her name. we like it so much we returned that evening with the wheelchair hurling team for dinner and found it very resonably priced

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a room (16)above the Spar back door and it was very annoying to the noise every time someone using the door. Your picture frames are far too high,how is one supposed to admire them😳 For a 3*** Hotels.com the furnishings are a bit drab and needs updating and that includes the small TV. Or and the glass that on the food counter was very dirty,and you could make out someone tried to clean but made a bad job of it

    The bed was comfy and the pillows too as we are very fussy about them. The bedding was clean and the towels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very clean and tidy,the food was excellent,the owner paul is a complete gentleman,i would strongly recommend this hotel to everyone i know,what a fantastic stay,many thanks to all the staff,keep up the good work,kind regards Paul

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly staff and owner rooms were very clean and tidy, beds were super comfy nothing was too much trouble. We asked for advise on things to do and staff was very happy to help even to giving us leaflets and maps

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Murphy's owners and staff really make you feel welcome. We have stayed there before, some years ago, it hasn't changed. Well worth a visit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious room with good facilities. Helpful and friendly staff. Good full irish breakfast in the morning. Great location in the center of Tobercurry. Arrived there in the middle of South Sligo Summer School, got trad music sessions right in the hotel's bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does not refer to this Hotel

    Picked this stop over by, you might say, throwing the dart at the map and we were very glad that it landed on Tubercurry. The hotel is very well run by pleasant and efficient staff. Our room was excellent and spotless. The meals were of typical Irish standard EXCELLENT. A secure parking area was a added bonus. Well done.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff couldn'd do enough. We had evening meal and Sunday carvery both were lovely. Nice and quiet room lovely good size bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking had wrong info for people and days of stay, it took a while to sort out.

    A very large room With a sitting area, great for having time together with family in town that come over.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and bath was so large they could use more furnishings. Maybe some luggage stands.

    Booked two rooms, one for parents, one for me and two teens, each was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to get up early after enjoying a social drink or three.

    Bedroom was spotless. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were friendly and dinner was splendid. The town itself is compact and litter free.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No improvement needed. Would gladly come back

    Excellent place to stay. Super friendly management and staff. Couldn't do enough for you. Magnificent food, clean comfortable room. Top class for a budget hotel. 5 star service at 3 star prices!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests in hotel should be served seperately to general public.A very long wait for breakfast and family of 5 couldn't be seated together either morning of our 2 night stay.That was our only fault with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a family room for just two of us, so the room was a bit cluttered. The bathroom was ok but there was no bath.

    Very nice breakfast. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I have absolutely nothing negative to add

    Lovely spacious family room, perfect for a family of 4. Wonderful staff, so friendly and helpful. Loved the personal touches in the hotel, such as the family tree and the photographs, it give the whole place an extra warmth.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the hotel, the location, the free bus service to and from the airport,the food was excellent and very reasonable, the entertainment was fabulous

    The staff went above and beyond to help.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough cupboard space in a huge very comfortable room. But will know next time, and there will be a next time.

    Hot scones, decent food, good location andgreatstaff. Every request is immediately acted upon in the affirmative.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot breakfast was ok, things were a little overcooked when we went for breakfast, but the scones and brown bread were fresh and nice.

    the hotel was ideal for our stay for one night and a base to go off to other places from. The room was big for my family and comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on stairs needs to be replaced or cleaned . Not a lot happening in Tubercurry midweek so might be idea to have midweek music .

    Bedroom very big and clean. Staff very friendly . Food excellent in general good family run hotel . Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our daughter has special needs and can only eat a puree diet. The staff were lovely and had no problem providing food for her .lovely comfortable hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and professional owner; spacious comfortable room like in the United States; excellent breakfast; situated in the very centre of a typical Irish town; great value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken fittings in bathroom. Lumpy mattress. Tiny tv screen - much too small for a family room. Dirty carpets.

    Simple hotel with lots of room, but with a few things that need fixing. Good full Irish breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtain rail in bedroom falling off. Door to shower looked a liability with sealing strip coming away.

    Well placed, close to Knock Airport, for our last night in Ireland. Conveniently placed on main street with convenient rear car park. Good bar. Good night's sleep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is very slow but gets there eventually 😀

    Have stayed here before and hope to return in the future. We booked a family room as we needed a double bed and 2 singles, but were actually given a room with 2 double beds. Not a big deal I suppose but when I enquired about getting a different room the girl on reception informed me that they were fully booked and there was nothing she could do. We went down to the restaurant for dinner which was lovely and staff so friendly. When paying for our meal I mentioned to the young lady 'Niamh' bout our room and explained our circumstances. She went away and returned within 5 minutes with a new room which was just next door. She also gave us extra keys for the room door without being asked!! Can't praise this young lady enough as she went out of her way to help us. This is a great place to stay and I hope to be back

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with some updating but still comfortable.

    Stopped over on way to main holiday. Had a great meal and good night sleep. Staff couldn'thave been more helpul.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly accomodating with no request being too much trouble. The beds were firm and comfortable. we all slept like logs. The breakfast was fantastic, especially the black pudding. something for everyone young and not so young!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was gorgeous and everyone was so friendly. Will definitely stay again if down that way

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly staff and great food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything . Cant wait ti return

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    every thing was perfect . i like fruit and yogurt option for breakfast , they did not have this but they had gluten free bread which made up for it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from window

    The place in general was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet on the corridor is dirty

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything about the hotel, room, bed, staff... Had a dinner on one of the evenings and a good choice of the menu which 4 of us enjoyed..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to say here.

    Central clean friendly,rooms nice, reasonable price,curtious staff,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold no heating on

    Location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The icy snowy weather

    Staff r great food delicious location brilliant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really outstanding. Food was amazing. Our room was big and the hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breafast, restaurant fantastic YNWA

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff and the food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, on site restaurant with great food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good food and lovely people. Will come back there soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOVELY BIG ROOM AND WARM. BREAKFAST WAS GREAT AND PLENTY. STAFF WERE VERY WELCOMING AND HELPFUL

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food after 5 on our arrival and rooms very cold

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds comfy, Good cheap stay with friends. Location was handy for us and staff where welcoming on arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy bathroom fans

    Friendly staff, good accommodation, good choice of restaurant food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think I could fault anything all was good ...

    Beds very comfy children really enjoyed the two nights .will be back again soon..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think I could fault anything all was good ...

    Beds very comfy children really enjoyed the two nights .will be back again soon..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good

    Room was quite and well heated

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed the overnight stay friendly staff .would recommend a visit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, very spacious family room. Dinner, breakfast and bar service couldn't be faulted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm at night

    Excellent service very helpful and friendly staff overall could not fault this hotel and would recommend it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cosy , staff welcoming helpful and pleasant, also bar tender on the night pleasant and courteous ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room

    Good spacious rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was o.k.

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff.comfortable bed.good music

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothingvery happy stay

    bacon and cabbage

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very ordinary. When we arrived we had to wait for a good while before we were booked in.

    Very little.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were very spacious the staff go that extra mile to help you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfy Staff really friendly Would stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best pint of Guinness all holiday

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was really small and the lift was a bit hard to work.

    Staff were really friendly and the breakfast was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were comfy but extractor fan and shower noise pretty loud.Design of the building im afraid.Easy fix though

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: