Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Newgrange Lodge 3 stars

Donore, Newgrange, Donore, Ireland

#3 of 3 hotels in Donore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 981 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en-suite was a little small but the room made up for that.very contented

    Everything was great including the croissants on arrival. Room was spacey and staff eager to help. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a little musty smell in the bathroom when we first entered. Perhaps the ventilation could be improved.

    The croissants were flaky and breakfast great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a sticky room with only one window so it was hard to Change the air.

    A bed and a small Breakfast for 21 Euro is pretty good. It was nice and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Groups in the hotel had teens running up and down the halls most if the night..trying our door knob every so often....disnt get a good sleep

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower door was in bits but in mitigation I was told that all the showers were to be be upgraded. Most other facilities/equipment had already been done.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position to visit local attractions, walk to Newgrange, 5 mins drive to Dalys Pub for wonderful dinner, we ate there two nights in a row! Easy drive to Slane for part of the ramparts walk. Lovely homey feel to the lodge. Smallish rooms but everything you need! Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I stayed in seemed cramped with bunk beds with no space around. Had to live out of the bag as there was no shelf to put any of my stuff. Not even hanger or hooks for clothes or towel.

    Location is nice, just 5 min walk to the Newgrange Visitor Center. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small and didn’t have tea, coffee and a teapot in the room.

    This is a great location if you are visiting Newgrange. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is maybe a little less personal than the other places we've visited but was excellent none the less. Since we arrived really late the staff left us keys and a note which was super nice. Plus the property is walking distance from bru na boinne which for us was priceless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to drive to get food or drinks, which was a bummer, but also the isolation added to the appeal.

    It was beautiful and quiet and walking distance to Newgrange. The place had so many quaint, comfy spots to set up and ave a drink or open a book. Good for a relaxing night off

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room. Staff were helpful but not enthusiastic. Communal kitchen was low standard.

    The room was clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast was quite reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was quite spotty. Especially at a location away from the city it is important that you have good WiFi so you can plan your next day, communicate etc. Also, the big white tent in the central courtyard makes the place look really cheap, while otherwise it would be a beautiful place.

    The breakfast buffet was fantastic, the best I had during the whole trip. They even have a pancakemachine that cooks them while you watch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative at all. Fabulous place. We had a great stay. Kids had a great time too. The staff are so friendly and helpful.

    A great place for exploring the Boyne valley and beyond. Lovely friendly staff. Great accommodation, really clean. We've stayed many times and each time it gets better. They have put so much work in over the years. Excellent facilities and a tasty breakfast too! Great for the kids. We'll definitely be back. Can't recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were moved to another hotel due to one of the local hotels having issues. The new location was fantastic but the lady at the New Grange was wonderful! The facility was clean and beautiful. I look forward to spending some time there is the future!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like But a suggestion of having tea/coffee facilities in the room would have been good

    Beautiful location, friendly easy going helpful staff Beds were fantastic ,very comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff took exceptional care of our family and even cooked us a special breakfast. They treated my kids very well. I will be staying here again if I am ever in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing not to like

    very relaxing the area is sound lovely location staff were very helpful and friendly breakfast was good value for price and the breakfast was very enjoyable thanks i would recommend staying here

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband disliked the noise from the large group of scouts/ children who happened to be staying in the Lodge at the same time as us.

    it was close to Newgrange. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that I didn't like was the en suite on the small side

    Love the location and the building itself is lovely. The interior is very homely and welcoming. Have to mention the staff and say they are great, the reception staff deserve huge credit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms appear to be very basic. Under floor heating not great for attempting to heat the bedroom. Bathroom remained icy cold, as there was no heating! No power shower meant that hot water was slow to achieve. Not convinced on the cleanliness of our room. Wasn’t clear from Booking.com description that dinner service was not available. There was a disturbance late at night involving the Garda, an ambulance crew and some room occupants. Was very concerning. Be mindful that this area is subject to low or no mobile phone coverage.

    Staff were very friendly and car parking good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was freezing cold, so cold that we had to put on our shoes to use the bathroom. On the night we arrived we could not get hot water in the sink or bath even though we left the hot taps running for a long time. Eventually I gave up and I mentioned it to reception at the morning. Immediately they came down to see what the problem was and gave me a key for another room to shower. After a short while of the hot tap running again in the morning, there was hot water. Apparently I was in a room very far down the corridor which meant a delay in receiving hot water. I can understand that, however on the night of arrival, I ran the sink hot tap for about 10 minutes and the bath tap for about 5 minutes and no joy. Saying that, once I reported the problem to Lucia, she immediately went to work on solving the problem. The only thing I would change about Newgrange Lodge would be to have some type of heating in the bathroom especially during the winter months and of course hot water when you turn on the hot taps.

    The bed and pillows were really comfortable and the bedroom was lovely and warm. We had the best sleep we had in a long time. The reception areas and main guest areas are beautifully decorated and very homely. The staff were professional, lovely and very helpful, they would do anything they could to help you. Charlie the dog is divine!. Even though there is no hot food available at the Lodge, there is a nearby takeaway that delivered to the Lodge. The takeaway was delivered in a very short time and the food was also very good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay in the lodge was nice. Stated on booking.com lodge was 10 minutes drive from slane which is true.. I think people should be warned there is no transport from the lodge other than taxi which cost €25 for this short journey.

    Good value for money.. room was clean and warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in the place because I ask was there a breakfast there was I wake up went down to get it and there was no breakfast it was two pieces of bread and a cup of tea so when I ask for some Irish breakfast there was none but there was some for other people's there was standing there

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise at night, did not get much sleep. Basic breakfast but can’t expect more for the price really. It would be nice if the room had a kettle.

    Cheap last minute accommodation. Booked a 3 person room and got a family room. Rooms are spacious clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No food, other than breakfast. Be sure to go grocery shopping before arriving as there is no store or restaurant within walking distance. Otherwise you will need to buy sandwiches at the Visitor Centre and exist on those at night. But otherwise this is a great place to stay.

    Great location, just a few steps from the Visitor Centre for Newgrange

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quite a long way from Slane Village breakfast was just average

    Cheap and cheerful , no frills but perfect for a weekend base , we were attending a wedding near by. The staff were excellent and very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    New Grange lodge is around 200m from the entrance of the New Grange ancient monument! It is in a perfect location. The staff there were extra helpful! The family room we had was perfect and very comfortable, thank you so much!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for hot breakfast after pay money Bed has bed bugs Bed very hard No tea n the room Room was cold Room next door kept wakeing us up at 6 am

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy! Very thin walls and we could hear children running up and down the corridors until very late and people arguing! Broken window handle in the room which meant we couldn’t close it. Very basic rooms.

    Lovely staff who were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay , so close to newgrange .lovely family room and staff were very friendly and helpful.breakfast had a lot of choice and the children loved the pancake maker.will return lots to see in the area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did have tea or coffee facilities in room or safe could be updated furniture and a bit more cleaning

    Set in lovely surrounding with shuttle service which was very good, lovely old style lodge, price was very good ,plenty of hot water and good change of towels and bedding

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting musty smell in bedroom. Nothing done about it. Windows opened by staff when we were out. Security risk. Obviously knew smell was a problem. Dirty communal kitchen

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ideal for accessing Newgrange but would recommend a car if you plan to travel further afield. We had to hire taxis all the time as you couldn't rely on public transport!

    Very relaxed atmosphere. Helpful staff. Freedom to cook our own evening meals in the guest kitchen area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even the fresh towels smelled musty because they have no clothes dryer

    Great location to see ancient sites. Large common lounging areas. 24hr access to self serve kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room that literally took 12 minutes to get hot water for a shower, Noisy rooms. Restaurant closed during off season.

    Location , while in the countryside is at Newgrange Monument a must see 5000 year old site and 10 minutes from a pub with good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like electric jug and tea/coffee in rooms. Be aware that a car is needed to get to eateries in Donore but easy driving.

