Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Newpark Hotel 4 stars

Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland

#15 of 51 hotels in Kilkenny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1969 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Prepay & Save
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym was not very clean and there were refurbishments going on at the time of my stay.

    Lovely hotel. Perfect for families. Leisure Centre will be lovely when refurbishments are complete.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was near an Animal petting area there was a Peacock there which was quiet noisy. We got moved the next day to the other side of the building. Thats the only issue we had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We choose this hotel because of its location near Kilkenny and that it was able to accommodate our family of 5 with 2 rooms. It’s about a 20 minute walk into town (or 5 minute drive). The hotel has many amenities and seemed to be full of local Irish families enjoying the weekend as well as some conference attendees. Despite the hotel being busy, the staff was very attentive during our short stay. Our rooms did not have air con (it was June, temps about 65), so it really wasn’t an issue. There was a fan in the room. The rooms were lovely - comfy beds, nice baths - with robes & slippers. The breakfast (included) was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool small and not very kid orientated but was satisfactory. Changing room being renovated so had to return to room to shower, had to walk through reception to get to and from pool/room!!

    Animal park & walks very good. Great kids menu and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a superior room located off the lobby. When we entered the room the noise level from an adjoining room was alarmingly high in terms of voices and laughter. there was an interconnecting door from our room to the one next door. On investigation we discovered that the adjoining room was a temporary gents changing room for the leisure centre. Directly opposite was a temporary changing room for women. I complained to reception who after a good ten minutes discussion agreed that the room should not have been allocated. Apparently the leisure centre is being revamped. It made sense at that stage as to why we were told we had to pay the full price on registration. Never before did we pay for a room on arrival without even seeing it. we were told this was the hotel policy to guarantee payment. I had to argue to get moved to somewhere quieter hence we got an executive suite. It was clean but somewhat basic when compared to other suites we have stayed in and was very bland. Nonetheless we were happy to be moved from the other totally unsuitable room. We ate in the bar that night. The food was disappointing to say the least. Pretty tasteless fish cakes as a starter and my husband had a Cajun chicken burger for main course which was also very average and tasteless. Breakfast was ok except that despite the restaurant being very empty we were seated right between two tables occupied by an elderly gentleman on the right and a couple to the left. There was literally no space between the tables. We were well into eating our breakfast when the other guests arrived and we were at a loss as to why they were not seated elsewhere for their comfort and ours. Overall we were

    bedroom was clean. Hotel location was good. the bathroom was very big and had a good shower, nice selection of toiletries. Very quiet as we were upgraded to a suite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent stay at the Newpark.. Upgraded on arrival to a beautiful suite which was fantastic.. Staff were excellent throughout and hotel facilities great. Close to the city centre to walk or taxi! Would definitely return and recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very warm at night but this was most likely due to the high temperatures that weekend. We had to sleep with the door open.

    Great location just outside of Kilkenny city centre. Quick 5 minute taxi spin away. Rooms were very nice, huge TV and lovely bathroom. Servicing of rooms was carried out very quickly and efficiently daily. Staff were exceptionally polite and very prompt at breakfast. Couldn't fault them. Leisure facilities were clean and well run. Outdoor vitality pool is a must! We discovered the pet farm/Marsh nature walk on the second last day so saved that for our day of check out. Great facility for children with a playground also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    think the pool area could be more child friendly and should be advertised that infinity pool is adult only

    loved the children's areas. Food was beautiful too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, big and spacious. Breakfast was great. Kids loved they could get pancakes. Swimming pool was great esp the outdoor hot tub. Would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was one of my best hotel experiences.

    The room was clean and cosy. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The mini farm attendee was extremely nice and even let me feed the llamas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Family (2 adults and 3 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel lovely comfy beds lovely food great swimming pool and excellent facilities out the back for kids playground, go karting, petting zoo fairy doors etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little on the expensive side as we just stayed for a wedding so didn't quiet get much use of the room

    Beautiful hotel and great service from staff. Attended a wedding beautiful food and atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *We weren't informed about the evening kids club at reception upon check in ..we found it ourselves a little too late on our last evening .. *Kids were charged an extra €5.50 each per morn for breakfast which i dont agree with ..the most expensive coco pops i've ever paid for , they shouldn't have been charged extra for breakfast !! *Bring your own Soya milk !! On three occasions they tried to give me a thick gluggy solution from the kitchen that is used in sauces , if you dont have it tell the customer !! *Our room wasn't refreshed with tea cups & water , little essentials when your away in a hotel.

    *Staff were lovely. Darragh looked after us very well. *Breakfast was set up / laid out well, plenty on offer .. *Fantastic kids area at the back of the hotel. Playground, swings, animals to see, a fairy walk to spot all the fairy houses, Just brilliant. *Bar food was delicious , great attentive service even though there was a wedding crowd in the same bar ..we were still looked after very well. *Pool was gorgeous & mom & dad the infinity pool outside was just so relaxing . *Ciara, Clare & Niamh the friendliest staff members in the kids club , our kids 2.5 & 5.5 had great fun with them on our last night even if it was only the hour & a half , they had great fun

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The experience over all was amazing

    The rooms are amazing and spacious, my son who is 2 years old loved the petting zoo and play area with go karting and swing and slide area was a hit, am going back in july and august 🤗

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    thought we where renting the room in the 1st picture because its a little pricey. was a little disappointed when I walked into the red rooms. but still good just not luxury. its 15min walk into town or 12 euro taxi. we did the taxi ever time.

    very nice hotel. we stayed 2 nts. the beds where comfortable, the shower was HOT and with good pressure. the breakfast was excellent and they will make you eggs to order if you ask. the little zoo they have and the kids area is done very well and any little ones will love it. they have a spa and the hot tub looked amazing outside of the spa. they have a nice gym too. both nights that we were their there was a wedding going on. bar 5*

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch was very average. We had the club sandwich and chicken wrap and neither were to the standard you would expect.

    Room and facilities were excellent! Staff were very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impressions on entrance hall and side entrance it looks very grubby for a 4 star hotel.could do with a good deep clean in all general areas ( rooms were v clean but did find some rubbish under bed when I pushed it over a little.just jaded dark and grubby in common areas.also could do with opening all window for fresh air as hotel smelled stale .

    Room bathroom was v clean.v happy with this.no hygiene issues.reception staff pleasant and v helpful when needed to change room- staff v good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel tries to be too many venues at once. On site are a petting zoo, a designed “ecosystem”, a spa, two swimming pools ( indoor and outdoor), and several play areas for children. When my spouse and I arrived, there were Holy Communion parties galore, a wedding reception and a group tour meeting. The scene was loud and chaotic. Our room was near the elevator, though I specifically asked for one further away. I also emailed reception requesting early check-in and received a form letter stating “no dice” in return. The beds are not four star quality and the sheets are certainly not H thread cotton. We ate at one of the restaurants. Our meals were brought out immediately, a telltale sign they’d been heated in a microwave. My husband enjoyed his find and chips, but my Indian Komar was subpar. The room is not air conditioned, though it is advertised as such. We found a fan in the closet and used it to ease the “stuffiness.” While settling into our room, I heard an ungodly screeching , occurring at regular intervals. I was glad I’d brought earplugs. Eventually, we found out that the noise came from a peacock in the “ecosystem/petting zoo.” Weird! Overall, staying here was not something I’d repeat. The facility caters to families but tries to be adult friendly as well. It doesn’t work.

    The rooms are clean, if not in need of updating. The bathroom is state of the art and designed for energy efficiency. The rain shower is lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower looked great but with one open side water splashed out past where it would drain. Dried it with a towel but it was form over function I think. Had to wait a couple of mins to be seated at breakfast, they could have done with more tables/seating for that.

    Bed was comfortable, plenty tv channels, hotel is modern, free wifi, nice area with retractable roof at the back, lot of parking. Food served at wedding reception in good time. Didn't have to wait long to get served at any of the bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor things. No water and dressing gown/slippers in the room. Staff at breakfast could have been a bit more attentive, hard to find someone to take our order.

    Room was perfect. Was lovely and quiet and had a great view out into the courtyard. Bed comfortable and shower was great. Hotel's in a great location, it's a short walking distance into the city. Front desk staff really helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a great stay at this hotel. Quiet room, clean, comfortable and in a good location. Staff are always friendly and helpful too. Myself and my girlfriend always leave there happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time at the hotel and could not fault it. Everything you want and need is at your fingertips. Waterford is only 40 mins away ideal for a family day out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gullivers restaurant menu too much alike bar menu. Also last morning of breakfast , we were seated in the room opposite main dining area, staff wanted to keep busy but it was annoying as they practically hovered over our table.

    Big enough for people to enjoy with or without kids. Don't let children put you off as they can be avoided really. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were too soft and the pillows too hard (you don’t get the ‘one soft, one hard’ option other hotels give you. The ‘shower’ was barely more than a trickle. I had a hard time getting the shampoo out of my hair. We tried first thing in the morning and even at 2.30pm to see if there was a difference. There wasn’t. You would think given the money spent on the ‘farm’ that they would sort out the shower pressure as a priority. We didn’t like the bistro. The food options were very confusing. (Lack of menus / information about what was available or how much it cost). The terrace which looked like a lovely option on the website was closed for private functions both nights. Breakfast was nothing short of chaotic. We had to wait ages for someone to ask if we wanted tea/coffee/toast and then ages for it to arrive. We weren’t the only ones, we heard other tables requesting service then asking where their order was. The spa massage and relaxation room was fabulous, but you had to get changed for it in the same changing room as all the family and children going for a swim. Not remotely relaxing and peaceful. This could easily be solved with a partition in the changing rooms for spa users only. The swimming pool itself looked like a dirty ‘moss’ green colour. I didn’t dare venture in. Oh and the place is full to the brim with children. Didn’t both us might bother other people None of this ruined our holiday. We had a lovely weekend and Kilkenny is Fabulous however I feel sick when I think how much this hotel cost! We would have been much better off in the B&B over the road and we could still have sat in the reception.

    We liked all the seating area in the reception and the food in the restaurant was very nice (although pricy). Our room was lovely and big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Prepay & Save
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no negative comments.

    The facility was beautiful. Service was excellent. Hotel had comfortable seating areas. It was also very quiet. Location was perfect for getting down town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast could have been nicer and a little better organized, and the breakfast itself was only ok, great options but the buffet was a little dry!

    Really clean hotel, room was great and spa and leisure center looked fab!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fan in our bathroom was leaking a rusty substance into the bath which was a little annoying - but it was cleaned away every morning by the lovely cleaning staff.

    The staff were second to none - very helpful and attentive!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need to improve on customer service friendliness, could have been made feel more welcome and a smile on departure at the very least, one of the bedroom cleaners was extremely rude also.

    I liked the outdoor facilities for kids

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such a pity there is no internal walkway from the hotel to the Leisure center. The staff there weren't as friendly or helpful as the hotel staff as they were busy chatting to each other. The facilities were excellent but on the day the pool water was much to warm which made it uncomfortable to swim in.

    Fantastic spacious room, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast and bar food. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful at all times. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Place was nice and family orientated with a 4 star class. We got upgraded cause of my partners 40th birthday. Found out when I arrived. Lovely wine and chocolates in the room. A suprise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that we were in an older room. Our room did not look as nice as the pictures we had previously seen.

    The spa and leisure facilities were fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no water pressure in the shower so it was a trickle of water, and the bathroom was quite cold. There was no mini bar / fridge in the room which isn't a big problem but we had a few things we wanted to chill.

    We dont usually book family friendly or child friendly hotels - but this is a fantastic place for a family, without seeming like a family hotel. They had so many facilities and also listed entertainment options for good weather and bad weather in their hotel guide - indoors they had a baby room with nursing area, change table etc, another room was play room for slightly older children with play equipment and toys - our son loved it and was very happy to have some toys and lego to play with! The swimming pool is large for lap swimming, with a smaller pool for the kids, and a heated spa, change rooms were excellent - spacious with lockers and showers, and even a cot for babies, the gym facilities were also very good and open to outside guests. Staff in the gym were great and they sell googles, pool toys etc for use, towels are provided, you must purchase a bathing cap but its only 3 euro. Outside activities included a huge playground or adventure park, petting zoo with range of animals, fairy walk, and 2km nature / wildlife trail - all of which are within the hotel grounds, safe, secure and in excellent condition - well kept, clean and new. It was really perfect for kids and very relaxing and fun to be there as a family. That being said we did not feel like the place was over-run with kids, and it was very peaceful and quiet to be there - we didn't notice that it was a 'family place' and there were many business guests and other travellers who could equally enjoy their stay. The hotel seemed smart in providing high tea and nice settings for travellers without children, and keeping families close to the child-friendly facilities. We had planned to travel into Kilkenny for dinner but the on-site restaurant was excellent and we really enjoyed staying in for the evening with great food and a few drinks (without having to drive). Breakfast was fine - continental options were great, the cooked breakfast ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this as an anniversary present and had been looking forward to it for ages! We couldn’t check in until late because the room wasn’t ready, there was nothing superior about the superior room I booked and we waited over 45 minutes for our bags to be dropped up to us. They did provide a bottle of wine for the inconvenience but it was off to such a bad start it was too late to make anything up. At €190 for a night we were not impressed and won’t be back.

    The vitality pool was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard poached egg - very minor dislike.

    Love this hotel, comfortable, clean, really helpful staff, excellent facilities (especially the infinity pool) and the location is great. Will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were fantastic and could not be more helpful and friendly. The outdoor pool is absolutely beautiful and the grounds are exceptional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were in they’re was a case of ants very bad but staff changed us into a new room and were so good about it all and sorted in two minutes

    Staff were lovely and so helpful Food was amazing Second room was amazing Nice relaxing stay Outdoor mini zoo and forest is unbelievable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is an open shower so the bathroom floor got very wet which is annoying. The shower wasn't overly powerful either. The carvery on Sunday is also poorly laid out. Desserts should be held separately and tea and coffees should be delivered to the tables more promptly.

    Spa facilities were great. We used the pool and the infinity pool. So relaxing-it was lovely. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing stay for my partners birthday. Beautiful touch that they hotel left some cute desserts as wine with "happy birthday" written in chocolate sauce.... So fabulous that they went the extra mile..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were so comfortable. The lady at the reception was extremely welcoming!! And the man at the bar was so friendly. (Didn't get names) Everyone went up and beyond to accommodate us, all with friendly smiles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor Jacuzzi wasnt warm enough and some of the jets weren't working. Also water pressure and temperature in room was very poor. But tap was incineratingly hot..

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think because it is advertised as a family destination and child -friendly , there could have been a lot more for kids. (2.5 year old- coudl be a kids club that an adult could attend). when it rained there was nothing for that age group. Also my room was smaller than I had thought for 300€ for 2 nights without breakfast. Staff could have been more efficient and friendlier. It felt like you were under staffed( waited for 30 minutes to order in terrace place). A fridge in the room is essential for child friendly hotel. Maintenance seemed poor- shower had no pressure. Also restaurant needs to open earlier to accomodate younger kids and bed time. Dining in a pub both nights was not ideal.

    pool was good/ staff friendly there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Prepay & Save
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved everything, staff were brill,food fab, Drinks expensive only thing we found wrong €11.20 for 2 pints carlsberg a bit high

    bathrooms were excellent, would have preferred not to have had an adjoining room, but it was excellent all the same, was not up in time for breakfast so cant comment but im sure it was perfect. coming back on August 9th for nephews wedding again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really looking forward to using the Jacuzzi and outdoor tub... unfortunately due to work being done they were freezing sat morning when we went down..

    Excellent staff at both checking in and out. Delighted with our fruit, choc treats and bottle of wine complimentary for my husband's birthday in our room on arrival. First weekend away since we had our little boy so this was a fabulous touch.. thank you so much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although breakfast was good very surprised not to have fried eggs as normal selection I do believe we could have had one made but didn't know that at the time

    Bed was very comfortable and the shower head was huge liked that the window could be opened top and bottom lounge area was lovely with big open fire

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating in the room wasn't great. Radiator air-locked. Entertainment in bar at night could be improved on.

    friendliness and helpfulness of staff and all round atmosphere of relaxation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed bar food only carvery in bar, only wanted snack with children but found it in Terrace bar.

    We loved special touch, pet farm, playground, helpful friendly staff, very happy with stay, will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service for lunch in terrace bar but there was a christening on. Slow service at breakfast next morning but lots of guests from wedding day before.

    Beds lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest the room was lovely. Couldn’t expect any more although the location of the room was a tad bit disappointing. We were next to a towel room on the ground floor and we could hear dryers or generators a good bit. I understand it has to be done, it was just a little noisy. There always seemed to be a maid(s) standing outside our door too (obv because of the towel room being next to us). Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a huge problem.

    SPa was unreal. Really lovely atmosphere especially outside. Food was great, staff were so helpful and friendly, overall a lovely stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room would have been bigger as it was described as a superior suite. The bed was also quite soft on the left side.

    Great food and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a real let down - warm water not readily available and not a powerful shower. Also, on the second day we didn’t get toilet roll in the room.

    Very nice attentive staff. Food was good and spa was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closer attention could have been paid to cleanness of the seating in the front lobby. These were very stained.

    Excellent location within walking distance to the city centre. Outside facilities great for children. Relaxing spa worth a visit. Food at hotel good and very friendly staff. However our room was a little on the small size for a cot bed, which had to be placed beside the radiator, we were also on the lower ground which wasn't accessible via a lift e so it was difficult with the pram and travel bags.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some easter activities for the children needed to be registered for and we werent given any information on arrival about this.

    The hotel staff were very friendly and it was a lovely child friendly hotel with lots to do for the children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit of a walk to town, about 30mins to get to Kilkennny Castle.

    Fantastic hotel, staff were brilliant, always on hand to help and answer questions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant for the kids and adults. Room and hotel spotless clean. Kids club was great. Kids really enjoyed it. Every staff member we came across couldn't have been nicer. Hotel is really well run. Leisure facilities are really nice too. We will defo be back soon

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I would say is we were in a room that was adjoining another room and we could hear every word the neighbours were saying we booked a hotel to have a break from the kids and got to listen to someone else child cry till after 12

    Beds were super comfy... breakfast was delicious and the infinity pool was heaven

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Leisure facilities were superb. The room was modern and so comfortable. The restaurant was lovely and the food was beautiful would highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and hairdryer could have been more powerful.

    The beds were very comfortable. There was plenty of room in the wardrobe. The bathroom and bedroom were super clean. The staff couldn’t have been more helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very children friendly. Pool was packed with children and also around the hotel.So not suitable for couples.

    Bar service for food was very poor. Food menu was very basic. The selection of wine is also not up to scratch for a four star hotel. Rooms are very nice however a very noisy air con system. I would place this hotel as a three star.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Prepay & Save
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was more choice for the pastries for breakfast but that's just me being super picky...

    Loved the food at the bar, very well presented and tasted fantastic. The beds are super comfortable and made it difficult to get up for breakfast. Loved the spa, infinite pool was the best thing about the spa. Loved walking into the hotel and being hit by the scent of the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No other choices for breakfast. They could add up more food. Otherwise, our stay was good.

    The staff are accommodating and the rooms were quiet spacious and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    waiting around for eggs to be cooked .also tables not set properly. minor problems especialy when your catering for a big crowd.

    breakfast could have been better

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The music in the Bar at the weekend wasn't great. Usually stay in hotels a bit more central to the city centre but having said that we got some exercise. Really enjoyed the hotel but it was quite expensive for B&B at €160 per night.

    Lovely rooms with everything needed. Very clean throughout. Leisure facilities were very good too. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very crowded for breakfast, not too many options. A bit expensive for the value (bank holiday price perhaps)

    Excellent kid menu option for lunch and dinner (specially the Carvery!), great indoor pool for kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got an upgrade to a executive which to our idea was a disabled room with bars in the bathroom everywhere. We are a younger couple and thought the hotel is a bit daft although facilities are fine. Pictures on booking dont match with (our) reality.

    Fine hotel for a stayover. Spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family (2 adults and 3 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    one little complaint, we got coffees the next morning in the lobby and they were €4 each, the coffee cups were tiny!

    The bed was super comfy and the breakfast was fab, we attended a birthday party there and the food was exceptional and the service and the staff were fab.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Prepay & Save
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No flip flops in room or given for the pool area and no robes in hotel room either.

    The leisure facilities, hotel smelled great, huge open fire, relaxed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that swimming pool wasn't free till after 5pm and sauna was out of order. Room was nice bit shower head not working properly. Food at function was good.

    The hotel was good. Food at function was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drink was very dear - iI really can't fault anything else!

    Great hotel! Loved the location and really enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi- was fab in the cold weather!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the weather snowing

    So nice n I got my room ready before my time n all services was extremely nice my friend was so happy n we enjoy a lot time going so quickly hope we will go back again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Massively overpriced for what it was Staff in the a la carte restaurant and at breakfast had poor customer service Food in the a la carte was not up to standard, items missing from the dish that were on the menu and not good enough quality for the price. No live music as promised

    Staff and food in the bar were lovely. Quick service and good quality food. Pool and jaccuzi were great but were not offered robes/slippers for the relaxation area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Prepay & Save
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out is 12 which isn’t too bad but would have liked to stay longer

    The hotel was amazing! The breakfast was lovely and the management team left us a bottle of wine in the room when we arrived which we greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a superior room which was more expensive but we got a bog standard room and a balcony my big toe barely fit on. Kettle didn't work. Requested a nice view but view was looking at a brick wall.and don't get me started on the screaming aggressive kids

    Spa facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very poor water pressure in bathroom reported it twice and never heard any more!!!...double bed mattress on queen base....asked for quiet room but placed near kidzone!!!

    all meals very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Prepay & Save
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was amazing, the beds were so comfy and fresh. The outdoor infinity pool was the highlight of our stay. It was so relaxing. The restaurant also created a whole vegan menu for me and my partner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check in was ruined when the staff member told use that we could not use our voucher. With absolutely no help and a rude attitude. Simply just continued to say that we could not use it after driving over 2.5 hours from County Clare. This was very disappointing and put our stay off to a not so nice start. It was an honest mistake that we didn’t book as we were supposed to and I really feel like there should/could have been so sort of compromise but he didn’t want to know.

    The outdoor jacuzzi was lovely, I really enjoyed using it.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: