Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Ireland hotel reviews
  3. Sligo County hotel reviews
  4. Enniscrone hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Ocean Sands Hotel

Reviews of Ocean Sands Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland

#7 of 13 hotels in Enniscrone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 356 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2018

    9.6
    beautiful views and perfect for early morning or moonlit...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I burnt my hand and cut it because the overflow in the bathroom sink was blocked by a previous guest. I didn't realise and left the tap running momentarily while I went to fetch my tea on the first morning and returned to the bathroom only to drop everything because there was water all over the floor within 20 seconds. The only option open to me was to fill out an accident report. I would have appreciated a free cup of tea in the restaurant instead!

    beautiful views and perfect for early morning or moonlit walks on the beach.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Wonderful 5 day stay in Enniscrone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect for us so no dislikes.

    Great location. The hotel staff were brilliant and food was exceptional. Our room was very comfortable and spotless. Loved having a bath in en-suite. Many thanks and will certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    10
    The breakfast wasn't wonderful I must admit but the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was cold and very limited and we were down in plenty of time so I expected it to be hot and plentiful.

    The breakfast wasn't wonderful I must admit but the hotel and staff made up for it. The location is right on the doorstep of the beach wonderful location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly food was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the bathroom made a really loud noise and didn’t turn off for ages every time it was used this was really annoying. When using the shower the pipes made a loud noise like someone drilling through the wall..the toilet didn’t flush during the night for some weird reason. The room wasn’t worth the price in the end it was disappointing.

    Staff were friendly food was good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    10
    I would absolutely recommend The Ocean Sands Hotel, it is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like about this hotel.

    I would absolutely recommend The Ocean Sands Hotel, it is a very family friendly hotel with a Kids Club during the holidays which my boys had a great time at, extremely friendly staff and the bar food is gorgeous and very reasonably priced they have an Early Bird Menu on offer from Monday's to Thursday's with great choice on it. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    5.8
    The staff are great and did everything they could.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to change rooms as the room I was to go into was not clean. By the time everything got sorted it was 2 hours after I checked in.

    The staff are great and did everything they could.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    9.6
    We didn't really know what to expect out of season in a ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't really know what to expect out of season in a seaside town hotel,But were completely blown away with the "Ocean sands hotel",Food was really good and very good value,Staff were fantastic,the hotel is quite modern and spotless,our stay included breakfast which was fabulous,I Highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area does not have a good atmosphere. We went to a local nearby instead.

    Location with our room overlooking a beautiful beach. Large room and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    The location is amazing, with the hotel overlooking a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing, with the hotel overlooking a breathtaking beach and surfing activities. The room was big, clean and modern ( 4 stars in my oppinion ) and the food at the restaurant was delicious ( we were so impressed with the vegan menu available for dinner ) !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing stay but food for dinner was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, we were assigned a room outside the main hotel. It seemed to be down an alleyway/ The room was dark and decor was awful. There was a musty smell. A twin room was booked and this room had a double bed. A twin bedded room was subsequently assigned in the main hotel. If the first-assigned room was the only one available to us, we would not have stayed over - and it seems strange that such a substandard room was offered when better was available.

    As we were departing quite early in he morning, it was appreciated that cooked breakfast was ready at 7 45 am. Service was pleasand and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    A lovely stay with an incredible beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The beach was literally just across the car-park and was wonderful to be able to go for a lovely walk after breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, staff standoffish especially in breakfast area.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was finished at 10.30, not a minute later. The dinning room door leading to outside was opened at this time, so cooling our food & ourselves. No extra bed clothes left in the room

    It was ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    We played golf at Enniscrone.Weather was windy but dry and thoroughly enjoyed our golf.Only had one
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent

    The service was friendly and purposeful.Matthew and Sarah especially.Chicken curry for dinner delicious and smoked salmon on brown bread for lunch absoltely excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to sit in the foyer in the evening as the bar area seemed to be dedicated solely to those customers who were dining. This in itself wasn't a real problem, however there were six adults and three children in our group and the seating in the foyer is only set out for groups of four so it wasn't very comfortable.

    Staff were lovely...especially at breakfast. Room was clean and beds comfortable...great shower too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room, I had ordered extra beds and the had a pull out one left but not dressed or no linen or duvets left or pillows. Just 2 towels in the room and no milk for coffee or tea.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for family room we got double bed and queen size bed the pull out bed was just that pulled out and no sheets even left out for us to dress it ourselves the couch was the same. We moved the bed and sweet papers were under it one little milk portion was left to share between 5 people. No pillows left for extra beds . Very disappointed with the room and level of cleanliness.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm going off Friday night twice Saturday night twice to be told by reception when we rang ok it’s ok just steam setting it off ! We were in bed asleep! Food had stomach cracks, towels were dirty had to ask for more no one to complain to and staff didn’t seem to care - over priced no customer service no thing going for this hotel - dirty stained carpet etc we stayed in room no 206

    The location Great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Bathroom & shower good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dull & dingy. Carpet had very visible joinings in 2 places with stains!!! Mirrors covered in smear marks. Felt I was overcharged @ €120 DB B&B for 1 night!!!

    Bathroom & shower good. Breakfast tasty but had to wait for beans & black pudding to be replenished!! Cereal in plastic containers with lids - a bit like you do at home!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen wasn't very user friendly. Although the breakfast was delicious, I barely noticed the toaster as it was in the dark corner. The sofa bed in the family room wasn't the most comfortable. Luckily there was a spare duvet, which I used it to put under my bed sheet so I could sleep better.

    Staff at the reception were super friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The breakfast, however, was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shades on the bedside lamps could do with being updated & the food in the bar isn't great. Also, i think our room was above the bar maybe so on the first night, the music from the bar was very loud.

    The breakfast, however, was excellent. Huge range of food to choose from & everything was fresh & tasty. The staff were all very friendly & helpful. The room was spacious & clean. I would stay here again & i would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast choice, there was no porridge. Had to go ask for the tea and coffee as no one came down to serve us.

    Lovely view from the hotel room. Big spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    The table we booked was not reserved for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged for extra potatoes and veg even though it was part of the mains

    The table we booked was not reserved for us. Some parts of our meal did not arrive and one child didn't get hers. Waitress asked us in future to book in advance even though we had

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Frustrating,accommodation was very good, Dinner very good breakfast average delay intolerable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not ready at check in time. Waited 1hour 30mins to check in. Even then one bed not made up and not all towels in rooms. This was an annoying delay because originally told room would be ready in 20 mins so waited thereby missing events on the beach. I couldn’t find howto switch bedside light off from bed.

    Excellent lamb

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    First the staff where great friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from a wedding held in hotel was bad and when that stopped the fire alarm went of it was tough on the kids

    First the staff where great friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and I will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found staff excellent very attentive and pleasant. I slept on sofa bed and it was a little uncomfortable but room was big and clean. Air conditioning was poor and room was a bit stuffy. We ate in the bar for lunch and dinner snd again staff were excellent and the food was delicious. Breakfast was disappointing and mundane. The location was perfect. Will def return

    See below

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Pleasant and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have to say staff were very helpful, efficient and friendly. Food was excellent, location was great - beside the beach - air conditioning in the room was great - overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    The easiest place we have stayed with our family to access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We brought our own beach towels and struggled to find places to hang them and the beach gear when wet. Maybe a rail or cothes horse made available to the customer as there was loads of room in our room for one. Apart from that a marvellous place.. we will be back

    The easiest place we have stayed with our family to access the beach and other places. Just wonderful Great food Great views The staff make the hotel they are so friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel, credit to the wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such a warm atmosphere in this hotel, staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Bedroom was really clean and comfortable, a little on the small side but the view and a really comfortable bed made up for that

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Views of a Beautiful sunset 😎
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold air conditioning during breakfast. When people asked for it to be turned down we were told it was 'health and safety reasons, the windows would mist up ' !!! (Very odd)🤔

    Great location. Great food. Friendly staff. Clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Literally perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The whole experience from walking in to walking out, was perfect, the staff very helpful and polite, the lift/hallways/stairs/bedroom/breakfast room/outside areas, were all immaculate. Such a pleasure to eat a well cooked hot breakfast with sufficient continental extras. 100% will suggest this hotel to friends and family, and am almost certain we will be visiting again (even if it did take us 17 hours to get there :’D) Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Really lovely hotel will go back staff make it😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of noise on second night till 6 in our corridor just needs a little guidance from staff to bed

    Staff are really lovely & cant do enough -lovely food & lovely clean hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    window was a bit hard to open and the blind very hard to adjust. there was a table and chairs in our room and the top of the table was totally disconnected from the frame so when one of us went to stand up everything went flying! We did find it quite funny though :) We told the staff that evening so I'm sure it was fixed on departure.

    Staff were fantastic, all very friendly and helpful. Excellent location, food was lovely, beds extra comfy and rooms spacious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only issue was that the coffee at breakfast was served in teapots and was very strong. Hot food was served on cold plates. Breakfast area was short staffed , but despite this the staff were as efficient as possible.

    Travelled with our dog. We had an extra large ground floor room. Really close to beach and all the amenities of Enniscrone and also close to Ballina.. Staff very pleasant. Clean hotel. Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing. Do not stay here on a family break if there is a wedding on in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying with our 2 children for 3 nights. On the first night there was a wedding on. The music was pumping in our bedroom. Ridiculously loud! We had to be moved out of our beds at 12.30am. We were put into an apartment. The apartment was dirty, there was a smell of urine and vomit in the bathroom. The floors were dirty and sticky. The bed was very uncomfortable. We were very disappointed. We were told the next day that the music can be heard in all of the rooms. Nobody bothered to tell us this before our stay. Very disappointed. Also I lost a top with all the moving from one place to another (3 rooms in 2 nights). I asked for this to be returned but no such luck. My husband went to the bar at one point one evening for a drink with my daughter and he was asked to sit at the bar as the seats were for people eating!!!

    Right on the beach. Lovely food in the bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    View was gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no croissants at breakfast. Breakfast badly organised, I had to request glasses for juice and bread for toast. There were no cocktails available. Waited 20 minutes to get a seat for breakfast despite there being tables available. Meal was very slow at our function

    View was gorgeous. Bed and pillows were comfy. Clean Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Just stayed one nite but would love to have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just stayed one nite but would love to have stayed longer. Didnt get to see a lot as we were there for a wedding. Will difinitely return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Il be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight glue smell from what seemed to be new carpet

    Very comfy bed, lovely view from hotel room, evening meal and breakfast were lovely and staff very pleasant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend this hotel and Enniscrone with lovely beach and brilliant golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Very comfortable spacious bed. Staff friendly and helpful and food very good. Very scenic overlooking the sea from the terrace restaurant. Might try the self catering accommodation next time as there are sea views from each one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    ok would go back as lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    see above

    evening waiting staff not very efficient - diet coke flat - replacement was no diet - they din't seem very customer orientated. front of house staff excellent and good humored. No towels in room on arrival but eventually they were delivered . we felt dinner closing at 9pm was a bit early. Food was ok but expensive for what it was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    I will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate to say this as I have grankids but less kids in dining atea or separate area for people without children

    Bed comfy but thought covers looked a bit tired also room could do with a lick of paint and a few more bits of decor pictures and throw just room in generalwas dull but comfy food and location v goodi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Couldn't ask for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location and views were excellent. Price was extremely reasonable. Room was comfortable and adequate. Very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    Underwelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit grubby. All lampshades in the room were filthy the ones by the bed had thick dust. Chair in the room had matted hair and food down the fold of it and bathroom floor hadn't been swept properly. Linen had stains.

    Location is great. Just off the beach to the back and close to great pubs in the town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    I got stuck in a bedroom in an ground floor where everyone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got stuck in a bedroom in an ground floor where everyone walked in front of my window. I had to keep my curtains drawn at all times this means I had a room with no window or outlook.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location great value for money
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was amazing and the room was so clean and beautiful staff were extra here !!really attentive..great value for money best beach in the west on you doorstep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    relaxing hotel with beach and plenty of activities close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel in the centre of the town, and also in line with the beach. walking distance 5 mins to everything!!! Amusement arcade close by, children's playground and leisure centre. Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, clean rooms and superb views of the ocean from the dining area and also our room. Food in the restaurant was beautiful and not overly priced. Only one small critisism, and that was that at breakfast, there was limited selection of coffees available. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel with comfortable beds. Some members of staff could do with a little more training..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for a family room through booking.com as it was the only one left (there were no rooms available on the hotels site for months before my stay which is why I went to booking.com in the first place). This room was supposed to consist of a double and single bed, and a pull out couch. However at check in I was asked how many guests and they must have swapped my room as I just got a double room and not the family room. This wasn't a big deal as in the end we didn't need the extra bed but if guests are paying that little bit more because only a big room is left surely they should get that room? Or else receive the different in price back to them... Upon checkout I was then asked to pay for the room. I informed the receptionist I paid in full through booking.com, to which she matter-of-factly informed me that my account details are taken but not charged. I again said no I paid the full amount the day I booked my room and after a lot of confusion and her checking the computer multiple times she simply 'took a note' of that and I went on my way. I understand these things happen and with many booking sites there may be some confusions but I think this should be looked into so that time isn't wasted in future trying to get guests to pay again for a room. The servers at breakfast were also a little disappointing. They seemed to be more interested in chatting to one another in the back corner where they were out of view from the seating area. I felt this was quite unprofessional, as I have worked in the same industry myself and understand the importance of customer service. I acknowledge that the buffet is self service and the servers don't have to pay such close attention to their tables, however there was a long wait to be seated as the servers were not able to see if anyone was waiting from where they were 'hiding'. Removing the 'wait to be seated' sign or just paying more attention to the door would help this problem.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable and the jacuzzi bathtub was an unexpected bonus. Bar staff were very friendly and attentive. Morning breakfast was very tasty and they have a wide variety of options available to suit everyone's needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing, exceptional customer service, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing, exceptional customer service, lovely beach behind the hotel. The restaurant food was delicious and at great prices. We had breakfast in the morning which was great. All the staff had amazing customer service skills which made our stay lovely. Will definitely go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxed and enjoyable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was a bit hard to regulate But luckily it can be controlled via reception.

    There was a lovely receptionist called Bronagh there on Saturday morning. She was super . She got our room changed for us due to mistake with beds when we arrived the previous night. She showed us rooms to suit us etc nothing was too much trouble. She is a little gem .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel itself was perfect but the fact we had to walk that nigh ( Slightly Intoxicated) took from the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was attending a wedding at Diamond Coast hotel. No transport to get us back to Ocean Sands and walk was way too long. Heard there was a shuttle bus between hotels. We saw no bus.

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff in kitchen very helpful. Lots tea...very important

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    For a big room bring a dog!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel in a lovely little town in an under appreciated part of Ireland. This should definitely be a stop if you're doing some of the Wild Atlantic Way. The pet friendly rooms are massive and very comfortable so if you want a big room travel with a dog! The hotel is pretty much right on a very nice beach. Great for walking. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast is only ok. For the size of the hotel the quality of the produce could be better and selection more varied

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Very Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a drink on the patio on Friday afternoon and on Saturday morning our empty glasses were still outside - possible health and safety issue ?

    Everything was lovely. Staff, room, breakfast. .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay in Enniscrone-made extra special by all in The Ocean Sands!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise at night-time. Just the usual- people and going through doors etc.

    Lovely warm welcome- stayed for a family celebration. Staff could not have been more helpful. Jennifer in particular was extremely helpful, friendly and professional. Standout standard of reception.Food great (veggies and vegans well catered for!)too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Had a ball
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tables for brekkie were sticky. The kids club access is also access to the car park so not ideal and all play things felt sticky, old & unclean

    Warm croissants, comfy bed, great food, stones throw from amazing beach 😁😁😁😁

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Hotel itself was lovely and i would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mats in bathroom. Floor when wet is Slippy so could do with them.

    Loved the breakfast how it was laid out and how quickly you could get in and out. Underground parking a bonus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff excellent location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not ready I was wrecked tired and the poor lad had never done it before so it took longer not his fault i should of been booked in as I had it booked with my reservation no. The man was very helpful.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    The view, the hotel room, the cleanliness, the beds, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely adore Enniscrone. Stay in Ocean Sands a lot in Winter/Spring. Have a mobile home on Atlantic Caravan Park. Adore hotel/view/staff/breakfast-out of this world. The only disappointing thing was that we went down to spring clean our mobile home and just chill out in the hotel. My daughter was sick and we spent a good bit of time in the room (rooms are beautiful) but we had to ring 4 times about the t.v. And still it was not fixed. Kept freezing...subtitles non stop...Television going blurry and all colours. As we were not really visiting the bar etc. and were there to chill out and pop up and down to our mobile the t.v. situation was disappointing especially as noone seemed able to fix the problem... I thought that the hotel (which we do adore) might offer some sort of compensation as people do go to hotels to relax and just chill out in the room aswell as the fact that my daughter was sick and spent a lot of time in bed. Disappointed with a mere apology to be honest. Otherwise I could never fault the hotel, the cleanliness, the food, the view, or the staff.

    The view, the hotel room, the cleanliness, the beds, the bathrooms..everything. The breakfast was absolutely fabulous. The staff are second to none.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    our ferry was delayed and it was 4am by the time we reached...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our ferry was delayed and it was 4am by the time we reached the property the staff were welcoming and accommodating couldn't fault our reception or stay there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    The location is excellent right in the centre of Enniscrone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The location is excellent right in the centre of Enniscrone and very close to the beach. Ate in the bar/restaurant twice and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Will be back, scenery beautiful, staff friendly and food lovely. Congratulations to all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in room 113 and found the lighting in the bathroom to be poor as was the main lighting in the room. A minor complaint in an otherwise hotel.

    We ate in the bar on both nights of our stay, it was very busy but as we had booked our table there were no delays, our table was ready for us. The food rates along with best I have experienced and the two course early bird menu is very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Fab location and lovely atmosphere .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room a little on the small side for 3 beds, hairdryer not working, some attention to detail needed ie curtain needed to be hung properly. Breakfast room cramped.

    Fab location and lovely atmosphere . Really nice staff , bar food very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast could have been better fry was greasy, no natural...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better fry was greasy, no natural yogurt, limited choice of fruit. We asked for a sea view room but didn't get one. Bar and waiting staff very friendly and helpful, staff at reception desk barely spoke to us but continued with their own conversation. Would still return to the ocean sands as the location is excellent, and maybe another time rather than after Christmas would be better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.4
    While it might be value for money in January - I believe we paid over and above the actual value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise levels. You can hear everything that goes in neighbouring rooms. Not a good selection for breakfast. We paid extra for a sea view which in actual fact is from the back windows of the hotel and also overlooking apartments.

    The location of the venue - near to Ballina and other landmarks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Overall a great place to stay and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like proper coffee in the morning at breakfast instead of cheap instant coffee and the music in the bar was terrible!

    Overall a great place to stay and a great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The morning was a bit noisy with all the cleaning going on on the other rooms.

    Everything! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, room was big and comfortable, we had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for Golf
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged when I booked online but when I was checking out was told I hadn't paid and owed €116. Had to pull up my internet banking and show the lad behind the desk the transaction from the date I booked. Thought that was a bit sloppy.

    Perfect location for if you're playing the golf course. Restaurant is decent, as is the breakfast. Rooms very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    car park between the beach and hotel not shown on pics
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean, we had a view on the wall, my van didn't fit in the car park so had to be left outside on a public non surveilled car park where it is technically not allowed to stay over night and was told by staff to leave it there. We didn't like the paint smell in the corridors and we didn't care to hear our neighbourg a conversation through the wall. We didn't like that the access to our room was through a dark alley and not through the main building. Anybody could have waited there to attack us or even enter the building.

    The free diner offered to say sorry for the noise the previous night caused by a wedding that went on until 5 am. The fact that the reception manager was able to try make it better for us was appreciated but sadly not enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay if weather is pleasant enough to allow for beach walks and access.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpet on upstairs corridors worn and shoddy looking.

    Love that you can walk out back door of hotel and be on the beach. Good music and atmosphere in bar on saturday night. Dinner very tasty with lovely young waiter who was friendly and fun.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Very pleasant overnight stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is not great. Very limited parking available immediately in front of the hotel. Actual car park is at the back and you have to negotiate lifts or stairs. The room itself was very comfortable. However, it was on ground floor looking straight out at main street. I think the ground floor must be reserved for folks travelling with dogs, which is understandable.

    Enniscrone is a lovely spot for a short stay. Fabulous beach. Especially for four legged friends. He loved it! Small village but everything you want within an easy walk of the hotel. Staff were very pleasant. Room was basic but very comfortable. Good bed. Nice ensuite with powerful shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Love it ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing have stayed there on a number of occasions found it fantastic. The views the walks and the beach what can I say spectacular can't wait to go back

    Had a brilliant night last minute we decided to go .can't say enough good about the staff the bar menq were fantastic and the night Porter was only brilliant nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    I wished I'd stayed somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was located on the road side (as opposed to beach side) of the hotel with traffic noise coming up from the street until quite late making it difficult to sleep (the beach view rooms are twice the price). As well, there was a terrible smell from the bathroom but as the hotel was full I couldn't be moved to another room. I would recommend staying somewhere else for the price.

    A spacious room, close to the beach (and everything else but that's not difficult in Enniscrone as it's the size of a postage stamp)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2018

    9.6
    A last minute booking because the hotel is pet friendly - highly recommend to other travellwrs
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff , food in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    10
    A lovely short stay in a wonderful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instant coffee with breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    10
    Everything was exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was exceptional

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast starts a little late
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast starts a little late

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    4.6
    Constant fire alarms going off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant fire alarms going off No toilet roll Not informed about a kids club

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!