    It was very convenient to Newgrange..very short walk. The rooms were clean and comfortable, not overly big but big bathroom. The continental breakfast was good with lots of choices. The staff were helpful. Very quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny box room. To get into bed one has to climb in from end. Double & Single beds crammed in. This place is not even vaguely like the photos, its more like a poor hostel , cheap fittings, no lift. Hot breakfast an extra €5 . And it cost €75 pet night

    Super staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong, bad smell in the room, mold on the floor of the shower, toilet flush button broke off and fell into the tank on first use.

    Across the street from the Brú na Bóinne visitor centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt a bit damp but I'd say that would be fixed with the heating switched on a bit longer.

    Staff were lovely and the room was great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation is hostel quality, it is clean and comfortable, but NOT deluxe, No tea/coffee or hair drier in room.

    location is great for Bru Na Boine, staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two staff members were very rude. In particular one at breakfast time. He said my boyfriend was stirring his coffee too loudly, then instead of asking me to move my handbag from the ground he moved it himself. He also had an argument with his colleague very loudly in the kitchen and then walked out and told me it was all my fault. How I was to blame I dont know but we didnt enjoy our breakfast at all. On arrival we were later than I initially had planned as we stopped for food. I was told by a lady at check in that we were late. When I apologied I was told "we don't care". The shower was extremely cold. I wouldnt recommend anyone to stay here

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small and a little dated but clean and comfortable.

    The lady at reception was so helpful and friendly, she went over and above her duties...even printing the map so we could find our way home was great. Thanks a million (Im embarrassed I cant remember her name :( )

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was exceed my expectation. There is nothing to complaint about.

    I enjoy staying here. It was very close to the Newgrange within walking distance. It was a pleasant stay. Breakfast was good and available early.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was first class.

    Whole property is beautifully presented. Warm and homely with log burning fire in secluded guest lounge. Very clean and tidy and a good large shower on suite. Dining/breakfast lounge very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired place! Takes bus tour groups (noisy). No tea, coffee making in the room, no bottled water, no toiletries only soap. Could only get luke warm water for shower. Not sound proofed wall, could hear next door room on the phone & talking. Bathroom not very clean. The place needs a whole re-furb.

    Walking distance to Newgrange Tomb & Knowth Tomb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable, maybe even broken. No tea or coffee making facility in room and common kitchen taken over by backpackers. It wasn't clearly stated that this accommodation was a hostel.

    Location to Newgrange excellent and breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find due to lack of details for address. Gps needs a street and number. No tea and coffee in room

    Very comfortable beds Great breakfast Fabulous staff Could walk only 50m to the Newgrange Tombs which should be on everyone's bucket list!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got moved up to the house just up the road! Was told was over booked but not a problem to us, just needs the house updating, got offered a cooked breakfast because of this but declined as we'd already had had enough, Nice Base to stay, easy to reach other Attractions.

    Easy to Reach, near Newgrange Monument, Reasonable breakfast, Friendly staff,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were woken up throughout the night by the activity of other guests moving round the hotel; I don't think the soundproofing was very good!

    It's perfect for visiting Newgrange and Knowth, situated just a few hundred metres from the visitors' centre. The twin room was really luxurious, with a double and a single bed and ample bedding. The room we were in was obviously built as an accessible room. Staff were really helpful and recommended a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive for the type of accommodation offered. Not quite a hostel but more this, than a hotel.

    It was laid back and the staff accommodating and friendly. Food was nice and the coffee excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very big and comfortable and we loved the breakfast. The property is beautiful and it is in the middle of the forest, very close to Bru na Boinne (3 min walk).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a great location and the staff were lovely. Eventhough the continental breakfast was included in our deal they offered us hot food also. The pancake machine was a great hit with the kids. The room was basic but very clean and warm with comfy beds and a great shower. The nigjt we stayed it was quiet. Would definately recommend this to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no shampoo or soap in the toilet, in the room was some insects and breakfast was not good, I will never back there again, looks like low standard and for that place price too high for the nite.

    The place overall was nice, Staff very friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was inedible & substandard...the cooked breakfast was burnt & dried out. On walking in for breakfast we were met with flies on the bread. Would not recommend eating here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cramped room, no wardrobe just drawer space. Most sockets behind the kids bed which wasn't ideal for charging phone etc. Dirt (like rice) in the drawers of the chest of drawers & under the sink in the bathroom was really dirty. Would have liked tea making option in the bedroom opposed to travelling down to the kitchen. One pillow each had to use towels to get a comfortable sleep.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. Close to many landmarks. Breakfast was manic on the first morning but they pulled it back on the second morning. There was a good variety of options for breakfast & the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The common areas are a bit shabby and could do with some updating.

    The room was very clean and adequate. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. If you want to visit Newgrange you can't beat the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the staff were very nice, they did not make up for the fact that the room was really dusty and there was an incredible amount of 'flying ants' and spiders. The room was uncomfortably warm despite the fact that the in-room thermostat was turned all the way down and the window was wide open. Also, there were some stains on the bedding. Particularly disappointing was the price. From the pictures we had assumed that the near-hotel pricing would result in near-hotel quality for this B&B; this was not the case.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we were located in different part of property. It was away few minutes driving distance, we didn't have idea where we were going

    It was very close to Newgrange monument

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is the shower head in my room appeared dirty due to hard water. I couldn't take a shower because that made me feel dirty just looking at it.

    The hotel staff was very welcoming and the room was nice. The lounge spaces were a good bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My understanding was that reception would be 24/7. However, we tried to check out early and went to reception repeatedly between 6 and 8 am on Monday morning. Nobody there. Anlso called the number, but no answer. Quite confusing. Probably best to talk to them in advance about need to check out early or to get hold of a taxi cab.

    Extremely friendly staff. Was ably to arrange a personal pickup from the Dublin airport through the hotel. Short walking distance from Newgrange. Athmosphere was very warm with comfortable lounges, access to refrigerator and kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom walls are paper thin, you could hear the people next door talking 😂 Self catering kitchen is tiny, whole place feels cluttered, not sure if it's a hostel or b an b .

    Breakfast was very good especially the pancake maker 😎

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a B&B room with TV in the Lodge only to be told on arrival that our room was in the Rock House Farm down the road. Granted they took a bit off the price but this did not compensate for: no TV in the room, bathroom door would not shut, having to get up and drive back to the Lodge the next morning for breakfast, a very loud pump going all night making it a very restless night. I made a complaint the next morning and was told the manager would see what could be done by way of compensation but have heard nothing since.

    The location is perfect if you are visiting Newgrange.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is NOT a hotel, a Guest House or even a B&B. This is, at best, a good, clean hostel and campsite! If this was sold as such I would have no issue with the place, I'll be honest. The room was clean the location fine and as a bed for the night with a private bathroom, I've stayed in a lot worse but it was shown as something far more upmarket so as such my review is based on what it was selling itself as. Firstly, our room was located in a different house located over 1/4 mile away (we had to drive to it, it was so far) and it had no way of communicating with the main reception in the main house other than our own mobile phones. This was both poor on a safety and service front. The staff on duty when we arrived were rude to other guests and then to us when we queried why we weren't staying in the main house as we were lead to believe when booking. When we got to the house with 'our' room in, (after being told to wait back in our car after unloading all our cases already as we needed to follow the receptionist in their car to show us the way) we were then shocked to be told that breakfast in the morning was served back in the main site, that we would have to drive back to, only IF we were not leaving until 8am because they didn't serve it any earlier than that on a Sunday! (Even though it was included in the fee we had just paid.) The existing guests were in the 'lounge' area laying around in pyjamas and bare feet and consequently the place had a terrible smell to it. We were asked if we needed to shower that evening, (we didn't) because if we did they would leave the shower pump turned on. This was because they needed to turn it off as it was noisy through the night. They left it on anyway and yes, it was really noisy as the pumps were next to our room. We had to call them to get them turned off...which meant they had to drive back to do so.

    Well, there was plenty of space to park and the room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more like a hostel than a B&B with the breakfast more like a cafeteria than an irish breakfast. Also the room was too warm with the floor overheating from pipes.

    Close to park site we came to visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't recommend anyone stay at this Hostel if they are looking to sleep. They have by far the most uncomfortable beds. You simply cannot move and there is huge sqeaking of the bunk-beds, they squeaking kept going on and on and on to the point anytime i did manage to sleep when i moved the bed would stat squeaking so very loudly. Don't take my word for it, if you sleep there you'll see what i mean and i know you won't return. The man on late night reception is very helpful and friendly and i cannot overrate him - but the beds, which is most important it an absolute car crash - you just can't and wont sleep in them. They are totally noisy and squeaky.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is charming from the outside but once inside the room we were given was small, stuffy, over heated, poorly decorated and the bed so uncomfortable that sleep was impossible. The room view was of rubbish bins and staff would congregate at a back door under our window where they would smoke and hold loud conversations.

    The location was a few minutes walk from visiting Newgrange.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was youth hostel quality. Perhaps I'd been too spoiled by the B&Bs I'd been staying, but it was basic and the room was cramped and noisy.

    A lively time as it was hosting two groups of teenagers while we were there. It would be fun to take a group there I would imagine. Our family took two rooms. One near the groups and one separate. The staff moved our teens into a separate room bc of noise from the groups. A staff member noticed a burn I had and helped me by finding aloe and some burn advice. Very appreciated. Location was perfect for an early start to Newgrange.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly sign posted. Lost GPS signal in several areas. Cobwebs galore in en suite..

    Located in very scenic area. Staff were friendly and accommodating when we needed to change a room to ground floor on arrival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not for us, a lot of files in the bathroom from the location.

    Beautiful location, with activities and beverages on site. Lovely decking to enjoy the evening on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    New Grange Lodge has a good location for the visit of the sites and is aprox 35 minutes drive from the Dublin Airport. The only disadvantage is that there is no restaurant and it is necessary to drive to the nearest village about 3 km. Our room was all right but do not understand why there was so hot even if we did not find any heating - it was probably in the floor and was not possible to swich it off and therefore the window must be permanently open. It reminded us the wasting of energy in the time whem our country was socialist.....The common spaces on the groundfloor and first floor are very nice and comfortable. We had only a badluck that that night we stayed at the Newgrange Lodge and had to get up early in order to leave for the airport there were many families with small children doing noice.......

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just little things like no hand-wash in bathroom but nothing major can't complain!

    Lovely location,perfect for a relaxed get away, literally across the road from Newgrange monument, very short drive into slane some gorgeous views and slane castle of course. Breakfast was spot on in the morning, and had a good nights sleep!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a few more power-outlets in the room would have been nice. I used the room single so I was OK, but I can imagine if the room was up to full capacity (6) it might have ended in manslaughter for the 2 outlets to charge the phones....

    The people were SUPERfriendly here! They helped me out with just about everything. They told me where to find a good restaurant (really not the easiest thing around here for a non-car owner) and pointed me towards a friendly taxi driver service) The beds were really good! I mean, this is a HOSTEL, I would have been happy with a non-backbreaking experience but boy they were really nice! The breakfast had all you could ask from a hostel point of view (they even have a pancake maker, not really for me but I heard enthusiastic squeaks from other people, so it must be something good LOL)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely uncomfortable and noisy eveytime you twisted and turned. Our room had am awful smell in it. Staff at breakfast time we're extremely rude, nobody said where to go never mind how to get breakfast. Very poor selection of breakfast, continental only. A lady at the table beside me went up to get toast and when she same back the woman had taken her plate and cup of tea from her. Staff very rude, facilities poor, could hear every word in the room next door and the shouting in the corridor from other tourists.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small and we could hear everything said in the room next door. A bus load of school children were staying on the second floor which made things even more noisy. Was a good place to stay to visit the tombs but not very relaxing given the small size of rooms and noise factor.

    Very close to the Newgrange tomb site which was our only reason for staying here. Continental breakfast was good and staff friendly. Room was clean but a bit small

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows did not have safety catches on them so not suitable for families with babies or toddlers.

    The pancake machine was a delight for our 4 year old boy....he loved it and the breakfast was substantial...loads of tea/coffee/juice, toast, fruit, cheese, yoghurts & of course the pancakes...yum! The staff are very friendly especially in the breakfast room and good with kids. We were only 10mins drive from Funtasia & 15-20 min drive to Tayto park...not to mention a walk away to the Newgrange centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Newgrange Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: